Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kanodia Lodge ~ Winter Wonderland

Bright & Cheerful Log Cabin ~ Hiking Trails, Serene Location Nestled in Forest [#345959] | View Property

Private Homes
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$150 - $250 / Night
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (78)

Sort by:
  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest Surf808
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Flew up from Hawaii to visit Big Bear over spring break. The house was perfect size for our two families and close to the slopes. The check in and out was a snap and Laura was so easy to work with and made sure everything went smoothly. I would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Big Bear.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Weekend Vacation!

    Awesome Weekend Vacation!

    • Guest Lauren A.
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    Our family of four (including 2 little kids) spent 4 days in Big Bear, and Kanodia Cabin was wonderful! The cabin was immaculately clean, nicely decorated, spacious, and stocked with all the necessary items. Our kids loved playing in the snow in the front yard and going to the sledding hill, which was so close to the cabin. Laura, the owner, was so personable and a great hostess! We had a wonderful time and could not ask for more -- thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great cabin...feels like home!!!

    Great cabin...feels like home!!!

    • Guest Guadalupe L.
    • Date of stay 01/19/14
    • Review Submitted 02/02/14
    Our family, including 2 kids ( 8 & 3 yrs old), spent a week in Kanodia and had such a wonderful time. The cabin is exactly as pictured and described, the kitschen is so well stocked with everything you might need ( pans, bowls, spices, serving dishes....), the beds are really really comfy,you'll have trouble getting up in the morning. Our kids enjoyed the building blocks and toys, as well watching tv in front of the fireplace... The neighborhood is quiet and surrounded by beautiful trees. Laura was on top of everything to make sure we were enjoying ourselves so thank you!! This cabin does not feel at all like a rental at all, its a home away from home! Will be renting again One of the two properties Laura offers... Thank you!,

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cabin!

    Great Cabin!

    • Guest Todd
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    my family and I had a wonderful time at this cabin. It was well appointed with a fully equipped kitchen. The area is quiet and easy to get in to town, ski resorts and hiking on the north shore. We had a great time!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Family Cabin!

    Awesome Family Cabin!

    • Guest Roland R.
    • Date of stay 01/02/14
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    Everything was exactly as advertised. My family stayed there for three nights and we never ran out of things to do. The kids loved the activities and we loved the scenery. The cabin was cozy and in excellent condition. We will definitely stay there again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • LOVELY CABIN IN BIG BEAR

    LOVELY CABIN IN BIG BEAR

    • Guest Narine (Sherman oaks Ca LA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 01/02/14
    It was our first vacation in Big Bear. We enjoyed and everything was wonderful. The cabin was very comfortable, clean and nice decorated. We absolutely love it!!! I recommends all my friend this cabin. The owner is very nice person.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Big Bear Vacation was excellent

    Big Bear Vacation was excellent

    • Guest Glo (Fullerton )
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/03/14
    This was the first time my family ever rented a cabin and we loved it. The place was so clean and very peaceful. I will definitely be renting it again. It was a perfect size and we had so many games to choose from.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Home Away!

    Relaxing Home Away!

    • Guest Mari (Palos Verdes Peninsula)
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/28/13
    What a find! Our family spent Christmas week at Kanodia cabin and we found it to be a relaxing home away. The cabin is large enough to accommodate our family of 6 very comfortably. The open floor plan is perfect for family time. The kitchen was surprisingly well stocked unlike other cabins. There is also a General Store two blocks away that has everything you can possibly need-no need to drive to town. We strongly recommend this cabin and hope we can stay here again in the future! -M&Y Rockwood

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Cabin With Everything!!!!!

    The Cabin With Everything!!!!!

