Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Le cœur du Vieux-Québec

Vieux Québec [#338912] | View Property

Quebec City
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
C$1,800 - C$2,100/mo Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (46)

Sort by:
  • Old and New

    Old and New

    • Guest Lucinda (Yucaipa CA)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    Strategically located in the Vieux Haute section of Quebec City. The market down the street had an awesome selection of beer. Condo had all of the amentities a travel could want or need. Thanks!!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best VRBO ever

    Best VRBO ever

    • Guest Paul (Sunnyvale, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    This is the best VRBO property my wife and I have ever rented. This condo had more amenities than our home, and was better stocked with supplies. The farmers market, groceries, and small supermarket are all within a 10-15 minute walk. We did not have a car. Instead we rented bikes at the old market/farmers market (Ecolocycle), or you can rent them several other places. The condo is convenient to the Terminus D’Youville bus depot as well as the train station. The owner was extremely thorough and courteous throughout our relationship. Though in a very old building the condo itself is most modern. We recommend this condo to everyone keeping in mind that most old buildings in the old city do not have elevators. The convenient washer and dryer on the second floor more than made up for the stairs. for us. We also enjoyed the deck in the mornings and evenings.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great location and amenities

    Great location and amenities

    • Guest Lois & Chuck (Prince George, BC)
    • Date of stay 05/14/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    We spent a week in this lovely condo. It had everything we needed in a perfect location near all the sights of Quebec City. There was an outdoor space with a grill which made meal preparation easy. It was fully equipped with all the condiments and spices we needed to prepare our meals. It is in a lovely old building with stair access.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Lois Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Vieux Québec as much as we do. I will send the details on the spice jars too. We hope you stop by again some time. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful week!

    Wonderful week!

    • Guest Patty (Maine)
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    We stayed in this lovely little place for a week. We like to walk and were able to walk everywhere from this central location. The building was very quiet. People we met in the building as well as Quebec City were very welcoming. This is a great place for a couple who like to be out and about, but still have a cozy place of their own for coffee or a glass of wine at the end of the day!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Excellent pied à terre!

    Excellent pied à terre!

    • Guest Kelly (Ottawa, ON, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    I was thoroughly impressed with our stay. The condo was lovely, comfortable and well equipped, and we couldn't have asked for a better locatation.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kelly Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting this great feedback on the condo. We hope you stop by again some time. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent location to all the highlights of the Old Quarter

    Excellent location to all the highlights of the Old Quarter

    • Guest SkiMom (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    Wow, what a lovely property. Old world charm with classy, updated finishes. The condo was super clean and had everything we needed. I can't say enough about the location....it was perfect. We were 2 adults and 2 children, 7 and 9. We walked to all we needed and wanted to do. We used this condo as a base to go skiing to Le Massif and Mont Ste Anne's. Easy drive to both mountains, even with a stop at the Falls along the way! The owner was so helpful providing useful information before we arrived. The only drawback, and I mean ONLY, was the parking issue. We had and SUV with a skybox and there really was no longterm parking that would accomodate it. We did street parking and honestly, it was a pain to jockey the car from one space to another at crazy times of the day and night.....and we still got a ticket! I would definately recommend this condo to a couple or a small family. We look forward to going back to Quebec in nicer weather and hope to stay here again.....no skybox this time!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Margaret Good to know that you enjoyed the condo and thanks for posting this great feedback. Yes, parking is a challenge in the old city and I should have warned you about the height restriction. Both the underground and above ground garage are limited to 2M or 6'6" which would not allow for a carrier. We do hope you get to stop by again as it is something to see in the summer too. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Accommodations in a perfect location

    Perfect Accommodations in a perfect location

    • Guest Bonnie (Georgia, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    My parents and I just spent 10 days in Quebec (Feb 15-24) while my son played in the Pee Wee Quebec hockey tournament. The condo was perfectly located for visiting Carnival, the historic sites in the Old City as well as fantastic shopping and dining. We did have a car to drive to rinks all over town and it was easy to park in a garage just around the corner. The flat itself was very clean and nicely appointed with new appliances and updated decor. Was perfect for our needs. We loved our winter visit to Quebec and had great fun beyond the hockey tournament: Carnival, dogsledding, snow tubing at Valcartier, visiting the Ice Hotel, snowmobiling and visiting the beautiful falls. Hope to return in 2015 with my younger son and I will definitely try to stay in this lovely flat again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Bonnie So glad that you had a great trip and enjoyed your stay in Vieux Québec. As a hockey Mom you can appreciate all this Winter Wonderland has to offer. Thanks for taking the time to post this great feedback as well. We do hope you stop by again some time and here's hoping the Nordiques make a comeback ;). Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful unit and perfect location

