Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset at Villa Eau Claire

Lovely Large Studio with Deck on Beach - Magen's Bay - [#336568] | View Property

Magens Bay
Studio, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$210 - $357/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Perfect place for a relaxing vacation

    Perfect place for a relaxing vacation

    • Guest Jim (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 12/07/13
    • Review Submitted 01/12/14
    We stayed in the studio for a 4-day trip. The studio had everything we wanted and needed. The location was unbelievable. It had this amazing view of Magen's bay. We woke up to a beautiful view, spent the day enjoying it, and watched the sunset. The small beach was quiet and allowed for a quick swim. Each day, we would swim to the larger beach, which was ~10 minutes walking and swimming through the water. The location of the studio was quiet and allowed for privacy. It was located close enough to restaurants and an easy car ride to town. I would recommend renting a car if you want to explore. We can't wait to go back!!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home in the Perfect Location!

    Beautiful Home in the Perfect Location!

    • Guest karen f.
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    We just spent a week at Villa Eau Claire and can't wait to go back. The home is beautiful and the location is perfect. Annika and Gordon were so nice and helpful and their house manager, Julia, is simply the best. When we arrived, Julia met us at the airport and gave us a warm welcome before guiding us to the villa and then the grocery store. It was so nice to wake up and enjoy our coffee on the deck. The views are simply amazing. We were told that Trunk Bay in St. John was best for snorkeling so we took the ferry over one day. Trunk Bay was beautiful but we think the snorkeling from the villa was even better. We swam among fish, sea turtles, rays and a huge school of tarpon right from the pocket beach. It was so nice to relax with a few cocktails on the beach afterwards and not have to drive anywhere. We couldn't have hoped for a better vacation or a nicer place to stay. We'll definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The saying, "When it looks too good to be true,..."

    The saying, "When it looks too good to be true,..."

    • Guest Lori & John (Greensburg, PA/USA )
    • Date of stay 03/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    That saying does not apply here! This place IS TRUE! It's refreshing to know you can still find people who advertise honestly. What you see is what you get and when you actually step through the door, you'll be blown away with how gorgeous it truly is in person! Annika, We loved the place! It was everything described & more, super clean, & absolute paradise! Thank You so much. My biggest complaint is that our 10 day stay was not long enough. Walking to Magen's Bay Beach through the water was incredible! This place is quiet, comfortable, clean & did I mention, absolutely gorgeous?! We spent days exploring the island & some days just laying on our little pocket beach & enjoying the crystal clear water. Every night we slept with the doors open (screens closed). The breeze was wonderful and hearing the crickets and the lap of the water was just heavenly. I'll never forget this, our first trip to St Thomas. Very glad that we found this place & appreciate how true it is. I'd recommend it to everyone I know. We did come across a few wobbly steps on the way down to the pocket beach & the gate could use a new hinge. We aren't complaining & understand that with the weather & usage, these things can break down. Just wanted to let you know. All in all, this place honestly exceeded our expectations! If you're reading this and considering booking, just do it! You will not regret it. It is pure heaven. Thank You Annika!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I wanted to say Thank You for a beautiful stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    I wanted to say Thank You for a beautiful stay

    • Guest Jacqueline
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    Annika I wanted to say Thank You for a beautiful stay. Julia was wonderful and very accommodating. Your place was excellent making it easy not to leave property. Just sitting and watching the cranes fly and waves come in and out was what we needed after a very stressful year. We hopefully will come back renting the larger place in future. Well, again thank you again and a very Happy New Year to you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What an amazing time!!!

    What an amazing time!!!

    • Guest Linda J.
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    My husband and I went to your villa to celebrate our 29TH wedding anniversary. It was one of the most romantic vacations we have been on. We are planning, if all goes as planned, to celebrate our 30th at your villa. Thank you for the wonderful trip!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful slice of heaven!

    Beautiful slice of heaven!

    • Guest WT (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 06/03/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    We enjoyed our stay at Villa Eau Claire very much. We will certainly be back. The amenities were nice. The owner was great to deal with leading up to our arrival & Julia was very helpful upon arrival. The view of Magen's Bay is incredible. The secluded little beach was so relaxing. We saw several sea turtles & various other aquatic life while snorkeling. For those looking for peace & quite away from the hustle & bustle of the resorts, this is the place to be. We can't wait to go back. Thank you very much for sharing your little piece of paradise with others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing!!! Highly Recommended!

