Lakefront 2 Bd Custom Cabin, Mins to Durango on Vallecito Lake
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Vallecito Lake cabin description
This 2bd- lake-front cabin/home is truly water a front 1/3 Ac lot . Walk right down our private path to fish, swim or hike on our shore. It has been recently remodeled with big vaulted ceilings, complete new full kitchen,big Dinnig room, Breakfast nook area and Full bath with a tiled, tube/shower, Wood floors and tile counters tops.
This 900Sq'+ custom cabin/home has two Queen beds including a huge master that looks over the large living room with views out to the lake, trees and mountains as you fall sleep. The 2nd bedroom has a Queen and nice dresser, good size closet etc. The pictures tell the story, enjoy your next great vacation on the lake.
Easy drive, mins to get to bolth down town Durango and Bayfield CO. The lake has 2+ marinas, 2 general stores with many great restaurants and business's on the water.
Excellent place to see the wonders of nature all round you while boating, fishing, camping, hiking, outback, 4x4trails ATV or? The killer sun sets over the water. You can even horseback ride along the lake, its endless fun.
Sleeps 6 call listed phone number to book your 2012 lake-front getaway vacation reservation
Keywords: Lakefront, Durango, Waterfront, Cabin, Pagosa Springs, Hot Springs, Bayfield, Home, Lake, Water, Boating, Fishing, Camping, Outback, 4x4, new remodel, Log Cabin, fireplace, two bedroom, horseback riding, water-sking, jet skiing, hiking, 2 bedroom, BBQ sleeps 6,
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Alternative Lifestyle
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available
- Cooking Utensils
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Linens Provided
- Gas Fireplace
- DVD Player
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Wireless Internet
- Mobile Phone
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Lake View
- Mountain View
- Water View
- Basketball Court
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Rock Climbing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Cross Country Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Fitness Center
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
Lacking Customer Service & Cleanliness
Lacking Customer Service & Cleanliness
This property is beautifully located on Lake Vallecito and it offers close proximity to the water for fishing or taking in the sights. However, we had issues during our stay that were never addressed or rectified by the property management. First off, in the master bedroom we found hairs in the bed prior to us sleeping in it. This was disturbing as it made us wonder if the sheets were changed between the last occupants and our family. We were given three towels upon our arrival when we had a party of four. The owner said that the property manager would be by the next day and would provide additional towels, but he/she never came by. We notified the owner and were told that the property manager had the day off. He assured us that we would receive new towels, toilet paper, and paper towels the following day, but again, no one showed up. We had soggy, dirty towels and had completely run out of toilet paper and paper towels before the end of our stay. The bedding in the front room had two flat sheets, rather than a fitted and a flat. The sheets kept coming undone and made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. The microwave was extremely dirty and the bathroom floor needed to be mopped. The phone ringing continues to be an issue despite the owner's reply to a former review. The renters must turn the ringer off to have peace and quiet. All of these concerns were brought to the attention of the owner as we asked for some type of compensation for our inconveniences. Over a month of emails has gone by and the owner was willing to offer a free night stay. When I explained that we live 500+ miles away and would not use it, he informed me that his “partners” will not do cash because we stayed the entire booking. He continued to remind me that I should have called on our final night...but by that point promises had not been kept the previous 2 nights when we called so we didn’t expect things to change. We realize this is not a full-service hotel, but we shouldn’t have to call every night for simple requests that were promised by the owner. I asked for the “partners’” contact info, was told my email would be forwarded to them in California, but over 2 weeks have passed and no response. I wouldn't recommend this cabin to anyone due to the lack of customer service and cleanliness, let alone stay there again. The view does not outweigh the lack of concern for renters of this property. Find another cabin to rent.
- Guest Eric (Phoenix, AZ)
- Date of stay 07/16/12
- Review Submitted 08/27/12
Owner response: Eric, Since your stay we have have hired new management as well a new cleaning crew. Sorry for any inconvenience during your stay. We are revamping the entire cabin would be more than happy to refund you moneys due to your issues stated. Were hoping you will come back and give us, the other partners (from California) another chance. Just wondering, why did you stay a full week if it was so bad... We will be addressing all of your other concerns during the off season, it appears there was communication and maid services problems. But, I was told you did get a clean home prior to your stay. Our partners inform us of the phone plan offered, its free outgoing calls only, any-were in the US, Mexico and Canada. This is not offered in most vacation homes, let alone free. Further, The ringer will be disconnected and home will be five star experience for the 2013 season, that's a promise.
WOW so awsome!!!
WOW so awsome!!!
Ok this trip was a blast! the cabin was just what i was looking for, fishing every day right in front. lots of enjoyable activies, hiking, boating, fishing, etc. I will be back!! thanks for every thing!