    Beautiful unit and perfect location

    • Guest Rob (Toronto, ON)
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/14/13
    Hi Bill. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time staying in your unit during winter carnival. We would not hesitate to rent from you again as we couldn't have asked for something more charming, with modern decor in such a fantastic location. Thanks -Rob

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Rob Glad you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this great feedback too. Summer is an amazing time in Québec city as well. Please stop by again sometime. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun & Comfort in Old Quebec

    Fun & Comfort in Old Quebec

    • Guest Mark-Paul (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/08/13
    This place is outstanding!! Everything is updated, kitchen, bathroom, shower, master bedroom. The directions for usage of all appliances were so detailed and thorough. The apartment/condo was impeccably clean. The sun deck, window covers, etc all in great working order. 2 large TV sets that provided both TV and music channels. Plenty of dishes, flatware, glassware, linens etc. Extra sleeping for 2 persons in the convertible sofa. Very quiet neighborhood--safe. Additionally, the Condo is ideally situated to take in all of the typical tourist sites, restaurants, museums within walking distance. Nice shopping around the corner and easy access to bus lines. The owner was a gem to work with as travel plans were delayed due to horrible weather conditions (should have arrived Jan 31st) and the owner was able to be flexible (he did not have another renter immediately following us) and still accommodate our changes---seamlessly and without requiring an "up charge"--this was most appreciated and helpful!! As well, the owner was always accessible and pleasant to work with. Can't wait to return!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mark Thanks for this great review and so glad that your trip turned out good after the rocky start with weather and flights. We were happy to help out and accommodate you with the change in reservations. We do hope you stop by again sometime. The private terrace and patio are great for relaxing after a day of touring the city in the summertime. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Glen

    Glen

    • Guest Glen (Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/23/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    We wanted to have a White Christmas and we sure had lots of snow. The Condo was very clean and well kept. The location of the Condo was well situated, very near to everything from the tourist info, shops, restaurant to the historical sites. We were able to walk to the different attractions and then return to the apartment to warm up and rest and being our tour again. The Condo had great amenities! We had a memorable time in Quebec City and we hope to return and rent this Condo again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Glen So glad that you enjoyed the trip to Québec City and that you got the White Christmas you were looking for. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post this review and the positive feedback on the condo. You will have to stop by again in the summer to see the great venue this city has to offer then as well. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • home away from home

    home away from home

    • Guest Mike (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 12/03/12
    • Review Submitted 12/10/12
    A friend referred me to the VRBO service for this trip to visit my grandson, daughter & son-in-law in Quebec, and I'm obliged to her. This condo space was very comfortable & felt like home to return there every evening, and wakeup and get started in the mornings. I wanted, actually, to spend more time there than I was able to — just a comfy space to be at home to read, to use my laptop, write notes & postcards to friends. The appliances, which all worked well, are sleek & modern. It's a space that happily combines contemporary flair with the stone & brick of old Quebec. I hope it works out for me to stay here again & next time hope I can bring my friend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mike Good to hear and so glad that everything worked out for your trip to see your grandson. Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great feedback on the condo as well which is very much appreciated. We do hope you get to stop by again sometime with your friend as there is always much to see and do in any season. Warm regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rue Saint Flavien

    Rue Saint Flavien

    • Guest Jo Ann (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 11/17/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    This condo was exactly as advertised and we were thrilled with our rental experience. The location is ideal for reaching all the major Old City Quebec attractions within a few minute's walk. The condo was immaculate and charming and we were totaly comfortable there. We received a thorough orientation to the condo and the neighborhood from the owner prior to our arrival and the information was invaluable. It was too chilly to take advantage of the balcony/deck but we are sure that that would be a major attraction during a summer visit. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jo Ann So glad that you enjoyed your trip to La Belle Ville (Québec City). Thank you as well for taking the time to post this comment and great feedback on the condo. We hope you stop by again sometime and wish you all the best. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quebec condo

