Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
From master bedroom patio; sunsets and
ocean views  perfect for morning coffee.

World Class Oceanfront Home [#345626] | View Property

Sechelt
2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps MAXIMUM 4 persons)
C$275 - C$375/nt Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Our perfect honeymoon spot: Simply the Best Beach House.

    Our perfect honeymoon spot: Simply the Best Beach House.

    • Guest Linda and Mike (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 03/23/14
    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
    We had initially wanted to take a trip a bit further away from our Bellingham WA home. but with only five days off from work, we closed in our boundaries and chose this Beach House in Sechelt. We've had pretty good luck with VRBO, but you just never know for sure. In this case we were delighted at each and every turn: the turn down the main road, the turn along the inlet, the turn into the community, and the turn into the steep driveway. But once we opened the door into the entrance hall, we just turned around in delight! Windows everywhere, looking at the water, and across the water to the rising green hills. Beautiful big kitchen with stellar appliances (so important to us cooks), and well equipped with everything you might need, all in excellent condition. Several sitting rooms, are brilliantly designed to bring in water views from many angles. And all rooms are lovingly furnished and appointed with beautiful items that found their way home from Turkey and other intriguing areas. Every surface is, in fact, enhanced by some unusual object: a hookah, a piece of jewelry, a carved box. a hand-woven blanket or pillow. And, to delve into the practical matters for minute…every aspect of the home, including the many objet d'art, are meticulously clean and pristine; not a speck of dust, not a scratch. That takes some dedication. Although it rained nearly every day we were there, we had no complaints. The views are wonderful no matter what. We had planned to be out and about a bit more, but for the most part, we were thrilled to just stay in the house and gaze out the windows. We're already looking forward to coming back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you very much for your overview of your honeymoon stay ! We're delighted you were so pleased with The BeachHouse. Truly wonderful to hear how much you appreciate the detail in our home. The house was in the planning for many years. During that time we lived in many countries collecting pieces along the way. If you have any suggestions that would further enhance your stay, please let us know. We are committed to not only meeting but exceeding guests expectations. Appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of our home. We will pass onto JoAnne, our house manager. She takes a tremendous amount of pride in keeping The BeachHouse being the best it can be. Again, thank you so much for choosing The BeachHouse for your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back. Its a delight to have such appreciative guests. Barbara and Fred Baines

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Atmosphere !

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The Perfect Atmosphere !

    • Guest Kat and Jon
    • Date of stay 03/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    This was such an incredible peaceful weekend ! The VIEWS! They are wonderful from every room and in all weather. If it rains while you're here, don't worry. the views will take your breath away. And if you're lucky, the clouds with burn off in the morning while you are laying in bed or soaking in the tub overlooking the sea. Loved the details in the house, the lighting and sound systems help you create the perfect atmosphere. We both had a lovely thai massage by Sharon at OmSweetOm ....bliss!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breathtaking views !

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Breathtaking views !

    • Guest Amy and Dan
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    Our stay at Porpoise Bay here at Simply The Best BeachHouse has been nothing short of amazing. We love the town, the friendly people and most of all this lovely home. From the views (breathtaking) to the lovely furnishings and warmth of the fireplace, this home has definitely breathed new life into our relationship. We will always remember our trip here to 'Simply The Best' for Amy's 30th birthday. I love spending every moment with her here and she loved it to. Thanks for sharing. We'll be back soon !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unbelievable Home ! and a private chef !

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Unbelievable Home ! and a private chef !

    • Guest Stacy and Andreas
    • Date of stay 02/23/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    Thank you for sharing 'Simply The Best BeachHouse'. We saw it all, snow and sun. It was truly quite wonderful. Also thank you to Chef Keith from The Saltwater Chop House for a fabulous steak dinner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    WOW!

    • Guest Leighton and Patty / Hawaii
    • Date of stay 02/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    Thank you for sharing your awesome home. Our entire stay was so very relaxing. We enjoyed the incredible views from every room and your amazing art collection from around the world. Thank you also for the gift of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed cooking I your 'amazing' kitchen. Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spectacular views ! great architecture!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Spectacular views ! great architecture!

    • Guest Kathy and Glenn
    • Date of stay 02/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    thank you for sharing your beautiful dream home with us. We certainly enjoyed the beauty of your great home, with great architecture and spectacular views from every point. Your wonderful collection of art throughout the home is fantastic! Being from Hawaii, the water, the fishing and the private dock were among the many highlights of this vacation. Aloha !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • our second visit

    Guest comment entered by manager

    our second visit

    • Guest Joanne and Mike
    • Date of stay 02/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    to Simply The Best Beachhouse and we can't wait to come back ! Awesome place. Thanks again, Barbara,Fred and Joanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing place!

