Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Deck side of cottage facing  the mountain and water views

Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views [#349586] | View Property

Bar Harbor
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) + Bedroom 4, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$1,095 - $1,595/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • great spot in spite of the rain

    great spot in spite of the rain

    • Guest bob (United States)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    This vacation home is outstanding. The owners made us feel very welcome and were extremely knowedgable about acadia and bar harbor. It only rained hard one day, otherwise it was great for hiking and birding. I would recommend this property very highly, with many extras you would not getat another place - pool table, bocce, upstairs game room , new outdoor barbeque, short walk to a nature preserve,great patio view of sunsetsover the bay. Favorite place to eat was Lundt's lobster pound across Trenton bridge on the left about a mile - clam chowder the best as well as great lobsters and the best lobster roll ever. I definitely plan to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so happy you enjoyed our taste of paradise! We would love to have you return and hopefully experience plenty of sunshine.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nancy & Tom

    Nancy & Tom

    • Guest Tommy (Woodland Park, NJ)
    • Date of stay 10/07/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    What a beautiful spot. The cottage is comfortable and cozy with all the amenities of home. Judy & Ralph are fantastic hosts and made us feel right at home. If you enjoy the great outdoors be it sitting, walking, hiking or bike riding, this spot should be on your bucket list. The view of the cove from the deck is very special.. We had a great time and would definitely stay again. Thanks Judy & Ralph.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Nancy & Tom, So glad you liked your stay at the Cottage! We hope you'll consider coming back and visiting Bar Harbor in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Den & Marilyn (Coon Rapids, MN)
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    If you are looking for a very quiet, tranquil place to stay, we would highly recommend this property. It is very clean, very spacious & well-equipped. Ralph & Judy were close by to assist us in getting our bearings, places to see, restaurants to eat at, etc. We were in a wooded setting off the beaten path, yet very close to Acadia, Bar Harbor & the surrounding villages. We would do this trip all over again in a heartbeat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We loved having you visited our cottage and very happy that you enjoyed your stay on this very special island. Come back and see us again and visit the many places you didn't get a chance to experience on this years vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a paradise

    What a paradise

    • Guest MW (Fort Lauderdale, FL area)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/11/12
    Thank you, Ralph and Judy, for opening your guest "home" to my friends and I. It far succeeded any expectations we could have ever had for a perfect place to stay for the visit on your beautiful island. You were gracious hosts and your home was comfortable, conveniently located, and perfectly situated. The sunset views were breathtaking and I can't stop looking at the pictures. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend your cottage to anyone wanting a Bar Harbor area stay. Thank you for all your help and advice! Massimo's baked goods were delicious... thanks for that tip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • OUTSTANDING in every way ! ! ! !

    OUTSTANDING in every way ! ! ! !

    • Guest Richard B. (Litchfield,Maine)
    • Date of stay 10/15/11
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    What a beautiful cottage (it's really a house). It is comfortable and cozy with all the amenities of home available for use. Ralph and Judy are gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The view of the cove from the cottage is spectacular. We especially enjoyed watching the deer on the lawn each morning as we ate our breakfast. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It was certainly our pleasure to have you and your family & friends stay at our cottage. I have already seen signs for next year's MDI marathon. Looking forward to seeing you in 2012.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A fantastic place!!

    A fantastic place!!

    • Guest Don and Barbara (Salem, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    We were pleasantly surprised with this place. The "cottage" is more like a home than a rental. The views, grounds, location and everything about it are understated in the property description. The owners are the nicest folks and so helpful in their recommendations. We were initially concerned that the property wasn't close to Bar Harbor but actually found the location to be excellent since it is easy to get to all parts of Mt Desert Island from there and yet you feel like you are in your own private paradise. We would stay again and highly recommend the property to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your very kind comments about your recent stay in Bar Harbor. Please make sure the next time you visit the area, you'll consider staying with us again. Judy & Ralph

