Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from Side Entrance and Road

Charming, Cozy, Spacious Killington/Woodstk House Near Woodstock Village [#352830] | View Property

Woodstock
4+ Bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 10 people

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • THE FARMHOUSE WAS A GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT SPACE.

    THE FARMHOUSE WAS A GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT SPACE.

    • Guest J/R (HUMAROCK)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    We only spent two nights here but we felt quite comfortable.It is close to Woodstock.The three children, ages 11,13 &15, enjoyed having their own rooms and loved the pool table/ ping pong table.The house was as described and the owner was quite agreeable.Property was clean and comfortable.It is close to road and would probably be quiter in winter.The 3 bathrooms are also a plus.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect house for visiting Woodstock

    Perfect house for visiting Woodstock

    • Guest Texas tourist (Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    As someone who grew up from childhood visiting Woodstock regularly at all seasons of the year from the 1960s through the 1980s, let me tell you that this property is absolutely wonderful. I rented the place for a few days recently (July 2013) when my family and my sister's family visited family in Woodstock. The location is very convenient--minutes from Woodstock in one direction, Bridgewater in the other. Groceries, restaurants, sandwich places, and, of course, shopping and all manner of outdoor recreation are very convenient to get to. The location is also quite pretty. The river is across the road, hills in the back. The house itself is an older building with more character than if you were renting some mass-produced condo someplace--but "character" does not mean run-down. The place is well-maintained, and the equipment (stove, oven, sinks, washer and drier, dishwasher etc.) is all new, high-quality stuff (better than what I have in my own house!) The place has spacious bedrooms and a lovely dining room with a big table. The game-room has a pool/ping-pong table and a bunch of board games--if you're traveling with kids, this gives them plenty of entertainment in evenings or if you should happen to hit a rainy day. The house is quite spacious--the listing photos do not really convey how much room there actually is inside. Also important: the owner is easy to work with and responds promptly and efficiently to e-mail and telephone inquiries. Bottom line: if you're going to Woodstock, rent this house--you will not be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location, very large house

    Great location, very large house

    • Guest AllyBT (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    We spent a long weekend in the summer here, the house is in a great location, very convenient to Woodstock and all it has to offer. The house was clean and in good condition. It is also very large and would sleep two families or a large group. The yard is also great, large & flat and great for ball games . It is close to the road and there is some road noise but nothing too bad. We really enjoyed our weekend!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to stay!

    Wonderful place to stay!

    • Guest molerc (Upstate NY)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    Great house-everything is there and easy to find. We were there for a wedding so there were people milling in and out over a 3 day period. Big dining area for a large crowd and convenient pool/pingpong table for entertainment. Grandma was happy with the downstairs bedroom with the bathroom nearby. Very clean and easy to locate your stuff at the end of the stay as it was an open floor plan. We stayed in the master bedroom and thought the bed was comfortable. Had no complaints from the rest of our clan. Yes, the road was a little noisy if you are not used to it but a good pair of ear plugs worked just fine! Before we left I had a question for the owner which was answered promptly. I hope to visit Woodstock again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest VT/NH Visitor (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    We just returned from a fantastic weekend at this Woodstock home. The owner was extremely responsive, which made planning the weekend that much easier. The house was the perfect size for our group, which included a few families with young kids. We especially enjoyed the large kitchen table for group meals, the ping pong/pool table, and the large back yard. I was very impressed with all three bathrooms, which look like they were recently renovated - very clean and in good condition. Our group unanimously approved of this home.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for a large group

    Perfect for a large group

    • Guest Mary (Morrisville, VT)
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/21/13
    We recently rented with a large family for a wedding in Woodstock and it was perfect! It was clean and ready upon our arrival. The large dining area was ideal for a family birthday party with plenty of pots, pans and dinnerware for the group. All the bathrooms were very helpful as was use of the washer/dryer. The outdoor grill and deck were enjoyed as well. The ping pong/pool table was the late night activity with plenty of seating in the living room to visit. Plenty of parking. The location is near all the Woodstock attractions. It met all our needs so well and added to our collection of family times away from home that are memorable.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great vacation

    Great vacation

    • Guest Peter (Milford, CT)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    Everything was great!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • family get together

    family get together

    • Guest Sandra (Washington )
    • Date of stay 05/07/13
    • Review Submitted 05/17/13
    The house at Woodstock was a great place for our family to spend a few days. It was charming and nicely decorated. The beds were comfy and there was a bedroom for all of us. We really appreciated the washer and dryer. There was a big backyard for kids to play. The only down fall was it being close to the road. It was okay during the night, but the traffic starts early. There were a couple of places to sleep away from the road, so don't let that deter you from renting this house. It is close to a nice town with some shopping and quite a few good places to eat if you choose to go out. The kitchen was big enough for a couple of people to work in. We would come here again if our journeys lead us this way.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Rental House for Our Group

