Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to the Purple House

Off -Grid Solar Island Home W/ Ocean & Wildlife Views [#353196] | View Property

Caye Caulker
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
From $90/nt to $110/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • The Purple House on Caye Caulker Island, Belize, Caribbean

    The Purple House on Caye Caulker Island, Belize, Caribbean

    • Guest Ron (Denver, Colorado USA)
    • Date of stay 11/16/13
    • Review Submitted 12/09/13
    The Purple House at the southern end of Caye Caulker, Belize is one of the most magical places we have ever stayed at. If there were a wildlife bird sanctuary on Caye Caulker, it would be at The Purple House; if there were award winning sunrise and sunset photos of the Caribbean, they would be taken from the "Crows Nest" atop for The Purple House. I recommend this secluded, one bedroom, one bathroom, kitchen, shower, solar powered Jewel-in-Paradise for all pleasure seekers, adventurers, lovers and those seeking some peace and quiet off the beaten path, in an amazing surrounding. It's relatively new, everything works great, wi-fi good, even with a couple of bicycles to trek the mile or so into the village.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cannot wait to go back

    Cannot wait to go back

    • Guest Farzaneh (San Francisco, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/07/13
    • Review Submitted 12/12/13
    We had the most wonderful and relaxing time in Caye Caulker. The Purple House's location away from the crowds made it an ideal getaway. We spent hours lounging in the hammocks watching the birds, or just chilling to music with a cocktail. The caretaker was most helpful, and even introduced us to some locals so we made some new friends. We are already looking forward to some day going back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Off-the-grid Mangrove Hide-away

    Off-the-grid Mangrove Hide-away

    • Guest Jess (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    If you are looking for a place off the beaten track in Caye Caulker, look no further than the Purple House. Situated in a sandy mangrove forest on the southern tip of the island, the Purple House offers tranquility with a killer view from the Crow's Nest. During the wet season the bugs can get pretty nasty so be sure to bring plenty of bug spray. The bikes that come with the house are a fabulous way to get from the house to the village and back again. The house is a 15 minute bike ride from town so be prepared for some riding if you want to go back and forth in a single day. Overall, we had a great stay and would highly recommend the Purple House.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful, Private, Purple House!

    Peaceful, Private, Purple House!

    • Guest Alexis & Matt E. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 07/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    Our trip to the Purple House can best be summarized by our first morning there. We woke up uncharacteristically early in the morning to enjoy the stillness and tranquility of our surroundings. The colorful sunrise that started to cover the sky was reflected in the marsh that surrounds the Purple House. A truly stunning view! We were able to view a variety of birds including ibis, egrets, herons, sandpipers, plovers; as well as a very surprising glimpse of a large crocodile, walking slowly down the sand 50 yards from the front of the house. It was such a wonderful, unexpected treat to see such a variety of nature from the position of the front deck. We made it a habit during our stay to arise at sunrise in hopes of viewing other amazing animals. The Purple House looks great on paper (or computer screen) but it so much more amazing in person. Eddy is the caretaker/concierge for the house. He picked us up (with Chano, the driver) from the boat to take us to the house and graciously stopped by the market for us to buy some supplies en route, so that we did not need to make an additional trip. The two men were very friendly and a nice welcome to the island. The Purple House is equipped with satellite radio (absolutely genius touch, very appreciated), wifi, and the comforts of home, solar style. The crow’s nest is a great place to get a good look at the surrounding area. The house has an unique outdoor shower with a view! The bed comes with a mosquito net which we fortunately never had to use. Caye Caulkner lives up to the reputation of being very laid back and was enjoyable as most people we encountered were extremely friendly. While in town, we booked a snorkel trip with EZ Boy tours who we would also highly recommend. You can choose to enjoy a meal in town OR you can leave the noise & party behind and cook a nice dinner at your “home”. Just please don’t forget the provided flashlights/headlamps if you are on foot or bike, the trail back is very dark-ie you will not be able to see a thing, which we may know from experience…. We were expecting a unique experience with the Purple House and it exceeded our expectations. It was an incredibly relaxing way for us to spend our last few days of our vacation and cannot thank Mr. Mitchell enough for his hospitality and recommendations. Our only disappointment? Of course, not staying longer! ~Alexis & Matthew

