Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lush landscaping delights the senses as you enter your vacation home!

Sophisticated Luxury Beach Front Home [#332807] | View Property

Hopkins
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$300-$375/nt or $2000-$2500/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Great Stay!

    Great Stay!

    • Guest David B. (Toronto )
    • Date of stay 03/11/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    We spent 7 nights at this wonderful home in Hopkins and had a great stay. The house is very clean and comfortable. Well maintained and when we had a small problem with one of the AC units it was fixed the next day. There are lots of restaurants a short walk away and the dive shop we used (Hopkins Underwater Adventures, also excellent) was a 7 minute walk down the beach. We spent 4 days on Ambergris Caye before coming over to Hopkins and it was much more laid back in Hopkins. No one bothering you on the beach, just settle into the chairs on the beach and soak up the sun uninterrupted! We would definitely go back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beach Front Home

    Beach Front Home

    • Guest tim k.
    • Date of stay 02/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Our group of two couples stayed at Maria and Chris' home for 9 days, Feb 7th - 16th, 2014. It is as advertised! Beautiful and luxurious! Marble floors, granite counter tops, fine woodwork and great local artwork, all combine for an amazing home. Very well equipped kitchen. Complimentary bikes and kayak. The home is right on a well landscaped beach with lots of privacy. Hopkins location is great for day trips to rainforest and a zipline. Boat trips to the reef are available daily. Along with some very nice restaurants and very friendly locals, this is a place we plan to return to. Tim & Trish

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home with a beautiful beach.

    Wonderful Home with a beautiful beach.

    • Guest Henri L.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    My family and I loved this home and we really enjoyed Hopkins. We snorkeledj and went diving with the local dive shop, Hopkins Diving, and we drove ourselves to the Mayflower Bocawina Park and walked the Antelope Trail to the top of the falls. Delightful! Another visit to Placencia was also fun. All appliances worked and were essentially new. Once Hopkins get its road paved, I think this town will really come into its own.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Place

    A Great Place

    • Guest JCPA (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    This home is a great place to stay in Hopkins. It's a 2-bedroom which is perfect if you're a family and don't want a lot of extra house you don't need. It is not a small home, as all the rooms are generously proportioned. It is beautiful inside and out, and its beachside location is fantastic for breezes and water views. It is also very well maintained by the property manager, and everything you might need has been provided for. I would say its location is ideal in the Hopkins area. It's outside of town but not too far, it's among other homes so that you don't feel too isolated, and it's close to the few low key resorts in the area so that you can enjoy some fine dining. It's also situated between 2 homes with larger lots so that you're not too close to your neighbors. And, it's not too far by boat out to the cayes where you will find great snorkeling and scuba diving. Hopkins is also close to many national parks and preserved lands so that, if you decide to get off the beach and go inland, you can hike through pristine jungle areas. Hopkins is a true Belizean village and if you get to know some of the people you will find that they are wonderful. It is not polished perfection, and it is not too touristy. It is a place where you can experience some of the real Belize. Also, you couldn't ask for a better owner and property manager. They are good people you will be happy to come to know.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A fantastic place to unwind!

    A fantastic place to unwind!

    • Guest Alan (Joplin, MO)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    My wife and I, along with our two grown children spent an amazing week at this beautiful Villa just south of Hopkins. We couldn't have been happier with the home. It's beautiful and much larger than it looks in the photos. Janette was very helpful in arranging tours for us. Whatever you do, don't miss the night river tour with Luckie, it's the best value in Belize and the bio-luminescent lagoon is one of the most amazing sights you'll ever see! Also, if you get lucky, you might see a couple Tapir like we did. Fantastic! Renting a golf cart is a great way to get to town, just realize it can be a bumpy, dusty trip! Go meet the villagers, they are a great group of people. Also, head south to the Curve bar. It's a fun place to have a couple drinks. The beach in front of the Villa is the perfect place to catch some sun and enjoy a cocktail or two. With the security guard, Angel patrolling at night, you can rest safe and sound after a great day in Hopkins. Rent the Villa, you won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Quiet Place to Celebrate Our 25th Wedding Anniversary