    Perfect Rental House for Our Group

    • Guest Tiger Mom (Shoreham, vt)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/26/13
    Three families rented the house together for a weekend away. There were five adults and four kids. From the moment we stepped into the large mudroom area, we knew it would be perfect. It was spacious, well decorated and homey. The kids were running around saying, "I could live here!" The game room with the pool table/ping pong table was awesome! As was the long table with benches for meals. The bedrooms were all great and so were the amenities. Plenty of towels, kitchen supplies, etc. The other awesome thing was the many rooms where people could hang out - you could have the whole group in one area and then split up into smaller groups in different rooms - just perfect! The owners were incredibly responsive, courteous, and easy to deal with. For the house, the rate was very reasonable. We would rent this house again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended. If you are concerned about being next to the road, just bring a pair of earplugs - noise wasn't bad at all (it is Vermont afterall - not a whole lot of traffic).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ski quartet

    Ski quartet

    • Guest Ski mom (Williamston)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/20/13
    We were really pleased with the accommodations as soon as we arrived and appreciated the homelike spaciousness of the floor plan throughout the weekend. We felt like we wanted to call all of our friends to join us! There are several group areas for multi-generational groups to visit, play cards or talk. The kitchen area was well equipped and we were able to have several meals with a variety of prep needs adequately met. Each sleeping area was spacious, welcoming and prepped with essentials. The house was close to Woodstock, cross county and down hill skiing and several delightful shops. We immediately started thinking of events and groups we'd like to share this delightful area with. the only caution: we did find several pots and pans stored in the oven, but only after we preheated it. Other than checking the oven before you turn it on, the rest of our stay was delightful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!!!

    Perfect!!!

    • Guest Ronni (Winhall, VT)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/13
    This house was ideally located to everything we needed for a hockey tournament at Union Arena. The layout of the house was perfect and everything about it was comfortable. Working with the owners prior to and during our stay was a great experience. The absolute plus was the pool/ping pong table. There is also a plethora of games for all ages. Our children did not touch their electronic devices the whole weekend we were there. I would recommend this house for whatever you are going to Woodstock for because it has something for everyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful weekend!

    A wonderful weekend!

    • Guest Rachel (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/22/13
    This was the perfect place to spend our long weekend - we were a group of eight (4 couples) and were looking for a place where we could ski/snowboard, cook and spend some time catching up. The house was just right for our group - each couple was able to have their own bedroom and there were enough bathrooms to go around. The open kitchen and large dining area was ideal for us to cook and eat together and we very much enjoyed the fireplace and the ping pong table as well. The house was clean, warm, and in working order.. We also had our dogs with us and they enjoyed running around in the snow in the backyard. The house was very well located and, since we did not need to rent equipment, we were able to park at Skyeship and start our day on the slopes from there. This was less than 10 minutes away. The Long Trail brewery between the house and the slopes was a pleasant surprise and we definitely enjoyed some of the local beers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • lovely home, lovely area

    lovely home, lovely area

    • Guest Skier (United States)
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    The house was wonderful, and conveniently located. We really enjoyed skiing at nearby Killington and exploring Woodstock, which is a beautiful Vermont town. Great weekend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spacious home

    Spacious home

    • Guest Zomom (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    We were three families, 6 adults and 6 children, sharing this roomy home. We did not expect it to be as big as it was! The bathrooms were clean and updated, and the kitchen was well-appointed. We could all fit at the long dining table, and the kids loved the pool table and ping pong table, while the grown-ups enjoyed relaxing by the fire. We also loved the spacious mud room area at the home's entrance, with enough hooks and storage for all of our jackets, ski attire and boots. The only downsides for us were that the house, while conveniently located on a main road, was close enough to the road that we were awoken several times in the night by traffic - we did get used to this noise during our trip, and also the full size bed upstairs was not very comfortable. Otherwise, we had a really fun weekend, the owner was a pleasure to deal with, and we would rent here again! Very close to town and area skiing!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect for the occasion

    perfect for the occasion

    • Guest mar (penobscot, maine)
    • Date of stay 01/11/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    We stayed at this house for a family event. This beautifully renovated farmhouse surpassed our expectations in terms of size, comfort, and ease of access to the local points of interest. The photos on the website can't quite do the house justice. It is much more spacious than it appears from the outside or the pictures. It easily accommodated our group of ten, with beds to spare. And the wonderful farm table actually seated 15 guests for the two full dinners we shared. The decor of the entire house is quietly elegant and has a serene and open feel to it, yet still very comfortable, inviting group activities such as music making in the living area as well as game playing on the dining table and play in the pool/ping pong room. Of course, there also is a tv room, but the TV never got turned on, too many other options for entertainment available. The house is meticulously maintained and spotlessly clean. For a very light sleeper, the busy road might present a problem. However, no one in our group seemed to be bothered. We all agreed this would be a great place to meet again in the furture and we can recommend it to any family/friends group looking to stay in the Woodstock-Killington area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Home Away From Home