    • Guest anna w.
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 12/23/13
    My family and I were so extremely pleased with your cabin. It is the most well kept, well stocked, and homey vacation home I have ever stayed in. We will be coming back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Weekend Getaway Spot

    Amazing Weekend Getaway Spot

    • Guest Jessica (Long Beach)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    My boyfriend and I decided to book this cabin for a weekend getaway coming from Los Angeles. We had a great time. The cabin was pristine when we arrived Friday night after stopping at the grocery store in town for some food - which is conveniently on the way to the cabin on Big Bear Blvd. We cooked a great meal, as the kitchen has everything you could imagine, and it is all in great condition. Nothing is left to the wayside. The towels were perfectly folded, the sheets were clean and soft, and we had everything we needed - from coffee to bath salts - provided for us. The location is in a quiet neighborhood, which is nice, and everything is within a few minutes drive. We went to the lake to take a nice afternoon walk, and went into town to do some shopping in the antique shops. This caibin is well above standards for other homes I have stayed at through VRBO. The owner does a great job of making herself available for anything questions you have - although you won't have any because everything you need is already available! I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for a nice getaway that still feels like home :)

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful, comfortable cabin

    Beautiful, comfortable cabin

    • Guest Shelley H.
    • Date of stay 10/25/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    This cabin exceeded our expectations. The pictures do not lie. Beautiful, cozy, clean and fully stocked with everything you need. We had a wonderful weekend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice, Quiet Cabin!

    Nice, Quiet Cabin!

    • Guest Amanda P.
    • Date of stay 10/12/13
    • Review Submitted 12/08/13
    This cabin was very tidy and spacious. The owner kept in good communication with me and was available via phone/text if any issues occurred or if anything was less than expected. The cabin had games, movies, a grill, and many kitchen amenities to make the stay feel more like home. I was very pleased with this property and would highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy, Comfortable, and Inviting Cabin!!!

    Cozy, Comfortable, and Inviting Cabin!!!

    • Guest Michelle R.
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/09/13
    My family and I arrived at Kanodia Cabin on a Friday afternoon and stayed until late Sunday afternoon. I have a family of three teenager girls. Two are 16 and the other is 14. When we arrived at the doorstep, I can already tell that we weren't going to want to leave. The cabin was perfect. It was cozy, warm, and definitely inviting. During our stay, we left the cabin twice for just a few hours to site see. We were so excited just to get back to the cabin and just relax. We all live such busy and crazy lives that it was nice and refreshing to just a have change of scenery from the everyday routine. Laura, the owner, was so sweet and so easy to work with when making the reservations. Thank you for all that you've done and most especially, sharing your beautiful home with us. Until next time! ~Michelle~

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, well equipped and maintained cabin near the forest

    Clean, well equipped and maintained cabin near the forest

    • Guest Jim G (Solana Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/30/13
    Our family enjoyed 3 summer nights in this great cabin stocked with everything...games, puzzles, movies, BBQ, kitchen equipment, bathroom supplies, and comfortable bedrooms. One day hiking and one day on the lake. Quiet deck for reading and relaxing. My 20 year old son enjoyed the vintage Nintendo computer games. The cabin is located on a quiet street away from town, but close enough for convenience. My cousin rented the cabin next door. Laura the owner was very pleasant and easy to arrange the stay. We would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Cabin

    Fantastic Cabin

    • Guest DKW (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/03/13
    Of the more than 20 VRBOs we have rented this is TOPS! The cabin is clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated yet comfortable. All the furnishings are not only tasteful, but they are high quality. The kitchen is very well stocked with plenty of dishes, glasses, utensils and cookware. There is also a large variety of non-perishable items in the kitchen. While you are at the cabin there is a great selection of books, board games, puzzles and DVDs for children as well as adults. The location is another plus. The cabin is located close to the national forest with great walking trails to explore, and the village is just a short drive from the quiet of the cabin. There is a small mini-mart, which has all the essentials, as well as a great public park within walking distance. Laura and her husband were very responsive to every query we had both before our arrival and during our stay. We will definitely stay here during out next trip to the Big Bear area and highly recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home!

    Beautiful Home!

