Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Immaculate & Adorable Cottage by the Sea

You sent a message to this owner.

Ultimate summer cottage living

Ultimate summer cottage living Vaulted living area with plenty of seating facing a wall unit with flat screenTV This is where you will live- 3 season paradise! Comfortable indoor dining, if desired Full kitchen King bed Queen bed Playroom/ Den with Queen futon Beach rock floor entry Ultimate outdoor shower Evening fire pit for roasting s'mores and making memories View straight across to Block Island from Charlestown Breachway Beach Off season, ride your 4 wheel drive vehicle right on the beach Sunset over Ninigret pond

Calendar

Last updated: 03/31/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3-7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Charlestown cottage description

Charlestown by the Sea is a charming community of beach homes on dead end streets with no thru traffic. This makes it quiet, private, and very safe for kids. We have one of the largest yards for summertime games and fire pit & BBQ area for late nights by the fire.
The most valuable asset to our property is the huge 20x20 screened in porch we recently built. Mosquitos can be a pesky problem in the Northeast, but not at our abode! You will enjoy dining, napping, and staying out on the porch to the wee hours and likely choose to sleep there, feeling the ocean breeze all night.
The porch connects to our open vaulted living, dining and kitchen areas. Two bedrooms with king and queen beds. Only one bedroom has AC. The house has ceiling fans throughout. An additional den has a twin bed and the porch has a futon.
The cottage has one full bath and an outdoor private shower.
We take meticulous care of this property and would expect our guests to do the same.
You will love the two nearby beaches and salt ponds for swimming, sunbathing, fishing and kayaking. Two marinas also have kayak and boat rentals.

Keywords: Cottage, ranch, bungalow, house

Property Type

  • 1300 sq. ft.
  • Cottage
  • 1 story

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Children Welcome
          • Non Smoking Only
          • Pets Not Allowed

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 4-6

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Dining Area Seats:

            6...moreless

          • Kitchen
          • Dishwasher
          • Refrigerator
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Microwave
          • Ice Maker
          • Oven
          • Stove
          • Dining
          • Toaster
          • Coffee Maker
          • Dishes & Utensils

          Amenities

          • Parking Off Street
          • Towels Provided
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Hair Dryer
          • Living Room
          • Linens Provided
          • Iron & Board

          Entertainment

          • Stereo
          • Books
          • Video Library

          Communications

              • Internet

              Outdoor Features

              • Outdoor Grill
              • Deck / Patio
              • Lawn / Garden
              • Kayak / Canoe

              Theme

              • Romantic
              • Family
              • Away From It All

              Car

                  • Necessary

                  Activities

                  • Cycling
                  • Swimming
                  • Fishing
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Antiquing
                  • Tennis
                  • Golf
                  • Surfing
                  • Surf Fishing
                  • Kayaking
                  • Sound/Bay Fishing
                  • Playground
                  • Live Theater
                  • Marina
                  • Restaurants
                  • Library
                  • Beachcombing
                  • Miniature Golf
                  • Boating
                  • Shelling
                  • Scenic Drives
                  • Walking
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Not very thoughtful...

                    Not very thoughtful...

                    • Guest Kristin and Michael (United States)
                    • Date of stay 09/04/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/13/13
                    On our first full day, we came back from a morning drive to find the lawn had been aerated and pesticides sprayed, rendering the lawn, outdoor grill, and firepit unusable. (We weren't about to let our young children play on a chemically-treated lawn) We left notice of this on the counter, but the homeowners were more concerned that their towels were 'not dry enough', (despite an hour dryer cycle) deducting $20 from our deposit and never mentioning--let alone apologizing--for such poor planning and inconsideration on their part. Obviously, we will not be returning.

                    Owner response: We am sorry you felt the need to post a negative review only after having $20 withheld from your deposit, which we have never had to do before in 6 yrs. of renting. Your email to me the day prior was " We had a great time last week. First time in Charlestown, and we really loved it. I'm sure we'll be back before long." To address your review, the company that fertilizes our lawn does not provide any notice when they are coming, so we did not have knowledge of their arrival on this date and we are most apologetic the lawn could not be used for 24 hrs. We did not receive a note about this as you mentioned. The housekeepers found a entire stack of towels folded in the bathroom closet, close to soaked and all the sheets very damp. They had to completely rewash everything, as they already had a musty order from being left wet. This required an extra hour of their time, which needed to be accounted for with a simple $20 deduction from the deposit. As dozens of guests have experienced, and the majority of our guests are repeat renters, we have a high standard set for our property. This is reflected in what we offer vs. other local rentals. We would have been appalled if the next renters had to sleep in musty damp sheets and find wet, musty towels in the closet. We have our home checked above and beyond between each rental in order to provide what we advertise. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience that was passed on to you during your stay, but informing us would have been the best course of action. Our reputation as pleasant, very reasonable owners is important to us.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Beautiful home with pleasant owners

                    Beautiful home with pleasant owners

                    • Guest Marisa F.
                    • Date of stay 07/28/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
                    We have been coming to Charlestown every summer for years. We have rented several different cottages..This one was by far the best. We decided last minute on the week we wanted and Dana was extremely accommodating and pleasant to deal with. We found the home not only to be spacious, and beautiful but immaculate and perfectly located! We spent the majority of our time on the amazing screened in porch, and loved having the big yard and dead end road for the kids to ride their bikes..We came back every evening from the boat or the beach to rinse off in the big outdoor shower,grill dinner and then enjoy a fire in the fire pit...We already know we want to try and rent next summer and if it doesn't work out we will for sure have a hard time finding somewhere as perfect as the Paskalis's......We thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us and look forward to coming back...Marisa and Bill Faneuff-Madison, Brody, Liam and Cameron:)

                    Owner response: Marisa & Bill, It was a pleasure having you. We enjoy sharing our home and love to hear when it is thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated, as we have worked hard to make this the special cottage that it now is. We hope we can accommodate you again next year. Our repeat renters are special!