    Amazing!!! Highly Recommended!

    • Guest Lawmom (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/24/12
    • Review Submitted 03/25/12
    Our recent trip to St. Thomas was for our wedding. We found This villa by chance on VRBO and it's absolutely beautiful. In fact, we were all over the island while we were there and found nowhere we would have rather stayed. We loved and very much appreciated having the pocket beach. It's fantastic. The views from the villa are stunning. We spent lots of time on the deck and it's so peaceful.. The villa was the perfect size for the 2 of us (the larger villa is wonderful inside but would have been too much for just the 2 of us) and it's homier and more quaint than the pictures portray. It's just a wonderful, wonderful place. I was certainly nervous about reserving a villa I had never seen, on an island I had never been to with people I didn't know all online for our wedding. It couldn't have gone smoother. Gordon was incredibly responsive, helpful and considerate. Julia, the housekeeper, was overly accommodating. Especially when we arrived after a long day of traveling and had luggage, a wedding dress, etc in tow. There is not one remotely negative thing either of us could ever come up with about the villa, the location, the property, the owners or the transaction. We will certainly schedule our next trip to St. Thomas around the availability of this villa.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much from all of us -- Annika, myself and Julia. We appreciated you as well. You are the kind of wonderful couple that we love having enjoy our little piece of paradise, and we try very hard to make every trip as wonderful and memorable as possible. Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for staying with us. We shall look forward to your return. Gordon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Our week in paradise!

    Our week in paradise!

    • Guest Dann (Woonsocket, RI.)
    • Date of stay 11/29/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    I set my expectations very high for this vacation, and was extremely pleased that Villa Eau Claire met and exceeded those expectations! My idea of the perfect vacation is relaxation. That is a perfect description of our week in St Thomas. The private beach was simply marvelous. We spent 7-8 hours a day in the water, on the beach or on the deck at the beach. Our only visitors were the pelicans, turtles, & iguana's. They made great neighbors! The studio was comfortable and more than large enough for the two of us. Loved the deck and the warm breeze in the morning and evening. The views were lovely and serene. Julia was a gem. She is such a nice person and made us welcome from the time we landed to the time we left. We plan on returning when we get a chance. I enjoyed this vacation more than ony other that comes to mind. My thanks to Gordon & Annika for the opportunity to stay in such a wonderful place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • We will definitely return!

    We will definitely return!

    • Guest Melody B.
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/12/11
    The photos and descriptions of this property are very accurate. The property is clean and well maintained and very comfortable. We loved the studio, it was perfect for a couple. The bathroom with 2 sinks is roomy and well done. And the bed was very nice and comfortable, as well. Be aware that there are many steps to get down to the apartment and many more steps to get down to the water. Direct access to the water is a big plus but there is not much of a beach, just a small sandy area with waves covering it, which make it very easy to get into the water, but not to lay out on. However, the deck is there for laying out and showering off the sand. Julia met us at the airport and led us here and answered all our questions. She is terrific! Getting around the island with a rental car was very easy and didn't take long to get places from up here where the studio is. This is our second visit to St. Thomas. The first visit we stayed in a resort and did not rent a car. I really liked having something more private this time. And the direct access to the water from our villa was a huge bonus for us. Although we did go to Megan's Bay beach which was also very nice. The view from the villa is amazing! We watched turtles swimming and pelicans diving for food every day. The Grille at Mahogany Run was a great place to eat that is close by and Kokopelli's down by the theater and CostULess is always a good stop for food even if it doesn't look very exciting, the food is good. I would recommend exploring Red Hook on the east end of the island. Duffy's and Fish Tails were fun and tasty places to eat. And the Dairy Bar is just up the road and a must stop for a treat! We stopped a couple of times this week. Gordon and Annika were great to work with and very accomodating to our changing plans! We really appreciate that. I will definitely recommend this to friends and family, and we will be back for sure!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Choice

