Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Salt water pool

4 Bdrm, 2 Bath, Beach House Sleeps 9, Private Pool. 2014 is Filling up. Book Now [#332947] | View Property

Playa Guiones
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 9)
$230 - $265/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Truly an unforgettable vacation experience

    Truly an unforgettable vacation experience

    • Guest Logan (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    As a recent college grad looking for somewhere new to travel with friends, Casa Libelula was a perfect choice. We were looking for somewhere warm, where we could relax as well as adventure and explore a new country, and the experience was more awesome than we could have imagined. The house was more than spacious enough for our group of six (and could have fit two or three more easily). The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms immaculate. We cooked a ton of food in the fully loaded kitchen, I highly recommend buying fish from the fish truck that passes by the restaurant next door, the mahi is amazing! The owner, Tom, helped arrange a lot of things for our group. He booked the cab that promptly picked us up at San Jose airport. He even set up a guided ATV tour through the mountains where we ended at a secluded waterfall/swimming hole. One of the most exciting and beautiful experiences I've ever had, hands down. Tom had lots of great recommendations for activities and provided any help we needed to make our stay as fun and relaxing as possible. Much time was spent hanging out by the pool at the house, walking only minutes to get to the beach where we swam or surfed daily, and also trying a new bar or restaurant where we never failed to find great food and pina coladas. Our week in Nosara and staying at Casa Libelula was truly an incredible experience, one my friends and I will look back on as one of the greatest times we've had together.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful - we loved it! Can't wait to go back

    Wonderful - we loved it! Can't wait to go back

    • Guest Dean (Atlanta GA USA)
    • Date of stay 07/02/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    My wife and I, our 3 kids and 2 of their friends (all ages 20-25) stayed here for 7 days. We loved it at the house! It was perfect for all; one person just loved the porch hammocks, another liked going to the Kaya Sol for refreshments; i liked the short walk to the beach for sunsets and surfing. Each bedroom had their own individually controlled A/C. Everyone loved the pool - especially after swimming in the ocean. And, the freshwater shower and hose on the porch is convenient. There were plenty of utensils and cookware for when we wanted to cook. We saw and heard monkeys every day as well as iguanas, armadillos, etc. We even had some local beach dogs adopt us for the week. There was a fruit/vegetable guy 2xweek at Kaya Sol who sold to us. Kudos to the local rasta mon jewelry artist. The house is very secure and the security guard (Dennis) was cool. There's a very large safe area in the home. Also, Judy and the staff at Kaya Sol were very accommodating and answered all our questions. The house is convenient to a mini-mart to buy basic groceries. And, convenient to a bar/restaurant when you don't want to cook. An incredible experience and I can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PURA VIDA indeed!

    PURA VIDA indeed!

    • Guest Sally (US)
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 04/16/13
    Where to even start! This house is beautiful both inside and outside. I went with a group of girlfriends for a week and even though it was friends I thought it was perfect for a family as well. It's at a really great convenient location. Walking distance to the beach and other local businesses. We even walked to the Main strip took us about 15min. It was nice having security at night. He was very friendly and helped us find a safe taxi driver when we wanted to go out for some drinks and dancing. The employees from the restaurant Kaya Sol were very friendly and tell you the run down on the places to go according to the day of the week. There is so much to do and see. We basically ate at a different place for lunch and dinner everyday. The only meal we cooked was breakfast. Since there is so much to do, we paired up activities and the last 3 days we focused on one. We went on a quad tour, snorkeling, horse back riding on the beach, zip lining, kayaking, went on a nature wildlife reserve hike and took some surfing lessons. (HIGHLY RECOMMEND ALL). Shout out to DK, Kim, and Mark! (Tour guides and surfing instructor) Best thing was not having to wake up super early to make up driving time since we were pretty much in the center of all of these activities. Tom (owner of house) was very friendly. Him giving us safety tips, such as which cabs to get in which taxi drivers are safe, which instructors are legit and aren't ripping us off put me at ease. He's awesome he made sure we'd need a vacation FROM vacation. And we sure did! If you're looking for a getaway spot and break from reality THIS IS IT! You have monkeys, iguanas and their version of a raccoon in the backyard and maybe some little crabs near the pool. You dont have to go far to experience the rain forest. Maybe after your trip you'll understand why they say PURA VIDA! I sure did. LOVED THIS PLACE, definitely want to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect vacations, perfect spot!

    perfect vacations, perfect spot!

    • Guest Louise A.
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/21/13
    We had a great time in playa guiones! We were 3 adults and 4 children, and we enjoyed surfing, horse back riding, hanging out on the beautiful beach, or in the pool. The house was absolutely perfect for us. The owner was so nice and helpful in many ways. He much contributed to the appreciation of the house and the area. Now that we are back from our dream vacations, well, we just want to go back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect House with a Perfect Location!!!