    Great Quiet Place to Celebrate Our 25th Wedding Anniversary

    • Guest Mike M.
    • Date of stay 05/08/13
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    We loved so many aspects of our short time in Belize. The home and the beach in the backyard were great! We spent the first full day swimming, snorkeling and paddling around right outside the back door. Then we relaxed in the hammock built for two. The home was beautiful with all the windows and lovely wood trim. We agree with another reviewer. We did feel like we were in a bit of fish bowl with no blinds on the windows in the main living area. The eateries around the house and in town were all good and the staff very pleasant. We ate at Iris', Innie's, Thong's, Chef Rob's and Barracuda - all had excellent food and different atmosphere's. A surprise we found on the last day was the Curve Bar on the Sittee River. Go the opposite way (south)of town when you leave the house and you'll find it in over a mile. Good drinks and food. Janette was instrumental in helping arrange rides to and from the airport in Dangriga, even when we arrived an hour early. The drivers we used - Manuel and Santos - were very knowledgeable of the locale, the people and the cultures. And the zip line from Bocawina Adventures in Mayflower was "more fun that two people should have" - 12 platforms and our guides - Jesus and Jorge - were extremely gracious and patient. The entire staff at Bocawina was very friendly. And who can't love the jungle?! The roads need improvement around the home and Hopkins. Even with the golf carts to go to town, they were incredibly rough and getting passed by cars or trucks left you in a cloud of dust. And yes, the bugs are bad. Even using bug spray. I came back and got a steroid shot to help the welts clear up more quickly. Overall, we loved our anniversary get away. We loved Belize and the beautiful home. We wanted a quiet, relaxing and beautiful location. And we got it with some pleasant surprises along the way!. Maria and Chris, thank you very much!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Picture Perfect Postcard

    Picture Perfect Postcard

    • Guest Jen (Columbiana, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    What a great vacation! Thank you Chris and Maria first for the use of your beautiful home! Extremely clean, great windows everywhere, everything worked, even washed and dryed some clothes. Snorkeling is a must!!!! We had Patrick as our private guide and also had him take us on the night tour of the Sittee river. Another must do. Did cave tubing at Caves Branch, gorgeous resort, and hiked the falls at Mayflower Park. This hike could not be completed by myself or my husband. Very Strenuous. Must use ropes to climb and pretty much rapel down once you get to a certain point, but we still loved the rest of the hike. No Chunko or Cash. They were removed. However, Maya, a female Rottweiler, visited us several times and was dear. We actually wished we had spent more time at the house because the view, beach and kayaking that was incredible. We or I went Kayaking everyday. The morning is the best because the ocean is placid. No sand fleas, only sand flies when the wind wasn't blowing. Then we just used Off for strenous activities (sweat). We brought Deep woods off and never used it. Just don't leave wet shoes/boots outside to dry. One of my new hiking boots was picked up by a deviant dog that likes such things. Just bring them in to dry if you leave the house. We felt very safe during our visit. Locals were very nice. Liked Barracuda as a restaurant the best. Must make reservations for dinner anywhere, just to play it safe!!! We drove around in town one day and made inquiries about buying fresh fish, and we ended up coming home with a huge Mackeral and a Snook after my husband walked with a teenage boy through backyards to a local fisherman to get the fish! We made a wonderful dinner of fresh fish, at the house, with potatoes and fresh fruit! Make sure you get a good vehicle if you are planning on exploring. We rented from Hertz and they had no car for us but we got one from another place at the airport. It seems like they all work together anyway. Beds are unbelievably the best. Never slept so well!! Finally, Janette, the property manager, was the best at setting up our expeditions and answering any questions we had. Kudos to her. My husband and I are explorers and I can say that we will be back to Belize again!! Best wishes to all that also want to explore! This house will help you feel right at home! Thanks again Chris and Maria

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great location but....

    Great location but....

    • Guest The canucks (Quebec,Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/18/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    Beautiful quiet location but neighbours on either side too close (+/- 20 meters) for our liking. The property needs furniture on the roof top terrace and a gardener since our beach and property were the least tidy next to the neighbours and we raked sea grass and garbage from our beach regularly so the little one would not hurt her feet on debris or sea urchins. The ocean was a great refuge from the sand flies and the place we spent most of our time as well as swinging on the hammac or paddling out on the kayak. The house was very clean and as nice as seen on the photos. Rooms are a good size with huge closets and bathrooms as well. The kitchen was well equiped but could use a better assortment of pots and pans since we cooked almost every meal during our stay. We must say a BBQ would have been nice as well as a clothes line to hang out wet sandy towels. Blinds in the main room would have helped in keeping the beach merchants from walking up to our door step in hopes of selling us something. We visited the Belize Zoo (1h30 away) and Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary (20 min. away).... both are a must! We enjoyed the fresh fruit and fresh sea food although sometims hard to find unless at a restaurant. Chef Rob's is worth the little walk down the beach for dinner, (delicious) but do not forget your flash light! And every night at 6:00 it was nice to see Angel our security guard who would take the time to wish us a good evening. Unfortunately the rented car and the roads made travelling unpleasant for us so we did not do any other outings. Thankfully the ocean was so wonderful and a fantastic place to be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Family fun in Belize

