Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Beautiful newly remodeled pool on property

Corner Condo with Large Lanai, Ocean View & Easy Beach Access [#34658] | View Property

White Sands Village
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$840 - $1,050/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Bev

    Bev

    • Guest Bev & Steve K.
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    This condo was like staying at home because you were very comfortable in every way. The condo was very clean and well-maintained. I would love to come back and stay in this same condo again. The owner was great with any e-mail I sent. Kona is a wonderful place to vacation. We have been coming for several years and there is always something new to do.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Bev and Steve, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Kona. We do hope you'll be back again. Mahalo! Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly recommend!

    Highly recommend!

    • Guest edi m. (edwardsburg, michigan)
    • Date of stay 12/31/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    We stayed here for one month and loved the complex. Everyone was so friendly and the complex is well kept, clean and beautiful. The reservation process was very easy and Linda was always responsive to any questions, concerns. Several things needed to be fixed at the condo and they were attended to in a timely manner, although we often had to call Heather twice before she responded. The beds were very comfortable and the condo was well stocked with anything you might need. Please note that the sand at the beach does 'disappear' (hence the name magic sands beach) from time to time. We were not able to use the beach for the entire month because when the sand is gone the rocks can be treacherous. Rent with confidence from Linda, you won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mary and Scott

    Mary and Scott

    • Guest Mary and Scott (Clayton, CA (SF east bay area))
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    Thank you for a fabulous experience with VRBO! My husband and I throughly enjoyed staying at your lovely, spacious, condo. Location is perfect! One of the best swimming beaches literally across the street, and one of the best snorkeling spots just down the road. Close to downtown Kona with shopping restaurants all closely. Even though it was just the two of us we appreciated the two bathrooms so I could do my make up in one while my husband showered in the other. We BBQ'd several nights down by the pool and met friendly, interesting people there. We couldn't have asked for more. I hope we can return soon. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place in good location

    Great place in good location

    • Guest Tom Y. (Phoenix)
    • Date of stay 10/01/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    Really happy with this well equipped condo... Very nice inside and huge wrap around lanai. One of the few condo's on the property with an ocean view. We are divers and appreciated only one flight of stairs. The only negative was the hot water went really fast.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Condo

    Great Condo

    • Guest Carol (San DIego)
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/08/13
    We loved our week long stay here. The location could not be beat - just a quick walk across the street to one of the few sandy beaches in the area. We saw turtles within minutes of our arrival. The unit was lovely and we used the huge lanai every night. When we were tired of the beach - the pool was great, warm & clean! We would love to come back again

    Owner response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your time on the Big Island! Hope you will visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A comfortable place to stay away from home

    A comfortable place to stay away from home

    • Guest John (California)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/28/13
    The stay at this unit was comfortable. It has everything that you need like you were at home. It also has everything that you need for the beach. The condo is conveniently located right across from White Sand Beach so you could go soak in the ocean every morning. Unfortunately, the sliding screen doors cannot be properly shut tight. The gaps in the screen doors allow mosquitos to come in and be your friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Owner response: Linh, I am sorry that you had difficulty with the screen doors closing. They actually will close completely. In future, please give our on island representative a call with any difficulty. She is happy to come to the condo to help with any problems or questions. Linda Simpson Property Manager

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Stay with Extended Family

    Lovely Stay with Extended Family

    • Guest Nabo & D (Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/30/13
    We found this condo to be exactly as advertised with cool airy breezes circulating thru the south and west sliding doors across the lanai and filling the interior. The wrap-around lanai is spacious and we had many a fine meal lounging on the comfy lanai furniture. The space was clean, well maintained and filled with every piece of equipment needed for ones comfort and enjoyment. From a blender for morning smoothies with fresh fruit from the local farmers market, to boogie boards, beach towels, laundry facilities, etc. The master bedroom was elegant and comfortable with its own lovely and light-filled bathroom. The owner was responsive to our needs and initiated contact with us during our stay to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The condo is well situated to enjoy the features in and around the Kona region. Right across the road is a good swimming/boogie-boarding beach where we actually body-surfed with a sea turtle! We should say that the beach is small and can be crowded but the energy is very friendly and welcoming. A 15-20 minute walk south is an EXCELLENT snorkling beach (though walking along Alii drive is not very pleasant) The walk to Kailua town would be over an hour and not very fun, especially in the heat, but is very accessible with a car. You are also within an hour drive to great beaches and snorkle spots north and south, and lots of great adventures/tours. We highly recommend the night snorkle with manta rays. Check out Snorkle Bobs for equipment rentals and tour info. Also recommend a mai tai (and good food) at Huggos on the Rocks. We would recommend this unit to friends/relatives as a very comfortable and pleasant base to explore the west side of the island and enjoy some relaxation on the awesome lanai.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Paul, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again! I would also like to mention that there is a shuttle that goes to downtown Kona (3 miles) and beyond. It stops in front of the condo on Alii Drive. One of it's stops is Huggo's! Mahalo Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • As Advertised 4/13 - 4/20/13

