Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Patio: 40 feet long, 12 feet wide, with a swing and man grill

Sleep6-8:Lots of Space/Fabulous Party Patio,Gdn/49-5* Guest Reviews [#331994] | View Property

Savannah
House, 3 Bedrooms + Library, Parlor, office, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$235 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (50)

Sort by:
  • Family stay for College Graduation

    Family stay for College Graduation

    • Guest Alex A.
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    Loved everything about this place! The owners/managers were thorough in explaining features of the home way ahead of time. And one was there as we arrived so he could make sure we understood each light switch, door and appliance. The house accommodated two families throughout the weekend, plus extra guests for celebratory graduation cookout and gatherings. I hope we can come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Always great when the house, garden and service meets guests' expectations. Yes, this really is a wonderful "party" home, with the covered patio, bricked courtyard, and associated amenities-- fire pit, man grill, fountain,hammock and patio/courtyard lighting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Golden Girls Paradise

    Golden Girls Paradise

    • Guest Patty C.
    • Date of stay 11/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    Recently four very good girlfriends (age 60ish) spent a fabulous weekend in Savannah. This historic home was a perfect location. The room layout allowed each of us to have our own bedroom and the spacious sized bathrooms made sharing easy. The focal point of the house, at least for us, was the kitchen area. We thoroughly enjoyed gathering each morning for coffee and breakfast around the ample table. Our evening spot was the outside porch for wine and conversation. It was extremely helpful to have Ian meet the first in our party to arrive to go over specifics and to provide lots of useful information. The location allowed us to access the trolley tours, Riverfront, restaurants, the Savannah Theater, and local sites; all within a short drive (or for the more adventurous, an easy stroll). The home is furnished with ample supplies of linens (bedroom bathroom and kitchen), comfortable air mattresses, and a kitchen stocked with every appliance or condiment you could possibly need. All in all, this is a great vacation spot and a home that makes you feel like you are right at home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We never tire, and always strive to ensure guests have a great time-- and reviews like this make it all worth while. yes, it's a great location-- easy access to everywhere yes, the house is spacious-- almost 2,300 sq ft, with sleeping in any of 5 rooms, for privacy, and the dining area can seat up to 10, with patio accommodating a further ten( seated). And we always meet our guests to ensure you're comfortable, get you oriented to the city, show you how everything in the house works, and what is "stocked". smiles to all that read-- come stay ian and marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wedding Week

    Wedding Week

    • Guest Chris (Newark,OH)
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    This house is beautiful.We were in Savannah for our daughters wedding so we needed a nice place to relax,de-stress and just have a good time.Mariam and Ian were very welcoming and went over some basic info when we arrived.Everything you need to have a great week is included with this property.We found a great restaurant called Blowin smoke a 5 min walk away that was super.The weather was perfect,the wedding was beautiful and a good time was had by all.We can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Another 5 star review-- wow! We work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay, whether it's ensuring the house is fully equipped and ready; the patio and gardens are in good shape for parties-- like those for a wedding, or graduation. ( We'd also like to claim responsibility for Savannah's gorgeous weather-- but that might be stretching things a little too far.) And, returning guests are always most welcome. marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home!!

    Wonderful Home!!

    • Guest Charleen (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    This was a great place to stay for our trip to Savannah this past weekend. The house is absolutely gorgeous and slept all 7 of us comfortably. The kitchen is a chef's dream and the outside porch was beautiful and a wonderful place to relax. The driveway fit 2 cars inside the gate and the entire property felt very safe and secure. It is an easy 10 minute drive from downtown and about a 30 minute drive to Tybee Island, so there are tons of things to do in the area. Everything we could have possibly needed was provided at the house already. The owners provided a reference guide for us so we knew exactly what not to pack prior to our trip b/c it was already stocked/available at the house, how all the appliances and electronics in the house worked, different places to go around the city, etc. Marian and Ian were so accommodating and great to work with and made sure we had everything we needed. I really do not have any complaints about my experience and I will be sure to visit again the next time I am in Savannah. Thank you so much Marian and Ian for sharing your home with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We were also impressed by the poem you left us on the dining room table. As it is so creative - and not copy righted, I am going to share it with our future guests: Audi's Last Fling We weren't missing a thing, (except for her king) There were 7 of us Thank you for the air mattress's The clowns were a little flirty You better believe they joined the party After a night of dancing The tub of salt was quite romancing We had such a wonderful time And we are ending with this clever rhyme. Come back soon Marian & Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place for family reunion

    Great place for family reunion

    • Guest Karen (Paris)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    The house is in great condition. Two large bedrooms and 2 excellent bathrooms. The kitchen is a dream! There is plenty of room to spread out. Fabulous patio/ porch area. Space for parking 2 vehicles. Very secure. Right on the outskirts of the historic area. A bit of a walk (20-30 minutes). But there is the free bus system nearby. This was a perfect spot for our family reunion. The owners reply right away, answered all our questions, supplied extensive detail before we arrived, were on the property to meet us and show us around. Very friendly. I live abroad, but my sister is already planning to return! Great value and a super great house with all the amenities you could want.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: what a great review! However, there are actually 3 bedrooms-- and the location is only 1.3 miles from River Street-the northest most point in the city. Guess our guests took the scenic route through the parks-- or they walked slowly! We're always pleased when people enjoy the house , patio and garden-- and we do work hard from the booking process through a stay to ensure this is a 'great retreat' and holidays/reunions are fun. Vive la Francaise!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good house, few items to be adjusted.