    A Home Away From Home

    • Guest Michelle K.
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/01/13
    Our family of 10 had a fabulous time at this house centrally located to the wonderful center of Woodstock and Killington. We were all very comfortable with enough space to eat, sleep and play. It was definitely a home away from home. The owners fully stocks the house with towels, linens, and basic necessities. All you have to bring is your personnel items. We enjoyed everything the house had to offer including the fireplace and the pool table. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owners were very easy to deal with and were always a phone call away. We enjoyed some of the local restaurants such as the Red Rooster at the Woodstock Inn and Resort. We also liked Bentley's in town and ordered delicious pizzas from Ramunto's. All within a 10 minute drive. Grocery shopping was easy but be aware of the Woodstock Farmer's Market where prices are twice as much as the grocery store a few more miles up the road. This was our very first ski vacation and we enjoyed every second spent in this home. If I had to mention any drawbacks, it would be that there wasn't a garbage disposal. But that would be it. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to get away for a summer or winter vacation in the very quaint town of Woodstock.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Friends Getaway

    Friends Getaway

    • Guest Tricia (Cape Cod, MA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/12
    • Review Submitted 11/13/12
    This house was perfect and entirely met the needs of the 8 adults staying for the weekend! The description and photo's were accurate and very helpful in our decision to rent this house! We were very pleased with the spacious set up and thoroughly used the space for sporting gear! The kitchen and huge dining room table allowed for several activities such as cards, eating or internet "cafe" as 4 laptops were in use! We were able to invite friends over for a meal (a total of 16) and had everything we needed to cook & serve the meal! Each bedroom was clean and orderly, with a very welcome feel to it. There were plenty of supplies for anything that could or would be needed. The owner was easy to work with, prompt replies to emails and very accommodating to the personal needs of our party! We would highly recommend this house and personally plan to rent again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect weekend getaway

    Perfect weekend getaway

    • Guest Joseph B. (West Warwick,Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Great house for a large family with something for everyone. Beautiful balance of modern convenience and historic preservation. This is the type of home you can experience Vermont without sacrificing convenience located only minutes from town. The ping pong/pool table was great for down time and enjoyed by all. Owners were always quick to respond with any information we needed. We were in town for a wedding at the Woodstock iInn and had several family members who stopped in before the reception and many were interested in contact info because they loved the house. Baglini Family West W arwick, Rhode Island

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great people to work with!

    great people to work with!

    • Guest Erica (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    I booked the place and actually had to cancel because of changes in plans in my end. However, I wanted to write a review anyways because Scott and his wife were so easy to work with and so accommodating. They were very prompt via email and on the phone, and they made the process clear and simple. I wanted to go look at the place (though I canceled before I went), and they were very willing to set up a date and time. When I did cancel, they were very nice about it and sent my deposit back almost immediately. If I have to book again, I would definitely go through them. I highly recommend these owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyable Stay

    Enjoyable Stay

    • Guest EM (Winchester, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/18/12
    We had a great one week stay here this summer! The house perfectly suited our family, including three children and two grandparents. There was room for everyone, and we were able to spread out nicely. The large yard and ping pong/pool table were a huge highlight. While there was a bit of traffic noise, the house was well equipped and charming. We really enjoyed it!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house for a large family of mulit-family gathering

    Great house for a large family of mulit-family gathering

    • Guest KT (Austin, Tx)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    Love the house and we really enjoyed the quality kitchen utensils. Te master bedroom was great, but some of the beds were a bit lumpy. The place was very conveniently located on the main road...a bit noisy at times, but it didn't really sem to bother anyone in our group. Loved common rooms in the house. We would have really liked a few chairs or sitting areas in the back yard so we could have enjoyed it a bit more!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous, Spacious and Well-located Farmhouse

    Fabulous, Spacious and Well-located Farmhouse

    • Guest Vermont Weekender (Brooklyn, New York)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/28/12
    The house was perfect for our weekend away -- and it's such a beautiful, spacious home that it would have been great for a longer stay as well. The house is well-designed, beautifully decorated and substantially more spacious than it appears in pictures. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking to spend time in Vermont!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable Home Near Town Center & Skiing

