Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our pool, and lava rock wall, with beach and ocean just 30 yards away.

Tropical Oceanfront Estate with Pool, Spacious, Private, on 2/3 Acre [#348320] | View Property

Private Homes
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5.5 Baths (Sleeps 19)
$880 - $1,190/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • A wonderful vacation home!

    A wonderful vacation home!

    • Guest Sherry and Bruce (Lethbridge)
    • Date of stay 12/01/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    This was a vacation for extended family with 4 children under 10, a teenager, and 6 adults! There was plenty of room and privacy for everyone. The house and grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed the beach in the morning after breakfast, then would sightsee or lounge by the pool in the afternoon. The two fridges came in handy. The BBQ had a little mechanical trouble on the 1st day but Yanu came immediatley and fixed it. Our favourtie spot was the lanai in the evening; it was a beautiful area to watch the sunset and have a glass of wine. The house was very well kept, very clean, lots of dishes in the kitchen for our large group, lots of pool and beach toys to keep us entertained. We would definitely recommned and would come back again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • It was Wonderful !!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    It was Wonderful !!

    • Guest K. E.
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 12/16/13
    Good morning Rob, I just wanted to drop you a note and tell you what a wonderful time we had in your property. It truly felt like a home away from home. All of the amenities made it so comfortable. We lacked for nothing. Everyone had a great time in the pool, playing bocce, lounging, going to the beach and just spending time together as a family. We appreciated Yanu's help along the way too. We left a large bowl and platter which we hope make a good addition to your other beautiful things. We would all like to come again some day !! Thanks for sharing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A magical 50th anniversary week!

    A magical 50th anniversary week!

    • Guest Ellie B. (Carlsbad, California)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    We spent a wonderful week here with our sons, daughters-in-law, and 4 granddaughters to celebrate our 50th anniversary. This house was a perfect choice for us, with plenty of space for all. The pictures were so helpful and we were able to have everyone assigned to a room before we arrived. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. Yanu, the caretaker, set up a fence around the pool for us, as we had a 2 year old, 3 year old, and two 7 year olds with us. We went to the beach every morning, using the plentiful chairs and toys, and used the pool in the afternoon when the wind came up. The property was pretty protected from the wind and the girls did lots of swimming. We also played bocce ball and the girls ran and chased on the grass. We ate most meals outside and sat on the lounge chairs to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The kitchen is small, but incredibly well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots, and pans. Each couple had one date night while the rest of us babysat. The men went on a snorkeling cruise to Molokini, which they loved. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Awesome family vacation thanks to your vacation home! Mahalo and ahui ho!!!

    Awesome family vacation thanks to your vacation home! Mahalo and ahui ho!!!

    • Guest Montana folks (Billings, MT)
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    Our extended family of 14 included 6 children - ages 5 - 13. The home was a perfect fit for the adults and kids alike. Everyone had their separate space for alone time plus the wonderful great room and patio / yard for gathering times. The pool and proximity to the ocean were a wonderful asset! There are lots of toys and supplies for the pool and beach ~ There are plenty of towels for bathrooms and beach/pool. Having laundry facilities was very helpful. The owner was very helpful during the planning stages - answering questions promptly and thoroughly. Yanu, the caretaker, was very responsive while we were at the property. We would highly recommend this property - both for the property itself and for the great location - close to so many attractions and destinations. Thank you for sharing your property with us! Mahalo and ahui ho...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Montanans loved your property

    Montanans loved your property

    • Guest Montana folks (Billings, MT)
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    Our family of 8 adults and 6 grandchildren ranging from ages 5 - 13 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your property. There was plenty of space for everyone - great gathering area and separate bedrooms and baths for privacy. We enjoyed the patio and pool areas as well as the ocean just across the street. The location was very central for trips to Lahina, Kanapali and Wialea. The grounds were beautiful; the home very adequately appointed. We would recommend the property and hope to return some day...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Time had by all!

    Great Time had by all!

    • Guest Cathy (Salem, OR)
    • Date of stay 05/28/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your Maui home with us. We all enjoyed our stay. It was the first trip to Maui for most of our family. There were 14 of us from Washington, Oregon and the east coast. The house was well equipped, the yard and pool were wonderful. We felt we were in our own little world. Yanu was very helpful. The beach was great for walking and most of us also swam in the ocean and some got use to their snorkel equipment there. Some of our group found a great snorkel spot where they saw turtles, dolphins, many tropical fish and a sting ray. They returned from their trip so excited. It was a joy to see what a good time they had. My husband and I are so glad we found your home to rent for our family. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Month In Maui

