Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Spring in Rome, Studio Sleeps up to 4, a/C, Wifi, TV S [#337802] | View Property

Villa Borghese
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
€80 - €120/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (53)

Sort by:
  • Authentic and charming

    Authentic and charming

    • Guest Suzie
    • Date of stay 03/19/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    My husband and I simply fell in love with Nino's apartment. We stayed for 4 days and felt at home as soon as we walked in. The apartment is located in a very nice and safe neighbourhood with shops, markets, restaurants all withing a few minutes of walking. Nino was a perfect host not only in greeting us on arrival but also by being available (only an email away!) and very helpful during our travellings to Italy as we were meeting up from different countries. Many thanks to Nino as the memories of our stay to Italy will always stay close to our hearts.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent

    Excellent

    • Guest JoAnne + Bronwyn (Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/31/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    As so many have said Nino and his place are terrific. He was very helpful, giving us a call on our first morning to check we were ok, but not intrusive. He provided us with useful local tips (shopping, bus & tram routes etc) and also kindly printed out tickets for us. His apartment is terrific for a couple or small family. Very well set up. It does require a bus trip into town to see the sights. The positive of that is you are staying in a quiet residential area.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ditto!

    Ditto!

    • Guest Linda E.
    • Date of stay 10/26/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    I am not going to repeat everyone else, but it is all true. We had a wonderful time at Nino's house. He is an incredible host. When we left, it wasn't just leaving Rome, we were leaving a friend as well. Thanks, Nino, for making Rome a truly personal experience!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • October in Rome

    October in Rome

    • Guest DCP (San Francisco, Ca)
    • Date of stay 10/20/13
    • Review Submitted 12/08/13
    Located in the middle of Rome with easy access to public transport, Nino's house was a charming, comfortable flat in a safe neighborhood. We found our way around and located a favorite spot for dinner within two blocks of the apartment. The flat was quiet. We were able to hear the bells of the nearby cathedral in the evenings and the neighbor beating eggs for breakfast in the mornings. Would stay there again as it so perfectly met our needs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Impeccabile!

    Impeccabile!

    • Guest Marcello C. (Sardegna, Italia)
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    L'appartamento è molto ben curato, accogliente e dotato di tutto il necessario, anche per soggiorni prolungati. La posizione è ideale: in zona molto tranquilla, centrale e ben collegata con la rete di trasporti pubblici. A tutto ciò bisogna aggiungere l'ospitalità, la cortesia e l'attenzione di Nino: perfetto padrone e vicino di casa, con un bon ton che dispone senz'altro al desiderio di ritornarci.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • At home in Rome

    At home in Rome

    • Guest Ros (UK)
    • Date of stay 10/07/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    The unique quality of Nino's welcome and support makes this delightful flat seem like home immediately. A true Roman Nino introduced us immediately to his charming neighbourhood and provided all the necessary information re local shops and bus stops which we found invaluable. Walking distance to the Villa Borghese was a particular attraction as we wished to revisit the Galleria Borghese. Nino had helpfully advised us to book on line vouchers. I have spent many nights in Rome and have never slept so peacefully or felt so secure. I would without hesitation recommend this property to a relative or friend and for a first time visit to Rome the support of its host would be difficult to replicate anywhere.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • At home in Rome, yes!

    At home in Rome, yes!

    • Guest Tim (Cincinnati)
    • Date of stay 10/03/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    Nino's House was very homey, comfortable and made us feel like locals, not tourists. Niño is very helpful in providing advise and information to make your stay in Rome enjoyable, relaxing and efficient. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood with all amenities within easy walking distance. We enjoyed the location though bus travel was necessary but easy to get to many attractions and sights. Nice kitchenette, bathroom and bed which is located on a loft. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and would certainly choose Ninos again. Cindy & Tim Cincinnati

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A wonderful week in Rome

    A wonderful week in Rome

    • Guest Paula (Annapolis, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 09/26/13
    • Review Submitted 10/18/13
    I found the apartment charming with close approximity to the grocery, shopping and restaurants. Pictures and description were accurate. The apartment was very clean with supplys for general cooking and the morning coffee. It was 5 minutes walking distance from the Borghese Museum and within 1 block for buses to Rome center, the train station and tram to the Vatican. There was a fruit and vegetable market daily until 1pm. I felt safe walking in the evening and the owner called with information about the weather and a bus strike one day. He was available by phone and a knock on the door next door. In all it was a great location with a fun and articulate guide (the owner) if needed. and I will be definitely be going back for a future visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great place to stay in Rome

    A great place to stay in Rome

    • Guest John M (Delaware, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    My family of four stayed 4 nights at Nino’s apartment in July, 2013. The apartment was very comfortable, clean, and neat and located in a safe neighborhood. The apartment had easy access to the bus, subway and taxi; we walked to the bus stations back and forth many times even while we stayed there in the middle of the nights. It was plus to have wireless internet in the apartment, my kids loved it very much! The description for the apartment in the property overview section is absolutely accurate, period! Now, let me talk a little about the owner, Nino. What a nice man Nino is! He is nice, helpful and knowledgeable! He is proud of his lovely city and knows Rome inside out, and the most importantly he really takes his time to help planning the visit and call you every night to make sure your visiting was smooth and safe. Had known many services he would provide to the guests I would have used all or some of them. Just like another guest said in his comment that Nino does anything he can to make sure your trip and your experience in Rome is a positive one. We are missing this nice man, Nino! If I have another chance to visit Rome I would stay in Nino’s house!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nino's Is the Best Place to Stay in Rome, Hands Down!

    Nino's Is the Best Place to Stay in Rome, Hands Down!

