Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Architectural, Accessible, Charming House, Lovely Boston Neighborhood

You sent a message to this owner.

Welcome to Lochstead House

Welcome to Lochstead House Sunlit Entry Shaded Entry Ramp Light filled Living Room, looking to TV Room/4th Bedroom Dining Room looking to Kitchen Great Place to Bake a Pie Book Room with Reading Nook First Floor Bathroom Deck on a Summer Evening First Floor Bedroom Upstairs Pink Bedroom Tan upstairs bedroom

Calendar

Last updated: 02/17/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:6 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Ask Owner
  • Wheel chair accessible:Yes

Boston house description

Roomy, comfortable 3- to 4- bedroom house in lively, green Jamaica Plain. Fully accessible 1st floor has well-equipped gourmet kitchen, dining room, light-filled living room, book room, large bedroom, TV/4th bedroom and bathroom with roll-in shower. The 2nd floor has two sizable bedrooms, washer/dryer, and bathroom with whirlpool tub. The transformed house, recently renovated by renowned architect Bill Boehm, was featured in the Boston Globe Magazine. Located in the Pondside area, it’s just a block from Jamaica Pond, which has walking paths, seasonal boats and fishing—part of the Olmsted Emerald Necklace. JP has excellent locally owned restaurants, and is less than 4 miles from the State House downtown.
Parking available, transit nearby. Easy access to museums, shopping, concerts, universities. Bring the whole family! Enjoy a reunion, visit local colleges, gather friends for special events. Or get friends together for feasting, talking, shopping. It’s beautiful and fun.

Property Type

  • House
  • 2200 sq. ft.

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Onsite Services

              • Housekeeper Included

              Suitability

              • Wheelchair Accessible
              • Suitable For Elderly Or Infirm
              • Children Welcome
              • Non Smoking Only

              Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7

              • Bedroom 1: 1 queen

                ...moreless

              • Bedroom 2: 1 queen

                ...moreless

              • Bedroom 3: 1 double

                ...moreless

              • Bedroom 4: 1 twin/ single

                ...moreless

              • Bedrooms 1 and 2 on second floor share deluxe bathroom with whirlpool tub and glass-enclosed shower. Bedroom 3 on first floor is near book room and kitchen and fully accessible bathroom. Bedroom 4 may be a lounge/TV room or may be a private bedroom....moreless

              Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

              Entertainment

              • Television
              • Satellite / Cable
              • VCR
              • Radio
              • Stereo
              • CD Player
              • DVD Player
              • Books

              Theme

              • Family
              • Tourist Attractions

              Car

                  • Not Necessary

                  Attractions

                  • Synagogues
                  • Museums
                  • Arboretum
                  • Playground
                  • Cinemas
                  • Zoo
                  • Autumn Foliage
                  • Pond
                  • Library
                  • Botanical Garden
                  • Restaurants
                  • Live Theater
                  • Churches

                  Leisure Activities

                  • Paddle Boating
                  • Whale Watching
                  • Scenic Drives
                  • Antiquing
                  • Walking
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Bird Watching

                  local services and businesses

                  • Hospital
                  • Medical Services
                  • Groceries
                  • Laundromat
                  • ATM/Bank

                  Location Type

                  • Town
                  • Lake
                  • Downtown
                  • Near The Ocean

                  catering options

                      • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

                      Dining

                          • Dining Room

                          General

                          • Washing Machine
                          • Clothes Dryer
                          • Parking
                          • Telephone
                          • Heating
                          • Linens Provided
                          • Fireplace
                          • Parking Off Street
                          • Parking On Street
                          • Alarm Clock
                          • Ceiling Fans
                          • Hair Dryer
                          • Laundry Soap
                          • Local Maps
                          • Basic Soaps
                          • Toilet Paper
                          • Broadband Access
                          • Wireless Internet
                          • Internet
                          • Towels Provided

                          house cleaning

                              • Housekeeper Included

                              Kitchen

                              • Grill
                              • Dishwasher
                              • Refrigerator
                              • Freezer
                              • Oven
                              • Microwave
                              • Blender
                              • Coffee Grinder
                              • Lobster Pot
                              • Pantry Items
                              • Stove
                              • 4 Ring Stove
                              • Coffee Maker
                              • Toaster
                              • Cooking Utensils