    Quebec condo

    • Guest Sue (California)
    • Date of stay 10/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/05/12
    We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. It was very clean, cozy and right in the heart of the old city. The owner sent info beforehand to suggest things to do in the City and a handy guide to operate the condo equipment. I highly recommend this for a visit to Quebec.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sue So glad that you had a great trip and enjoyed Québec city as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to post this great feedback on the condo as well. You will have to stop by again sometime to see the frozen winter wonderland this city has to offer as well. All the best to you, Bill.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • fun weekend

    fun weekend

    • Guest Renee (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    My husband, daughter and I had a great time visit Quebec for the weekend. This property is fantastic! Right in the old city, we parked our car - for an amazingly low cost - and didn't see it again till it was time to head home. Crepes for breakfast and old world comfort food for dinner with shopping and museums in between. The property had everything we wanted and more. I would love to return in the summer to use the cute sun deck.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Reneé & Family Sounds like you had a great trip and were taken in by the splendor of Québec City. Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great feedback on the condo too. We hope you do get to stop by again sometime. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Mix of Old & New

    A Mix of Old & New

    • Guest George Y. (Pearland, Texas)
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    We really like staying in apartments like this. The apartment has 16 inches of 160 year old brick and stone but the inside walls are modern sheetrock. So you stand there and look at a home that is a combination of the old and modernized with the new. Neat! It is very modern and we loved the shower. It is right in Old Town and close to everything we wanted to see and do. We could get a feel for what it is like to live in this quant neighborhood. You do have to climb 2 flights of stairs. Don't take this if stairs is a problem. Everything was as described. Very good value for the money spent.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: George Glad you had a great time and enjoyed the condo especially coming from so far away in the Southern US. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review with this feedback as well and do hope you stop by again sometime. It is definitely something to see in the Winter! Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A delightful home away from home

    A delightful home away from home

    • Guest peggy (Singapore)
    • Date of stay 10/08/12
    • Review Submitted 10/23/12
    My friend and I were certainly very happy with the apartment which served our purpose. Centrally located but yet away from the crowd. It was also tastefully furnished and has enough linen and kitchen equipment, appliances to prepare simply meals.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Peggy So glad that you had a great trip given your long journey. Thank you for taking the time to post this great feedback on the condo as well. We hope you do get a chance to stop by again sometime. All the best to you and safe travels! Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • would love to go back

    would love to go back

    • Guest traveler (victoria)
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/19/12
    it was fantastic

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you had fun!. This City is a taste of Old France with that "'joie de vivre"...and the French do value the good things in life! Hope you come back again sometime. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect in every way!!

    Perfect in every way!!

    • Guest Victoria B. (KY USA)
    • Date of stay 09/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/25/12
    We have just returned from one of the most magnificent vacations -- This little condo apartment was the perfect place for our stay in Quebec City. We simply could not have wanted for anything more. The location was ideal for walking around in the old city -- and the condo itself was absolutely charming and perfectly appointed. The neighborhood is quiet -- we are minutes of the historic city -- the condo is beautiful --- we can not wait to return again -- and we most definately will! Thank you Bill -- we loved everything about your beautiful apartment!! Vicki and Dan

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Vicki and Dan It looks like the magic of Vieux Québec captured your hearts as it did ours. This place is truly special and so glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to post this great feedback on your trip and the condo. We do hope you get a chance to stop by and see this city in the Winter time.....just bring your 'woolies' ;) All the best to you both Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • J & L

    J & L

    • Guest J & L (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/11/12
    • Review Submitted 09/15/12
    This condo is a jewel - the decor is beautiful and everything you'd need is there. Add this to the location and staying here made our holiday. In the neighbourhood, the epicerie was great for sandwiches to take "home" for lunch on the deck. We've already recommended this condo to family members.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: J & L So glad that you had a great trip and enjoyed the condo as much as we do. We also appreciate you taking the time to post this great feedback. Please stop by again sometime. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a location!

    What a location!