    • Guest Charles (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    I have to break this review down into various parts because each one beams on it's own: a) The apartment - Exactly as pictured and described. Very clean, well maintained, and everything you need for your stay there is there. My wife and I arrived and were very happy with how it was laid out and everything Nino provided. b) The location - As was previously described by others, the apartment is located in a very safe neighborhood with great shopping and restaurants nearby, as well as the supermarket just down the street. On top of that, Villa Borghese is about a 5 minute walk away, and the bus / tram is about 1 minute away. Rome is also a very walkable city, so it's not hard to find yourself wandering and suddenly you're in the middle of the city. c) Nino - Honestly, he was one of the highlights of our entire trip (thank you again!). We showed up and Nino welcomed us, and the first thing we did was sat down and chatted with him. We drew up an itinerary for the trip, and he took the time to show us where to go, and marked places on a map for us. He suggested restaurants, tips, travel routes to take, the whole 9. After that chat, we went for a walk around the area and he taught us about some of the historical landmarks, as well as explained what was in our area. This was really quite unexpected, but VERY MUCH appreciated by my wife and I. Nino does anything he can to make sure your trip and your experience in Rome is a positive one. In total, our 6 nights in Rome were great at this apartment! PS - I HIGHLY recommend taking Nino's car service to / from the airport. In an attempt to save a few euros, i passed on the ride from FCO to Nino's place. After a headache with the bus, and the crowds, then overpaying on a cab from Termini, and after a few hours of travelling, I definitely regretted it - in fact, one of the first things I said to Nino was that I wanted the service for the ride back to FCO. In the end - Nino is a great person and this is a great place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Full service owner!

    Full service owner!

    • Guest Kathryn G. (San Leandro)
    • Date of stay 06/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/10/13
    All of the previous reviews are spot on regarding Nino's helpfulness in making sure you know your way around. The quick tour of the neighborhood upon arrival was wonderful. We were able to venture out in the morning to the corner bar for a cappuccino and head over to the local market for some groceries. We knew where to catch the bus AND where to buy the tickets. We used his recommended car service to get to his apartment from the airport. It was great! In limited English the driver even pointed out some ruins on the way. Nino really does provide superior help. On our last day we were renting a car to continue our vacation to other parts of Italy. Nino went with my husband to the rental car place and then drove with us several blocks to get us on the autostrada! We left him at the curb just before the entrance to the freeway. He said he would walk home or catch a bus! It would have been difficult to figure out the streets to get on the freeway by ourselves. We were so grateful for Nino's help.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We would rate this apartment above excellent, to 6 or 7 stars if possible!

    We would rate this apartment above excellent, to 6 or 7 stars if possible!

    • Guest Rebecca H. (Ann Arbor, MI)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    The apartment is lovely and in a great location - near the park, bus stops, grocery stores and restaurants. The air conditioning was much appreciated as was the WiFi. Even more, we were thankful for Nino's helpful and friendly manner & knowledgeable advice. He provided information about buses, the area & other interesting sites to see - especially useful because we were in Rome for such a short time. He knows Rome so well & helped us find the right restaurants, shops & transportation options. We can't thank him enough or provide an adequate glowing account - it was great!!! And we will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nino's House, Great place

    Nino's House, Great place

    • Guest lyn k.
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    I booked this apartment for a surprise trip to Rome for my husbands 50th birthday in june 2013. I chose it because it had such good reviews and I liked the fact that the owner (Nino) lived next door as it was our first time in Rome and he sounded like a very friendly helpful man. Just what you need when visiting somewhere new. I was not disappointed, from the very first e-mail to the end of our stay he was brilliant. When we first arrived he showed us round the apartment and explained how everything worked. He gave us time to freshen up then when we were ready he gave us a tour of the local area, showing us where to catch the buses and trams, restaurants and shops ect. We only had 4 days in Rome so wanted to make the most of our time. Nino very kindly helped to plan our days, even going to the trouble to book our trips on line to the coliseum and Vatican city because we didn't think to pre book,before arriving, and this saved us hours of queing. The apartment is in a good area and is easy to get to where ever you want to go, by bus tram or walking, and is very clean and comfortable. I would definatly recommend this place to anyone. Nino is a lovely man and really made our trip special, it would not have been the same without his help and kindness. Thank you very much Nino, Regards Lyn and Adrian Kipling.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Un hôte charmant!

    Un hôte charmant!

    • Guest suzanne (montréal, canada)
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    Nous avons séjourné à l'appartement de Gaetano à Rome pendant 6 merveilleuses journées. C'était une virée italienne en compagnie de ma fille de 18 ans. Dès l'abord, notre hôte s'est révélé d'une grande amabilité, en nous faisant visiter les alentours, nous indiquant les principaux services et étant particulièrement attentionné. À une autre occasion, nous avons fait appel aux services de Gaetano, et il s'est montré à la fois d'une grande discrétion et gentillesse. L'appartement est parfait pour une visite romaine. Bien équipé, confortable, très bien situé dans un quartier très tranquille mais à proximité de tout. Nous aimions le soir venu, retrouver le calme de petites rues piétonnes et l'ambiance d'un très bon petit resto recommandé Gaetano au coin de la rue, qui possède une bonne cave à vin ! Merci pour tout Gaetano, j'espère avoir l'occasion de séjourner à nouveau dans votre charmant appartement!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, cozy apartment near Villa Borghese