    Perfect House with a Perfect Location!!!

    • Guest Dave (Fort Worth, Texas)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    This is an amazing house. The pictures on the site are accurate, but in person the house is even more beautiful. Great attention to detail is what sets the inside of this house apart from others I have rented in Costa Rica. There is plenty of room for a large group. The kitchen and living area downstairs is a perfect area for groups to gather and have meals after a long day on Guiones Beach. The other thing that makes this place so great is the location. Some places I have stayed have technically been walking distance, but this one truly a very short walk to the beach. While incredibly close to the beach (at night you can hear the waves from the hammock on the porch), the house is also steps away from a small restaurant/bar with great food and often live music as well as steps away from the convenience store. You can see the store from the back porch, and we found the store to be very reasonably priced and carried all that we needed while there. The garden was beautifully maintained so a wide range of birds, lizards, and monkeys traverse the back yard. I found myself spending most of the time that I wasn't at the beach in the hammock taking in the beautiful view. Families of monkeys wandered through the trees daily and didn't mind us taking pictures. The owner was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He was always available if we had questions and never lacked suggestions when pressed for recommendations. He actually lives in Guiones and it was very nice to have someone with inside knowledge to guide us during our stay. The bottom line is that the house is perfectly located and amazingly comfortable inside. I would recommend this place to anyone, and will definitely stay here next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome House on Playa Guiones

    Awesome House on Playa Guiones

    • Guest Mike (Fort Worth, Texas)
    • Date of stay 12/23/12
    • Review Submitted 01/29/13
    I have stayed at 4 different properties on Playa Guiones, and Casa Libelula is by far the best. Here is why: 1) LOCATION: Casa Libelula is about as close to the beach as you can get. You can take the road or the pathway between the back of the house and the beach. The walk is about 2-5 minutes. There is no problem carrying a cooler of Imperial and a surfboard back and forth all day. Secondly, Casa Libelula is a 1 minute walk away from the grocery store; VERY CONVENIENT! Thirdly, there are many delicious restaurants that are very close by. The Kaya Sol is right across the street; you could hit it with a rock from the front door. I was there for 14 days, and did not need a car ever. 2) AMENITIES: The house is decked out with all kinds of imported fixtures, furniture, and appliances. Everything is top of the line. The new saltwater pool is fantastic, and is maintained daily. Each room has it's own AC unit that will get a cold as you want. There is a custom built grill outside. Casa Libelula has strong Wifi. I was able to check my work email, stream NFL playoff games, and listen to Howard Stern. 3) SAFETY: Casa Libelula has a locked gate to enter the property. The exterior doors and windows are secured by metal bars (very common in Costa Rica). Inside the house, there is a closet that has a locking metal door. In that closet, there is a metal safe that is bolted in (great for laptops, passports, etc.). To top it off, Casa Libelula has a security guard, named Dennis, that keeps an eye on everything. Dennis patrols the perimeter of the property, including the jungle.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation Experience

    Great Vacation Experience

    • Guest Woods Family (Southern California)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    The house is one of the biggest and most beautiful in the entire area and is about 3 minute walk to the beach. I loved being in the middle of the jungle and couldn't wait to see what kind of critters we would see next.... Armadillos, Geckos, Crabs & Iguanas were common travelers through the front yard while we drank our morning coffee on the front porch. One of my favorite things to do was to watch the monkeys play in the trees right above my head. There is a wonderful restaraunt right across the road and I had one of the best meals of my life there, in fact, all the food we ate during the entire week was really good. There is so much to do in and around town... my daughters took surfing lessons, we snorkeled, we zip lined through the jungle that took literally 3+ hours to do because it is 13 lines! There is shopping, kayaking and boat tours too but it is also very relaxing at the house if you just want to go for a quiet get away to a beautiful place. We chose to rent a car to get around but there is also plenty to do right in the area. We did drive around to visit some other towns and beaches. All the people there are very nice and friendly and most everyone speaks English. This is a great place to vacation, the rates are very reasonable, the house is big and accommodating. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Costa Rica! I have already recommended it to my friends who are planning to go.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Location on Guiones Beach

    Best Location on Guiones Beach

    • Guest Ry (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/26/11
    • Review Submitted 08/25/11
    We have been visiting Playa Guiones, Nosara Costa Rica for over 10 years. This was by far our favorite vacation rental. It is located only 200 M from the beach which is as close as you can get to the beach thanks to the 200 M protected zone. The yard is very private and the monkeys really do visit daily. The house itself is absolutely beautiful. Very new, modern and clean with all of the amenities one can ask for a comfortable stay. The layout is conducive for 2 families to have their privacy as well and the kitchen is very user-friendly with all new state of the art equipment. Laundry, A/C, security system, all necessities there in the rain forest for a comfortable, care-free vacation. Centrally located as well. No need to have a rent a car because it is walking distance to everything however still secluded! Two thumbs up!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Relaxing Week Away

