Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Landmark Historic 4 Bdrm Home/ Walk to Train Stop for Chicago [#346917] | View Property

Lemont
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 12)
$395/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic home

    Fantastic home

    • Guest fish007 (London, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    We stayed in this beautiful home while I attended a conference in downtown Chicago. Like many of the other reviews, the place was simply awesome. Every room we walked into we kept saying "wow". The size of the house, the number of areas to sit and relax, the great room, huge kitchen, wrap around porch...all spectacular. The local train service runs early 3 times each day (6:00, 6:40 and 7:30 I believe) and is a fast and inexpensive way to get downtown and the train station is walking distance to the house. The only challenge we faced was the commute into downtown by car, which was 50 to 60 minutes during rush hour. However, it was still an easy route to get there and would recommend this property for anyone wanting to experience the hustle and bustle of Chicago, and then the tranquil setting of an old mansion in the suburbs. We definitely plan to go back to this wonderful property. It would be great for a couples weekend (easily sleep 4 to 5 couples), or a larger group. We have 4 children (12 to 22) and all were very comfortable in this large place. The only complaint they had was that there wasn't a large flat screen TV for movies, but, frankly, that was it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Girls Vacation

    Girls Vacation

    • Guest Girls (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    My sister and a couple of friends stayed from a Thursday to Sunday. We had a great time. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable, and the kitchen had space for multiple people to help make a meal at a time. We found the brochures and menus in the front very helpful for the nights we didn't feel like cooking. The house has space for many more people than our number, so as you can imagine, our stay had an airy and spacious feel. The atrium on the first floor was amazing and perfect for a quiet hour of reading or a game of solitaire. I would recommend this property for anyone who just needs a weekend away, whether it is meant for shopping, sightseeing, or just relaxing.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The Singer Mansion

    The Singer Mansion

    • Guest Kathy (Brunswick, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    If your travel plans include Winter in the Chicago area, I would recommend this location to anyone who can enjoy a good snow storm in the comfort of a warm and relaxing home. Whether "staying in' or venturing out to the many surrounding attractions, The Singer Mansion provides the perfect accommodations to begin and end your day. Thank you Cyndi for delivering everything as anticipated.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • what a wonderful memory

    what a wonderful memory

    • Guest penny (newburgh, indiana)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    The anticipation of staying at the Singer Mansion was not a disappointment. Charming, a home you wish you could live in every day. All updated but still with the feeling of historic reverence. I would so much reccomend staying at the Singer Mansion. I have 5 lifelong friends who have started getting together again each year. We go to a different town each year but we all would love to go back and just stay at the home. Not leave. Love Love Love the kitchen where we baked cookies and talked for hours. Plenty of room. Sitting in the sun room, hanging out in the TV room, looking all through the house, taking pictures, and making wonderful memories. Very clean, very modern in a way that does not takes away from the history. Every day we would find something else in the home to be amazed at. Really was happy when I found the picture of the home with the original owners in the yard as we saw that the sunroom was original also. Don't stay in Chicago, stay in Lemont and drive to Chicago, Went to Napierville and probably would have missed it if we had stayed in Chicago. Great places to eat right in Lemont and having a grocery store just down the road was nice. I know this is lengthy but as i write i'm walking down the hall of the Singer Mansion. I would go back in a heart beat and I guarantee those will be the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep soundly in. Did I mention Giant showers? The home is so big there are 2 hall ways upstairs. Yes, stay at the Singer Mansion., The price is right and you will have a really hard time topping this location for your next vacation., Cynthia is very helpful and kind. The pictures are a real. It's that nice. I would definately recommend this home for your next trip to Chicago. But you'll want to stay in Lemont,. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Even better than the pictures!

    Even better than the pictures!

    • Guest notdog9 (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    We rented this property to host a girls weekend of 10 girls coming in from across the country and the house was wonderful! Even better than the pictures and we had a fantastic experience :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • We Highly Recommend!

    We Highly Recommend!

    • Guest Patty & Rich (Phoenix, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/22/12
    My husband and I have rented many vacation homes, but this was by far the most relaxing and enjoyable place we have ever stayed. This home was more than we ever expected! We were surprised by it's size and beautiful details everywhere you look. The beds were so comfortable, and the bedrooms were so spacious and quiet! Even though we had 8 people staying in the home, we never felt cramped. If we make it back to Chicago, we will definitely stay here again. Thank you for making us feel "at home".