    Amazing place!

    • Guest Sheryl B. (Dallas)
    • Date of stay 10/03/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    This place is truly a gem and was a perfect place for us to celebrate our birthdays/anniversary. We literally gasped with delight as we walked in the first time. We were immediately struck by the beauty of both the house and the views. There are several nooks that invite you to sit and read or just look out at the amazing view. We like to do our own cooking when we travel and this kitchen made that an easy task. There is a great stash of spices just waiting for you to use them so no need to buy any when you grocery shop. The only surprise was that the second bedroom is actually a sleeper sofa in the downstairs sitting room. Since we had invited another couple that was a bit disappointing. It worked OK but was not as comfortable as we had hoped and the middle-of-the-night bathroom trips up the stairs were not optimal. But we all agreed that this was not significant enough to change our rating. It is something you want to be aware of when making your reservation, though. The location of the house was perfect for us. It is off the beaten path so you really feel the sense of being away and yet it is close enough to easily use it as a hub for sight-seeing. There are tons of artist studios in the area and lots of great places to hike. Our favorite hike outing was through Smuggler's Cove followed by a picnic on the beach at Sargeant's Bay. And our favorite artist studio was the FibreWorks Studio & Gallery down the Sunshine Coast Hwy in Madeira Park. Both of these gave us lots of great eye candy! On our last morning we were treated to some wonderful wildlife views right from the dock at the back of the house. We enjoyed watching the seals and the gulls plus we found fish and starfish in the water right beside the dock. It was a wonderful end to a wonderful trip. I highly recommend this home away from home!

    Manager response: Sheryl, it was an absolute delight to have you and your guests at The Beach House. We are so pleased everything worked out so well. You travelled a very long way to celebrate your birthdays and anniversary and we can't thank you enough. The Beach House is truly a home where memories last a lifetime. We hope to see you again in the future. And thank you again for choosing us. Your hosts, Barbara and Fred

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely amazing home in an amazing location.

    Absolutely amazing home in an amazing location.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    I began looking for a vacation destination early in 2013. My mind was set on the west coast as previous trips there have left me wanting more. As it was going to be a special occasion for my gorgeous girlfriend and I, I wanted something special and it had to fit into a certain time frame (her birthday). One of the first sites that came up when i started my internet search was "Simplythebest", it looked great but did not have the days available that i wanted. Through my weeks of searching, trying to find the perfect place, I was continually drawn back to it but the days available to rent were not in my required time frame. In the end i could not draw myself away from it and booked it anyway. Once we had arrived i knew i had made the right choice, it is Amazing! The property is stunning, the views are indescribable. Whether its coffee on the deck off the bedroom, lunch on the deck off the kitchen, suntanning on the dock, sitting down at the fire pit next to the water or curling up with a book on the couch with a three window view of the inlet, it does not get better than this. Was able to relax and just enjoy the wonderful sights and sounds of 5 days of cloudless sky's and 25 degree weather. The best thing was that its relaxing ambiance help set the stage for me to pose a question. I asked my special lady to be my wife and she said yes. How much better can it get!! And last but not least; The owners are excellent, from answering my many questions, to the perks that were awaiting us when we arrived, I can't thank them enough. All in all a wonderful place to spent time. I hope to return as soon as possible..

    Manager response: Congratulations on your engagement ! We are so happy that you chose The BeachHouse for your special occasion! The welcome mat is out and we're looking forward to your next visit ! Barbara Ann and Fred Baines

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A gorgeous home in an extraordinary setting

    A gorgeous home in an extraordinary setting

    • Guest jane h. (-)
    • Date of stay 07/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    This beautiful home is located right on the water with lots of dock space for sun bathing and easy access for swimming. The house is truly remarkable and elegant but at the same time comfortable and relaxing. The owner does much to ensure that people feel welcome and have everything they need. There is also a property management person who was always available for questions or requirements. The town of Sechelt is an easy 10 minute drive and has everything you need although once we arrived, we were truly reluctant to leave. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and we couldn't have found a better spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • a very memorable getaway