    Wonderful, cozy apartment near Villa Borghese

    • Guest Michelle F. (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    My husband and I stayed at Nino's House for a week in May, and it was perfect in every way. The apartment is tucked away in a residential neighborhood very close to the Villa Borghese, easily accessible by bus, tram and taxi. Upon our arrival, we were warmly and enthusiastically greeted by Nino. He made sure we had a map of the city, told us which bus and tram lines would bring us back to the apartment and then showed us around the neighborhood. He showed us the local market and restaurants and then took us on a lovely walk through Villa Borghese to the Spanish Steps. It was like staying with a long lost relative! He called to check on us throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed and to let us know of things going on in the city. Thanks to Nino, we saw the Pope say Mass and avoided a Metro strike. The apartment is very clean and looks just like the pictures in the listing. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking utensils, dishes and a few basic items like salt, olive oil and coffee. The washing machine was a "must have" for me, as we pack very light and it was easy to use. Plenty of towels, blankets and pillows. It was not warm at all during our stay, so we didn't need to use the air conditioning, just kept the windows open for fresh air. Nino was very easy to communicate with before our stay and answered all of my questions very promptly. He also arranged our transfer to the airport. The Roma Pass is a good deal, as it includes a three-day transit pass, which makes getting back to the apartment by bus or tram easy. Both the bus and tram stop within a block of the apartment. Make sure you don't miss the Borghese Gallery, which is within walking distance, just remember to reserve your tickets in advance! I would highly recommend this apartment. Nino is a wonderful host and staying at his lovely apartment will be one of your favorite memories of Rome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Lynn T. (McKinney, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    Nino and his beautiful flat were marvelous! The flat is inside a building with several other flats. There is a small, but steep, staircase to the elevator, and then another to Nino's flat if you wish to skip the elevator. Nino subdivided his original flat, so inside the beautiful front door is an entryway with 2 more locked doors, one to the rental listed, and one to Nino's. He met us on our first day and helped us get our bearings. The flat has maps and books on Rome, and Nino helped us understand how and where the trains work. Rome is very walkable, but the terrain is very uneven. Only Italian women have the gene necessary to navigate the cobblestones in high heels. If you live Stateside, don't make the mistake of thinking that the streets will be cobblestone only in the historic areas. ALL of Rome is historic, and the streets are made of square stones everywhere. Nino is very helpful and knows everything about Rome. He even took us on a little walking tour of some of the areas close by. He took us down the Spanish Steps, and then to the bus stop so we would know where we would be. His English is great! The flat is definitely as described. The bedroom upstairs has a short ceiling and is open to the floor below. If you are 5'11" or up, please remember to duck a little. The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils, and the food in Italy is marvelous. There is a small grocery store fairly close. Nino checked on us frequently, and was ameniable to us calling him. The living room couch is big enough to hold two adults, but it will be very close quarters and slightly uncomfortable. When the bed it out there isn't much room in the living room, but still enough to sit around table easily. My kids are 6 feet tall and managed well. We didn't need the air conditioning, it was very cool for May, almost cold. Definitely use Nino's car service to come from the airport. Due to tricky traveling, we weren't able to do this and our trip from airport was difficult. If you decide to use the train, take the Leonardo Express to Roma Termini. Parallel lanes of bus stops right out front. Look for stop Po/Simeto. I believe the number is 63 or 83. If you have a map and aren't carrying a lot of luggage, it is about a 15 minute walk. Nino's is far enough away from most of the tourist attractions to be a quiet retreat from the hoard, but close enough to walk. Lots to do at night, but remember to check time of last bus from city center. I would stay here again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • excellent choice

    excellent choice

    • Guest Maristela S.
    • Date of stay 05/06/13
    • Review Submitted 05/31/13
    I stayed at this apartment with my husband for 10 days and we can confirm all the good reviews written by the other guests: the place and the neighbour are excellent, really quiet and comfortable place, nice shops and restaurants nearby, villa borghese really close, public transport very handy. The owner (Nino) was really nice and helpful since our first email contact and during the whole stay! Lots of travel guides, available, very useful. We have nothing to complain about our stay and we hope to return soon! Rome is beautiful and this neighbour is especially nice!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 4 jours à Rome fantastique !

    4 jours à Rome fantastique !

    • Guest Choco (France)
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 06/26/13
    Le studio de Nino est très bien situé dans un quartier calme et très agréable avec arrêt de bus et tramway à proximité pour le centre de Rome mais c'est aussi faisable à pied pour les marcheurs ! Le studio est fonctionnel et propre. Nino nous a très bien accueilli en nous donnant plein de bons conseils et d'adresses pour rendre notre séjour facile et agréable. Nous recommandons cette location.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very clean and great neighborhood!

    Very clean and great neighborhood!

    • Guest Catherine (Lakewood, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/17/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    Nino is a wonderful host, and yes, he does live right next door (the apartments share a main front door). He was very helpful for first-timers in Rome- showing us around the neighborhood, where the grocery store, bus, tram stops, etc, were. The apartment is very clean, spacious, and the neighborhood always felt safe, even walking around in the evening. It was a great value and a good location, even for first-timers! (Note for those with physical limitations: There is a very small weight limited elevator, but first you must walk up a small set of stairs to get to it.)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Catherine, thanks for the nice words. You were really a very quite and correct guests (with 3 children!!!!). I hope you'll come back one day. All the best

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Grazie, Nino

    Grazie, Nino

    • Guest BB (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 11/10/12
    Previous reviewers have hit the high spots of a stay at Nino's house, so let this one simply validate their words. I would only add that the bed is extremely comfortable and good sized--smaller than king but larger than queen--and that the apartment has fine natural light and air circulation. We were able to settle comfortably for a 10-day visit (our first) in Roma in this perfect neighborhood: beautiful, quiet, but lively and convenient for all the essentials--cafés, simple and more elaborate eateries, pharmacies, ATMs, supermarkets, and the superb tram lines 3 and 19, just around the corner. So enchanted are we by Rome, its jaw-dropping layers of civilization, its exquisite sense of proportion, symmetry, and style, and its warmth to avid visitors like us, that we cannot NOT return. And when we do, we would not think of staying any place other than Nino's. He is a special man we will not soon forget.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nino's house in Rome