    Comfortable Home Near Town Center & Skiing

    • Guest joseph a.
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We enjoyed a wonderful week at this renovated farm house between Christmas and New Year's. The house easily accommodated our group of 9 for our multi-family reunion. It has been updated and the rooms were very comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped, and there was an ample supply of firewood for use in the working fireplace located in the living room, where we spent most of our time. The house is well situated, about 3-4 miles west of the Woodstock town center and about 15 miles from the Killington ski area. it is right on Route 4 which is the main route east and west and we could sometimes hear the traffic, but this did not seem to bother anyone. The caretaker lives next door and was very helpful when any questions arose. Would highly recommend this home to anyone looking to get away to Vermont for skiing or a family outing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful place for families

    Wonderful place for families

    • Guest Sue S.
    • Date of stay 10/13/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    This place was perfect for our group of two couples and 3 babies/toddlers. The photos don't do the house justice - it was even more charming than we expected. The bathrooms are all recently remodeled, the bedrooms are spacious with comfortable beds, the kitchen is beautiful and well-equipped with an excellent gas grill outside (we cooked a few meals there), and there are lots of spots to lounge/relax. It was pretty rainy so we made good use of the pingpong table. The upstairs is divided into two sections, each with its own staircase - this worked out well since we had 2 familiies there. We had a couple of minor issues when we arrived, but the owner was very responsive and even sent over the neighbor/caretaker to make sure everything was resolved. The location is about a 5 minute drive from Woodstock proper, more like 10 minutes to the main street. The only downside is that the house is very close to Route 4 and you can hear the cars whizzing by. But the rest of the house more than makes up for it - I would highly recommend this home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House!!

    Great House!!

    • Guest Deb (Merrimack, NH)
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    Our Oct 2011 stay was wonderful. The house is a beautifully well maintained /updated old farm house. Plenty of space and things to within the house. Woodstock is a great town to visit and near by Killington was having a Hay Festival (lots of large hay sculptures). I would recommend this rental to others.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect getaway for a family

    Perfect getaway for a family

    • Guest Agnes T.
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    We truly enjoyed our stay in this home which is very nicely renovated, well-maintained, comfortable and last but not least, very functional. It is a perfect home for families, sophisticated but casual. The backyard is of good size and can accommodate children playing ball. It is very conveniently located on a main road, 1.5 miles away from a farmer's market which offers a large selection of products from local farms, of very high quality. In addition, it takes only about 5-7 minutes to drive into the town of Woodstock, which has, among others, a supermarket , a butcher, a pharmacy, various clothing stores, an ice cream shop and some restaurants. Our children attended the Barn day camp at Farm and Wilderness, located in the town of Plymouth, 15-20 minutes away from this home, and this was such a wonderful experience for them that we are hoping to send them again to Farm and Wilderness next year. We also successfully used the internet connection to work from home while our kids were in camp (we brought our lap top computers with us). The listing description is totally accurate and we have had a very easy relationship with the owners. Finally, I should mention that the landlord has a caretaker who is also a neighbor and has been extremely helpful and available to us throughout our stay. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Didn't Want to Leave!

    Didn't Want to Leave!

    • Guest Julz (Marshfield, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/17/11
    We stayed in July and had a wonderful time. The house is very comfortable while still providing a sense of the history and charm of the Green Mountains. The Farmer's Market down the road is a dream, and the village of Woodstock is charm itself. The home-owners are very gracious hosts and easy to communicate with. I highly recommend this VRBO.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 2011 Winter Vacation

    2011 Winter Vacation

    • Guest Veronika (Needham, MA)
    • Date of stay 02/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    We’ve rented this house during February vacation week and had very positive experience. Here are some things that we liked: • Very responsive and nice owners • The house had space for everyone. We had 3 adults and 6 kids in our party and everyone could find something to do without crowding on someone’s head – critical thing for evenings together! Boys just LOVED the pool/table tennis table. • Accommodating dining room – big table, no need to send the kids to the “kiddie table” because the dining table is too small. Dining room was just perfect for evening snack and board games. • Clean new bathrooms • Clean nice towels and bed sheets (plenty of towels!) • Clean equipped kitchen • Big backyard • Grill– we couldn’t seat outside due to February weather, but it was very convenient to cook outside and deliver directly to the dining table. • I absolutely loved the room as you enter the house– enough room for all the coats, shoes and snow equipment. • Lots of parking • Very easy drive to Woodstock (I want to say ~10 min drive) • I would definitely recommend the local country club (amazing customer service) and local sports center (Union Arena Community Center) • We also went to Rutland in one of the evenings to play bowling and watch a movie. (it’s not too close, ~30 min drive, but manageable) • Local farmers store is great – everything is very fresh! (~3-5 min drive from the house) Overall, this is very nicely remodeled, very well maintained, spacious, bright and equipped house. This house gave us the country vacation feeling with full range of modern amenities - we liked it and are planning to be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]