Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Not Your Average River House

You sent a message to this owner.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/18/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

New Braunfels house description

Please check the calendar for up to date availability

Convenient to all things New Braunfels, fully furnished home has been completely updated with wood floors, granite counters, stainless appliances and has a large backyard & multi-level deck.

**Walking distance to the crystal clear Comal River and Schlitterbahn**(voted World’s Best Water park 11 years in a row)

Walk over to Rockin'R tubes, Naeglin’s bakery (the oldest bakery in TX), other downtown Restaurants & Shops, and historic Faust St. bridge over the Guadalupe River, and the Public Boat Ramp on Lake Dunlap.

Drive 5 minutes to historic Gruene, Gruene Hall, Gristmill Restaurant plus many other restaurants, Landa Park and Golf Course, spring-fed pool, and Wurstfest.

Drive 15 minutes to the famous San Marcos Outlet Malls or Natural Bridge Caverns.

Still want more to do? Drive 35 min. to San Antonio or 50 min. to Austin for limitless activities!!!


Keywords: House

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Children Welcome:

            Perfect for children, walking distance to the Schlitterbahn and the Comal River....moreless

          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters
          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6

          • Bedroom 1

            ...moreless

          • Bedroom 2

            ...moreless

          • Bedroom 3

            ...moreless

          • Queen size Beds (2) Master bedroom and guest bedroom each sleep 2 people, queen beds., Double Beds (1) Guest bedroom has full size bed that sleeps 2 people...moreless

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen:

            Kitchen is fully stocked with all the amenities to make some delicious home cooked meals. Utensils, pots and pans, crock pots, coffee pot, roaster. If you need it....we have it....moreless

          • Dishwasher:

            Stainless steel Whirlpool dishwasher to make your job easier while relaxing on your vacation....moreless

          • Refrigerator:

            Stainless steel side by side GE fridge with ice maker and water dispenser....moreless

          • Cooking Utensils:

            Create meals from scratch with everything you need....moreless

          Amenities

          • Washing Machine:

            Washer and Dryer located in laundry room inside the home....moreless

          • Parking Off Street:

            Parking for up to 4 cars off the street...moreless

          • Air Conditioning
          • Linens Provided
          • Clothes Dryer

          Entertainment

          • Music Library:

            100 music channels thru the digital cable box and also an iPod docking station. Bring your iPod and enjoy all your favorite tunes....moreless

          • Satellite / Cable:

            (2) 200 digital cable channels, many of them are HD... something for everyone to enjoy....moreless

          • Television:

            (2) 50' flat screen TV in the den and 32' flat screen in the master bedroom...moreless

          • DVD Player
          • Stereo

          Communications

          • Free Long Distance:

            Free long distance in the US, Canada and Puerto Rico...moreless

          • Wireless Internet
          • Telephone

          Outdoor Features

          • Deck / Patio:

            Huge multi-level deck and covered patio, 2 tables and 10 chairs, plenty of room to sit and relax to enjoy your vacation get-a-way....moreless

          • Outdoor Grill

          Activities

          • Fitness Center
          • Medical Services
          • Mountain Biking
          • Rafting
          • Hunting
          • Groceries
          • ATM/Bank
          • Hospital
          • Massage Therapist
          • Laundromat
          • Freshwater Fishing
          • Swimming
          • Water Tubing
          • Cycling
          • Basketball Court
          • Golf
          • Hiking
          • Tennis
          • Fishing
          • Kayaking
          • Playground
          • Library
          • Water Parks
          • Theme Parks
          • Live Theater
          • Zoo
          • Health/Beauty Spa
          • Cinemas
          • Churches
          • Museums
          • Shopping
          • Walking
          • Miniature Golf
          • Sight Seeing
          • Horseback Riding
          • Boating
          • Restaurants
          • Antiquing
          • Scenic Drives
          • Outlet Shopping
           

          Reviews

          Write a review
          • Really beautiful house!

            Really beautiful house!

            • Guest Ama G
            • Date of stay 12/26/13
            • Review Submitted 01/09/14
            The house was beautifully remodeled, excellently kept. Great floor plan, beautiful backyard. Exceptional bathroom. The washer dryer option super convenient. No complaints!!

            Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Great Location!

            Great Location!