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Vacation Spot for All Seasons

    A Vacation Spot for All Seasons

    • Guest Poliepete (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/21/13
    We spent about five days at the Purple House, an attractive and relatively new home on the south end of Caye Caulker, a hip and happening little island where you "Go Slow," eat fresh seafood (and if you're lucky enough like us to arrive for Lobster Fest, freshly grilled crustacean), and start the day with a rum drink from the house's hand-cranked blender and end it with a Belikin stout beer on the veranda while swinging from a hammock. If you're looking to get away from it all, the Purple House is the ideal location. It is found literally at the end of the road in a mangrove swamp, where you'll see iguanas, crabs, and all manner of birds from your own perch on the house's crow's nest. There are plenty of windows to catch the ocean breeze, and we loved the interior. The bed was comfy, surrounded by a mosquito netting (which you will need to use on occasion). There's even wifi and satellite radio if you can't quite disconnect the entire time that you're gone from so-called civilization. Despite the seclusion, the place is only about a 15 minute ("Go Slow") ride into town on a single-speed cruiser. The Purple House has two for your use. Always carry your bug spray and head lamps if you plan on riding home after dark. Eddy the caretaker is always just a phone call away. He was always willing to help us, and arrived at a moment's notice when we decided to leave a day earlier and head inland so we could do some jungle, cave and Mayan ruins activities. We needed to catch the next water taxi, and the golf cart taxi that normally serves the house was out of action for the day, so Eddy wrangled a ride for us and we got to town with time to spare for a quick lunch. Thanks to Michael and Sam for a wonderful vacation. We'd go back again.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Purple House- Belize- Amazing

    Purple House- Belize- Amazing

    • Guest john (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    My wife and I stayed in the purple house for our honeymoon and had an amazing experience. I have been all over the Caribbean, but Caye Caulker, and the people that call it home, truly have trumped every other journey and made our vacation a "one of a kind" amazing venture. The purple house is not for the run of the mill tourist. This place is truly off the beaten path. It is close to town, allowing for easy access to scuba diving, relaxing in the sun, and exploring the mile long strip of the town. Yet, the purple house is located far from the touristy part of the island. This place is secluded in the middle of the jungle/mangroves, with the ocean only 50 yards away. The house itself is great, but the exterior parts are what makes this place really cool. The deck is huge with dual hammocks. The crows nest (on the roof above the house) is amazing for sun bathing or star watching. The interior has all of the comforts of home, including XM radio and WiFi. One other thing, the people on the island are incredible. The curators of the purple house have found a remarkable group of people that can assist with your every need. From simple run of the mill stuff like groceries and where to go for fun, to taxis to get you where you need to go, and everything in between. I cannot recommend this place enough, I am going back asap... JCIII

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Four days of bliss at the Purple House...

    Four days of bliss at the Purple House...

    • Guest Kim (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/07/13
    • Review Submitted 05/25/13
    ...if only it had been longer! This house had everything we wanted in a vacation rental: away from the hustle and bustle of tourist central but still within easy access, beautiful, serene surroundings, hammocks, and a comfortable, inviting space to relax in all while being environmentally-conscious. The bonuses: a blender (hand-cranked, how fun!), Internet, satellite radio, a friendly face to greet you at the water taxi and give you the run-down on anything and everything you need to know (Eddy, the caretaker), and beach bikes to get you to and from everything that Caye Caulker has to offer! Our only regret was that we didn't use the rooftop lookout enough (there's even a telescope you can take up at night!) and didn't spend more time just chillin' at the house with a book and a cold Belikin/margarita/fresh juice/etc. This place is not only wonderful but the owners also support the local community and strive for minimal environmental impact, two things that were very important for us when choosing accommodations. Read the little red guest book as soon as you arrive, the tips contained within are VERY helpful! It's obvious from the entries that both the owners and previous guests love this place. We will most definitely be back, thank you so much Michael & Eddy :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Kim! glad you enjoyed your stay. In fact, we are in the house right now. Eddie says hello. Come back anytime...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for Adventure Seekers!