    Guest comment entered by owner

    As Advertised 4/13 - 4/20/13

    • Guest Paul
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Hello Linda Thanks for the email. We are having a perfectly lovely time at your beautiful condo! We have found everything as advertised and everything in good order. We have no complaints whatsoever. Thanks for providing us a great place to enjoy our Kona vacation! - Paul

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Condo, 3/24 - 3/31/13

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful Condo, 3/24 - 3/31/13

    • Guest Tim
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Your condo unit is beautiful!!! Finally someone who knows how to make people come back. :) Cheers, Tim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Trip of a Lifetime

    Trip of a Lifetime

    • Guest William C. (St. John's, NL Canada Oldest city in NA)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    This is a super property we really enjoyed the grounds, the birds and flowers add a great touch and help you to relax. BBQ area, pool and tennis courts are well maintained. You are within minutes of great beaches, shopping and activities. The condo is well appointed with good quality furniture. It is equipped with sports rackets, board games and beach chairs, so all you need is to pack your bags. The description is very accurate. This was my first time dealing with VRBO and I hit the jackpot. We were able to relax and recoup here and enjoyed every moment we had in the condo and the property. The only thing, I noted was that the sliding doors did not close properly and needed a little help.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm glad you enjoyed the condo! We had maintenance done on the sliding glass doors after your stay. Sorry they were sticky for you! Just a reminder for future guests. If you have any problems while you are staying, please feel free to call Heather, our on island representative. Mahalo! Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful unit! 3/15- 3/23/2013

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful unit! 3/15- 3/23/2013

    • Guest William
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Aloha Linda, We enjoyed our stay at this wonderful unit and want to thank you for the opportunity to stay here and your work in managing this property.We really love this island and plan to return. We will highly recommend this property to our friends. Thanks for everything. Cheers, William

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Corner Condo

    Corner Condo

    • Guest Bev (Stacy, MN and other couple Minot ND)
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    I have to rate this as poor. Wasn't that clean, ocean view only viewable while leaning over the railing toward the tennis courts, which are next to the unit, one floor down. Excellent view of players, if that is what you are in Kona for! Dryer worked poorly, think needed good vent maintenance. Property itself kept up well, BBQ option very good. Loved our fresh fish catch! Owner/mgr. not exactly honest with our inquiry last August, when I asked them/her if there were steps to condo as they are difficult with two knee replacements. No answer re: the steps. Steps totaled 12 - 24 depending which way you went to condo, so we assumed there were none. Been in Kona at least 12 times, never had such deceit in promotion of any condo EVER! Have booked thru management companies, thru VRBO and also through individual owners direct. Nothing ever fell to this level of poor communication and dishonest pictures/protrayal by owner on website. Had another great condo on Maui, asked same thing, and there wasn't one step! Was wonderful! BEWARE. Beach across the busy street, we did fine, but glad we didn't have any young children to worry about crossing to beach., to get back/forth. 9 days spent in Kailua-Kona, with all those steps was not fun!

    Owner response: I have managed this condo rental for 18 months and this is the only negative rating it has received. Numerous guests have commented directly to me about how much they enjoyed this property, but have not posted a review. This renter had issues with the steps required to reach the unit. I will quote her question to me prior to making her reservation. There was no mention of knee replacements. "Wondering if steps are necessary to reach your condo. Actually looking for elevator accommodations if 2nd or 3rd floors." My response, "The unit is above the parking garage and there it is accessible for elevator. The stairs are directly below the unit. The elevator is at the mid section of the building. Please let me know if you need additional information." If you have special needs, please let me know what they are. I am happy to steer you in the right direction. My intention is not to rent a place that you would be unhappy with. The photos are a true representation of the condo. No athletics were performed to get the photos. I will be posting a video in May, as it is sometimes difficult to get the "full picture." I think you will find that the condo is even better than the photos project. You do need to cross the street to get to the beach. That is mentioned in the description of the condo. I suppose another option would be to drive your car across the street and park so as not to have to cross on foot. However, no one else has reported this to be a problem. I appreciate everyone's comments and use the information to improve the next renter's experience. Mahalo, Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

  • All is Wonderful! Rented 1/20 - 3/3/2013

    Guest comment entered by owner

    All is Wonderful! Rented 1/20 - 3/3/2013

    • Guest Carol and Jim
    • Date of stay 01/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Hi Linda all is wonderful here , we would like to book the condo again for February 2014 if its available. Many thanks carol And Jim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Fun Vacation!

    Fun Vacation!

    • Guest Nightowl (Boulder Creek, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/28/12
    We had a great time in Kailua-Kona. The condo was perfect for two couples to share. It is in a great location. Close to town, but not in town. It had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The sand and lava rock beach across the street is beautiful. And the restaurant across the street was really good. We would recommend this condo to others and would definitely stay there again if we ever get the chance to go back to the Big Island of Hawaii.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Ever!

    Best Ever!