            • Guest Jmathes (Houston, TX)
            • Date of stay 09/12/13
            • Review Submitted 09/27/13
            My family of 5 stayed here and can't say enough about how great this house was. It's centrally located within walking distance of Schlitterbahn and the Comal River. The house has a very nice decor which makes you feel right at home accompanied by comfortable beds, brand new appliances, flat screen TVs, etc... The backyard is a great addition where there is plenty of space to cook out under a covered porch or to let the kids run around. Karen was super responsive and made us feel very welcomed during the entire process. We loved this place so much we already plan on coming back next summer.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, age 55+, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Great Stay!

            Great Stay!

            • Guest MD (Abu Dhabi)
            • Date of stay 07/22/13
            • Review Submitted 08/08/13
            My family and I rented this house for two weeks and enjoyed our time so much! It is a perfect family house, and a great place to enjoy the Texas summer with the river only blocks away. I only wish we could stay for another week. Karen was fantastic to work with, I highly recommend staying at the South Central.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, age 55+, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • Must visit here!

            Must visit here!

            • Guest Erin1321 (Erin1321)
            • Date of stay 07/18/13
            • Review Submitted 07/23/13
            We are so thankful for having found this house for our weekend stay. From the moment we walked in we knew we had picked the perfect house. It was spotless, organized, and extremely well decorated. The backyard was amazing and the ability to have the grill, games, and lighting made it that much more perfect on our evenings out on the porch! Thank you so much for helping us create perfect memories. We will definitely be back to this house!!!

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Beautiful home, Great location!

            Beautiful home, Great location!

            • Guest Mandy Marie (Rosenberg, TX)
            • Date of stay 07/03/13
            • Review Submitted 07/08/13
            My friends and I stayed in this gorgeous house for Fourth of July. When we arrived, my fiancée and I were disappointed that we forgot to bring our washer boards and horse shoes...but the home owner had both of these backyard games already stocked at the house!!! We were thrilled! She also had Corn Hole (another backyard game) and a closet full of children's games and dress up hats if you have little ones! She has thought of everything! The bedrooms were spacious and well decorated with beautiful (and also very comfy) beds. There was ample closet space in case you are a heavy packer such as myself, and dressers to put your folded clothes in too. It really makes it feel like home when you spend a week somewhere and you don't have to live out of your suitcase. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils and pots and pans and even storage containers for your leftovers. The large pantry came in handy for all the food and snacks I brought from home. The location was great because it was close to Schlitterbahn (walking distance) if you're planning on going there, walking distance to two public parks to float the Comal or do the tube chute, AND walking distance to my favorite New Braunfels restaurant, Pat's Place! (If you're craving a good burger, fried pickles, and a cold beer or even good Tex-Mex, Pat's is the place to go!) Overall, this house was perfect for our little group (6) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! I would recommend this house to other friends and family, and I will DEFINITELY be returning!

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, age 55+, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • Awesome House!!!

            Awesome House!!!

            • Guest cheryl r.
            • Date of stay 01/07/13
            • Review Submitted 07/02/13
            This a great house! My family of 5 stayed here for a couple of months and it was perfect for us! It's completely updated and furnished better than most rentals I've stayed in - good mattresses, beautiful bedrooms, comfortable couches, excellent washer and dryer (better than mine at my house!), great tv's, nice appliances, etc etc etc!!!! We loved the backyard - the privacy of the fence, the patio furniture, the trees - it was a great space for our 3 girls to play! The house is in a great location - close to everything. Within walking distance to alot of things. The owner was awesome to work with. She is extremely responsive - not hard to reach at all. If there was ever a question or problem, she was quick to help resolve it. We really appreciated her kindness and professionalism. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves back in New Braunfels! Charming little town - updated, quaint little house.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, age 55+, sightseeing.

            Owner response: It was my pleasure to have you and your family as my guest. Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for taking such amazing care of my home. Looking forward to you coming again to visit, maybe in the off season, the fall festivals and Wurstfest are great family activities. Thank you again!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Fantastic Home!!

            Fantastic Home!!

            • Guest kfree1711 (Katy, Texas)
            • Date of stay 11/02/12
            • Review Submitted 11/29/12
            Description was very accurate! It is a very nice home in a perfect location. We were there for Wurstfest and will be back for the summer as well! Very close to Schlitterbahn. The home is well kept, very clean, nice / comfortable furniture. Will be back for sure.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, age 55+, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • NOT a Van...Down by the River!

            NOT a Van...Down by the River!