    • Guest cape mom (cape cod)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    We had such a wonderful time in Quebec. The apartment was just perfect. Clean, comfortable, newly updated and with a little balcony. The best part was that we were only steps from everything. With small kids, the location meant that we could run them around town and then come home for a break. It worked great for us. Wish there was one additional bar stool so that we could have all eaten together, but we made do. Thank you, Bill for the great restaurant suggestions. Portofino was a hit with the kids and grown ups. Two little details....the parking garages are 1.8m ta;ll and when you have a cartop carrier, you don't fit. Yikes! We had to take it off and put it inside the car to park. And also, a foam topper or mattress pad for the pull out couch would have made us even more comfy. We used our sleeping bags the second night for added cushioning under the sheet and that really helped. I hope to come back in the winter next time. Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kelly Glad to know that you had such a great time and enjoyed the condo. Thank you for taking the time to post this review with the great feedback on the condo too. Good point on the parking and we will update our site to reflect the 1.8m height restriction. Perhaps I neglected to mention there is a battery powered blow up mattress in the closet for extra comfort on the pull out sofa bed. Now you will know for the next time during your winter visit which is a must see ;). Québec city is a 'Winter Wonderland' that everyone should experience. We look forward to having you back at the condo! All the best, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent 'home' base!

    Excellent 'home' base!

    • Guest Sandy B.
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    This apartment was an excellent home base for my sister, neice and I to explore all the old city had to offer. Within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Clean, well organized with a beautiful bathroom and kitchen, the unit had everything we needed - including a computer. Owner contact was very useful and friendly. We will definitely stay here on our next visit! Thanks again Bill!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sandy Very glad to hear that you had a great time in Québec and thank you for taking the time to post this great feedback on the condo. We hope you do stop by again sometime! Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming Apartment in Ideal Location

    Charming Apartment in Ideal Location

    • Guest Winding Path Travel (Aptos, California)
    • Date of stay 08/06/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    My family of four (with 2 kids, ages 10 and 13) stayed 3 nights in this lovely apartment, and we were pleased with every aspect. Bill the owner was very prompt in responding to every email, and he provided a detailed instruction booklet covering how everything in the apartment works. The apartment was fabulous--modern amenities, very clean, extremely comfortable, and full of charm. The location was ideal, only steps away from many historic sites, but on a quiet street away from the tourist crowds. While the temperature was warm in August, the air conditioner cooled the apartment beautifully during the day when needed, and we slept with the bedroom window open at night (3rd floor overlooking the street, so very safe). We also took advantage for the self-serve laundry across the street. We loved our time in Quebec City (and in this apartment). Our favorite experiences were: renting bikes a short walk from the apartment (at 289 Rue Saint-Paul) and cycling along the river and up through the neighborhoods next to the Plains of Abraham, seeing the free Cirque du Soleil performance (we arrived at 8pm for the 9pm show and still were far back in line; but there was plenty of room inside for the great masses of people), visiting the Centre d'Iinterpetation de Place Royal (the film was quite good, and there is a dress-up area with costumes for both adults and children), and just walking along the walls of the upper town area. If you want a nice out-of-town excursion, I highly recommend the Canyon Saint Anne ferrata experience (about 40 minutes north of town; we did the "deluxe package", with rock climbing and two stints of walking across the rushing river along a single wire--a bit freaky, but amazing!). We thought this apartment was the perfect place to stay in Quebec. We would love to come back and experience the city in the winter when it is blanketed in snow.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Kathy It sure sounds like you made the most of 'your journey' and thank you for taking the time to post this great review and feedback. We hope you get a chance to stop by in the winter some time to see the 'Winter Wonderland that Québec City has to offer. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Updated Vintage Apartment

    Great Updated Vintage Apartment

    • Guest Copilot2012 (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/28/12
    We loved our stay in Quebec City. Bill was great to work with. Very responsive. The apartment was wonderfully updated with wonderful vintage charm. I would love to live here. Location was perfect. Close to all of the sights but away from the crowds. Parking was reasonable and easy to get to (once we had a map and figured it out). Enjoyed the outside space. Our stay was perfect in every way.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Jill Glad to hear that you had a great time and sorry that you had to leave a day early. We also really appreciate you taking the time to post this feedback on the condo. You should also try stop by and see the Winter Wonderland that Vieux Québec has to offer. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Julia (British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 07/06/12
    • Review Submitted 07/26/12
    We have only good things to say about this property. In fact, the pictures are lovely, but do not do the apartment justice. It was very clean, quiet and close to everything. The instruction booklet was very detailed and we were able to enjoy home cooked meals thanks to the complete kitchen. We were travelling with our two daughters (8 and 6) and the pull out couch was perfect for them. We have already recommended your property to several friends and hope to return in the future. Merci, it was parfait!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Julia So glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Vieux Quebec. We really appreciate your comments and feedback on the condo too and hope you stop by again some time. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Location for Exploring Quebec City