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Spacious, peaceful and beautiful

                    Spacious, peaceful and beautiful

                    • Guest Jessica B.
                    • Date of stay 09/01/12
                    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
                    We loved renting this beautiful house last fall. Even with some less-than-perfect days, you could spend the whole time relaxing in the HUGE screened-in porch and feel you were on vacation. The house was pristine, well-equipped, charmingly decorated and quiet; and the owners responsive to any question or concern at the drop of a hat. Washing machines great. The only thing that would make this house better would be to be able to rent it during the summer. Note that some local businesses are open only June - August. The walk to the beach was easy and pleasant, and the beach very large and great (this was pre-Sandy; don't know what happened since).

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

                    Owner response: Thank you so much for the review. We can certainly keep you on our "hit list" for occasional weeks we give up in the summer. We just gave up one week in July. I am personally jealous that you got to enjoy Sept. when the crowds are gone and the weather is at its best (usually). We continue to make small improvements every year, and our repeat renters notice this attention to detail. We hope to have you back soon.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Ideal Location

                    Ideal Location

                    • Guest Marie (Burlington,VT)
                    • Date of stay 05/01/12
                    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
                    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property in Charlestown. The owners are a pleasure to work with, and responsive to all our questions. The cottage is charming and well equipped, and the porch is fabulous! Its proximity to the beach, breachway, wildlife preserves, and generally scenic locations made it a perfect get-away for us. We also enjoyed the great variety of restaurants and shops. The area has beach-y charm and a small-town feeling. We'll be back, next time with our bikes!

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

                    Owner response: Paul & Ann, As annual repeat renters, we feel like our home is part yours. We appreciate how much you care for it like it is your own. We look forward to seeing you again this year.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • Very Clean and Comfy!!

                    Very Clean and Comfy!!

                    • Guest Sherry & Greg (Ellington, CT)
                    • Date of stay 08/13/11
                    • Review Submitted 08/26/11
                    This rental was by far the cleanest and most comfortable of all that we have rented. Sheets and towels being provided was a great plus! It is in a great location, very close to Westerly as well as Narragansett. We were able to ride bikes to Charlestown beach which is around the corner. Be sure to check out the adorable playhouse, Theatre by the Sea, if that's your sort of thing. A big thank you to the owners for being so accomodating and thinking of everything! We truely enjoyed this vacation and highly recommend this rental home!

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  Fall
                  Sep 3 - Oct 15
                  3 night min stay
                  $250
                  My Standard Rate
                  7 night min stay

                  $1,995

                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees and Rental Conditions:

                  • Property Damage Protection $49
                  • Taxes Not included

                  Cancellation policy:

                  100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.


                  This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                  Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 03/31/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Owner info

                  Year Purchased: 2005

                  About the owner: We are a family of four with two young boys. They will have memories for a lifetime coming to this special nook of the world. Life really does seem a little further back in time here. And that is exactly why we love it!

                  Why the Owner Chose Charlestown:
                  We fell in love with Charlestown for its small town charm and amazing beaches. We love that there are minimal choices....one market, one gas station, one bakery, one deli, two ice ice-cream stands, a few farm stands and restaurants. All locally owned and operated.

                  The Unique Benefits at this Cottage:
                  The beaches are beautiful and the salt ponds are wonderful for children to explore. We have taken our kids from birth here to swim, kayak, find crabs, fish...basically slow life down to enjoy the simple things and get lots of fresh air!


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english
                   

                  Photos

                  • Ultimate summer cottage living

                    Ultimate summer cottage living

                  • Vaulted living area with plenty of seating facing a wall unit with flat screenTV

                    Vaulted living area with plenty of seating facing a wall unit with flat screenTV

                  • Comfortable indoor dining, if desired

                    Comfortable indoor dining, if desired

                  • King bed

                    King bed

                  • Playroom/ Den with Queen futon

                    Playroom/ Den with Queen futon

                  • Beach rock floor entry

                    Beach rock floor entry

                  • Evening fire pit for roasting s'mores and making memories

                    Evening fire pit for roasting s'mores and making memories

                  • Off season, ride your 4 wheel drive vehicle right on the beach

                    Off season, ride your 4 wheel drive vehicle right on the beach

                  • Sunset over Ninigret pond

                    Sunset over Ninigret pond

                  • This is where you will live- 3 season paradise!

                    This is where you will live- 3 season paradise!

                  • Full kitchen

                    Full kitchen

                  • Queen bed

                    Queen bed

                  • Ultimate outdoor shower

                    Ultimate outdoor shower

                  • View straight across to Block Island from Charlestown Breachway Beach

                    View straight across to Block Island from Charlestown Breachway Beach

                  VRBO #340396

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2011.

                  Date last modified - Friday, August 23, 2013

                  $250 - $285 per night (USD)
                  5

                  2 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 6

                  View calendar: Updated 03/31/14
                  Minimum stay: 3-7 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Owner
                  Email owner
                  Speaks: english
                  This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement