Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lounge Patio

3 Bdrm. Cottage with Boat Lift on Okanagan Lake [#342634] | View Property

Kelowna
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
C$200 - C$343/nt Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Charming Escape

    Charming Escape

    • Guest Activechica (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/16/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this charming lakeside cottage, with Tara providing excellent tips and organizational details to make our time in Kelowna as carefree as possible. Of all the VRBO's that I have shared, Tara's thoughtful touches ~ personal welcome note, wine and local treats along with the clear instructions for everything you need to know ~ are now my gold standard. The pictures accurately capture the charm of this special place, which during this time of year was more quiet than I would imagine than the summer when the other cottages and lake activities are in full swing. I can see why the quiet hours (11pm-7am) would be needed as the cottages are very close to one another and we could easily hear the next door neighbor's music. For family or friend reunions where a few cabins would be needed, Secret Point would be ideal. I would highlight a few things to consider to make sure this is the right place for your Canadian adventure: 1) 25 min drive from Kelowna. This is a windy road which seems even longer at night, so if your trip is primarily designed for exploring the region's wineries, hiking, biking, and enjoying BC restaurants, then you may want to consider a place closer to those areas and spend less time driving. If you want to enjoy the Lake and focus on activities at the cottage and nearby, then this place is great. 2) 2nd upstairs bedroom. This small room has a window (near the ceiling), yet it is not able to be opened so the room can feel a bit claustrophobic. We had lovely cool, fall temperatures at night, yet in the summer, this may be an issue. The Stewart's do have fans readily available, so it may not be an issue. 3) Stairs. If you have issues with stairs, this place would be challenging as there are steep stairs from the parking lot, down to the lake, and to the bedrooms. 4) Timing. Depending on your interests, I suggest Sept as an ideal time to visit this region if you want to not have the summer crowds, yet still be able to have services (like bike rentals near Myra Canyon) and particular winery tours (like ice wine), which were closed by mid-October. Overall, we had a wonderful time here and I would book anything that Tara was involved with!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much. It is our goal to make sure the cottage is exactly as it is described and pictured here. I'm glad my suggestions helped you plan a great holiday. You had wonderful suggestions and yes I agree with you, September is personally my favourite time of year out at the lake. Hope to have you back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Honeymoon

    Fantastic Honeymoon

    • Guest Trav and Sarah (Edmonton)
    • Date of stay 09/09/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    Quite simply the place is amazing. Beautiful cottage, amazing scenery, and very clean. Great place for those who like to be far enough away from the city to enjoy the quiet outdoors but still close enough to enjoy everything kelowna has to offer. Bonus of great information from the owner on what to do and where to go, especially when it comes to restaurants.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So happy you two enjoyed your stay and glad the restaurant guide I made was useful to you. It took me a while to compose the list based on my experience over the years. I love recommending places that we locals know about but get overlooked by visitors. Please come back again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent boating vacation

    Excellent boating vacation

    • Guest Sandra B.
    • Date of stay 07/05/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    Our family of 5 stayed at the Secret Point cottage for one lovely week. There was plenty of sleeping room for everyone, with the boys in the bunk room, our daughter in her own room and a nice master bedroom for my husband and I. The cottage was well equipped with all supplies, including kitchen supplies, board games, and beach toys. Having our own boat lift is a must for us, and we love boating on this part of the Okanagan Lake which is relatively quiet even on a hot summer day. My only reservation would be for anyone for has difficulty with using alot of stairs, which was not an issue for us.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stay at the cottage

    Stay at the cottage

    • Guest Chandra (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 05/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/25/13
    A beautiful, well kept, cozy cottage with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the place. We also thought the multiple landings were neat going down to the water. The weather did not cooperate with us the duration of our stay... actually the nicest day seemed to be the day we left so we did not get to enjoy all of what the place had to offer but we would definitely return if we go back to Kelowna. Thank you for thinking of everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you liked the cottage and I wish the weather would have cooperated for you. But hope to have you back again one day to enjoy the USUALLY sunny Okanagan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away from Home

