Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
two cabins on the stocked pond works great for large groups

'its Five O' Clock Here,' Waterfront Blue Ridge Parkway Cabin [#350825] | View Property

Fancy Gap
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$100/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Best Spring Break Ever!!!

    Best Spring Break Ever!!!

    • Guest Florida Family
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/30/14
    We took our three teenagers for Spring Break to Virginia and stayed in the cabin "Time to Unwine". We had an absolute fantastic time there. Our daughters felt like Mary and Laura from the Little House on the Prairie, because of the ladder up to the loft. The cabin is breathtaking, warm and inviting. Everything you need is there. It is the perfect place to relax and de-stress. The views from the front porch where so beautiful. We will probably be back sometime in the fall to enjoy Virginia in all its colors. Thank you for making it such an inviting place to stay. We LOVED it. HIGHLY recommended!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Hospitality

    Excellent Hospitality

    • Guest Quintin C.
    • Date of stay 01/24/14
    • Review Submitted 02/05/14
    This is a perfect getaway for anyone who wants to have a relaxing weekend in the Virginia mountains. The cabin is easily accessed from the interstate, making it an ideal destination for out-of-town visitors. It is also ideally located close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, enabling easy access to many of the areas attractions. What set our visit apart the most, though, was not the location but instead was the extraordinary hospitality of the property management. The owners provide visitors with a wealth of information about the area including attractions and activities. Furthermore, they do not overlook details with respect to making guests feel welcome. For example when I notified the owners that I would be traveling with a dog, there were treats left out prior to my arrival at the cabin. The owners were also extremely accommodating with respect to arrival and departure time. Their quick communication and generous hospitality made this rental experience outstanding.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your review! We want all of our guests, two legged and four legged, to love this place and easily find there way around. We hope that you will be a returning guest and take advantage of our discount for multiple stays. We try to keep the cabin incredibly clean and comfortable so you can enjoy your visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful scenery and very cute cabin!

    Beautiful scenery and very cute cabin!

    • Guest Alicia (Benson, NC, US)
    • Date of stay 01/18/14
    • Review Submitted 01/25/14
    This cabin is very cute and just the perfect place for a mountain vacation! We took our 2 miniature shiatsu's and they LOVED it! We took them for a few walks down the road and around the property! The scenery and surroundings are GREAT for picture taking- many of our pictures look professional, and the background makes it even better! We loved the barn across the road, it made great pictures with the lake in front of it. We built a snowman and decorated it as well as slid down the hill and had a snowball fight! We visited downtown Mt Airy, Galax, and Hillsville. It was always great to come back and relax at the cabin though! We definitely recommend this to any family looking for a great mountain vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so happy our guests take advantage of the winter solitude up here on the mountain. When you get tired of the mountain weather, you can drive 15 minutes to Mt. Airy and the weather is usually 15 degrees warmer. Please come back in the spring and summer when the apple, peach, and cherry orchards are in full swing. What fun it is to go pick your own. The orchards are across the Blue Ridge Parkway and down Orchard Gap Rd. We loved the snowman. It brighten my day when I was at the cabins working the next day! Thanks for being our wonderful guests, and we always love the four legged companions coming along!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Birthday Weekend!

    Fantastic Birthday Weekend!

    • Guest Popaw (Big Stone Gap, VA)
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/22/13
    We brought our 5 year old grandson and 2 grand-daughters to 5 O'Clock Cabin for his birthday weekend. They caught huge bluegill in the pond and after a heavy rain storm moved through, they made us fish through the rain in the evening. Just after the rain stopped we saw the most perfect and vivid rainbow. The kids enjoyed the cabin and loft bedroom/playroom nearly as much as the fish pond. The cabin was perfect for us and the kids, our grandson said "I want me and my Daddy to live here". We are all looking foward to going back and hope we can plan a return trip soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and we have tried to make the cabins kid-friendly with a few games, puzzles, etc. The pond is stocked on a regular basis so we hope you guys will be back for more fishing and fun. thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • So relaxing!

    So relaxing!

    • Guest Rachel (Graham, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this cabin. It is convenient to everything if you feel like getting out, but has EVERYTHING you could need if you just wanted to stay put. We enjoyed going to Mt. Airy for the day, and then enjoyed another day of sitting on the porch reading and fishing in the pond. It was so thoughtful to have all the little extras in case we forgot anything from home and so nice to have goodies in the pantry! We are already planning our next trip back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect cabin-perfect getaway

    Perfect cabin-perfect getaway

    • Guest Heck (Greensboro, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/03/13
    • Review Submitted 04/07/13
    We only had a few days to get away during the week to celebrate my husband's birthday and this place was just perfect! Not only is it incredibly clean and neat, but the cabin is full of items to make you feel very at home. You won't need to run out to the store if you forget some sort of toiletry or food item, you will find it all there! The remote fireplace is romantic and simple, all of the appliances are new and work great and it is very pet friendly, especially with the porch that is gated in. There is plenty of room and many places to sit and relax. The best part about this cabin is how it is stocked with everything you could need, even fishing gear for the lake out front. It is conveniently located to many beautiful and exciting hikes. Definitely will come back again in the future and strongly recommend visiting!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun in VA

