Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The house has great privacy, with no neighbors (except monkeys) on three sides.

Casa Montezuma: Spectacular Almond-Wood House with Canopy View Deck [#338482] | View Property

Montezuma
Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 6)
From $110/nt - $750/wk - $2000/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Casa Montezuma is a great place to stay

    Casa Montezuma is a great place to stay

    • Guest Cathy from California (San Francisco CA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Montezuma. The house itself was clean, well maintained and comfortable, and the kitchen had all the things you need to cook if you don't feel like going to town for a meal. The house is a beautiful wooden building surrounded by trees full of birds and monkeys. While sitting on the patio we also saw agoutis, bats,and raccoons. A cool breeze blew from the ocean, making morning and evening temperatures comfortable. And speaking of the beach, Playa de Los Cedros beach is a short walk away. I saw herons and pelicans perching on the rocks there. The friendly owners, Donna and Tito lived close by and were able to answer all of our questions. They often checked in with us to make sure we were comfortable, but were never intrusive. I would recommend Casa Montezuma to anyone. It is particularly well- suited to families and groups of friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest Richard31 (Superior, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 05/25/13
    If you're looking for a resort with air conditioned rooms this is not the place for you. We loved the open air spaces. It felt like a lovely wood tree house in the jungle with all of the necessities of home. Tito and Donna were helpful with all arrangements and super friendly (while also being respectful of our privacy). My kids commented on it being the best VRBO we've stayed at, and we've stayed at quite a few over the years. We got a thunderstorm pretty much every night, which had an extra spectacular effect in the open air house. Overall a great week there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful oasis

    Beautiful oasis

    • Guest lisafdz (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/09/13
    My sister and I stayed here for 4 nights. After a very dusty, dry drive, we arrived and felt as if we had entered an oasis. The grounds are so beautiful, with flowering trees and plants everywhere. The house is amazing,llwith lots of open air space. Very spacious, 3 floors, several bathrooms and 3 bedrooms. All with wonderful views. The kitchen is fully stocked with anything you need to prepare your meals. The town has 2 great markets to stock up with food. I am gluten intolerant and was able to find plenty, even rice pastas! Also, everywhere you look, there is a little personal touch that makes you smile. While we were there, we were visited by white faced monkees on several occasions, the coatamundi and the agoudi walk around the yard, and the parrots fly through, amongst so many others. You hear the howler monkees in the distance, and if you are lucky, they will come near and you can spot them also. It was really very enchanting. You can walk to the end of the road and hit the ocean and watch the surfers. Donna was so accomadating. She gave us a lift into town a couple of times, gave us bikes to use and was a wealth of information. We were able to walk to or from town, it is about a 1/2 hour walk. Great food in Montezuma, try the mint ice tea drink at the sushi place! The town is very friendly also, with a great beach and hiking areas. There is a river nearby that we spotted the pink spoonbill on several occasions. We fell in love with that place and with Donna, and feel as if we have made a new lifelong friend. I am counting down until I can return, and to definitely make this part of our stay again in Costa Rica. Thank you Donna.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tropical Dream Come True!

    Tropical Dream Come True!

    • Guest Jennifer T.
    • Date of stay 12/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/11/13
    Imagine yourself living in a beautiful wooden tree-like house, surrounded by lush jungle with the sounds of birds and howler monkeys… and all the privacy and peace you want for an incredible vacation adventure! And yet, you are also very close to a fantastic beach as well as the road with a bus system for getting to close by towns for re-supply and/or dinners out. This place is beyond words because you need the sounds, views, jungle feel and appearance of animals to appreciate the real deal, though the photos do give you an accurate idea. Truly – the actual experience is so much more sensory rich and we plan to return soon! We stayed here for two weeks during our winter break. It was everything a romantic vacation could be… bird and monkey watching in the mornings with coffee at the upstairs table. We walked up the road for a morning workout and took in the gorgeous views of the coastline. Beach time during the day and then back to the spacious yard and house for afternoon cocktails and dinner prep with fresh fish we bought at the local market. We occasionally went out to dinner with the ease of a bus or cab pick up. Donna was an absolute treasure in every way for information, guidance and logistics! Although we were only two people, this house could easily hold three couples or a large family. The unique arrangement of the home with multiple bathrooms, deck space and the yard allows for privacy and room to hang out. Walking down the side road to Los Cedros beach is easy, biking to Cabuya is a fun trip and access to Montezuma via bus is just the right distance for dinner out but then coming back to your own very special Costa Rican paradise at Casa Montezuma. We were thrilled with our time at Casa Montezuma and give it a 5 star rating in every way! We won’t be able to get to Costa Rica this winter but our plans are to be back at Casa Montezuma for winter break 2014/15!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • casa montezuma

