Beachfront Chun's Hideaway
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Haleiwa house description
If you are looking for the true Hawaiian beachfront experience, then you need to look no further. Located in the most desirable area of the North Shore between Haleiwa and Waimea Bay. This is an amazing oceanfront property located on the nicest beach on the North Shore. Known as Chun’s beach, it has calm waters, good snorkeling, and beautiful sunsets. There is 115 feet of ocean frontage, a gorgeous grass front yard and an oceanfront deck. Go down your private steps to the beach and snorkel with the sea turtles then relax on the oceanfront deck with a book.
The main house is 2 bedroom and 2 bath for parties of up to 4. There is a separate bedroom and bathroom suite with its own entrance that can be added on for groups with up to 6 people to bring the total to 3 bedrooms and 3 baths.
The upstairs master bedroom has a king size bed and incredible views up to Waimea Bay. The downstairs bedroom has 1 queen bed and 1 full bed. There are 2 full baths in the main house. The third bedroom has 1 queen bed and its own bathroom with shower. The house has wi fi, flat screen TV, barbecue, washer and dryer. The property is walled and gated for privacy. Located 2 miles north of the charming, historic surfing town of Haleiwa, this is the perfect place to get away and enjoy the beauty of Hawaii.
YOU MUST INCLUDE YOUR CONTACT PHONE NUMBER WITH YOUR INQUIRY SO THE OWNER MAY CONTACT YOU.
Please check the calendar as we will only respond to inquiries for open dates.
Keywords: Beautiful beachfront house
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Pets Not Allowed
- Non Smoking Only
- Limited Accessibility
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1)
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Towels Provided
- Hair Dryer
- Iron & Board
- Parking Off Street
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Video Library
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- CD Player
- Wireless Internet
- Free Long Distance
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Jet Skiing
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
I stayed at the house for a week with my wife and 2 yr old daughter and it was perfect for us. The beach right in front of the house was great and it is sheltered from the surf by the reef so it is a good spot for little kids. I was able to surf for the first four days right in front of the house before the swell got too big, but then you walk or ride to Waimea Bay and check out the surfers from the bluff. It was amazing. The location is very convenient: close to town, the grocery store, all the surf spots. The house itself is very comfortable and the views are spectacular. The deck and large yard are great as well. The owners are very nice and accommodating. They gave us great local tips and we had no problem getting a hold of them for any questions or issues. We will definitely be back as soon as we can!
- Guest John D.
- Date of stay 01/11/14
- Review Submitted 01/23/14
Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children.
Perfect place to relax
Perfect place to relax
We stayed here for 8 days during the end of June and first week of July. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The house was great, and the location was ideal. We had our two teenage sons with us, and thy loved it. We would definitely recommend the house and hope to return.
- Guest Jordan (Mount Vernon, WA)
- Date of stay 06/28/13
- Review Submitted 12/22/13
Perfect location on Oahu!
Perfect location on Oahu!
We stayed here with one other couple in October, and the location is wonderful. There are great, uncrowded waves straight out front, but the beach is also protected by a small barrier reef, so there is a perfect area for swimming and snorkeling even when the swell is up. Snorkeling/free diving in front of the house was good as well. We enjoyed it more than Shark's Cove, actually, which is listed in all the guide books as the place to go on the North Shore. All in all, whenever we were traveling to different parts of the island, we often wondered why we didn't just stay at the house. The location is that good.
- Guest Matt P.
- Date of stay 10/06/13
- Review Submitted 11/11/13
Beautiful home in the perfect spot!
Beautiful home in the perfect spot!
My family recently stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The house was spotless upon arrival and was well equipped with what we needed for a great week away (beach toys, beach towels, snorkels, kitchen equipment, etc. etc.). Our almost one year old daughter was able to play in the lagoon area in front of the house and learn to enjoy the ocean; my husband and stepson were able to surf in front of the house. Janine provided great suggestions for places to eat and rent surf boards; we had a good experience in each location. She was prompt with all her replies to our inquires. The home made our vacation very special! (Words of wisdom: Use Saturday and Sunday afternoons to hang out by the house; the traffic in the area was more than we wanted to deal with on a weekend!)
