Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Unique Cabin Nestled in Woods.
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2-3 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Lake Arrowhead cabin description
Rent my beautiful little house nestled in the woods of Lake Arrowhead. It has cathedral ceilings and dormer windows of painted glass, two decks that jut out into the woods, a full kitchen, a wood burning fireplace,a terraced garden and a peaceful romantic quality hard to describe. From the back deck you can hear the stream that runs at the bottom of the hill. Fully furnished, with one bedroom with its queen sized bed, a futon couch that becomes a twin bed upstairs, a loft sleeping area with a full sized mattress, and a very comfortable queen sized air mattress that can be easily blown up and placed anywhere you want.
Rekindle your romance, play in the snow with your sunshine drenched LA children, go antiquing with your friends, retreat with your co workers, go for a girls go wild weekend or just relax by yourself.
Lake Arrowhead is a perfect get-away. It's a place to go to be alone and finish that novel you've been working on or to be together to rekindle your romance. Kid friendly, it's an hour and a half out of LA and minutes away from cross country and downhill skiing, sledding, snowman building and ice skating in the winter and swimming, boating in nearby Lake Gregory, picnicking, hiking, exploring etc. in the summer. Alas, Lake Arrowhead is a private lake so unless you take a cruise on the sightseeing boat or take a waterskiing lesson there is no boating on Lake Arrowhead. The fall finds the leaves are a stunning riot of color. You can shop for antiques and mosey around any time of the year. In the village there are a wide variety of restaurants, rustic gift and home shops, upscale outlet stores, a little kiddie-land type area with rides for the little ones, a children's museum, a video game palace, a pilates studio and the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa.
Keywords: Cabin, home, house.
- 730 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
There will be an additional $100 cleaning deposit if you bring a pet. I've had some bad experiences with my furniture and need to have a deposit. Please don't let your dog on the couch and clean up his/her feces around the house. ...moreless
- Children Welcome:
- Non Smoking Only
- Alternative Lifestyle
Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Beds for 2-4
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- It's a full bathroom. However, the bathtub is quite small. So sorry.
Kitchen & Dining
- Pantry Items:
- Cooking Utensils:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Dining Area Seats:
- Coffee Maker
- Wood Fireplace
- Wood Stove
- Video Library:
- Music Library
Wireless is by usage. If you want wireless there will be a small charge. Your charge will depend on how much you use it. We can monitor it from home as you will be using our Verizon hotspot....moreless
- Outdoor Grill
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Lake View:
- Fitness Center
- Massage Therapist
- Medical Services
- Cross Country Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Water Skiing
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Horseback Riding
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- There is a major ski resort about 15 minutes away called Snow Valley in Running Springs. Within 30 minutes of my house, up the mountain is Big Bear and in Big Bear there is fishing, swimming and boats for rent. Also about 15 minutes away is Lake Gregory at which there is boating of all sorts and fishing. Lake Arrowhead itself is a private lake with no boat rentals. In Lake Arrowhead which is about 5 minutes away there is a major spa and five star restaurant. ...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
The Perfect Getaway
The Perfect Getaway
Our family rented this cabin for a week long getaway. Our family consists of 2 adults and 2 children. This was perfect! It's small in size but the layout is such a great use of space. My 10 year old loved the loft, which he called "his fort"! We ended up only going to town twice because the space is so cozy and with the fire in the wood stove, views of the forest, and the quiet, there was no need to leave. After the kids went to bed, my husband and I sat out on the deck, all bundled up and enjoyed the crisp air, stars and quiet. The owner Jill, was delightful to interact with. She responded quickly to our inquiry and was very kind. If you're looking for a retreat to the mountains in a cute, rustic cabin for some mountain air, and down time, this is the place. Without question, we'll be back!! :)
- Guest Amy 007 (San Diego, CA)
- Date of stay 10/20/13
- Review Submitted 11/04/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children.