    Fun in VA

    • Guest cowboy (Gillette Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 01/22/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    This was a wonderful cabin. My favorite part was the loft. This is a great place to go exploring. I loved how the yard was very big. It was a great experience for my dog,Zoey and I. I am am also glad that there is so much runing space for me too run and play. my dog and I also loved how the cabin was so cozy. I recommend this place for people who like having fun,like to go exploring and lots more.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely mountain getaway!

    Lovely mountain getaway!

    • Guest East coast lady (Norfolk,VA)
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    We really enjoyed our stay at "It's five o'clock here". The cabin was immaculately clean. It had all the modern convenciences while keeping its rustic charm. It was both pet and kid friendly. We can't wait for the chance to come back and will be sure to recommend it to our friends and family

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great time in VA

    Great time in VA

    • Guest East coast lady (Norfolk,VA)
    • Date of stay 01/08/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    We very much enjoyed our stay in this cozy and comfortable cabin.It has the necessary modern conveniences while maintaining a rustic charm.Our kids and dog had a great time. We will definitely return and will recommend this vacation cabin to our family and friends.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • keyman

    keyman

    • Guest Dexter (4249 outlaw bldg. rd. Seven Springs NC. 28578)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    My stay at "its five-o-clock" was excellent it was a great location and the cottage was just what we needed for the four of us. We do plan on going back and will be in touch with Mrs. Jodee.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so happy your visit was enjoyable. We are adding alot of new additions to the property as you speak. We have a professional landscaper giving the land a new look, a new smaller pond is now between the existing cabin and the new cabin which is to be completed within a few weeks. We are adding lots of natural landscaping and a nicer firepit area with permanent seating, and more personal touches to the interior for your comfort. Thanks so much for being our guests!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Cabin

    Beautiful Cabin

    • Guest Kim (Reidsville)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    My husband and I decided our family needed a break. We loaded up our three children (two teenagers) and spent the best four days, three nights in this beautiful cabin. We spent time fishing, hicking and playing football. Cooked out and just played games. This cabin is very beautiful, clean. It is close enough to stores and activites but far enough away that you can relax. I would recommend this cabin to everyone...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Motorcycle Riders

    Motorcycle Riders

    • Guest Tam (Rougemont, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/13
    This place is just the best. Cabin is just beautiful on the inside. Stocked with everything you need. Peaceful. lots of room. View is great. I have stayed twice and loved every time. Just a great get away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Winding Down

    Winding Down

    • Guest Es (Gainesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/13
    My boyfriend, 12-YO son, toy poodle, and I did a whirlwind travelling vacation, staying at VRBO rentals in 2 different places in W VA then on to Fancy Gap for the final 2 nights. It's 5 o' clock Somewhere was a great resting spot. The first day was spent hiking and relaxing on the front porch of the cabin, then the next day we drove a bit down the road and spent the day floating down the river. The cabin was spotless - by far the cleanest place we stayed on our trip. The kitchen had everything you could need. Bed was comfy, but a little small. We all LOVED the front porch - very relaxing playing board games and watching the hummingbirds. My ONLY recommendation is a bigger couch is needed. The little wooden rocker is adorable, but it wasn't comfortable for long periods of time. When we were watching movies at night, one person got the sofa, one was on pillows on the floor, and our son laid on the floor in the loft. I look forward to visiting again and I'm pitching the idea to my girlfriends to do a girl's cycling weekend here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your input and we did add a nice, new large leather chair for more sitting space.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Couple's Mountain Retreat

    Couple's Mountain Retreat

    • Guest Virginia U. (-)
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    We had a wonderful vacation at Five O'Clock in Fancy Gap. The location was just off the Blue Ridge Parkway making it ideal for hikers, nature lovers and music lovers. It was also an easy ride from Route 77. The almost new cabin was quite comfortable, with good air conditioning. The kitchen was ample and had excellent appliances. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the front porch watching the fog roll across the hills in the distance. The home was clean and bright and sunny. It was a short drive down the Parkway to Blue Ridge Music Center, which was a great resource for live bluegrass. Mt Airy, NC, aka "Mayberry" was a fun day trip to see everything Andy Griffith. The New River Rail Trail was a wonderful for biking. We appreciated the opportunity to bring our small beagle and thank the owners for their hospitality. We will definitely be back in the future. Wandering Active Seniors

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect place, perfect price!

    Perfect place, perfect price!