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Wonderful atmosphere

    Wonderful atmosphere

    • Guest Marge (Peoria,Il)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    My family spent a weekend at this delightful home and hope to return. What a treat to find the Singer Mansion just as described...It was very clean and the beds amazing....We loved the gourmet kitchen . Cyndi was out of town and called to make sure everything was okay...Thanks,Cyndi, for the great weekend...we'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8

  • Pat

    Pat

    • Guest Pat (Las Vegas, Nv)
    • Date of stay 05/09/12
    • Review Submitted 05/17/12
    I loved the house and the area. We had a large family get together on Saturday afternoon and all went well. This is an ideal place for large family or entertaining. The area has many nearby attractions and good restaurants. It was everything advertised and more.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Absolutely fantastic home!

    Absolutely fantastic home!

    • Guest Sue (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    This historic home was perfect for our family get together this April to celebrate my father's 82nd birthday! Cyndi and Paul were so accommodating and helpful! Both my husband and I felt it was a privilege to stay for a week in such a lovely, historic home. Our daughter, and my sister, brother, and two nephews joined us and we were all so comfortable. The gourmet kitchen was a dream for preparing delicious meals -- we all love to cook so it was great fun! Wonderful memories were made for all of us. Thank you Cyndi and Paul for sharing this magical place with us! PS. Lemont is an interesting village -- check out the historical society if you have time when you stay at the Singer Mansion!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Wonderful Retreat

    Wonderful Retreat

    • Guest Riversider (Riverside IL)
    • Date of stay 02/14/12
    • Review Submitted 03/17/12
    What a lovely home for a short escape for the Chicago area couple to recharge their batteries, taking a break from everything to focus on their relationship or families visiting from far and wide to gather together with family for a wedding or graduation. This home is easily accessible to Chicago. Every room offers something special and is very comfortable and welcoming to the guests. I will definitely come again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • More than we ever expected!

    More than we ever expected!

    • Guest Sally (Bryan, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/30/11
    I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for an incredible home away from home. From the moment you drive up, enter the foyer, and discover the peaceful, relaxing atmosphere inside, you will find yourself uttering "Wow, wow, wow"! The description and pictures do not due the property justice....you will not be disappointed! I brought my family including daughter-in-laws. They loved having their own bedrooms and space--either alone or with the group. We enjoyed the kitchen, playing cards and games, a family walk around the block and discovering the town of Lemont. We can't wait for out next visit! Thank you Cyndi for sharing your beautiful home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • A Hidden Treasure in Suburban Chicago

    A Hidden Treasure in Suburban Chicago

    • Guest akersa (Logan, UT)
    • Date of stay 10/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    My three sisters and 89 year old aunt spent a week at the Singer Mansion in mid-October. Having grown up in Chicagoland, only one of us lives in the area. Previous reviews encouraged us to select the Singer for our little reunion. To be perfectly simple, the SInger Mansion was simply perfect! The mansion itself allows you to step back 75 years or more yet enjoy modern conveniences that don't interrupt the structure of the home and the period furnishings. Beds and linens first rate, modern plumbing and a country kitchen where we spent too much time preparing our own meals. Lemont is a darling town with great restaurnts. We walked to nearby cemeteries and found two unexpected headstones with our Polish family name on it, helping us with our geneology.. Simply perfect!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • An incredible find and experience.

    An incredible find and experience.

    • Guest Chris (California)
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Our family of 7 had a wonderful experience staying at the Singer Mansion in August 2011. We came from all over the globe to congregate for a family event in Chicago. Some were concerned about the distance to Chicago but it is an easy 20-30 minute drive depending on where you’re traveling. We made the best decision to stay here the place is quite, safe, huge, wonderfully decorated, great owners, very kid friendly as we had two kids under 3, great place to entertain and relax with family and friends. The town of Lemont is easy to get around in, safe and convenient. There is a nearby grocery store, shopping center, Costco… you name it. We were able to load up on groceries the first day and make great use of the Viking stove and Sub Zero fridge. The appliances and facilities are top notch. The home seems to be recently redone. The layout is fantastic and plenty of space to lose yourself if you want. There is a huge playroom for kids. The owners even left a crib, toys and high chair for us. The bedrooms have brand new mattresses and are very cozy. Oh it is also equiped with cable and internet wifi. All in all I can’t recommend this place highly enough. It really is the best of the best. All of this and for our family the cost was less than staying in a medium priced hotel. Oh Yes that’s one of the best points too. We saved a bunch, were very comfortable, cooked our own food, stayed together as a family, close access to the city, slept well. I am a difficult one to please as I’ve traveled all over the world. This place is just incredible and the owners should be applauded for putting such a great place together.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • See it for yourself!!

    See it for yourself!!