Owner response: Why thank you Amy. Your son was the first to use our new and improved sleeping loft. The next time you come it'll have a beautiful little window that looks out on forest beyond.
The place was represented correctly with the photos posted except the couch. It's very small, cozy, and equipped with everything you need. location is ideal, close to Blue Jay and down town Lake Arrowhead. We took advantage of the third night free. With this offer it was worth the price since the house is not in that great of shape. Don't get me wrong, its very clean and stocked. The rehabs look like they where not done by a professional contractor. The front door laterally has a very thin wood van-ear over it. It's advertised as sleeps 4, no way in any shape or form will it sleep that many. The couch is a love seat so don't plan on anyone sleeping there. The loft is very tiny and dangerous to get too. If our kids would have gone I would have not allowed them to sleep up there. The pad that's up there is only big enough for one person, if they are daring enough to even climb up the ladder. We are very glade we did not bring our kids with us. We would have had to put them on the floor in our room or on the floor in living room. The internet worked great but no local or cable T.V. Make sure you bring movies for the DVD player. All heaters worked perfect bed was very comfortable. Directions were totally wrong and we drove around over an hour late Friday night to find it.. No one that lived in surrounding area knew the name of street we needed. We did get lucky and turned down a street that ended up getting us to the house. When daylight hit we went back to see if we could even find the street name with no luck. Bottom line, the place is ok for a couple that want a cheep get-away as long as price stays low to reflects condition. If your picky and want something nice and willing to pay more this is not for you.
- Guest jason K.
- Date of stay 10/04/13
- Review Submitted 10/16/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.
Adorable cabin! Amazing location!
Adorable cabin! Amazing location!
The cabin was the perfect location for the fun weekend I was hoping for. Totally charming and super private, it was easy to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The morning sun on the cozy deck is perfect for morning coffee. I wish I was there right now!! Special thanks to owner who was extra helpful.
- Guest jennifer (Washington)
- Date of stay 08/18/13
- Review Submitted 08/26/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: Oh Sharon thank you so much for your kind words. We aim to please.
You Will Love This Cute Place
You Will Love This Cute Place
We loved this cute and private cabin. It's on a small cul de sac, so there is no traffic. My wife and I shared some Starbucks on the main-level deck that is surrounded by trees and the soft sounds of morning birds. What a deal too! It was very affordable and close to the village and lake attractions. You won't be disappointed. The owner is great and we had no issues booking our stay. Our kids loved it too and we all wished we could stay longer. I know we'll be returning to this charming cabin.
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 07/26/13
- Review Submitted 07/31/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you so much Tim. You're just swell. I look forward to hosting you again.
Very disappointing and had to leave after one night
Very disappointing and had to leave after one night
Unfortunately after years and years of using VRBO I have never had to write a one star review. From the pictures we were extremely excited to come and visit this cabin. A few days before we were to arrive, we hadn't heard anything from the owner (which was unusual with our all our other owners who we had previously stayed with) so I gave the owner a call. She was very friendly and apologized several times for not having sent us any information and did so right away. When we arrived the cabin looks like the pictures more or less but is a bit more cluttered than as shown. Also we knew there wasn't going to be any AC so we brought an extra box fan. We found two fans but one was broken. The highs at Lake Arrowhead hit 97 that day so the basement was hot and the bed is a bit high so it is a bit stuffy up there. We opened up the windows and with both fans this worked ok, but then the bugs started to come in. We wrote the owner at around midnight and she wrote an immediate response and was most accommodating and said that there were other fans that she could show us in the closet and would be happy to drive up to show us. Unfortunately, we figured out that it didn't matter how many fans going there was only hot air blowing around so it was still extremely hot. We had to leave as it was too hot and with no screens on any windows (and most of the windows upstairs are painted shut) and the bugs were biting us. I wrote to her again and asked for a refund (as we had paid for all four nights upfront- and only had stayed one) I said that I really wanted to avoid writing a review like this and asked if she could please in anyway refund our money as well as attend to the issue of the screens. I didn't hear anything back. Other issues with the cabin: -no light in the shower so it is almost completely dark when you shower -the door in the basement is almost completely rotten at the base with light showing through and room for small bugs to come in -the steps up to the cabin have many stones and debris from the winter not yet cleared -as mentioned there are no screens, the windows are very old and the one down stairs is extremely hard even to wedge to stay open This cabin is what I would describe as rustic, funky, shaby and a bit worn. This is perfect for people who don't really care about these things and I am writing this so that when you book this you have a sense beforehand of what you are getting into.
