Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

New Suite on the Beach [#332018] | View Property

Montanita
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$65 to $75 per night--Five Night Minimum
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (51)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful stay at Bob & Roxanne's Manglaralto's suite

    Wonderful stay at Bob & Roxanne's Manglaralto's suite

    • Guest Cristina W (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/16/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    We stayed at Bob & Roxanne's for a week in March 2014. They waited for us when we arrived late at night, and showed us to our suite. It was a beautiful, open concept suite with a magnificent wall to wall view of the ocean. It was a full-moon lit night, and the view was awesome and in the morning we woke up to discover that the beach was just a few steps from us. What we would like to note is Roxanne's attention to detail. We were greeted with a basket full of croissants, fresh tropical fruits, and cold beer. In the fridge we also found coffee beans, energy bars, fruit jams and in the cupboards there were all types of spices and condiments. They even provided bottled drinking water for the entire stay. The place was clean and well maintained with plenty of linens and towels. Manglaralto is very close to other little villages, since we had a car we made little journeys along the ecuadorian coast to sample the local cuisine and seafood. We even tried La Calderata restaurant, featured in Anthony Bourdain's TV program, ate the same dish he had, and met Isabel Perez, the chef. Bob and Roxanne invited us and the couple on the other suite for drinks, snacks, and chit-chat while enjoying another beautiful sunset. We enjoyed our stay and Bob and Roxanne's hospitality very much, and we would be recommending this place to anyone going to the beaches in Ecuador. Bob & Cristina from Ottawa, Canada

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent stay in the Alta Suite

    Excellent stay in the Alta Suite

    • Guest Angie and Andre
    • Date of stay 03/04/14
    • Review Submitted 04/11/14
    My husband and I enjoyed a delightful week staying in the Alta Suite in March of 2014 and would highly recommend this property to others. It was clean, comfortable and well maintained, very private, safe, and was as described, and Bob and Roxanne were great hosts and always helpful. The suite is large with a comfortable queen size bed, extra linens and a full size kitchen, and has a huge shower with lots of hot water. The outside private deck runs the width of the building and overlooks cocoa palm trees and the sandy beach and ocean is on the other side of the fence of the property. We enjoyed relaxing on the shaded deck where there were always cool breezes and beautiful sunsets in the evening. The ocean water was warm and we enjoyed walking on the beach - lots of soft sand and few people. This location is very private and quiet - the most noise you will hear is the surf pounding and the parrot on the property who likes to entertain. We made our own breakfasts and lunches and usually went into Montanita each day for supper, where there are a lot of restaurants to choose from. We had a vehicle and it was a 5 minute drive into town, and this was a good central spot to explore the area from. If you plan to do a lot of cooking, you might consider buying your main groceries in a larger center before arriving here, although we were given "starter" groceries such as a pound of coffee, jams and condiments and some grocery items are available in the small stores in town or in Olon. We appreciated that we were provided with bottled water and the use of the laundry facilities. We were sorry to leave when our week was over and hope we will be able to return some day.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gordon and Virginia

    Gordon and Virginia

    • Guest Virginia
    • Date of stay 02/21/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    We arrived a few hours early, and bob and Rox were so helpful, and offered us a beer and conversation with the other couple there! We felt very welcomed !! They had fruit and coffee , and rolls for us ! How nice is that!!! We had a very relaxing time there! We felt like we were on Maui Hawaii, with the waves rocking you to sleep! I can still hear the waves!!! they have a little bit of heaven at there door step!!!! So you can enjoy it also!!!!! We loved every moment!! We only stayed five nights, but we could stay forever!! Thank you Bob and Rox! Virginia and Gordon from Denver And Soon Bend Oregon! And in the future Ecuador!!! Thank you again!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Place

    Perfect Place

    • Guest Bob and Mary
    • Date of stay 02/16/14
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    Mary and I spent six weeks in Bob and Roxanne's suite and we enjoyed every minute of our time there. The apartment was perfect, location was perfect, weather was perfect and the best part, our hosts were perfect. There was not a thing we lacked, the apartment was well equipped with Direct TV, internet connection, constant supply of fresh bottled water, sand chairs umbrellas, beer runs to Montanita, everything a person would need. The small town of Manglaralto provided the basics of fruits and vegetables as well as grocery items, international phone service and internet cafe. Montanita is a 40 minute walk down the beach and what we didn't have in Manglaralto, we found there. Montanita also has a variety of good restaurants to choose from. Mary and I truly enjoyed our time at Oasis Del Mar where we meet so many different folks and had the opportunity to interact with the people of Ecuador. There are plenty of beautiful beaches in the world to visit but it's the people there that make the experience memorable. We were lucky enough to stumble upon Bob and Roxanne. I would encourage other folks to do the same. You won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The second visit as great as the first!

    The second visit as great as the first!

    • Guest Dale and Vicki (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 02/24/14
    We stayed 2 years ago and returned for 3 weeks this time. You can't get any closer to the surf and the location is perfect. It is close enough to walk to Montanita but only the waves for noise at night. Everything is great with the accommodations and our hosts Bob n Rox. We couldn't be more happy with our stay and hope to return for number 3. Thanks again Dale n Vicki

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent vacation experience

    Excellent vacation experience

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/04/14
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    There are two suites at this location and my wife and I stayed in the lower level suite from Jan 4 to Feb 7th, 2014 . We thoroughly enjoyed Bob and Roxanne's accomodation and their wonderful hospitality. The description and photographs of their lower level suite are very accurately described on their website. We enjoyed the comfortable queen size bed with good quality bed linens , a good sized shower with plenty of towels and a fully functioning kitchen. As tea drinkers, we noticed upon our arrival that there was a coffe maker but no tea kettle. We mentioned this in passing to Bob and a kettle arrived the very next day ! There is a washer and dryer on the premises which allowed us to travel there with only "carry on" luggage . We thoroughly enjoyed the very generously sized patio and ate there daily at the outdoor table located about 50 steps away from the ocean. The beautiful sand beach is very private in this area and we really enjoyed playing in the the great waves ! My wife also enjoyed looking for sea shells on her daily beach walks. At no time did we feel unsafe. The suites are located near Mangralalto where there are nearby stores and taxis are easily accessible. Bob and Roxanne recommend one particular taxi driver, Jorge, who will pick their guests up at the airport in Guayaquil and assist them with grocery shopping on their way to Mangralalto . We had a very good experience with Jorge and happily recommend him. Montanita is about a 35-40 minute beach walk or a 7 minute taxi ride ( $2 ) and it is well worth the visit. On many occasions, Bob kindly offered to drive us to Montanita or other nearby locations such as Olon where he recommended a good grocery store . He and Roxanne also kept us well informed of local "Gringo nights" so we could meet other English speaking visitors in the area and also drove us to a number of these get togethers. As hosts, Bob and Roxanne deserve a 5 star rating. They have been able to find the perfect balance of helpfulness and friendliness while also respecting their guests' privacy . Their excellent hospitality added greatly to our vacation experience. We also enjoyed the resident parrot , the numerous iguanas and our hosts's adorable dog, Coquita ! After staying a month, we would recommend Bob and Roxanne's lower suite without any reservations but realize that in writing this glowing review, we are probably increasing the competition for future reservations ! We are certainly planning to return for another visit !

