Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room with fireplace

Charming and Historic Studio in the Heart of Rue Mouffetard [#338539] | View Property

Paris Arrondissement 5
Studio, + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
€150/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Perfect Location, Fabulous Stay!

    Perfect Location, Fabulous Stay!

    • Guest MauiMarnie (Maui, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 05/26/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our two-week stay in cozy, comfortable Studio Descartes. Lively area at night, but the apartment is dreamily quiet. We loved hanging at Café Delmas every night for their happy hour, watching the world wander through Place de la Contrescarpe. Perfect historic, but "local" location. We could disappear into real Parisian life, but still be within walking distance to tourist central, when the spirit moved us. We had the pleasure of meeting the hospitable Tea and Olivier. The fold-out bed was perfect for us. Our friends came to stay for a few nights and enjoyed sleeping in the loft. Kitchen is well-equipped and washer/dryer does the trick. The free wi-fi and free land-line long distance were major plusses for us! Steps are formidable in this authentic "old Paris" style building, so pack lightly and prepare for an amazing experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Latin Quarter in Paris

    Wonderful Latin Quarter in Paris

    • Guest Sal (Australia)
    • Date of stay 11/29/12
    • Review Submitted 12/09/12
    My daughter, granddaughter and I recently stayed in a 4th etage apartment in the Latin Quarter of Paris, within 10 minutes walk (run in my daughter's case) of Notre Dame. Not only was the area full of wonderful, reasonably priced restaurants, but our street also contained wonderful shops for cheese, meat, fish, bakery and chocolate; all the food groups really! The owners of our apartment really went out of their way to make our trip easy and stress-free and it was wonderfully appointed for cooking from the local markets. It really was the trip of a lifetime, and I can't thank Tea and Olivier enough for allowing us to use their apartment. It would be almost impossible not to come back to the same place for a future stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Blend of Old and New

    A Perfect Blend of Old and New

    • Guest Molly and Dave (Tampa, FL )
    • Date of stay 10/23/12
    • Review Submitted 11/12/12
    For us, Studio Descartes was the perfect blend of Old Paris and up-to-date conveniences. The winding staircase has such wonderful character with a mix of old wood, stone, and brick. The building and neighborhood are rich in history, yet inside the studio, we found everything just as described and well-maintained: newly renovated lighting and plumbing,plus cable and internet, and, as Tea says, anything you could possibly need in the kitchen. We loved being able to step outside the building and into the energy of the Latin Quarter with its cafes, bakeries, shops, and students. And we loved coming "home" and thinking about Ernest Hemingway living and writing just across the street during the 1920s, in a building that now houses La Maison Verlaine, a cafe we highly recommend. Tea and Olivier provided a very detailed and thorough Welcome Manual which we really appreciated and used. We followed several of their suggestions and enjoyed them, including the Batobus, Kayser Bakeries,Cafe de la Nouvelle Mairie, and the local market. We were most fortunate to meet both Tea and Olivier and wish we could keep them as neighbors - so helpful and kind! Our Paris trip was everything we had hoped for, and we highly recommend Studio Descartes to you. Bon Voyage!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Studio Descartes for one week

    Studio Descartes for one week

    • Guest Fifi (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 01/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    This tiny apartment is perfect: You have to have strong legs because it's up four flights of small winding stairs, but what a great location!! Best food in Paris is right on your street, pubs and sandwich shope that are open late, a friendly atmosphere from everyone, and decent prices. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and you are in the middle of everything!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This is the place to stay!!!

    This is the place to stay!!!

    • Guest Joel (Australia)
    • Date of stay 12/11/11
    • Review Submitted 12/25/11
    This apartment was everything we could have wanted for our stay in Paris. The location was amazing and when we return we will definitely look to stay here again. The street is in the best location and was so beautiful leading up to Christmas.It was our first trip to Paris and it was made easy by Tea, Olivier and Nicole who are just so friendly and willing to make your stay as good as it can be. Thank you so much guys!!!! We absolutely loved the apartment and can't wait to be in touch with you again for our next stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visit to Paris November 2011

