Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Another beautiful sunrise!

Beach Bungalow Getaway [#33961] | View Property

Other St. Augustine Beach Properties
Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$85/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • A+ all the way....

    A+ all the way....

    • Guest Nancy (Mairetta, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/17/13
    This property is everything it boasts and more. The "...Getaway" was beyond what I expected. The apartment was in pristine condition and, believe me, I'm cynical about things like this. Every inch was spotless and very well taken care of. The view from the deck was beautiful, just wonderful. The residence dead-ends right at the sand dunes, literally. You exit the apartment, walk down the driveway, look to your left and, no joke, six feet in front of you are the dunes and that magnificent ocean crashing onto the shore. Although the weather was cloudy and a bit rainy that never took away from all the Romantic Ocean Front Getaway promises. Chris, the owner, does have, what I consider, the best vacation spot in Florida...bar none. I'll be back again and again.... Thanks, Chris, for a great experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We WILL be back!

    We WILL be back!

    • Guest JSE (Warner Robins, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/25/13
    We were at this bungalow for 4 days and 3 nights and it fully exceeded our expectations. Absolutely perfect location for the beach. I was struck by how clean the entire facility was. The mattress was the best mattress I have ever slept on other than my own. I have a bad back and need a firm mattress and this one was perfect. The owner was very accessible prior to our arrival and even called me on the way there to tell me the unit was ready for occupancy before the scheduled arrival time. The Ultimate Fish Sandwich at the Sunset Grille across the street is the best fish sandwich you will ever eat. O'steens for dinner is our favorite, we suggest getting there early to avoid a long wait. By all means, you MUST order the shrimp! For breakfast we recommend the Oasis. We will be repeat customers! Enjoyed our time in St. Augustine as always!

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Z Johnson (-)
    • Date of stay 05/09/13
    • Review Submitted 05/13/13
    We found the property to be exactly as advertised. Easy comminication with the owner as well. Perfect 3 day get away for the wife and I. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location.....

    Great Location.....

    • Guest Michcouple (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/11/13
    We loved the location, near the state park, steps from the beach, washer/dryer, restaurants and attractions nearby. The place itself needs some upkeep, water stains and damage, it needs some TLC. We have rented VRBO's before and this was our first that didn't meet expectations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am surprised by this review. Jerry did email me personally to voice his opinion. In doing so, he admitted, as a professional remodeler, he may be overly critical. I believe he was in this instance. Nothing was altered and the following guest had no issues what so ever, giving the Getaway yet another 5 star rating. It's the old saying, you can please most of the people, most of the time, but you can't please all the people, all the time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Great Location, perfect for us!

    Great Location, perfect for us!

    • Guest Denise (Burns Oregon)
    • Date of stay 12/03/12
    • Review Submitted 12/12/12
    Nice little apartment literally steps from the beach. Fully stocked with linens and tourist info. Well equipped kitchen; so perfect to make coffee and stand on the deck, watch the ocean in the AM. Appreciate having a washer/dryer too. Very friendly system, someone comes by to pick up your payment! Wifi really didn't work though, not a huge problem for us...it was vacation! We had an awesome week, thanks so much.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Truly the getaway we hoped for!

    Truly the getaway we hoped for!

    • Guest Cliff (Spokane, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
    My wife and I are moving to NE Florida and had work to do but also needed a place to get away together to start feeling what it would be like to live in the area. Having lived in Maui for over 18 years, we also knew we needed to get back to the beach and a more relaxed life style. With high hopes my wife booked the Romantic OF Getaway and it did NOT disappoint! Steps from the wide white sandy miles long St. Augustine beach, we took numerous walks enjoying the fresh air, ocean breeze and sunny days together. We found the bungalow well cared for and appointed with all we needed to hide out and be together. Only steps away from great local seafood restaurants and shops, we rarely needed to do more than walk out our door to get where we most wanted to be and just chill out and have fun. The owner helped tremendously with the reservations and our questions - and his housekeeper responded to questions and needs immediately with warm courtesy and friendly care. We hope to make the "Getaway" our personal getaway spot for week ends and breaks once we move to the Jacksonville area and know anyone staying there will enjoy their stay unless they just don't know how to enjoy the beach!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Property NOT what owner advertised!!! Won't refund deposit!