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT IT

    YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT IT

    • Guest Michael O.
    • Date of stay 01/01/14
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    We stayed for a month back in September 2012, and it was the best vacation ever. Bob and Rox are perfect hosts. There are only two things I am sorry about... 1) It took me a year to write the review; 2) We had to leave. You two are the best and Elizabeth and I hope all is well in your neck of the woods. We miss you guys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Two Weeks in Paradise!!

    Two Weeks in Paradise!!

    • Guest Marcia L.
    • Date of stay 12/19/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    We just got back from 2 weeks staying at the Alta Suite and had an amazingly relaxing trip! Everything was perfect from the accommodations to the people we met during our stay. We originally chose this area to explore Ecuador's pacific coast and we certainly found what we were looking for! Manglaralto is a very quiet village filled with wonderful people who seemed genuinely happy to have visitors. It was easy to walk or get a taxi to visit the surrounding villages of Montanita, Olon and Simon Bolivar. We also enjoyed spending the day with Jorgé going to the supermarket and practicing our Spanish while he shared his knowledge of the area near La Libertad! We also really appreciated his excellent service of transportation to and from the airport. We got in very late and were very happy to see his smiling face! As for the suite, nothing was missing! The bed was comfortable, beautifully decorated with Ecuadorian art, the cupboards were filled of everything we needed to cook wonderful meals! (Even a BBQ right on the patio!) We spent most evenings watching sunsets and sipping wine or cervasas, and mornings on the balcony sipping coffee and eating exotic fruits while listening to the waves crash and birdwatching, before going on our daily long walk on the beautiful deserted beach. We were there for Christmas and New Years and it was wonderful to exprience new Ecuadorian cultural traditions! Now as for Bob and Rox, what can I say that hasn't already been said? They are wonderful people who make everyone feel welcome and are ready to answer any questions you have but who were never intrusive. Bob and Rox are perfect hosts in a perfect vacation rental!! Thank you for sharing your knowledge and your home! We definitely recommend this place to everyone and hopefully some day we will return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bodysurfing Paradise!

    Bodysurfing Paradise!

    • Guest Bodysurfing Beach Bums
    • Date of stay 12/15/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    My husband and I, (ages 61 and 53), spent three glorious weeks at the charming Baja Suite of Bob and Rox's BEAUTIFUL property. It was a dream vacation: bodysurfing daily in the 72-degree ocean, walking the wide, solitary beach to Montanita (30 minute walk to the North) or to Simon Bolivar (60 minute walk to the South). The locals were wonderful: friendly, kind, patient with our absolute lack of Spanish. We enjoyed our daily excursion to the tiny tiendas in town as well as purchasing fresh queso (cheese) and fresh shrimp from bicycle vendors, and fresh fish right off the beach. We arrived with a single goal: to REST after a grueling work schedule the six months prior. Manglaralto's beach was the ideal setting for a perfect R&R. Our daily routine: sleep in until the sound of the surf lulls you awake. Get up, walk a few yards to the ocean and enjoy a wake-up swim. (You will never be cold here. The air temps are in the mid-to-high 70s and the water temp in the low 70s. You can swim morning, noon, and night, in total comfort.) Prepare the sweetest white-fleshed pineapple and tastiest papaya you have ever eaten, and enjoy breakfast on the patio, a shell's throw from the ocean. Watch the pelicans and frigate birds catch their own breakfast with magnificent precision while you digest your own. Take a chaise and shade umbrella down to the beach. I read six novels on the beach in three weeks. We spent our days bodysurfing, reading, shell-collecting, birdwatching, making love. In the mid-afternoons, we walked down to Simon Bolivar, which is quieter than Montanita, and ate pineapple cake at the local panderia there. Back home, we drank cerveza and watched the spectacular sunsets each evening. Early evening shopping was our favorite time to interact with locals and witness the lifestyle of this modest fishing village. It felt good to shop local, watch the kids play, visit the church and central square's little park. Later in the evenings we cooked, attended to email, watched movies, played board games, wrote letters. Slept soundly on the comfortable bed. Day in, day out! :) As everyone has commented: Bob and Rox are the perfect hosts. It is a rare gift to make you feel perfectly cared for and perfectly left alone simultaneously. Isidro and Agripina, sweet caretakers, are equally skilled and generous. We will never forget the good-hearted kindness of these two couples. Muchas Gracias!!! We plan to return with our daughters, 17 and 20, who will love it too!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The most peaceful spot on the beach

    The most peaceful spot on the beach

    • Guest eddiec (Pittsburgh PA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/19/13
    • Review Submitted 12/06/13
    The suite was everything it was supposed to be and more -- a great veranda with the waves rolling in and a beautifully landscaped lot. There was nothing missing for a most enjoyable two weeks on the beach -- watching the fishing boats, the sunsets and the fresh ocean breeze. The bed was most comfortable, the furnishings and artwork a true representation of all the best that Ecuador has to offer. Bob and Rox were truly remarkable hosts, going more than the extra mile to make sure that we had everything we needed and all our questions were answered. We have stayed at other places near the beach, but never at a place so cozy and comfortable. We can't wait to go back and stay again. If there were 10 stars we would give it that!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Staying in Manglaralto

    Staying in Manglaralto

    • Guest Red (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/08/13
    We stayed in the upper suite at Roxanne and Bob's place for five days. As previous reviewers mentioned, photos do not serve justice. The rental was spotless and beyond our expectations. The ocean views are nothing less than spectacular and the rental was extremely well equipped for all of our needs. This is a perfect place to relax and take in the peaceful surroundings. If you want something more active, you can always go to Montanita- a short 45 minute walk along the beach. Both Roxanne and Bob are very welcoming, informative and made us feel at home from the time we met them. Thanks again Roxanne and Bob for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Incredible!

    Incredible!

    • Guest Adam (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/03/13
    My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of May. I am 30 and she is 28. Both of us were very happy with the entire experience. The property is amazing. Our suite ( the alta suite) was on the second floor of a separate building from the main house and had an incredible porch with an amazing view of the beach. The pictures posted on the website don't do it justice. The backyard of the property is your own private beach with gate access to the main beach and ocean. The property is just outside of Montanita (about a 30 minute walk or a $2 - 5 minute taxi ride). It was so nice to be staying outside of the town in a quiet relaxed place, but close enough to walk to bars and restaurants if we felt like it. The suite itself was very nice - clean and much bigger than we expected. Bob and Rox were perfect hosts! They were always willing to answer our questions and give advice for things to do around the area. In fact, they even let us borrow their bikes to ride around the small towns in the area! I would highly recommend staying here if you plan on visiting the area. Incredible place with wonderful hosts - you can't go wrong!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ecuador vacation

    Ecuador vacation

    • Guest Shawn n Susan (Haslet, TX)
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    We had the pleasure to stay in the upstairs apartment for 5 nights in March. The accommodations were perfect; a beautiful, palm-treed yard with beautiful tropical flowers everywhere, directly on the beach, a nice comfortable bed, hot shower, BBQ grill, full kitchen if you opt to eat in, granite countertops, and even DirectTV to catch a little news back home, or watch a late night movie before bed. An especially favorite routine was to sit on the balcony in the lounge chairs and take in the waves over coffee in the morning, and later in the day, view the most beautiful sunsets we've probably ever seen...absolutely gorgeous!!! And the hosts, Bob and Roxanne, are absolutely wonderful. If you have simple questions as to where to find a nice bakery, a great restaurant, or where to go on a day trip/excursion, or to even share your lives back home, they're you're ticket. It was almost as if they were old friends engaging in good conversation over a cold beer on their deck. We've stayed in VRBO locations in Europe, the USA, several countries in Central America, and the Caribbean, but Bob and Roxanne are by far the most gracious, friendly, and engaging hosts ever. Another nice thing about our stay were Bob and Rox's caretakers, Isidro and Agripina. They live on the premises and are always there to open the gate to let you in and out at anytime, day or night. They keep the entire area clean, neat, and in perfect condition. On our departure, we handed Isidro $25 as a token of thanks, and his sincere appreciation noted by the huge smile on his face will always be memorable! All in all, our stay in Montanita with Bob and Roxanne could not have been better. Our first trip to Ecuador was a memorable one, and hopefully there will be more to come. Cheers! Shawn and Susan

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Absolutely Paradise!