    Perfect for Adventure Seekers!

    • Guest WorldTravelerCO (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    If you’re looking for a great escape from the rat race of modern day society, and want to get a little exercise going to and from town each day, you cannot beat the Purple House. Not to mention, give old Mother Nature a break and embrace the wonderful eco-friendly lifestyle like many locals! My husband is much more adventurous than I and he loved the Purple House. I don't feel as positively, just because my traveling style is a bit different, so I'm going to list some things you should know, to help you determine if it's right for you while trying to be fair to both our impressions. * We clocked our first bike ride to the center of town at ~3 miles, it's ~5 miles to the slip. The caretaker told us upon arrival that the regular route was flooded so I believe your commute to town would be shorter if that trail is in working order. Regardless, it's a beautiful morning ride, but the trail is quite rough and the bikes could be in better condition considering the amount of riding you'll do. We really enjoyed the ride in each morning, but had difficulty returning after dark, even with the headlamps. We discovered a golf cart rental place on our next to last day. We'd rent a GC next time and ride bikes just when we wanted, instead of relying on them solely to get around. * Despite having all of the windows open, and lots of wind outside, the room was very hot by our standards which made it difficult to sleep. * The rooftop might be one of the most beautiful places in the world to watch the sunset. * Even with the mosquito netting and bug spray, we were eaten alive each night and whenever at the house by mosquito's and no-see-ums. * Don't expect consistent hot water or much of it when you do have it * Perfect for bird watchers, there are many species to view from the home. They can get very animated and noisy at night. * Owner is very communicative, assisting in all elements of your planning, which makes it all very easy! Was available via email while we were there, assisting us even during our stay. Just be aware that this off the grid home does not have all of the comforts 5 star travelers like us are use to. The description of everything is accurate and the views from the home are excellent. This was a perfect getaway for my husband, who likes all things outdoors, so he'd give it five stars. I like a few less bugs and more comforts of home so I'd give it three stars.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Yes, the house is off grid, located right next to a Mangrove Reserve (in the wildlife environment) and adventurous. Everything she describes is accurate.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Caye Caulker is beautiful, but the Purple House made our visit an amazing adventure.

    Caye Caulker is beautiful, but the Purple House made our visit an amazing adventure.

    • Guest Ezra (United States)
    • Date of stay 02/04/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Wow, back home already...What an adventure! Arriving in Caye Caulker we never could have imagined what we were in store for. The island is a tropical paradise and everything a couple visitors from Portland needed during the bleak winter months. As we rolled up on the Purple House with Adrian and Eddy as the sun was just about to set and we were delighted to be so removed from all the hustle and bustle of the main part of the village. The "yard" was full of birds, iguanas, and tons of other little critters. The multiple hammocks provided the best chill spots during any part of the day or night, and the crow's nest was great for watching sunsets or catching the evening breeze to cool off. Michael was so helpful and friendly making sure we had all the info and connections we needed to have a successful vacation out of our element. Use his recommendations, they are tried and true. If you are considering Caye Caulker and have an adventurous spirit and like the quiet relaxing side of life then the Purple house is for you. I can't wait to visit again and do it all over again. Thank you Michael for everything and all the best for the new year. -Ezra & Sara Portland, OR

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay at the purple house

    Great stay at the purple house

    • Guest Siri (Los angeles)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    We stayed in the purple house for five days, it was a nice departure from the standard hotel or condo and eco friendly but you would never know it, other than just being more conscious of water use and keeping lights turned off that you don't use. Everything ran smoothly and it was far enough away from town that you felt like you were in your own private paradise. The bird viewing was great and the star gazing at night exceptional. Eddie the caretaker was very friendly and helpful and Michael the owner was approachable and quick to answer all my questions. I would recommend it for the adventurous traveller.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet Belizean hideaway: R&R with 360 views of earth, sea, sky and everything in between!