    Property NOT what owner advertised!!! Won't refund deposit!

    • Guest Von L.
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/27/12
    My husband and I were scheduled to stay here July 16-23,2012. The property/amenities were not as described in the listing!!!!! Upon our arrival we found out a nightmare was in progress. The beach was being ripped apart by 24 hour construction! Instead of informing us that this had been going on since late May 2012, the owner took it upon himself to withhold this information from us even after we had been corresponding for weeks. In real estate transactions, we call this a "Property Disclosure"!! We were not allowed to make an informed decision as to if we still wanted the property with the beach in such bad shape. Therefore we were misled into believing the property was as listed online. Imagine finding this when you arrive in from 2 days of travel,...bulldozing/construction equipment etc. running 24 hours a day, including huge nighttime lights, construction truck beepers sounding off constantly, smelly port-a-potty's, a crater the size of a football field infront of the property, not to mention we would have to repel down a rock wall approx.30ft high to even reach the beach.Thankfully, we documented this with video and pictures. We drove 900 miles for a beachhouse we would NEVER have chosen to use had we known about the beach! The apartment itself was serviceable and clean, but we had worked and waited 22 yrs for this BEACH HONEYMOON to go to the BEACH,not stay in the room! We could've done that at a hotel here at home. The owner, in his own words says he has only good reviews, if you will notice you don't see any reviews after May 2012. That's because that's when the beach construction was going on. I just have to ask why he didn't feel it necessary to inform us...paying customers about the situation? I have asked for my deposit back and he refuses to return it. So, as of this date we are still out $$$ for a property we never used! Due to my mothers death I am just now able to write a review and start proceedings to get our deposit back. .

    Owner response: Normally, I do not respond to reviews, because they have all been the very best, 5 of 5 and nothing less. I strive to provide the most enjoyable experience at a more than fair rate. In 8 years I have not received a review that was less than a 5. Pati and I work extremely hard to achieve this. What happened here was very unfortunate and was completely out of my control. St Johns County began beach renourishment in late February. In speaking with them, they stated the project would be completed by June. Therefore, I felt comfortable renting out the Romantic Getaway in July. Unfortunately, news the project took much longer to complete than promised by the County. When the guest arrived, they called me. In speaking with the husband, I explained the circumstances were beyond my control. I offered them a discounted rate. He appeared open to the idea, but his wife said no. I then offered to waive their entire balance completely. Again the Husband appeared open to the idea, but again his wife said no. She then took the phone. She demanded a full refund of her deposit. I explained to her, a second time, that I was so very sorry that the project had been delayed, but I simply did not have control of the situation. I offered her a partial refund of her deposit and again she refused, demanding a full refund. Again, I explained that the situation was completely out of my control. I did not intentionally attempt to deceive anyone. As a VRBO owner, I try my best to do the right. I had based my actions on information which I received from the county concerning the project. I also stated that, I was asking for a small portion of the deposit for the work I had put into managing her reservation. She would not hear of it. I hosted other guest’s in July before her arrival and after. These guest’s understood the situation and we all worked together to reach a happy settlement. I would like to say that the beach was completely accessible a couple blocks in either direction and vehicle access was less than a mile away. As of this posting, this woman and her husband, have been completely refunded of their deposit. This brings to mind the old saying, you can please some of the people, some of the time, but you can please, all the people, all the time. Beach renourishment is over and will not begin again for another 5 years. So come on down to Sunny St Augustine, for the time of your life! Sincerely, Chris Dallas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 18/20

  • Amazing getaway!

    Amazing getaway!

    • Guest CrisandAnnette (Lawrenceville, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/28/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    My wife and I stayed here the week of memorial day. This is a fantastic place to stay, just a short walk down to the beach, a short drive into downtown St. Augustine, and a great view from the deck. We watched pretty stunning sunrises from the deck during our one week stay. This definitely was better than a hotel room any day and perfect for 2 people. We watched people from nearby hotels have to trek to the beach, while we only had to walk across a lawn to reach the water. There's also a beautiful view of the nearby pier and our stay was very comfortable. There's a kitchen and washer and dryer to boot (which was extremely helpful). Can't beat the price or the location! We will definitely try and stay here again! Thanks C.D.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Dream Beach House!!

    Dream Beach House!!