    Great Month In Maui

    • Guest Andy A.
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    My wife and myself booked this property for 1 month for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had numerous familly and friends from across Canada vacation with us through out the month. We had as many as 32 people with us at one time (we also rented the property right next door to accomodate the extra people) The owner and care taker were great, even unlocking the gate so we had free access back and forth between the two homes. The property is ideal for large famillys. I 've got to give extra thanks to Yanu (the catre taker) as he took great care of us well we were in Maui. The location of the property for us was ideal, close enough to Costco (we made several trips there) and other shopping as well as for visiting the sites of the island. We would recommend this property to other large groups and famillys. Thanks again for all of your help Rob and Yanu. The Alcock Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Christmas Holiday 2012

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Christmas Holiday 2012

    • Guest CWA
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/12/13
    "Our family celebrated the Christmas Holiday 2012 at this estate. There were 25 of us and we rented the house next door as well, but all of the activity took place in this house. The living room was large enough for all of us to be present at one time... we were even supplied a Christmas tree and lights for the fireplace and it was lovely. There is a lanai overlooking the lawn and ocean that would accommodate all of us for our evening meal, and a large outdoor grill which was put to good use. The kitchen with two refrigerators was quite adequate for our family. The furniture in the house is quite tasteful and functional, and the bedrooms and baths were quite fine. The house and grounds are well maintained and there is a property manager/caretaker who was very friendly and helpful. There is a great beach right across the street which provided a lot of enjoyment for our family, but we also used the pool a lot. Even though there were 25 of us the property is large enough so that anyone who wanted privacy could easily find his own space. It is truly a beautiful place, lovely flowers, garden, and view of the ocean, only 40 yards away. A large wall and foliage gives privacy, but does not obstruct the view. The owner and manager are easy to work with. We would recommend this property for any kind of a small group... families, business meetings, getaways, fun or serious gatherings."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Amazing Family Gathering

    Amazing Family Gathering

    • Guest Happy Grandparent (White Rock, British Columbia.)
    • Date of stay 11/28/12
    • Review Submitted 12/18/12
    The tropical oceanfront estate was even better than advertized. Rather than packing up the 12 grandkids on a daily basis to visit other beaches in Maui, we spent the bulk of our time at the beach which was literally across the road from the estate. Parents could walk back and forth to the beach as frequently as they wanted to accomodate the different sleeping and eating schedules without making everyone go at the same time. The very large enclosed yard allowed the parents to relax knowing that the younger children could not 'escape' the property on their own. The home is exactly as advertized and was very well equipped. There were lots of beach toys and chairs to take across the street to the beach. We had some amazing family photos taking under the immense banyan tree in the yard. The owner who lives off-site was very responsive and in a timely fashion to any questions we had concerning the property prior to our arrival. The 'propoerty manager' only lives a couple of blocks away and the one time we called him during our 8-day stay, he responded within minutes. The property is well located with easy and convieneient access to other Maui sites. The property is ideally suited to larger groups - particularly family groups. We witnessed some amazing sunsets without even leaving 'home'. Had we the 'wherewithal', we would love to return to the estate on a regular basis.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Kihei vacation!

    Great Kihei vacation!

    • Guest jjones15 (-)
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    Our group had a great stay here, the house and location worked out very nice for all of us. It was nice having the big yard, pool and wonderful patio space as well as the large living room area.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun In The Sun!

    Fun In The Sun!

    • Guest J&M (Wrangell, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/22/12
    A group of us came from Alaska and Oregon to have a week long celebration for my husband and my wedding. For some this was their first trip to Hawaii. Literally none of our friends and family had anything bad to say about your home. All any of us could say about our stay at your house was that it was more than we could have hoped for. I grew up on Maui so I was hesitant to rent a house without any air conditioning but we didn't miss it at all. The breeze was HEAVENLY. Another plus to point out is that the house is not level with the street but is in fact raised above it. This cut down on traffic noise and made us feel like we were tucked away in our own little paradise. The inside of the house was clean and beautiful, but no surprise here that we spent most our time outside on the lanai and in the pool. Thank you again for making your home available to us and for allowing us to create memories that we will treasure forever. Now the only question is when do we come back again?