                              Outside

                              • Outdoor Grill Gas
                              • Lawn / Garden
                              • Wood Deck

                              Pool / Spa

                              • Jacuzzi
                              • Whirlpool
                               

                              Reviews

                              Write a review
                              • Truly, a Home Away from Home

                                Truly, a Home Away from Home

                                • Guest Nancy T.
                                • Date of stay 12/21/13
                                • Review Submitted 01/09/14
                                We traveled to Boston during Christmas with three generations -- grandparents, parents, and two children. What a perfect launching pad for seeing the entire city! The #39 bus leaves from a stop just two blocks away, taking us straight to the green line on the "T," and from there of course the entire city is simple to visit. If you prefer a car (though in Boston, you've got to really LOVE your car), the Jamaicaway is just down the block, so you can quickly get anywhere you need to go. The home itself is just charming. Although the bedroom with an "interior window" might cause problems for truly light sleepers who are staying with loud talkers -- you know who you are -- for us it was just another fun architectural touch in a well-thought-out gem of a house. The living room, office, and den offer plenty of space to spread out but also wonderful gathering space to bring the family together. Furnishings are sophisticated and comfortable. We made full Christmas dinner for six in the well-appointed kitchen with ease. In short, we felt completely at home. I would also like to add that while we were staying at this home, the water heater unfortunately broke down, but the owner immediately found a plumber (on Christmas Eve, no less) who fixed the problem. These things happen... but the owner was gracious and accessible, which is really what one hopes for in a host.

                                Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, age 55+, sightseeing.

                                Owner response: I am so pleased that my guests enjoyed their stay at my house, and I am grateful to them for this lovely review. Like them, I find the location of my house a source of delight. (Though they are quite correct that you have to love your car to depend on it in Boston, both because of scarce and expensive parking and because Bostonians are "creative" drivers.) Facing together the Christmas Eve plumbing challenge, I feel like my guests and I formed a team. The hot water heater is not very old and it was a surprise to the guests, to me, and even to the plumber when it broke. But what excellent accommodating plumbers! They came quickly, despite the holiday, repaired the problem promptly, and billed fairly. I aim to have usable resources available for myself and for any renters and those plumbers are now on the resource list.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Just Perfect!

                                Just Perfect!

                                • Guest Sheryl G.
                                • Date of stay 05/16/13
                                • Review Submitted 05/31/13
                                We could not have been more pleased with the house and the location. We came from California and Virginia for our son's graduation from Boston University and the house was everything it was written up to be and more. The house is clean and spacious. We were able to have three generations in the house, each with their own space. The back yard is so nice, we decided to have a few of our son's friends' families over for an afternoon barbeque. There was a really nice cafe on Center street a block away we could walk when we did not want to cook and a beautiful lake in the other direction for afternoon walks. It was only a quick drive to the Mall and the Duck Tour! So fun! Jane is the best as well. She sent us hand written notes and emails ensuring we were comfortable with everything before and after our stay.

                                Owner response: Oh, I am so pleased that my guests had a good time! And I think they've hit on something important when they note that the house worked very well for a three-generation gathering. It is spacious enough for people to be on their own and, in good weather, the outside makes it a special treat for kids. It has been a pleasure for me to know that my home (the house is my own residence) can give pleasure to others when I travel to visit my extended family. Thank you!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Great house

                                Great house

                                • Guest Ruth W.
                                • Date of stay 04/21/13
                                • Review Submitted 05/12/13
                                The listing description of this house was accurate -- we just did not expect it to be so close to the main road so you could hear traffic. But, on that main road there were several good restaurants plus a fabulous ice cream parlor within walking distance. The T station was also approximately 1/2 a mile away. The house was very clean, very well-maintained and extremely spacious, more so than anticipated. The house was perfect for our needs, including its own driveway for one car and easy street parking for our other vehicle. The owner was extremely helpful in promptly returning two items we inadvertently left behind in the house on our departure. We would recommend this house to others.

                                Owner response: I am pleased that my guests enjoyed the house and the neighborhood. It's true that the nearby restaurants are amazing and close. The ice cream store is a major highlight of Jamaica Plain: JP Licks. It opens early in the morning and is busy til its late evening closing. I try to hold myself to just two hot fudge sundaes each year, because they are so good (and so caloric). My house is very close to Center Street, screened by a row of tall arborvitae. And the street traffic can be heard in summer. It's important for people to be aware of that. Here are the ways I try to minimize that issue: One bedroom and the tv room are on the farther side of the house and so screened from noise, one that is on the street side has a room air conditioner that can muffle the noise, and the downstairs bedroom has a portable air conditioner too. But nothing's perfect.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                              • Only good things to report!