    Absolutely Paradise!

    • Guest Patrick (Orlando, FL)
    • Date of stay 03/19/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    What can I say that has not already been said. Bob, Roxanne, the place, the beach... all perfect for a quiet getaway. My partner and I stayed 10 days and could have easily stayed longer. So nurturing for the soul. Thank you Bob and Roxanne. We will be back for sure. If the price of the property next to you drops, make sure you let us know. be well

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A stone's throw from the water's edge.

    A stone's throw from the water's edge.

    • Guest SandyFeet (Fernie, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/24/13
    • Review Submitted 03/12/13
    What an awesome location! You can get from the front door to in the water in less than fifty steps depending on the tide \O/ The early morning coffees on the deck, watching the pelicans float over the breaking surf was the most memorable, and looking up the one morning to see the lone horse just walking down the beach!? The walk to Montanita is an easy one, our feet have never been in this good a shape from the sand pedicures. Sunsets were breathtaking from the front row seating on the deck. The apartment is beautiful, comfortable, spacious, and having our own large kitchen made it our home away from home the moment we stepped inside the first day. Bob and Roxanne are great hosts, and have the most perfect beachfront residence to enjoy a beach vacation from. Thank you Bob & Roxanne for the wonderful accommodations!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best trip ever!!!!!!!!

    The best trip ever!!!!!!!!

    • Guest Mike & Michelle (Picton, Ontario/Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    My husband and I spent month of Febuary in Manglaralto with Bob and Rox and had an amazing time! They were always willing to help with any questions we had. The suite is located in a beautiful location...a stones throw to the beach and the surf. This was our second time to Ecuador and we did not want to leave. Bob and Rox helped to make Manglaralto like home. Been back in Canada for two weeks and already miss Ecuador. The parrot and iguanas will be missed as well!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Brittney & Madrix

    Brittney & Madrix

    • Guest Britt & madrix (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    Our stay was marvelous! Bob and Roxanne were so kind and generous. They were always ready to help with any informant we needed and questions we had. If we had to pick again, we'd chose Ecuador and we'd defiantly stay with bob and Roxanne again. With a beautiful view of the ocean, being so close to anything we needed and the place had everything! They even welcomed us with croissants and jam. We had the best honeymoon and they helped make it better. Great times!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bob N Rox Rock...

    Bob N Rox Rock...

    • Guest Tomm (Evergreen, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 12/19/12
    • Review Submitted 12/29/12
    Super nice place, great hosts. What more can you ask for? The beach is ripe for long walks with very few other people. The town of Montanita is a 45 minute walk on the beach. Plenty of options for dining, drinking, etc.... when you get there, but the unit is fully equipped for cooking-in if you prefer. The hosts live here on the property which also makes it easy to ask for help, advice, etc... The perfect place to relax and read a book (or several), yet they still have TV and WI FI for those who prefer to stay connected. Shows as advertised! If you plan to cook several meals, buy groceries on the way and bring them. The local options are just for the basics.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place!

    Great Place!

    • Guest Bill (USA)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/18/12
    Our experience here with Bob & Roxann was excellent. They actually have two apartments. One on the first floor and the other over an oversized 2 car garage where we stayed. The place was spic and span clean, the view couldn't get ay better! Everything you could possible need is in the apartment. I can say enough good things about the place or Bob & Roxann. Look no further, I don't think you will find a better value or nicer people to stay with in the Montanita area

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exploring the Coast of Ecuador

    Exploring the Coast of Ecuador

    • Guest Ride With The Wind (Albuquerque, NM)
    • Date of stay 09/30/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    My husband and I wanted to explore the coast to get a feel for life on the beach in Ecuador and we couldn't have chosen a better spot! With Bob and Rox's guidance, it was very easy to hop on the bus and go either direction up the coast to Puerto Lopez or down the coast to Salinas and places in between. And, of course, Jorge and his taxi were indespensible for getting us to and from the airport (...and more!). The 30-minute walk up the beach to Montanita (or $2 taxi ride back) gave us easy access to restaurants and a wonderful bakery. Once you get to the suite, though, it is very difficult to convince yourself to leave for the day! The suite is comfortable, welll-appointed and clean. You are literally steps from the beach with a variety of hammocks and chairs to choose from on the porch. Walks on the beach are unlimited in both directions. We, too, were treated to the experience of watching the local fishermen haul in a huge net full of fish onto the beach in front of the suite. Bob and Rox are perfect hosts - from greeting you with fruit and croissants and 2 cold beers in the fridge to always being available to answer questions or help with problem solving! They were also more than happy to share their experiences as expats in Ecuador with us and answer all of our questions in our own exploration of the possibility of living in Ecuador. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend in this wonderfully relaxing spot! Thanks Bob and Rox!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Anniversary Trip

    Anniversary Trip

    • Guest Keith (Guayaquil, Ecuador)
    • Date of stay 08/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    Bob and Roxanne, thanks for sharing your beautiful piece of paradise with my wife and I. The suite is awesome, decorated with great taste and with comfort in mind. Beautiful tiles, granite, linens, etc..And all the amenities you could want, all great kitchen appliances, Direct TV, etc. But the best thing was the location. Just steps from a beautiful beach, quiet, clean, and private. What a great sound to fall asleep to every night. Bob and Roxanne were great hosts. So very friendly and kind. Thanks so much for the fresh fruit and croissants, and the cold beers, what a nice touch. My wife and I have lived in Ecuador for almost 5 years and have rented homes on the beach from Playas to Manabi, and this was BY FAR the best of the best. Thanks again, and you will be hearing from us again, very soon we hope.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Paradise Found!!

    Paradise Found!!

    • Guest Tim & Janet (York, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We just spent two weeks in paradise!! This suite was exactly as described - clean, beautifully decorated, well-maintained, great amenities .... I could go on and on. It was right on the beach - falling asleep to the sound of the crashing waves each night was unbelievable. The beach was private - no one for miles except for the occasional walkers and fishermen. The ocean was clean and not cold at all with nice-sized waves which made for great swimming. Bob and Roxanne were perfect hosts - friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They answered all of our questions about Ecuador and were very informative. From the day of our arrival (with croissants, fresh fruit and 2 cold beers waiting!) to the day we left (great directions to the airport in Guayaquil) we felt right at home. Montanita is just a short drive (less than 5 minutes) and is a great place to go for a wonderful meal, drinks, souvenirs, surfing, night clubbing, or just people watching. Driving up and down the coast we found charming little towns with restaurants, fishing boats, shopping, etc. We were lucky enough to have the opportunity to watch the people of the town bringing in a huge fish catch and even saw whales in the distance right in front of our suite! This was one of best vacations we've ever had and we will definitely be back!! We highly recommend Bob and Rox's suite to anyone - you'll love it!! Thank you Bob & Rox for everything - we enjoyed every minute of it!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • One month we will never forget!