    • Guest Jenny M. (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    My husband and I stayed at this property for our 2-yr wedding anniversary, but it was the main house..not the Getaway. I cannot tell you how beautiful the house is. It is a dream vacation beach house. The owner and caretaker of the home are wonderful people--very accommodating/friendly. We did not want to leave. Everything about it was amazing...the location in St. Augustine; the location on the beach; the views at sunrise/sunset; it was clean & well maintained; beautiful on the inside as well as the outside. My husband and I both recommend this property!! You will not be disappointed!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely Awesome !!!!!

    Absolutely Awesome !!!!!

    • Guest NOLA girl (Mandeville, LA )
    • Date of stay 08/21/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    My husband and I loved this place. It was perfect for us two. Right on the beach. It was so clean I felt like I was in my own home, but on the beach. It even had a washer and dryer that was so convenient since this was stop 2 of our 3 part vacation. It was well taken care of and exactly as described by the owner. This was so much better than any hotel and much more economical than a B&B. Loved it C.D. Absolutely loved it, thanks so much. You are the bomb!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great beach getaway!

    Great beach getaway!

    • Guest RMH (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    Awesome location! Just right for two people. Beats a condo, blows a hotel room out of the water! Very private, feels like it's your own place. No jockeying for a parking spot, pull right up and go up some steps and your done! Beach access is steps away. Having a washer and dryer was convienent. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • RnR Time

    RnR Time

    • Guest RnR (Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 05/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    WOW!! not just a 5 star property but a 10 all around. This was actually part 2 of our honeymoon we stayed in Gatlinburg a couple of days then headed down the east cost to paradise in St Augustine!. Beach is very clean and lots of good places to eat close by if you can pull yourself away from the awesome views of the beach!!!! hope to make this a regular vacation spot in the future.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Mollie (Tallahassee, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    We had the best time staying here. We came for the weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. It is exactly as it looks and is described in the description. Beautiful unobstructed views and access to the beach. We could not be happier with the trip. We ate downtown one night but then cooked the rest of the time. Has a great kitchen, and is such a comfortable place. If we weren't moving out of state, we would for sure come back every year to celebrate. The location and price can't be beat!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A dream vacation

    A dream vacation

    • Guest jeanne c. (Finger Lakes, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/16/11
    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
    My husband and I needed a quiet place to get away from upstate NY winter, and this was it! The bungalow was so clean, quiet, and close to the beach. We had a hard time pulling ourselves away from the beach. After coffee on the deck each morning at sunrise, we loved escaping to the State Park beach on the beach cruisers, riding bikes like we were 12yrs old!. The property was exactly as it was portrayed , very well taken care of . We highly recommend this property to those that want to enjoy the best of both worlds....natural beauty with lots to do nearby. The owner was extremely helpful, Thankyou Chris for all you did for us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Just What We Expected

    Just What We Expected

    • Guest Ricardo (Salina, KS)
    • Date of stay 03/10/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/11
    My wife and I stayed in The Getaway for a few nights in March. The property and location were just as described by the owner and the photos were correct. The property has received such rave reviews that we were a bit skeptical.... but no disappointments. Location is wonderful; restaurants within an easy walk. Very quiet, too. We will recommend this property to anyone headed to St. Augustine area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Cozy with Spectacular Views

    Cozy with Spectacular Views

    • Guest Lynne (Tampa)
    • Date of stay 11/19/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    The Getaway was all as described with a few extra surprises. It is located just steps away from the shore line, as well as walking distance to resturants and the pier. We visited in November so no plans to swim but we enjoyed watching all the surfers brave the cooler waves from the balcony. We were able to rise early, take along our coffee to sit on our blanket in the sand to watch the amazing sunrises. Only 5 minutes to the lighthouse and 10 to the historic city, we were able to see alot during our 3 day weekend. The Romantic Getaway is perfectly named as it is ideal for couples taking a break for a long weekend. Can only think of one downfall...internet access was weak and unpredictable. So if you absolutely need to remain connected this may be a challenge...but, then again, for 'Romantic Getaways' who really needs internet???

