Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room with Dining Area and Kitchen in the Background

Luxury Kiawah Oceanview Villa [#344098] | View Property

Shipwatch Villas
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 5)
$1000/wk - $1800/week plus 12.5% tax
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • vacation

    vacation

    • Guest Cathy M.
    • Date of stay 11/11/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    as others have written this is a Fantastic condo. This unit is just as pictured. It was so clean and met all our needs. The location could not be better. There were Four adults...quiet and enough space for each Of us. We highly recommend this unit! Lisa is a joy to work with and answer every question we had and responded quickly! The 4 of us would definitely stay here again on our next visit! Thanks again, lisa

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Girlfriends Retreat

    Girlfriends Retreat

    • Guest Karen M. (Bayview)
    • Date of stay 10/23/13
    • Review Submitted 10/31/13
    My friend and I graduated from the College of Charleston and visit back home regularly. This year we decided to stay on Kiawah Island for the first time and found this listing by Lisa. The property was exactly as described and pictured. It was very clean and well stocked. Lisa provided chairs, umbrella and towels we would need for the beach and I might add, we had perfect weather. Lisa provided many recommendations however, we chose to stay close to the island and only ventured to Bowen's Island Restaurant (which she recommended) where we consumed fresh steamed oysters that were awesome. There is a great breakfast in the Straw Market which is next door to the property. The bike trails at Kiawah are fabulous. You can get a map or just be aventurous. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay on Kiawah Island, S.C.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Rita and David Hatfield

    Rita and David Hatfield

    • Guest Butterfly (Huntington, WV)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    Fantastic condo. This unit is just as pictured. It was so clean and met all our needs. The location could not be better. There were Four adults...quiet and enough space for each Of us. We highly recommend this unit!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A lovely summer's end

    A lovely summer's end

    • Guest CJ (Munich, Germany)
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/16/13
    This was a very lovely vacation rental and one of the best equipped I've stayed at. This helped a lot since we flew from Germany and packing beach chairs, beach towels and beach umbrella just doesn't work. It's obvious the owner has made great effort to make this a beautiful place and it shows. The location of the rental apartment is good with a nice view of the ocean. I felt the internet description was accurate. I would recommend this vacation rental to others. The only disappointment was our kids were not allowed to use the pool facilities on the island because we didn't have a tennis club rental. Oh well.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great week!

    Great week!

    • Guest beachlover (Mouth of Wilson, Va.)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    This was fantastic! We have stayed at several properties along the ocean in the Charleston area and this was easily the best! The superior quality of the condo was easily felt. Great location for beach access and nearness to the resort entrance. Bikes on the beach and on the paths was a favorite activity. The owner went out of her way to ensure that we had a wonderful experience! That is not always the case! The only negative was that we could not stay longer! We are very hopeful that our schedule permits us to stay here again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Vacation

    Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Samantha S.
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    This was our first experience with VRBO. It couldn't have gone better. Lisa was wonderful from the first time that I contacted her. It was also our first vist to Kiawah. She gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and activites. The condo was very clean and had everything we wanted. We didn't need to bring towels or chairs for the beach. She had a closet full of of beach chairs, umbrella, and buckets. My boys, ages 10 and 13 loved it! We spent a lot of time at the beach and riding bicycles. It was wonderful to get up every morning to have coffee on the balcony looking at the ocean and occasionally spotting a deer. Also, tennis courts are across the street. This made my family very happy. A wonderful experience!! We are hoping to visit again soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great beachfront condo

    Great beachfront condo

    • Guest Mountainmama (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    This is a great condo -- with incredible beachfront access! It was very clean and everything was as described in the listing. We didn't explore too much of Kiawah or Charleston for that matter, because we wanted to spend every moment on the beach. However, within a mile of the condo is Freshfields Village. This has a wonderful grocery store with gluten free options (if you need it), farmer's market on Monday afternoons, lots of shops and places to explore. Lisa, the owner, is terrific to work with too -- very responsive and helpful. We were there for the 4th of July and sat on the beach to watch two different firework shows. The view under the star-filled sky was amazing!! We had a terrific stay and look forward to another visit to Kiawah in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful ocean view condo