    • Guest Beth (Irvine, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    When we opened the door of this lovely cabin on the day of arrival, we were immediately impressed with its warm and inviting interior. The comfortable living room, the spacious, well-appointed kitchen, the cozy bedrooms---all of these features create such a restful, relaxing atmosphere that we were almost reluctant to leave the house in order to explore the surrounding area, but we did manage several hikes in the National Forest, as well as a fun trip to the Alpine Slide in Big Bear. Next time (and we fully expect to return) we plan to visit the local zoo or maybe take a chance on the zip-line excursion. Although I've never actually met the cabin owners in person, I feel as if I know them! They were so friendly during our preliminary correspondence and so willing to help with any problems or concerns we might have had. They have clearly invested a great deal of love and care in the creation and upkeep of this charming get-away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely place to stay!

    Lovely place to stay!

    • Guest Courtney L. (Ventura, California)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    My husband, our three six-year-olds, and I stayed over the 4th of July weekend. Big Bear itself was very crowded, but this beautiful cabin, however, was quiet and serene. We were close enough to the action to be able to do anything in the village we wanted, but when we came back, it was very relaxing. The cabin had everything we needed to be make great meals, and the kids loved the games, puzzles, Nintendo, the outdoor space to play, and were especially delighted by the snuggly stuffed bears! The owner was very responsive and caring, and in the two small instances where we needed help, she got back to us right away. We can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Early Summer Visit

    Early Summer Visit

    • Guest Sharon G.
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    Our family has stayed at Kanodia Lodge twice and look forward to future visits. Propery is clean, well maintained and provides many amenities especially to families with children (games, puzzles, videos, books, and bunk beds). Owner has always been extremely helpful, even sending back a telescope lens cover we forgot during our first visit. If visiting during weekdays, be sure to check out Farmer's Market on Tuesday mornings. We look forward to heading back soon and trying out new zipline and mountain biking at Snow Summit, which is a 15 minute drive from the cabin.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Big Bear Early Spring

    Big Bear Early Spring

    • Guest skhan6574 (Chatsworth, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/26/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    We enjoyed 4 nights in this wonderful cabin- incredibly clean, well decorated and well appointed. There was plenty of space for the kids, and plenty to do when we weren't skiing- lots of board games, dvd's and two TV's. Overall, this is a great cabin and Laura made the whole process of booking and checking in totally easy, and was generous in allowing us to check out late on our final day. We've stayed in many cabins in Big Bear over the years and this was surely one of the best!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Big Bear Cabin!!!

    Excellent Big Bear Cabin!!!

    • Guest Schennell ( Vista, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    Excellent Big Bear Cabin!!!.... If you are looking for a beautiful cabin, don't go any further! Everything was just as described and more. Very clean and well equipped home. It has all you would need and more. The owner goes over and beyond with providing 1st class accommodations. Our family had a wonderful weekend...sledding, snow play and a cozy warm fireplace. You will feel like your at home and never want to leave. Already planning for our next stay :) Laura the owner is very sweet and attentive. Anything you need she is a text or phone call away!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Cabin to Stay in Big Bear!!!

    Best Cabin to Stay in Big Bear!!!

    • Guest Amy R.
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    I recently stayed at this cabin and it was exactly as described by the owner. Actually, it was better!! The cabin is Beautiful and very clean. I loved the fire place and all the extras the owner included. There were board games, books, puzzles, and video games. The kitchen came equipped with every appliance and utensil you could think of. There were glasses for drinks and a gas BBQ ready for use. Extra pillows and blankets in the closet. I loved the bear decor throughout the cabin. The location was perfect. Close enough to all the attractions, but far enough from the noise and crowds. I loved it here and definitely planning on staying again in the future. The owner was also very sweet and responsive to my questions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Big Bear Cabin

    Perfect Big Bear Cabin

    • Guest Karen H (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    We had a wonderful ski weekend at Kanodia Lodge! The cabin was exactly as advertised - the listing and pictures were accurate; if anything, the cabin looked better in person. The owners have thought of everything to make the stay comfortable and it feels like you are visiting a friend's home rather than a vacation rental. 15 minute drive from the cabin to Snow Summit/Bear Mountain, 40 minutes to Snow Valley. The owner is very responsive and helpful - we'll definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great weekand