    casa montezuma

    • Guest mtparis (North Plains, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/11/12
    • Review Submitted 12/23/12
    This is a beautiful house in a gorgeous setting, with unexcelled service. The house is solidly built with fine detailing, especially the wood materials. It is clearly an architect designed house. There are 2 "living rooms," which are open terraces on the first and second floors. There is an observation station on the 3rd floor. All of these spaces bring the immediate tropical landscaping and the just removed jungle right to you. It's beautiful and it's peaceful. You spend much of your time awaiting the animal visitors, when you aren't luxuriating in the vegetation. We never failed to get excited about the howler monkey sound show. The coatimundi came onto our terrace every morning. The agouti were wandering about off and on all day. The big treat was the capuchin monkeys, and their arrival was always heralded by some thrashing of jungle branches. The birds were exotic to us. The flowers a special treat. It is peaceful back from the beach and road, but 3-4 minutes walk to the beach. You are away from the noise and kid/backpacking scene of Montezuma and other tourist towns. Cabuya is a small town with good food and easy access to that day's fish from the fishermen who caught them. Donna added a great deal to our stay. She is an American transplant and she and her husband Tito know everyone and everything about them. They are interesting and intelligent people, and Donna helped us in little and bigger things. She made all the arrangements for a car rental when I asked, down to details of delivery, costs, timing; and this had nothing to do with our house rental. We were left to our privacy and quiet, but she and Tito live on the property, and she was readily available for requests and questions. She even provided us with a loaner cell phone. There were no disappointments here. We want to return. We want to stay longer, maybe very much longer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pura vida means pure life!

    Pura vida means pure life!

    • Guest Ryan Barth (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 11/09/12
    We arrived at Casa Montezuma and were instantly surrounded by what the Ticos call Pura Vida. It means PURE LIFE and it was just that. The house is nothing short of amazing, with beautiful and charming architecture, location and landscape... but it's the surrounding life that makes you feel at home (Heaven on Mother Earth) We were able to cook and barbecue, and walk to the beach in the moonlight. We saw Monkeys, Humming Birds and Agoutis everyday. It was like staying in a national park... as every day we say new animals. If you are visiting Costa Rica to see National Parks, you should stay here. We saw more wildlife from our observation deck over morning coffee than we did in any of the parks we visited. We had the most authentic experience from a local perspective. Much better than a hotel. We rode the on premise bikes to get fresh caught fish, delicious bread, pastries and coffee, and to the national park. Aside from all of this things that we did or saw on our honeymoon, we felt an overall sense of peace that was unlike anywhere else we stayed during our month in Costa Rica. The property is safe, serene, and perfectly designed for the tropical climate (plus it's in a blue zone where people typically live to be over 100.... likely due to the purest and best tasting tap water ever!) It is close enough to wonderful adventures like Tortuga Island, but away from the hustle and noise of hotel/hostel living. Casa Montezuma was hands down our favorite place we stayed during our month long honeymoon in Costa Rica. We had the best time even without a car..! (And we only used one of the three gorgeous bedrooms) We are looking forward to our next visit as soon as possible. Our only word of advice... Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Found.

    Paradise Found.

    • Guest Damian (Bayonne, NJ)
    • Date of stay 04/12/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    Our group arrived by two separate methods on 4/12, and as soon as we entered the gate we knew this was the right place to stay. The grounds are well manicured without taking away the natural feeling of the jungle around. The property is very welcoming and you instantly feel like you're at home. The home is beautifully constructed with ample space for six with a great layout. Despite no A/C the rooms remained cool and comfortable for sleeping, and visitors of the insect type were surprisingly minimal. The walk from the home to the beach is a non issue and just created new opportunities for seeing wildlife and experiencing the area. I'd suggest visiting the beach at low tide to scope out where the rocks are and to see where the good sand clearings are, once you figure out where to swim it's wonderful and exceptionally beautiful. We consistently used the bus to and from town and taxis are easily available after the bus stops running. Montezuma town center has a positive vibe and a charm that I haven't experienced anywhere else, plenty of shops, access to tours and places to eat as well as two supermarkets and the occasional farmers market make it easy to prepare meals at the house. The provided bikes were very handy for our fish buying excursion and exploring in general. The owners were extremely helpful from first contact about the property to arranging our taxi back the the airport. They are never intrusive but always available. I feel fortunate that we were able to spend our vacation in such a beautiful home, but the icing on the cake was the wonderful service and care shown by it's owners. I have already recommended it as a vacation destination to friends and family, and hope to return as soon as possible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This property provides the most unique experience for anyone who loves wildlife and the outdoors!

