Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The heart of the house: a beautifully decorated living/dining area w/ fireplace.

Eclectic, Lovely 3BR in Popular Hawthorne District- Sleeps 6-8 [#346233] | View Property

Hawthorne
Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Couch converts to platform bed, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$250 - $275/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest Ken B.
    • Date of stay 03/12/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    This place far exceeded our expectations. The house is very well laid out and comfortable. Home was stocked with spices etc. in the kitchen, necessities in the bathrooms, including shaving cream, contact lens solution and diapers. I especially appreciated the barbecue grill in the back yard and was surprised to find briquettes and lighter fluid. (I bought a bag of briquettes and left for the next guest.) This is a three level house, so you need to be fine with stairs. We loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what we wanted!

    Just what we wanted!

    • Guest Ann O.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    This beautiful home is perfect for anyone who wants to be close to all that Portland has to offer. We found this home beautifully decorated and comfortable for 3 - 4 adults. It is close to public transportation and the neighborhood is very walkable. We found the property clean and very well maintained. The light coming into the rooms made is just so special for the visit with our daughter. We enjoyed the walks and the short trips to Powells City of Books as well as the Portland Tram. We had such a good time in Portland! We would highly recommend this property. You will not be disappointed!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pristine PDX Getaway

    Pristine PDX Getaway

    • Guest Nancy F. (-)
    • Date of stay 11/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    Absolutly wonderful home. Immaculate and equipped with everything. Safe neighborhood with easy access to all the cool Portland sights.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hawthorne Visit

    Hawthorne Visit

    • Guest Dave (Papillion, NE)
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 06/09/13
    A beautiful and comfortable home located in a great neighborhood. The home is well furnished and the kitchen well equipped for making family meals. The location is fantastic for visiting Portland. There are numerous grocery stores, restaurants and bars within walking distance of the house. Mount Tabor offers great running trails and a scenic overlook of Portland. We had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the home. I would strongly recommend the house to any interested in visiting Portland.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quintessential Portland experience

    Quintessential Portland experience

    • Guest lovetotravel (San Francisco, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    My family LOVED our stay here. As all other guests have noted, the home is well maintained; has all of the amenities one would typically expect; and an owner who graciously responds to all questions. An unexpected plus of the townhouse was the amount of natural light that permeates throughout as well as the owner's sense of style (colors, decor,etc) which created an inviting and serene setting. While we could have easily spent our entire stay indoors, the location really was great. We ambled through the various neighborhoods on quiet morning walks which we really enjoyed (esp with all of the flowers blooming). Plus the owner's list of recommended restaurants, stores, etc. close by was spot on. It's central location also made it easy to drive throughout the city. All in all, we loved living like the locals. Without a question, we would return and recommend this lovely home to anyone who wants a quintessential Portland experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the house

    Loved the house

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    Spent a nice long weekend at this place in Portland. The house is clean and modern with comfortable beds. Nice bathrooms with plenty of clean towels. I have nothing negative to say. You can walk to good restaurants, grocery, pubs, whatever you would need. The neighbors were friendly. The owner was cool and easy to deal with. We will rent again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location

    Great Location

    • Guest W A. (Irvine, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    The property is well represented by the photos. Fairly new with all the amenities required for a great stay. Loved the fact that you had the choice of Hawthorne or Belmont streets on either side. Very quiet location, beds comfortable, nice gas fireplace. Enjoyed exploring Mt Tabor and areas of Portland we have never been. Nice to be on the East side of the river. Elizabeth was extremely helpful in answering all our questions. Great internet access (for those of us who still had to work a little.) There is a wealth of eating, drinking, shopping places, too many to recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Eclectic, Lovely 3BR in Popular Hawthorne District

    Eclectic, Lovely 3BR in Popular Hawthorne District

    • Guest Garrit (Owosso, Michigan USA)
    • Date of stay 02/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    We were extremely pleased with our stay. The house was perfect, with all amenities we needed available to us. The caretaker and housekeeper were informative and helpful. Location was perfect. I would be happy to stay there again, or to recommend it to anyone needing a place in Portland.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Mary H. (Edmonds, Wa)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    This property exceeded our expectations! It's even better than the pictures show and the location is excellent. The area itself is very quaint and it has convenient access to restaurants, shops, grocery shopping and many more amenities. The accommodations are very comfortable and equipped with everything you need to have a great time away. We look forward to visiting again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice get away to the Portland area. If you like Thai food be sure to check out Pok Pok!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location and neighborhood!

    Great location and neighborhood!

    • Guest Mary H. (Edmonds, Wa)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    Stayed here with my husband and two children ages 9 and 11. This property exceeded our expectations! It's even better than the pictures show and the location is excellent. The area itself is very quaint and it has convenient access to restaurants, shops, grocery shopping and many more amenities. The accommodations are very comfortable and is equipped with everything you need to have a great time away. Make sure to follow Elizabeth's restaurant recommendations!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • family reunion

    family reunion

    • Guest Alaska Snowbird (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 12/14/12
    We found the property to be comfortable and well equipped to accomodate our family from the toddlers to the adults-would stay here again if the need arises and definitely would recommend to others.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • August 2012 Wedding in Portland

    August 2012 Wedding in Portland

    • Guest Diana (Glenville, PA )
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/26/12
    We were attending my son's wedding in Portland. This house was exceptional. The house was very attractive and just as it appeared in the picutres. The owner and person taking care of the property were very hepful and were easy to contact. The house was very clean and well maintained. I would recommend this property highly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Would Please Anyone

    Would Please Anyone

    • Guest sandstorm (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    I can only ditto what everyone else has written and agree that this is the best VRBO home we've stayed in. Having a bathroom on each of the three floors was great. Amy came over immediately when we had a question about the gas fireplace. It was unseasonably hot (94!), so we really appreciated the a.c. in the 3rd floor bedrooms. It was blissfully quiet and we all slept really well. We were in and out of town and all over the place. The location was perfect for us. We didn't use the garage, but it would be a great asset for families carrying bikes or needing to store camping equipment or whatever. It was really convenient to be able to park in front of it. We've stayed before in places where parking was hit or miss.Unless stairs are an issue, I think anyone would love this townhouse. The Lamberts, Providence, RI

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Location!