    Nino's house in Rome

    • Guest Stephen S. (Dallas)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    What a great experience! We stayed at this apartment for 10 days in October 2012. The apartment is located in a residential area which allowed us to be with Rome "natives" vs. tourists. The apartment was quite and the neighbors were quite too. Lovely part of the city and we felt very safe walking around the neighborhood. It was about 1 1/2 blocks from the bus, tram and subway----very easy to get around Rome with this location. There were great local shops very close to the apartment---restaurants, grocery stores, pastry shop (one of the best in Rome), etc. For first-time visitors to Rome, the apartment is close to Borghese Gallery/Gardens. The apartment was VERY clean, neat and had all the comforts of home. Bed was comfortable. Plenty of hanging/drawer space. Bathroom was also clean with a shower (no tub) and we got plenty of towels/linens. Having a kitchen was a great benefit---we ate breakfast in the apartment every day. And although we didn't cook any dinners in the apartment, the kitchen was certainly equipped to do so. Dishes, glasses, pots, pans, etc. Best of all was having Gaetano, the owner, next door to us. He was so helpful and friendly. He helped us figure out the bus/subway/tram logistics each day. He gave great local restaurant information and recommendations. He also gave us input on what sights to see in Rome. He was GREAT! He speaks English very well. He checked on us every night to make sure we had a good experience that day and made sure we knew what we were doing or where we were going the next day. We would highly, highly recommend this apartment to others. We are planning another trip to Rome next year and will definitely stay at Nino's house in Rome again. There were no negatives associated with the apartment, location, or Gaetano. Everything was wonderful. Staying at this apartment helped to make our visit to Rome very special.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Safe, comfortable and convenient.

    Safe, comfortable and convenient.

    • Guest Mary Lou & Tony C. (Staten Island New York)
    • Date of stay 09/02/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    My husband and I spent 9 nights in this lovely apartment just steps from the beautiful Villa Borghese gardens. The description of the apartment, amenities and area are a true representation. The owner, Niño is what made our stay special; due to a warm and quite funny personality And good command of the English language. Niño arranged for our transport to and from the airport and greeted us warmly when we arrived followed by a tour of the neighborhood pointing out points of interest, shops, modes of transportation and restaurants which we frequented. There was also alot of printed material and books to help plan our days. Thank you Niño, hope to see you again. Mary Lou and Anthony

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Borghese Charmer

    Borghese Charmer

    • Guest Virginia 3 (Salem, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 10/03/12
    My husband and I were lucky to spend three nights at Nino's House in August. This was the very beginning of a month trip in Italy and it was a wonderful spot to relax and regroup after making the long flight. We arrived late in the evening but Nino had made arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport and the transition from airport to apartment was effortless. Nino met us at the door and, in spite of the late hour, took us on an introductory stroll through the neighborhood. It was a great way to stretch our legs and clear our heads after being on an airplane for so many hours. The apartment listing is accurate in every respect and the photos do represent the apartment well. The apartment is cozy but was very comfortable for the two of us. It was very clean, very well maintained and very well appointed. My fear is always that there won't be space to unpack, which is something that I want to be able to do; it makes me feel as if I have really arrived. Nino has thought of every way to maximize storage space. A very generous wardrobe in the bedroom, hooks on the walls, bedside tables with good reading lamps. The bathroom, although compact, has plenty of space for toiletries; the shower has shelves for all manner of soaps, gels and shampoos. The kitchen is well equipped but I have to admit we didn't use it very much as the local restaurants were so close and so very good. One of the main things I wanted to do on this return trip to Rome was to revisit the Borghese Gallery and it is just a very short stroll away from Nino's House. We easily caught the little electric bus (I think the number 70) to take us through all the little alleys to the center of Rome. We also walked to the center and didn't find it to be at all daunting; just a good stretch of the legs. We recommend Nino's House very highly. The apartment was perfect for us, the location is excellent and the owner is a delight.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Adventures in Rome

    Adventures in Rome

    • Guest John (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    My family and I (wife and two children ages 12 and 9) stayed at Nino's house for one week at the end of July 2012. The apartment is exactly as seen in the pictures, and just as clean. There was plenty of room for our family of four, the furniture was all very comfortable and the appliances and cooking utensils were very convenient to have. There were even basic cooking ingredients to help cook those favourite Italian dishes, including coffee for that first morning espresso. The air conditioning worked very well as it cooled the whole apartment down within minutes, even in the sweltering heat of July. The location is very quite as it is located outside the city centre, and once the door and windows were closed, the only noise that kept us awake was that of our children chatting about what we would be doing and seeing the next day. There are several bus stops within a two minute walk, with busses that brought us anywhere we had planned to go that day in a short 10 to 15 minute ride. Restaurants, coffee bars, grocery stores, department stores, open markets and of course gelato, are all within a short walk from the apartment. I could go on and on about how great this apartment and its location are, but what really makes this vacation rental shine is its owner. Nino was simply a superb host. His tour of the neighbourhood when we arrived meant that we did not have to waste time searching for all the places described above. He knows his city and its attractions very well and he was always ready to answer any of our questions. He helped us see everything we wanted to see in Rome in the week we spent there. Nino was there for us during our stay, for as much or as little as we needed him, and for that we send him a big…GRAZIE NINO!! We would not hesitate to recommend Nino’s House to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Rome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Super stay at Nino's house

    Super stay at Nino's house

    • Guest Stath (London)
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/05/12
    My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at Nino's house for a 4 day break in July. As mentioned in many other reviews, Nino was the perfect host. He had arranged a taxi from the airport and was there to welcome us when we arrived. He showed us the apartment and gave us a tour of the surrounding area, pointing out both places of interest and local amenities. He was also available if we needed to ask any questions. The apartment itself was clean, comfortable and as described with everything needed for a short stay. Situated in a pleasant, quiet and safe area close to bus stops (short ride to Rome centre) with a supermarket and shops to buy your morning pastries. The bedroom on the upper level has a low ceiling, although it did not cause us any real problem. In addition, the shower temperature could be a little unpredictable. Overall, we would be happy to recommend the apartment and stay there again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sumio

    Sumio

    • Guest Sumio (Yokohama,Japan)
    • Date of stay 05/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    Quite recently we stayed Nino's House for 2 weeks. Accomodaton is quite, clean and have all facilities we needed. Location is in the middle of very good residential area and very close to famous visiting spots by buses trams and subways. Variety of supermarkets and restaurants are within walking distance. On top of that very good hospitarity by owner.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding location and accommodations

