Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Little Bear Lodge 4 Bedroom/2 Bath Retreat with Unmatched Mountain Views

You sent a message to this owner.

Front View of Cabin

Front View of Cabin Rear View of Cabin View of Mt.Sneffels (14,150') from Deck Dining and Living Room Master Bedroom / Loft Donwstairs Bedroom / Suite Open Kitchen View from Valley Floor (Minutes Away)

Calendar

Last updated: 04/17/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:4 nights
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Ridgway cabin description

Very private, spacious and comfortable cabin located on a secluded and quiet 35 acres parcel on the end of a 3 mile long private road. There are 'forever' mountain views of the entire Sneffels Mtn Range from the large picture windows and deck of the house. The rugged Cimmarron Mtn Range is to the east and Pleasant Valley is a bird's eye view below. The views will keep you mesmerized for hours!

The house is 3 levels with the bottom level containing 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. One of the bedrooms is basically a mini suite with a sitting area and sliding door to the outside. There is also an enclosed laundry and storage room. The middle level has one bedroom, a bathroom, kitchen, dining room, living room and wrap around deck. The living room, dining room, and kitchen are all open which allows for great entertaining. There is also a wood stove in the living room. A large wrap around deck that is great for relaxation and spectacular views (along with sunsets and sunrises). The top floor is a loft with a bedroom and sitting area. This Master Bedroom / Loft has large windows with views of Mt. Sneffels from the bed. The couch in the sitting area can be pulled out as a queen bed. 3 couples can have complete privacy in the house while 5 couples can sleep comfortably.

The property (35 acres) has tons of trees and different views from every acre. It is fun to hike and explore on as is the private road leading to the house. The peace and quiet cannot be matched and you will be hard pressed to see a person or car during your stay. It is common to see many different types of birds around the house along with squirrels and chipmunks. Turkeys and deers are also quite common. You can sit on the deck and not hear a human sound for hours. Night skys are breathtaking at the house since the area is void of city lights and the sky is crystal clear.

The house is secluded, but it is not far away. It takes 15 minutes to get to Ridgway (the drive to Ridway is simply beautiful), 30 to Ouray, around 50 to Telluride, 90 to Silverton, and two hours to Durango. Ridgway is a great town to be next to with fantastic restaurants, charming stores, and a micro brewery to die for. Ouray is of equally high caliber and only 10 more minutes away. Keep in mind that it is all dirt roads from the house to the highway, but the roads are all maintained and in excellent condition.

If you love wilderness, mountains, seclusion, and access to some of the grandest scenery in the country, this house is the place to stay. Everyone who visits this area and my house comes back. It is very special.

Keywords: Acres, Private, Secluded, Mountain Views, Valley Views, Modern, Lots of Amenities, Close to Town, Beautiful, Log Cabin, Cabin, Country, Spacious

Property Type

  • 2500 sq. ft.
  • Cabin

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Pets Considered
          • Non Smoking Only
          • Children Welcome

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Cooking Utensils
          • Dishwasher
          • Microwave
          • Refrigerator
          • Kitchen

          Amenities

          • Clothes Dryer
          • Wood Stove
          • Washing Machine
          • Parking Off Street
          • Linens Provided
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer

          Other Amenities

              • Library on Local Interest, Hiking on Property, Telescope, City Water, Towels and Linens, Complete Literature for Area, Private Owners Only Area, Wildlife, Bird Feeder / Lots of Birds, Southern Exposure for Maximum Sunlight and Warmth, Big Sunsets and Sunrises, Outdoor Furniture, Firepit, Portable Fireplace on Deck, Wrap Around Deck...moreless

              Entertainment

              • Video Library
              • Music Library
              • DVD Player
              • VCR
              • Stereo
              • Satellite / Cable
              • CD Player