    This property provides the most unique experience for anyone who loves wildlife and the outdoors!

    • Guest Marcia E.
    • Date of stay 03/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    We saw more wildlife (howlers and white-faced monkeys, agouti, coatimundi, iguana) here than all the other locations we visited in Costa Rica together (6)! It’s also a birder's paradise! Anyone wanting more of a nature experience will love this house. It’s well-equipped and an architectural oddity making the stay even more interesting. The owners, Donna and Tito, are wonderful hosts. They know the area well, from secret beaches to buying fresh fish! The location is great—just a short walk across the road to the ocean and just 3 km outside of town. We had a wonderful, unforgettable experience in Montezuma!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Jungle/Beach Experience

    Fabulous Jungle/Beach Experience

    • Guest Barry O. (Winnipeg)
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    We spent four weeks beginning mid-January 2012 in Casa Montezuma. Donna and Tito were excellent hosts; helpful in getting us to their location, generous in sharing their knowledge of the area wildlife and in accessing resources needed to make our stay memorable. The house is fabulous; well designed, constructed mainly of lovely wood and well maintained. The kitchen is fully stocked with appliances and cooking utensils. The property is located far enough from the beach and main road to be peaceful and completely private yet close enough to make the five minute walk to the magnificent beach or to the bus stop for travel to the nearby towns of Montezuma or Cabuya easy (10 minute $1.50 ride). It is also beautifully landscaped with tropical vegetation and abutting natural jungle affords plenty of amazing bird and animal viewing from your doorstep. We highly recommend this lovely property for a wonderful tropical experience/ vacation amid lush grounds and bountiful jungle. Casa Montezuma has the peacefulness of a rural setting with easy access to shops, restaurants and markets of the nearby towns. And the ocean. So fun.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Fantastic

    Casa Fantastic

    • Guest Ivy Z. (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 02/03/12
    I visited Casa Montezuma with my significant other during the month of January and had an amazing time. The house is so beautiful with a great kitchen and beautiful outdoor space. You can just sit on the porch for hours and be entertained by the many animal neighbors: monkeys, guinea pigs, squirrels, raccoons, butterflies, hummingbirds, blue jays, iguanas. The owners of the house are amazing people and are able to help you with anything that you could ever need, plus they have an adorable pig, a shy turtle, and a menagerie of friendly dogs and cats that freely roam the property. The house is less than a 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach and twenty minute walk to a river that is great for swimming and just hanging out and drinking a beer. The town of Cabuya is an easy 30 minute walk away and has great food at local establishments. The party town of Montezuma is a slightly more difficult walk 30 minutes in the other direction and is tons of fun with amazing beaches. Casa Montezuma will always be very special to me as my fiancé proposed to me right on the beach by the house at night. There were crabs everywhere and the moon was so bright and the waves were so calm that night. It felt like the most romantic place in the world. When we walked back to the house, Donna and Tito’s pig Chuleta was the first person that I told. When we got back to the house, our friends made us a feast with all the appliances in the kitchen and wonderful fresh fish from Cabuya. Casa Montezuma will always have a special place in my heart and I hope that you go there and have a special time too.

    Owner response: We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! We feel that your vacation is very important, and we make every effort to make sure your getaway is all you hope for. We are always glad that our guests are able to see so much wildlife at the house. Some guests have told us they saw more animals here than at the parks! This reviewer states that she saw wild guinea pigs... those cute animals are actually called agoutis. They do resemble a giant guinea pig, and are in fact related.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Place to Stay in the Montezuma Area