    Good house, few items to be adjusted.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    Overall we had a nice visit. The house was very nice. A few items that need to be adjusted are mainly in the guest bathroom. The toilet leaked around the bottom every time you flushed. The shower head is not user friendly. It kept falling and very difficult to use with the little ones. The tv would be better suited in the larger room in the front. Not enough sitting for a large party like we had and ended up sitting around dining room table watching the small tv more. We had to ask the owner to cut the bushes (which they did right away) because it was impossible to park both vans in the drive way. Father in law also fixed the gate after the owner accidentally shut the gate on our van when she was showing us the house the day we arrived (she wasn't very apologetic nor thanked us for fixing the fuse on the gate for her). Again overall it was a good house, just a few items to be fixed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Owner response: This review is "disappointing" for us, because over the last 30 months every single review written( 44) has been 5 stars-- while this one was 4 stars. and we have another 29 written reviews in our guest book giving us 5 stars) So, to respond to our guests posting: (a)the TV:-- easily moved to the parlor-- there's an outlet and table on which it could be put-- ( a 5 minute job, had they asked) (b)The guest room bathroom: We, nor our plumber can find a leak around the toilet-- maybe the shower door wasn't closed, hence spilling water ( ?)-- and the shower has a 5 foot hose-- so problem?-- sorry we can't find it, (and we do take guest comments seriously, and looked hard). (c) Gate/parking: We say this house has a parking for 2 cars-- the 'concrete pad" is 16' by 14'; 2 trucks take a little careful positioning to fit-- hence the hedge issue-- the hedge is outside the gate. The guests didn't get their vehicles inside, hence when the gate was closed............ We asked they not try to fix-- but they insisted ( knowing it was their fault?) -- and while it worked , we had to go back, check/change the wrong fuses they installed.... We guess that that old adage is true-- " You can't please all of the people all of the time"-- But we do really try. BUT/AND We stand behind what we write on VRBO, and what we say to our guests. "Please call us if something isn't 'right", or/and if you need something." We want all our guests to have a great stay, -- we're on call 24/7, for anything Had these reviewers done that, maybe ........... MARIAN AND IAN

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best family home in Savannah

    The best family home in Savannah

    • Guest OhioMCM (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    Our family enjoyed the home very much. The kitchen is very spacious and the steam shower is awesome! We felt very comfortable there. It was home away from home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We appreciate that you took the time to write a review-- many thanks-- and, so good that you enjoyed your stay. As you say that steam shower in the master bathroom is "awesome'-- very different, and much used by guests! And have you ever before seen a kitchen like ours!!!!!!-- with the stove and all its features ( warming oven; grill; griddle; infra red heating tray.......) many thanks and please come back and see us again. Warmly, Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great trip!

    Great trip!

    • Guest beachlover123 (Athens)
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    The house was great everyone loved it! It is well furnished and beautiful on the inside. There was plenty of room for 8 people and slept all of us comfortably. I would definitely recommend it for anyone traveling to Savannah with a group. We loved being able to stay outside in the afternoons and evenings on the patio area. The bugs were not bad the owners provided the mosquito candles to keep them away. It is in a wonderful location to be able to travel to Tybee Island and downtown Savannah.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: Ladies It was a pleasure to host your group-- and thanks for the kind words. A house this size can sleep 8-- even 10-- at a "push"! The patio is a great place to "chill out"-- and glad those bug lights/candles really do work! come back anytime Marian &Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AWESOME PLACE!

    AWESOME PLACE!

    • Guest Annette (Pineville, LA/South)
    • Date of stay 05/21/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    Brian and I agreed that this was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. We enjoyed this home as much as we enjoyed Savannah! Marian & Ian made us feel so comfortable and welcomed! As for the property, there's no way that pictures can do it justice. We had dinner on the back porch 3 of our 4 nights. Lots of reading on the porch as well. There was an afternoon nap in the shady hammock near the fountain. Enjoyed playing board games at the dining table and a movie in the library. Was like our own little oasis after touring one of the most beautiful and friendly cities we've ever visited. Will be planning a return trip soon! Thanks again for a wonderful experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Anette/Brian What a great review-- thank you. We do work very hard to ensure our guests have a great time-- whether with the house, and/or in savannah-- all those brochures! As you said, the patio, the hammock in the courtyard, just the relaxing garden....... We look forward to having you as guests again, on your next trip. marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Oasis getaway.

    Oasis getaway.

    • Guest Michele (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 04/24/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    My family loved this beautiful home. It is an oasis in the city and is much bigger than it looks from the from. We wished we had more time to relax in the beautiful garden but it was a great place for friends and family to gather after the busy day. Marian and Ian were so helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: This house does have a great "reputation' with families-- maybe because of the Tv's, Wifi, and Wii-- not to mention the hammock, swing, etc etc! Glad you had such a great time marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything you want or need

    Everything you want or need

    • Guest Terry (Arlington, TX)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    Four of us (two adult couples) stayed here for three nights. We have been to dozens of VRBO properties through the years, and Marian and Ian's house is among the most enjoyable and attractive. But what really sets it apart, besides the patio and porches, is the degree to which the kitchen is stocked. Typically our VRBO experience begins with an inventory of the kitchen and bathroom to see what we need to buy at the grocery store. It is not unusual to spend $20 or more on the basics - salt, pepper, condiments, paper products, soap. After taking inventory here, we only needed to go to the liquor store! The kitchen and the library were our favorite rooms. Having both the library and the parlor provided two separate areas for relaxing without relegating some to the kitchen or bedroom. We hope to come again in a few years to see how the neighborhood continues to evolve. Terry, MarySue, Richard and Diane, Arlington, TX

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: you're right-- there is quite a lot of space in this house with many other rooms beyond the bedrooms, kitchen-- and of course if the weather is 'fair', there's the covered patio, courtyard.... This is an 'interesting' neighborhood; 3 churches of different denominations; many family homes being upgraded; 3 restaurants within walking distance; a famous library, the SCAD teaching building-- Won't be too long before we're the "Jones Street" of the Victorian district-- and they don't have the space/garden/parking we have!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great house!

    great house!