    • Guest Kelli (Tampa, Fl.)
    • Date of stay 07/27/11
    • Review Submitted 08/01/11
    Let me start by saying there is nothing I could say that would be good enough to describe the wonderful experience my family and I had at the Singer Mansion this past wknd. Cyndi (the owner) is very hands on. She prides herself on you and your family being comfortable but gives you all the space you need to enjoy your stay. Your happiness is her priority. Love her!! The House - This four bedroom house has the feel of a six bedroom house. Infact, as I pulled up the page to post my review and saw the title referencing 4 bedrooms, I thought Cyndi had made a typo. It feels larger. All the bedrooms are beautiful and located upstairs. Each has a different feel. The master is fit for a King/Queen. There is an additional living room upstairs where the bedrooms are located. The square footage of this room is larger than many 2 br. apts. Two twin beds are located in this living space. I almost couldn't pull my sisters out of this room. The laundry room is located within this room as well. It's large and fully equiped with washer/dryer, ironing board and steamer. The kitchen - Large and Beautiful. It's fully equiped. The rest of the house - The home has a vintage feel, but has a very current cd player and ipod dock with wireless speakers so you can listen to your favorite tunes throughout the house. The conservatory - Peaceful and serene. The city of Lemont is so very friendly. I jogged every morning speaking to dozens of greeters. I felt safe and the neighborhood was beautiful. There is a restaurant 2 miles away called PC Pancakes. Please go there!!!!! Go early because it closes at 2pm everyday. Tell the staff you're staying at the Singer mansion...all of them love it and wish they could buy it. The service is great and the breakfast is addictive. The o.j. is freshly squeezed:-) Don't allow the drive to chicago to stop you from staying at this home. We drove it everyday and it was very easy. Nothing to it. Overall, I recommend the Singer Mansion to anyone looking for a relaxing good time. Please go see it for yourself. Cyndi - Thank You for sharing your treasure with our family. It was a pleasure doing business with you.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Girls Weekend

    Girls Weekend

    • Guest Susan (Edmonds, Wa)
    • Date of stay 06/24/11
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    The website pictures for this incredible house do not do it justice! It was amazing! And from the time we contacted Cyndi to the time we arrived, everything went quickly and smoothly. Cyndi was there when we arrived to give us a tour and make sure our questions were all answered. Even though this is a historic house, the kitchen and bathrooms look new. Charming house! Charming owner! We'll be back!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Best kept secret!!.. I almost hate to give it away.

    Best kept secret!!.. I almost hate to give it away.

    • Guest Bob (California)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    We stayed at this house for a little getaway weekend. It was so perfect. Peaceful quaint smaller town, yet so close to the city of Chicago and all of it's attractions. We had everything we needed here. The kitchen was so well equipped. The bed was beautiful, linens were so soft and so comfortable. We sipped coffee on the front porch in the wooden rockers and had our wine in the candlelit conservatory in the evening. I loved the homemade cookies that were waiting for us when we arrived ! What a nice inviting touch!! The bird feeders outside the conservatory were fun to watch and frequented all day long. There is actually a formal library and it's amazing.. it was stocked with lots of books. ( I wished I'd had more time to read ) The whole house is decorated to make you feel like you are in a historical museum. You can tell that the owners have spent a lot of time lovingly restoring/decorating this home to bring out it's original glory. We'll definitely come back here as often as we can. Thanks for giving us this opportunity!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Just what the doctor ordered!

    Just what the doctor ordered!

    • Guest Linda (Riverside, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/06/11
    • Review Submitted 05/10/11
    While I was here for a "girls gabaway" and had a wonderful experience. Nothing like a cup of coffee in the solarium to make you think you are a million miles away from all the stress! I thought that staying in an older house would mean a wakeful night of creaks and other sounds, but the house was suprisingly quiet! I would recommend this to any group o' gals for a beautiful escape weekend!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • This is not your regular rental house...

    This is not your regular rental house...

    • Guest ugur (iowa city, IA)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/05/11
    We rented this house for a family gathering. Adults stayed in 4 bedrooms, which are really comfortable and big. The master suite was amazing, the owner was really nice to bring even a portable crib for your baby. The family room is huge, and great place for kids, playstation is a good touch as well :) The best part of the house was the sun room, we spent the whole day sitting there and chatting. The kitchen is nice as well, but utensils/plates/pans need to be updated. Overall very nice place, the downstairs rooms and library are almost like a museum. We'll stay there in every possible occasion.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this beautiful home.

    Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this beautiful home.

    • Guest sylvia (chicago, illinois)
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 04/22/11
    My family stayed at this beautiful house and it was wonderful. Very Family Friendly! It’s a fun place to play hide and seek with my 5 years old niece and 2 years old nephew, they didn’t want to leave. The spacious family room is a great spot to play and relax with the kids. The beautiful Atrium is a beautiful place to sit and relax with the adults, and the kitchen has everything you need to create great meals. Cyndi is easy to work with and friendly. Thank you for such a pleasant experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]