    a very memorable getaway

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/27/13
    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
    My fiancee and I stayed here for three nights and we didn't want to leave Simply the Best! We felt right at home! It's absolutely a gorgeous property and we will definitely be back. The moment we parked and walked down the lovely steps into the front entrance and keyed in our password, we were in awe!! The minute we entered we heard spa music playing throughout the house and every wall of the house had windows with ocean views and greenery. The house was spacious and clean and decorated with unique collections. What you see in the picture is what you get! The architect is beautiful and the quality of the craftmanship is top knotch. Not to mention, there was even a complimentary bottle of red wine sitting on the breakfast bar awaiting for our arrival. AND, the kitchen has radiant flooring to warm my little cold feet!! I made sure I made good use of the kitchen everyday! We loved that the property is right on the waterfront with steps to the moorage/dock where we could enjoy some fishing as well. It's a peaceful and relaxing spot that's secluded and isolated but safe as there were residence nearby. It's also a short drive to town. The property is well stocked with all the usual kitchenware you would need. There was everything from linens, candles and even saran wrap and foil. We brought a lot of things that we didn't need. They also had manuals that explains how to operate the equipments in the house and they have a number to Joanne, the property manager, who's available to assist you with any inquiries you may have. It was one of the most relaxing and serene getaway from the usual and busy everyday lives. To top it off we got engaged here so we definitely have memories here and will definitely be back! Thank you so much to Barbara and Fred and their Property Management team who takes it very seriously to ensure their guest have a pleasant experience. On the second day of our stay, Joanne gave us a courtesy call to check up on us and upon our return, we received a Thank you card! The customer service and attention to every detail is very much appreciated and thank you once again! For the rest of you who will be or plan to stay at Simply the Best,....you are in for a real treat!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfection

    Perfection

    • Guest karen n.
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 03/31/13
    My husband and I have just moved over to Vancouver from London England and we wanted to have a week somewhere peaceful before we tackled all the admin involved in a big move. I can honestly say we could NOT have picked anywhere better. The house was absolutely beautiful, huge and spotless. Filled with interesting artefacts from all over the world, every room was designed perfectly with views to match. The architect of this property deserves an award. Every room is positioned to take full advantage of the breath-taking views of the water. We were so sorry to leave, standing out on the bedroom balcony at first light on our last day with only the sounds of the occasional bird and water ripple breaking the completely silence of the morning, my husband and I promised ourselves we would be back as soon as possible. Thank you so much Barbara Ann & family for sharing your little slice of heaven with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect in every way!

    Perfect in every way!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/14/13
    We have had the pleasure of staying here twice (and once before the renos!). Simply the best is absolutely beautiful and the views are spectacular. We have stayed in many places on the sunshine coast and this one is truly a 5 star. If you are looking for a blissful, peaceful getaway, this is the place to be. Thank you Barbara for sharing your lovely home and also for the little extras. The bottle of wine was a very nice touch!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience at the beachhouse. I'm sorry you had to leave due to an emergency ... please note the extra night will be added to your next stay at no charge. Thank you again, Barbara Ann and Fred

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Thank-you

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Thank-you

    • Guest Mike and Tracy
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    Thank-you for such a beautiful long Weekend. My baby is due between now and August 3rd and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing stay. Amazing house and surroundings

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • We had such a great weekend

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We had such a great weekend

    • Guest Robin Kate Chris and Gillian
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    Hiking and eating and enjoying the incredible views and kitchen of your beautiful home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • We had such a great weekend

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We had such a great weekend

    • Guest Robin Kate Chris and Gillian
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    Hiking and eating and enjoying the incredible views and kitchen of your beautiful home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • What a start to Our Honeymoon!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    What a start to Our Honeymoon!

    • Guest James and Imogen
    • Date of stay 05/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    James had organized everything. The greatest joy was to enter your magical land of solitude and serenity. We have been so blessed to stay in a place that is beyond the "best" home fit for royalty and a landscape made of dreams! Thank-you for allowing us to spend 5 days in such surroundings!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Simply The Best

    Simply The Best

    • Guest Bonni M. (Belcarra, British Columbia CANADA)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    My husband and I enjoyed our "first" stay at "Simply The Best Beach House" over the Mother's Day weekend. We had three beautifully sunny & warm days at this wonderful home on the water. We enjoyed fabulous views from just about everywhere in this expansive home. We especially loved the stunning views of the water while cooking in the gourmet kitchen, or watching sunset from the deck off the master bedroom. Master soaker tub was wonderfully comfortable (also with great view of the water). The home was spotless and the decor is lovely and ecclectic, making for a very warm and inviting vacation home. The rental process was problem free. Adele, the property manager, was very helpful and professional in every way. She made the process a very pleasant one. We would definitely recommend this property. However, you will need a strong back and legs, as there are many steep stairs from the base of the very steep driveway to the entryway of the home. We'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • This has been a majical vacation for us