- Guest C. Josephine W.
- Date of stay 07/04/13
- Review Submitted 07/07/13
Owner response: Well, I feel like a real VRBO veteran now – my first-ever negative review! Part of it is certainly justified. It’s true that I neglected to send this lady the cabin information in a timely manner. It was an aberration, and I apologized. Secondly, it’s true that the side door had accrued rot, and that the windows and door lacked a screen. I have responded to the legitimate complaint and purchased a new door and screens for the front and side doors, using the issue as an opportunity to spruce up the property. All very legitimate, and I’m pleased to upgrade the cabin for all future guests. Where the reviewer and I part company is with regard to the general condition of my place, which is stellar. I use a top-notch cleaning service to scrub everything down after every guest stay. It is also a rustic cabin in nature with all of the attendant wear-and-tear that entails, which is part of its charm. I’ve never had a single complaint about the clutter of the place. I further take some exception with the reviewer’s technique of threatening that unless her money were refunded, she would pen a negative review. I tend to react badly to extortion attempts, so I called her bluff. I also pointed out that this is a cabin in the middle of nature, where there are bugs – and, in the summertime, heat. I was VERY upfront with her and told her that I had no air conditioning. I cannot control the weather, try though I might. I will be emailing God later, however, to see about getting the outdoor heat issue rectified going forward.
Our stay at this cozy cabin was pretty amazing!! The cabin is very well taken care of. It had just snowed a couple days before our arrival so there was snow everywhere and it was beautiful!! The heaters work great and the fireplace when used heats the whole upstairs and the heater is not even needed. Jill was great with getting information to me and answering all my questions and is also very quick to respond when corresponding through email. It is very convenient how it is set-up to just arrive to the cabin and use the code to get the key from the lockbox. The balcony off the kitchen is great to sit out on and look out into the beautiful trees that surround the cabin. Even in the cold and now all around we BBQ'd out on the balcony and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and peacefulness. I would definitely stay at this cabin again. They have a pretty good variety and selection of DVD's that are provided as they do not have cable or satellite. Drive into Lake Arrowhead Village was short, just about 10 minutes or so. I believe there is a shortcut through the neighborhood that we tried to locate but i believe the roads were snowed over so they were closed. Thank you so much again Jill for your help and kindness, you and your hubby have a wonderful place.
- Guest Andrea P.
- Date of stay 02/22/13
- Review Submitted 03/13/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway.
Exactly what we needed
Exactly what we needed
My young adult son and I, accompanied by our family dog rented this cabin on a snowy long weekend and it was just perfect for the three of us. The cabin was warm and well-equipped, in a quiet neighborhood, and looked very alpine with a thick layer of snow on the roof. Our dog absolutely loved bounding through fresh powder on the nearby trail down to the village, and we loved coming back to light a nice warm fire on the wood stove. The owner Jill was responsive when we asked questions, and alerted us to the prevailing snow conditions on our way up the mountain. Coming back we made it back to LA in just over 90 mins - amazing!
- Guest United fan (La Crescenta, CA)
- Date of stay 02/08/13
- Review Submitted 02/11/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, pet owners.
A very nice cottage with a lot of charm, just as the photos depict. A little cramped for 4 people but excellent for 2-3. Situated amongst the trees, and close to town. The property was clean, but had a few maintanence issues. The owner mentioned she would address them. The wood stove provided plenty of heat for the main level. A great retreat to unwind and enjoy the surroundings.