    Best Place to Stay in the Montezuma Area

    • Guest Betny T. (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/12
    This house is simply spectacular. I spent a month in the Montezuma area with various traveling companions—both family and friends—and researched different housing possibilities extensively before I left. After getting to know the area and staying in three different places during my stay, this is the house I would come back to again and again. The architecture is stunning, both aesthetically and functionally. It has the perfect mix of indoors and outdoors, private space and communal space, and high and low sites for watching animals. It has a huge, well-stocked kitchen, where five of us regularly (and comfortably) cooked elaborate dinners. And the dark hardwood floors gleam. Donna and Tito are similarly amazing. One of my friends remarked that they were like a private concierge service. That was certainly true—they booked multiple shuttles for us, had lots of handy tips about Montezuma and Cabuya, and fixed anything we managed to mess up almost instantaneously. But they were also two of the friendliest and most interesting people I met during my travels. They are extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife that regularly frequents the property and would call us over if something particularly interesting was wandering through. They have a pig they have trained to sit (“chuleta, sientate!”) and turn around in a circle (“chuleta, circulo!”). They regularly asked if we wanted them to pick up anything for us when they were headed into town, and occasionally brought us unsolicited freshly baked bread (yum). And they manage to do all this while giving their guests near complete privacy. The house is surrounded by jungle on three-and-a-half sides, so while Donna and Tito are right near by, the house feels nicely secluded. And the location cannot be beat if your group is active or is renting a car. We immensely enjoyed our walks both to Cabuya and Montezuma (although we’d often get picked up by cars along the way), which are both about two miles away along a (usually) shady road. Playa Cedros is less than five minutes away—from the time you are grabbing your towel to the time you are laying on the beach—and there are rivers we loved swimming in twenty minutes down the road in either direction. We rented a car for part of out trip, but honestly preferred to be without one. Taxis from Montezuma to the gate were consistently $10 or less. Choosing this house was definitely the best decision I made in my Costa Rica planning. Thank you Donna and Tito!

    Owner response: We strive to make Casa Montezuma the best it can be- and it feels great to hear that our guests have enjoyed the house!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Warm hospitality, beauty & comfort

    Warm hospitality, beauty & comfort

    • Guest Mort (Berkeley ,Ca)
    • Date of stay 09/27/11
    • Review Submitted 10/28/11
    Last month, my family and I traveled to Costa Rica for the first time. We discovered Casa Montezuma on line and were immediately attracted by the beauty of the almond wood structure that is so well integrated into the tropical flora all around. I made contract with Donna, who, from our first conversation was very well informed and helpful. Not only did she answer my practical questions, (what to bring etc.)but also arranged for a private shuttle van from Alejuela, near the San Jose airport, to her door. The driver was from the Montezuma area, bi-lingual and very knowledgeable. The five hour drive, including the ferry ride across the Gulf of Nicoya, was delightful. When we arrived at Casa Montezuma. Donna warmly greeted and oriented us toward our vacation home. The beauty of Casa Montezuma, in its natural setting, exceeded our expectations. The rooms, the kitchen, the patios and viewing decks are designed for comfort. The attention to detail was impressive, to say the least. We met Donna's husband, Tito, who offered the mountain bikes that are available for guests and useful information regarding beaches, and the Montezuma water fall near by. They both are very knowledgeable about, and caring for the plants and animals of the region and are happy to share their nature wisdom with guests Donna and Tito's home is located a few steps down the path and they were always available to answer to assist us in any way. Our first trip to Costa Rica and Montezuma was wonderful, largely, because ot he beauty, comfort and warm hospitality we enjoyed at Casa Montezuma. Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for taking the time to write such a warm and lovely review! It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to beautiful Costa Rica.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing in every way!!

    Amazing in every way!!

    • Guest Ilana (Glen Burnie, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 09/05/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks on our honeymoon and we are already planning our next trip back! The house and property is beautiful and comfortable and the owners are accomodating and helpful. It is close to the beach, waterfalls, local shopping and restaurants and awesome hiking. We saw so much (friendly) wildlife and the locals were all super friendly and helpful too. I cannot say enough about our entire experience and what a terrific, relaxing time we had.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are looking forward to seeing you again! SO glad to hear that our house helped make your honeymoon trip special and memorable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Luxury Camping!

    Luxury Camping!

    • Guest Beth (Santa Cruz, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/11
    • Review Submitted 07/27/11
    This house is really unique and cool, bringing nature to your doorstep. While there, we fed capuchin monkeys (with Donna's assistance) right off the deck, had a little rodent buddy who visited the deck every morning, bats, butterflies, lots of crazy insects to observe, and many lizards/geckos. Donna even let my kids pet her adorable outdoor tortoise. So if nature is your thing this will be a dream for you. Donna and her husband Tito were incredibly kind, flexible, and SO helpful in planning our trip, communication was fabulous. Things to consider when renting the place: Pros: Really unique experience House has great architecture and simple, rustic beauty so close to nature Wonderful and kind hosts available for any questions at all times Nice short walk to beach (with large waves, not really for swimming) Cons Not the best house for small children due to three levels of steep stairs. Kids 5-6 years and up should be fine. 10 minute drive into town in very BUMPY and jolting (although I was 6 months pregnant at the time! ) Tide at beach can be intense, we were there during big storm so maybe it was worse for us. You must be ok with lots of insects sharing your space :) If you are an adventurous type you will really dig this spot. The town of Montezuma had some cool restaurants and shops, albeit on the pricier side. Check out the neighboring town Carillo for a more "authentic: costa rican experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! We are always striving to improve our property, and your feedback gives us the opportunity to do that. Casa Montezuma is located in a rare and unique ecosystem, and we enjoy lots of wildlife on the grounds- glad you got the chance to see some of our fauna. We hope you will visit us again! Correction: Just to avoid confusion, the name of our neighboring town is Cabuya, not Carillo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Tropical garden oasis.

