Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room with FP TV recliners and river view

Taos Rio Eco Dwelling on the Taos De Fernando River [#340994] | View Property

Taos
2 Bedrooms (1 BR + studio w/ queen Murphy bed), 2 Bathrooms, Laundry, sleeps 4
$130 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • What a wonderful place

    What a wonderful place

    • Guest Marlon F. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    Taos Eco is about a five minute drive to Taos. Very clean and has everything you if you are cooking during vacation. Very relaxing to enjoy the hot tub and the steam in the back yard. Although close to the road you won't notice much noise. I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay there again. Pleasure to work with the owner.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A tranquil place with all the amenities, and more

    A tranquil place with all the amenities, and more

    • Guest colleen c.
    • Date of stay 05/13/13
    • Review Submitted 06/17/13
    This place couldn't be more perfect. Morning coffee on the stones outside with the bright sunshine and creek. Days spent in the mountains with signs of bear and elk all around. Evenings relaxing with wine and lovely meals cooked in the lovely kitchen that has everything. Seriously, this place has everything you need. Even the knifes are sharp enough to cut tomatoes without smashing them. Great home with very cozy beds and furniture. The hot tub was such a bonus. It was such a tranquil place to escape and we are so very grateful. Next time we visit Taos, we will stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Lovely Gem

    A Lovely Gem

    • Guest John S.
    • Date of stay 04/11/13
    • Review Submitted 05/01/13
    This house is a lovely gem, small but multifaceted and shimmering with light. Every facet defines the whole, from the river/cloud/mountain lines of the innovative cabinetry to the echoing motif found in the dish and glassware. Our visiting daughter lives in Seattle, land of outdoor adventure and she was amazed at the beauty and variety of hiking trails, the charm of the stream just beyond the hot tub and the 2 days of fluffy snow which capped the trees and the serene Buddha. Nancy C and John S and Shanti Minnesota

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to rejuvenite

    Wonderful place to rejuvenite

    • Guest Rysio (Norridge, IL)
    • Date of stay 02/27/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    We had absolutely wonderful stay at Rio House. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated; custom kitchen cabinets, custom beds. Great and relaxing place to spend time after all day skiing. We all really enjoyed the sound of the rushing river soaking in the hot tub. The stars at night were amazing we don't get to see so many coming from the city (Chicago). Dealing with David was a pleasure. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Taos

    Taos

    • Guest bill (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 12/10/12
    • Review Submitted 12/20/12
    Great spot. I would probably suggest the owner to inform people staying in the winter the it is a little tricky to get out of the drive way with deeper snow on that blind corner of the highway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for posting your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the house and your stay in Taos. Thank you also for noting that guests need to use caution exiting the property (esp. during winter months) as visibility is somewhat limited in one direction. We have been blessed with some good winter snow and when they plow the road a mound of snow is often left at the entrances to driveways, which can make it more difficult. We also recommend all wheel drive vehicles during the winter months for greater traction and safety as well. We will put emphasis on this in our printed materials. The winter snowfall is a very welcome sight for the forests, ski areas and water supplies of the area. We hope you can visit again in winter, spring, summer or fall. All seasons are great in Taos! Thanks again for drawing our attention to this important safety observation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome Rental!!

    Awesome Rental!!

    • Guest Teresa E.
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 10/03/12
    The pictures don't do this property justice! Not only is it beautiful on the inside, but very well landscaped on the outside. The proximity to Taos is perfect ~ just a short drive into town. Very comfortable and very well thought out with all the amenities of home! The owners are a pleasure to work with and strive to make your stay perfect. We enjoyed coffee on the back patio every morning and relaxing in front of the big screen TV at night! This is such a beautiful "home away" and highly recommend to anyone considering. Michaels in Taos is the place for breakfast and if you get a chance, Ojo Caliente for dinner and a soak in your own private outdoor mineral pool. We can't wait to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Taos Canyon Eco Dwelling