    Family fun in Belize

    • Guest Old to young family holiday (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/17/13
    • Review Submitted 03/15/13
    Our family of four gathered at the Hopkins beach villa from Calgary and Vancouver, Canada and London, England. As well, our extended family ranging in age from 91 yrs old to 16 months old rented the Family Villa next door to make thus a great family get-together. The house is lovely, air-conditioning so appreciated, beach, dock and gazebos picture postcard beautiful. We enjoyed the heat, activities such as catamaran cruising, cave-tubing, National forest hiking and Mayan ruins exploring very much and there was something for everyone. The food was good once we got the hang of which places to get what items - ie open markets and roadside vendors are best for fresh fruit and veggies. Having local cook Cheryl in to cook for us was perfect, saved having to find places that could handle our large group of 15 and allowed us to experience the local food in a much more relaxed manner. One somewhat major downside was the lack of information about the sand fleas/flies/no-see-ums. The bugs were ferocious and feasted on all of us with Deet making no difference. Had we been told about the likelihood of these red welt inducing bugs, much more Johnson and Johnson Anti-itch spray would have been brought - it was the only remedy including many local ones tried, that alleviated the itch and we didn't have enought of it. This holiday would have ranked right up there with our best if not for the bugs. We still have good memories of the area, great pictures and enjoyed having many of our family on our adventure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Even nicer than we hoped

    Even nicer than we hoped

    • Guest mike b.
    • Date of stay 02/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    This home is much nicer and larger than pictures would suggest! My wife and I with 3 children stayed here and loved it! The beach is beautiful, the beds comfortable (with high end sheets)! There are several fun restaurants in town, and the people are friendly. The property owner did a great job, even made resurant reservations for us for Vatentines Day. We will be back! Mike From Arthur, Iowa

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Noblesville In.

    Noblesville In.

    • Guest Neal (Noblesville, IN)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    Great house. If you just wanted to relax this is the place for you. Everything there you would need. People are friendly and helpful. If you fly into Belize City and drive down be prepared for some bumpy roads getting into Hopkins. Take a couple of extra hours to enjoy the mountains and scenery on the way.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Perfect Vacation

    A Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Justin (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    I stayed here for 5 days and the trip was perfect. The house is very clean and well appointed. Janette the property manager is very nice and the owners were a breeze to work win. Hopkins is a wonderful town with a lot of decent restaurants. Everyone we met was very friendly. The water is beautiful and we saw a lot of wildlife including 8 manatees. Would highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Honeymoon Cottage

    Honeymoon Cottage

    • Guest Warmth Seeker (Billings, Montana)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    We got married at Hamanasi a mile up the beach and then came here for a week for our honeymoon. Our first reaction upon walking into the house was that the pictures do not do it justice. The home is open, bright and cheery. It was nice to have a kitchen to do our own cooking, although we did not do much as the local restaurants are so good. We couldn't get enough of the barracuda bites at The Barracuda Grill. We snorkeled on the reef, visited a couple of Mayan sites, kayaked down the Sittee River and saw the biggest darn Iguanas we have ever seen. We also did the zipline which was more fun than two people should have. There was a pretty constant breeze during our stay which may have kept the bugs down as we had no problem with them as some other people have had. The people of Hopkins were very friendly and it was nice to be at an area of Belize that is a bit off the well beaten path. Janette was friendly and helpful as was her staff. There are two bikes available here and that is how we got around most of the time. It is a great way to explore the area. Not sure when we will get back, but we will someday soon. Thank you Maria and your family for sharing your home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic for all of us

    Fantastic for all of us

    • Guest World travelers w kids (Atlanta, GA USA)
    • Date of stay 12/14/12
    • Review Submitted 01/29/13
    We have world traveled quite a bit; staying in hotels, condos, and homes. This beautiful place offered comfort and the variety of activities that we needed to keep 3 college boys and 3 adventurous 50+ yrs olds happy as clams. The concierge booked a boat, captain, and mate to pick us up at our back door and take us to the reef. We snorkeled and caught fish and lobster for the evening meal. We enjoyed the day so much that we went out for another day. One of the nearby parks offered a day's activities; hiking on the jungle trails, climbing a magnificent waterfall, swimming in the crystal clear pool near the top of the falls, and photographing beautiful vistas and unusual flowers. More to do, but no time to mention. The home is actually nicer than the beautiful photos show; landscaping is georgeous; AC was more than adequate; bed and linens were very comfortable. The satelite feed for internet occasionally had interuptions, but was more than adequate for communicating with our business in the states. The neighbors were friendly and Hopkins residents helped direct us to restaurants (lighting is dim and signs are small) and the bakery. You must go to the bakery!! We will definitely visit here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing Vacation