    Quiet Belizean hideaway: R&R with 360 views of earth, sea, sky and everything in between!

    • Guest AZ Traveler (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/19/13
    The Purple House was our Caye Caulker home for two weeks of fun and relaxation, and we couldn't have been more satisfied with our choice. We are an active, but fairly quiet "50-something" couple without kids, so the remoteness of the house with its open layout and beach cruiser bike rides into town for fun, food and supplies was perfect for us. Property contacts (stateside owner before the trip, local caretaker while we were there) were always helpful, forthright, and easy to reach and deal with. This is an off-grid house next to a tidal estuary swamp in the tropics, so take seriously all admonishments regarding water and power usage, insects, reptiles, heat, humidity, etc., and you'll be fine. Kitchen is fully functional and included bottled drinking water and French-press coffee maker (bring your own coffee - store selection is limited). Communications/Entertainment includes wi-fi (worked well enough to run most smartphone/tablet apps), satellite radio, and local “top-up” cell phone. House was clean and well-maintained, has standard North American 110V plugs and low-voltage/LED lighting throughout. Interior/exterior is exactly as shown in VRBO pics: traditional timber construction (2010) on approx-15-ft high podium, access via stairs. Covered porch wraps around half of house with crow's nest on roof providing 360 views of surrounding mangrove swamp, tidal estuary and sea. Activities at house included: lying in hammocks; reading; napping; watching birds, weather, sea and sky; opening beers and mixing drinks. For beaches, bars, shops, and restaurants, Caye Caulker village is 10-15 minutes by bike or $10 USD by golf cart taxi. Activities in town included dining, shopping, meeting people and hanging out. We also rode the house’s beach cruisers everywhere on the island in all weather, day and night – no problem. Our only time off the island was a Raggamuffin Tours’ all-day/three-stop snorkel trip via sailboat to Shark-Ray Alley and the Hol-Chan Preserve – great snorkeling and fun times meeting people from all over the world – food, drinks and equipment included for $70 USD each. We hope to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family who like non-traditional, self-catered accommodations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Birthday Boy on Caye Caulker

    Birthday Boy on Caye Caulker

    • Guest Splatt (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 12/18/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    My wife and I stayed at the Purple House for 4 days and nights. It was exhilirating. From star gazing in the "Crows Nest" to walking the trail into town to the sudden squalls blowing through to the friendly people all along the way, we were just having a great time. The house was cozy, quaint and comfortable. a wonderful respite from all the hustle and bustle of life in the states. Eddie, the Caretaker of the house went above and beyond taking care of us and making sure we had everything we needed and wanted. He made us feel like VIPs every step of the way. We can't wait to return now that we know our way around. Caye Caulker is full of charm and friendly people. For snorkeling, I recommend Raggamuffin Tours. Captain Ramsey and Shane were great and made us feel at home and well taken care of. Have the grilled conch at Roses for dinner. I highly recommend the Purple House on Caye Caulker. It is the perfect place to de-compress, be energized and get in touch with your senses again. We absolutely fell in love with it and we will definitely return soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • November stay

    November stay

    • Guest Helen (Ouray, CO USA)
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 12/14/12
    Michael's house was just as wonderful as described. His caretaker is friendly and very helpful, meets you at the water taxi and takes care of things. The house is clean and comfortable with the things you need for a pleasant stay. Watching birds is a joy from the veranda, being high set there are less bugs and a great view of the mangroves and the ocean beyond. There are good bikes to ride into town and shop and see the sites. We would recommend Rose's restaurant for a fine fish meal. Glenda's has great food and fresh squeezed orange juice, just breakfast and lunch. We tended to have meals out at lunch since after dark the bugs seem to come out and it is better to be home behind screens. Snorkeling on the reef off Caye Caulker is just about as good as going to the atolls off shore such as Glovers or Lighthouse. There are many fish, coral and other sea life. You do have to hire a guide but there are many to choose from in town. They will take you out there. I would certainly recommend this house to anyone wanting a home close to town but not in town, island Belize experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Time at the Purple House!