    Visit to Paris November 2011

    • Guest rocky (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/29/12
    The studio apartment is in the heart of the Latin Quarter. It sits on a charming street filled with restaraunts and shops. The apartment is at the top of a narrow , windy staircase. It is very safe since access is not so easy. Very charming. It would be a difficult access for those with large suitcases or health issues. The studio is small but well equipped. The bed is a pullout type - not bad but not super either. We did not sleep in the "loft" which would be ok for children (not too young because of the ladder access). The apartment is suitable for a couple. Four adults would be a stretch. It is very quiet. Kitchen is fine and meal preparation can be done without fuss. The bathroom is tight, suitable for only one person at a time. The studio served us well. It is close to metro stations and an easy walk (10 minutes) to the metro line which goes to the airport. Notre Dame and area is again a short walk (10 minutes). There is a lovely open air market which operates 3 or 4 mornings during the week which is only 6minutes away (Rue Monge at the subway station park). You are situated close to the Pantheon and midway between 2 large parks (Luxembourg and the Botanical Gardes -Jardine des Plantes). The location worked for us and was ideal for our first extended trip to Paris. Tea was very easy to deal with. There was a person at the apartment when we arrived which was great as I had difficulty to figure out exactly where in the building to go (used my cell phone to call) .

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Super Bon

    Super Bon

    • Guest Tim (Phoenix)
    • Date of stay 10/22/11
    • Review Submitted 11/06/11
    We had a great time at Studio Descartes. Tea and Nicole were very easy to work with. My wife speaks French, but Tea seems to be able to speak all languages so communication was easy and meeting Nicole and getting in and out of the studio could not have been easier. The neighborhood is very lively and we enjoyed The Mouff and the Latin Quarter. The Place Monge market is fantastic and a very short walk. There are great wine, cheese, bread, restaurants, and markets right below the studio on Rue Mouffetard. It is a short walk to the Eric Kayser Boulangerie which is fantastic. We enjoyed morning coffee at Le Petit Cardinal which is at the closest metro station to the studio (Cardinal Lemoine). The metro stops at Place Monge and Cardinal Lemoine are both very close to the studio and the closest RER stop is walkable at the Luxembourg Gardens. We had a great time in Paris and were out most of the day seeing the sights but we really enjoyed coming back to the cozy studio after a long day. Everything in the studio is in working order and the kitchen is fully functional. We used the washing machine for clothes and the shower has good pressure with lots of hot water. The wifi works well, phone is free for international landlines, tv has many channels. Some close recommendations: We loved Dans Les Landes restaurant at the bottom of Mouffetard. Enjoyed Le Bombardier British pub (very close) and across from the Midnight in Paris steps. Les Arènes de Lutèce is a nice place for a picnic lunch as well as Luxembourg Gardens. We would love to stay at Studio Descarts again and we miss Paris already.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Birthday trip to Paris

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Birthday trip to Paris

    • Guest Karyn and Julie
    • Date of stay 10/10/11
    • Review Submitted 12/01/11
    Thank you again for hosting us at your beautiful little apartment. It is exquisite and absolutely in the best street in Paris by our reckoning!!... We love this location and can see why you wanted to be positioned here. We have had the best time and are sad to leave, but the Indian summer has left us and I am probably ready to get back home for the Aussie spring now!! Again we can't thank you enough for helping make our anniversary and birthday that much more special by staying in your cosy home rather than a sterile hotel!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The apartment was perfect, loved the neighbourhood

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The apartment was perfect, loved the neighbourhood

    • Guest Deborah
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    Dear Tea, Thank you so very much for sharing Studio Descartes with us. Our trip to Paris was fabulous and the apartment was perfect. We absolutely loved the neighborhood and Nicole was delightful. All the best and we hope to visit again! Deborah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect romantic Paris hideaway

    A perfect romantic Paris hideaway

    • Guest guy (byron bay australia)
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    This cozy studio apartment was amazing. Being in the heart of the nice part of the Latin quarter it was conveniently located to see all the sites of Paris. It was situated at the back of the building so was very quiet at all times and I had a great night sleep every night. But once you opened the the door to the building and stepped outside you were in a lively Parisian scene especially at night as there were really cool bars right across the street, and lots of decent, inexpensive restaurants all around. Just walking down the main street was a so much fun with hundreds of people partying on the street. It was very magical. I shopped for fresh veggies and fruits at the outdoor market down at the end of Rue Mouffetard, bought cheese at the fromagerie, fresh bread at the bakery, and cooked lots of meals in the well equipped kitchen. I highly recommend the Velib bike system where you rent a bike from kiosk station (there were two within 100 metres of the apt.) and drive it to your destination (there are designated bike lanes all through Paris) and park it at one of several hundred other stations situated all over the city. If you take it for less than 30 minutes it was free. Its a great way to see Paris, and so much more fun than taking the metro everywhere, and you get lots of exercise. I think Studio Descartes has got to be the cutest place in the best neighborhood to stay in Paris.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ein sehr uriges und charmantes Fleckchen echtes Frankreich!

    Ein sehr uriges und charmantes Fleckchen echtes Frankreich!

    • Guest Nanni (Offenburg Germany Black Forest)
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/15/12
    Nach bereits vielen Besuchen in Paris haben wir endlich einen charmanten Ort abseits des Massentourismus gefunden. Studio Descartes ist ein lauschiges Plätzchen und man fühlt sich bereits beim Betreten des Hauses in die Zeit der französischen Revolution zurück versetzt! Dann öffnet man die Eingangstür und betritt das wirklich sehr schöne und außergewöhnlich geschmackvoll und stilecht renovierte Studio! Wer Paris kennt weiß das besonders zu schätzen - denn viele Wohnungen oder Hotels in der französischen Metropole laden alles andere als zum Verweilen ein! Im Quartier findet man unzählige - vor allem von Einheimischen besuchte - Restaurants und Bars, ohne Bustouristen mit Kameras! Will man mehr Trubel und Sightseeing - kein Problem - in 10 bis15 Minuten zu Fuß ist man am Panthéon vorbei am Bvd Saint Michel Wir haben uns rundum wohlgefühlt und kommen auf jeden Fall wieder! Susanne et Mike

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Geborgenheit und Altstadt-Charme

    Geborgenheit und Altstadt-Charme

    • Guest Christiane (Hamburg)
    • Date of stay 07/04/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    Auch wir waren überaus begeistert sowohl von dem kleinen Appartment als auch von der Lage. Mit wenigen stilvollen Griffen wurde hier ein Kleinod geschaffen mit geschmackvoller und funktionaler Einrichtung und vielen liebevollen Details, die Gemütlichkeit vermitteln. Es war einfach zu schön, mitten im Herzen des historischen Paris auf die Straße zu fallen mit kleinen Cafés und Spezialitätengeschäften vor der Haustür und einigen der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigekeiten der Stadt nur ein paar Straßen weiter. Wir werden garantiert wiederkommen! Vielen Dank für alles.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We'll always have Paris

    We'll always have Paris

    • Guest WarrenE (Manitou Springs, CO, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/04/11
    It was about 11 p.m. We hadn't quite settled in for the night. My wife and I were just enjoying a bottle of wine when we heard a live Bach concerto drifting up from a nearby building. "Man, they're good!" I said and we went out looking for the music. We couldn't get to it, because, apparently, the musicians were in nearby dorms. So we just opened the window of the studio and enjoyed the rest. One of many magical moments at the apartment, where I stayed with my wife and 14-year-old son. This stylish, compact apartment made our dreams come true. We'd always wanted to go to Paris, and this loft made it possible, and we didn't have to sacrifice quality for thrift. This was both, and right in the heart of the lively Latin Quarter. Nicole was terrifically helpful, and we found ourselves seduced by the romance of Paris.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Warren
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 07/06/11
    We had a fabulous stay, and the studio was perfect, both in location and amenities. Nicole was a wonderful hostess, and it really was the vacation of our dreams. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming little Studio - A wonderful (small) apartment

    Charming little Studio - A wonderful (small) apartment

    • Guest Bryan (Atlanta, GA USA)
    • Date of stay 04/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    First of all, I will point out that I actually run a vacation rental business for a living. That being said, I have very high standards and expectations when renting for myself. This home exceeded all my expectations! I had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful loft during April 2011. Working with the owner (Tea) was very simple. She is very responsive and very easy to work with via email. She was able to describe the home very well, beyond what was posted, and to send additional information and pictures. We stayed at the loft for 5-nights. This is simply the best located property (especially considering the price!) in Paris. If you are looking for a lively, entertaining neighborhood to be in, you cannot bee Rue Mouffetard. A wonderful selection of cafes, bars and restaurants is literally just outside the door. Even better, the open air food market and clothing bazaar at the end of the street can't be missed. The loft is small, but has everything you'd need for two people. We decided to sleep on the fold-out couch instead of the lofted bed, but both were comfortable. The furnishings and amenities are modest, but who wants to spend time inside while in Paris?! This apartment is all about the location. It is very conveniently located within a 5min walk of two metro lines, and a 7min walk from the RER (which will get you to the airport). I cannot say enough about this wonderful apartment. We will stay here again, hands down. The only thing you must keep in mind is that this is a small Parisian loft. Do not expect acres of space, just expect to have lovely quarters in the loveliest of quarters!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lynda
    • Date of stay 04/08/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    I just had to check in with you and Oliver to thank you once again for making such a beautiful studio in Paris. Greg and I had a fabulous time and the studio was perfect for us. You did a fine job outfitting it for comfort and the style of minimal and comfort was just what I enjoy. The bed was so comfortable! Nicole was wonderful. I really like Nicole and would have enjoyed more time to get to know her and ask her about her work. Our favorite restaurant was les Papillions, which we visited twice. The owners were hilarious and really seemed to have fun with us. I ordered the beef tongue, which I actually prepare myself, but she wanted to make sure I knew what it was. We laughed very hard. Lianne is speaking quite good French now so they had fun with her. Great wine of course. I want your stove; induction was so interesting, I kept lifting up the pot to make sure it wasn't hot, amazing. We actually had breakfasts there and it was so well equipped, except the knives were a little weak, but I don't think anyone will really need them.I loved the stairs but maybe a bit daunting for some people. Great exercise. We spent lots of time seeing things, but mainly hung out with our daughter, ate well, slept in late and enjoyed Paris. The Hamman spa experience was fabulous, I felt like a noodle afterwards. So again, Thank You, and I hope we can come back some day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Charmaine, Meredith and Murph
    • Date of stay 03/23/11
    • Review Submitted 04/13/11
    Hi Tea and Olivier, Greetings from Rue Descartes! You were absolutely right, it's perfect! We have had the most wonderful time in your little retreat and can't believe how central but quiet it is! Breff met us and was so kind and helpful and we'll see him again tomorrow when we check out. Mostly we wanted you to know that we have enjoyed ourselves and found your information helpful and spot on! The steps have been the perfect remedy to our weight concerns after numerous baguettes, crepes, eclairs and far too much lovely french wine. We really enjoyed the Hemingway tour and Charmaine told us that Olivier was a journalist so we hope he'll be following in some pretty famous footsteps now that he has his Paris pad to write in! Weather has been hot and sunny and has only started to rain as we leave, so very lucky in that regard also. Thanks again for letting us share your little slice of French heaven and we hope it's just au revior this time,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Carl
    • Date of stay 03/11/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    Hi Tea Apologies for not letting you know sooner that I very much enjoyed staying at Studio Descartes... a wonderful place to stay, and a great introduction to a new part (for me) of Paris. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Debbie
    • Date of stay 02/28/11
    • Review Submitted 03/18/11
    We were glad to get home, but at the same time, sorry to leave Studio Descartes. We miss it. The location is perfect. the studio itself is cute and we felt right at home there. The little touches were nice--the coffee maker, induction cooktop, English TV, free international calling, all were things we really enjoyed. We cannot thank you enough for renting us this lovely place. Debbie and Preston

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We will never forget the days we spend in this romantic in Paris.

    We will never forget the days we spend in this romantic in Paris.

    • Guest Maria (Granada)
    • Date of stay 01/09/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    We will never forget the days that we spend in this romantic apartment in Paris. From the historical hallway of the building, the curve stepes, the sloping wooden roof and the hundreds of details that emanating the Bohemian glamour that always we dream to find in the city of love, Paris Don´t leave experimenting this unique experience

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]