    One month we will never forget!

    • Guest Pat (Canada, Quebec, Saguenay)
    • Date of stay 06/03/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    My girlfriend and I are young professionals in the early 30's and went for a full month in Ecuador for a surfing trip. We are people of action who like to do sport activities every day. For our base ground, we decided to stay at bob and Rox condo for a relaxing experience. It's 4 km away from Montanita. Instead of the loud music at Montanita, we have only the sounds of the waves. The only doubt at first was the transportation early in the morning with the surfboards (Manglaralto is also 4 km from montanita surf spot). Well Bob solved that problem very quickly. The first day he brought us at Salinas to find bikes. Bicycle on the beach is a top solution. We also went to a big supermarket to load our refrigerator for the month. During the entire trip, Bob and Rox were always helpful for every little question we had. We had so many good and funny conversations with them. They are very knowledgeable people with an interesting background, opinions, and stories. The condo is brand new and the serup is just perfect. Windows all across the wall towards the sea. Very intimate too. The view on the beach is just amazing. Pictures of the beach that are shown are not representative. I also tried to to take pictures to show how beautiful it was, but unfortunately, you have to be there to see the real picture. Sleeping with the sound of waves is a cure to let go the pressure from the work at home. The month was a complete success with a lot of surf, adventure (national parks walking, snorkeling). We also took Spanish lessons in Montanita. We surfed very good waves almost every day. Local people are very friendly and this place feels very safe. I even recommended this to my parents who are not familiar with not organized trips. They are more into all included and boat cruise to keep things safe. This place is safe, fun and I know Bob and Rox will take care of them. Your trip can not go wrong at this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Beach Setting

    The Perfect Beach Setting

    • Guest Karen6490 (Crossfield, AB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/02/12
    Our stay here was the perfect ending to a fabulous three week holiday in Ecuador. The emails back and forth for information were unbelievably fast. I was getting answers basically as soon as I hit the "send" button. Bob and Rox really made us feel at home. They have a beautiful place and it really shows that they take pride in it, All the little things were taken care of. They even had cold beer in the fridge with frosted mugs when we arrived. We had Jorge pick us up from Guayaquil and help us with our grocery shopping. He is a Godsend. Bob and Rox are extremely helpful with information and you can just tell that they want your experience to be as great as theirs. Watching the sunset every night on the balcony was beautiful. This really is a little slice of paradise. We will definately be back. Thanks again you guys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Peter and Karen are experienced travelers who asked specific questions after they had researched for general information. It was a pleasure to give them the details they needed. We were glad to get to know them, and hope that we will renew our acquaintance when they have make their return trip to our Coast...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Perfect Getaway

    The Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Kalle and Sherry (British Columbia Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/25/12
    • Review Submitted 05/11/12
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. The view was absolutely stunning, the people were superb. Bob and Roxanne went out of their way to make sure we were safe and had an ejoyable stay. They even drove us into town when we were going to walk one night just to make sure we were safe. We arrived early and they offered us a drink, had a couple of drinks in fridge in room waiting for us, fresh buns, fruit and condiments etc so you didn't need to run out asap and get something. It is an open concept room and was very romantic. The room was immaculate. I also liked the fact that they spoke English which is a big help when you're anywhere in Ecuador. The location is within walking distance to the town of Montanita and has great restaurants and shopping. Bob and Roxanne have definately put in alot of little extras and have thought of everything. They have gone above and beyond. You will not be disappointed. We highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We thank Kaarle and Sherry for their really nice comments. We were happy to get to know them a little and hope to get to know them better when they make a return visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bob and Rox Rock!

    Bob and Rox Rock!

    • Guest Tomas and Sabrina (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    We had an excellent time during our 4 night stay. Bob and Rox are incredibly personable and helpful. The location and room were clean, beautiful and absolutely exceeded all of our expectations. The beach is great, the water is warm and the 45 minute walk to Montanita is perfect. Their taxi driver Jorge is the man, super friendly and dedicated to making his passengers comfortable and on time. As a couple in our 20s, we really found this place to have it all - a quiet and private beachside getaway with a $2 cab ride to an energetic surfer town. Thanks again for everything guys!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: This really nice review is especially rewarding in that Tomas and Sabrina represent a much younger generation, who adopted to our laid back lifestyle perfectly. They recharged their batteries here--all the better to meet the demanding challenges of their professions. Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our time here.

    Our time here.

    • Guest Paul Adele (Ottawa)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 04/19/12
    We arrived last saturday thanks to the superb support of Jorge the well known, well recommended ( by the owners) taxi driver, who navigated us through Guayaquil up to Salinas on Wednesday and came back to get us to bring us here, via the super Meracado ( grocery store) in Libertad. He helped us with our shopping and delivered us safe and sound to exactly what we saw on the web site. To arrive to two tall cold beers, with two iced glasses, with fresh fruit on the counter and a dozen fresh buns in a towel covered basket, we have found paradise. We have found the perfect host and hostess. The waves are amazing as they break about 50 feet from our patio doors, the suite is superb, the bed a pillow top is excellent, the introduction from the owners that covered all aspects of the suite, the home, beach, the towns, the taxi fares. We feel we could stay here for weeks. We leave in two more days as we end our 4 month odessy, but for a relaxing, laid back place to just chill out to the sound of the surf and walks on the beach at sunset. This is it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We thank Paul and Adele for their wonderful review...this active couple had just returned from a dynamic tour of the Galapagos, and wished to just relax and unwind after their extended vacation. They did that just fine, and we wish them all the best back in Canada, and hope to see them on their return... Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PERFECTION!!!

    PERFECTION!!!

    • Guest Michele (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    We arrived the 7th of April for a week!! My sister and I had one suite and my brother and fiance had the suite above the garage. The week was perfect, the weather was great. Bob and Roxanne met us the first day when we arrived, they had beer and amenities at the ready. The scenery from their home is beautiful. The couple who help out around their home could not of been more helpful picking coconuts and opening them for us and generally helping us out in every way. Bob and Roxanne are so attentive helping us out in any way they can with directions and general information. We rented a car in Guayaquil and we really enjoyed checking out the coast, there is so many interesting things to do and see. We cannot say enough good things about Ecuador and the beautiful home we stayed in, a place I would visit again. Thanks again Bob and Roxanne for your hospitality!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Michele and her family were the perfect visitors to the Ecuador Coast. They did it all! They have now eaten in a larger variety of Montanita restaurants than we have, and certainly have taken part in more fun activities. With their rental car, they traveled up and down the Coast, and still had plenty of time to frolic in the surf and get serious reading done. Thanks for this really wonderful review--we hope that you plan a return trip soon. Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Found

    Paradise Found

    • Guest Joe and Janice (Benton City, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/03/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Our stay in Ecuador included a 3-night stay in this suite on the beach near Montanita. What a wonderful experience we had there. It was truly a relaxing haven for us on our trip and we will cherish the memories that we have there for the rest of our lives. The suite was new and very clean. It was the most comfortable night's sleep we had during our stay in Ecuador and the view and access to the beach is to die for. You can hear the sound of the surf from the room. Bob and Rox were kind and so helpful even to the point of Bob driving us up to Olon to purchase our bus tickets back to Guayaquil the next day. We will definitely be back to this paradise again. Bob referred us to the services of a reliable taxi driver who came whenever we needed a ride into Montanita and we felt very safe. The very first day we were there, we looked at each other and said, "Why would we ever stay anywhere else on the entire coast of Ecuador?" We are very impressed with the property and if we ever do find a piece of property on Ecuador's coast, we would build a suite just like this one because it is perfect!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We thank Joe and Janice for this excellent review, and really appreciate their plug for Jorge, who does his best to make everyone feel welcome and safe... After their very rewarding, but hectic, tour of Ecuador, we were glad to see Joe and Janice relaxing for several day at our place. We look forward to renewing our acquaintance, when they make their return trip. Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved Everything!