    Amazing Vacation

    • Guest Anderson Family (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/10/12
    • Review Submitted 12/13/12
    After living in Belize for four months, we've had the chance to stay in a lot of different hotels, some of them pretty expensive. None of them compare to this home. The difference is in the details. The owners of this home have seemingly thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and fun. We (family of four; 5-year-old girl, 2-year-old boy) stayed for four days and never ran out of fun things to do. We took the kayak out, snorkeled, relaxed on the hammock, and generally decompressed. But the comfort of the home and the amenities attached to it are not the only things this vacation home had to offer. The owners provide various guides (one of them specific to Hopkins, including restaurants, day-trips, etc.) to help you organize an epic vacation, even if you didn't plan ahead. This vacation has been one for the books. We really appreciate the thought and hard work that has gone into this rental home. But don't just take our word for it. Book your stay here NOW. We promise it is well worth it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Surprise Birthday Destination

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Surprise Birthday Destination

    • Guest Jeff and Kathy from Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada
    • Date of stay 12/02/12
    • Review Submitted 03/17/13
    From our guestbook: We've had a wonderful week! Hopkins and this house were great spots to celebrate Kathy's birthday and a great base for experiencing this beautiful part of Belize. Kathy actually thought we were tent camping on the beach so was completely surprised and amazed when we walked into the house! We enjoyed long paddles on the ocean and river, hiking in Cockscomb and Mayflower parks, snorkeling out on the reef, biking around town, hanging out with the drummers at Lebeha, and sampling some of the excellent Hopkins cuisine. Thanks to Maria and Chris for sharing your lovely home, and to Janette and the whole team who maintain and safeguard this beautiful property. Special thanks to the spectacular wildlife. Particular favorites were the dolphins, and reef fish, the orange iguanas along the river, toucans and the fantastic variety of other bird species we encountered...and, of course, Chunko and Cash!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Our New Home Away from Home

    Our New Home Away from Home

    • Guest Caribbean Girl (Mansfield, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/22/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    We had by far one of the greatest times in Hopkins Village, Belize. The pictures show the house just as it is. The house was clean and orderly. We loved having a kitchen and laundry room--we practically used them both everyday. Being only a few steps from the beach and beautiful warm water was amazing! We were happy to have stayed here for a 1 1/2 weeks; and look forward to staying here in the future, perhaps even longer next time. Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family time in Belize.

    Family time in Belize.

    • Guest John b (Charlotte, nc)
    • Date of stay 06/25/12
    • Review Submitted 07/11/12
    Our family 17, 15,12 yr olds, had a great time vacationing out of this house. Very nice inside and nice beach to hang out on. Kayak was fun, but not alot of fish activity close in. Close acces to the town where janette helped us find people to take us snorkeling, fishing, and also helps us find our way for things we could do on our own. Do the hike to the mayflower falls/pool. It's great. We loved Caitlin the cake lady. My wife found herself going back just to talk some more! Great house with everything necessary to enjoy Belize.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: The 17-yr-old daughter left this note in our guestbook: What a beautiful place to vacation! Belize has met and exceeded our expectations. Hopkins is a great little village--we love the locals and the small town feel. The house and view are amazing. We are a go-go-go family so we did not spend too much time relaxing on the beach, although it is so pretty. Janette is amazing and set up all our adventures. We went snorkeling with Noel and saw some huge rays, barracuda, lobster, and even a nurse shark. We went fishing with Patrick and caught lots of barracuda and jack. We went cave tubing at Caves Branch, hiked to Antelope Falls--very refreshing pool for swimming at the top but the hike is kinda difficult--and ziplined at Mayflower Park. It was expensive but totally worth it. It was so exhilarating! We also went on the Monkey River tour. It was so cool to see monkeys, manatees, birds, and crocodiles in the wild. We went to dinner a lot--Driftwood, Innies, Iris Sunny Side Up, Chef Rob, and Frogs Point. Caitlyns Bakery is really good and she is an amazing woman--you should hear her story! Her coconut cream pie is really delicious and she even made a birthday cake for my little sister who turned 12 while we were here. We had a great vacation. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us. P.S. We loved Chunko, Cash, Maya, and Haiti...Cutest dogs around and so fun to play with!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical Anniversary