    Wonderful Location for Exploring Quebec City

    • Guest Cincinnati Vic (Cincinnati OH )
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    My wife and I recently stayed in this condo and I am afraid must give it a mixed review. First, the unit was described accurately.The kitchen area is so state-of-the-art, we had to consult the owner's directions in order to use the stove. The bed was comfortable, the computer and Magic Jack phone worked fine and the balcony was lovely to sit on in the morning. This unit is nicely located for exploring Quebec City. Where our difficulties started was with our arrival on St. Flavien Street and our lack of understanding of how to park to unload our bags on a one-lane street at rush hour. What we did was park in the garage that was recommended and walk the 3 blocks with our bags. What we should have done was pull onto the sidewalk about 100 feet beyond the building entrance where the sidewalk was only about an inch versus 6 inches above street level and back up to the door and unload the bags and then go park the car. By doing it this way other cars could have gotten by and the unloading would have been much easier and less exhausting. The second challenge we faced was that when we got into the apartment about 5:00 pm we discovered that it had not been cleaned since the last guests left so there was a pile of dirty laundry in the bathroom, the bed was not made, Cheerios scattered throughout and the garbage not emptied. When we called the owner he was very apologetic and immediately contacted his cleaning service and had them in the unit by the time we returned from dinner. The cleaner finished about 9:15 pm while we sat on the terrace waiting to get back into the unit. At the time of our back and forth calls regarding scheduling the cleaning, the owner indicated that he would be refunding our cleaning fee to make up for the apartment not being ready for our occupancy. Our third challenge was that during our stay, temperatures in Quebec City reached the high 80’s and the air conditioning unit which is in the living room could not get the temperature in the living room below 78 degrees and the bedroom was probably 5 degrees warmer. It did cool down in the evenings, and we were able to open the windows to a cross breeze, but we could not sleep with the windows open because of security issues. The last challenge was that we were in Quebec City for Quebec Day (think 4th of July in the US) and there was noise from the young adults drinking, talking loudly and riding a plastic surf board down St. Flavien until 3:00 am. We would still stay here again

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hey Vic Our apologies for the Cleaning situation once again and the refund was issued ;). I also should have warned you about the St. Jean Baptiste festivities. Sounds like you might also prefer the 'Winter Wonderland' that Québec City has to offer given your comments on the heat. We hope you stop by again sometime. All the best, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Ac (Louisville,ky)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    Fantastic! As promised and more

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Allan Sounds like you had a great visit and thanks for taking the time to give us the feedback. We hope you stop by again sometime soon. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quebec City--it's like being in France without the attitude!

    Quebec City--it's like being in France without the attitude!

    • Guest Deb and Kim (Herscher, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/12
    • Review Submitted 06/06/12
    This condo far exceeded our expectations. It was clean, quiet, convenient, quaint, and well-maintained. It included every amenity needed for an enjoyable stay, including a computer and free phone calls. The location, in the heart of upper town, allowed us to explore the area on foot and keep the car in the parking garage. Tours we highly recommend are the Notre Dame basilica, the Good Shepherd Museum, the citadel, and the parliament building. We took a one day road trip to Montmorency Falls, the Isle of Orleans, and the St. Anne of Beaupre shrine. We truly enjoyed the surrounding beauty of the countryside. French restaurants abound. Our favorites included LeLapin Saute in lower town as well as Cafe de la Paix and Aux Anciens Canadiens in upper town. Although we encountered no problems during the week, Bill was easily accessible by phone and computer, and he was very helpful in planning our stay. We highly recommend this condo and its vicinity for a relaxing and memorable vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kim and Deb You certainly made the most of your week in Québec city and hit all the highlights. Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking care of the condo as well. You will have to come back and see Vieux Québec as a Winter Wonderland someday too. All the best to you, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect. No complaints.

    Perfect. No complaints.