    Great weekand

    • Guest Narine B.
    • Date of stay 01/16/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/13
    It was our first vacation in Big Bear. The condo was awsome. It was very clean and comfortable. We like the interior in it, it was very beautiful. There were everything that made us to feel that we were at home. We are planning our next vacation only the same condo. We will miss that condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic, everything a family needs

    Fantastic, everything a family needs

    • Guest Santiago (Irvine, California)
    • Date of stay 01/13/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/13
    We are a family with two small children, ages 4 and 2-and-a-half. This home is beautiful, nice location on a quiet street, and the sledding hill was great (out the front door, turn left, and up a few houses). While we didn't take advantage of it in the snow, there seems to be some good hiking through the woods up that way as well. Very comfortable, and I would highly recommend it as it really has everything you need. Owners were easy to deal with, and I would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Cozy

    Very Cozy

    • Guest epg417 (Torrance, Ca)
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/13
    Our family of 5 enjoyed our recent stay at Kanodia Lodge. The house was clean, comfy and well furnished. Having a garage to park our car in was a great bonus, especially when unloading items during the winter!! We have 3 children under the age of 6 and they were quite content in the home. Our oldest liked to go outside to play in the snow. The sledding area was just a short walk up the street. The hill was a bit intimidating for our young kids but probably great for older kids! We had plenty of room in the house and never felt cramped. The kids also loved the bunk beds!! The kitchen was great to cook in. Having the laundry area inside the house was another bonus. The washer and dryer seemed to be large capacity and worked very well. All in all, house was great and fit our needs! The reason I did not rate this home "excelllent" was due to a few quirks with the cleaning service. There was trash left behind from the renter before us, coffe pot was dirty, no sponges available for washing dishes and dishes in pantry were stilll wet from being washed. The owner, Laura, apologized and spoke with the cleaning service. Being that we stayed during a busy Holiday time and their regular cleaning person was ill, things were missed. Also, the home is quite a ways from the center of town. If you need to run out to get something, this can be quite challenging during the winter. Especially when you have a young child get sick during the night!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Emily! Thanks for much for your review! As private owners we work diligently to provide first class accommodations for our guests, so receiving our first 4 star review was hard, but we thank you for the honest feedback! Having the normal cleaning staff ill during the busiest season did not help and you should expect the cabin to be perfect upon arrival – no exceptions. I was truly grateful that you contacted me immediately to let me know about the small cleaning issues you noticed so we could take action right away. We don’t provide sponges (they can be unsanitary since they breed bacteria) but in the fully stocked kitchen we provide lots of extra wash clothes that guests use to wash dishes. The cabin is located 7 miles from the Village (about 4 miles from the major grocery stores), however we’re sorry you didn’t try Easy’s General Store which is less than 1 mile from the house – they carry all the basics, including medicine :). Thank you again for all your honest and candid feedback!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A White Christmas in Big Bear!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A White Christmas in Big Bear!

    • Guest Melissa & Family
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 12/30/12
    Laura, Thank you so much! My family and I really enjoyed our stay! My sister enjoyed it so much she is thinking she wants to do this every year!! My Ashley really got the white Christmas she wanted! Thank you again and Happy New Year! Melissa - we were thrilled you chose our cabin to spend Christmas with your family and we welcome you back again anytime! Thank you SO very much for your service to our country - we are extremely grateful :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy Cabin - Great Snow!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Cozy Cabin - Great Snow!