    • Guest Andrea (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/14/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    The house was wonderful and comfortable. Walking distance to some things, easy taxi ride or bus ride to others. Ian met us at the house and gave us the tour, he was great! We asked to check-in early and Marian and Ian kept us informed daily on the status and possibility of that happening. They are both easy to contact and make staying at the house stress-free. We had such a great experience and can't wait to return to Savannah and rent this house again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ladies Thanks so much for this great review. As often said, to past guests, we do work hard to ensure time spent in this home is what one might want-- from "meet and greet", to any help while staying, including our way of booking/overall communication. We look forward to seeing you next time(and hopefully it will be warmer-- this march was 'not savannah"!)-- and please tell your friends about this house/property. smiles-- Ian and Marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home away from home!

    Wonderful home away from home!

    • Guest Charlotte W. (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/10/13
    We had the pleasure of staying at this super rental for four days last week. We were visiting Savannah for the first time and Marian and Ian's home was the perfect spot to catch up with college friends. The house is very spacious and provides lots of room for multiple cooks to work in the kitchen, which by the way is very well equipped. We enjoyed the fireplaces because it was unseasonably cold when we visited and the steam shower was wonderful to look forward to after long days exploring the city. The garden is lovely but we will have to come back and visit when it's warmer to fully enjoy the beautiful space. Marian and Ian were a delight to work with and met us at the house and provided a full tour of the home upon our arrival. I have rented several times from VRBO and this home is one of the finest I have stayed in. Thanks Marian and Ian for sharing it with visitors to Savannah.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: What a great review-- thank you. Please come back when it's warmer and then you can use all the outside things-- the man grill; fire pit, hammock, and really enjoy the garden. We do try hard to maintain the standards; it's so pleasing when guests have a great time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful get away

    Wonderful get away

    • Guest LeAnne (Franklin, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 02/27/13
    • Review Submitted 03/05/13
    We had a wonderful stay. The home has everything you could need or want. Ian was very pleasant and the walk thru of the home was so informative. If you are looking for a pet friendly rental, I would strongly recommend this place. The yard is wonderful and completely fenced in for your pets. We have rented from VRBO numerous times and this rates as one of the best. The kitchen is a wonderful gathering place to discuss your day and to wind down in the evenings.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. yes, this is a really "pet friendly" environment, with the fenced in garden and a small park a block away for longer walks. And, we always try hard to make guest feel comfortable, with a "meet and greet, house walk through".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Stay in Savannah

    Fabulous Stay in Savannah

    • Guest Chris (White Bluff, TN)
    • Date of stay 01/31/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    Owner and manager fully accessible. Met our party to do detailed walk-thru of house. House is well represented in photos and description. House is spacious and clean with plenty of linens and towels and many complimentary incidentals. Fully enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: hey guys thanks for the response-- yes the house is well equipped-- and even if we did have to wait an extra 4 hours.....part of the service!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Anderson Street

    Anderson Street

    • Guest Lisa T. (Melbourne, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 12/10/12
    We had a lovely vacation weekend in Savannah. We had really bad car problems on the way and Ian stayed 6 hours waiting for us at the house WITH a bottle of wine. I can not tell you how impressed I was over his kindness to us. The house is gorgeous - we had friends show up the next 2 nights and the bedrooms are so private you can't even hear anybody else. Beautiful porch we loved the "man fire" out side. I would recommend the house to anyone traveling to the fair city.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay

    Great place to stay

    • Guest gstevens (Dade City, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 12/04/12
    We had 11 people in our group and the house had plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen was large enough for us to prepare our Thanksgiving day meal in and almost every item we needed to do so was provided. I would definitely rent again from Marian and Ian, as they were very friendly and accomadating.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Gazelle thanks for taking the time to write. The kitchen is 'big", and as you say, lots of room to cook, eat- hope you used all the functions on that oven-- warmers, grill, griddle, infra red heated rack. Please come back and see us anytime Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • V

    V

    • Guest Pat (Cocoa, Fl)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    Our stay in this home was very enjoyable..It includes everything you need for a super vacation. The owner greeted me upon arrival and showed me around the property and made sure I knew where everything was, made us feel very comfortable . It is a very charming home and close to the downtown area.Would highly recommend for a great stay in Savannah.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Patrica and family; We appreciate the review; as you say the location is good-- close enough to everything, yet far enough away for peace and quiet. is. And, glad the "grand tour" was helpful-- we find that all our guests seem to benefit from this. Please come back and see us in 2013 warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • House is perfect for Savannah Marathoners

    House is perfect for Savannah Marathoners

    • Guest gatorsez (Gainesville, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/06/12
    First I will start with the owners. From the reservation process all the way through check-in they were very helpful. They met us at the house to give us a tour of the house when we checked in and showed us how to use all the amenities. They also made themselves available to use for any needs from how to get something to work and where to go to eat. The house itself is beautiful with all the comforts of home and then some. We had three couples and one baby stay at the house for the marathon and I never felt like we were in each others way. The fenced in back patio/yard was a great place to spread out and enjoy the great weather we were having. If you are a marathoner and Savannah keeps the same course I would really recommend this house. It is located about .5 miles from the finish and the course runs right by the house twice for both the half marathon and full. Once from the back at the corner of Broad and Hunter at about the 8 mile mark and the second time out front on Anderson after the 13/25 mile mark where you can sit on the front porch rocking chair and watch your runners go by with only .5 miles left to finish the race. It was nice to have a short walk from the finish back to the house and the 1.7 mile walk to the start line / river front in the morning was a great warm-up.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Troy/Tammy and friends; Thanks for the review; glad you all had such a good visit. As you say this home is very convenient for Marathoners, because of the location-- not to mention the large "soaking" tub and the sauna/steam shower in the master suite. We look forward to seeing you next year. Warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family getaway