              Communications

                  • Telephone

                  Outdoor Features

                  • Deck / Patio
                  • Outdoor Grill

                  Location & View

                      • Mountain View

                      Car

                          • Necessary

                          Activities

                          • Swimming
                          • Fishing
                          • Rock Climbing
                          • Kayaking
                          • Mountain Biking
                          • Whitewater Rafting
                          • Ice Skating
                          • Hunting Small Game
                          • Mountain Climbing
                          • Water Skiing
                          • Mountaineering
                          • Skiing
                          • Snowboarding
                          • Cross Country Skiing
                          • Tennis
                          • Hot Air Ballooning
                          • Rafting
                          • Cycling
                          • Snowmobiling
                          • Jet Skiing
                          • Hunting
                          • Hiking
                          • Golf
                          • Wildlife Viewing
                          • Walking
                          • Sight Seeing
                          • Horseback Riding
                          • Boating
                          • Scenic Drives
                          • Museums
                          • Health/Beauty Spa
                          • Cinemas
                          • Bird Watching
                          • Restaurants
                          • Shopping
                          • Medical Services
                          • Hospital
                          • Fly Fishing
                          • Hunting Big Game
                          • Freshwater Fishing
                          • Groceries
                          • Horseshoes
                          • Sledding
                          • Antiquing
                          • ATM/Bank
                          • Fitness Center

                          Other Activities

                              • Ice Climbing, Steam Engine Train Ride, Off Roading, Landscape Photography, Quads and Dirt Bikes, Nordic Skiing...moreless
                               

                              Reviews

                              Write a review
                              • Time With Family

                                Time With Family

                                • Guest AF Outdoorsman (San Angelo, TX)
                                • Date of stay 07/10/13
                                • Review Submitted 07/13/13
                                This will be a thorough review because I had such a great experience and want everyone who rents this cabin to have an equally great experience. Below is the outline for this review: -Overall Experience -Things to be aware of -Owners of the Property Our overall experience at this property was great. 0 complaints! It is nestled in a ridge/foothill with trees all around with a beautiful view of the Uncompahgres, San Juans, and Mt. Sneffels. Mornings are breath-taking. Afternoons in the rain are amazing, and evenings on the porch are classic. The home has more than adequate sleeping space for two families with children. There is tons of room. The furniture and beds are not something dragged up from a garage sale. This is a very nicely furnished and comfortable home that a lot of time and attention was put into. Be aware this is a cabin in the woods and not a 5 star resort. The home is nicer than any resort that I've stayed at but you must use common sense. Come prepared to stay at a home. It wouldn't hurt to bring necessities and things that you can't live without. (toilet paper, paper towels, specific pots and pans, and etc.) For clarification they have all of the above, but you won't have a maid restocking things or a concierge retrieving things for you. Ridgeway is not a long drive if you forget something though. There is a great grocery and dollar general store. As you make yourself at home treat it like your own home (assuming that you are respectful of your own home) and the infrastructure and conveniences of the home will be more than adequate. Also, make sure you read over the directions to the home and ask the owners any questions before you arrive. It is easy to find, but not if you look at the directions as your drive in the dark :-)! Yeah, I'm that guy. The owners are very hospitable and do a great job managing the property. If you have any problems or questions they will do everything they can to assist you and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. In conclusion stay at this cabin if you get the chance. It is an absolutely fantastic home and value. There is no way you could stay in hotels or motels in the area for this price and accommodate as many people as comfortably.

                                Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • renter

                                renter

                                • Guest kathy (louisville co)
                                • Date of stay 07/14/12
                                • Review Submitted 09/10/12
                                The house was INFESTED with mice!!!!! Upon arrival we immediately had to wash bed comforters-mice poop/pee on them. Went to bed first night and a mouse jumped out of the bed and later ran up and down our arms while sleeping!!!!!! Went to Ouray realty the next day and nothing was done until tues. Decon and sonic devices-we had asked for traps. Finally got traps thurs-caught 6and my brother killed 5 more that had been poisened but not dead. Could hear them running up and down the walls. No refund despite numerous attempts-only asking for 1/2 back-left early-what a great vacation!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