    • Guest Zhang
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/01/13
    Thanks Laura. We had a wonderful time in Big Bear. Thanks for all the valuable information. Your cabin is so nice and cozy. We all love it. We will come back! Happy holidays!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bright & Cheerful - Great Trails

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Bright & Cheerful - Great Trails

    • Guest Charlie & Family
    • Date of stay 12/13/12
    • Review Submitted 01/18/13
    Hello Laura! Thanks for a wonderful stay. We loved the bright, cheerful sunlight streaming in every day. You have a fantastic home in the woods. Next time we would like to visit during mountain biking season – great trails all around. Our favorite spot in town for lunch/dinner is Murrey’s Irish Tavern – outstanding food and extremely casual. Kids under 21 out by 8 pm – great spot!! Thanks Laura for a super cool holiday from the Miami clan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exelent place for family time and relax

    Exelent place for family time and relax

    • Guest Marcela (Monrovia, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/28/12
    It was great, we spent thanksgiving weekend there. I liked all organization from the owner, paypal method is very convenient, all appliances were new, clean and a very special atmosphere from the moment we enter into the lodge. Highly recommended. Kitchen has almost all you have at home. The heater is just a little noisy but you get used to very soon. All the recommendations and advices provided by the owner where very helpful. We had a great weather and you can enjoy great Family time there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so happy you had a wonderful Thanksgiving stay! Thank you for being our guests and we appreciated the text upon your arrival that your family was thrilled when they opened the door for the first time and saw how beautiful the cabin was :)! We haven’t had any prior guests mention the heater being a bit noisy (it works really well :) but we’ll have it checked immediately to ensure it's working properly. Thank you so much for the heads up and we hope you come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very cute house and nicely furnished

    Very cute house and nicely furnished

    • Guest macklin (Santa Barbara)
    • Date of stay 09/12/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    I stayed with my older parents, my 12 year old son and myself. It was a great time of year to go because it was very cool and refreshing up in Big Bear compared to the rest of So Cal...it was 72-75 every day when much of So Cal was in the 90s or hotter. Kanodia Cabin was very clean, very quiet and well stocked. We had not been to Big Bear in years, so we would recommend the cabin and the owner, Laura, any time

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Labor Day weekend

    Labor Day weekend

    • Guest EM (W Covina)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    We had a wonderful Labor Day weekend at the cabin. The cabin has a very cozy home like feel to it. The owners obviously take great care of it. It was clean, updated and FULLY stocked which is always great. Thank you Laura for assisting us with our last minute plans. Our family will cherish the time we spent together enjoying your lovely cabin.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great 3 Day Weekend!!

    Great 3 Day Weekend!!

    • Guest T.A. (Southern California)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    My wife, granddaughter and I had a relaxing and fun weekend. The cabin was perfect and we loved it! The listing photos accurately reflect the inside and outside of the cabin. It was comfy, cozy and felt like home away from home. The property is in excellent condition and is well-maintained. The kitchen has everything you need including paper towels! The bathrooms had all the necessary amenities. There were DVD's, VHS tapes, and a closet full of games for adults and kids. There were also books and a Nintendo game system for kids (or adults). The owner was great to work with and very helpful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Retreat!!!

    Awesome Retreat!!!

    • Guest Mikoa (Fullerton)
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    If you're looking for a quiet getaway from the bright lights and the city, this place is perfect. It is clean, has all the right amenities, and gives you the feeling of neighborly Home away from home. But fear not city slickers for if you get the urge for some civilian activities, Big Bear city is a short 5 minute drive. I definitely want to re-visit this place when Frosty is back in town!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gerat weekend Escape!

    Gerat weekend Escape!

    • Guest Turk (Brea, CA )
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/06/12
    We went up with our family of four this weekend and after reading the all the previous reviews on the property was expecting alot. Can honestly say I was not disappointed. The cabin is GREAT! We had a blast. Played the boards games that were there, read a book on the back deck (very quiet), rented kayaks at Halloway's Marina, hiked and went bowling at the Bowling Barn in the village...quality time with the family. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils and cooking needs. Would highly recommended the spot to all!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away From Home

    Home Away From Home

    • Guest D&D (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    Our stay at this property was terrific. House was very clean and organized. Neighbors were polite. The kitchen as well as the bathrooms were well stocked with any items you may need or may have forgotten. All the furniture was new as well as all the utensils. The beds were comfortable and the neighborhood is quiet and within a two minute walk to some very beautiful trails. This cabin is about five minutes from town which is perfect. I would recommend this property to anyone. As far as I was concerned... it was perfect.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful cabin at Big Bear Lake!