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Cozy and Private

    Cozy and Private

    • Guest D & C (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 06/25/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    Quiet, cozy and private. Getaway is exactly as described. And you couldn't ask for a more hospitable host. Had a great time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Would definitely recommend

    Would definitely recommend

    • Guest Yesmi (conroe, tx/ usa)
    • Date of stay 06/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/18/10
    The listing description is accurate. The location is great. My husband and I enjoyed being just steps from the ocean. This location is secluded enough for privacy yet close to everything you need. We visited the historic district of St. Augustine which has good food, shopping and plenty of tours to take. The Bunnery has a good breakfast and the Florida Cracker House has a versatile menu. Also available are kayaking and para sailing. We enjoyed learning the history of St. Augustine. Restaurants to enjoy: Sunset Grille , Panama Hatties and you can get a good breakfast at The Cafe (on A1a beach road -south). The Cafe doesn't look like much but you can get a delicious healthy breakfast there.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Exceeded our expectations

    Exceeded our expectations

    • Guest happy traveler too (Woodstock, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/31/10
    • Review Submitted 06/07/10
    My husband and I were looking for a quiet cozy place to get away to for a few days and this was the perfect spot! The apartment was clean and and up to date. The property care taker was very friendly and helpful and you couldn't ask for a better beach location. We cant wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest MarkandSue (Fort Pierce, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    This suite is perfect for getting away with your special someone!! We had a blast and it was even better than described. The pier is much closer than it looks in the pictures and we walked to the Sunset Grille for dinner. Surf fishing and walking on the beach were just what we needed to relax. We will be visiting again in the near future. Thanks for everything Chris.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 40 years of friendship

    40 years of friendship

    • Guest dawncat (Brooks, Ga 30205)
    • Date of stay 05/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    My friend and I stayed for 4 nights. The place was great and very convenient to everything in St Augustine. We felt like it was our own personal place. Everyone around the area was extremely nice and very friendly!! The owners are very helpful and kind. I highly recommend staying here. We will return very soon. I have told everyone I know about this place and how wonderful our stay was.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Friends Getaway

    Best Friends Getaway

    • Guest Cat/Dawn (McDonough, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/13/10
    • Review Submitted 05/25/10
    My best friend and I stayed here for 5 days in May and we had an awesome time. It was very nice and comfortable and felt like home. Very quiet and private. Really enjoyed sitting on the deck in the mornings with my cup of coffee watching the Sun rise. Very beautiful. Quick access to room from beach was essential for me and made my stay a lot more enjoyable without any stress. Would love to be able to go back and enjoy it with my husband sometime soon. Thanks for giving us a great place to stay to celebrate 40 years of friendship. Cathy/Dawn

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome place!!!

    Awesome place!!!

    • Guest Richelle and James (Pawleys Island, SC)
    • Date of stay 04/01/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    What a great place! Matched the description perfectly! Very clean and spacious, even more room than I thought we would have. Great location, walking distance to restaurants and the peir. I would reccomend this property to anyone who wants to get away with their special someone. "The Getaway" really made our Anniversary perfect this year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Ed and Lauren (-)
    • Date of stay 11/16/09
    • Review Submitted 11/16/09
    We enjoyed our stay so much we added an extra day after arrival. This is the best vrbo we have used. Reality matches the listed descriptions. Great communication with owner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/14/09
    • Review Submitted 06/14/09
    We stayed here June 8-11, 2009 for our anniversary. It's a lovely place and lives up to the description. It's very clean and cozy and perfect for 2 people. The wireless works, but the signal is weak, and can only be accessed from certain places in the apartment, but it can be accessed and is very fast when you do so (and lets face it, who goes to the beach to stay on the internet all day). Other than that, it was a perfect place to stay. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends and family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/10/09
    • Review Submitted 04/10/09
    We love this place! We stayed Memorial Day, 08. Great location, good value. Wanted to this year, but it's already taken. We will definatly stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest K Crisp (western Ky)
    • Date of stay 12/06/08
    • Review Submitted 12/06/08
    Very nice and comfortable! Upstairs overlooking the beach on a dead end street, so there is no traffic, very quite. Morning sunrise while sitting on the balcony is a plus. Kitchen is well equipped, very spacious and open. Owner is very friendly and helpful with any local "what to do's. Location is perfect, just mintues from everything. We trailered our motorcycle, there was a place to park the trailer, plus the ride from there down the ocean to Daytona is amazing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]