    Beautiful ocean view condo

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
    We had a wonderful time at Kiawah Island. It was a first time visit for the four of us... The condo we rented was everything the website showed and more. Lisa was so wonderful. She was there for anything we needed and was just a phone call away. One of the beach umbrella's had a missing part, & she bought a new one & had it to the beach within a half hour. Now that's service!!! Lisa recommended a specific place to rent bicycles, & it was great. They delivered the bikes, & were the most reasonable in the area. She also had a nice list of restaurants that she recommended. We highly recommend the Italian restaurant Wild Olive... Very elegant decor, but casual dress. Food was excellent & the staff was awesome. Also, Red's Icehouse in Seabrook. Outside/inside dining, right on the water & you can watch the fishing boats come in. Wonderful fish dinners & a little bit of everything on the menu... Lisa's condo was so neat and clean. It looked even better than the pictures. The art is exquisite! It was wonderful having coffee first thing in the morning on the balcony, looking at the ocean, listening to the crashing waves & people walking on the beach!! We enjoyed watching the deer & the rabbits that would come thru the yard during the day. so peaceful! The weather was fantastic, we didn't even use the air at night, we opened the sliding doors & let the ocean breeze blow in! All the flowers & trees were in full bloom & the property looked absolutely beautiful... I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants a beautiful place to stay with great ocean views & a wonderful owner to help with anything you need. Thanks again Lisa & we will be back sometime in the future!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Shipwatch villa

    Shipwatch villa

    • Guest Patty (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    Excellent place to stay and the owner Lisa was exceptional! It was the middle of January and we were very comfortable an still enjoyed the beach. If you get a chance stay at Lisa's!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Unsurpassed customer service!

    Unsurpassed customer service!

    • Guest Tennessee travelers (Cookeville)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/01/12
    My husband and I recently spent a week in this beautiful and wonderfully appointed villa on Kiawah Island. Should you arrive to find you forgot something, don't worry...you'll likely find it here. From beach chairs to beach towels, board games to books, you'll have everything you need to enjoy a relaxing time both inside and out. Thoughtful touches throughout make this rental feel like a home-away-from-home. For everything else, please don't miss Newton Farms in Freshfields Village...the best grocery store ever! This villa is every bit as lovely as it appears in the photos and is made even more so by the owner's attention to detail and commitment to her customers; thank you, Lisa, for everything.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ohio

    Ohio

    • Guest Jill Lovett (Dover, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 06/05/12
    • Review Submitted 06/19/12
    We've been vacationing at Kiawah for over 20 years, and this condo ranks up there as one of the nicest we've stayed in. The pictures and descriptions are accurate. It is CLEAN, and very well-maintained. The views of the ocean were great. Even though there were only 2 of us, having the extra bed and bathroom afforded us ample space. Lisa, the owner, was wonderful to work with and very helpful with any questions I had. I would recommend Lisa's condo to my family and friends and look forward to staying there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Enzo & Kathy (Massillon, Ohio)

    Enzo & Kathy (Massillon, Ohio)