    Perfect Time at the Purple House!

    • Guest RitaH (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Purple House on Caye Caulker. The house was lovely! The hammocks on the deck made for a perfect reading spot! The Crow's Nest on the roof of the house was perfect for sipping coffee in the morning or gazing at the (in our case) full moon at night! The Purple House met all of our need while staying on Caye Caulker! I would highly recommend everyone to stay there, especially during Easter. The small island comes alive with festivities and fun! When planning your next trip to Belize, be sure to check out the Purple House on Caye Caulker!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorable experience

    Memorable experience

    • Guest Desdichado (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/12/12
    The "purple house" is a unique and memorable place to stay. Set in the south part of the island, away from the commercial hotels, we were awakened each morning by birdsong. With limited traffic on the road to the house, and neighbours a decent distance away, we had the feel of a private cottage while still being 10 minutes away from "downtown" Caye Caulker. Internet worked well enough to watch streaming video, and more than well enough for the usual browsing and business (my wife and I are both self-employed, and need to keep in touch even when on vacation). Negatives? The house is deliberately removed from the city centre, so if you are looking for a conventional hotel it may not be for you. And we were there during "mosquito season", and so managed to acquire a good number of bites. Though to be fair, we did not always burn the mosquito coils (provided) 24/7 as the owner suggested - so the bites may have been in part our own fault. Bottom line? The property is unique and beautiful, and perfect for someone seeking a different experience than the usual Hilton glass/chome/concrete.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Blissful Escape

    A Blissful Escape

    • Guest Amanda (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    We stayed at the Purple House for a week and it was a phenomenal experience. The house is located at the secluded end of the island so it was nice and quiet. Whenever we felt like going into town it was just a short bike ride away. (2 bicycles were provided) The village has a wide variety of places with delicious food and very friendly locals.Everything in the house was in working condition, and we never had any problems. We especially enjoyed making fresh fruit smoothies with the hand crank blender, then relaxing in the hammock while enjoying the spectacular view. It was also great fun throwing pieces of fruit off the deck and watching iguanas come up to eat them. It's a beautiful spot, and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for staying at the Purple House. The blender is a big hit. Think I want one for our home in Denver.....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We Love Life at The Purple House

    We Love Life at The Purple House

    • Guest AKTraveler (Anchorage, AK)
    • Date of stay 02/13/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    Our stay at The Purple House was fantastic! The house was everything that we expected and more. We enjoyed the fresh air breeze, the morning view of the water, star gazing on the crows nest and napping in the hammocks...I was particularly good at napping by the end of our stay. I also loved learning how to "slow down" on the island. We snorkeled, lounged, ate and drank (too much), went fishing and got very comfortable biking all over the island - what a lovely way to live! Eddy (the caretaker) is phenomenal we felt at ease having that personal contact with someone on the island. This was our first trip to Belize, but it will definitely not be our last!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Leigh Ann, Thanks for staying at the house. come back anytime. and yes, the hammock naps!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Oasis of Peace and Tranquility

    A Oasis of Peace and Tranquility

    • Guest Marc D. (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    Living at the "Purple House" was a great experience. It`s very confortable and peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend staying there should you visit Caye Caulker, Belize.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Marc, thanks for staying at the Purple House. Come back anytime...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An AMAZING place in paradise!

    An AMAZING place in paradise!