    Family getaway

    • Guest Bob (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 10/26/12
    • Review Submitted 11/13/12
    My Dad has had enough of my Mother talking about the Kitchen in this house. I think he is in trouble. The house is just perfect. Ian and Marian greets you at the house and answers any and all questions about the house and things close by. The outside of the house was where we spent most of the time. the weather was just perfect for those late nights on the deck. I see no reason why I would not come back again. Thanks Ian and Marian. P.S. My Dad has ordered some of the golf balls Ian gave him.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! Yea, the kitchen is sort of 'extraordinary"-- and the patio is a great place to go chill out We're so glad you all had a good time and maybe might come back-- hopefully your dad will "hit em straight"-- a household secret for golfers-- only given after booking-- ( and these balls do work)!! Warm regards marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excelent House for vacation in Savannah

    Excelent House for vacation in Savannah

    • Guest Tampa Traveler (Tampa)
    • Date of stay 10/23/12
    • Review Submitted 11/02/12
    My family loves this house. It is very close to downtown district. They have abandons supplies and very clean and very well-maintained. Thank you for all your help. For sure we love the opportunities to stay there again on our next visit. Also, There is the best local seafood place only little block away call Crab Seafood House. They have excellent Crab and Garlic Shrimp.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jay, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a reivew. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip. We are going to try the Crab Seafood house you recommend. It sounds great. Regards Marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First Timter

    First Timter

    • Guest Vacation Lover (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/22/12
    This was my first trip to Savannah and it was by far better then I could have imagined! This house exceeded my expectations by far. The two people that rent it out (Ian and Marian) were such a pleasure to work with. They greet you personally when you arrive and truly make you feel at home. The rooms are beautiful and the high ceilings are to die for. If you love to cook then you definitely want to take advantage of this house. The kitchen is beautiful. Not to mention fully stocked. There isn't anything to want for in this house. Love being outdoors? The outside porch is to die for. The grill is huge, the fire pit is lovely and the plants and fountain make it a perfect fit for relaxing nights outside. I do not have a single thing to complain about with this house. Finally, it is a good distance to bay street. It is about a 20 minute walk, but there is so much to see along the way. Super market located right near it. It was all perfect. I will definitely be visiting again soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sam, and ladies in your group What a great review-- thank you. This house does seem to be a "hit" with ladies/bridal showers-- the security, the house itself, with so much room, and the patio/courtyard area with the firepit, hammock, etc We try /work hard to ensure everyone /guests have a great time-- glad you all did--come back and see us when the next lady in your group is ready for "the final step"!! Ian and Marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • My return from deployment and birthday weekend celebration

    My return from deployment and birthday weekend celebration

    • Guest Carla (Columbia SC)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    I was so very pleased to stay at property 331994 during 5-7 October 2012. The owners were ever so helpful with helpful of sending information of things to do in Savannah during my stay prior to my arrival. This made my trip more enjoyable along with staying in a place that felt like a "home away from home".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Carla, and friends Thanks for all you guys ( our forces) do for us; great you came home safe and had an opportunity to celebrate birthdays at our home. Yes, it is a "home away from home"; we work hard for all our guests to ensure they have the best time-- whether it's the booking process; help with things to do in Savannah, or whatever. Please come back and stay again-- and stay safe Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place for a Group

    Great Place for a Group

    • Guest D (DC)
    • Date of stay 07/11/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    My group arrived July 11 and stayed until July 15. We had 7 people stay in the house the whole time and we never had any issues with space or accomodations. We had ample towels provided, plenty of bed space and a lot of amenities that made it tough to leave. The outdoor space is hard to beat from any other rental property I've stayed in and would highly recommend anyone staying there. The rental owner was so easy to deal with and very understanding whenever a question arose. In a perfect world, I would like to deal with Ms. Mata for every property I rent in the future. Thanks to Marian and Ian for all the help and making our trip as memorable as possible! Drew

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Drew Thanks for the great review. We strive very hard to make the booking routines, check-in, and stays as easy as possible, for all our guests. Your comments mean we were successful; great to be appreciated, and so glad it made the whole stay more memorable. Come back again, anytime. Warm regards marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Sue P.
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/12/12
    We had a wonderful time at this large beautiful home! The kitchen is very large and fully equipped for a large group. We enjoyed cooking and just hanging out in the evenings. Everything is updated and new. There are two very large bathrooms. Perfect for our group of 6 women! The garden area and porch is fantastic with flowering plants, comfortable furniture and a fountain. This home has a security system so our group of women felt very secure. The owners make themselves totally available at all times. They are so helpful and friendly. We had a small problem and they had it repaired the same day. They also provide extensive information about directions and attractions in Savannah. We used this info to form our days and we were not disappointed! This info led us to locate attractions and restaurants that we would not have found otherwise. Also, the location was good. We purchased tickets from a local trolley for sight-seeing and they even picked us up and dropped us off at the door. Amazing! Everyone in our group loved our stay-it could not have been better.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ladies So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try very hard to ensure standards are maintained-- whether fixing a problem, or simply suggesting restaurants, tours, local attractions. please come stay again, when next in Savannah Warm rgards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sisters Go South