- Guest Jessie (Marin, CA)
- Date of stay 09/28/13
- Review Submitted 10/09/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Divine Abode on the North Shore
Divine Abode on the North Shore
It really doesn't get any better than this! We stayed a week at this well appointed home on Chun's Beach. The pictures don't do the home justice...It's far more beautiful in person. The view is incredible from both decks, and the beach is just a few steps away from the lower deck. Everything you need is included; the kitchen has dishes, pots, pans, coffeemaker, dishtowels, and even dish soap and dish washer detergent. The bathrooms are well equipped with towels, Kleenex, hand soap, bar soap, and bathroom tissue. Several mornings we took a stroll on the beach and most evenings we were treated to spectacular sunsets while seated on the lower deck. If you enjoy being in the water, the snorkeling is great in the lagoon. The house also has beach towels, snorkeling equipment, and boogie boards. The location is excellent, we were between Haleiwa and Waimea Bay - it's just a few miles to get to either destination. Two of our favorite restaurants in Haleiwa were The Grass Skirt Grill and Haleiwa Joes. There are many activities in the area and we took advantage of the snorkeling at Shark's Cove and seeing the waterfall at Waimea Falls Park. We really don't understand the review that mentioned the owners being sensitive. We found Janine and Jason to be very kind and professional. When first talking to Jason, concerning rental policies, he made it very clear that you could have additional people at the house, he just wanted them listed on the contract. We also received our full deposit back promptly. Overall we had a magnificent time during our stay here, and would highly recommend this property.
- Guest Geola (Boone, IA )
- Date of stay 09/20/13
- Review Submitted 10/06/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
Heaven in Hawaii
Heaven in Hawaii
This property is absolute heaven! From the second we stepped into the house we felt at home and the views are simply breathtaking! Our 19 month old was in his element being able to roam freely and safely around the huge garden and down onto the sand to explore. The beach is perfect for kids as there's lots of little rock pools for them to splash around in. There were plenty of beach toys, snorkels, beach towels etc. Our bedroom on the top level was blissful with plenty of space, a comfy king size bed and a huge private deck which I enjoyed each morning whilst taking in the surrounds before the rest of the household woke up! For us the location was perfect. Easy drive into town and only a few minutes to Waimea Bay and Falls. A beautiful spot and worth a visit early to beat the crowds for stroll and a swim under the waterfalls. Also really handy to the local grocery store which helps with a bub! The "turtle traffic" as we called it due to everyone stopping at the "turtle beach", was a bit annoying in the middle of the day but it's unavoidable staying anywhere north of town really…. at least we got to witness beautiful sea turtles lazing on the sand every time we slowly drove past. We ate at at the house most evenings as the uninterrupted views and sunsets were unbeatable and just so easy to set up out on the deck with our little one… The laundry and kitchen were well stocked and had pretty much everything we needed. Oh except a kettle - I don't drink coffee but LOVE my morning cups of tea so that would have been handy… We got by with a saucepan ;) The owners were extremely helpful from the get go. They responded promptly to all of our emails and requests and I found them really friendly and easy to deal with. We added my mum to the rental agreement with no problems and she loved the privacy of the granny flat just near the main home. Oh and Janine kindly recommended the BEST hairdresser who did my hair & makeup for our little wedding ceremony... SO happy as probably would've ended up with some daggy resort style hairdo otherwise! Can't recommend this property highly enough. For us this was certainly a trip to remember and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much Janine and Jason for sharing your home with us!! Justine, Brett and Brock from Australia
- Guest Justine M.
- Date of stay 08/04/13
- Review Submitted 09/10/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Beautiful home and beach. Sensitive owners.
Beautiful home and beach. Sensitive owners.