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • perfect family rental

    perfect family rental

    • Guest Justine G. (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/13/11
    We stayed here with our two young children and found it to be just fantastic! We were able to come back easily for naps and able to enjoy adult time soaking in the view after the kids went down at night. The cottage offered all the amenities of a full sized house and it was a treat to do laundry if needed. The owners were so helpful with their great suggestions and the location to all places on the island was perfect. Thanks for all of the hospitality. We hope to return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Please come back a visit with us again. There is so much more to see on Mount Desert Island!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Blue Hill Vista Acadia Paradise

    Blue Hill Vista Acadia Paradise

    • Guest Acadia Fans (Pittsford, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/30/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    We have been going to Acadia NP since the early 90's. we have stayed at Blue Hill vista every year since it opened. The views are spectacular, beautiful sunsets. The house is great for our family and friends who visit us. We love Acadia. the hiking, biking , running and food are superb. In addition, Ralph and Judy, the owners live next door and are some of the nicest, most helpful people you could ever meet. i would recommend this place highly to a friend ,or relative. It is well worth the 12 hour drive we take every year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: These guests know more about Acadia then we do.! They climb every mountain trail, bike both the 50 miles of carriage roads and the Park Loop Road, swim at Sand Beach and stay busy from early morning to late afternoon. They love grilling, sitting on the deck and enjoying the sunset before another day of wonderful experiences.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chuck & Bonita,
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We have enjoyed every minute at Blue Hill Vista--watchin the sunset, playing pool, watching your movie selections, loved Carol Burnett! Judy, your flowers are beautiful. Ralph your stained glass is amazing. Thanks for letting us in early. Chuck, Bonita, Kathleen, Kari & Stephen Lancaster, PA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Relaxing

    Beautiful and Relaxing

    • Guest Christine (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/26/11
    This cottage is so charming and comfortable. We had such a good time! The town of Bar Harbor is a short drive and the parks are awsome. We will be going back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love returning guest who very quickly become friends! There is so much to do on Mount Desert Island, a return visit is a must.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Location

    Fabulous Location

    • Guest naturechic (Towanda, Pa)
    • Date of stay 07/26/10
    • Review Submitted 04/02/11
    This was our first time to Maine with children and this cottage made it possible. We were so close to so many great attractions like downtown Bar Harbor, Bar Island (our kid's FAVORITE spot), and Acadia National Park in all it's splendor. We got great directions and tips from our hosts and were able to feel at home in the cottage and bring the kids back for naps. We DEFINATELY will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Close to everything but extremely private

    Close to everything but extremely private

    • Guest Momof4 (Evansville, IN)
    • Date of stay 07/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/28/11
    This is a perfect place to visit if you want to be close to Acadia National Park, all harbors (Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor, Northeast Harbor, etc) and easy quick access off the Island to visit Ellsworth and surrounding small inland towns but allows you to have a peaceful place to relax away from the touristy hotels. The house accommodations were spacious and even though we had a party of 6, we never felt cramped. The game room was perfect for a evening of pool. The front porch allowed a peaceful place to read a book while enjoying the beautiful scenery of Blue Hill and the cove below. We cannot wait to visit again!

    Owner response: If you don't know how to play billards or bocce, we have easy to read directions and but if needed we are available for support.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amy, Tim, Bradley, Tim & Penny
    • Date of stay 09/05/09
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We had a super time-wonderful weather, great location! Love your house--comfortable & great amentities. Hike, biked kayak, beach---we did it all. Great meeting with you---we'll see you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Anita, Greg, Rob & Michael
    • Date of stay 08/22/08
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    It was a week of many firsts--Greg learned the "real" rules for bocce, Anita learned how to play pool, Michael ate his first lobster and Rob set a new record taking photos and climbed the Beehive for the first time. It was our first stay here---but hopefully there will be many more to come! This is a wonderful place with great hosts. One complaint though, time flies by too fast here! Rochester, NY

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rachel, Nicholas, Lisa & Britt
    • Date of stay 08/16/08
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    Thank you for the beautiful house & being such good neighbors. You have a great view and we loved watching the Olympics with a view. Thanks again. Burlington, VT Toronto, ON

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]