    • Guest Kurt (Calgary, Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    We stayed in Purple House over the Christmas break of 2011 and had an absolutely fantastic time! The space was beautiful, comfortable and without a doubt, provided the best views of a Belize sunset around. The view was so great that during our stay, it was the only time we were conscious of the time as we did not want to miss the sunset from the crows nest. As an "off grid" eco-home, we found everything in perfect condition and working order, as well as the space was very clean and well maintained. We found contact with the owner and his on-island property manager to be fantastic, and his recommendations and "guide book" were very helpful with spending our time on the island productively. The space was remote and peaceful on the south end of the island, but a quick taxi or bike ride put us in town in no time at all. We loved the stay at Purple House and Caye Caulker so much that we actually returned to the island before our final trip back to Canada. I would highly recommend that you choose Purple House for your vacation rental of choice!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kurt, come back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Away From It All

    Away From It All

    • Guest jw (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/06/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    If you're looking to get away from the world for a few days, this is your place. It's remote, takes some effort to get there, and is ideally positioned to decompress from your busy life. We arrived after dark and woke up to a flock of ibis feeding in the mangroves outside our door. The crow's nest is a prefect place to start and end your days and for star-gazing after dark. Located high enough to catch the sea breeze (and keep pesky bugs at bay), there's a 360 degree view of Caye Caulker and the sea off the south shore. Buy fresh fruit & veggies from the locals, rent a paddle board to explore the Split, search-out the "Little Kitchen" for great local fare and enjoy an evening visiting with Darren, the owner/chef of Habanero's. The Purple House still feels like a new-build; it stands strong in a fresh breeze and has the amenities you'd expect in a well-cared for rental. It was a great find for our brief stay and although we don't regularly return to the same place, I would come back here if I return to Belize.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Jim, thanks for staying at the Purple House. If you ever find yourself back in Belize, hope you stay again....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Serenity Found

    Serenity Found

    • Guest Brandi (Hubbard, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/26/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    This home exceeded our expectations by far. The home is located is peaceful quiet setting with lots of wildlife to be observed. The crows nest was by far the most beautiful and relaxing setting imaginable for morning coffee or star gazing. Getting to and from the village is just a short ride on bikes. You can do as much or little on the island as you wish, but I recommend spending a lot of time in the village with the locals because they are very friendly and the food is delicious. We are so thankful that we were welcomed in this home and got exactly the vacation we were hoping for. Eddie the care taker of the home is wonderful and makes sure the home is kept in immaculate condition. The purple house has a romantic setting and Caye Caulker has true island feel. We will be back again very soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: come back anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Late May Gettaway

    Late May Gettaway

    • Guest Erik and Hillary (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    We love Belize and especially Caye Caulker, what a little slice of paradise. The house was in the perfect spot- just outside of town so we had peace and quite however a nice leisurely bike ride into everything. We had a great time using the bird book and identified a couple different Herons, Ibis', and of course enjoyed the goofy calls of the geckos everywhere. The French press was on duty pretty much 24/7 doing cold brews for ice coffees... that was great to have! We caught a few sunrises from the crow's nest... so nice, and enjoyed starry nights up there as well. Eddy the house caretaker IS. THE. MAN. We like to call him the mayor of Caye Caulker... he knows everybody! We had some incredible food from Ms. Rose a couple nights. Had the meal of a lifetime at Habaneros, stopped at the juice stand and started to become regulars at Wish Willy's. Eddy did a great job showing us the ropes and telling us about life on the island. He took good care of us and the house! The house was just as we expected it. Fantastic! Paradise. A must have adventure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay! Stays like yours is exactly why we opened up our home to guests- so that others can enjoy the island as we do. You are always welcomed at the Purple House!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Peace can be found off the coast of Belize

    Peace can be found off the coast of Belize

    • Guest Walker (Palmer, alaska)
    • Date of stay 02/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/15/11
    I'll shall make an attempt to put words to the beauty and comfort of Cay Caulker. The island is gorgeous, the water is a pearly Aegean blue, and the weather is consitent and comfortable. I had the oppurtunity to stay at this house this past Febraury. I had intended to make it the starting point of a long journey through Central America, but the intended one week turned into three with great reluctance to leave. The house is the epitome of peace and quiet. There's always a nice cool breeze that can be enjoyed on one of the three hammocks. From the Crows nest by day you can gaze into the ocean or watch the life of the mangroves and at night you can see a astrological circus in the sky. I would grealy recommend that anyone who is looking for a place to find utter peace and relaxation should make the time to stay in this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/12



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]