    Guest comment entered by manager

    This has been a majical vacation for us

    • Guest Lorraine and Ralph
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    We will treasure our special memories of being in your beautiful stunning home. It was a much needed escape for us, which we appreciate more than words can say. The peaceful solitude and the magnificent of our BC coast were savored one moment after another. One the one side we were entranced by the flittering of hummingbirds, while on the other we were awed by a pair of Canada geese in their noisy flight, and then inspired by a majestic Eagle that sat for 2 hours outside our window. Thank-you for allowing us to spend 4 days in your dream home. We wish you many great years of happiness here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank-you for sharing your home.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Thank-you for sharing your home.

    • Guest Dianne and gary
    • Date of stay 09/21/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    The interior was such a feast for the eyes and the exterior too. We tried to pick our favorite items and it was very difficult. We narrowed it down to the stained glass lamp and the beautiful rugs. we will be back and for longer next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Imagine my Surprise!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Imagine my Surprise!

    • Guest Dave and Michelle
    • Date of stay 09/16/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    Imagine my surprise and delights when Dave let slip that we were coming to spend a couple days in Sechelt! We could not think of any better place to "turn off" than her on the water, surrounded by trees and the sea air. We were so comfortable and so pampered in the luxurious accommodations! Fred and Barbara, you have such an amazing home and you have done a spectacular job in providing a respite for all who visit. We are sad to leave but know that we will return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • The best place

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The best place

    • Guest Mike and Marlene
    • Date of stay 08/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    The best place to have our dinner prepared was in your beautiful kitchen. no need to go out! Thank-you Jack for all your tips on things to do and places to go. Each day was filled with fun and adventure. We have wonderful memories to cherish for many years

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • We had a wonderful and relaxing time.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We had a wonderful and relaxing time.

    • Guest Ryan and Elaine
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    We loved waking up to the barking of a seal in the early morning and watching the sea planes and boats go by. So fun!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Beautiful Home

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Nancy and Craig
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    This is such a beautiful place-the inlet, so serine and unspoiled. Know we treasured our time here

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Thank-you, We had a relaxing time

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Thank-you, We had a relaxing time

    • Guest Roy and Elspeth
    • Date of stay 08/04/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    with the wonderful shoreline- the deck is great for swimming! Thanks so much for this place, it is one of the highlights of our holiday! The wildlife is fantastic, we have seen Eagles, Seals and purple starfish. Thank-you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Our homeymoon

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Our homeymoon

    • Guest MArk and Angela
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    ... Perfect in every way, Simply The Best. Everything we needed was here. Jack was the most attentive but respected our need for privacy. Great mountain biking, kayaking, what an awesome place. Thanks Again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • This place is fabulous!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    This place is fabulous!

    • Guest Faye and Ben
    • Date of stay 05/02/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    We only planned to stay for 2 nights before we came but when we got here, we fell in love with the place immediately. So we decided to stay one more day, If we could we would spend more time here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Absolutely stunning

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Absolutely stunning

    • Guest Kate
    • Date of stay 04/07/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    An absolutely stunning place! The views are second to none and many hours were spent on the beautiful decks watching the abundant wildlife. A great getaway from the city. Thank-you

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • magical setting

    Guest comment entered by manager

    magical setting

    • Guest joseph
    • Date of stay 03/29/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    It was truly magical sitting here seeing the eagle fly by. You have made nature come alive into your home, and it can calm the soul. Thank-you for the wonderful time

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The great attention to detail....

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The great attention to detail....

    • Guest Shehla
    • Date of stay 03/28/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    As we sat on your patio sipping wine while watching the sunset, we thought about the great attention to detail and the care you have taken to make the place magical. I can truly say that this has been the most restful place for me since September. Thanks for the magical weekend

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very beautiful and private

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Very beautiful and private

    • Guest Christina, Micheal and kids
    • Date of stay 03/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    When I first viewed the property on-line it looked very beautiful and private. We were surprised by the steep driveway and then pleasantly surprised by the expanse and natural splendor of the home and property and our eyes widened even further when entering the home. This is a beautiful artisan executive style home with stunning exposed beams, carefully designed artisan detailing and unparallelled views.......

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]