    • Guest mkathyf (Massillon)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/26/12
    Our children just graduated college and we wanted to try to sneak in a family trip before the opportunities became elusive. It was fabulous. Our stay in Lisa's condo at Shipwatch was exceptional and perfect! We have been to Kiawah before and stayed more towards East Beach, but have decided we like this location the best! It is next to the Straw Market...very good breakfast! More convenient/easy access to the beach than Windswept was. The condo is a corner unit, with large windows on the ocean side and the end side, which makes for wonderful, fresh air breezes! We slept to the sound of the ocean! The condo is clean and charming and the beds are very comfortable. Many movies and music (Lisa, I was impressed to see the Beatles! lol) Of course, there is so much to do, that we never really turned the TV on. Also, several board games. The kitchen has everything you need...not like some other condos we have rented. It is a quick and easy 35 minute drive to Charleston and only 10 minutes down the road to the grocery store and shops. Lisa is more than helpful and will give you tips on anything you need. We also drove @ 10 minutes outside the Island (turn left onto Maybeck Road) to an old fish market, where the fishing boats come in. We bought 4+# of very large shrimp for only $10.00/#. The owner gave us her recipe, which was fabulous. As a family, we peeled and ate the shrimp on the balcony overlooking the ocean. It doesn't get much better than that! Rent bikes (not from Kiawah...more expensive) They will deliver your bikes to the condo. Renting by the week, even if you only need for 3-4 days, is the less expensive way to go. (it was more for 3 days than for a week) You can ride forever on the bike paths or just take walks. Riding on the beach is a real treat, too. Really nice in the morning or early evening! There is so much wildlife to see...we saw a bobcat, several alligators, of course many bird species and even a wild turkey with it's chick, right along the bike path. Of course, the beach speaks for itself. It is probably the best beach I have ever been on. It is a great beach to walk along, with a lot to see! And, the water is so warm! Lisa provides beach towels and beach chairs and umbrellas, which is so nice to not have to pack! Thank you! All in all, it was perfect! The condo, the location, the weather and my family! Thank you. I am bringing my parents in the fall!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful week on Kiawah Island!!!

    Wonderful week on Kiawah Island!!!

    • Guest Todd & Shell (Dungannon, VA)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    This was our first trip to Kiawah. The condo was very clean and comfortable, the best condo we have ever rented on VRBO. Lisa was very helpful in answering our questions and responded promptly. The condo is in a very convenient location to beach, bike paths, and markets. Would love to stay here again on our next visit to Kiawah!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visitors from Montana

    Visitors from Montana

    • Guest Leslie M.
    • Date of stay 03/26/12
    • Review Submitted 04/01/12
    This property and experience on Kiawah Island exceeded all of our expectations. We have rented many properties on VRBO and this is by far the best place we have ever rented. Lisa was very gracious and helpful to us throughout the entire process. We came with another couple and all of us found the accommodations to be exceptional and extremely comfortable. My husband's only complaint was that he found the bed in the master bedroom to be too hard for his liking. Our friends found the twin beds in the 2nd bedroom to be very comfotable. The description and pictures do a good job of displaying the property and setting accurately. We loved the location to the beach and found the drive into Charleston for day trips to be an easy & enjoyable drive. Thanks, Lisa, for making this an affordable and quality experience.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Leslie, for your very gracious review. I'm glad you all had a great time and hope you'll come back again. When I was your age, I didn't need a firm mattress. Today I need a good firm mattress to support my sagging bones. All the best, Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Photos Say It All--This Place is Gorgeous!

    The Photos Say It All--This Place is Gorgeous!

    • Guest Mort & Sue M. (-)
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    As VRBO owners ourselves, we are very particular about the places we choose for accommodations when we travel. If a unit is not immaculate when we arrive, we are disappointed. If the view(s) or the interiors are not as depicted in photos, we are disappointed. If the kitchen is not well stocked with equipment for cooking our own meals,.... If the beds are not comfortable,...., etc. Staying in this Shipwatch villa, we were not at all disappointed. In fact, it was one of the best VRBO properties that we have ever rented. We especially appreciated all the original artwork and appealing color schemes in each area. It should be noted that there are two flatscreen TVs that have excellent reception. We also had no problem with the WiFi. Lisa is very pleasant to communicate with, and she provides very helpful recommendations re. restaurants and places to visit. Middleton Place is not to be missed! Nor is this villa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for that wonderful review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a Place. It's better than anywhere I have ever stayed!!!