                                Only good things to report!

                                • Guest Beth W. (Cape Coral, FL)
                                • Date of stay 10/12/12
                                • Review Submitted 11/08/12
                                We can't begin to express how wonderful it was to stay in Jane's lovely Boston home. Our group of 7 (4 adults, 2 teens and 1 child) were very comfortably housed for a long weekend in this lovely home. It was an easy bus ride (literally right across the street) to the subway station and a quick ride via subway into the historic/downtown districts of the city. Within walking distance were many nice restaurants which we enjoyed trying out. We also were able to walk to a Whole Foods market to get food to have in the house. I initially was very nervous as to whether we would be staying in an area of Boston which was unsafe, but I was happy that the neighborhoood was just fine and I felt very safe staying there and walking to the nearby restaurants/shops. We were so busy running around we didn't particularly get to spend much time inside the house, but it was very homey, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. Also, since there was a washer/dryer we got to fly home with clean clothes in our bags. I highly recommend staying here.

                                Owner response: I'm so happy my guests enjoyed staying in my house. And I'm glad they mentioned the washer and dryer. They are behind a door in the master bedroom and I think I sometimes forget to draw people's attention to them. When I travel, I love having access to a washer and dryer, and also to high speed internet. Thank you!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • I can't tell you how satisfied we were …

                                I can't tell you how satisfied we were …

                                • Guest Desire F.
                                • Date of stay 10/05/12
                                • Review Submitted 10/26/12
                                We spent four days in Boston in October 2012, around Columbus Day weekend, for our son’s wedding, and we were really fortunate to find this rental. Considering what hotel rates were in the city at this time of the year, no other accommodation solution could have beat that option. From the outside, 10 Lochstead Avenue looks deceivingly small, and my son, who drove past it before we arrived, even expressed doubt about the house accommodating our party. But we stepped into a house which was so big and so comfortable that we could not be more pleased. I personally fell in love with it. Everything, right from the start, far exceeded our expectations. Everything in the advertisement was true and accurate. Everything was perfect. I rented before, and I have had my share of unpleasant experiences, but this is the first time I can say unequivocally that I was completely satisfied, and for a group of up to seven persons, there is simply no better option. What made the whole thing even more enjoyable was dealing with Jane, the owner of the house. She got everything covered, kept the line of communication open, always adding that personal touch, and anticipated any potential problem, while making you feel it was not just for the money. Jane happened to have a connection with my wife as a CNR alumna. Here is part of the thank you note I felt compelled to write to Jane, who went out of her way to make this rental a pleasant and memorable experience. “Dear Jane, … I can't tell you how satisfied we were by our stay in your house at 10 Lochstead Av., Jamaica Plain. Several times a day, I would catch myself saying loudly "I love this house!". Thank you for making the whole process run so smoothly that I would forget sometime that it was a business transaction. I really appreciate the personal touch you add to it. …Your books and your music collection made the stay even more enjoyable, and having "Kind of blue" and "Sketches of Spain" by Miles Davis played on your NAD receiver through your small Boston Acoustics speakers would have made me forgive any imperfection that may have existed at 10 Lochstead, which I didn't notice. The four day requirement, the rationale for which you have already explained to me, would be the only thing I wish could be changed, but I definitely would rent again from you when I have a chance…. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to live in your house.” df, New York

                                Owner response: My heat is warmed, reading this lovely review. I learn yet again that being a host is a joyful business. I have really come to see that providing vacation rental in my house is deeply a "win-win" for renters and for me. I'm so pleased that people say their experience of Boston is enhanced by staying at my house; I'm so pleased that their rentals enable me to spend more time visiting my far-away family. With gratitude!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Lochstead Visit 7-29-12 - 8-5-12