    • Guest Robert and Lucia (Greenville, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    My husband and I stayed at this beautiful cabin several times and each time we absolutely loved being here. Welcome gift / wine, waiting on the table, very clean place, stacked with everything you need to cook some meals, peaceful & quiet, perfect for a vacation or more… We enjoyed watching the sunrise, sunsets & the hummingbirds coming to the feeders. There are so many places to visit in this area, or just relax on the cabin nice porch listening to the nature & reading a book. The owners are very nice folks and easy to work with during the transaction. If you just passing through this area or coming to stay for a longer vacation at a great price, this is the perfect place! We are going back again and again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Cabin

    Beautiful Cabin

    • Guest Love VA (AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/13
    Really enjoyed my stay here.The cabin was super clean and very well-maintained.My son and I enjoyed fishing in the pond,fishing poles provided by owners.We plan on returning and have recommended this to friends and family as an ideal vacation spot.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great weekend!

    Great weekend!

    • Guest Lakegirl (Lake Gaston, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    My Husband and I spent Memorial weekend here....what a wonderful first experience with a VRBO! The cabin was immaculate and so peaceful. He enjoyed the fishing and the swing and I enjoyed my books. The owners were available if needed and so pleasant to deal with. We will definitely stay here again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best True Vacation Ever "It's Five O'clock here"

    Best True Vacation Ever "It's Five O'clock here"

    • Guest Carleen F.
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 02/13/13
    It's Five O'clock here is one of the truest vacation places I have ever been to, if there is such a word. It was so relaxing and enjoyable and serene. We could not help but relax and enjoy the serenity of our surroundings. The cabin was well stocked with necessary items in case they were forgotten. There was movies, books, fishing, grilling and golf; what more could you ask for. I will definitely recommend this spot to all my friends. And we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Mountain Getaway

    Great Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Tammie (Greensboro, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    My husband and I had a few days to where we wanted to get away from it all. We rented the Burton's cabin and it was all we wanted. The views were outstanding! My husband fished and that kept him occupied for 2 days, and I enjoyed sitting on the deck reading. It was a perfect getaway for us. Everything we needed and more was in the cabin, there wasn't a thing that we needed. The cabin was spotless and we would recommend it to anyone. The photos of the cabin didn't do it justice. Be sure to check it out the next time you want to get away from real life!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Birthday Surprise

    Perfect Birthday Surprise

    • Guest Meghan (Cary, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 01/17/13
    I planned a trip to 'Its Five O' Clock Here' as a surprise getaway for my husband's birthday. His brother and sister-in-law came down from Ohio as a part of the surprise as well. The cabin was perfect. We had a great time exploring the nearby trails and enjoyed the large yard in front. It was a great weekend. We will definitely be back and look forward to seeing the new cabin as well.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest bob (baltimore)
    • Date of stay 08/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    great place, great cabin.. Great scenery, great owners.. Very clean. Nice setting if you really jsut wnat to chill out.. I enjoyed Mt. Airy and its Mayberry campiness too..

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful relaxing getaway!!!

    Wonderful relaxing getaway!!!

    • Guest lja5 (Holland, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/03/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    My family and I had spend the first half of our week in busy Washington D.C. and then came to this cabin to spend the rest of the trip. What a perfect way to relax after our crazy non-stop time in the big city! We originally came to this area to visit Mt. Airy, and I found this cabin close by there. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. They cabin was adorable and the owners were so thoughtful in providing us with what we needed during our vacation. If you are looking for a place to stay while in the Fancy Gap area, I would highly recommend this cabin! Thanks again for the wonderful time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • GREAT GETAWAY CABIN!!

    GREAT GETAWAY CABIN!!

    • Guest Marsha (Moravian Falls, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    We just spent 2 nights at this wonderful cabin for our 40th anniversary. We took our little dog, who enjoyed everything! The cabin was clean, neat and well stocked with staples. Jodee and Hughes left us an anniversary basket full of goodies and they made us feel like we were friends visiting their cabin for the weekend. My husband spent hours fishing and I enjoyed reading in the swing. I enjoyed cooking in the cute little kitchen too. There was a brief summer shower and I went to the loft to nap and listen to the rain on the metal roof. The scenery is beautiful and peaceful. I was able to get a beautiful picture of a hummingbird in flight at the feeder on the porch, listen to the bull frogs in the pond and the song birds in the yard. We only left long enough to go to the grocery store. We highly recommend it!!!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Marsha, thanks for the great review. I am so happy guests are enjoying this cozy cabin as much as we have! Happy anniversary! jodee

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Weekend Getaway!

    Weekend Getaway!

    • Guest Susan (Collinsville)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/22/11
    We just got home from a much needed, but way too fast anniversary getaway! THIS place is phenominal!! Everything we needed and more! Very clean, spacious, relaxing and peaceful. The porch swings were perfect for napping, while mmy husband fished in the pond just steps away!! We will definately be back, I didn't even want to leave today!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Hey there, Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate any input, as this is our first rental home. Take care and I am so happy you guys enjoyed it! jodee

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]