    • Guest Ryan (Airdrie, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/16/12
    • Review Submitted 05/19/12
    Superb location. Everything was included to make the stay more than comfortable. Owner was fantastic to work with.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • bonnie

    bonnie

    • Guest Gulf Breezer (Pennsylvania, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/12
    • Review Submitted 05/14/12
    we were very happy with our stay. Even though we had rain all week, having such delightful surroundings helped to make it a wonderful stay. Everything we could have needed was in the apartment, including two umbrellas. The location was very convenient to restauramts, stores and take out dinners. The instructions provided by Bill were specific and enabled us to use the somewhat technical appliances. We recomend this apartment to anyone wanting a very pleasant stay in Quebec City. We will definitely renting this apartment when we net come to Quebec.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Old Quebec Apartment

    Great Old Quebec Apartment

    • Guest Dmitry & Olga (Carlsbad, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/06/12
    My wife and I just got back from our trip to Montreal & Quebec City. We loved our stay at Bill's apartment, from location to kitchen to amenities. You could walk to all of the city's attractions and experience the great atmosphere and history and then come home to relax and enjoy the modern appliances, which we put to good use.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dmitry Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the positive feedback on the condo and location. That cooktop can be a challenge I have to agree....almost too modern. I enjoyed your City last year on vacation so glad to return the favour. We hope you stop by again sometime. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect vacation rental

    Perfect vacation rental

    • Guest JNR (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 04/12/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    We just returned from an extended weekend at this property and it was perfect! The owner was prompt and easy to communicate with and the apartment itself was stunning. Spotless, a good size, couldn't be a better location, quiet street but just around the corner from the shops and boutiques of Vieux Quebec.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Jen....we really appreciate the positive feedback on the condo and so glad that you had a great time in Vieux Québec. It truly is a special place. Please stop by again sometime. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vieux Quebec-the "narrows"

    Vieux Quebec-the "narrows"

    • Guest susqriver (York PA USA)
    • Date of stay 04/06/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    European-style in-city, "close to it all" center of old city Quebec... walker's dream with plenty to explore before and after dark; apt. well outfitted for electronic pursuits and for those who enjoy cooking; top floor apt. means that you carry it all up, but a small deck outside allows for outdoor air and a look around some of the roof tops; parking will likely be in nearby underground garage, but it was nice to give the vehicle a nap and the feet a "lap"; comfortable bed with amenitie of safe; updated bathroom w/spacious shower; kitchen appliances "new new new"-you may want to read the manuals... after dark trip on ferry to Levi w/return provides cool view of old city; property was clean, well maintained, and net/computer access was a +;

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Richard It sure sounds like you made the most of your trip to Vieux Québec. Thank you for the positive comments on the condo as well and we hope you stop by again sometime. Regards, Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Home Base for Exploring Vieux Quebec

    Perfect Home Base for Exploring Vieux Quebec

    • Guest Mike & Dawn Bouchard (Beavercreek, OH)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/23/12
    We can't say enough good things about this charming apt. in the center of Vieux Quebec! The owner has thought of everything to make your stay convenient and comfortable and has done it with excellence and style - it is better than the description! The information you receive is thorough and easy to follow - it's also easily accessible from the desktop of the computer you have at your disposal in the well-thought out apt. The location of the apt. could not be better - the 2 main areas of shops and restaurants in the Old City are just a few minutes walk, as is the parking garage at the Hotel de Ville. (Parking is the only real 'challenge' you will have - you have to plan ahead or it can be expensive, but the owner is upfront about that and gives helpful tips in the info. We did get lucky and were able to park overnight for free on a nearby street a couple times which helped balance things out.) In addition to the shops and restaurants (Le Couchon Dingue is a must!), we enjoyed seeing the Chateau and The Citadelle, walking on top of the old city walls, shopping at the market, taking the ferry to Levis and just the ambiance of being in the old village surrounded by so much history. The trip to nearby Montmorency Falls is quick and a real bargain at $5 / car! We also recommend venturing out to Wendake and touring the Huron village and driving around Ile d'Orleans for a great view of the city skyline. So thankful to have found this 'gem' of an apt. to call 'home' while exploring this wonderful city.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Dawn....so glad you had a great trip and enjoyed the condo as much as we do. Thank you as well for posting this great feedback on the apartment and location. We hope you come back sometime. The summmer time is a great experience as well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Place and Location

    Fantastic Place and Location

    • Guest Barb (Ottawa, ON)
    • Date of stay 03/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. The location is just perfect. You can walk to many restaurants and great sightseeing. The apartment itself is gorgeous. Everything is very modern and great quality. The decor is extremely tasteful. We had a blast. I especially loved the kitchen. The pictures don't do it justice. We had no issues with the owner. All the information provided to us was accurate and without a delay. The parking is a little bit of a walk but only if you're carrying a lot of stuff from your car. We had a great time and would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Quebec City center. THANK YOU!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Barb Bienvenue....thanks for the great feedback and glad you liked the condo as much as we do. Vieux Québec is a special place indeed! Please stop by again sometime. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Winter