                                Lochstead Visit 7-29-12 - 8-5-12

                                • Guest Mark H.
                                • Date of stay 07/29/12
                                • Review Submitted 09/06/12
                                Coming from Michigan for our first time to Boston, I must say we were so lucky to fine this rental. First of all the owner Jane is nothing short of wonderful giving us all the information needed to have a great vacation and place to stay. My wife and I , 2 kids (9 and 2) and my parents made this trip and this house was more than comfortable for all 6 of us. The house is beautifully planned and well stocked with everything needed for an extended stay. The location in Jamaica Plain is PERFECT..... not too close to boston chaos and not too far for a quick trip anywhere....you can walk to the Stoney Brook T Station (orange line) from the house or take the bus which literally stops in front of the house.... There are close grocery stores and markets for anything needed and parking in the house driveway which seems to be at a premium in JP. At night you can come back and relax on the beautiful deck with a fenced in backyard for the kids to play in..... We used the washer / dryer a few times which allows you to pack less on your trip. We attended a Red Sox game, Boston Duck Tour, Aquarium, Freedom Trail, Sam Adams Brewery Tour, Childrens Museum, Fanuiel Hall, Cheers, drove to Plymouth and saw the Rock as well as swam in the Atlantic. This house is the perfect location to do everything in and around Boston...... I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great vacation and a great location vs. a stuffy hotel and $$ in downtown boston.....This was just like vacationing out of your own house..... You will need nothing but your clothes...Jane has the house fully stocked with everything you need along with useful information about the surrounding area. Before you come , study the Mass Transit maps etc and when you get here it will be simple to find your way around...... on bus and train....I would rent this place again without hesitation when we come back to Boston !

                                Owner response: What a joy it is for me to read that my guests took such great advantage of their time in Boston. It is wonderful to be able to reach destinations like Fenway Park, the Children's Museum and the Freedom Trail so easily by public transportation, as well as the sites that are an easy drive. Plymouth is less than an hour, and so is Newport, coastal Maine, the lovely drives west for foliage viewing -- I hope my guests consider a return visit!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Highly recommended

                                Highly recommended

                                • Guest Samantha D.
                                • Date of stay 07/21/12
                                • Review Submitted 07/30/12
                                We had 5 adults and 2 children (4- & 6-years old) staying at the house for a mini-reunion, and everything worked out very well in terms of accommodations and easy access to public transportation, grocery stores, and shops/restaurants. In fact, we were lamenting that we did not have enough time to explore more of Center Street with its interesting little shops and restaurants. The house was well-equipped for meal preparations, and Jane was very quick to respond when we had questions. All in all it was a great place to stay!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Perfect stay for Boston College Graduation

                                Perfect stay for Boston College Graduation

                                • Guest Mary C.
                                • Date of stay 05/18/12
                                • Review Submitted 06/12/12
                                We highly recommend staying in The Lochstead House if you are planning to visit Boston, and especially if you have a college graduation to attend as hotel rates are very high on these weekends. We felt the house was EXACTLY as pictured; equipped with everything necessary for a five day stay with seven people; lovely comfortable bedrooms, plenty of clean kitchen and dining space, wonderful patio with barbeque that we did use overlooking peaceful backyard in quiet neighborhood within walking distance to quality restaurants and short drive to Boston College campus and grocery stores, etc. The homeowner, Jane, could not have been more pleasant. We made very special memories in this lovely, lovely home. We truly miss this gem of a place, cozy and welcoming, airy and bright, craftsman style with pretty architectural finishes, large enough to accomodate our large family... and will definitely return soon to visit our son who took a job in the area upon graduation!

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Nice fit for our family

                                Nice fit for our family

                                • Guest Lisa K.
                                • Date of stay 05/10/12
                                • Review Submitted 06/08/12
                                We had 7 family members traveling to Boston for our son's college graduation. 10 Lochstead Ave turned out to be the perfect fit. It was as described and suited our needs well. Very comfortable and homey. Having bedrooms downstairs as well as upstairs was very helpful. The tv room downstairs is the 4th bedroom, which we had a family member use. Unfortunately, that was the location of the tv so we were unable to watch tv (several had sports, news shows they wanted to watch in the evenings). The living room is very large, so it would really be ideal if the tv could be in that main room. I passed that suggestion on to the homeowner. Due to age/mobility issues we were unable to use public transportation for this trip and had to rent a vehicle, so the off street driveway parking was a blessing to us. No hunting for parking spots!! It was nice being in a neighborhood while still having the urban feel. There is a fair amount of traffic noise (morning and evening) from Centre Street but much less than if you were in a downtown hotel. The kitchen and dining room were well-used by all of us. It was fun to cook together and celebrate several dinners around the table. We were even able to use the deck grill for 2 nights! We loved having the Pond down the street and in the morning would walk/run around while also admiring the many historic homes. The homeowner was easy to work with and very accommodating. She communicated promptly and was flexible about our arrival. We would recommend this home to those traveling to Boston. It serves as a nice reprieve from the action of the city while still being a great location.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Great location and lovely home

