Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Centrally located in the heart of downtown

Ablitt House - Art Meets Architecture in Downtown Santa Barbara [#3483814ha] | View Property

DownTown
1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 2-4
$375 - $425/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Absolutely Magical

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Absolutely Magical

    • Guest Carla
    • Date of stay 04/02/14
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    (Transcribed from guestbook at the property) An absolutely magical place. You know how much I love it and how finding this little paradise has changed me. I think I'll get one too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazed

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Amazed

    • Guest The Polsons
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the home) When we saw the home online we were amazed, but being here in person is better than we could have imagined!! There is so much character and such unique details making it a place we will come back to. I especially love the 'faces' in the walls and the hand blown glass lighting in the kitchen. I could go on and on about everything great about the house... Thank you very much for sharing your home with others to enjoy. We would love the opportunity to stay here again!! P.S. We felt like Celebrities from the many people viewing the house on tours and lots of people taking pictures of the house!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Home

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Lovely Home

    • Guest The Smyth Family
    • Date of stay 10/20/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Thank you for sharing your lovely home. Knocked the Granny out of Santa Barbara.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our 10th Wedding Anniversary

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Our 10th Wedding Anniversary

    • Guest The Kretschemers
    • Date of stay 09/02/13
    • Review Submitted 09/15/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Thank you for sharing your treasure with us. We couldn't have celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary in a more special place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect combinations of art and class

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Perfect combinations of art and class

    • Guest The Safaie Family
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Our family spent the entire week in the kitchen! Awesome room. Perfect Table. Games, drawing, laughing, music, views, breeze, noise, wine, cooking, planning. Its the kitchen of a perfect home. Love the windows, no screens, just open air, seagulls flying by. The lighting is very nice. The details in the ceilings, has an old world charm. Love the solid wood doors with an arch. Curved windows. Perfect combinations of art and class, yet still so comfortable. Wish I could bring this home and to every city we travel to. Thank you for sharing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Falling in Love

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Falling in Love

    • Guest Cindy and Glenn
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Magical! Lovely! Falling in love with Cindy over and over again. One of the most romantic trips we have ever made. Stars, Music, Dinners, Friends, Rooftop dances. Not enough words to describe the depth of the romance this wonderful work of art can bring to two people.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Simply Lovely

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Simply Lovely

    • Guest George, Joan and Jenny – Texas
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Simply lovely. We enjoyed our time at Ablitt House and Santa Barbara so much! It was a perfect and charming backdrop for family, friends, wine and food. Doesn't get better than that! Going back to Texas with lots of great ideas. #1 houses can be fun and colorful #2 Tile is King!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tantalizing joy

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Tantalizing joy

    • Guest The Goldbergs
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) The day I entered this home was the day I came alive. Colors, textures, patterns, light, shadows, smiles, sounds, curves, shapes create an experience of simple yet tantalizing joy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ablitt house

    ablitt house

    • Guest David J. (Santa Fe, NM)
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    The house is absolutely as pictured, a genuine work of artistic beauty. I suspect would be perfect for family gatherings, small weddings, parties. Sleeping is another story. I wondered why the owners chose to rent out such a beautiful home, rather than live there. Then I stayed there for 4 nights. The noise level from the bars next door is extraordinary. It wouldn't be a problem if you go to sleep after 2 a.m. Other than that, a wonderful place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Inspiring

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Very Inspiring

    • Guest Bob and Kimberly - Oregon
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the house) We had a wonderful time being "right in the action" in such a beautiful and amazing piece of work. Very inspiring!! Saul at SB glass Co is so nice, we are thinking of ways to incorporate his artistry into our own home! Our favorite part was the roof top. Thank you so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Like living in a piece of art

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Like living in a piece of art

    • Guest Mike and Carla
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Your house is amazing and I was so happy here. It's a joyous place and I danced on the roof every night. It is a credit to you and Jeff that this ever got built and it is truly like living in a piece of art. I'll be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ablitt House Rocks

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Ablitt House Rocks

    • Guest Jim (Guest of Mike and Carla)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the property) Wow! I feel blessed to have the privilege of spending the night in this magical castle! Spending it surrounded by Mike & Carla - Real Shoe- is the icing on the cake. Ablitt house rocks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Colorful tiles and beautiful view

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Colorful tiles and beautiful view