    Sisters Go South

    • Guest Sisters Go South (Fort Wayne, IN)
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    This home is delightful! For the 6 of us (all adults), we had comfortable sleeping arrangements, an abundance of towels and various other conveniences all provided. The open kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, and everything you would need to cook up a gourmet meal. We did eat in a few times and found the kitchen very inviting and roomy. In fact, we spent most of our time in this home in the kitchen or gathered around the large table. We used ideas from other visitors recorded in the "suggestions book" to explore Savannah dining, and found some really awesome restaurants, so be sure and check out this book if you stay here. We did experience some minor problems with electricity on our first night, but Ian and Marion were prompt to remedy the problem. Both of them were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The garden and portico were charming, and inviting. We gather here in the mornings , with coffee, to plan our day, and to relax in the evening. If you are looking for a place with lots of charm, and a warm, personal welcome from the owners, this is the place to stay. And by the way, we fell in love with Savannah!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ladies So glad you enjoyed your stay. And, of course, we are on call 24/7 if a problem-- our electrician was able to fix things (quickly)-- a good guy! Please, come back and stay anytime-- and/or, send us your friends Warm regards marian & ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • True Southern Charm

    True Southern Charm

    • Guest Happy Canadian Travelers (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/19/12
    • Review Submitted 04/04/12
    The house was wonderfully renovated with an extremely uptodate country kitchen. The bathrooms were well appointed with a full dressing room in the master. The owners were on site and ready to greet us. We appreciated the security system and the electric gate to the property. The grounds were beautiful with water fountains, a hammock, a deck swing and plenty of deck furniture. The barbeque was a welcome touch and we used it frequently. The house and grounds were clean and well maintained. The location is nice because it is away from the downtown busy historic site but close enough to get there by car in just 5 minutes and is only minutes from Forsythe Park. A grocery store is a few blocks away. We were there for close to 2 weeks and attended the March House and Garden Tour which lasts 4 days and took in such sites as the Bonaventure Cemetery and a Riverboat tour of the Savannah River. Other than the historic district and visiting the multiple museums we went to a town called Midway which is about 30 minutes from Savannah. The museum, the church, the history are inspiring and we had a glimpse into the true reality of the British and Civil Wars. Another place not to be missed is the Magnolia Plantation in South Carolina about 2 hours away. Plan for a whole day if you want to also take in the Tanger Outlet Mall which is close by and is open until 9pm. Tybee Island is close by and we walked on the sandy beach and enjoyed the sea air. Eating out in Savannah is fun and our favorite places were Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House and Churchill's Restaurant and Pub (roof top patio). The only downsides to this property were that there was no landline for local calls and the nearby train track. No alarm clock is needed since the train whistle is loud and passes early in the morning. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone going to Savannah.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ladies What a great review of the house-- and what an advertisement for the charms/interests around Savannah. Glad you had such an enjoyable time with the property-- we do take great care to maintain the standards and features. Come back and see us any time Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Savannah Visit for Historical sightseeing

    Savannah Visit for Historical sightseeing

    • Guest Bob (Chocowinity, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/27/12
    • Review Submitted 03/09/12
    We had a very nice stay at this residence, and Ian was extremely helpful meeting us upon arrival to explain all of the conveniences in the house. He also has a very organized book to review the house and the recommendations for places to dine an visit. Great home for entertaining guests in the patio area for drinks and/or dinner cooked on the outdoor grill. Convenient getting to downtown and can also walk to some of the nearby parks. Very convenient to have off street secure parking.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay-- shame about the weather-- but at least you were able to use the patio. Please come back and see us again Warm regards marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AWESOME house!! Lovely garden, beautiful rooms, huge kitchen! We loved our stay!!!

    AWESOME house!! Lovely garden, beautiful rooms, huge kitchen! We loved our stay!!!

    • Guest Lu9 (Savannah, GA, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    We stayed at Marian & Ian's home during our wedding & baby shower weekend. We booked it for our families who were traveling from overseas, and wanted to a place that they could spend time together, get to know each other, make home cooked meals, relax, and enjoy each other's company in the privacy of a home rather than a hotel. The house was perfect for our families!! And everyone loved staying there. We especially loved the garden, there's a huge barbecue grill, tables and chairs, beautifully maintained garden with fountain, and the huge well-equipped professional kitchen! My husband's mom and my mom very much enjoyed cooking there. It also saved us a lot of money by not eating out (which would have been a hassle anyway since we were a large group of 8). The rooms were very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished with a mix of modern and antique furnitures and decorations. There were also air mattresses for extra beds! There was even a washer & dryer so our families could do their laundries before leaving. The owners Marian & Ian were awesome!! They were very kind from the initial phone call. We went to meet with them before booking to make sure it was going to work for us, and they were very helpful and informative in answering all of our questions. Also, they made sure to come to meet us when we were checking in, to go over all the details of the house again (the house comes with a binder with information too, in case some details are forgotten), and made sure that everything was working well, and we were comfortable. Also, we couldn't figure out how to get the internet to work, and we couldn't figure out how to properly lock the house, and Marian was kind enough to come by to help us each time. Another thing, the house is in a very convenient location. It's very close to downtown (you could even walk or bike to Forsyth Park if you wanted to), and it's also close to midtown (in case you need to visit the mall). We did a lot of research before booking, and some of the downtown rentals are nice, but very small, and extremely expensive, and do not welcome kids or pets. We didn't have any pets, but we had one 2.5 year old, and we didn't want to spend an extraordinary amount of money to stay in a small space just because it's downtown. So we booked here, and we are very glad that we did, because everything worked out perfectly!!! We couldn't have asked for a better place for our families!! Don't pass by this place. You will be glad you booked here!!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Savannah Paradise!