    Loved Everything!

    • Guest CarolJS (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Bob and Roxie. Our accomodations were wonderful, clean, well decorated, a very comfortable bed with lovely bedding and a sea breeze to keep you cool at night. It is very peaceful and quiet yet close to a town with a big variety of restaurants. The beach is fantastic, long walks on a clean flat beach with great waves. Everything described in the ad is far better than we had hoped. Bob and Roxie are great hosts and help you as much or as little as you like. Thanks Bob and Roxie- next time I want to spend our entire vacation at your place!! Rick and Carol Stadler

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We enjoyed our visit with Rick and Carol and wish to thank them for this wonderful review. They embraced the lifestyle at the beach with several short trips to Montanita interspaced with long periods here at the beach. We also thank Carol for her advice regarding our Kindles and other electronic reading devices. Plus, we thank her for the last book she sent. We are looking forward to seeing them the next time they head south of the Ecuator...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent visit

    Excellent visit

    • Guest Tito (Olathe, Kansas)
    • Date of stay 03/29/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    This suite by the beach was an excellent choice. Bob and Rox were great hosts and we look forward to staying here again on our next trip. The driver they recommended (Jorge) was top notch and very safe while driving us to and from the airport in Guayaquil. The special treat was the two cold beers and cold mugs that were waiting for us on our arrival....nice touch. P.S. their dog (Coquita) is a joy!! -Humberto/Diane

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a real treat to have Humberto and Diane as our guests. As a native Spanish speaker, Humberto completely charmed our Ecuadorian friends, and, of course, Diane fit right in perfectly. We appreciate their fine review and the plug that gave to Jorge--he deserves it! We are looking forward to getting to know them a lot better on their next trip...thanks mucho guys...Bob & Rox

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect for relaxation and gorgeous location on the Pacific

    Perfect for relaxation and gorgeous location on the Pacific

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/22/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed a week's stay in the newest second story suite and wanted for nothing. Fully equipped with all the necessities as well as some wonderful surprises upon arrival...cold beverages and fresh baked goods!! The suite's amenities are equal to a furnished condo (full kitchen, laundry, linens..including beach towels, hair dryer, basic spices, bath and dish soap, etc) so you can pack light. Bob and Roxanne are caring hosts who want to make sure your stay is all it can be...comfortable, memorable and worry free. They are available to help in any way and at the same time, respectful of their guest's privacy. Don't be afraid to ask questions before OR during your stay...they are quick to respond and will get you the answers you need. If you choose not to rent a car (driving is a true adventure in Ecuador!), we can also highly recommend Jorge. He is a very safe driver and will even help you grocery shop on your way from the airport. He speaks Spanish, so we recommend you prepare a list in Spanish (maybe using Google Translate) of your grocery needs ahead of arrival....if you intend to eat in. We normally eat out, but we were so comfortable that we wanted to cook and enjoy the view. You can buy produce and baked goods in Montanita at a fraction of the cost you'd pay in the USA. Our kitchen was supplied with an antibacterial solution for veggies (as well as bottled water) and we did NOT experience any tummy issues at all. There is no A/C in the suite, but ceiling fans and the ocean breeze kept the unit pretty comfy. At high tide, you will be about 60 feet from the water's edge. At low tide, you can walk a couple miles and not see more than a few people. We didn't have any problems with bugs (mosquitoes or sand fleas), but it wasn't a big worry as Bob and Roxanne supplied bug spray...another amenity provided! Lastly...the view! To die for. Stunning oceanfront vista of the Pacific. Beautiful waves breaking, pelicans diving for fish and every night delivered a new, colorful sunset. We hope to return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Dave and Margaret embraced the Coastal living experience with gusto. They experienced enough of the Montanita night lifestyle, and then gravitated toward the more mellow laid back life at the beach! They already were experienced travelers, and we were happy to fill in the information gaps about Ecuador when needed. We wish to thank them for their marvelous review and hope to see them return in the near future. We also thank them for giving a plug to Jorge, our safe and sane cab driver--he deserves it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Wonderful Beach Getaway

    A Wonderful Beach Getaway

    • Guest Connie (Grand Junction Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    We feel very fortunate to have gotten to stay in the new suite at Oasis By the Sea in Montanita. It is brand new, and it is beautifully furnished with everything anyone would want or need to be totally comfortable. We came in from Guayaquil and arrived around 8:30 pm, and Bob and Rox even had dinner made for us as well as stocked our fridge with a couple of cold beers and some other necessities! The suite is even nicer than the photos, and there is a beautiful deck to sit and watch the incredible waves on the pretty-much deserted beach. There is also plenty of hot water for showering, which is a biggie in our book. Bob and Rox were so hospitable, first sending their wonderful driver, Jorge, to pick us up in Guayaquil, then showing us around town, recommending where to go, and answering all of our 3 million questions! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are looking forward to returning and staying longer next time. We would heartily recommend Bob and Rox's suggestion of Casablanca as a restaurant to go to, where you can sit and people watch for hours while enjoying some great food and wine. We would highly recommend staying here. It's the perfect romantic getaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Dan and Connie for their wonderful review. They are a gracious and knowledgable couple, who make you feel like you've known themn forever, in just a few minutes. Their enthusiasm for our place, and the Coast in general, made it a pleasure to pass along some hints, and to answer questions as they came up. We are looking forward to their next longer visit, so that we may get to know them even better. Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • In A Word--Fantastic!

    In A Word--Fantastic!

