Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The spot

Beach Front Apartment [#335607ha] | View Property

Playa Fortuna
3 Bedroom And 3 Bath, Sleeps 8, Two Balconies
$150 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Quiet spacious clean beach condo

    Quiet spacious clean beach condo

    • Guest jen K.
    • Date of stay 02/18/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    The condo was as described- very clean and spacious for the 6 of us women/girls. It had everything we needed including some beach chairs and towels, espresso maker, blender, 3 bathrooms, all those important things. A few repairs were needed so I left a note but it wasn't anything that was urgent. The complex is very safe with staff patrolling at all hours. The place was deserted and it was a holiday week so that was a bit creepy. We could not figure out why it as so quiet..but a few days later a family moved in down below us with a horrible screeching child..-(and I am a mother of 3.) We really appreciated the quiet days. No fault of owner. The pool is nice and the beach is beautiful - again both deserted, but it was very windy so we went elsewhere to sun ourselves. Luiquillo beach was nice and had cocktails in coconuts. The kiosks are nearby also and had good drinks- food all fried.. Riches up the hill was nothing to rave about but had a nice view. Don Peppes down on Rt 3 was good and had live music.We also hit the kiosks one night for music and drinks. Had to go to the Tattoo tavern. Seven Seas beach has an awesome kiosk with dessert and plantain beef pastiletos ? and very friendly staff who like to practice their English. Did the Fajardo bio luminescent kayak tour which was a riot and awesome. You do a lot of bumping in the mangroves and the lagoon is very cool. worth the trip. The main road from condo is the road up to the rain forest where we did a hike one day. Pedro was very responsive to emails and booking. Good directions with no problems finding our way. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a quiet vacation in a comfortable well maintained beach access complex .

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your review.The things you left written down were taken care off immediately, thank you, we even bought a suggestion book because that helps us do it better for future visitors. You saw fewer people because on this time of year, locals don't visit the beach so often, even if it is a holiday We are really happy that you had a good time in home away from home and and stay with us again. Thank you, Pedro

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved the Location

    Loved the Location

    • Guest amber g. (Corpus Christi)
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    My family and I stayed here in September 2013. This condo had everything that we needed but I will give some pros and cons. Some of the pros would definitely be the location on the island, close to Fajardo and not too far from everything else. We drove all the way to Rio Camuy Caves and the other way to Fajardo with no issues. You can stand inside the condo and look out one window and see El Yunque Rain Forest and look out another and see the ocean. The condo also had enough room that the 7 of us did not feel cramped. I liked how we had 2 bathrooms upstairs and 1 full bathroom downstairs. The kitchen had everything that we needed and we cooked at least once a day, most days twice. It was also really nice to have a laundry room in the unit. The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all, just a few others besides us. We liked how calm the water was for swimming and snorkeling even though there wasn't really anything to see. The gnats come out at dusk so beware or just wear bug spray or stay in the water. The property was well maintained and seemed completely safe(we never felt unsafe in Puerto Rico). Now some cons, I'm not sure when this complex was built but this unit needs some fixing up, and it has the possibility of being amazing. The windows all don't open, more than half are broken in the main living area where there is no ac. Both of the sliding doors need working screens, one was missing it's screen, the other was off track. It is extremely hot in the main living area, we would be eating dinner at the table and sweating. Maybe a fan above or even installing an ac or two downstairs. The kitchen needs a new set of knifes, the ones that are there are dull. The second bedroom upstairs needs curtains, you could see were there was one but it was't there anymore. At night people can see in and there is no privacy. There should be little waste baskets in each bedroom as well. Also, wash clothes and hand towels for the restrooms would be nice. We would definitely stay here again if a little work was done to bring it up to speed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest juan v.
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    The condo is located in a great location, ideally located near all attractions in the north east. San Juan airport, Old San Juan, 30-35 minutes, El Yunque rain forest 5 min., Luquillo Beach 5 min., Seven Seas Beach (Fajardo) 15 minutes, Conquistador Resort & Casino 25 min., Rio Mar Resort & Casino 2 min., many more attractions and eateries located within minutes of the condo. My family and I also took a horseback ride in the nearby Espiritu Santo Reserve. The trails took us into the thick forest and onto the beach right in front of our condo. If staying in and relaxing on the beach is what you’re looking to do on your next vacation this condo also meets those needs. The condo is located on Las Picuas Beach, it is extremely quiet and relaxing. During our stay at any given time there were only 2-3 families on the beach. The condo is very comfortable with all the amenities of home. It has plenty of room with a great view of the garden and beach. Whether your trip is seeking adventure or relaxing by the beach this beachfront condo checks all the boxes. Great place, will return!! Thank you Jose for your hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family of 5 on Spring Break 2013