                                Owner response: These renters were anything but reasonable to deal with. Due to very dry weather, mice were out of control all throughout the county. I spoke to multiple friends, home owners, and realtors and found out that all were experiencing tremendous mice problems. My Manager did all she could do to make these people happy and was extremely proactive in finding a solution. We sent mutliple people to the house with traps and posion to deal with the problem. When I was notified about the issue, I authorized the manager to do whatever is needed immediately. We even allowed the renters to leave early and, of course, did not charge them for the days they were not at the house. This was a case of natural causes that we could not resolve over night. Critters live in the wilderness and my house is surrounded by nothing but nature. There are deer, turkeys, birds, squirrels, and chipmunks that live on the property and unfortunately mice also. This year was the first time in over 8 years that mice got into the house. I am sorry that the renters experienced this issue, but this was a freak natural occurance. We did all we could do to resolve it, but all that was on their mind, was getting a huge refund. There is no mention of any other issue than mice. This is not a "house" defect and this is not an ongoing problem. I have tons of visitors that have signed my quest book with nothing but praise and love for the place. Since their supposed horrible visit I have had people (including me) stay at the house for 2 months solid and no one has seen a mouse. Probelm solved! Other people in the county are still experiencing mice problems. I am sorry that the guest had a bad experience, but staying in the house for almost the entire stay and then demanding 1/2 their money back way after they leave is not a way to solve the problem. My manager was completely baffeled by this whole incidence. I will be more than happy to guarantee any future guests that mice won't be a problem and that their stay will be beyond fantastic at this wonderful house. I will also furnish copies of my guest book that show how many people have had a great time at the house.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                               
                              Rental basis: Per property
                              Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                              Summer
                              Jun 21 - Aug 17, 2014
                              4 night min stay
                              $240
                              $1,425
                              My Standard Rate
                              4 night min stay
                              $225
                              $1,350

                              Additional information about rental rates

                              Fees:

                              • Refundable Damage Deposit $300
                              • Pet Fee $50
                              • Cleaning $145
                              • Taxes Not included

                              Notes:

                              IMPORTANT:

                              A $300.00 reservation deposit is required to hold the property! $100.00 of this deposit will be applied to the rental rate with the balance due 30 days in advance of check-in. The remaining $200.00 will be held as a cleaning & damage deposit.

                              Deposit is due within 10 days of verbal reservation to secure dates. Rent is due 30 days in advance of rental period.

                              Maximum occupancy of 10. Additional guests may be approved, subject to a $15.00 per person surcharge. No Smoking. Pets by Approval with additional Pet Deposit of $50.00. Cancellations occurring within 60 days of check-in will result in forfeiture of deposits.


                              This owner accepts: Credit cards.
                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                              Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                              Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                               

                              Calendar

                              Last updated: 04/17/2014
                              Check availability
                              23 Available
                              21 Unavailable
                              22 Today
                              23 Selected dates
                               

                              Location

                              • Nearest Airport: Montrose at 45 Miles
                              • Nearest Train: Silverton Durango Narrow Gauge at 61 Miles
                              • Nearest Motorway: 62 at 7 Miles
                              • Nearest Barpub: Colorado Boy, True Grit at 12 Miles
                              • Nearest Ski: Telluride at 45 Miles
                              • Nearest Golf: Log Hill at 10 Miles
                              • Nearest Restaurant: True Grit, Drakes, Colorado Boy, Old Adobe at 12 Miles
                               

                              Owner info

                              Year Purchased: 2005

                              About the owner: I am a president of a Label Company and my primary residence is in California. Our dogs enjoy the area as much as we do! Our favorite activity is Jeeping on the hundreds of miles of trails that span across the mountains while taking tons of pictures. There is not a better place in the world for photography. I hope to retire some day in Ridgway.