    Wonderful cabin at Big Bear Lake!

    • Guest Frank (64390 Erzhausen, Deutschland)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    We stayed five days at Big Bear Lake in that wonderful and huge cabin. Everything was very clean and as described here. The cabin is big enough for four adults and two children. It is located near the lake, in a very nice and quiet area, with lots of trees and forest around. If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay and to rest, we can cleary recommend that cabin! Laura, the owner, was very helpful in everything, and everything was perfectly organized. So, don´t hesitate to stay at this cabin if you plan to come to Big Bear Lake, it´s really worth the trip! Thanks a lot, Laura!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cabin

    Great Cabin

    • Guest Linda T.
    • Date of stay 04/04/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    The cabin was perfect. Charming and clean. Kids loved the cabin and didn't want to leave. Would love to return to Kanodia again!!! Have already recommended the cabin to some of my friends!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean and cozy

    Clean and cozy

    • Guest Christine U. (Manila, Philippines)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/21/12
    We went as a family of 4 adults and 2 kids. I was worried about being greeted by a musky smelling and dusty unit. My kids and I are asthmatic and so I am very particular about cleanliness. Instead, we were all pleasantly surprised as to how clean and odor free the whole house was! There was no worry about walking around without your shoes on or the kids sitting and rolling on the floor. The bathrooms were likewise very clean and complete with linens. It was very cozy, especially with the fireplace in the tv/living room. The kitchen was complete with those little things you can't be bothered with packing. Cooking breakfast was hassle-free because of this. Laura was a perfect host and the restaurant tips she gave us were most helpful, also the snow-play areas she recommended. We will definitely want to come back. Thanks Laura for a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved Kanodia!

    We loved Kanodia!

    • Guest Luv2Vacay (HB, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/07/12
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Kanodia! It was a trip we planned specifically for our toddlers to enjoy and experience snow for the first time. Kanodia completely met our expectations and then some. The pictures do not do this place justice as it is much bigger when seen in person. It is completely comfortable, clean, fully stocked with kitchen supplies/games/movies and decorated tastefully. We were two families of three and the space was perfect even for our 2-year-olds to stretch and play. Kanodia provides practically everything you can imagine you would need and then some. And if there is anything you need, the grocery store and restaurants are a short 5-10 minutes away. The owner, Laura, was completely responsive to our inquiries and made us feel welcome in her home away from home. If there is anything to 'advise' a potential renter of is that with the heater on, the second bedroom warms up much more than the master. Otherwise, we had an absolutely fabulous time and can't wait to come back again. We have and will definitely recommend Kanodia to all friends and family looking for a place to stay in Big Bear.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kanodia Cabin: Truly is heaven upon earth!

    Kanodia Cabin: Truly is heaven upon earth!

    • Guest Joanne (Monrovia)
    • Date of stay 02/07/12
    • Review Submitted 02/10/12
    Loved the cabin, we had a very relaxing stay. Loved the way you decorate and so thoughtful in all the things you provided (hot chocolate, band aids, bird food, kid’s games, etc). By far, one of the best vrbo’s I’ve rented! A lot promise clean, but yours actually was! The pictures don’t do it justice. Very comfortable and not a far drive to Big Bear Lake. Thanks again, we had a relaxing time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Mountain Getaway