    Taos Canyon Eco Dwelling

    • Guest Karen & Bob (Las, Cruces, NM)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    The Eco Dwelling was everything and so much more than we expected. At first we were concerned with proximity to main road into Taos Canyon, but found the home to be quiet, relaxing and cool, the perfect retreat from a hot summer day. Easy access to all the sites of interest. The home was so well appointed with everything we could possibly need. We enjoyed grilling on the back deck and admiring the little spring running behind the house and watching the hummingbirds darting by. The owner was available by phone to guide us with any questions we had. Would definitely recommend to other vacationers,. Delightful change from the heat and dry air of Las Cruces.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ideal Vacation Rental

    Ideal Vacation Rental

    • Guest Suzanne K.
    • Date of stay 05/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    Look no further for lodging in Taos. The Rio House is the place to stay. Despite the Rio House's close proximity to highway 64, the owner's have created a beautiful and serene setting, both inside and outside. The Rio House is equipped with all of the comforts of home. The Von Design cabinetry and furniture are unique, comfortable and very practical. The eco features of the Rio House are no longer a trend but a necessity. We were thrilled to find an eco-friendly dwelling to rent. The owners were easy to work with and very responsive. We hope we have the chance to return one day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Like a 5 Star Resort Getaway!

    Like a 5 Star Resort Getaway!

    • Guest Holly (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    Staying at the Taos Rio Eco house was like staying at a 5 star resort getaway! Nestled on the side of the mountains, beautiful trees and a running stream behind the house, and beautifully designed, furnished, and stocked...we had the perfect, relaxing vacation. The owner made sure we were comfortable and happy, even leaving a welcome note and bottle of wine upon our arrival! The home is beautifully designed, with custom wood work of the owner's son throughout the home. The tempurpedic beds were very comfortable, and we took advantage of the outdoor out tub every evening! We stayed for 2 weeks, and the owner even included a cleaning service mid-stay. We would definitely come again, and without hesitation would highly recommend this home to couples or small families wanting a relaxing vacation in Taos!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Week-end stay

    Week-end stay

    • Guest Trish B. (Denver)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/14/11
    What a fabulous house! The photos can not do justice to how lovely the setting is or how wonderful the interior is. Every detail was attended to from a fully equipped kitchen, soft towels, interesting art work, comfortable furniture, all in such an interesting architectural eco environment. The hot tub was icing on the cake - we took full advantage of star gazing while soaking in your jetted tub. I highly recommend this house to anyone wanting a special Taos experience! And I look forward to returning as soon as possible. It was magical!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Baby Moon at the Taos Eco Dwelling

    Excellent Baby Moon at the Taos Eco Dwelling

    • Guest Jamie C. (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/04/11
    • Review Submitted 09/14/11
    We had a wonderful week down in Taos at your home. Thank you again – we look forward to our next visit down there! Thanks! PS. As we were leaving, it was raining...and there was snow in the mountains:) It was so delightful to see the first snow of the season just outside Taos. It was beautiful!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unique Getaway

    Unique Getaway

    • Guest gretchen m.
    • Date of stay 08/21/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    We just returned from a week at the Rio House and are already planning a January trip to both ski and attend a ceremonial dance at the Taos Pueblo. The house is so wonderfully designed with an open area leading to a great deck - right on the river, waterfall and all. The landscaping is charming - there's a pond in front of the house, which in and of itself, has a great rusted metal finish. The cabinetry throughout the home is beautiful. The property, inside and out, is very clean, well maintained and quiet. Every amenity is included. The bedrooms are on either side of the kitchen-living space are equally well appointed and comfortable. We loved being able to take long hikes (William's Lake at 11.000 feet) and shorter ones (Divisidero right down the canyon). The hot tub off the deck was especially inviting after the long hikes. With only the sounds of the river and more stars than we've ever seen before, we hated to get out. We had wonderful meals in Taos at Orlando's, the Guadalajara, Doc Martin's, and the Firefly - dinner on the patio - it doesn't get any better. All in all, we have only rave reviews for this home and can't wait for our January trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are thrilled when guests really enjoy their stay and want to return to experience Taos and the house in a different great season!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Week

    Wonderful Week

    • Guest Jerrell R. (Dallas, Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/17/11
    We spent a week in mid-August and had a great time. The house is extremely stylish and comfortable with every amenity. The location is very convenient to travels into Taos and on a great little bend in the river. The owners were very attentive and responsive to all of our needs. We would recommend this home for a quiet retreat and great setting.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Taos Rio House

    Taos Rio House

    • Guest GAYLE G.
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    Owners thought of numerous details to make guests feel comfortable. Property is aesthetically pleasing. Enjoyed the hot tub. I would not, however recommend this property to a friend or relative due to the fact that the property is located on 64 E highway (lots of traffic noise) and a noisy campground (dogs, children, etc.) in the back of the house. Children and dogs came around the privacy fence onto the owners' property. Enjoyed Graham's Restaurant in Taos and Wabi Sabi for shopping.