    Winter

    • Guest Andrea (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 01/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/10/12
    Great location, we were able to walk to all the museums and the Carnival sites. The apartment was lovely and provided everything we needed including thanks to all the electronic toys a break from the kids.We are already talking about a summer trip to see a different side of the city and to be able to use the little balcony...Thanks Bill.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful apartment, wonderful location, wonderful city

    Wonderful apartment, wonderful location, wonderful city

    • Guest Liz Rankin (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    We could not have been happier with the charm, convenience, amenities, and location of this apartment. It's perfect for a get-away when you want to walk, tour the oldest fortified city in North America, enjoy fabulous restauraunts, or just spend an evening at "home" enjoying a wonderful meal (and the kitchen allows you to do that with ease). We spent New Year's weekend in Quebec, and despite having experienced the cuisine of Old Quebec, all we wanted to do on New Year's day was stay home and have salmon for dinner. We did just that, and it was as good as going out. We can't wait to go back in 2012.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Liz Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments and feedback. Glad to know that you enjoyed the condo and Quebec city as much as we do. Can't wait to have you back. All the best to you in 2012. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Magical Christmas!

    A Magical Christmas!

    • Guest Justin (Oshawa, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/28/11
    My wife and I decided to stay in Bill's condo for Christmas as opposed to a hotel, in order to really experience Vieux Quebec as it should be. The condo was very easy to find and was in an excellent location because it allows for a great starting point for discovery of the old city. For those of you who like to cook, be sure to walk to the Marche (market) which is about an 8 minute walk as it provides many tasty food/beverage selections from local farmers in a friendly atmosphere! We recommend trying one of the crepes for breakfast which they make fresh for you to order. The condo was more than we could have imagined! It was warm, cozy and created a home like feeling! As we admired the interior of the condo, we couldn't help but think about all the love and peace that had existed in this space through the many years prior to our stay! The condo is a great mix of old charm with modern conveniences. Bill has set you up with everything you could possibly need and more. Furthermore, if you are not very savvy with electronics, a useful quick user guide is provided which gives instructions on how to use the many conveniences. There was even a computer which came in handy for us as we were able to check the weather before our departure since a winter storm was on its way. It was very quiet and we couldn't even hear the neighbors probably due to the brick walls in between. All in all, a great stay and we look forward to visiting again Bill! Thank you for everything on the most magical Christmas we ever shared! Justin & Dolores We recommend: Le Lapin Saute for Breakfast Conti Caffe for Dinner Enjoy a drink at the bar in Chateau Frontenac!! What an experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Justin So glad that you enjoyed the condo as much as we do. Vieux Québec is a taste of Old Europe right here in Canada and a very special place. We really appreciate the positive feedback as well and hope you do stop by again sometime. It is something to experience in summer too with the Jazz Festival, busker street players and Cirque de Soleil show. All the best to you and your wife. Regards, Bill.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great apartment and location!

    Great apartment and location!

    • Guest clare (kearsarge, nh)
    • Date of stay 11/28/11
    • Review Submitted 12/04/11
    I was extremely pleased with my entire visit. Bill was very helpful, whenever I had any questions. I can't wait to book another trip!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Owner response: Thanks for the great feedback! We hope you stop by again some time soon. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT WAY TO VISIT QUEBEC

    GREAT WAY TO VISIT QUEBEC

    • Guest The Happy Traveler (mid-Atlantic states USA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/12/11
    We loved our stay in this apartment: handsomely appointed; easy to be a tourist from the top-notch location; great place to relax in; excellent host in Bill. This was in every way a superior experience to my Barcelona apartment rental. Everything in this apartment was as pictured or described, only better. We hope to return for a longer stay next time in this well-maintained, well-stocked apartment.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Cath Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this positive feedback. So glad you enjoyed the condo as much as we do. It was a pleasure to have you and we do hope you come back again. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quebec City Apartment

    Quebec City Apartment

    • Guest Caroline (hawaii)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/08/11
    My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at this amazing apartment, the location was fantastic, easy to walk everywhere, loved all the amenities , everything you could ask for and more,loved the central heating for the evenings,also having a computer provided was great. Bill the owner sent us a detailed information guide on how to use everything which was so helpful, he also sent us terrific travel info and a map of all Quebec City has to offer. Bill was wonderful to deal with and answered all our emails promptly. If you see availability do not hesitate to reserve because you will not be disappointed.Quebec City exceeded our expectations,it is so picturesque and quaint , we spent our days sightseeing and then looked forward to going back to our cozy apartment. Thank you Bill. Caroline & Kelly from Hawaii