    A Little Savannah Paradise!

    • Guest Erin, Casey, and Alexis (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    My friends and I came to Savannah for a girls' weekend/to run in the Inaugural Rock and Roll Marathon/Half Marathon. We decided to rent a house rather than go the hotel route, and that was the best decision we could have made. This home, located right on the fringe of the Savannah downtown historic district, is a gem. Very convenient to all the attractions of downtown Savannah, but removed enough for a quiet escape. The courtyard includes a wonderfully landscaped garden, with plenty of comfy chairs to relax in. We especially enjoyed sitting in the sun near the firepit (we'll have to come back again and try that out). The house itself is beautiful--all of the bedrooms are nicely decorated, and the beds are comfy. A few highlights: The steam shower in the master bath--amazing at any time, but especially for our aching muscles! The kitchen--state of the art appliances, room for lots of people, gorgeously redone. Free Wi-Fi! Can't beat that! Security System--we had our own unique code to get in and out, which was very convenient for having different coming and going times. Location: Close to a Kroger grocery store, downtown, and beautiful Forsythe Park. Perhaps the best part however are the owners--we felt so welcomed, as if we were staying with friends rather than renting a house from total strangers. They have this down to a science, and there's nothing you will have to worry about during your stay in Savannah. Wonderful experience, wonderful house, wonderful city!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ladies We always try to make our guests feel like guests-- glad we succeded! Yes the garden is beautiful, secure, even peaceful-- so next time you have to use the hammock and "man grill".! location, location, location-- and, "off street parking" -- all our guests seem to like those things, plus the steam, kitchen, etc etc please come back next year Warm regards marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Savannah VRBO#331994

    Savannah VRBO#331994

    • Guest Lu (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 10/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/09/11
    The description was very accurate regarding the rental property. The property was very well maintained and clean. The owners, Marian and Ian, were very helpful in answering our questions and giving us info about the property. I will definetly recommend this property to others. The property was very close to historical downtown Savannah. Fell in love with the house, it was very spacious and very well supplied. Beautiful patio area and as well as very nicely decorated on the inside. Owners were very good in communicating during the transaction.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the review; glad you enjoyed the house and found the pictures, details accurate. We always try to work with our guests and make them feel that this is "home', rather than simply a rental-- and, the house is always fully supplied with everyday things guests might need. Hopefully, we'll see you/friends in the future best regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Laura R. (Bluefield, West Virginia)
    • Date of stay 10/27/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    This was a wonderful place for a girls' getaway weekend!! Every thing was in perfect order when we arrived. The best part of our arrival was the greeting from the owners who answered our every question. The kitchen was a dream; though we didn't "cook"..... chips,dip...cheese, crackers and more than one glass of wine. The bedrooms and baths were nicely appointed as well. Savannah was lovely; but we six "girls" most enjoyed sitting around the dinning table and catching up on the present and remembering the past. Soooo much fun. You will not be disappointed should you decide to rent this property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Ladies It was a pleasure meeting you all on arrival and we're so pleased you enjoyed Savannah. Yes, the house is beautiful and well appointed-- we really do try hard to ensure standards are maintained. Please come back and see us again-- and send your friends! Warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best "29th" Birthday EVER!!!

    Best "29th" Birthday EVER!!!

    • Guest Amanda (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 09/30/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    A group of my best friends, my sister, and of course my 2, 4 legged puppies shared some of the best memories at this house. The house has everything you could ever ask for out of a Savannah home! The courtyard area is to die for. Many memories made over by the firepit! The kitchen is totally gourmet! Although we did not cook the inspiration was there, but the wine and champagne was not allowing our inner chefs to venture out! The puppies loved the courtyard and it was completely safe for them. Loved the fact I did not have to worry about them! The house was clean and we felt very safe in the neighborhood. Loved the themed rooms! Now, for Marian and Ian!!! Amazing!! Ian showed us around the house and was very thorough, I felt comfortable! Marain, has been UPSing all our clothes that we left behind, in a possible drunken stupor! What can I say it was my birthday!! Either way you should rent this property, but make sure you check with me first...Cause I want first dibbs!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Amanda We really do appreciate reviews-- and ones like yours......... We're so glad you had a great birthday trip; enjoyed Savannah, and the house/amenities-- come back again and use the kitchen! ( Hope you got the packages with things left!0 warm regards marian and ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Church Retreat

    Church Retreat

    • Guest erinmegan (Brandon, Florida/USA)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    We used this house for a church retreat for our young singles group over labor day weekend. The owners were extremely accomodating to us as we were trying to organize everything for a large group. They did not nickle and dime us. It was a great deal for a group our size. The house itself has a gorgeous backyard and is beautifully decorated. We loved our time there! We really appreciate all that the owners did to help. They were very easy to work with.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Erin, and the Church group We appreciate, as always with all our guests, that you were kind enough to post a review-- with some "interesting" comments-- not seen before! No-- we don't "nickle and dime"- even when the group size is larger than 'requested" and over the max number we think can stay comfortably! We're glad you had a good time, enjoyed the house and Savannah-- and we hope that maybe we might see you all in 2012 regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Summer Retreat