    • Guest Boo (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/20/12
    Hands down the best condo rental for a Hawaiian vacation. The photos don't do it justice; it's even nicer in person. The FOUR sliding doors create a circular feel and the breeze is all you need. The are only a few sand beaches in Kona and this condo is right across the street from one of them! If the beach is too crowded for you, the pool area is very nice and private. (Loved the covered parking and how pleasant it was to head out later in the day.) The owners were wonderful and responsive and the condo clean and bright. The location is perfect. You can go down and around to the volcanoes, up to more beaches, or over to the Valley and Hilo. We are sold on the Big Island and will most definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A DREAM-COME-TRUE VACATION

    A DREAM-COME-TRUE VACATION

    • Guest Kellun & Mike (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    What a gorgeous condo and beautifully-situated building unit. We sat outside on the large wrap-around lanai every morning to enjoy coffee, the trade winds, the tropical birds singing in the trees as we planned our daily adventures around the island of Hawaii. Oh how we wish we were back there! This condo has it all to keep one comfortable, happy, relaxed, entertained. It is very clean and we enjoyed the Hawaiian artistic touches with which it's been decorated. Beautiful master bedroom and fun glass-block shower. The pool was clean and very inviting--just a short distance from this unit. The white sands beach is a short stroll down the driveway and across the street. It's a small beach but people are friendly and the ocean is BIG, and what an awesome experience to be in the surf and have a sea turtle swim by! We walked and went for runs along Alii Drive early in the mornings, followed by a dip in the ocean. What a way to start the day! We found it easy to drive a mile to the Safeway to buy groceries. Also easy to drive into Kailua-Kona to go out for dinner and a beer at the Kona Brewing Company. And a very special dinner was had at Sam Choy's overlooking the ocean. We also found it easy to drive to the other side of the island to experience the difference in ambiance -- fascinating! Would DEFINITELY recommend this unit to all of our friends and family. Would we come back to this condo? in a heartbeat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • So Enjoyable!

    So Enjoyable!

    • Guest Margaret (Montana)
    • Date of stay 04/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/09/12
    The two of us were able to stay for 12 days in this lovely condo. The corner location means there is a wonderful cross breeze and we didn't need the A/C at all. It also doubles the size of the lanai! Nice. The condo is well maintained and appointed and certainly was as advertised. Very comfy king bed. We have stayed in this complex before but prefer this unit over the others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Fantastic stay! Couldn't have been better!

    Fantastic stay! Couldn't have been better!

    • Guest Nancynb (New Brunswick, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/31/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    We chose to return to White Sands Village for the second time because we were impressed with the complex as a whole (well managed, clean, friendly, well located). We love the option of being able to just wander across the road to the beach and appreciated the constant changes we experienced through the months of February and March (sand, no sand, surf, no surf...but always beautiful!). Unlike those who prefer big resorts with massive pools and hundreds of units, we always prefer smaller set ups, and the three buildings at WSV make a perfect fit for us. Having said that, I do think it matters what unit you get within the complex as there are varying degrees of upgrades and amenities. THIS unit was the nicest we have seen in the complex. On the first floor of the Kuakini building (the back one) , we loved every aspect of the unit. The wrap around lanai is even better than the pictures suggest, and adds so much living space to the unit. You have the option of sun or shade at any time of the day, and the lanai furniture is plush and comfortable wicker and cushion...makes it pretty easy to spend time there with a book, binoculars (birds are everywhere) or just gazing at the ocean view. (true, it is a ways away but it is there, and beautiful!). So quiet and peaceful! (other than occasional tennis game!) The unit itself is just as described also. The kitchen has everything from a double sided fridge with ice/water dispenser, to a full over plus microwave, a blender for fabulous smoothies, coffee grinder for Kona coffee beans, and lots of cookware and dishes. We prepared many meals and enjoyed eating at the full sized indoor dining table (with granite top!) or on the smaller outdoor coffee table. Furniture is comfortable, both beds excellent, wi-fi service fast and reliable. As previous reviewer mentioned, and it is worth repeating, the master bath reno is extremely well done (bathrooms can be a bit of a challenge in some of these older complexes). The glass block shower is a great design, does add extra light and has new shower head. No issues with water pressure or plumbing. Guest bathroom has the original tub but the tiles are in terrific condition and it too has a new shower head. One of the other issues with some condos that receive heavy use, is the carpet. I am happy to say that this unit has lovely tiles in every room except the guest bedroom (even there the carpet is in good shape). Owner is excellent to work with! Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Fabulous and Unique

    Fabulous and Unique

    • Guest Xingers (Anchorage, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/25/12
    This condo has it all. Unlike the other condos at White Sands Village, this unit is located at the end of the building and has four sliding doors onto the lanai that effectively increases the living space and gives it an open feel. The other interior units seem dark and definitely do not have the ocean views from the lanai that this one has. The building is not facing another building which affords a tropical vista. The owner has recently updated the unit and it was impeccably clean. We enjoyed opening the lanai doors and the entry door and enjoying the trade winds which kept us cool, without the need for air-conditioning. Running and walking along Alii Drive followed by a swim in the ocean at Magic Sands Beach (across the street) to cool off was a daily event. Tennis rackets, boogie boards, chaise chairs and some snorkeling gear were in the condo which saved us a trip to the store and saved money. The glass block wall in the shower is a great touch and lightens up the bathroom. It is hard to capture the feel of the place in photos and our expectations were surpassed with the place. We annually spend a winter holiday at WSV and have already scheduled for next year in this unit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]