    Outstanding location and accommodations

    • Guest Carleton R. (Makaha, Hawaii )
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 07/22/12
    I stayed at Nino's apartment for five nights in early May. Nino, who lives next to his rental, arranged my transportation from the airport, and he was willing to book other tours ahead of my arrival. Nino has a passion for his city and it's history. So rely on him to familiarize you with the neighborhood and the city. He will not intrude, but he is very willing to help you get the most out of your visit. The apartment is comfortable, clean,safe and quiet. I enjoyed having a reasonably well equipped kitchen,including a good sized refrigerator. Nino will give you a tour of the neighborhood including the short walk to the Borghese gardens with its museum and extensive park, the outstanding neighborhood bakery, gelato shop, grocery store and restaurants. This apartment and upscale neighborhood is the ideal place to return after a day of touring. Unlike staying at a hotel, you feel like you are living in Rome. And his rate is very reasonable. Thank you Nino for being the ideal host. I look forward to returning in the near future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Expectations Exceeded!

    Expectations Exceeded!

    • Guest Michael (Sydney, Australia)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 05/20/12
    We stayed at Nino's House in early April, for 5 days. We are a family of 4 from Sydney, Australia with 2 daughters aged 15 & 13 Nino proved to be the perfect host - always available but never intrusive. It was like we were staying with family. The apartment was immaculate and well located in a lovely and quiet neighborhood. Nino took us on a tour of the area on the morning we arrived, showing us key points of interest, transport, etc, then introduced us to local shop keepers, cafes & restaurants. A truly special travel experience and one we are happy to share with others.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Come for Rome, Stay for Nino

    Come for Rome, Stay for Nino

    • Guest Devon S. (Washington, DC, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/02/12
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    My husband and I stayed in Nino's apartment during the first few days of our honeymoon last year. It was a wonderful way to start our trip. The apartment is cozy enough for two, and the access to laundry made it easier for us in terms of packing light. Nino was wonderfully helpful and hospitable - making sure we knew the neighborhood and all the hidden sights nearby. He is the perfect ambassador for room. We hope to return to Rome again, and when we do, we will definitely try to stay at Nino's again. HIGHLY recommended.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great apartment!!

    Great apartment!!

    • Guest Elaine (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/17/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    Nino's house is a great apartment in Rome. It's perfectly located in a local neighborhood away from the crowded tourist spots but still easily accessible to everything. The neighborhood itself has many restaurants and shops. The apartment is well-stocked, especially the kitchen. (Because of you're looking for an apartment you will cook!) Nino himself is a gem and a wealth of helpful tips. Take him up on his offer to give you a tour; he will show you the nearby bus stops, supermarket, bakery, etc. He also gave us a great tip to see the Pope give a sermon on Sunday morning in St. Peter's Square. See the Pope! It's a great experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Many thanks for your kind words. I hope that one day you'll come back to my apartment. You are a wonderful couple and you have a beautiful baby girl.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Apartment in a great area

    Lovely Apartment in a great area

    • Guest Steve (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 03/04/12
    • Review Submitted 04/27/12
    We stay at Nino's House while visiting our son in Rome. Nino made us feel very welcome and took us on a tour of the surrounding neighborhood to show us where to shop and eat. He advised us to go to St. Peters and we were able to see the Pope our first day there. The apartment is clean, comfortable and very near public transportation. I would not hesitate to stay at Nino's House again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • New Year in Rome!!!

    New Year in Rome!!!

    • Guest Julia (St. Peterburg)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    This New Year we planned meet in Rome. Last summer, quite by chance, during a vacation in Lisbon, on the steps of the Pantheon, we have got acquainted with Nino! So, in this January we have been in his guest house near the center of Rome! We stopped for a week (three persons). And we really enjoyed it! Staying in a guest house more freedom and more comfortable than in the hotel! You can return at any moment, relax, eat at any time whenever you want. The apartments located in a quiet and clean area, near a Termini Station. Until important attractions of Rome can be reached on foot or by bus. Near the house buses and trams. Nino is very hospitable host: he met us, told everything about the apartment, conducted a tour of the nearby attractions and shows the nearest supermarket. Thanks Nino! We had a great time in Rome!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rome Vacation December 2011

    Rome Vacation December 2011

    • Guest Mathew R. (Atlanta, Georgia USA)
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    This was our first family vacation outside the US and we were a little concerned, but Nino made us very welcome and comfortable. We stayed at Nino's house near Villa Borghese and it was the best. Apartment was very neat and clean and right in the heart of a safe pleasant community. Nino was an excellent host and was very kind and helpful much more then we expected. My wife and two teenage cjildren spent a week and saw much of this spectacular city but want to return for more. We hope Nino's is available the next time we visit. You will love it and it is so much better then staying in a hotel. Buon Natale. Go Roma! God Bless.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet, elegant, convenient retreat in one of Rome's nicest neighborhoods

    Quiet, elegant, convenient retreat in one of Rome's nicest neighborhoods

    • Guest Christa (Nashville, TN USA)
    • Date of stay 10/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/15/11
    Nino's house is in the Parioli neighborhood of Rome, filled with elegant architecture from the late 1800s & early 1900s. The building in which the apartment is located is wonderful: A large two-story entry; marble stairs; mahogany herringbone parquet floors; and heavy carved doors with beautiful knobs. The apartment itself is lovely: Spotlessly clean, with a modern kitchen and bath (plus a washing machine), and a living room that is filled with the old-world charm of the building. The neighborhood is very quiet--so quiet that we were able to sleep with the windows open--quite a treat to have fresh air at night in Rome! There are wonderful restaurants within a two-minute walk of the apartment. Markets for fresh food are equally close. Public transportation connections--taxi stand, bus stop, and tram--are also nearby. Major attractions of the north side of Rome are within walking distance; it is a pleasant walk through the Villa Borghese park to Museo Borghese and to Villa Giulia. But the real treasure of this property is Nino himself. My husband and I wanted to attend services at Sant'Agnese fuori le Mura shortly after we put down our suitcases; Nino volunteered to escort us most of the way there, since he knew a shortcut through a nearby park. He makes it clear that he would never intrude on your privacy, but he will do all he can to make your stay in Rome the best possible. He is a delightful person, a lifelong resident of Rome, and possessed of fluent spoken English. My husband and I are already planning our next trip to Rome--we will stay at Nino's house again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Christa you where relly very nice on writing such a beautifull words. Thanks again for being so nice with me. I hope you'll come back next year. All best for you and your husband.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, quiet apartment