    What a Place. It's better than anywhere I have ever stayed!!!

    • Guest La boheme (Pittsburgh,PA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/15/11
    The condo was spectacular! All the amenities were available as advertised and the decoration was tastefully done. I can't wait to return and spend another great week there. If you ever stay in Kiawah stay here!!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This condo is a gem!

    This condo is a gem!

    • Guest Jay (Southport, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/12/11
    When selecting a condo for our visit to Kiawah, we were drawn to this condo because of the ocean view and the colorful, bright, coastal furniture and decor, as shown in the pictures included in the property's description. When we arrived, we were blown away - it exceeded our expectations. The unit has very nice ocean views from decking that is accessible from both bedrooms and the living room. It is an end unit, which allows an additional side window in the living room overlooking beautiful vegetation. The location is great - ocean front with easy access to the beach, and close to the entrance to Kiawah and thus a short drive to Freshfields Village. The condo is well-maintained and very clean. It has been recently updated and the owner has thoughtfully stocked the property with everything you need. I contacted her several times with questions and always received prompt and helpful responses. I would absolutely recommend this property to others. We had a wonderful visit, riding bikes, eating at the various Kiawah restaurants, just relaxing on the deck with a good book and enjoying the wonderful views of the ocean.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Villa

    Beautiful Villa

    • Guest Donna & Dick (Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 05/19/11
    We have stayed in various locations and villas at Kiawah for the past four years, and we rated this the very best. We think Shipwatch is the perfect location for easy access to everything on the island. The location of the villa in Shipwatch is great. It has a beautiful ocean view from both balconies, and a pretty wooded view from the dining room window. The decor is pretty, bright and cheerful, and the villa is very well appointed. (although the living room TV should be larger). The beds were firm and very comfortable. Lisa was a joy to work with, and we look forward to staying in her villa the next time we visit Kiawah.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Donna, I'm going out to Kiawah today to see how we can change the armoire and put in a larger TV. Thank you for your lovely review and helpful comments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Everything we hoped for - first weeek of May, 2011

    Everything we hoped for - first weeek of May, 2011

    • Guest Traveler (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 05/03/11
    • Review Submitted 05/21/11
    This villa is exactly as pictured--yes, it's really that good. The "11 o'clock" ocean view from each of two bedroom balconies, sliding glass doors in every room for ocean breezes and sounds of the surf, spotless interior with fresh paint & cheerful decor throughout. The owners' attention to detail is evident in many thoughtful touches--towel selection, kitchen items; even books, board games/CDs/DVDs. But with the fabulous Kiawah beach a few steps away, who wants to stay inside?? We can't wait to return to this villa, and hope to do so often.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for that awesome review. We look forward to seeing you in the fall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Anniversary celebration

    Anniversary celebration

    • Guest Carol (Cookeville, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary and we chose Kiawah because we spent our honeymoon there 23 years ago. The condo was exactly as described. It was very clean, well maintained and the decor was perfect for the beach setting. The location was great. The weather was so nice we turned off the air conditioner and opened the windows and bedroom patio door just to listen to the sounds of the ocean. Lisa, the owner couldn't have been nicer. She made such a special effort to make our stay one we will remember for a long time. We would certainly recommend this condo to our friends. We look forward to staying there every time we visit Kiawah from now on.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Carol, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay at our condo and look forward to your next visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Southern Charm

    Southern Charm

    • Guest Happy vacationers (Sarnia, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 03/28/11
    My husband and I recently stayed at this property and was found it was completely as advertised. Very bright, clean and comfortable. The beds were just what the doctor ordered. The owners were easy to deal with and quick to answer any questions we might have had. The local shopping area - Freshfields plaza was great for all of our needs. We enjoyed golfing, walking the beach with access at our door step. The city of Charleston offered tons of history, shopping and great restaurants. We will be recommending this condo to family and friends.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your very kind review. I'm so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]