    Magical Anniversary

    • Guest Nan and Char (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    Sigh. Amazing how the days fly by doing nothing! We came here to celebrate our 25th anniversary with ambitious plans. Well, we did manage a day out snorkeling and exploring the cayes with Bonnell. (A lovely man and a real character.) The other days, Chunko, Cash, and Maya convinced us to lounge on the beach with them....didn't exactly require a lot of arm twisting! Of the places we ate in town, Iris' Sunny Side Up and the Barracuda Grill were our favorites. Hamanasi--lovely setting, best for drinks. Chef Rob's was OK, but perhaps our expectations were too high. Driftwood's pizza was better than expected, if not the pie of your dreams if you hail from a city with a decent Italian community. Worth a meal though, if only for the atmosphere. Closed Wednesdays--don't make the same mistake we did! We met wonderful people here--Gregario, Anthony, Gilbert, and Reynaldo who all work this stretch of homes. Janette is terrific, though we didn't avail ourselves of her expertise since we barely budged. Bonnell's family--they became our family, too. Can't speak highly enough of our time here--the country, the town, the house, the people. I hope you feel the same magic during your stay. I can't imagine a better way to celebrate such a momentous anniversary. Thanks to one and all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Changes in attitude changes latitude

    Changes in attitude changes latitude

    • Guest George (Jackson,ms)
    • Date of stay 04/23/12
    • Review Submitted 05/12/12
    I don't think Jimmy Buffet has found this diamond yet! If your looking for a place away from it all this is it. Hopkins is an innocent little village filled with stories if your willing to look for them. Keep an open mind and an adventurous attitude and you will meet wonderful people all around you. Ask them how and why they have come to Hopkins and they might convince you to join them in their way of life. It was hard to leave and am convinced we will be back. #29 Sittee is all you need for your stay . Clean, airy, open and 50 steps to the water. My wife and I spent the days reading and napping in the hammock with no clock except the sunrise and sunset. Gregorio is a wonderful person who will sit and tell you his testimony. Be sure to have a soda for him. Fishing was excellent and food to die for. Definitely do your self a treat and eat at "Chec Robs". Ate there 3 nights and the others at Barracuda Bar and Grill. Breakfast at " Sunny side up was spectacular . Talk to Janette for anything you need. A golf cart is recommended. What are you waiting for.....time waits for no one. And time stands still at # 29 Sitee. Thanks Maria for making a memory I shall never forget! Say "Hello" to Chunko and Cash for me. They are a pleasure to have as partners on the beach!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy in Hopkins

    Happy in Hopkins

    • Guest rustyford51 (Hershey, PA, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/16/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    Our Belize dream vacation is now a fond memory, but what great memories! After a wonderful week at Five Sisters Lodge in the Cayo district, we left to travel to Hopkins, but first went on the ATM cave tour...what an adventure that was, and certainly one of the highlights of the trip, and actually one of the top ten adventures we have ever done!. We misjudged the time we needed to take that tour, so as a result we didn't get to Hopklins until well after dark. Janette, the house manager, was most accomodating in waiting up for us, so we arrived at this wonderful beachfront home safe and sound. What a great house this is, and an absolutely great location on your own beach at the curve of False Sittee Point in Hopkins. It was just the right place for the two of us, and we quickly fell into the rythm of relaxing on the beach (or in the hammocks, or on the pier or in the water). We were immediately befriended by the resident canine hosts, Chunko, Cash and also Maya. They became our fast friends, and gave us a lot of fun. They must have really liked us, because one day we paddled the home's glass bottom kayak our around the point, and then we heard some splashing, and there were the three dogs swimming after us. Pete the next door neighbor let me borrow a fishing rod, although the only fish I saw were the ones when snorkling (including a barracuda that stared me down until I snuck away). We also enjoyed meeting Alberto, the groundskeeper, who brought us oranges and wacked open a coconut for us. We mostly hung around Hopkins during the week, having toured so much in the Cayo, although we did go on the Monkey River tour which was a lot of fun. Of course a highlight of any trip we take is the eating part, and we fell in love with "Love on the Rocks"...ate there twice, the second time with a Garifuna drumming show by guys who said they were the national drumming champions. We had a great pizza lunch up at the north end of town, and befriended a bunch of little local girls who reminded us of our granddaughters. We also made a point of going to Caitlin's bakery, where we bought and consummed way more baked goods then we should have (the brownies are fabulous!). Chef Rob's was also very nice. All - in - all our visit to this beachfront home in Hopkins was a very relaxing and beautiful, and we would highly recommend it as a place to stay during a visit to this part of Belize.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway!

    Perfect Getaway!