    Home Away from Home

    • Guest Jessica (Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    The cottage at Secret Point is such a gem - I couldn't have been happier to stay there. The perfect getaway, it really did feel like our home away from home. Tara has thought of everything to make guests as comfortable as possible - everything is easy to find, easy to use, and clearly labelled. She was so thoughtful and even left us a bottle of wine and a card for our arrival. We loved using the outside patios to watch the sunrise, and the fire pit was a hit (one night we even saw the Northern Lights!). Paddling around the water on the little boat was also a highlight of our weekend. We were with another couple for four people total at the cabin, but we could have easily brought kids and still had a comfortable stay. I'd highly recommend this cottage to others and hope that we can make it back again sometime soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I'm so happy you enjoyed the cottage. The fall is my favourite time at the lake. Very quiet warm days and cool nights make it very cozy. I'm jealous though...I still haven't seen the northern lights! Looking forward to having you all back one day soon. Tara

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family of five plus a dog for one week in September.

    Family of five plus a dog for one week in September.

    • Guest Ted (Calgary, Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    Excellent value for the price. Full ammenities and provided in a spotless condition. All possible appliances, dishes and even condiments provided and maintained in exceptionally good condition. This facility is not suitable for the physically challenged account steep stairs from the parking lot to the cottage and multiple sets of stairs from the cottage to the lakefront. The owner was most helpful answering questions and was a pleasure to communicate with and we would recommend this property to anyone looking to vacation in this area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Westside Road Okanagen Lake Cottage

    Westside Road Okanagen Lake Cottage

    • Guest Nigel (Edmonton, AB)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    Fantastic views of the lake. Relaxing vacation. Everything provided including all entertainment needs.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great 3-Generation Family Week

    A Great 3-Generation Family Week

    • Guest Cardamum (Ottawa, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    I agree with the previous reviews, but if you were only planning to read the first paragraph of my review, then the most important aspect I can point out is that you take a very close look at all the many quality extras that are provided with this property, in stark contrast to the “four walls and three bare mattresses” you might get elsewhere for a similar price. You won’t have to load up the car with living supplies. We stayed during the last week of August as a party consisting of three families - my wife and I, her folks, and her sister, husband and two boys. The big stores are about 20 minutes south for shopping, and many well-known wineries are within easy range – including Gray Monk which you can see directly across the lake. After a day of wine tours, you can come back and spend the whole next day lakeside, reading and enjoying the wine you bought. The Strata is a mix of owners and renters, so we got a little more noise on Saturday and Friday nights, although there is an 11pm noise rule. The rest of the week was very quiet. The cottage itself is very modern, but with a very tasteful sort of rustic décor. Wi-fi and satellite TV are provided, something you might discount for a cottage vacation unless you have kids (and perhaps a grandfather) to keep entertained in between activities, or on the odd chance you get a rainy day. The outdoor decks are very enjoyable, either for daytime reading, an evening cigar, or using the firepit by the beach after dark. The stairs are winding and a bit steep, but gives the place a bit of an enchanting Swiss Family Robinson feel. The shore and water area are very rocky, preserved in part to protect spawning Kokanee, so water shoes are definitely a must. We very much enjoyed quality family time we got from our stay, and even the boys were asking if we could come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Vacation

    Great Family Vacation

    • Guest Golfing Canada (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    We booked into this cottage for what turned out to be a fantastic family vacation. This was a well appointed cottage in the heart of the Okanagan. The owner's have obviously taken great care to make sure we had all that we needed to enjoy our stay. We loved lounging on the deck and soaking in the views, we even commented that we hadn't turned on the TV for the entire week even though satellite TV was provided. It was also an easy jumping off point to explore the area, from wineries to Kelowna. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Remarkable Cottage Life (with every comfort)

    Remarkable Cottage Life (with every comfort)