                              Why the Owner Chose Ridgway:
                              I love mountains and I believe the San Juan Mountains are some of the most spectacular in the country. I had taken every off road trail in the region and hiked most the trails and have yet to find one that is not spectacular. Every day I explore these mountains I find more beauty and reasons to fall in love with this special area. The seasons are spectacular from the vivid summer flowers to the glowing fall leaves and colors. Winter could not be any better with delightful snow that is great for both skiing and snowmobiling. The small historical towns are delightful as are all the restaurants and breweries that dot them. There are even wonderful wineries only two hours north in Grand Junction. After a handful of visits to the area, I decided that this was the area to have a vacation home. Finding the ideal location took a few more visits though. We looked at every town starting in Durango and moving up to Ridgway. One day while driving from Ridgway to Telluride I crossed the Dallas Divide on Highway 62 and was simply blown away by the view of the Sneffel’s Mountains range. While taking in the view, I told my wife that this is where we needed to find a house. Once we decided on the location, finding the house was the easy part. The house is a very tasteful log cabin located on 35 private and secluded acres that not only has excellent views of the Sneffel Mountain Range, but also the Cimarron Range. If offers a tranquil escape, yet it is still close enough to enjoy the special towns that are around it. Ridgway is probably the “less” popular towns in the area, but I feel without reason. The Ridgway area offers some of the best views in the San Juans and the town is charming with some amazing restaurants and shops. I dare to say the climate is the best of the area. It is a mountain paradise

                              The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
                              The house is located in what I consider to be one of the best locations on earth. The property is at the end of a 3 mile private road that is shared with only 15 lots. I have personally stayed at the house for a whole month and did not see one car or person while at the house. It is surrounded by 35 acres of wooded land that is great to explore. The views change from acre to acre and a hike to the top of the property affords unbelievable views of the valley and mountains. The house faces the Sneffel Mountain Range that is one of the very few mountain ranges in the country that stretched from East to West. The house also has great views of the Cimarron Mountain Range to the east. Another great benefit is that the house has a full southern view that allows for maximum light and warmth all day and big sunrises along with sunsets. A big wrap around deck and maximum windows in the front of the house allow for awesome views of the mountains indoors our outdoors. The house is secluded but it is not 'far away'. It takes 15 to 20 minutes to get to Ridgway, 30 minutes to Ouray, 45 to 60 minutes to get to Telluride, a little over and hour to get to Silverton, 2 hours to Durango, and less than an hour to get supplies in Montrose. While in the house, the Master Bedroom / Loft has big views of Mt. Sneffels from the bed and includes a couch to sit and enjoy the view. The Dining room, Living room, and Kitchen are all open and allow for great entertaining. The downstairs was just recently remodeled and is basically a Mini Suite that allows for lots of comfort and privacy. Another wonderful thing about the property is the constant wildlife that visits it along with the unbelievable quiet and seclusion. Leave your cell phone behind, forget about the wireless laptop (you can use that in town) and enjoy being in the middle of nature at it's best


                              Contact us

                              Speaks: english

                               

                              Photos

                              • Front View of Cabin

                                Front View of Cabin

                              • View of Mt.Sneffels (14,150') from Deck

                                View of Mt.Sneffels (14,150') from Deck

                              • Master Bedroom / Loft

                                Master Bedroom / Loft

                              • Open Kitchen

                                Open Kitchen

                              • Rear View of Cabin

                                Rear View of Cabin

                              • Dining and Living Room

                                Dining and Living Room

                              • Donwstairs Bedroom / Suite

                                Donwstairs Bedroom / Suite

                              • View from Valley Floor (Minutes Away)

                                View from Valley Floor (Minutes Away)

                              VRBO #341311

                              There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                              This listing was first published here in 2011.

                              Date last modified - Monday, March 03, 2014

                              $225 - $240 per night (USD)
                              2

                              4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                              Sleeps 10

                              View calendar: Updated 04/17/14
                              Minimum stay: 4 nights
                              Dates are unavailable
                              Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                              This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                              Get an instant quote
                              Owner
                              Email owner

                              +1 (970) 318-6860
                              9703186860

                              Speaks: english

                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                              Add vacation protection services to your booking

                              Three services to protect your trip:

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                              Get it now

                              advertisement