    • Guest Meg (Utah)
    • Date of stay 03/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/12
    A few girlfriends and I chose Belize as our latest getaway and I am so glad we did! This unique home was perfect and fully equipped with everything we needed. We really enjoyed using the kitchen to cook a few meals and the patio was perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning. The beach was clean and complete with lounging beach chairs and the most comfortable hammock I have ever used! The roof was ideal for tanning. We also thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the locals while there; everyone is so friendly! Upon our arrival, we rented a golf cart and used that as our primary mean of transportation. It was a great solution for us because we didn't want to rent a car and there were too many in our party to use the bikes. While the resort restaurants were fabulous, the local places were equally delicious (and a bit less expensive) and a great way to learn more about Hopkins. We enjoyed eating at Driftwood Pizza, Thongs Cafe, and Windschief, to name a few. I also have to mention Caitlin's Bakery. Her coconut creme pie is incredible. She makes them from scratch upon request and they are definitely worth it! Overall the trip was a success and the home was everything we could have wanted and more!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Birthday Celebration Destination

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Birthday Celebration Destination

    • Guest Karen, Chris, Judy, and Bill from Seattle
    • Date of stay 02/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    From our Guest Book: What a fabulous way to spend my 50th birthday! From the welcoming committee of Chunko and Cash to the friendly natives in Hopkins Village, this is one vacation that will be forever on the top of the totem pole for all of us. Thank you so very much for sharing your beautiful home and little slice of paradise with us. We were not just celebrating my birthday, we all have birthdays between December and April. This place is so beautiful that we spent most of our days hanging out on the beach and soaking up the sun. Chunko, Cash, and Maya were forever in our midst playing and keeping us company and we absolutely loved it. This trip would not have been the same without them! We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio and then went out for dinner. We had really good food everywhere we went. We enjoyed Barracuda Grill, Chef Rob, and Love on the Rocks. The shrimp cocktail there was excellent...loved the garlic lime dipping sauce. The first night we really ventured out was when we took the bioluminescence tour on the Sittee River on a beautiful star-filled night. Levi, our tour guide, was excellent and made the trip one of the highlights of this vacation. After our night tour, we made arrangements with Levi to take us out to the South Water Cayes for a day of fishing, snorkeling, and relaxing on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. After we snorkeled out to the reef, which was gorgeous, we took advantage of the hammocks in the shade for a little nap. It was a beautiful day all around and everyone was happy. For our next adventure, Janette made arrangements for us to visit the Mayan Ruins. We had an excellent guide through the ruins and enjoyed the day puttering around. It was a good trip and it gives you the chance to see other areas of this interesting country. We finished off the vacation lounging and relaxing on the beach with Chunko, Cash, and Maya...a perfect ending for a perfect vacation. Thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Be-lize in Your Dreams - Definitely a Repeat Vacation Location

    Be-lize in Your Dreams - Definitely a Repeat Vacation Location

    • Guest Donna (Clifton, Virginia, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/17/12
    My husband planned our entire winter vacation to Belize so I had no idea what was in store. He is a passionate bird photographer and I am a water front lover, avid reader and journal writer. He wanted to tramp around. I wanted to sit and relax. Can't believe he succeeded in finding the perfect place for each of us at one address and at such an affordable price! As we enjoy cooking in with occasional forays to local restaurants, we found the kitchen to be well equipped from a Mr. Coffee pot to a pizza pan and cutter. Microwave, dishwasher and so forth. Even a drawer with batteries and scotch tape, just like home only a lot more organized. The TV was bigger than the one we watch at home! Wireless connection for our lap top, efficient air conditioning, ceiling fans in every room. Great reading library with many current titles as well as some delightful DVD's. Very comfy platform beds, high thread count sheets and plenty of clean, fluffy towels. No shortage of decent hangers in the huge closets. Lovely decor featuring local art, a laundry room (washer and dryer) with a utility sink for rinsing out bathing suits or whatever. A generous outdoor clothes line was available as well. Two great bicycles and 4 sets of snorkling gear along with colorful beach towels were at our disposal. The sea kayak with acrylic windows in the bottom was a real surprise. The hammock on the beach was a bonus. The house was not only beautiful, it was squeaky clean! Even the beach is raked regularly and is sprayed with something organic to deter the bugs which seemed to be working. I am a fair skinned blonde with extremely sensitive skin; although we packed bug juice, I never needed it as I stayed pretty close to home, sitting on the shaded stone terrace outside of the house most of each day. My husband did use his Cutter and wore long pants because he was venturing out into the denser inland forests looking for wildlife. A bit of over the counter cortisone cream on his bites soothed the itching. It certainly did not stop him from heading out again in the morning in search of more wonderful birds! For those of you who prefer to eat out, there are plenty of options in Hopkins for breakfast, lunch and dinner and nothing is very far away. Hopkins isn't that big but it is just big enough to make it the perfect place to get away from it all without sacrificing the luxury of a small boutique hotel...only better. Really...it was perfect!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful home!