    Lovely, quiet apartment

    • Guest KD (Australia)
    • Date of stay 09/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/13/11
    We stayed at Nino’s house in September. Nino arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport and drive us to the apartment, useful particularly as we had never been to Rome. On arrival Nino gave us a tour of the apartment and then a tour of the surrounding area (he pointed out the best gelati in Rome, but we think it is the best in Italy!). The apartment is spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed. Has everything you would need, including wifi, air conditioning and kitchen. It faces onto a courtyard, which is very quiet at night. As others have mentioned below, that the mezzanine with the queen size bed has a ceiling that is five feet ten inches, so if you are taller than this you will have to hunch over a bit, but we didn’t find that this was a problem. Close to bus stops, the Borghese gardens and quiet enough to be able to enjoy Rome without all the tourists.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet haven in a bustling city

    Quiet haven in a bustling city

    • Guest Two for the road (California, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/30/11
    • Review Submitted 10/12/11
    We were fortunate enough to happen on Nino's house through VRBO. Our last experience in Rome had been less than wonderful and so were a bit hesitant but Nino's hospitality and this wonderful retreat changed all that. The flat is spotless, every thing is in place . Nino is a delightful host, kind, helpful, fun and informative. The location for us was perfect! We love to feel a part of a neighborhood and with the bustling cafes, lovely restaurants, and a local morning market you somehow felt more connected to the city. Public transportation is easy and close. We were comfortable in this quiet haven. The pictures were accurate, the property very clean and nicely maintained. We will recommend this to anyone traveling to Rome and we hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Bear Jane and Bob, thanks so much for your review. You where such a beautifull guests! I hope to have the plaiser to host you again in the future. All the best

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment Near Villa Bourghese

    Great Apartment Near Villa Bourghese

    • Guest Di (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 09/09/11
    We are a Canadian family of 3 adults and found Nino's place suited our needs very well. The apartment was spotless, and well appointed. Nino is very kind, helpful and available. After our arrival, he walked us about the neighborhood to orient us to nearby transit stops and a supermarket. He has lots of tour information available at the apartment. We also found an excellent tour guide through Nino. The Villa Bourghese and park is only a 5- 7 minute walk. The apartment itself is well represented by the photographs. We would certainly stay here again. We arranged, through Nino, to be picked up at the airport with a direct transport to the apartment after our overnight transatlantic flight. I would do that again!

    Owner response: Dear Dianne and family, thanks a lot for your beautifull words; you where a really fantastic guests. I wish every guest wound be like you. All the best. Nino

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest Lena (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/12/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    Our family (my, hisband, my daughter and I) stayed at Nino's apartment for four days in July. We just started renting the apartments, so initially I was a little bit apprehensive of the whole idea. However, after this stay, I would definitely rent the apartment again and recommend Nino's place to any of my friends going to Rome. First, we arrived to Rome really late (after 10 pm). Nino was with us on the phone, explaining how to get to the apartment, then he met us on the street corner and walked us to the place. Next morning, he showed us around (supermarket, bus stops, places to buy bus tickets - all those practical things that really make your life easier). Nino walked us to Borgese Gardens, actually giving us the "insider tour" of the place . Later, he helped us to find the tours, and organized the transfer to the airport. Service wise - 5-star experience. Apartment itself - very clean, all functional; there is even free wi-fi and the computer with Internet access. For tall people, the low ceiling of the second level (master bedroom) could be an inconvenience. We're not tall, so it really didn't make a difference to us. The place is an ideal for a couple or for a family with up to two kids. We absoltely loved the area. It's quiet residential area; if you are inclined to walk, it will take about 30-40 minutes to go down to Spanish Steps or Fontana di Trevi . We love walking, so we walked to the centre in the morning, and took the bus back in the evening. It takes about 10-15 minutes on the bus to get from the city centre (Piazza Venecia) to this area. The Villa Borghese gardens is absolutely amazing place - free of the tourists , full of calm and beauty. It's hardly 10 minutes walk from the apartment; you'll enter the gardens right near Borghese Gallery. The Gallery visit is an absolute must. It's better to book the desired time slot (2 hours) at least a couple of days in advance. One day in advance it's also possible, but you might not get the time slot that fits your plans . On our last day, Nino asked whether there is anything that he could do to improve the apartment and the whole experience. You know what? I couldn't think about anything. It was as perfect as it gets.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Elena. You were really nice on writing such a beautifull reviews. I hope I deserved. Thanks again. All the best for you for your husbent and of coure your smart daugher.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful stay at Nino's House

    A wonderful stay at Nino's House

    • Guest Marty (Maui)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    Our family of four stayed at Nino's for 5 nights last June. He is a remarkably friendly, well informed, and attentive host who went out of his way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and fun. For example, when we showed up late and exhausted from a delayed ferry boat arrival and nightmare navigation through Rome thanks to an inadequate GPS, Nino gave us a premo parking spot he had found for his own car to facilitate our getting settled immediately. His house was clean, fully equipped and tastfully appointed. Each day, he spent as much time with us as we needed to help us set and find our destinations whether it was the Colleseum or the nearest tiramasu. He's also a great story teller with a very good command of English. His location is only a couple of blocks from the bus stop in a lovely, non touristy neighborhood, close to the gorgeous Villa Borghese park, one of the nicest sites we visited. I would happily recommend Nino's house to friends and family for a stay in Rome. Definitely a 5 star experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent and quiet apartment