            • Guest Jack (Houston)
            • Date of stay 07/07/12
            • Review Submitted 11/08/12
            We were looking for a place for fun and floating...in the center of it all. It's usually hit or miss in what you're going to find...and often times you end up in a "Van...Down by the River!" :) Much to our surprise and delight, we found this home a best kept secret! In summary this place Rocks! It's updated with wood floors, granite, stainless, flat screens, a great deck, firepit and the owner even left us some fun games as a bonus! (I won the life-size Jenga!) :) Above all this place was clean and functional across the board. The owner was very nice, responsive to our every need. It goes without saying we will be rebooking next year without question...so you're first in line...behind us! ;) This place books quickly for obvious reasons, so I'd recommend booking early or you will left in a "Van...Down by the River!" :)

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Decent property, but no hot water!

            Decent property, but no hot water!

            • Guest Family Traveler (Katy, TX)
            • Date of stay 08/19/12
            • Review Submitted 09/30/12
            The house was in good condition and in a very good location. The only problem (although it was a big one!) was that there was no hot water. We had 6 people staying for 2 nights and we never had hot water for our entire trip. The owner tried to have someone fix it after the first night, but apparently they needed to order some more parts. I was very disappointed that the owner did not make more of an effort to get it fixed while we were there. When I inquired about a partial refund, she refused. We still had a good time, but no hot showers after Schlitterbahn can definitely put a damper on the trip. I was very disappointed that the owner did not feel that we were due any type of refund or other consideration for missing one of the very basic amenities that we'd expect to find at any vacation rental.

            Owner response: I am glad you liked the house and location and most importantly had a good time. I understand your frustration but to be fare the $345 dollars in concessions toward the two night stay should have been mentioned in your review. Secondly, I personally called you prior to your arrival as soon as I was aware of the lack of hot water to reschedule or refund your payment. You requested to maintain your reservation with full knowledge of the issue and that contractors would be onsite during your visit to address the problem. Subsequently the necessary parts could not be located within driving distance and had to be shipped. Unfortunately the issue could not be remedied during your stay but I assure you nothing more could have been done to complete the repairs during your stay. As you can see by my ratings I take a very personal and sincere interest in my guest having a wonderful experience. To further demonstrate how sorry I am, I would like to invite you and your family to stay with us again and I will credit you one nights stay toward your reservation.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

          • Made great memories here!

            Made great memories here!

            • Guest Kim (Chandler, TX)
            • Date of stay 08/10/12
            • Review Submitted 08/16/12
            It was my first trip here...and we WILL be back and stay at this beautiful house! The location is great, a couple minutes to the water park and about 5 minutes to greune! Karen, the owner, was awesome as well. This house does have one bathroom which i was worried about, and with 6 adults it was a non issue. House was perfect!! Thanks again to Karen :)

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, age 55+.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

           
          RENTAL RATES
          Season                 Start Date   End Date       2 night rate     weekly rate
          Busy Season............Apr 30.......Sep 30........ $650/2 nights.... $1550/week.
          Off Season.............Oct 1........Apr 29........ $500/2 night..... $1300/week.
          Spring Break/Holidays..............................$925/3 nights.... $1550/week.
          Add $100 Cleaning Fee
          2 night minimum - 3 night minimum for Holidays and Wurstfest, weekly = 6 nights
          Refundabe Security Deposit: $500   Credit Card payments will include a 3% fee
          

          Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


          This owner accepts: Credit cards.
          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
           

          Calendar

          Last updated: 04/18/2014
          Check availability
          23 Available
          21 Unavailable
          22 Today
          23 Selected dates
           

          Location

           

          Owner info

          Year Purchased: 2010

          Why the Owner Chose New Braunfels:
          I have been vacationing in New Braunfels for the past 20 years and have always wanted to own a vacation get-a-way. Now that I finally do I'm happy to share my home with other families so they can create their own memories with all this small town has to offer.

          The Unique Benefits at this House:
          It's a short walk to downtown New Braunfels, the Comal River and Schlitterbahn where you can find places to eat, sights to see and things to entertain you. Drive to Gruene and enjoy all the historic sites and the small town friendly way of life.


          Contact us

          Speaks: english

          Links to more information:

           

          Photos

          • Newly install outdoor shower with hot and cold water

            Newly install outdoor shower with hot and cold water

          • Short walking distance to the Comal River

            Short walking distance to the Comal River

          VRBO #344451

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2011.

          Date last modified - Friday, April 11, 2014

          31

          3 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
          Sleeps 6

          View calendar: Updated 04/18/14
          Owner
          Email owner

          832-524-0727

          Speaks: english

          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Get it now