    Owner response: We are sorry to hear that a guest was disturbed by traffic and campers from the campground nearby. The 4th of July weekend is the busiest of the year in terms of traffic and campers. The campground is normally never full and usually nearly vacant. We appreciate guest's input and take their concerns seriously. We will close the small opening in the fence and post a sign so campers can't come onto our property. Traffic is usually only noticeable in the morning and late afternoon, but on holiday weekends such as the 4th there are numerous travelers and bikers making the scenic journey on the Enchanted Circle Highway. Traffic is a problem both in and out of town on holiday weekends. We suggest planning a get away vacation at non holiday times if at all possible to optimize the experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Reconnect with Nature

    Reconnect with Nature

    • Guest Erin S. (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    The Taos Rio House is a complete escape. The beauty on the inside matches the beauty on the outside... enchanting, cozy, peaceful... it is the perfect getaway. Sitting on the back porch, listening to the sounds of the river, the birds and the wind in the trees is a favorite memory. The design of this home is very unique... the colors, the wood work, the materials...it is just gorgeous. We cannot wait to return to this little piece of heaven. Spend the day hiking nearby or walking the streets of Taos, and come home to your own little nature at the Rio House.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Place - Wanted to Stay Longer!

    Wonderful Place - Wanted to Stay Longer!

    • Guest KellyT (Enid, OK)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/16/11
    The Taos Rio Eco House and property really have the "WOW" factor! We were so pleased when we arrived and didn't want to leave when it was time to go. It was beautiful and relaxing, inside and out. I truly wish I could have this house and setting waiting for us everywhere we visit. The owners were awesome. We also got to visit their larger house 1/4 mile away. It was completely different but equally wonderful. I would love to stay at the Rio Eco House again and would recommend their larger house as well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing by the River

    Relaxing by the River

    • Guest Taos lovers (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/01/11
    We enjoyed our first stay at this unique and environmentally designed home in Taos Canyon at the end of March,2011. David and Meredith are wonderful hosts providing all the essentials in the household. The house and grounds were even more stunning than the description and the site by the river is very relaxing. The property was immaculate and pride of ownership was very evident. I would highly recommend this home for those seeking a relaxing retreat. Taos favorites include: Dragonfly for lunch and great desserts, Taos diner for local favorites! We enjoyed the Pueblo and a quick drive to the hot springs at Ojo Caliente as a great day trip to "soak your bones". They also have some great hiking trails.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Brake at TAOS Rio

    Spring Brake at TAOS Rio

    • Guest Josh (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    My family and I stayed at the TAOS Rio property for spring brake. We were impressed with how large the space felt, very smartly designed. The wood work was beautiful, and everything is new since the home was just completed in January. Close to the good part of downtown, our favorite place to eat Doc Martins, and only 30 to 45 min from TAOS ski valley. I would recommend the space to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Taos Canyon Beauty

    Taos Canyon Beauty

    • Guest Susan & Ed (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 02/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/07/11
    We stayed here for a ski week in February and absolutely loved it. The house is brand new and the attention to detail is extraordinary. The smart layout makes this a very spacious house for its size, with ample storage for visitors. The owners have thought about absolutely every amenity. The kitchen is bright and very well-equipped, making cooking at home a joy. The rio in back is literally right beneath the master bedroom window; the sound of it at night was delightful. The morning sun coming in the back windows had us smiling every morning. Because we enjoy dining and shopping in the town of Taos, this location was more convenient for us than homes closer to the ski valley. The house is also right near the trailheads of some great hiking trails. For those wanting to stay in touch, the wireless internet worked great and the house has two flat screen TVs with satellite service in the living room and master bedroom with DVRs, and with surround sound in the living room. Owners David and Meredith will go the extra mile to ensure everything goes right and your stay is enjoyable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]