    Excellent and quiet apartment

    • Guest andy (northampton, ma)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    The apartment is excellent, quiet and well located. Nino, the owner, is a wonderful, warm, and very helpful. My wife and I and two 13 year old children stayed for several nights, and couldn't be more pleased.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Andrew, you and your beautiful family are among the most nice and quite people that ever come to my apartment. I hope that in the future you'll come back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great, safe location

    Great, safe location

    • Guest Elaine (Alameda, California)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 11/30/11
    My 3 children and I stayed at Nino's house this past summer and we had a fantastic experience. I appreciated the cleanliness, safe location and quaint neighborhood. Via Po is one block away and has great bakeries and shops, and a bus stop to take you to most places. One must get a Lemoncocco drink at the famous stand, just down the street from Nino's! The kitchen is easy to use and a grocery store is nearby; I appreciated being able to make meals for my kids instead of having to go out. We will definitely return someday soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay

    Great place to stay

    • Guest Sally and Andrew (Melbourne )
    • Date of stay 06/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/05/11
    My husband and I stayed at Nino's house of one week in June and really enjoyed it. It is a bit out of town, 30 minute walk to centre e.g. Trevi fountain but we always took hours to walk by the time we shopped / had a coffee etc. Buses are easy and cheap if you don't want to walk. The area is quite wealthy but local so you get an idea of what it is like to live in Rome away from the tourists and tourist prices. It is a 5 minute walk to Borghese gardens. There are lots of great cafes and restaurants nearby. The apartment is almost new and very well appointed with a bit of flair. It faces into a courtyard but is quiet at night - we slept with the windows open and no trouble with noise. Nino is a great host & he lives next door. I would go back for sure.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks a lot. You were really nice guests. If one day you'll come back I'll be very happy. I wish all my guests we'll be like you. All the best.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice & Clean Apt - away from the heavy tourist areas

    Nice & Clean Apt - away from the heavy tourist areas

    • Guest Cody (El Cerrito, Ca / USA)
    • Date of stay 05/30/11
    • Review Submitted 05/17/12
    - First of all, like everyone else, Nino is a fantastic older gentleman. Old school Italian man, very funny, and great English skills. He literally lives next door to this Apt. rental and owns the place. He regularly stayed in email contact with us , even as late as the day of arrival when we missed our connection from Frankfurt (thanks United!). He arranged Taxi pickup for us at FCO, and given the change in flights, it still managed to be worked out between him and the driver. He gave us a neighborhood orientation upon our arrival and made many suggestions for food, et al. The Bus stop is only 2-3 blocks away which made at least the location for buses convenient, albeit often crowded. Downsides - pretty far away from main attractions; requires public transportation to get everywhere. Typical Italian shower (very tiny & cramped - god help you if you're "large") & the hot water had mind of its own, large local barking dog(s) & thin walls for sleeping (bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper), no English TV (for those down times), the music system annoyingly cuts out while playing, bedroom celing is LOW - watch your head. Upsides - Nino himself, apt. is a decent value, full kitchen (we didn't use much of it), clothes washer (no DRYER though - just a rack), close to bus & tram lines (use the free Rome APP for Transit arrivals), WiFi works great. Food: Several restaraunts in the immediate area, as well as 2 Cafes for coffeee in the morning. Nino is friends with Mario, who runs Lary's just around the corner. The food was very good, fresh and home made, albeit a bit pretentious for the expensiveness. For the same price (80 eu), we found Dame much much better, and got much more for the same money. Nino was unaware of this place, so maybe relatively new. But it is just 2 blocks away on Via Po street. Also, Pizza al Simeto ... right on Simeto street,just 3 blocks away. Old Italian restaraunt - inexpensive, great value and a lot of good food.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spectacular Stay in Rome

    Spectacular Stay in Rome

    • Guest Dan (Agency, MO, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
    My wife, 9 year old son and I stayed at Nino's house the last 2 weeks of May, 2011. Nino is the key to this fantastic find. Nino arranged for our transportation from the Fiumicino airport to the apartment. Upon arrival he allowed us to get settled in before taking us on a walking tour of the neighborhood to show us where to buy bus tickets, the nearest bus stop, tram stop, breakfast location, conveniences store, grocery store, entrance to Villa Borghese, etc. All of these things are within 7 minutes walk (1 to 5 blocks) for healthy people. Nino is a retired school teacher and a native of Rome, so he is loaded with information on the City. On our last day we were renting a car to head north ot Tuscanny. Nino took the bus with me to the Europcar rental location and road back with me to the apartment, then made sure we had good directions to my next location. I really can not overstate the hospitality shown to us by Nino. As for the apartment, it is next door to his residence so he is available, but not intrusive. The apartment is set up very well for relaxing, sleeping, cooking, etc. The pictures and description are accurate. The apartment has wireless internet access if you bring a laptop or there is a desktop machine in the loft sleeping area if you do not. To be clear, we walked a lot and road buses and trams. These are necessary no matter where you stay. NOTHING is close to EVERYTHING. Transportation in Rome is relatively simple with Nino's instruction. He will even walk you to the bus stop and tell you where to get on and off. I should stress the Nino is just one person and has a life of his own, so he isn't waiting at your door at all times for your every need. But from our trip it appears that he truly loves meeting people and introducing them to his native land as best he can. His hospitality is unparalleled from our perspective as frequent business and personal travelers.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Dan! May be I was a good owner. but for sure you and your family where really beautifull person. You left the apartment in perfect conditions. I hope all my guests could be as you. All the best and thanks for the beautiful words.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice place to stay in a great location

    Nice place to stay in a great location

    • Guest Jen C (Amsterdam)
    • Date of stay 05/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/17/11
    I traveled to Rome with my husband and young daughter (18 months). Nino was very hospitable and even provided a tour of the neighborhood when we arrived. The apartment is very clean and looks exactly as the pictures show- so good, functional space with all the amenities. I wouldn't recommend this to families with young children because of the stairs and the fact that the bedroom is just an open loft, but the area is a great place. 10 minute walk to the Borghese Gardens and buses one block away to go into town. Grocery store and restaurants all within 5 minutes as well. Nice shops are all around where the apartment is located. I highly recommend checking out the Villa Borghese and the views of Rome from the Borghese park. Fun trip. Thanks, Nino!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: thanks a lot for the nice wards, I was nice with you olso because you where a very nice and special guests.Hope to have you again as guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We were veer happy at Nino's House!