    Family of 5 on Spring Break 2013

    • Guest John H.
    • Date of stay 03/25/13
    • Review Submitted 03/30/13
    First time user of HomeAway, first time to PR, looking for an affordable beachfront apartment for a Spring Break trip for me, my wife, and our three children (ages 6, 14, & 16). We were pleased with our stay at this apartment, and it completely met our needs. This 2nd floor apartment was serviceable and tidy, with enough space for all of us. I have rated our stay as 4 stars instead of 5 due only to the normal wear and tear that an apartment might normally have - nothing worth fussing to the owner about, just the occasional malfunctioning door screen or window crank. For the price, we were ok with this! I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if the option existed. Beach was just a minute's walk away, and was never crowded, even on busy days. A great spot for all the family to lie in the sun, sit in the shade, or play in the water - a prime location! Entire apartment complex was safe and fairly quiet on our arrival on Monday, though it got louder as Easter weekend approached and apartments started to fill up. Quiet hours seemed to be enforced. Location of the apartment allowed for easy trips to El Yunque and Luquillo, and it wasn't too far from San Juan, either. Great pastries at La Familia Bakery 2 just up the road, and good mofongo at La Parrilla. Though we never met the owner or felt the need to call him, he was responsive during the rental process, and he provided very clear instructions ahead of our stay and at the apartment. The listing is accurate on the website and properly represented. As we never went to the pool (given how close the beach was), I can't comment on its quality. In short - we had a great time, I would rent here again, and I would recommend it to others. John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great getaway

    great getaway

    • Guest the hulkster (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    comfortable, beautiful ocean views...always felt safe with the provided security...we were impressed with how close we were staying to ALL of the local eateries, zip lines, horse back riding, etc...Jose was always just a phone call away when needed and pleasant and polite to ALL of our inquiries...jose's condo is a destination we look forward to visiting again!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: You make me feel very happy with all this reviews. That's what we are here for, to make you guys happy. Thanks once more time. Please don't forget us and come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful vacation home

    wonderful vacation home

    • Guest Parents of two teenagers (Hampton, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    We had a wonderful stay here at Jose's condo! The condo was very clean and we loved the wrap around deck! We grilled several nights we were there and every night, sat out on the deck until bedtime. The beach was wonderful and we were able to pick up many sand dollars and shells and go for many walks on the beach! Jose was great to work with. He was very prompt at answering emails and giving suggestions. El Yunque rainforest was fun to explore. Luquillo beach and bio bay kayaking quite an adventure. Great snorkeling for our three adult kids near luquillo beach. Old San Juan was great as was the Bacardi Rum tour! YUMMY samples! Went horseback riding near the condo and rode along the beach! Fun! It was always so nice to come back to the condo and relax and have our own privacy. Would definitely stay here again and have suggested this condo to others who are interested in coming to Puerto Rico! We would definitely come back to Puerto Rico too! It's a great place! Thank you again Jose for your hospitality and for opening your home to us to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun in the Sun

    Fun in the Sun

    • Guest Janette M. (Blaine, MN USA)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/20/13
    Condo was a little hard to find on our first trip to PR, but it was worth the effort. Clean, with working air conditioners in the 3 bedrooms. The area was quiet with few people about, we were the only people at the pool - it was great! We walk the beach each morning and collected sand dollars - Wonderful. Plenty of space for the 5 of us. We felt very secure while on property, we would return if the opportunity arises. We found two great local shops with all the souvenirs you would need (Caribbean Trading Company & Coqui International) along with a very good restaurant Richies (a little pricey). Thanks Jose!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun in the Sun

    Fun in the Sun

    • Guest Janette M. (Blaine, MN USA)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 11/21/12
    Condo was a little hard to find on our first trip to PR, but it was worth the effort. Clean, with working air conditioners in the 3 bedrooms. The area was quiet with few people about, we were the only people at the pool - it was great! We walk the beach each morning and collected sand dollars - Wonderful. We found two great local shops with all the souvenirs you would need (Caribbean Trading Company & Coqui International) along with a very good restaurant Richies (a little pricey). Thanks Jose!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Please come back any time, was my pleasure.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Vacation in Puerto Rico

    Wonderful Vacation in Puerto Rico

    • Guest Daisy R.
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/26/12
    My family and I enjoyed our vacation at this wonderful apartment. My group of 4 adults and 3 kids felt right at home there. The apartment was spacious and clean. The kids loved the apartment and the beautiful pool. The L shaped porch was wonderful with beautiful views. The community is well maintained and secure (security guards are constantly doing their rounds). The owner, Jose, was great responding to all inquires. We would definitely return and have already recommended this property to family and friends. Thanks for everything Jose!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Daisy The pleasure was mine, I,m looking forward for your return. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great beach and condo!