    • Guest Echobridge (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    The title says it all. The property, the surroundings, the location, the value for money, the rental experience with the owner- it was all remarkable. I thought we were the first ones to ever stay in the property because it was spotless! The decor and furnishings were in A+ condidition. I stayed with my family, which included 3 adult teenagers and they loved it as well. Easy to BBQ, have a swim, roast marshmellows - and not miss watching the olympics on satelite or wifi. The cottage is part of a 'strata' of cottages build on the cliff of the lake providing excellent views while maintaining an appropirate level of privacy and ability to say hello to neighbouring cottagers. As a family we travel exentisvely and have seen the good and the not so good - but in this case we can't stop 'bragging' about this gem we found! We are very fortunate to have stayed at the cottage. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a Canadian cottaging experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure to have your family at the cottage. I certainly try to make sure that the cottage is exactly as you see it in the photos and we work hard to ensure every guest feels like they have a spotlessly clean home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Holiday

    Awesome Holiday

    • Guest Richard (medicine hat)
    • Date of stay 09/04/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    Three couples spent four wonderful nights at this lake side cabin,at the beginning of September I would recommend this property to anybody. All the essentials were there for our use, soap spices, towels, bath soaps, shampoo,etc. The view of the lake was wonderful, and the cabin was clean and very nicely decorated. The welcoming bottle of wine was a great touch to start our wine tasting holiday. A big thank you to the owners for a warm welcome and a great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Family Vacation Rental

    Perfect Family Vacation Rental

    • Guest Susy Q (Mission, BC)
    • Date of stay 08/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    We are a family of 6 that had a wonderful time at the Cottage. The boys swam the entire time as did our dog. We had smores over the camp fire every night and spent quality time with each other. The beds were very comfortable, ample towels (even for the beach), lovely kitchen and the soaker tub in the master bedroom was used daily by Mom. Thank you for a wonderful family vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We enjoyed having you as guests in the cottage. Family fun is what it's all about! Glad you enjoyed your stay. The tub is a great way to unwind (I knew busy moms would appreciate it) Hope to have you back soon, Tara

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Rae (Red Deer)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    My friend and I and our kids (ages 10-13) had a fabulous time at your cottage! The kids really enjoyed the dock, the water, and the amenities you provided for their entertainment. The adults enjoyed the proximity to the water, the lovely cottage itself and the quiet stay we had. We can't thank you enough for the use of the cottage... we hope to be back next year! Rae-anne & kids Karene & kids

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So happy to hear you had a great time at the cottage. We would love you to come stay again. Tara

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A beautiful and relaxing place to holiday

    A beautiful and relaxing place to holiday

    • Guest Cathy (Edmonton, AB)
    • Date of stay 07/03/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    We rented this cottage for a week in early July 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is so beautiful!! The photos just don't do it justice. The cottage is very well kept and in a lovely location, with its own private little beach that my son totally loved. It is also incredibly well equipped with everything you could possible need or want. The owners are wonderful to deal with, very helpful and so thoughtful with little personal touches added just to make it that much more special. It is relatively quick and easy to get to Kelowna where there lots of things to keep you busy. If you want to just stay at the cottage and relax it is ideal for that too! We will definitely be renting it again and would recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much Cathy, We hope your enthusiasm for the cottage helps others discover this great area of Okanagan Lake. Can't wait to have you back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John and Helen
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    It's been amazing to witness the quiet serenity of the cottage. It is with anticipation we wake every morning to the diverse and magnificent views of the lake.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun with Friends

    Fun with Friends

    • Guest Joanne (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    Thank you Tara! All 9 of us really enjoyed our stay at your cottage on the Okanagan Lake. The place was very well kept, tidy, and had all the comforts of home, including a flat screen TV to watch the game. Favourite activities included fishing in the dingy, lounging on the dock, singing songs and eating s’mores by the fire, BBQing dinner on the patio overlooking the Lake, and winery hopping in West Kelowna. Cheers, Joanne and Friends

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: Thanks Joanne, everything you mentioned that you enjoyed is exactly the atmosphere and fun we hoped the cottage would provide for our guests. A fun, relaxing getaway on the lake while enjoying the sights and activities of the surrounding area. Glad you had a great time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]