    Wonderful home!

    • Guest Lynn & Pete (Sturbridge, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/15/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/12
    We really enjoyed our stay in Hopkins. This house is just perfect for one or two couples. Right on the beach. Loved the kayak and the snorkeling. Janette was so helpful and welcoming. Had a great time fishing with Patrick. Cooked and ate some of our catch for dinner. Biked to dinner most nights. Loved Chef Robs. We would love to come back next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Lynn made the following comments in a personal e-mail to me: We loved our time in Belize. Your house was wonderful! Clean, comfortable and well stocked. We appreciated the kayak which we used several times. The beach and the peaceful atmosphere was just what we were looking for. Janette was very accommodating. She answered emails quickly, met us upon arrival. We really hit it off, she is so knowledgeable of the area and people. We did several tours with Patrick. Enjoyed the fishing the most! Snorkeling and hiking a close second. Our favorite restaurant was Chef Robs,I think we ate there three times! We would love to return to Belize and even Hopkins again. The people are so friendly, we felt like locals by the second day! What more could you ask for???? Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hopkins Home

    Hopkins Home

    • Guest CHK (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 01/06/12
    • Review Submitted 01/18/12
    Our stay at this home in Hopkins was excellent. The house was ideally situation on the beach. It was extremely clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed during our stay. The beach and water were great and just a few steps from the backdoor. We especially enjoyed taking the kayak out for daily trips in the area. Favorite spots: Chef Rob's (great 4 course menu), Barracuda (awesome Italian seafood dishes), Driftwood for the pizza and atmosphere, Caitlyn's bakery for the amazing coconut cream pie, Iris' Sunnyside Up for local cuisine and many others - GREAT food in this small town! The concierge is very nice and available but we didn't really use her for much. We found that her tours were quite a bit more expensive than other folks in town. If you speak with some of the locals, you can easily set up fishing and snorkel trips yourself for cheaper. It was very nice to know there was someone just down the road if we needed any help though. We definitely recommend renting a car or planning to get a golf cart while in town. We used the bikes a little, but the house is a little far from the grocery store and most restaurants to use the bikes as the primary means of transportation. There are also some pretty loud scary dogs that deterred us from using the bikes at night (not the two sweet dogs that live next door - they are awesome - but others that live down the road and go running after anything that passes by at night.) The car was a nice convenience and in the end ended up being a much better deal than renting golf carts on a daily or weekly basis. The only negative to report was the sand flea situation. The sand fleas in Hopkins are known to be pretty terrible. We hadn't really heard anything about it when researching the area, but word around Belize is that they're pretty bad in that part of the country. We had to cover ourselves in DEET all week and we were still covered in tiny bites after each day on the beach. The homeowners do spray for them, but we definitely found them to be pretty bad. We visited Hopkins for our honeymoon. We found it to be an awesome "off the beaten" path type of place with nice local people in the village, and a feeling that we were very far away from the hustle and bustle of home. We recommend it for adventurous folks who appreciate culture and are not looking for a cookie-cutter resort type of vacation environment. All in all, we loved the trip to Hopkins and hope to return one day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful home on a beautiful beach in the most amazing village.

    Beautiful home on a beautiful beach in the most amazing village.

    • Guest Andrea (Orange County, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    As with most vacations it is the people you meet that tend to make or break a vacation. We were immediately warmly welcomed by Eugene; who went out his way to be sure that our visit to Hopkins was truly memorable. I have traveled all over the world, and Hopkins had some of the friendliest people I have ever met. The location of the home very easily provides the seclusion you may be looking for to get away from it all, while also in close proximity so some of the best (I believe) that Belize has to offer. We were just a short bike or car ride away from the local village, scuba diving accommodations, snorkeling, hiking trails and delicious restaurants. I usually try to not visit the same place twice when choosing a vacation spot. However, I would easily return right back to Hopkins, and this home in particular.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Belize