    Great Choice

    • Guest Beach - Seekers (St. Charles, IL)
    • Date of stay 09/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/02/11
    Eau Claire is as wonderful as it looks! The pocket beach is VERY unique and enjoyable - total sand bottom and gentle slope - wonderful. The beach next door is also a great advantage - larger but with the same characteristics and not busy at all. Just need to understand that it's clothing optional. The shower down by the beach is quite handy and allows you to leave the sand there. We stayed in the studio and had all the amenities we needed. It's very clean and roomy. In case you're confused by the listings, above the studio is a 2 BR condo with the owner's villa next door. While this location is out of the way and rather isolated, it is very accessible by car. We were able to get anywhere on the island quickly and were just around the corner from Megaen's Bay Beach. You'll enjoy Eau Claire, don't hesitate.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Truly a Little Bit of Heaven

    Truly a Little Bit of Heaven

    • Guest J & M (Monroe, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 07/06/11
    This was our second trip to St. Thomas and I'm sure not our last. Especially if we are fortunate enough to stay at Villa Eau Claire. This is truly a little bit of heaven. My husband and I had all these plans of different things we wanted to do while on the island, however those went right out the window once we arrived at your studio. Everything we needed and wanted was there. We had been anticipating a sailing/snorkeling trip, however decided to forego this and instread purchased a nicer camera than we had. The snorkeling equipment that you provided was all we needed for our own private adventure. Eau Claire's beach! I could go on and on about this private little beach, but the one word that comes to mind is perfection! My husband just loved seeing the sea turtles, iguana's, pelican's feeding in the water and he took many pictures. We sent daily pictures via Facebook to friends and family and tried not to gloat too much. The studio was ideal for us. Plenty of room, very clean, nicely decorated. Loved your collection of books. Cooked breakfast every day and grilled steaks one night. We can't forget Julia. Very charming and most accommodating lady! She met us at the airport to guide us to the studio, gave us a tour of the place, helped us with directions of the island, cleaned and provided us with fresh towels. She was on the villa grounds cleaning or attending to other duties daily. With Julia, you have yourself a gem! We couldn't imagine a nicer place! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Very Special Vacation Experience

    Very Special Vacation Experience

    • Guest P&K (Suffield, CT )
    • Date of stay 03/13/11
    • Review Submitted 03/28/11
    My husband and I have been to St. Thomas many times and Magen's Bay Beach is our favorite spot. When we found this property located on the secluded side of the bay we knew we had to try it. We enjoyed everything about it. It was exactly as described, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. We grilled on the deck at night while the sun set and watched the birds fish down by the water over breakfast. Since this time, we could only spend a few nights, we simply enjoyed the location and walked or drove to the beach during the day. Julia, the property manager, met us at the airport and showed us where to get groceries and made sure we had everything we needed. That was very helpful and beyond our expectations. We would highly recommend this to our friends and we love to stay here again for a longer time or bring our family and stay at the larger property in the same location. It was truly relaxing and wonderful!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your very kind review. Julia, our house manager, thanks you for your compliment. She is the only reason we could do this as successfully as we have. She is very much like a daughter to us and we adore her as much or more than our guests do. She is very responsible and hard working, knows everyone required to keep the villa functional as we like, and she is a joy to have around. More than anything else, we want our guests to enjoy this very special place as much as we do. The sound of the laughter from the children on our beach is musci to us. Gordon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • the nicest spot on St. Thomas

    the nicest spot on St. Thomas

    • Guest Anders (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 03/02/11
    • Review Submitted 03/16/11
    My wife and I are expecting twins in July, so we wanted one last vacation before the child-rearing chaos begins. Our decision to spend it here was exactly right. Wow! Incredibly beautiful and relaxing. First, everything is as described. The king size bed is comfortable. The kitchen is small but usable. We cooked a hot breakfast every morning and dinner 3 or 4 times. The deck is large with a great view. The property manager, Julia, is kind and very helpful. Second, this condo has its own small beach. Get up in the morning, grab a cup of coffee, and take a morning swim! I did, a fantastic way to start the day. Third, the unit is very close to Magen's Bay Beach, one of the nicest in the world. That reputation is justified. The water is pristine. The white sand is fine and comfortable under foot. The ambiance is calm and quiet. Fourth, we drove the entire island during our stay, and I didn't see any location that was nicer. This place is the tops.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much. We will pass your comments on to Julia, who does so much to make the stays of our guests wonderful. We hope to see you back someday soon..

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]