    Summer Retreat

    • Guest MB (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    I had the pleasure of renting this house for 2 months over the summer. It is centrally located to all (downtown, supermarket,Forsyth Park, Daffin Park, Bonaventure Cemetery) My dog loved the fenced in backyard as well as the park right around the corner. Everything you could possibly need you will find in this house. (Can't say enough good things about the steam shower). The kitchen is fabulous if you like to cook. The "man grill" is enormous ...you could feed a small army.The property is well secured (fully alarmed) and very private. As a single woman staying alone I felt very safe. Also, the owners are closeby should you need them for anything. I absolutely fell in love with Savannah and will definitely be back again. I would highly recommend this property...it is so much nicer than staying in a hotel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the highly informative and positive review-- hopefully other (potential) guests will find it useful. We look forward to seeing you again when you head back to Savannah-- repeat renters are always most welcome. Warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Southern Comfort

    Southern Comfort

    • Guest Rusty & Pam (Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/22/11
    • Review Submitted 07/06/11
    My wife and I and our small dachshund made the trek to Savannah to explore the area for a week. We found the house on the network and WOW what an experience. The house if beautifully redone of the old southern charm. Wonderfully located and so easy to get to all the historical downtown and the river district. My wife and I fell in love with the house. We felt so much at home the entire time we were there. Outstanding furnishings. There was not a thing we needed or lacked in the house. We are just sorry the trip was so short, only a week. We could have stayed a month or more and been very comfortable. The mornings and evenings on the porch were just what we needed. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi guys Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We're really pleased you enjoyed yourselves, the house, and Savannah-- this is really a great 'city", with so much to offer. Please, come back any time-- and/or, send us your friends ( Hope the drive back to Texas wasn't too hard?!) Warm regards Ian & Marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SCAD Graduation Celebration

    SCAD Graduation Celebration

    • Guest Sophia (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/10/11
    We had the opportunity to rent this beautiful home and property for a couple of days while attending our son's graduation from SCAD. We instantly fell in love with the gorgeous home and perfectly landscaped courtyard. Marian graciously greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel at home, giving us all the details to make us comfortable. Ian and Marian couldn't have been any nicer and made the rental process very smooth and easy. The house was so spacious, all 5 of us (6 at times) had plenty of room to relax. We hosted a graduation party for a few of my son's friends and their families after the graduation ceremony. What a fabulous place to host a party! Everyone loved the house and courtyard. The professional stove and grill were a huge asset to my husband who is a chef. The off-street parking is such a blessing while in Savannah. Easy loading and unloading luggage and groceries into the dining room door, no lugging items down the street or up numerous steps. We had a wonderful time and look forward to renting from Marian and Ian, again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review We're so pleased the house and patio(an the grill/stoves/ovens) enabled you to have a great time-- this is a great graduation/party place! Please, come back any time-- and send/recommend us to your friends. warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Parents' Get Away

    Parents' Get Away

    • Guest LoriandChris (Macon, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    My husband and I and 4 of our best friends stayed in this home on Memorial Day weekend. Between the 3 couples, we have 7 kids, and we needed a break! Imagine our delight when we drove up to this lovely home that was like a miniature fortress, with the privacy fence and gate. We loved the inside of the home, which was beautiful, but we spent most of our time on the porch/patio. I loved that we were such a short distance from everything but that we were far enough away that we felt we could just escape all of the people and noise if we wanted to. Marian and Ian were very helpful during the rental process, and I really appreciated Marian meeting us upon arrival to welcome us and show us how everything worked. My husband and I and our friends are already looking forward to the next parents' get away weekend next year, and we won't be staying anywhere but THIS home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Guys, it was a delight to meet you all and we're pleased you enjoyed the house, the garden and the attractions of Savannah. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, and for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you all again next year. Warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Nice

    Very Nice

    • Guest gary (dalton ga)
    • Date of stay 05/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    Nice house. Clean and well mantained. I highly recommend this property if you want a nice comfortable stay in Savannah. You will not be disappointed with your stay. Again Very nice

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Biker's are welcome any time - hope to see you again Regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful house!

    Beautiful house!

    • Guest Ro (Ocala Florida )
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    We had such a wonderful time, I wish we could have stayed longer. You have a very beautiful house and garden! Thanks for the memories!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thanks so much for the review-- we appreciate you took the time, to post--and also enjoyed the house, garden and your stay. Please come back regards Ian and Marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Property!

    Amazing Property!

    • Guest Sassymaz (Woodbridge, NJ)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    I stayed here for a girls weekend in Savannah in April. The place was everything you could hope for and more. Beautiful backyard with a fire pit and covered patio. Perfect for enjoying smores and a cocktail. The inside is even better. Gorgeous kitchen and spacious master bath with a walk in closet. Plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably. Everyone thing inside and out is spotlessly maintained. The owners are absolute dolls as well. They stopped by to give us the keys and show us how to work the place. I enjoyed chatting with them and look forward to seeing them again the next time we rent!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We know you ladies had a "blast" that weekend and we greatly appreciate the review. Hopefully the "bride- to be" enjoyed it as much as the rest of the group. Please come back and stay again, when the opportunity occurs. Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic weekend in Savannah!

    Fantastic weekend in Savannah!

    • Guest Jen (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/26/11
    I booked this house from Boston based on the pictures and my wonderful interactions with Marian and Ian. When I walked on to the property I was blown away with the amount of care and detail that was put in to it. Let me just start off by saying that the "back yard" area is enough to make this house worth renting. From the fire pit, to the giant grill and all the ample outdoor seating you could spend all of your time out there. Once I walked in to the house it just kept getting better and better. The house is absolutely gorgeous and oh so spacious! Anything that we could think of that we might need was there. We cooked some great meals in the gourmet kitchen and oohed and aahed over the gorgeous master bath. As it was a girls weekend, we were so excited to have the giant walk-in closet. There was enough room for all 8 of us to hang our clothes up. I definitely anticipate coming back! Thanks Marian and Ian!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jenn, and the ladies in your group Thanks so much for the review -- and, more importantly we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. -- hopefully the bride-to- be will remember her stay/bachelorete party that i know you guys gave her! please, come back anytime-- and/or, please send us your friends-- as you know, this is both a great house and a lovely place to have parties, re-unions, etc Warm regards Marian and Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovingly restored home