    Tropical garden oasis.

    • Guest Fruitygal (Winnipeg)
    • Date of stay 01/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/18/11
    Though Donna and Tito's web site goes into some detail about this rental house, it in no way can speak to the beauty and tranquility of both the house and the location. It was just marvelous. The bedrooms are spacious and well ventilated with screened windows on 2 or 3 walls. Powerful fans keep you plenty cool at night. The kitchen is well stocked with everything that you need to make any meal imaginable, and the friendly house gekos keep the mosquitoes down. The house itself is actually 2, 2 story buildings joined by covered decks. The whole structure is topped with a 3rd story observation deck. Why would you need an observation deck you ask? When the hooting howler monkeys wake you up in the morning, trust us, you will want to rush up to the observation deck with your camera and coffee. In our 3 weeks at the house we had families of both howler monkeys and white faced monkeys passing by the house every second day. Rare bell birds in the surrounding trees making their unmistakable calls, and toucans looking for ripe bananas amongst the nearby plantation. Hummingbirds fought over the feeder that hung near the ground level deck, and agoutis made daily visits as well. We saw bats, armadillos, lots of lizzards and pizotes (Coati Mundis). If you really and truly want to experience Costa Rican nature and tranquility, this is the place for you. Just a short 300meter walk down the road to the beach to swim, fish or to watch the brown pelicans diving into the water for sardines. The house is spotless, well kept, charming and so wonderfully unique. No, it doesn't have a pool or an ocean view, but it and the gardens have so much charm and personality we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Located halfway between Cabuya and Montezuma, you can grab one of the house bikes to cycle to the Cabuya bakery in the morning to grab a fresh hot baguette, or to the fisherman's house to get some snapper. The local bus (which costs 300 colones) travels from Cabuya to Montezuma and back again about 5 times per day. I walked to Montezuma on numerous occasions before we rented a car, and I was picked up by friendly drivers several times along the way. The house is beautiful, the gardens impossibly Costa Rican and your hosts Donna and Tito are an interesting, intelligent, caring couple who we enjoyed inviting over for supper. They really made our stay so incredible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: One of the best parts of our rental business is having the chance to meet interesting people from all over the world. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Casa Montezuma! It was a delight to meet you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Magical place

    A Magical place

    • Guest Mike (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 10/26/10
    • Review Submitted 11/17/11
    This two-storey home is magical throughout the entire day – starting with early morning coffee on either the lower or upper patio, watching the rising sun shafting through the trees and playing on the riot of multi-colored foliage of the shrubs and flowers; watching the parade of wild-life, like coatamundis, agoutis and raccoons; humming birds, doves, parrots, trogons and a host of other birds; to the almost deserted surf and fishing beaches barely 5 minutes walk away; and through to the tropical night, glittering with stars that you may never have seen elsewhere, because here there is no streetlight pollution to interfere with this stunning view of the universe. Then drift off to sleep with the soothing ripple of the nearby stream and the distant surf for a background. Every window provides a colorful view of tropical plant life; the forest backs right on to the garden, providing views of howler and whiteface (Capuchin) monkeys going about their business in the branches, and occasionally dropping down to ground level. The second floor bedrooms, all equipped with fans, are cool and comfortable and their windows and the upstairs patio look out over luxuriant foliage and several coconut palms where birds, red squirrels, monkeys and coatamundis climb and feed. Every window and door was screened and designed with maximum ventilation in mind. The ocean breezes helped to cool the house night and day and it was a pleasant surprise to find that there were hardly any bugs! The house is situated halfway between Montezuma, a small tourist center with a wealth of bars, restaurants and things to do, and Cabuya, a sleepy fishing village, with two surprisingly good restaurants (and bakery), plus several places to purchase fish freshly taken from the ocean that day. Both villages are within easy walking distance (about 1.5 miles), with much interesting scenery on the way. Donna and Tito, the owners and your hosts, provide a couple of bicycles and are very generous with their time and copious information about the area. The kitchen is very well-appointed and although Donna and Tito live only a short distance away, the visitor enjoys complete privacy and peace in this tranquil and interesting haven. I give it a 10!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]