Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to Woodlawn - a garden paradise!

Seattle at its Best - the Premiere Walking Neighborhood!! [#352393] | View Property

Wallingford
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$110 - $125/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Just like staying with friends

    Just like staying with friends

    • Guest Penelope (Spring Hill FL)
    • Date of stay 01/13/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    This private hideaway was excellent! Located in a wonderful Seattle neighborhood, close to where I was working on a boat in the shipyard on Lake Union, I was so happy to be in walking distance to many good restaurants. There is a fully equipped kitchen if you want to cook. Much better than a motel room for sure! Perfect for a couple. Great internet! Bev and Garnett are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to assure your comfort and privacy. I would recommend this to anyone and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Make sure you check out Tilth, one of the best restaurants in Seattle! I know I will be back since my wife did not get to stay here with me! And she really wants to return to Seattle!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It was great getting to know you, and to have a personal tour of the fishing boat - quite an amazing multi-layered, floating city. And you're right, Tilth is one of the best, and right around the corner. Well, we have so many great places to eat, drink, walk - right around the corner. I look forward to your next Seattle stop-over.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Comfortable Beautiful Separate Place to Enjoy Wallingford

    A Comfortable Beautiful Separate Place to Enjoy Wallingford

    • Guest Bryan
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    I arrived here for the time just before New Years, and it was fantastic from the start! The initial communication, to the arrival greeting from the Tuxedo cat, to the final cleaning up day, I was at home here. I drove and took the bus from Wallingford to Seattle many times...it was easy, fast, convenient, and I could have moved here permanently, I was so comfortable. I highly recommend staying here, and getting to know Wallingford, and close-by Fremont and University District and Green Lake. I am sorry, but I don't have one bad thing to say! Ring the chimes in the tree, they sound wonderful! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: My only regret was not getting a bit more time to spend together - but at least you had some quality outdoor time with Tuxie, the kitty. We are, as I like to say, in the 'center of universe' here; close to everything, everything provided within walking distance.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming, cozy, and all that you need

    Charming, cozy, and all that you need

    • Guest Elia B.
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/03/13
    This charming apartment in the funky Seattle neighborhood of Wallingford has all that you could need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We loved the decor, which reflected the owner's artistic flair and included lots of wonderful textiles. Garnett provides a binder with helpful tips for getting around by bus as well as recommendations and personal comments on restaurants within easy walking distance. The apartment was very clean, the bed was comfy, and the photos and descriptions here are accurate. Garnett is a lovely person and is happy to share information and suggestions on things to do in the area, as well as on the history of the house. We just wish we could have stayed longer and had better weather so we could take advantage of the lovely garden. Would definitely recommend to friends!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind words and true appreciation of what has been created - beauty, convenience, comfort, quiet and calm and NO deprivation!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfort and convenience, and a beautiful garden.

    Comfort and convenience, and a beautiful garden.

    • Guest Gail W.
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    We stayed two nights in this lovely apartment in the very interesting Wallingford neighbourhood. It is just big enough for comfort with all that you could need; better than a hotel for sure. Our host Garnett provided good information about exploring the area and getting to and from downtown. We followed her instructions and had no trouble finding our way. We go to Seattle frequently from our home in Victoria, BC, and will surely arrange to visit this spot again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: You're right - this is a great location for taking advantage of Seattle and environs; close enough to the bus lines for downtown, the ferries, Sound Transit, easy enough for driving anywhere, and lots of parking. But, it's also fabulous enough right here to be happy staying home and wandering the neighborhood - restaurants, shops, movie theaters, classic homes and creative gardens.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • From a MN perspective

    From a MN perspective

    • Guest Denise T.
    • Date of stay 05/29/13
    • Review Submitted 06/06/13
    We really enjoyed this spot. Comfortable bed, beautiful garden and convenient location. We walked to breakfast past beautiful flower gardens in the neighborhood. We hope for a return visit soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best place to stay in. Seattle !

    The best place to stay in. Seattle !

    • Guest Rob & Cristy (Mount Desert, Maine )
    • Date of stay 09/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    Literally a home away from home. Comfortable, clean, great location, wonderful hosts. The friendly cat was an extra bonus. We will surely stay here again next time we are in Seattle.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wallingford

    Wallingford

    • Guest Sparty (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    Very nice place, well kept and maintained. Small bathroom and shower but adequate. Good location.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wallingford Charmer

    Wallingford Charmer

    • Guest Sam (Ashland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    Great Place to stay...we felt very much at home in this charming home...great neighborhood!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home in Wallingford

    Beautiful home in Wallingford

    • Guest vetwife (Falls Church, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 06/06/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    My husband and I stayed at the Wallingford apartment on Woodlawn Ave for 10 days. The apartment is lovely, and the owner, Garnett Hundley and Beverly, could not have been nicer or more in tune with our needs and comfort. There were more than enough towels, linens, kitchen equipment, and the bed was very comfortable. The frontyard is beautiful and we loved sitting outside (weather permitting) and enjoying the flowers and water fountain - how relaxing. Their cat, Tuxedo, is so sweet, and friendly. The whole time was great and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a neighborhood experience, rather than a hotel setting.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great place in a convenient location