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Caroline and Kelly Thank you for this great feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you stop by again sometime as it is something to see in Winter too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely visit to Vieux Quebec

    Lovely visit to Vieux Quebec

    • Guest Jess (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    Thank you, Bill, for the wonderful place to stay. The apartment was lovely and comfortable. Everything was walkable. The place was exceptionally tidy and well-organized; a true vacation from the sturm-und-drang of our normal lives. We parked the car in the municipal garage and never needed it again until we checked out. We left a few brochures in the basket - for the local bike rentals which were perfect to visit the Falls and the brochure from Montmorency Falls. Thank you again.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Jess So glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great feedback on the condo. The bike rentals are recent additions by the city and will sure to be a hit. We hope you stop by again some time soon. It is something to see in Winter too. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect apartment for two people wanting to be in the heart of the old city

    A perfect apartment for two people wanting to be in the heart of the old city

    • Guest LozandMatt (Australia)
    • Date of stay 02/21/11
    • Review Submitted 02/28/11
    Hi Bill, Just wanted to thank-you for a great stay & tell you how much we enjoyed your apartment in Quebec City. Thanks for all of your help, the apartment had everything that we could possibly need & made us feel instantly relaxed. We actually enjoyed Quebec so much that we got engaged alongside the Saint Lawrence River. Thanks for making our stay so memorable!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Matt You are most welcome and glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Congratulations on your engagement too! Vieux Québec has that effect on people. All the best to you and we hope you stop by again some time. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous place in Quebec City!

    Fabulous place in Quebec City!

    • Guest George and Harry (Fredericton, NB)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 02/06/11
    Hi Bill, We have stayed at many VRBO condos around the world and your place is definitely one of the best! The location is wonderful with lots of great restaurants and stores within a block. The condo is extremely well appointed with everything that one could need. Bravo!!! George and Harry

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: George Thank you very much for your positive comments on the condo. We are glad that you enjoyed it as much as we do. Hope you pass by again some time. Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mike and Nancy
    • Date of stay 12/29/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/11
    Hi Bill I wanted to say thank you – your place is wonderful and so fully equipped! I have already recommended it to a couple we know who comes to Quebec regularly on the train. There is one thing we wanted to mention. It seems that the City Hall parking rates have changed recently. There didn’t seem to be a daily maximum and also the 30 minute rate was increased. We ended up spending more on parking than we had anticipated. Also, we have a minivan, and as skiers, we usually have a rooftop ski carrier. You might want to mention to potential customers that roof carriers will not fit in the parking de l’Hotel de Ville. Happily we did not have that this trip or we would have had a real problem L Again, thanks – your place is wonderful and we will recommend it! Nancy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lori and Neil
    • Date of stay 09/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    I just wanted to let you know that your condo in Quebec City was awesome. It was in a great location and very comfortable. It met all our needs and then some. We attended a wedding while we were there and had the opportunity to show your place to a few of our friends. They were all impressed and wanted the information on the rental. I am sure if any of them travel back to Québec City and your condo is still there and available, they will book to stay. All of the little extras you provided were very much appreciated…late checkout, computer access with great tourist info, instructions on how use and manage all the electronics in the unit, and the great packet of info sent to us ahead of time…just fantastic! It’s a great place and made our stay very memorable and I am definitely telling all of my friends about it. Lori & Neil

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mark and Jacqueline
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 01/29/11
    Evening Bill, A few months have passed by since I meant to send you this email. I want to thank you. Staying at your condo in 'Vieux Quebec' made for a fantastic honeymoon. After slugging our way through an overnight canoe trip in Mont Tremblant provincial park, it was great to come home to an air conditioned place with a bed we didn't have to inflate. We went down to the market, bought a succulent lobster we named 'Earnest' and attempted to make a feast. The was a curious cat keeping an eye on us so we didn't trash the apartment while you were away :) After dinner we would go and stroll for gelato after dinner followed by some lazy TV from the pull out couch. It was all a great adventure. We really hope to come back again sometime soon, maybe even in the winter Thanks again, Mark & Jacqueline

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]