Home on Lake, Big Porch, Huge Yard, Includes Boat-Great for 2-3 Families!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:3-7 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Lake Toxaway house description
This wonderful, comfortable house is perfect for your family vacation! There are two king bedrooms/suite, one queen bedroom suite and two bunk rooms. The kitchen is spacious with newer appliances. The butler's pantry has an extra refrigerator, extra freezer and an ice machine. There is attached covered parking for two cars with plenty of additional parking. A spacious bar with a counter overlooks the dining room and contains four barstools.
Enjoy coffee and your breakfast out on the back porch and enjoy the calm water of the lake. Then head outside for sunbathing, swimming, canoeing or biking. There are some great trails with waterfalls to explore just a couple of minutes from the house! Pack a picnic lunch and take it out on the float boat (big enough for 12 people!) for a lunchtime cruise around the lake. Stop and take a quick jump into the water! You can rent a boat for skiing at the marina for a few hours or all day. (Rental does not include use of Lake Toxaway Country Club.)
There is a big stone charcoal grill and huge picnic table out in the yard for afternoon or evening cookouts. There is also a gas grill up on the porch. A big part of the porch is covered so you can be outside reading even during an afternoon rain! At night, you can enjoy a fire in the big stone fireplace while watching TV or a movie, playing games or cards!
This has been our family home for over 30 years and we have a wonderful time...every time...every year! You'll love it!
Keywords: Lakefront, mountain lake, family, outdoor stone grill, waterskiing, canoeing, hiking
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13, Beds for 12-13
Bathrooms: 4 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker:
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Parking Off Street:
- Towels Provided:
- Air Conditioning:
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Broadband Access
Location & View
- Mountain View
- Rock Climbing
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
ReviewsWrite a review
The Perfect Lake House
The Perfect Lake House
When we walked through the doors we were tickled pink. What we found--and what you'll find--was a sprawling layout, spread out nicely so people don't run into one another. A huge deck overlooking the FLAT backyard (as you'll notice when on the lake, few house have flat yards for the kids to play in) and the lake itself. There are 3 bedrooms (two of them are huge) all with their own full bathrooms. Two bunk rooms which we used one for the boys and the other for the girls. The kitchen had everything you could want for entertaining, complete with a serving/wet bar, dual ovens, a huge range, a full refrigerator + a drink refrigerator and self-standing freezer. The kitchen had every utensil you could think of plus many I'd never seen before! The boat worked great. All I can say is that we had an absolutely great, relaxed time, swimming, boating, enjoying sun rises and sunsets on the deck and more (we ended up watching a big football game on the flat screen tv one night as well). The wifi worked great. We didn't have a want for anything while we were vacationing. As we stated, we had no problems with the boat and the weather was great so central air was never a problem. We will be back and I highly recommend it.
- Guest alandrum (Greenville, SC)
- Date of stay 08/31/12
- Review Submitted 09/04/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, adventure seekers.
Our extended family (14 of us!) spent a week at this Lake Toxaway house in the summer of 2012. We will remember it as one of our favorite vacations ever! The house was comfortable, had a well equipped kitchen and beautiful yard leading out to the lake. Our favorite place to relax was on the back deck, which had a covered area, so we could be out there even if it rained. The house comes with a pontoon boat, which offered us a nice opportunity to tour the lake. It also had a canoe, and we went out for a morning or evening paddle almost every day. There are many outdoor activities in this area - great hiking, viewing the area waterfalls, swimming, etc. One rainy day, we headed into Brevard. We also ate at the Brown Trout restaurant one evening - a short drive. It was very good. The house is located in a beautiful, quiet community of lake homes. There is a golf course nearby, although we did not use that. The house was clean, roomy and comfortable. I recommend this home if you are looking for a relaxing vacation, with plenty of outdoor activities. The owner was very helpful and prompt in answering any questions.
- Guest Kim (North Carolina)
- Date of stay 07/07/12
- Review Submitted 08/12/12
Recommended for: Families with young children.
When we rented this home we found it peculiar that there were no reviews of the property. We chalked it up to possibly being new on VRBO, but now we wonder if the owner is able to remove reviews. If so, I beleive that is what they did. So, we'll see how long this one stays on the site. First of all, you should know this home DOES NOT have central A/C. There are window units in the most of the bedrooms, but the living areas, including the kitchen get HOT during summer days. This home has a boat, but it is old and was broken when we arrived. The guy who met us when we arrived gave us several, very specific instructions of things to do and not to do to prevent the boat from overheating. It made no difference. It ran hot just a few minutes after being on the lake. The owners sent someone to fix it, twice, but with no improvement. Then finally on Friday, the owners offered to rent a boat from the marina. We purposely rented a home with a boat and only had one day to enjoy being on the lake. The disappointments don't end there. When we received the refund check it was docked for the gas the service technician used trying to fix the boat and a repair to the dock where we had to tie up the second boat because the first boat was broken down but still in the boat house. This home is large, but not worth the money. I would not recommend it.
- Guest VRBO Frequent Flyer (Lexington, SC)
- Date of stay 06/23/12
- Review Submitted 08/09/12
Owner response: We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our house. This is the second summer we have rented it out and the first time we ever had to withhold a portion of the deposit. Having grown up coming to this house every summer since my grandmother purchased it in the 70's, it is usually cool in the evenings, so the 4 window a/c units are usually more than sufficient. However, it was extraordinarily hot this summer...even in the mountains. The boat is definitely part of the enjoyment of the house, and we are sorry that you were not able to use it daily. We tried hard to get it fixed with the repair man coming twice. Since that didn't work, we offered a way to make it right...by way of refund or rental of a boat. You chose to rent a boat and we did that for you in hopes it would mitigate some of your disappointment. Unfortunately, due to excess damage to the house and yard, we felt the need to deduct a portion (1/3) of the deposit. We love and appreciate that house on the lake...and yes, the boat is old, but the motor is not. It is 7 years old with fairly light use until last summer. When you did have a problem, you were able to reach us immediately and we reacted immediately. We upheld our contract. Again, we are sorry your time here was less than enjoyable...hopefully you were at least able to salvage a few good times/memories.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Nov 1 - Apr 29, 2014
3 night min stay
May 1 - May 30
3 night min stay
Jun 1 - Aug 30, 2014
7 night min stay
Sep 1 - Oct 31, 2014
3 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
3 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Summer/Fall...$2940 per week
May...$2,300 per week
Winter...$2100 per week
- Cleaning: $200
- Pet Fee: $50
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $500
- Tax Rate 6.75%
Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 1972
- Primary: 5022450178
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
View of house from the lake
Family room overlooks lake and has several sliding doors to the porch
The king master with sliding doors out to the deck
Red Room has a single over double bunk
This is the bar area adjoining the kitchen
The porch goes along most of the house.
Driveway at back of house...covered parking for two cars...parking pad for more
Another view of the boat while in the Fourth of July Boat Parade!
This waterfall is on a loop hike that begins 5 minutes from the house!
This stone charcoal grill is great for cookouts...near the lake and boathouse
Queen Bed in Green Room, also has sitting area and private bath
Big dining area including table and bar seating
This room also has a futon...great for kids.
View of part of the porch in other direction during the summer
View from the lake of the boathouse and the dock.
Morning view from house in the fall
We don't have a pic of the whole boat...here is the front half.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Sunday, January 26, 2014
5 Bedroom / 4 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.