    Belize

    • Guest Sierra (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    For our honeymoon my husband and I were priviledged to stay in this beautiful house by the ocean. There are many big windows so you have a wonderful view of the beach and it lets in plenty of light. Outside on the beach there are plenty of palms which provide shade during the heat of the day with chairs and a hammock. There is also a glass bottom kyak that you can go out on the ocean in and paddle around the ocean and see some really neat wildlife. My husband and I got to meet a couple of manatees and birds on one of our adventures out in the ocean! Mostly we went on tours. Antelope Falls is great if you're really adventurous! It's about a mile climb and most of it is at an incline with ropes to help pull yourself up. The end is worth it with a wonderfull, cool pool and a waterfall you can swim in. Jaguar Reef is a resort close to the house and they provide snorkeling tours which take you to the second largest reef in the world. The staff makes sure everyone knows what they're doing and that they feel comfortable. We got to see alot of cool fish and learned alot about the reef and the wildlife there. We also got to know our guides who were pretty cool! Another tour we went on was cave tubing by the Blue Hole. This was an interesting tour. They take you to these caves that were visited by the Myans to do sacrifices. Then you sit down in your tube and let the river carry you through the caves with your guide. It was very relaxing and nice to get out of the sun for a while. Afterward you can visit the Blue Hole which is a deep pool where you can swim and just relax! Food: The food is amazing down in Hopkins where we went. We spent about sixty dollars U.S. which is a little pricey but deffinitely worth the food we got. The first resturuant we went to is the first one after you leave the house. It has a great view of the water and beautiful music. Jaguar Reef also has a wonderful menu with really good drinks. The last place we went was the best and was highly suggested by the landlord. Chef Rob is amazing! We highly reccomend the four course meal. We could not believe the quality of the food and savoured every bite! Overall, we thought our stay at the house was excellent. Eugene, who looks after the house, is friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. He helped us book some of our tours and loves to help. My husband and I will always cherish the memories of Belize and will deffinitley love to go back someday!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jordan and Dana from California
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/30/11
    Simply put, we could not have asked for a more wonderful and beautiful place to have our wedding and honeymoon. The people we were put in contact with are now friends and we cannot wait to come visit again soon. Eugene was amazing...he even saved the day and became part of our wedding. Ben is an exceptionally talented photographer and all-around great guy. Charleton is a wonderful guide. We fell in love with Belize and Hopkins Village specifically. It was simply magical and wonderful in every way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Julie and John from Wisconsin
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 04/30/11
    From the moment we stepped in, we were captivated and swept away with the magic here! Your home is beautfiful, the beach is perfection! The main complaint I have is that the week went by too fast! Hopkins is delightful...so different from Placencia. There is a real sense of genuine charm and authenticity here. I'm delighted we could round out our first Belize experience. I truly hope we can return. Eugene is wonderful and so helpful. The Mayflower Ruins and jungle/waterfall hike is very special. It was bliss. Our blessings and gratitude to you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Small perfect beach home in a quiet fishing village

    Small perfect beach home in a quiet fishing village

    • Guest Kathleen R. (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 04/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/01/11
    We recently returned from a week at this lovely Hopkins oceanfront. Our party: Myself, my husband, and your two daughters aged 12 and 13. The house is comfortable, luxurious, and beautifully decorated. From the combined living room, office, kitchen, there is a beautiful view of the palm tree lined expanse of sand that leads directly to the water's edge - steps away. I can't imagine a more beautiful view or setting. The photos of the home don't reflect the size of the rooms and the beautiful decor. There are two bed rooms: A very spacious master suite with large bathroom and shower -- the bedroom is full of light and has windows and doors that open to the ocean side of the house. The second bedroom is much smaller and has a queen sized bed. The bathroom with very large tub is across the hall. The house is the perfect size for a family of four. The andlords provide plenty of good quality beach and bath towels. The kitchen is large and has all equipment you might need. WI-FI access extends to water's edge, but it is provided by satellite and we had some outages. Snorkeling gear for four is in the closet, and the beach has a kayak with a clear bottom, a hammock, and two adirondack chairs. A lovely covered terrace on the beach side has two chairs and is a great place to sit out of the sun and watch the ocean. Hopkins: This is a very small town, with not much in the way of tourists, dining or nightlife -- which we really liked. The town is at the end of a four mile dirt road, so make sure you have cash and pretty much what you think you will need when you arrive unless you enjoy driving. The best dining option in our opinion was a great little place a short walk down the beach called Barracuda Grill -- we would have been happy to eat there every night. Nice porch with ocean view, frequented by hard core divers and with great food. You might try one of the "local" places just to say you did, and if you do, pick King Casseva. The resort dining areas -- we ate at Jaguar Reed and Hamanasi. I would suggest skipping these places, they are quite expensive and the food is on the level of Applebee's. If you have a car, you can save money by planning your own tours with a little internet research, but the landlords have a concierge on board who will set things up for you and who was helpful in every We have stayed in many vacation rental properties -- wouldn't hesitate to say that this is one of the best, and exceeded every expectation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]