    • Guest Gina & Luke
    • Date of stay 01/02/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    (Transcribed from the guestbook at the home) What an amazing way to spend the holidays and welcome the New Year!! We loved walking along State Street, eating to our hearts content then arriving back to this lovely retreat. We'll miss waking to the colorful tiles and beautiful view but we look forward to returning. This house was clearly a work of love and determination- congratulations. P.S. It was fun having an endless stream of people taking pictures of the house, completely fascinated.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Location, Dreamlike Digs

    Excellent Location, Dreamlike Digs

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/25/12
    • Review Submitted 12/28/12
    This is definately one of the most unique vacation rentals we have had the pleasure to appreciate. The architecture and furnishings are so special that they could probably charge money just to have people walk through the house. The upper deck, BBQ and bell area affords a 360 degree view and it is just delightful to sit in any room and enjoy the ambiance and windows. The management company was a bit difficult to work with but ultimately they helped us to change our dates at the last minute when we were faced with a family emergency, and we were quite greatful for this. Staying in the Ablitt House was a fabulous and unique experience which we highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An Unforgettable Memory

    Guest comment entered by manager

    An Unforgettable Memory

    • Guest Pilar S. from Madrid
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    (Transcirbed from the Guest Book at the home) Hola, I'm from Madrid and would rather write in Spanish, but probably most of you would appreciate it more if I wrote in English So here are my comments on our recent stay: Unique and beautiful house strategically located in downtown Santa Barbara a few blocks away from the marvellous beaches. Fascinating views to the mountains and the beach with the line of palms. The light fills up the inside of the house through its wide windows that convert the house in a very special place to stay and get lost in Santa Barbara's landscape. The place is full of sorts of windows, of all sizes and levels without losing your privacy due to the height of the house/tower. Unique decoration, every detail has been taken care of and you even find yourself discovering new small details in the house every day. You have lots of books in the sculpted shelves and precious details everywhere like a special wine fridge (that keeps the wine at its perfect temperature), or a barbecue on the roof terrace where you can see and let yourself get absorved by its amazing views, looking up at the sky full of stars in the beautiful evenings. The uniqueness of this house is not only the location nor the architecture that makes you feel you are in a museum, but how it makes you feel it and leave it. It invites you to want to stay inside and not want to get out, it invites you to gather around its wonderful kitchen equipped with all the amenities with an exquisite and refined taste. The light you get during the day is completely astonishing but also the lightening inside the house, strategically positionned, makes it a very comfortable place to be in. And I don't even need to mention the original architecture of this place... Our host was very nice and attentive, he has made our stay very comfortable and he's been always eager to show us around and go over the region's history and has made our stay special. This place was definitely better than we expected and has made of our trip an unforgettable memory.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Walking into Art

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Walking into Art

    • Guest Don Desrosiers, MA
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    (Transcribed from the Guest Book at the home.) It happens that my wife and I were the first people on earth to spend a night in the Ablitt House, thanks to the warmth and friendliness of Neil & Sue Ablitt. We actually spent a night there BEFORE they did! Anyway it only appropriate that I be the first to leave a comment. If you have ever dreamed that you could stroll through a Monet painting and wade thru the colors, then here is your chance. Walking thru the Ablitt House is truly walking into art. It is magnificent. There is no other house like it and there is no other experience like it. Do yourself a favor, spend a few nights here! (Santa Barbara isn't so bad either! ;)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Alive With Color!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Alive With Color!

    • Guest Kit B. Oregon
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    (Transcribed from the guest book at the home.) You must stay in this delightful home ! My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful "little house" for three days and it was marvelous. This Santa Barbara beauty is alive with color! The tilework is artful and very well done. The staircase railing is one long piece of handcrafted art. I loved the marble stairs! There are scores of windows in this home. Light streams in from all directions. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the top patio and looked at the Pacific Ocean, the mountains and Santa Barbara. You can sit on the patio and enjoy seeing the sunrise with cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set in the evening. It is a short walk to the beach and just a block or two from some great shopping and a variety of fine restaurants This home is furnished with the finest appliances. The bed is very comfortable and the shower produces lots of hot water in just the right stream. It is important to remember that this Little House was home to the owners for several years. It is charming and comfortable. Your friends will enjoy seeing your photographs and marvel at the architecture of this wonderful residence. My wife and I plan on making a return visit every year. Wishing you the same wonderful experience that we had ! We look forward to staying at The Little House "Same Time Next Year"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]