    Great beach and condo!

    • Guest drl1974 (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 06/28/12
    My family and I (6 adults and 2 kids <5 yrs old) stayed in this condo since it was close to the Wyndham Rio Mar for a wedding. We were quite pleased. I second everyone else's comments and reiterate that it was a great location, steps away from the beach, very clean and well stocked. During the week, we literally had the beautiful beach to ourselves. The downstairs isn't air conditioned and while we were there it was unseasonably hot. However, the breeze off the ocean and ceiling fans in the living room/kitchen area kept us comfortable. We felt very safe and often saw our friendly security officers patrolling the property. In addition, the owner was very helpful and easy to work with. Amigos and Walmart are close by as are several restaurants in Rio Grande and kioskos in Luquillo. It was a great place to stay particularly with kids. We hope to return soon. Muchisimas gracias for sharing your condo with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It feels great to know we do a good job to have our tenants happy. Thanks one more time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Memorial Day weekend with kids!

    Perfect Memorial Day weekend with kids!

    • Guest Maru R. (San Juan, Puerto Rico)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    This is a great place to stay! The apartment is well kept, impecable, rooms are very spacious and has plenty of storage room. I'm from Puerto Rico, and have rented many apartments around the island, and this is one of the best! We were 7 people in total, including 3 kids (<6). There is a small playground right beside the apartment, were we could watch the kids from the balcony. You can see the beach and it is just steps away. Friendly / cozy atmosphere. Very secure and the landwcaping is well maintained. Definitely coming back. Highly recommended!

    Owner response: I really appreciate your information, we really work hard to keep everything clean and well organize, soon we will upgrade different things in the apt, we like you to feel at home. You are very welcome any time you like. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Quiet Get Away

    Great Quiet Get Away

    • Guest Randall J.
    • Date of stay 03/04/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    We initially rented the condo so that I could work as a volunteer during the Puerto Open golf tournament without having a 100 mile round trip daily drive. Although I worked the tournament every day our stay soon became a wonderful quiet beach vacation. The beach was wonderful. My wife collected sandollars and we enjoyed swimming in the rolling surf. The condo was everything we hoped for and more. The kitchen was well stocked with everything required for preparing meals. If you prefer to eat out the condo is located close to several nice restaurants. If you are looking for a quiet tropical vacation on the beach this place is for you. You are also close enough to enjoy all the outdoor sports the island has to offer. Golf, horse back riding on the beach, hiking, zip lining and of course snorkeling are all a short trip from the condo. We are already planning on staying during next years Puerto Rico Open. My wife and hope you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.

    Owner response: Randall. Was a pleasure for me that you had a good time and a nice stay at our apt., we really work hard to give our customers the best. We like to keep things clean and well equipped, so this will bring customers back. I really appreciate your kindness to let other people know about our property. Thanks so much. Jose

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Tom and Anne from Cincinnati and Winter Park CO

    Tom and Anne from Cincinnati and Winter Park CO

    • Guest Tom F. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/19/12
    • Review Submitted 02/10/12
    My wife and I stayed at the condo for ten days this January and were very happy. Jose, the owner, was easy to work with and helped us make arrangements for golf in advance of our arrival. We found the condo to be as described on Home Away, It was clean and well stocked. We loved the location, the privacy and the quiet. The breeze was heavenly, the grounds pleasant and the beach (100 yards from the condo) perfect for walking and soaking up the sun while relaxing in the beach chairs supplied by the owner - coolers, beach bag and toys too. We went to the recommended restaurants - Richie's Cafe, la Parrilla and returned to both a second time. We would also recommend Tapas 13 at the Kiosks in Luquillo near La Parrilla and Antonijtos on the road 968.

    Owner response: Tom. Thanks for your review, was a pleasure having you in our apt. I saw your place at the ski resort in Colorado and looks very nice. I will contact you if we decide to go with my family. Sincerely Jose Mojena

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome stay!

    Awesome stay!