    • Guest Ken & Genie (Nemo, South Dakota)
    • Date of stay 03/15/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    Thanks so much for the beautiful place to stay and your help guiding us along the way. We certainly had experiences that we will never forget! We enjoyed our get-togethers with you and your other guests. You two were always there to answer questions and make suggestions. Jorge was truly a blessing - thank him again for us! A hint to other visiters, learn the language. We got along ok on very limited skills in that area (again thanks Bob & Rox). We have lots of pictures of lots of things (from beautiful ocean views, coconut trees, beautiful flowers, Lorraine, iguanas, bulls on the beach, surfers, boogie boarders, fishing boats, dive-bombing birds and so many memories as well as many, many beautiful sunsets, you two and last, but not least, Coquita! We lost power today for an hour and half, like parts of Eucador every once in a while, but unfortunately ours was due to an April snowstorm - we ended up with about 6 to 8 inches of heavy wet snow - the sun is out now and it's melting, thank goodness ~ You have a fantastic home and rental suites. Everything was exactly as advertised, in fact better. We had the most relaxing vacation in years! We highly recommend your vacation rental to anyone looking for the same thing. Gracias el amigos!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Ken and Genie for their wonderful review! We also enjoyed our many conversations. It was fun to learn more about South Dakota and share observations about trends in Real Estate in the US and here in Ecuador. Their enthuiastic embracing of the beach and surf out front ensured that they would certainly return to SD with a better tan than anyone else! We look forward to seeing them again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great stay at the new suite

    Great stay at the new suite

    • Guest jody (Quinte West, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 03/27/12
    We stayed three weeks at Bob & Roxanne's beautiful new suite. Bob picked us up at the bus stop inMontanita. When we arrived to our suite there was cold beer in the frig, along with fresh fruit & vegetables. We had arranged with Bob & Rox pror to our trip to stock our freezer. The suite was beautiful & very spacious, with a large deck over looking the ocean. There is no AC, but there are screens on all the windows & we found it very comfortable. Bob & Rox go above the call of duty to make your stay a great one. They took us out on a few trips to show us some of the local sites. Anytime you wanted beer you just had to ask & Bob would pick it up for you. They would also get you supplies from the larger grocery stores in Selenas. It was a 45 minute walk along the beach to town of Montanita where we would pick up fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs & baked goods. Then we would take a taxi back for $2. We had a great time walking the beach & playing in the surf. It was interesting to watch all of the fishing boats at night. And we bought a wonderful fish from a man on the beach. Bob & Rox go out of their way to make sure your stay is a comfortable one. We would definitely go back. Thanks for everything. Carl & Jody Neilsen

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Carl and Joanne fit right in to our beach lifestyle...but what was even better for us, was that Carl was a trained entomologist, who answered all our questions about all of our little critters. His talents were especially appreciated as he refreshed us on the habits and life of the millions of butterflies that we have migrating past our front porch. We thank them for their very generous review and hope to see them and more of their family members in the near future...Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our beach stay

    Our beach stay

    • Guest Ken & Jean (USA, Missouri)
    • Date of stay 01/30/12
    • Review Submitted 02/12/12
    For anyone desiring a relaxing stay on the beach of Ecuador, you will be hard pressed to find anything more enjoyable than a stay with Bob and Roxanne. They are extemely accomodating and their suite has everything you might want. Beyond being just steps from a great sand beach, you will enjoy the surf of the Pacific and be exposed to local traditions not likely found in other locations. We enjoyed our week with them and should the opportunity present itself again we would look forward to another stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Ken and Jean for their generous review. It was a pleasure getting to know them. and to witness them enjoying Mother Nature at her best. We hope they will put us on their list for their next visit. Thanks again for the kind words, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • a secret paradise

    a secret paradise

    • Guest baw516 (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    We just left Bob & Rox's incredible piece of paradise and my heart is still there. How amazing to hear the surf pounding through the night and watch the sun set as you sit on your private patio. We would walk into Montanita during the day and pick up fresh fruits, etc and take a $2 cab back. Especially enjoyed sitting by the surf in the day and being the only one on the beach. By day two, you will feel that you've been at the most expensive health spa, fully relaxed and feeling wonderful. By the way, the ocean temperature is perfect. Our suite is exactly as described which we have found is typical of VRBO listings. You could rustle up a few eggs on the stove overlooking the ocean and blend up a tropical fruit smoothie. We look forward to our return trip and to the wonderful hospitality of Bob and Rox and Ecuador.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Barbara and Sean for this really nice review. As experienced travelers, they were amazingly self-sufficient. They had no trouble figuring out how Ecuador works, and they fit right in down here . We hope that we see more of them in the near future, so we may get to know them better...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ecuadorian vacation

    Ecuadorian vacation

    • Guest Dale and Vicki (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 01/23/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
    Thanks Rox and Bob for sharing your wonderful Oasis by the Sea. After 3 weeks at your suite we really do not want to leave. The accommodations are perfect with everything we needed and just like described with only pleasant surprises. The extras like beer in the refrigerator and “leaving the lights on” were nice touches. With the ocean right outside the door and the sounds of the surf it truly is a tranquil setting. We enjoyed the long walks on the beach and no crowds. The proximity to Montanita is perfect; close enough to walk to all of the wonderful restaurants and shops but away from it all and quiet. We appreciated having Jorge available for transportation to and from Guayaguil when needed and the staff and feeling of security is great. All of this made for a relaxing and perfect Ecuadorian vacation. You are both wonderful and helpful hosts. Thanks we appreciate it and we hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Dale and Vicki for their wonderful review...It was great to have them around, as they enthusiastically embraced the "lifestyle on the beach". They arrived "un-tanned" and left brown as berries. Their adventuresome spirit had them including trips to the Galapagos, and various day drips to local hot spots. They sampled many places in Montanita, the we had never even heard of. They have told us that they have many other places to see in the world, but that they just might make a return trip to the Coast of Ecuador--We certainly hope so!! Thanks again to some really nice folks... Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Why did we leave?

    Why did we leave?

    • Guest kp (Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/14/12
    • Review Submitted 02/12/12
    Our stay at this lovely compound on the beach was everything we dreamed of: hammocks swaying in the breeze, thundering waves to lull you to sleep, a beautiful beach that extends for miles on either side of the property and 2 lovingly furnished and immaculate suites with everything you need to basically live there (including a cold/hot bottled water dispenser which was a nice touch). With privacy, quiet and 2 of the loveliest hosts you could wish for this property is everything as advertized. When a little energy or nightlife is required a hike or short drive to the surf town of Mantanita is in order. Think southern California surf town in the 60's and you got the picture. Highly recommend Bob and Rox's jewel on the beach but be forewarned. You may not want to leave.....ever.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roxanne and I wish to thank Keith and Linda for their really great review--they were a pleasure to have as guests. We were continually impressed by their athleticism and enthusiastic embracing of everything here in Ecuador. We look forward to seeing them again, when they make their next trip to the Coast, Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We love it.

    We love it.

    • Guest J&K K. (Bellingham WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/09/12
    • Review Submitted 01/30/12
    Wonderful, beautiful and peaceful place. Perfect weather and NO BUGS!! (Bob I spell it right this time). Situate out of crowd but same time only couple of miles from vibrant tourist town of Montanita. In Montanita we find many picturesque shops restaurants cafeterias etc. Beach is right in front of the studio. There is a gorgeous view of the ocean and the beach from spacious balcony. Miles and miles of empty wide beaches perfect for long relaxing walk. Owners Bob and Roxanne deserve highest possible score and then some. They are very warm friendly and helpful. Same time tactful and discrete in the manner how they taking care of their guests. They are few yards away when we need them but also we did have full privacy in our daily endeavors. Important aspect of our vacations in Ecuador was exploring idea of relocating over there for retirement. And in this matter we did find Bob and Roxanne as a wealth of information ranging from local shopping trough taxi drivers, laws, real estate, buying a car and so forth. They are very knowledgeable and informative. We did rent in the past vacational properties in Hawaii, Panama and Costa Rica and in our opinion Bob’s and Roxanne place and its owners are way ahead of ours past experience. BTW. Yes, we decide to retire in Ecuador and we are planning that our first place to stay after relocation from states would be B&R place in Manglaralto Ecuador. Thank you very much Bob and Roxanne. Jerzy & Krystyna Kalita, Bellingham WA,

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roxanne and I wish to thank Jerzy & Krystyna for their wonderful review. Their adventuresome spirit and generosity made it easy to want to privide information about Ecuador, and tips for retiring and relocating. We especially enjoyed hearing about their world-wide travels. We look forward to having them as neighbors in the future, and in renewing our friendship. Thanks!!! Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The BEST!