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Review of Property #348320 - Maui, Hawaii

    Review of Property #348320 - Maui, Hawaii

    • Guest Newts (Port Moody, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    The house and grounds actually exceeded our expectations! It was indeed right across the street from the beach. We have a wonderful extended family vacation; there were 12 of us in total, comprised of 4 families. Eachof us had their own bedrooms and private bathrooms. The large dining room and the lanai dining tables were the perfect size for us. The pool was simply amazing, and was serviced almost daily. The grand kids, ages 5 to 9, instantly became water babies! This also allowed helped them immensly with their comfort level snorkling. The house was everything as advertised and more! We all made a commitment to try to come back in four years. Trevor Newton & Family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Missing our Kihei home already

    Missing our Kihei home already

    • Guest Billy (Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    There were twelve of us staying in this house and it was a perfect piece of heaven... I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Maui. The pool, the banyan tree (for those tree climbers) and the well landscaped & fenced in yard made it perfect for children (the four kids on this trip loved it). Beach across the the road behind the house was great for snorkelling and evening walks at sunset. The caretaker was also very helpful to our needs and very friendly. So many good memories were made in this house. I fell in love with Maui and definitely left part of my heart in Hawaii. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect for our Family

    Perfect for our Family

    • Guest Teana N.
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    This beautiful house fit our family of 13 (ages 1 - 62) perfectly. It had everything we needed (including a cooler for our excursions and golf clubs) plus some. The kids especially enjoyed the pool and the trees, as well as having close beach access. We even took some family portraits in the beautifully landscaped yard. Everyone had a space to call their own, and it really felt like we were coming "home" every night after our busy days. While the house did not have air conditioning (like many homes in the area), it had lots of ceiling fans and windows to keep the air moving. It was so nice to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean each night. I would recommend this house to any large family traveling to the area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Vacation Ever!

    Best Vacation Ever!

    • Guest Rhonda (Medford, ORegon)
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    We have used VRBO's many times in the past for our big family vacations that we take every year, and descriptions always seem to exaggerate. Not this one! For the first time, this lovely estate was even better than described. The house was so spacious and the grounds were absolutely amazing. Half of our group was in the "teen-ager" range and can be a little boisterous, but there was so much room to get away and have privacy and peace. We would definitely return, and felt so sad to leave! This was my first trip to Maui, and after driving all over the island, I can't think of a better place to stay! Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Location and Home

    Fantastic Location and Home

    • Guest Leigh (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 03/07/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    We had a fantastic time at the home and surrounding areas. There was 8 in our group (3 kids) and the space fit us all comfortably and the pool was a great feature for the children. Only one thing to improve on is the internet and cable service, we could not get a consistent signal for more than an hour at a time. We would definitely come back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Blended Family of 10 adults

    Blended Family of 10 adults

    • Guest Blended Family (Chicago Area)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    This lovely home was just as represented in the VRBO website. The ensuite bath/bedroom arrangement allowed for privacy yet the large indoor and outdoor common areas provided plenty of together time. The stores and organized activities are about a 10-15 minute drive down the coast into Kihei proper but a sand beach is directly across the street. The location is particularly good for touring the island because of the central location. The owner and the local representative were very helpful. We had a fantastic family Holiday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • chaz

    chaz

    • Guest chaz (Vancouver, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/12/11
    • Review Submitted 12/21/11
    The location was close to shopping and across the street from the beach, which was a plus. The landscaping was well maintained. The interior of the home was very dated and was in need of extensive cleaning. One of the bedrooms had a musty oder. Two of the ceiling fans did not work. The oven wasn't clean and smelled. The microwave in the ( oven/microwave combo) didn't work. The counter top microwave did. We purchased a toaster, the one in the house was dirty and the exterior appeared to have been burnt. The house had mice,we trapped 3. The caretaker was very nice and provided additional traps. I would not recommend this property to a friend or relative without revealing some of the issues we encountered. If we had toured the property in advance, we would not have rented it.

    Owner response: Your review is our first negative one so is a bit surprising and disappointing to us, but is much appreciated nevertheless. First of all I can understand your comment about our home being dated as it is an old Hawaiian estate home, but that is part of its charm. We have attempted to state this in our VRBO description but perhaps need to do a better job of it. We are concerned to hear you found the house needing cleaning, as we do an extensive cleaning before every arrival, and it is a point of emphasis with us. However I note that in your case, we had a same day turnaround so it sounds like our cleaners did not have enough time to do their usual thorough job. I apologize for that because it is certainly something that is under our control. The ceiling fans have been checked and are working however they are old, and two of them can sometimes be a bit balky, so we have put them our list to replace. We are aware that the microwave built into the oven does not function which is why we have installed a separate microwave. It sounds as if the toaster was getting old so we thank you for replacing it. We will be happy to reimburse you. The mice are a recent problem. We have a contract with Terminex and called them in specificlly for that problem just last Monday. They have set additional traps and commented that it was currently an Island wide problem but seemed to be improving. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our landscaping and also regarding our caretaker. He checks in each arriving guest and I will tell him to please ask them to give him a call as soon as they notice a problem, so that he can fix it right away. We don't want maintenance issues to affect the enjoyment of our home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