    • Guest Rukmini R.
    • Date of stay 12/20/11
    • Review Submitted 01/12/12
    Our stay this past December at Jose Moneja's apartment in Yunque Mar Resort was absolutely fantastic. 8 of us stayed in the apartment (4 adults and 4 teenagers) and there was plenty of room for all of us. The apartment was well furnished and the kitchen was very well stocked with lots of utensils, dishes, and silverware. The kitchen even included a blender and a couple of rice cookers in addition to a toaster and coffee-maker. The resort complex was quiet and we practically had the swimming pool and beach to ourselves. Since we were doing a lot of water-related activities (scuba, snorkeling, swimming) it was great to have a large washroom with a washer and dryer. The view from Jose's apartment is very nice. And we were grateful for the free Wi-Fi service. Jose himself was very helpful and gave us a lot of useful tips on local activities and places to eat. He recommended a dive shop to us and we were very happy with the service we got from that shop. He was extremely responsive to our requests and questions. We would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Puerto Rico and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you, Jose, for a wonderful stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Flawless Experience!

    Flawless Experience!

    • Guest Mariemma S.
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    I truly enjoyed my stay in Jose's property, which is very clean and well maintained. The apartment decor and facilities are superb. The apartment layout is great and very spacious. Kitchen is well equipped and the laundry room had everything you need for your trip to the beach. Loved the fact that the rooms are upstairs. The balcony was my favorite spot overlooking the grounds and the beach on the horizon. I will stay there again in a heartbeat!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent views and commodities!

    Excellent views and commodities!

    • Guest Karla L.
    • Date of stay 06/13/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    My family of 5 (three kids) stayed on this apartment two weeks and we loved it!!! The apartment has everything you need. Very close to the beach, great view from the balcony with a nice breeze. Loved the beach and the pool is very clean. Great place for the kids! Will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Vacation!!!

    Excellent Vacation!!!

    • Guest Joanna & Tom (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
    We couldn’t have been more pleased with the apartment in Rio Grande! Our family [2 teen-age boys, 85 yr. old MIL and my husband and I] were completely comfortable, surrounded by the most incredibly well-stocked kitchen, [even herbs and spices and enough glassware to host a party of 25!], new beach towels, numerous beach coolers, boogie board and beach chairs. There were also some pool toys, great for younger kids. Upon arrival, we were at first concerned [for our 85 yr. old mother], that there was no A/C on the main floor, but soon realized that the ocean breezes and 3 fans would keep us comfortably cool. [Upstairs bedrooms each had A/C, which we used at night]. We concur with previous reviews that everything was spotless and in very good condition. The cleaning supplies and toilet paper/towels/napkins in the laundry room were very handy - I've never encountered such thoroughness in supplies! Throughout the week, we were amazed at how deserted it was – often we were the only people on the beach and we never saw anyone at the pool! Amusing us at various times was “Mo-ped Man” who patrolled the grounds religiously, keeping us safe from harm!! By the end of our stay, he was waving at us, so we know we didn’t break any rules! This was one of the most relaxing vacations we’ve had in a very long time. We highly recommend staying with Jose and know we’ll be back!! Make sure you get reservations for the Bio-Bay tour – they sell out quickly. Catamaran snorkeling trips are terrific, as is the Rain Forest, which is nearby. Check out the Kiosk Restaurant Row, which is East of the property - there are close to 30? places to eat, all fairly reasonably priced and have a wide variety of cuisine. Joanna & Tom NJ March 26 – April 2, 2011.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Joanna and Tom. I will like to thanks to your review and it makes me happy to acomplished my duty as the owner of the apt., we try very hard to please our tenants and make them feel like home. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Extremely Happy

    Extremely Happy

    • Guest denise (new jersey)
    • Date of stay 02/21/11
    • Review Submitted 03/03/11
    This is the cleanest apartment I have rented considering I have stayed in several others in the area. I couldn't ask for anything more. Jose was such a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely return. Thanks again Jose!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: It's my pleasure that everything was OK. Please comeback any time. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exceeded expectations

    Exceeded expectations

    • Guest BRETT (Marion, Indiana, United States)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/11
    My wife, son-in-law and I had the priveledge to stay in Mr. Mojena's condo last week. The place was absolutely georgeous. The pictures posted on-line do not do it justice. We were extremely pleased with our stay there. The condo is spotless and well equipped. Jose Mojena Sr. and Jr. were both very helpful with information and directions to nearby attractions. The condo is on the beach which is clean, and quiet and you have just a short walk to the Wyndam Rio Mar property where my daughter was playing in a college golf tournament. The property is in a gated community with excellent security people who are also very helpful. When we return we will definately look to stay here again. Brett & Sonia Cain Marion, Indiana

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]