    We were veer happy at Nino's House!

    • Guest alex (Los Angeles )
    • Date of stay 05/08/11
    • Review Submitted 05/22/11
    Our stay was comfortable and the apartment was great! It's in a nice quiet part of town. We were happy to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and within walking distance to the Borguese Gardens and Via Veneto. Easy to take the bus to the center of the city. Nino was a wonderful host, he made sure we were well taken care of and took us on a walk to show us where the grocery store and buss stop was! It was quiet, clean and cute! We enjoyed a meal at the Hosteria Sardo across the street and we heard Larry's on the corner is very good but didn't have a chance to go. Next time!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comfort and intimacy in a big, touristy city

    Comfort and intimacy in a big, touristy city

    • Guest Mike Spike (Berlin)
    • Date of stay 05/04/11
    • Review Submitted 05/08/11
    This was an excellent choice for me and my husband during our brief stay in Rome. We felt at home from the very first moment, especially after being so well received by our friendly and gracious host Nino, even though our arrival was late in the evening. The apartment is tastfully furnished with many interesting paintings and beautiful dark wood floors, everything still looking new and well-kept. We appreciated being able to reach so many things on foot. I can warmly recommend Nino's house. We would go there again anytime!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Grazie infinite. Siete davvero meravogliosi. Ciò che ho maggiormente apprezzato in voi è la eleganza e allo stesso tempo la semplicità. La professionalità e l'amicizia. Il senso dello humor e la costante allegria che trasmettete a chiunque abbia la fortuna e il privilegio di starvi accanto. Vi auguro ogni bene possibile.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable apartment, helpful owner, convenient location (but ..)

    Comfortable apartment, helpful owner, convenient location (but ..)

    • Guest CarpeDiem (London)
    • Date of stay 04/24/11
    • Review Submitted 06/11/11
    The flat is very well kept and is ideally located to explore Rome. The flat has all the household items of comfort that one would need during a holiday - comfortable mattress, well lit (big windows which open into a courtyard, which are good source of day light) room, no street noise, tastefully decorated and convenient location in a safe neighbourhood. The owner is a very kind man who is always ready to help the guests with all their queries and requests. In particular, I was particularly pleased by the fact that the evening we arrived (around Nine pm on Easter Sunday), he offered to show us around in the neighbourhood, including the nearest bus stops, supermarket and café. He also presented us with a fine bottle of Italian wine the next morning. There is however one (minor but still worth mentioning) issue. As you can see in the picture, the flat is on two levels, the bedroom level (above) has a low roof, which is not a problem if your height is below Five feet Ten inches, but anyone taller than that must exercise caution while standing upright or moving around in the bedroom. I am about Six feet tall so I had to a bit cautious in the bedroom. However, I wouldn't dismiss this property because of this issue, but it would be good if the owner mentioned this on the website. Apart from this, the apartment is almost flawless and we had a very pleasant stay. I would heartily recommend this apartment to all (except for those who are exceptionally vertically endowed).

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Shailandra. Thank you for your nice words, If and when you'll decide to come back I'll be very happy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Convenient Apartment with an Accommodating Owner

    Comfortable and Convenient Apartment with an Accommodating Owner

    • Guest Tom & Rose (Las Vegas)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/08/11
    My wife and I stayed in Nino’s apartment for eight days during April 2011. We arranged our transportation from Fiumicino Airport through Nino and he was at the door to meet us when we arrived and he helped us in with our baggage. Nino is a very good host and speaks excellent english. He immediately took us on a walking tour of the neighborhood showing us the supermarkets, bus stops and restaurants etc., and explained where to buy bus tickets and metro tickets and how the systems operate. We bought one-week combination bus/metro tickets which took care of all of our travel needs in Rome. Most of our activities during the week were at the Vatican or in central Rome and we had no problem traveling to these areas. We were able to walk to the Villa Borghese Museum and around the grounds with no need for additional transportation. Be aware that the Villa Borghese Museum only allows 360 visitors every two hours when everyone inside must exit. The apartment was very clean and functional and contained all of the amenities as described. The kitchen was properly outfitted and served us well. We were able to prepare and eat most of our meals in the apartment and/or prepare snacks that we could eat while touring Rome. The large double bed is very comfortable and is located in a loft above the kitchen and bathroom. Also, a Windows computer is located in the loft with a wireless router. I brought my own laptop so he gave us the password and we were immediately online. After our stay in Rome we boarded a ship in Civitavecchia for a cruise. Civitavecchia is located about 50 km north of Rome---about a one hour drive. Since we had not made arrangements for this leg of our trip, Nino offered to drive us there in his own personal car for a very reasonable fee. We took him up on his offer and he dropped us off at the cruise line's shuttle pickup stop which was very convenient and made our baggage handling problems very simple. All in all, it was a very delightful stay in a very comfortable apartment with a very accommodating host. We would recommend Nino’s apartment to anyone looking for convenient accommodations in Rome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I was very sourprised on reading your beautiful words about my apartment. You are really nice person, but more then this you are among the best guest I ever had. You know, the maps and tourist information you left, they where very helpfull for the guest that came after you. Thanks for coming. All the best for you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very comfortable flat

    Very comfortable flat

    • Guest Serenia (Saint-Peterburg (Russia))
    • Date of stay 04/08/11
    • Review Submitted 04/17/11
    Very comfortable and nice flat. Very hospitable and helpful owner. The flat is close to sightseeing places, supermarket and cafes. There are all the ne?essary equipment in the flat. Book it prestissimo! It is a perfect offer!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next