    Amazing Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Ritchelle N.
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/12
    For the past 5 years, our family has stayed at many different cabins, but I can truly say without a doubt that we've finally found a place we can come back to. The location is perfect! Only a short drive to the resorts, restaurants and stores. There is also a corner general store down the street for any last min. or quick pick ups. This home is beautiful and stocked with any and every amenity you could imagine. It's very clean and well kept, VERY COZY and welcoming. The pictures do it no justice. My family had an amazing time and there were many different things to keep my three young boys entertained. The owner was also a pleasure to work with. She made the booking process very easy and was very helpful when it came to any questions I had. This cabin will definitely be seeing us again very soon! THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT EXPERIENCE LAURA!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Trip

    Family Trip

    • Guest StefanieW (El Cajon, CA 92019)
    • Date of stay 01/20/12
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    We had a Great Stay at your Cabin! It's a beautiful Cabin, warm and inviting! We loved the decore and it was very clean! It was in a great location, very peaceful, and not too far from skiing. The owner is very friendly and gets right back to you if you have any questions!! We can't wait to stay there again. Thanks Again!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Family Cabin

    Perfect Family Cabin

    • Guest Carlos C.
    • Date of stay 01/17/12
    • Review Submitted 01/30/12
    We spent 3 amazing days at Big Bear where we stayed at this very cozy cabin. The decor is beautiful and the owner sure takes care of all details. The place is very clean and is definitely a great choice for families traveling with kids. It's located in the Sugarloaf area, so you are in a very quiet place, but at the same time not too far from the center (about 5-10 minute drive) where the ski resorts are and all the other city's attractions like snow play hills, the Village, the Lake, Alpine Slide... etc. There's also a hill at the end of the street where kids can play with the sleds. We'll definetely be going back up there!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect stay

    perfect stay

    • Guest ?? ?.
    • Date of stay 01/13/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/12
    This was the first time in Big bear lake for my my family, and we enjoyed very much at this lodge. Everything was perfect. My kids even cried because they want to stay more when we have to leave!! The owner is very kind and fantastic.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Cabin

    Beautiful Cabin

    • Guest Amy (Whittier, Ca)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/17/12
    My family and I had an amazing time in your cabin. It was very cozy, clean and very well maintained. Perfect location! Would definitly recommend this cabin to our family and friends!! We cant wait to go back!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • BIG BEAR TRIP

    BIG BEAR TRIP

    • Guest Herman (BURBANK-CA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We had a great stay, very relaxing and quiet. We couldn't have asked for a nicer cabin. I think we are going to make this our annual family trip. We absolutely loved it, Laura thanks for making our New Year's beautiful. Thanks again and Cheeeeers!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tony B.

    Tony B.

    • Guest Tony (South Orange County)
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    We had a wonderful time at Kanodia. The cabin was better than advertised. It was perfect size for our family of 5. The cabin was like new, clean, and in excellent condition. Just a short walk to an awesome sled hill and a 20 minute drive to the slopes. We would love to come back soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT ESCAPE!

    GREAT ESCAPE!

    • Guest B (Fullerton, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/13/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    Our little family has had the opportunity to visit the Kanodia Lodge every December for the last 3 years. It has become such a fun family tradition that we look forward to each year. With two small children, it is the perfect getaway! Our 2 year old loves to watch the squirrels! We love the location, and the sweet home away from home this cabin offers our family. It has all the amenities we need to make it a home. It is even fully stocked with puzzles and lincoln logs for the kids to play with-which is great for young kids! I would definately recommend this cabin-it is great for families looking for the perfect winter getaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway!

    Perfect Getaway!

    • Guest Dipankar (Woodland Hills)
    • Date of stay 11/26/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    This cabin is not far from Big Bear Lake and really nice to stay. Owners are really good and easy to work. The cabin is really nice and clean and located with easy access and close to town. This cabin is highly recommended to everyone. We will definitely be coming back in future!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanksgiving Retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanksgiving Retreat

    • Guest Dan, Julie, Estelle & Zeino
    • Date of stay 11/25/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    Dear Wonderful Hosts, Wishing your family many happy blessings this Thanksgiving season. We are very thankful for this warm, beautiful, intimate home! Thank you very much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next