    The BEST!

    • Guest rjb (Colorado US)
    • Date of stay 11/16/11
    • Review Submitted 03/27/12
    The Suite, Bob, Roxanne AND Coquita are the BEST! My husband and I (exhausted) were driven from the airport by their private driver, Jorge (highly recommended). We were warmly greeted by our hosts when we arrived and given the lay-of-the-land. The Suite is beautiful, the lovely decor includes local artwork and lots of special touches. It's spotless and has all the amenities we read about and more (they had even stocked essentials in the fridge for us). It's was like having our own little home. Bob and Roxanne are gracious, friendly, smart, funny, oh so knowledgeable ... and always happy to help. We spent 10 glorious days in The Suite and we truly wished we had booked at least a month. We enjoyed everything ... the beautiful beach at our doorstep, the tropical views, the amazing sunsets, the tranquility and it's great, private, quiet location. There are lots of things to do ... horseback riding, surfing, the National Park and lots of fun restaurants and people-watching in the nearby surf town. But we especially enjoyed our time relaxing in the ocean breezes (the hammocks were great for that) and watching the occasional iguana go by. After 8 months of touring on 3 other continents, staying in B&Bs, resorts, hotels, hostels along the way, we have to say our time in Ecuador at The Suite was the most enjoyable ... just not long enough. Thanks guys ... for EVERYTHING!! Jilleen & Robert

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We thank Jilleen and Robert for their incredibly nice review, and we wish to say that we enjoyed their visit greatly. An added bonus for us is that they have settled close by here on the Coast, and we have since, become good friends. Welcome to Ecuador, and thanks mucho! Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Place to Stay

    A Wonderful Place to Stay

    • Guest John (Estes Park, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    Manglaralto is just the right distance from Montanita to be able to enjoy the town and also to be able to escape the noisy nightlife of Mantanita, and Oasis del Mar is the perfect place to stay while in the area. Our room was spacious and well stocked with many pleasant suprises from a couple of welcoming beers in the refrigerator to plenty of kitchen condiments to spice up our home cooking. The hosts, Bob and Roxanne are very experienced in making a stay with them very peaceful and relaxing. They are always there to help in assisting you in obtaining the best vacation amenities available. They graciously invited us to enjoy drinks at sunset on their deck and they even went with us to celebrate my wife's birthday at their favorite restaurant in Montanita. All in all I would say, that this is one of our favorite places to stay while on the coast of Ecuador.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: First, we'd like to thank John and Chris for their gracious words and good vibes...These folks are experienced travelers, who know what they want to do and know how to do it. We are glad that we were able to help them with a few tips here and there. Celebrating Chris's birthday was a genuine pleasure for us, one which we should be thanking them for. We are looking forward to their next visit... Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Gracious hosts and a relaxing stay!

    Gracious hosts and a relaxing stay!

    • Guest Jan (Arkansas)
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    We highly recommend this tastefully decorated, sparkling clean and bright suite!! It is located on a beautiful, private sand beach with a spectacular view!! The property was accurately described and the grounds as well as the suite were meticulous! This is truly a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty that Ecuador offers. We really appreciated the time that Bob and Rox took to answer our numerous questions about living in Ecuador. We have never stayed with such gracious, warm hosts!! Bob and Rox were very helpful in answering our numerous questions about living in Ecuador.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roxanne and I wish to thank Jan and Jay for their really great review. It was a pleasure to meet them. They were able to see much of Ecuador during their stay, and we feel honored that they thought of us so highly. We look forward to seeing them on their next visit--and hope it's sooner rather than latter. Thanks again, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place right on the beach!!

    Amazing Place right on the beach!!

    • Guest mishkaman05 (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 05/24/11
    Myself and my girlfreind recently spent 7 nights at the Casa Del Mar (Suite on the beach) and loved every minute of it. The owners Bob and Rox were so helpful the whole time we were there, especially since we had never been to Ecuador before!! They had answers to all our questions and helped us get adjusted to the Ecuadorian life!! The suite itself is everything we wanted it to be, it has a huge patio with nothing but beach and the Pacific ocean in front of it! Two hammocks for lounging around, Boogey boards to hit the waves with and chairs to bring down to enjoy the very private beach. The suite has a fully equiped kitchen (If cooking is your thing) a washroom with shower a long with a beautiful bedroom that over looks the beach and ocean (perfect for listening to the waves crash at night). The suite is spotless and the property is very well maintained with beautiful gardens and palm trees speckled through out the yard. Location: The suite is located just a short walk north (or $1.50 cab ride) to the fun filled Montanita where there is something for every walk of life to do. There are also several quieter beach/fishing towns to the north and south of the suite. There truely is something for everyone here, the area is very safe and the ecuadorian people are very freindly. We never felt out of place and loved the ecuadorian people and their culture. Each town has plenty of restaurants with everything from chicken fingers, burgers and fries to local seafood dishes and all for a very reasonable price. Markets in montanita have all your produce needs where you can fill up bags with fruits and vegetables for under $2. Overall we loved the suite, loved Ecuador and especially loved our new freinds Bob and Rox who easily made us feel like we were home right from the get go. The suite was very private, but also Bob and Rox were never far to help us with any questions (as our spanish is poor). Thanks again guys and we will definatley return again one day!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We thank Scott (& Lindsay) for their wonderful review. It is especially gratifying that it comes from such a nice couple in their twenties. Their observations from a younger perspective make us want to redouble our efforts to make the Suite a great experience for couples of all ages. They are experienced travelers, but they listened carefully to our observations about Ecuador, and were able to enjoy their stay that much more, by not making newcomer mistakes. They didn't know much Spanish, but they did not have much trouble "communicating", because they treated the locals with respect, while working out their message. We are happy that they are already planning more visits to our area, and we look forward to seeing them in the future. Thanks for the kudos guys--we will strive hard to make sure that all of our future guests feel as you do. Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Sand, surf and sunsets

    Sand, surf and sunsets

    • Guest Clare W. (Sun Lakes)
    • Date of stay 03/31/11
    • Review Submitted 04/19/11
    Everything is as pictured on Bob and Rox's website. The beach is right in front, and you can sit in bed and watch the waves. The huge private patio with hamocks, table, and chaise lounges was great. You can walk forever on the beach! We used Taxi driver (that Bob knew) "Jorge" to take us back to the airport on our last day, and he was fantastic ($80 to and from airport 2.5 hours each way). Jorge also can take you into Salinas for supplies as well. Jorge was an EXCELLENT driver - this is a big deal in Ecuador, as many drivers are not! Bob and Rox took us to Casa Blanca twice during our stay, and we really enjoyed their company (and sweet little Coquita). This is a perfect place to just relax on the beach and "unplug". Do not waste your time, money or energy taking "real estate tours" (we were so let down as this was the reason for our trip). "Agents" (NO LIC. REQUIRED) are just waiting for you and your $$ to arrive. Let Bob and Rox give you some honest advice, if that is the direction you are looking into. Thank you Bob and Rox, for taking SUCH good care of us! We would have been lost without you, and the wonderful "Oasis" you have created. You were so blessed to have everything line up for you so perfectly! We hope you are up on the balcony watching for the green flash tonight! :o) Give Coquita kisses, and tell her she can count on "goodie packages"! All the best, Clare and Matt