    A Relaxing Week Away

    • Guest Clara (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 07/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    This place is incredible. It's a gorgeous, tastefully built, comfortable house right in the jungle. The beach is two minutes away. You don't need a car to get around the village. There are bars and restaurants right across the street, which is fun at night, but the main attraction is, of course, the water. So warm. Stunning sunsets. Great surfbreaks. And sunny, even when the rest of Costa Rica is rainy! There are also a ton of other cool things to do in the area - the world's longest zipline is ten minutes away! The house is really well set-up for vacationers, and many Costa Ricans you meet speak English, so it didn't feel difficult at all. I would completely recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • paradise

    paradise

    • Guest Dave M. (va bch va)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 03/27/11
    thanks so much Tom, i had a awesome time at your house and with you and friends. the surf was only a short walk and the surfers really friendly. the internet was as fast as home in the USA and i could still keep in touch with family. hey and thanks again for washing all my clothes for me ! david

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Place and Great Location

    Great Place and Great Location

    • Guest Jeff (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 01/03/11
    • Review Submitted 02/10/11
    We arrived in Nosara late in the evening during peak season without a place to stay. After stopping by a couple of hotels and finding they were all booked, we were extremely pleased to learn that there were rooms rent in a gorgeous house in the middle of town and a very close walk to the beach. We were connected with Tom and he instantly made us feel welcome. We rented a room only, since there was only two of us and Tom stayed upstairs. While we had as much privacy as we wanted it was also nice to have Tom as a host. Not only does he know the people and the area extremely well, but he is also a gourmet cook. We ended up staying 6 nights at the house and loved every minute of it. Next time we are in Nosara we will definitely stay there again. Tom is a super chill and really keeps his place up. I would highly recommend renting this place. It would be a perfect place to rent with a group of friends. The kitchen and living area is huge and lends well to big groups and hanging out.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • best surf vacation of my life

    best surf vacation of my life

    • Guest Scott D. (mammoth lakes, ca, usa)
    • Date of stay 01/03/11
    • Review Submitted 01/31/11
    We stayed here for a magical 7 nights, all without a car so for us it was important to be able to walk to all the activities that we wanted - Beach, Restaurants, shopping, etc. For me the best part was the easy to surf waves and the couple of days when they were overhead. The kids loved watching the family of monkeys that frequent the trees on the property. Only once here did we realize how special of place this is, quite, luxurious, spacious, and a gourmet kitchen.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Loved it!

    Loved it!

    • Guest Flender (Torrance, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/26/10
    • Review Submitted 02/13/11
    My husband and I stayed at Casa Libelula for a week for Thanksgiving 2010 and it was an amazing. The house is beautiful with a combination of high end finishes to make you feel treated and feels like home touches (there really is something to be said for a washer/dryer in a tropical climate :-). Rental properties occasionally try to get by with location versus making sure the accommodations themselves support the whole "experience". Casa Libelula hits all the bases! The location of the house is perfect. You can walk to the waves in literally 2 minutes, and the sun set is AMAZING. There are several restaurants within walking distance (one right across the street) but because the house is on a large, well protected lot you can quietly hang out in the "heart of the jungle" watching monkeys, iguanas, pizotes and all other "locals" ;-) Then when you’re ready to interact with your own species, you can walk to one of the local outdoor bars/restaurants – many of which have live music played by super friendly expats! We didn't rent the full house so were lucky enough to have the owner Tom there which meant our own private tour guide built right in, pretty handy! (Oh and yes, as the other reviews say, he’s a pretty great cook :-) If you're not a surfer there is still a ton of things to do, from zip lining to the local yoga retreats. The only thing wrong with our trip was it was too short!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Luxury in Paradise

    Luxury in Paradise

    • Guest Pamela S. (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 03/01/10
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    We were lucky to be able to stay in this beautiful new house for over a month! All the amenities of modern living in the jungle. The kitchen is the best--Granite and great appliances--and the bathrooms are so beautiful. The location--backing up to the maritime zone on the ocean--assures you of a vatiety of wildlife and privacy. The upstairs porches are the perfect place to watch the monkeys pick their tree for the sunset. The location is great, close to everything, but, secluded on the big wooded lot. We had a great stay there and would definitely go back. Also, for surfers, there are always waves on this beach. The Kaya Sol restaurant across the street is awesome. Ray and Pam From Chicago

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]