Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Side and Driveway View.

Rustic Cabin on Scenic White Salmon River-Views-Vintage Charm [#352484] | View Property

Hood River
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$85 - $120/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Birthday Weekend

    Birthday Weekend

    • Guest Megan B.
    • Date of stay 03/29/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    My husband and I visited for a birthday weekend and had a wonderful time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Valentines vacay

    Valentines vacay

    • Guest Kayla W.
    • Date of stay 02/13/14
    • Review Submitted 02/20/14
    I am in love with this cabin and all that surrounds it! We were so impressed with the cleanliness and decor. So inviting and cozy. Kitchen is well stocked, plenty of blankets, etc. Hearing the river and waterfall 24/7 was dreamy and we definitely did not want to leave! Pull out bed was very comfortable. Its a great distance from town as well. Thanks so much we will definitely be returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great, quiet, get-away!

    Great, quiet, get-away!

    • Guest Adventure Mama (Portland)
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 01/17/14
    A childhood friend and I stayed in the cabin for a couple of days and launched to the mountain for skiing during the day and warmed by the wood burning stove at night. It was such a cute cabin which had personal touches creating a warm and welcoming feeling without too many knick-knacks or clutter to make it feel like you were in someone elses space. Perfect size for 2 people. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and dishes, pans, sweet vintage toaster etc. The blow-up sofa mattress was incredibly confortable! It was super windy during our stay and the metal piece on the flag string outstide made a ding/ringing sound on the flag pole constantly but that is the only complaint. I will definately be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Better than advertised!

    Better than advertised!

    • Guest Kathleen C.
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 01/21/14
    Perfect quiet private get-away.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent getaway!!

    Excellent getaway!!

    • Guest Patti J.
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/10/14
    Needing a place to escape without breaking your budget?? This is a perfect and very cozy cabin to escape, read a book, take walks, listen to the soothing river sounds... I recommend this getaway that is close to White Salmon Wa.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Getaway cabin

    Getaway cabin

    • Guest Deborah F.
    • Date of stay 12/24/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    We spent Xmas holidays here. Place is warm and cosy and great location for exploring the Columbia Gorge.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • lovely cabin

    lovely cabin

    • Guest none (Anaheim, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    My daughter and I stayed at this charming cabin along with our two dogs. The setting was just delightful and fit our needs perfectly. While we spent the majority of our time hiking, the quiet nights with the sounds of the river and the beautiful view was a wonderful way to end each day. We also very much enjoyed the DVDs that were provided as well as the fresh tomatoes provided by a friendly neighbor.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice Getaway

    Nice Getaway

    • Guest DB (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    Great cabin where you feel like you're miles from the city but you're only 5 minutes from town. The decor is cute and despite staying on a fishing trip I'm planning on bringing my wife back for a getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Super Cute Cabin

    Super Cute Cabin

    • Guest TGUILL (Oregon City, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    Everything about the cabin was peaceful and inviting. The kitchen is such a please to cook in! Even though it was cold that didnt stop me from grabbing a blanket and sitting on the porch all morning drinking coffee and enjoying the sound of the river and birds. Close to a few little towns and great hiking. We brough both of our dogs and they had such a great time (one down sid : the little white dogs that live a few houses over wander over quite a bit and are territorial so be ready to clean extra doggie messes and they will pee on the deck if you dont shoo them away...but after a day they stop barking). Very romantic to cuddle up, watch a movie or play a game....love this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great weekend

    Great weekend

    • Guest Lauren (Seaside)
    • Date of stay 01/26/13
    • Review Submitted 02/16/13
    My boyfriend and I had a wonderful romantic stay with our dogs at the cabin. House was wonderful, decor adorable, all and all a wonderful 5 days.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful cabin

    Wonderful cabin

    • Guest Greg (Portland / OR)
    • Date of stay 11/14/12
    • Review Submitted 11/17/12
    This is a great place to get out into the woods. The cabin is cozy and tastefully appointed with the right furniture and decorations. If you like to cook, the kitchen is excellent. Sometimes vacation places feel like the insides were just thrown together like a cheap apartment. Real consideration went into making this a nice getaway and it shows.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway for 2