My hubby and I loved this location. The home was in a gorgeous neighborhood. It had everything we needed. There is a bit of traffic on the road leading to the home. The day we arrived there was a 2 hour delay getting to the home which normally would have taken 10 mins. This is due to the popular beaches that run along this neighborhood. Their is no a/c but we did not have trouble as the days were lovely. One day was in the 80's but we just sat on the lanai. The tv remote did not work so we had to sit on the floor in front of the tv in order to change channels. That was a bit of a pain late at nite. Gorgeous beach and lanai's. The grounds surrounding the home are lovely. Nice location. Their cleaning woman and landscaper were lovely and kind. The home is located next to grocery and down town of Haleiwa. We recommend you eat at The Grass Skirt. Amazing food! Great people!! The only reason we gave this home a good rating instead of excellent is we were having such a great time we decided to bring our 2 young daughters and my sister mid week. We asked the owners thru email to add them to our rental agreement. We also left the home in perfect condition. We did all our towels, dishes, and swept floors to help out their cleaning women. At the end of our stay we get an email from them stating that the husband was "extremely upset" that we did not " ask permission" for our girls to stay in the home. The tone of the email was upsetting. We understand they needed to prorate our rent due to the occupancy changes but adding 2 little girls to a home that clearly allowed children shouldn't "upset" anyone. Especially since we asked the owners to add them to our rental agreement per their strict rules of allowing no one in the home except those on the agreement. It would have been much nicer if they kindly stated they needed to prorate our rent due to occupancy and say they were happy we enjoyed the home enough to include our children. The wife should have left out how upset her husband was with us. We truly did enjoy the home but in the 8 years we have rented with VRBO we have never dealt with owners being upset with us for including our children. It was quite a disappointment and to arrive home after a lovely week to a upsetting email ruined the experience. It is a gorgeous property. Just don't add anyone to the home without prior approval from the owners. Including small children. It is not worth it.
- Guest Nicki R.
- Date of stay 06/22/13
- Review Submitted 08/01/13
Recommended for: Age 55+.
Owner response: It has taken me awhile to think about how to respond to this review as I both appreciate it as we'll as do not understand their gripe about a "Sensitive owner"? This group told us they had added three people to our property without any prior approval,? They had received my lowest rate because they had told me there were only going to be 2 people staying at the house. They had read and signed our contract which clearly states that no one that is not listed on the contract is allowed on the property...let alone staying the night? Then they are frustrated when I have a problem with this? Due to the fact that they did, all be it at the end of their stay, notify me and they left the property in good condition, I just charged the for a 5 person rate and gave them back the remaining deposit. If you think that I handled this inappropriately, then this would not be the right property for you to rent. We do want people to respect the terms of the contract especially with regards to the number of people allowed on the property. Additionally, I am very glad that they enjoyed their stay so much. Jason Property Owner
From the minute we opened the front sliders and saw your beautiful yard, beach and house we were in heaven!! Enjoyed walks along the beach and saw whales and turtles. The house and beds were so comfortable, we didn't want to leave. The kitchen is well stocked and the view from the deck can't be beat!! The views and the sound of the ocean from the master bedroom were wonderful! It made for a perfect vacation!
- Guest Julie (Colorado)
- Date of stay 03/18/13
- Review Submitted 04/29/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers.
We have had a wonderful stay here on the North Shore. Saw lots of rainbows from the living room windows! The daybed by the window was a favorite spot for reading and viewing surfers. Also say a turtle! What a beautiful spot!
- Guest j9 (California)
- Date of stay 01/03/13
- Review Submitted 03/10/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers.
Wow!! What a great home you have out on the north shore. Very special. The home itself is beautiful, the location on the north shore, and specifially on your little reef, is perfect. My family and I had a great time there, and I wanted to thank you for sharing it with us. I know you have a small yearly rental window, but it will be the first place I check when I come back to the island (this was my first trip). The north shore is my people and my pace. We had a great time swimming, snorkeling and surfing every day out there. Even a lillte June swell showed up. Surfed with a couple guys that know you. Resident 3 finned turtle lives under the reef edge right in front, and swam with him everyday. Beautiful sunsets relaxing on the porch watching the sky turn into a starlit night. Perfect way to begin my retirement........Thanks again. We had a great time and look forward to returning again. Later, CJ
- Guest CJ (San Mateo, CA)
- Date of stay 06/07/12
- Review Submitted 07/01/12
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers.
$425-$575 per night plus 13% tax No credit cards accepted checks or cashier checks only 5 night minimum cleaning fee $200.00 Christmas and New Years weeks $650 per night plus 13% tax and cleaning fees Security deposit of $1000 depending on the size of the group
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
View from private ocean front deck
Sweet shaded lounging spot
living room and kitchen
Separate 3rd bedroom
sunset view from house
beautiful sunrise from house
Private beach access to swimming lagoon
115 feet of ocean front with great privacy and grass yard.
view from living room. Everyone's favorite reading spot!
Separate 3rd Bath
Swimming lagoon and beach on a beautiful day!
sunset view from deck
grassy front yard
View of our beautiful beach from the house
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Monday, March 03, 2014
3 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.