                                Great location and lovely home

                                • Guest Rebecca C.
                                • Date of stay 05/22/12
                                • Review Submitted 06/03/12
                                The home was perfect to house our family for our daughter's college graduation. The bus into town is just across the street, which made it so convenient for all of us to get downtown. The home is well equipped with everything you could need to entertain, except for the broken microwave, which I'm sure is replaced by now. The owner couldn't have been more accommodating.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                               
                              Rental basis: Per property
                              Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                              Spring, Marathon, grduations
                              Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2014
                              6 night min stay
                              $480 $525
                              Fri, Sat, Sun
                              $3,300
                              Summer/Early Fall
                              Jul 1 - Oct 31, 2014
                              6 night min stay
                              $445 $470
                              Fri, Sat, Sun
                              $3,000
                              Fall Peak/Winter Holidays
                              Nov 1 - Jan 15, 2015
                              6 night min stay
                              $420 $445
                              Fri, Sat, Sun
                              $2,900

                              Additional information about rental rates

                              Fees:

                              • Taxes Not included

                              Notes:

                              Please contact owner for rental rates.

                              Refundable $500 Security Deposit Required.

                              Security deposit plus 50% required to hold reservation; balance due 21 days prior to arrival.

                              Full refund 28 days prior to arrival. 50% refund 14 days prior to arrival.

                              Deposit (less damages) Returned Within 7 Business Days of Departure.

                              US Holidays that fall on weekdays are subject to weekend rates.


                              This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                              Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                              Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                              Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                               

                              Calendar

                              Last updated: 02/17/2014
                              Check availability
                              23 Available
                              21 Unavailable
                              22 Today
                              23 Selected dates
                               

                              Location

                              • Nearest Airport: Logan at 8.4 Miles
                              • Nearest Ferry: Boston Harbor at 5.1 Miles
                              • Nearest Train: Back Bay Station at 2.8 Miles
                              • Nearest Beach: Carson Beach at 5.3 Miles
                               

                              Owner info

                              About the owner: I've spent pretty much all my long adult life in Boston, active in local affairs and working with community based nonprofit organizations. As a lover of this city, I am proud and pleased to help others enjoy its many charms.

                              Why the Owner Chose Boston:
                              This house, renovated quite completely in 2004, is a wonderful base for me in the lovely Jamaica Plain neighborhood, and is fully accessible for wheelchair users. It is my own residence and I rent the house out when I travel, especially to visit my sons & grandson.


                              Contact us

                              Speaks: english, some spanish & french

                               

                              Photos

                              • Welcome to Lochstead House

                                Welcome to Lochstead House

                              • Shaded Entry Ramp

                                Shaded Entry Ramp

                              • Dining Room looking to Kitchen

                                Dining Room looking to Kitchen

                              • Book Room with Reading Nook

                                Book Room with Reading Nook

                              • Deck on a Summer Evening

                                Deck on a Summer Evening

                              • Upstairs Pink Bedroom

                                Upstairs Pink Bedroom

                              • Sunlit Entry

                                Sunlit Entry

                              • Light filled Living Room, looking to TV Room/4th Bedroom

                                Light filled Living Room, looking to TV Room/4th Bedroom

                              • Great Place to Bake a Pie

                                Great Place to Bake a Pie

                              • First Floor Bathroom

                                First Floor Bathroom

                              • First Floor Bedroom

                                First Floor Bedroom

                              • Tan upstairs bedroom

                                Tan upstairs bedroom

                              $420 - $525 per night (USD)
                              20

                              4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                              Sleeps 7

                              View calendar: Updated 02/17/14
                              Minimum stay: 6 nights
                              Dates are unavailable
                              Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                              This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                              Get an instant quote
                              Owner
                              Email owner

                              +1 617 536-3426

                              Speaks: english, some spanish & french
                              This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                              Add vacation protection services to your booking

                              Three services to protect your trip:

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                              Get it now

                              advertisement