    Perfect Getaway for 2

    • Guest Paul (Pasco, Washington)
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/09/12
    We were so glad to have found this cabin getaway! We definitely will be staying there again soon! We went during the weekend of Hop Fest in Hood River and had a blast. The next visit we plan on just spending as much time at the cabin as we can, and take advantage of being seemingly far away from any hustle and bustle! Yet your only a few miles from White Salmon and Bingen and a little further is Hood River. Yes the "lake" is gone and it will be awhile to go and walk down to the river, but that won't stop us from staying there again. We can't say enough about how this cabin makes you feel relaxed from the moment you drive up to it and enter inside. The cabin was well "stocked" with the essentials you'd need and very clean. We didn't get to take advantage of the huge deck this time....our next trip there we intend to spend quite a bit of time sitting out there and relaxing. We will..and have recommended for any couple to stay there that wants to have that "get away" weekend! One thing we do have to mention is how easy it was to work with LM on getting it reserved and information back and forth. Very quick responses to any questions we had! Thank you! We also want to recommend a place to eat in Bingen....if you like a good hamburger,,,,you have to visit Killer Burger.....fun spot....super nice people working there..and...cannot say enough how good their hamburgers and fries are! I have no doubt even when we don't stay at the cabin, we'll find ourselves taking off on a Saturday drive and 2 1/2 hours later find ourselves eatting at Killer Burger! Again.........we can't wait to get back down there and spend another weekend (which we're going to try before the end of this month!)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • No. California mountain and river lover

    No. California mountain and river lover

    • Guest Mountain mama (Carlotta, California)
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    This cabin was just adorable, and well outfitted with all the amenities one would need for a relaxing stay. Though I was made aware that the lake had disappeared due to the dam having been removed, I was a bit taken aback by the landscape and the dirt berms which obscured any view of the river, and prohibited visiting the water. The pictures on the site show the interior of the cabin very well, but the outdoor picture still shows the lake, and that is deceptive, though I can understand why the owner wouldn't want to show the landscape as it exists now. The landscape will change though! And I would like to go back every year and see just how it changes. , That said, the wildlife viewing, the proximity of hiking trails, the lovely sunshine and spacious deck, and many other outdoor experiences made the stay very enjoyable. The furnishings were exceptionally comfortable; the cabin was very clean, and it's obvious that the owners love their property and take good care in making sure their guests are comfortable. The other big plus is Hood River and it's wineries and restaurants, as well as the spectacular view of Mt. Hood. Water activities abound on the Columbia river, and make the drive along the parallel highways spectacular. I would definitely visit this property again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for being my guest. I also very much appreciate the review as I am always open to whatever input guests provide so I can make any changes or improvements necessary. You mentioned that the listing appeared a bit deceptive in regards to the lake being gone now. Several months ago and prior to the rental season, I had updated the site with five photos showing the new landscape. In addition I had added a new first paragraph in the description explaining the riverbank restoration. I am very sorry if you felt that I in any way misrepresented the property. I will take a fresh look at it and make a few changes, and add new photos again now that more work has been done. Regardless, it sounds like you had a wonderful time and I am grateful for that. Once again, thank you so very much for the review and I would be delighted to have you back as a guest in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • nice rustic accommodations for fishing trip

    nice rustic accommodations for fishing trip

    • Guest uripoppa703 (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 05/03/12
    • Review Submitted 05/12/12
    sad to see the lake gone, but the scenery is still nice. Appreciated all the firewood for wood stove and BBQ pit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great spot!

    Great spot!

    • Guest terry (Portland)
    • Date of stay 06/04/11
    • Review Submitted 06/25/11
    We loved our stay here. The cabin is just perfect for a couple. The location couldn't be better, Although not far from Hood River, we felt worlds away from city life and were able to take a much needed relaxing weekend. The cabin comes with a row boat and we used it to explore the lake/river. It's an incredibly gorgeous area. Directly across from the cabin is a waterfall, the sound of which lulled us to sleep at night. Also directly acorss from the cabin is a nesting osprey which we were lucky to watch hunt for fish just 50 yards from where we sat on the dock. We brought our dogs and they had a great time, too. This cabin is nestled in an area where there is a small community of cabins, some with year-round residents. There were other dogs down the road in either direction and our dogs enjoyed the company. One night a thunderstorm came and we turned the chairs inside towards the river and watched the lighting over the water while the potbellied stove kept us warm. This is exactly the kind of weekend getaway cabin we've been looking for for years. Not too far away, not too fancy, beautiful wilderness setting, waterfront, dog friendly... very nice.What a great time. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]