- Guest Jess T. (Durango, Colorado)
- Date of stay 04/16/12
- Review Submitted 05/01/12
Owner response: Thank you! We hope to see you again soon... The Owners
Overall the stay was good. It was difficult to get ahold of the housekeeper. There is no cell phone service at the house but there is a phone there. The bathroom door did have a crack as mentioned in the previous person's review, so we fixed it ourselves by buying weather stripping and applied to the door, and it fixed the issue. Simple $4 fix. The walk to the lake is a bit steep but the view is very pretty. The internet and phone worked great and was very helpful while we were staying there. The only problem is that the phone number to set reservations with the owner is the phone number attached to the house, so you get calls from random people throughout your stay, which is a bit annoying. The main bedroom has a curtain for a door which we did not mind a bit. The back bedroom needs updated bedding as it was really old and really couldn't cost much to replace. There were plenty of towels and the cleaning lady came once during the stay to wash them. The cleaning lady will not do dishes or clean, although we were told she would, so plan to clean up the dishes and the house the whole stay as she won't clean until you leave. Other than that we had a great time and enjoyed the Vallecito Lake area. A few items the owner might consider- Put some towel hooks in each bedroom as there is no where to hang your towels; replace the bedding in the bedroom next to the bathroom; frost the bathroom window as the curtain is kinda gross and it touches you while showering; add some extra seating in the living room as it is limited for comfort; and that is it! We enjoyed the cabin, just thought these items would increase the amount of renters you get.
- Guest Jessica H.
- Date of stay 09/01/11
- Review Submitted 09/13/11
Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.
Owner response: Hi, Thank you for your review, The 2nd bedroom bedding will be replaced. The bathroom door will be replaced. With regards to dish washing and extra 2nd cleaning, other than new sheets and towels as requested daily, we have ever offered it, as posted. Most Vacation homes on the market do the same unless customer has requested daily maid service. We have yet to offer it, who knows some day we may. Everyone should know its not a hotel, its a fully dressed/stocked water-front 2 bd home with all the trimming. The pictures tell the story... It must have been a communication error and we are sorry, our customer always right. We will make all the other suggested improvements as time allows or during our off season, they were valid. Next year we will a wider and easy path to our private water front. We are happy you enjoyed your stay regardless and gave us 4 out of 5 stars! We are trying to do our best, thanks again. The Owners
Nice cabin, good value.
Nice cabin, good value.
This cabin has a lot to offer a value minded traveler. My party of five stayed here for one week recently, and enjoyed a comfortable stay. The new mgmt company greeted us upon arrival and made every effort to make us satisfied. The cabin is decorated in a "shabby chic" decor, which was super cute. The kitchen was recently updated and clean. The vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors were a nice touch. The bathroom door did have a small opening as the first reviewer said, but hey, its a cabin not the Four Seasons! I hope everyone enjoys their stay, and remember to secure trash, as bears are a bit of a problem in the area.
- Guest Dana B. (Los Angeles, California)
- Date of stay 07/29/11
- Review Submitted 08/07/11
Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you! We are still going to fix all the imperfections, it's just booked one day after the next, this summer. We are glad you enjoyed it as we do... 98% of our guests love the place, leave us pleasant notes but don't write reviews and that's OK. Thank you again, The owners
Highseason $190/night - $1250/week May 15th-Oct 15 2013 Low season $150/night - $990.00/week Oct 15th-May 15th 2013 $70.00 cleaning fee Are rates are flexible based on availably, deposit, and how many in party. 1st 6 persons free, extra person 10 $ / 2 small kids on pull out couchbed
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
About the owner: Greetings. Our family moved here in the Durango - Bayfield area seven years ago from Santa Barbara, CA. People sometimes question why we moved here, and it's simple- We love the outdoors! We hope you enjoy your vacation here as much as our family loves staying on the lake. It truley is one of our familes top vacation spots. The McNichol Family
Why the Owner Chose Vallecito Lake:
Well, it doesn't get any better than the La Plata Mountains; Lake Vallecito is the only lake that can be water skied on in the area. We are within minutes to Durango, Bayfield and downtown Pagosa Springs. Many local attractions for all ages!!!
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
Our lake-front cabins are very special. When you can see, smell, and touch the water it moves you. Vacationing on the lake versus off the lake, are two different worlds. The water/lake is in your face 24/7. We have a nice lot with big pine trees with great in-cabin views. Check out our cool decks, fish off our private shore and throw that just caught fish on the deck BBQ. Its just plain vacation fun. We have the best prices and quality cabins on the water by far.
- Primary: 970-884-2303
- Secondary: 970 884 2303
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Saturday, April 27, 2013
2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.