    Perfect Location!

    • Guest globalmama (Rochester, New York)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/18/12
    We stayed here in mid July with our in-laws and our two young children (ages 2 & 4). The set up was great because the in-laws got their own private bed and bath in the lower floor and we were upstairs with the kids. I loved how we could walk to get coffee in the morning or good eats at the pod on Belmont. Also, we did a lot of shopping at New Seasons. It was clean and had all the amenities we needed. Thanks for making our vacation fantastic!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Place to Stay

    Fabulous Place to Stay

    • Guest DP (Santa Rosa CA)
    • Date of stay 06/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    All the good things you read about this home are true. The house is spacious, well appointed, and clean. The kitchen is well stocked with good quality cook and tableware and there are ample towels and sheets. We were quite comfortable and will stay gladly here again when we are visit Portland.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful home in a great location

    Wonderful home in a great location

    • Guest SeeSee (Daly City, CA/USA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/30/12
    Celebrated my 30th birthday weekend at the house with my friends. It was the perfect size with all needed amenities included in order to cook and entertain ourselves within the home itself. We were able to walk mostly everywhere and downtown Portland was even walkable since we wanted to see the city on foot. The description of the home is accurate and the homeowner is very accommodating and approachable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • family reunion

    family reunion

    • Guest Gail (Central Illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    We had a wonderful family reunion in Portland and the house was a perfect match for your family's needs. It was a great location for walking to shops and restaurants as well as public transportation. The house was lovely and very clean with plenty of towels, linens and dishes. Our family ate many meals around the large dining room table and enjoyed spending time together. The neighborhood was quiet in the evenings and a great place to unwind after a hectic day. This was our first experience with renting a house and we will definitely do it again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • So Much Fun!

    So Much Fun!

    • Guest Fleety (Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 05/14/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    Our family had three wonderful days at the Hawthorne House while we celebrated our son's graduation from Reed College. We loved walking the neighborhood - so many cute bungalow homes and great grocery shopping and restaurants within a few blocks. The house is beautifully decorated and the kitchen is so well equipped. We hosted a dinner for a small group and had everything we needed to cook a wonderful meal. Great memories were made for our family - we highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family wedding in Portland

    Family wedding in Portland

    • Guest Patty (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 05/03/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    We had a wonderful 4 day stay at this home in Portland. We were there for our daughters wedding, (which was in the neighborhood). This house provided everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and convenient. We even baked the wedding cake here! Very clean, beautifully furnished, everything was as promised and even better. The owner was so helpful in answering all our questions about the house, the neighborhood and Portland in general. I would highly recommend this house to anyone visiting Portland.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect in Every Way!

    Perfect in Every Way!

    • Guest Joan (La Crosse, WI)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/12/12
    A million thanks! We loved everything about your Hawthorne District home. Without question, the kitchen was the most well-equipped of any in our VRBO rental experience. Cooking was a breeze from the moment of our arrival on November 18 through Thanksgiving, Christmas, and into January. Providing place settings for 12 made holiday meals with our Portland and Seattle children "just like home". Still wake up hoping to head downstairs to make a pot of coffee and then settle in front of the fireplace to let the day slowly unfold. Later in the morning, the sunlight filled master bedroom beckoned me back upstairs to curl up in the over-sized chair to read or knit. We truly would never have needed a car because of the fantastic location. Groceries were easy to get with a quick walk to New Seasons or Fred Meyer. Coffee shops and restaurants were numerous. Since we stayed for two months, any questions or needs that we had were answered and taken care of immediately by Betsy, Keith, or Amy. As a long term stay rental, we could not have find anything more ideal. This townhome is perfectly described by the owner. It is obvious that she has gone to great lengths to ensure that her guests feel welcome and at home. Thanks to all!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Confortable home

    Confortable home

    • Guest Marge (Holland, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/24/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    We were in Portland for a wedding. The house accomodated 8 adults comfortably. The couch in the living room was very comfortable to sleep on! We enjoyed walking to restaurants, around the neighborhood, and nearby Mt. Tabor. All the necessities are provided, along with many extras including helpful books/maps of the Portland area. The house was very clean and the homeowner responded quickly to questions we had. Definitley would recommend to friends/relatives!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Absolutely wonderful!

    Absolutely wonderful!

    • Guest The Smith-Trefaller Family (Boise, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    Our family of four stayed in this impeccably clean, beautifully furnished home when we came for our son's graduation from Reed in May. We rent homes quite frequently, and this was by far the best one we've stayed in. The downstairs bedroom is so cheery and fun with its lime green and blue colors. A bonus was having its own bathroom, which made it perfect for our daughter to have her own space. The main floor was the perfect place to entertain with its comfy couch and lots of seating. We had guests over the whole weekend, and we felt so cozy with the fireplace on while we looked out the windows surrounding the whole room. The master bedroom is an oasis with its light blue tones, window seat and over-sized chair for reading. Our 6'4" son said he slept extremely well in the single bed in the 3rd bedroom. The kitchen with the gas range and quality appliances afforded me the opportunity to make a delicious beer cheese soup one rainy night there. Don't miss out on the opportunity to stay at this beautiful home. Traci Trefaller-Smith

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]