    Lovingly restored home

    • Guest Bridget (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/03/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    Visited during spring break this year with our 2 teenagers. We all loved the house, which was lovingly restored by the owner for herself. We especially enjoyed the great kitchen, the "man" grill, and the bench swing in the peaceful garden. There's so much space in the house, we did not even have time to use all of the rooms. Kids loved the WiFi of course. This is definitely not your typical VRBO rental! It's much better...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family visit

    Family visit

    • Guest Family time (Bradenton, Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/18/11
    The house was absolutely beautiful! We could have stayed forever. The owners personalized the visit by greeting us at the house going over all the important features. They were also very thoughtful to follow up with an e-mail to make sure everything went well with our stay at their house. We felt very safe and secure with all the extras the owners provided. We were in our own little world tucked behind the fence surrounded by a wonderful garden of flowers and plants. We couldn't keep the kids out of the hammock long enough to enjoy it ourselves. The firepit, fountain and the man-grill were also great hits. It was wonderful to have a nice place to visit with our family. We are looking forward to our next visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased that you took advantage of all the house's features Come back any time. Marian & Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous place

    Fabulous place

    • Guest Snowbirders (Maine)
    • Date of stay 03/05/11
    • Review Submitted 03/17/11
    We stayed for a week in this wonderful house in sweet Savannah. Highly recommend it to EVERYONE - the house AND the hosts. Marian and Ian were beyond gracious and even surprised me with a nice birthday cake. How sweet is that! The house is gorgeous - huge kitchen and dining area. Thoroughly enjoyed the steam shower every day as the mornings could start out a little cool in March. And even indulged in the claw foot tub for a bath. The living room was our favorite evening hangout, as we lit the gas fireplace and relaxed after a well-walked day in this town-like city. When the weather was warm we found our way onto the huge patio. I can't say enough wonderful things about this place and our sincere and accomodating hosts. If you're thinking about staying in Savannah, stay here. Great great place. Thank you so much, Ian and Marian.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so pleased that you all had a good time and that you enjoyed our house. One of the thing we really enjoy about doing these rentals is meeting wonderful interesting people from across the country. You guys were fun. Please come again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Luxurious for people and pets

    Luxurious for people and pets

    • Guest GoldenGuys (Saint Paul, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 02/14/11
    • Review Submitted 02/24/11
    We'll be leaving tomorrow after eleven nights at this lovely home which is filled with art, antiques, fireplaces, and the best of amenities. The gourmet kitchen and dining room are huge, bright, and spacious and served as a natural gathering spot for our indoor activities. Outside there's a great big porch and brick courtyard for people to relax and enjoy as well as a grassy area dogs for to play and nap in the sun. We travel with two golden retrievers and you'll not find a better spot in Savannah if you're travelling with pets. The owner and property manager checked in regularly, were easily accessible, and wanted to make sure our needs were met. The location is convenient--some days we walked and some days we drove to the historic district. It's less than a ten minute walk to Forsyth Park to take the dogs for a walk and enjoy all the activity there. The steam shower provides great relief after a full day of walking and sightseeing. There is also a security system which provides a feeling of safety and well being. If you are travelling with pets, this is the place to stay. If you do, please take care of it as if it were you own so it stays available to all of us pet lovers!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thanks for the great review; we do mean what we say-- we do try to be the best value/service/pricing -- but you didn't try the" man grill" , the hammock, or the fire pit!? We look forward to seeing you , and those beautiful dogs, next year-- or any time you and your friends think it's "too cold" in your part of the "tundra"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Property

    Beautiful Property

    • Guest MB (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 02/10/11
    • Review Submitted 03/07/11
    Can't say enough good things. The house itself is beautiful, I especially loved the gourmet kitchen, steam shower and the great outdoor area. We spent a long weekend if February and liked it so much we rented it for the whole summer! The house is fully stocked with everything you need and the owners are very attentive. It is within walking distance of the historic district and is close to Forsyth Park. I highly recommend this property...can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Owner response: We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Savannah, and our property.- and thank you for the time to post a review Since you left, a number of 'upgrades"-- the new automated gate not only looks fabulous, but operates wonderfully; the courtyard lights now also have been improved-- 18 in all And, the new irrigation system for the lawns/flower beds should help provide lots of lush grass and great blooms/roses, when you are back this summer. See you in July/August Warm regards -- Marian & Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home

    Wonderful home

    • Guest Fatboysmama (Ral/Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/01/11
    The house was perfect for our needs! It is centrally located to just about everything interesting in the downtown area. Off street parking made it extra nice. The house itself is beautiful and had everything a hotel could offer and more. The owners were very reachable (although we had no problems). Would highly recommend staying here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: your response is most welcome-- since you were the first guests for 2011 come back, anytime marian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ian
    • Date of stay 12/24/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    Your house was beautiful. Loved the kitchen, the bath (especially the steam shower) and the garden/patio. We will refer all our friends for a week in Savannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spacious With Lots of Character

    Spacious With Lots of Character

    • Guest Joe (Rock Hill, SC)
    • Date of stay 04/02/10
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    This house is as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. We thoroughly enjoyed both during our stay. The owners were absolutely wonderful in communicating with us before our arrival, as well as at the time we arrived. We definitely plan to return sometime in the near future and would also recommend this property to our friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Joe/Sheryl Thanks for the great review ; we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future-- and please send us all your friends! Warm regards Marian & Ian

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]