- Guest Don A.
- Date of stay 12/27/12
- Review Submitted 01/08/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+.
Loved the cabin
Loved the cabin
Stayed at the cabin over Thanksgiving holiday with my family. Cabin was great and appeared as described: one bedroom with a double bed and a loft off the living room. The loft is way too high for anyone younger than a teenager, so don't plan for your kids sleeping there. Nice sound of the creek down below while having your coffee on the balcony. Even our dog enjoyed the run down the creek. Owner has the cabin well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, shampoo, etc. and sends you detailed instructions before your arrival. Would definately stay there again.
- Guest GDmama (Carlsbad, CA)
- Date of stay 11/22/12
- Review Submitted 11/28/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, pet owners.
After graduating nursing school, my husband, daughter and myself needed to get away. By luck, and lots of researching the Internet, I came across this cozy little cabin. We rented it for 3 days in December. We took our Christmas gifts to the cabin and opened them by the fire place. We even visited Santa in the village while we were there. The 3 of us have travelled quite a bit in and out of the country. When you ask my 7 year old daughter what the best vacation we've ever had was, she says the cabin in lake arrowhead with the loft. Sometimes we take for granted the little things in life. We did not need to spend a fortune, nor travel across the world to find a vacation that was perfect for exactly what we all needed. I never really got a chance to thank Jill for sharing her piece of heaven with us, so hopefully she knows now how much we appreciate her generosity.
- Guest Melissa (Thousand Oaks, CA)
- Date of stay 12/17/11
- Review Submitted 11/04/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, pet owners.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Dec 21 - Jan 2
2 night min stay
Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun
Nov 23 - Dec 1
3 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
2 night min stay
Fri, Sat, Sun
Additional information about rental rates
If you stay for the weekend you can have the third night free unless it is rented. If you bring a pet you will need to give me an additional $100 cleaning deposit which will be returned to you after my cleaning service has been to the cabin and tells me the mess isn't excessive like dog feces around the house, enormous amounts of hair on the furniture, and scratches on the furniture.
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $100
- Cleaning: $75
- Tax Rate 7.9%
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
- Nearest Motorway: 18 Rim of the World at 0.3 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Snow Valley at 5 Miles
Year Purchased: 2005
About the owner: I'm a proud public school theatre teacher and actress in Los Angeles. After many false starts I finally found the man of my dreams and was married on 10/10/10. Crazy. We have four kids between us and they are each unique and kooky in their own ways. I do theatre and write and politically organize whenever I can. It's a darn good life.
Why the Owner Chose Lake Arrowhead:
Having spent my life in the biggest of cities, LA, Chi Town and New York, I yearned for the rural. And I missed winter! After spending a few weekends here on theatre company retreats I was hooked. So I began to go to Lake Arrowhead for weekends and slowly fell in love with its romantic charm. This is the only house I own and I adore it. The mountains are beautiful. I can stand on my back deck, a glass of wine in hand, the fire roaring, and see thousands of stars as I hear the stream gurgle below me. Fantastic. And I don't think my new marriage would have happened with this particular getaway. You'll see. Romance always brews. Then there's the skiing and the spa and the mountain hikes. And the views from 6000 aren't so shabby either. The people are friendly but not intrusive. All in all, it a perfect place.
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
The village of Lake Arrowhead, with its restaurants and shops, live music, boat rides and waterskiing, spa and movies houses is only five minutes away. Yet you feel, when at the cabin, that you are miles away from civilization. My dog adores the place. He can run free and seems to think that is the coolest thing ever. If you are bringing kids to play in the snow, there will be plenty right at my house or you can go tubing or sledding (I've got sleds) at a place of business about ten minutes away.
- Primary: 323-371-6118
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
My little cabin nestled in the woods.
Our back deck.
Warm and inviting.
Peeking in the front window.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Wednesday, December 18, 2013
1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.