    • Guest Mike and Cathy from Oregon
    • Date of stay 12/05/11
    • Review Submitted 12/27/11
    Hello Rob, Merry Christmas! Thank you for sharing your wonderful home! We had a wonderful family time. One of my favorite memories is, moments after arriving, seeing my 31 year old son chase his 3 year old daughter in the epansive green, beautiful yard! I don't know who was having more fun! In the evening, we especially enjoyed the night smells of those blooming....plumeria?? We had "open house" for the bridal families and friends one night, and the indoor-outdoor seating was perfect! We brought the glass topped table up from the pool, cleaned it off, and covered it with a table cloth and lots of food, buffet style! There was seating for everyone somewhere! The lanai furniture is just beautiful. We had many many relaxed times on the lanai, blowing bubbles with my granddaughter by the light of the Maui moon! We appreciated the safety fence and the gate! Both made us feel very secure. I can't thank you enough. It is beautiful!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing, Great view, Great location.

    Relaxing, Great view, Great location.

    • Guest Rob & Min (Everett, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/17/11
    • Review Submitted 12/24/11
    We return from our trip rested and relaxed. The location of the house is great. It is located right across from the beach the sand and water are literally just 50 yards from the gate. My family loved snorkeling so this properties central location was perfect. The shops/restaurants of Kihei/Waliea only a short drive away. The owner provides visitors with a little book that provided details to the houses’ operation, restaurant reviews, snorkeling hot spots, and other tourist activities. It is a little thing maybe but was great and took a lot of the guess work out of where to go, what to do. The house was clean upon our arrival and everything in working order. The caretaker took us through an orientation of the property and was very responsive to our questions. The house was a nice place to return to after a long day out in the surf and sun. We would BBQ on the patio in the evening watching the sun slowly sink into the Pacific Ocean. Did I mention being relaxed… The house was very large with so many bathrooms and bedrooms it will be a good place to bring extended family for visits in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from Downunder!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from Downunder!

    • Guest Mr. D from Sydney, Australia
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 12/06/11
    "The house was fantastic! Thank you... and definitely up to expectations. Having stayed there previously we could see some positive changes as well (such as new outdoor furniture, a good TV and upgraded BBQ!). We all had such a great time and we love the house - It's perfect for two families. Our toughest decision each day was whether we swim in the pool or at the beach!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Repeat Guests!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Repeat Guests!

    • Guest Mrs. M from San Diego
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 10/04/11
    "Thank you and Ursula for the thoughtful welcome gift. We all enjoyed it!!! Secondly, I wanted to thank you for a really, really enjoyable stay in your lovely home. Yanu and his wife were great and helped us settle right in. I also want to thank you for your flexibility. With children coming in from all different destinations the ability to get in earlier and leave a tad bit later really, really helped. We will definitely plan on staying with you again on our next trip to Maui!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • PARADISE

    PARADISE

    • Guest Julie/Joe (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/21/11
    We just spent a week with our family at this beautiful estate home. Ocean is just yards away....views are spectacular, grounds and home maintained beautifully, great pool, great privacy, everything you would ever need. Everything---and we mean everything---was just as listed!! Highly recommend!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Maui Vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Maui Vacation

    • Guest The "M" Family from Portland, Oregon
    • Date of stay 08/04/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    "We had a great time! and the house worked out well. We vacationed in Maui last year, but I much preferred this house compared to the one from last year. My children loved the pool and the jack and jill bedroom and bath worked out fantastically for our children who get scared in new settings! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Vacation home review

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Vacation home review

    • Guest The "S" family
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 07/23/11
    "We really liked your house... your house is beautiful, well equipped and very comfortable."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The "E" Family
    • Date of stay 05/19/11
    • Review Submitted 06/22/11
    "We were here to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary here. Everyone enjoyed the time exploring the Island and the time spent together in this beautiful Maui Beach House. So perfect for families!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Terry and Brad
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/21/11
    My family and I returned from Maui and spent 18 days in a home located at 16 Ohukai Road and totally enjoyed ourselves. The rest of our family stayed in the back house. It was the perfect size for all of us. They were very accommodating and helped us arrange our wedding and reception at the home. The 2 goofballs downstairs (Andy and Stacy) were a blast, we had a lot of fun with them and they went out of their way to help us. It got pretty windy during the day, but you forgot about that when laying in the sun. We will be back again next year.. we hope. Aloha Terry and Brad

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Bob G Family - Concord, OH
    • Date of stay 05/19/04
    • Review Submitted 03/21/11
    We have been to the islands many times in the past but this time brought most of the family--a dream of Bob's for years. We thank you for making our dream come true. This vacation we will never forget. The beauty of this home, its location plus Maui is unbelievable. We had it all. We are so happy to found our home! A dream vacation. We will return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]