    Great place in a convenient location

    • Guest Al (Milton, Vermont)
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    We stayed here when revisiting the neighborhood where we used to live. We found the apartment well equipped, comfortable, and quiet. It is within a short walk to numerous good restaurants, coffee shops, groceries, a gelato shop (recommended (and shown) by the apartment owner), and public transportation. We had a rental car for out-of-town destinations, and on street parking was available whenever we returned to the apartment. The owner was helpful when needed (e.g., WIFI password), and there was a lot of current information in the apartment about local restaurants, shopping, museums, ferry schedule, bus routes, etc. I would recommend this apartment to anyone (or two) visiting Seattle who wants a quiet and convenient in-town location.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Wonderful Stay!

    A Wonderful Stay!

    • Guest Susan99 (Bandon, OR)
    • Date of stay 04/16/12
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    Garnett has provided a beautiful and comfortable retreat for the traffic weary traveler! Art and ethnic textiles create a relaxing atmosphere. Her gorgeous gardens are full of scents and sounds for a calming stay! The location is central to where I needed to travel and I easily found my way to downtown for the Seattle Art Museum and north for my artist's talk in Shoreline. I could have brought a companion easily but felt comfortable staying alone. She helped with restuarant dinner suggestions by having a binder full of useful information, including buslines. There is a local market and cute shops and eating places within an easy walk. I will let friends know about this vacation rental when they are heading up to Seattle and will definitely stay here again! Thanks!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Apartment and Perfect Location

    Great Apartment and Perfect Location

    • Guest mcgold (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    I had a wonderful experience renting this apartment. Great apartment and great location! I have already recommended this apartment to family and friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Every detail

    Every detail

    • Guest Ilish (California)
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/18/12
    The place was very clean, and every detail was thought of. The bed was extremely comfortable. The place was warm & cozy. The kitchen was very well equipped. Everything worked, the dishes were even beautiful. I loved the art on the walls, but mostly, I loved the sensibility of thinking of her guests' every need. Garnett is a lovely person. Thank you for being so sweet to my 3 year old granddaughter! You made my stay a delight. I would like to come again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wallingford Jewel

    Wallingford Jewel

    • Guest Jan & Ed Maisen (San Jose, Ca)
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 11/23/11
    We come to Seattle on a regular basis to visit our grandson in Fremont. This is by far the best VRBO rental we have stayed in. The neighbourhood and location are excellent, the accomadations are inviting, spacious, clean and comfortable. We will definiltely be back and recommend this to others..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Time

    Wonderful Time

    • Guest Andy (Portland, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 11/19/11
    We stayed at the Wallingford Bungalow for just two nights, but we had a wonderful time. Our host made a point to greet us when we arrived. She was not only knowledgeable and accommodating, she was delightfully warm and friendly. We hope to keep her as a friend. The apartment was everything the listing promised. It was roomy, comfortable, impeccably clean, well equipped, and well appointed. It is located in a nice residential neighborhood that is pleasant to walk through. Nearby, in addition to a large supermarket, are smaller shops and bakeries, and quite a number of interesting looking restaurants, which due to the nature of our trip--a family visit--we didn't sample. All in all, we were far more than satisfied, and we would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Wallingford Getaway

    Charming Wallingford Getaway

    • Guest hey_anna (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/18/11
    Garnett's place is comfortable, bright, and inviting, and ideal for 2 or 3 mature guests. She is a friendly host. We would love to stay here again if the occasion arises.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wallingford Experience

    Wallingford Experience

    • Guest L.K. (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 05/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/03/11
    The location is perfect: great neighborhood for walking to restaurants and movies, easy parking and easy access to both of Seattle's main routes I-5 and SR99. The garden is charming and very much a part of the apartment. The owner is very welcoming and accommodating. We would stay there again,

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wallingford Gem!

    Wallingford Gem!

    • Guest Lori (Fort Worth, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    This comfortable bungalow was everything described in the ad, and more! Booking was a quick and easy process.The owner was friendly and accommodating, and provided lots of helpful information about the apartment and the neighborhood upon our arrival. It was clear that she had anticipated what a traveler might need or want, taking care of every detail down to providing a current copy of weekend event listings from the Seattle newspaper. The apartment was spotless and comfortable, and full of light from the abundance of large windows. The bed was so comfortable, and extra blankets were within easy reach for chilly nights. We were not previously familiar with Wallingford, but found it to be a wonderful neighborhood. Gas Works Park is just a 20-30 minute walk away, and a wide array of shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood just to admire the beautiful homes and well-tended gardens. I have already recommended this listing to friends and family, and would encourage anyone looking for comfortable, convenient, affordable lodging with loads of Seattle charm to book this place. I just hope they don't book it on a weekend when we hope to return, because we will absolutely come back. I am already looking forward to our next stay in this Wallingford gem!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]