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Firstly, we wish to thank Clare and Matt for their wonderful review. We really enjoyed their company, when they were able to break away from relaxing in the hammocks, playing in the surf, and sunning on the beach...They thanked us for taking them to the Casa Blanca twice, when, actually, we should be thanking them again, for taking us out! They really didn't have enough time to do an in depth search of beachfront properties, and we hope that they return soon for a longer look-see. Rox and I have extensive Real Estate experience, and are always happy to share with folks coming down this way. However, we must point out that we are not in the Real Estate business now, nor are we acting as Real Estate agents. And...Coquita wishes to thank Matt and Clare for her new pink bunny, which is her new "rastling" buddy...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • This truly is an "Oasis by the Sea"!!!

    This truly is an "Oasis by the Sea"!!!

    • Guest John and Jeanne (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 03/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/17/11
    My wife and I stayed in this suite for one week (way to short of a time!!) and it was fantastic. While the suite itself was outstanding- extremely clean, comfortable, quiet and secure; the best part of our experience were the hosts- Bob & Roxanne. With many years in the hospitality industry their attention to detail and warm inviting attitudes were truly genuine and greatly appreciated. Their knowledge of Ecuador and the people was very helpful and insightful. The beach and ocean were clean, safe, and very unpopulated with other tourists. The walk along the beach to the small, thriving surfing town of Montanita was very relaxing and enjoyable. The town has several good dining options as well as shops and street vendors. The pictures of the suite are accurate and the accommodations are as described. We would recommend this property to family and friends. Thanks Bob and Roxanne for a truly wonderful stay- we will be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks John and Jeanne for your wonderful review. People like you, who are sturdy Vermonters, make it easy to have as guests. This was especially true when the President of Ecuador mandated that everyone evacuate our comfortable nests, and hightail it to a high hill to wait for the Tsunami that was predicted. Your willingness to help all that needed it, showed your true pioneer spirit. That said, we will continue to try to live up to your review of our Suite and our Inn keeping responsibilities. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon! Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • STAY HERE!

    STAY HERE!

    • Guest Steve (Massachusetts, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 03/20/11
    I stayed at Bob & Roxanne’s suite the first week of March 2011. It exceeded my expectations. Their house is right on the beach. In front of the suite is a large patio that opens to the ocean. Great breezes blow through the screened windows on opposite sides of the suite. Fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing on shore. The suite is very clean and a safe for your valuables is provided. You can walk 2 hours to the left and see very few people. 45 minutes to the right is the surfer town of Montanita. Great restaurants, bars and beach scene. When you want to go back home it is only a $2 cab ride. Bob & Roxanne are part of the local community and they introduced me to many people. You cannot walk anywhere around town with them without locals coming up to them and saying hello. They are known by cab drivers, restaurants and all types of locals. I needed to leave the last day of Carnival. Bob brought me to the start of the bus route, a couple of miles north of Montanita. Bus tickets are only available one day in advance. Bob & I arrived at 20 minutes after they went on sale, and I was told the only ticket available was for the 4:30 AM bus to Guayaquill. I left the window not wanting to take that early of a bus. Bob spoke with the ticket agent and found 1 seat at 4:45 PM. I got an extra day at the beach. Bob & Roxanne will try their best to make your stay as nice as mine. They are gracious hosts and very welcoming. An incredible beach vacation worth the price. I can’t stop bragging about my wonderful stay at Bob and Roxanne’s and I can’t wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roxanne and I thank Steve for his very generous review. He was a pleasure to have as a guest, even though his wife, Sue, could not accompany him this time. Steve showed a great deal of independence and an enthusiasm to learn more about the Coast, and the Montanita area, in particular. His ability to interact so positively with the local people gave him a further insight into our area. We will strive to earn a rating like this one with every one of our future guests... Thank you Steve...we hope to see you back soon, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • This is a lovely suite, very clean and close to a beautiful beach!

    This is a lovely suite, very clean and close to a beautiful beach!

    • Guest Bev and Mark (Golden, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/06/11
    • Review Submitted 03/08/11
    My husband and I stayed in this suite for 3 weeks and we were very comfortable. It was accurately represented, was clean and well-maintained, and the location on a very quiet beach, safe for swimming was wonderful! Bob and Roxanne were excellent hosts, knowledgeable about Ecuador and the Ecuadorian people and extremely helpful to us while we were their guests. Being a 1/2 hour beach-walk from Montanita, a busy little town with many restaurants and local vendors, meant there was always something to do. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and relatives and both my husband and I feel we have made new friends in Bob and Roxanne. Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Mark and Bev for their extremely generous review. As Canadians who live in a rural community, they have a "can do" attitude--they are self-sufficient and self-reliant. Their engaging manner makes it easy to pass on what we have learned about Ecuador and Expat living. They are successful business people, so we felt that we were the beneficiaries of good advice and good information. Our many conversations were always a two way street. We regard Mark and Bev as friends who we hope to see many times in the future. Thanks again, and good luck, Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Private Oasis at the Sea

    Private Oasis at the Sea

    • Guest Angela & David (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/09/10
    • Review Submitted 12/10/10
    Spectacular view, quiet & secure setting, private sand beach, waves crashing, screened windows to let in the ocean breeze, coconut palm trees, spacious, tastefully decorated accomodations with kitchen & shower big enough for 2, & WONDERFUL hosts...how could it possibly have been any better? Only by the best meal we had while in Ecuador at the Casa Blanca in the fun downtown area of Montanita, only about 5 minutes away! The whole experience was like something you read about & brochures describe but rarely deliver. This was the real deal. We can´t wait to return & stay longer!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Wow! Angela and David's review is everything we strive for. We will do our best to merit a review like this with every person who visits. Thanks a lot--This review is especially meaningful, as it is our first one... Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Just What We Hoped For - A Beautiful Place on a Beautiful Beach!

    Just What We Hoped For - A Beautiful Place on a Beautiful Beach!

    • Guest Rick and Lilian (Apopka, Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/28/10
    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
    My wife and I were on a short 2 week recon trip to Ecuador to decide if it may be a retirement destination for us. I had been following Bob and Rox’s adventures on their blog for some time. We wanted to see the Montanita area and their new beachfront suite was just the perfect place to stay. With the combination of great hosts, great beach and brand new bright and clean suite – well, you just won’t find a better place to stay if you find yourself in the area. Lilian and I look forward to our next trip to visit with our new friends. Thanks Bob and Rox for your hospitality!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We wish to thank Rick and Lilian for their generous comments. They were here almost from the first day that the Suite was up and running, and we appreciate several suggestions that they made to us to make the Suite better, and to make our guests more comfortable. Having said that, we now hope that they will be able to join us for a longer period on their next trip. Partly due to their suggestions, the Suite now has new hammocks, new Chaise lounges, and protection of the screen on the screen door. Of course, the sun, sand and tranquility, are still here waiting for them...Hasta luego, Amigos!!! Bob & Roxanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next