Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The River House

Tranquil Riverfront Cabin, Families and Pets Welcome! [#353246] | View Property

Smithville
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 9-15)
From $175/nt, $1100/wk- 2 night minimum
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • an absolutely perfect setting to get away...

    an absolutely perfect setting to get away...

    • Guest nick b. (brooklyn, ny)
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/24/13
    ...such a truly peaceful place to be in an achingly beautiful setting - the riverfront cabin is perfect for a chance to 'get away from it all' without feeling isolated or disconnected. large enough to make it fun for the whole family, intimate enough for a couple's weekend. the various decks and views are not to be missed and there's nothing quite like sitting out watching the sun set over the colorado river with a cocktail in hand. highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much Nick! We loved having you. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to see us again very soon! Hannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful retreat

    Peaceful retreat

    • Guest Kris (Waco, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    Our small church reserved this space for a weekend retreat, and it was perfect! The house was basic and very comfortable, with plenty of room for the six people we had. Kitchen is well-stocked with cooking gear (we made cookies in the oven, as well as buying free-range eggs from the neighbor for a delicious omelette!) and dishes. Peaceful location was great for getting work done, as well as relaxation - we spent lots of time sitting on the back porch with our guitars and a glass of wine or beer, enjoying the serene surroundings. Loved the goats next door, as well! The house's owner was very responsive and helpful when we had questions - we got quick replies to our texts and emails. Wifi was good but got a little slow - probably due to having six highly wired people walk through the doors with phones, computers and ipads! Not a big deal, however - we were able to get online without much trouble. Note for those with older or younger guests - there are lots of stairs! If your little ones and elders are good with that, you will be fine. If not, probably not a great fit for you. It looked so great for pets, we were sad we hadn't brought our dogs with us! The river is outside a fenced yard and orchard, so little ones would have a hard time wandering down to it - fairly safe for little kids if you want something close but not too close to the river. Recommend "Pockets Grille" in town for those who want to grab something yummy for dinner - good sweet potato fries and burgers, plus a tilapia dish that looked WAY too nice to be eaten with a plastic fork. :-) This was a great place to work and relax - all of us highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much, Kris. I'm thrilled you loved the house and Smithville, and that you had a peaceful and productive stay. We'd love to have y'all back again! Best regards, Hannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Duffer's Outing

    Duffer's Outing

    • Guest Ted B.
    • Date of stay 04/15/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Hanna's River House was the perfect getaway location for our fairly large (11) golf group. All the guys were impressed with the secluded location, with all of them asking me at one time or another "how did you find this place?!" We were provided with virtually everything we needed to ensure a comfortable, homey atmosphere, and everyone had a great time. I heartily recommend the River House as a great location to get away from the hustle and bustle, but it's close enough to Bastrop to enjoy all that the town has to offer. Thanks for a great stay - looking forward to more of them!

    Owner response: Thanks so much! You guys were wonderful guests and I loved having you! I'm so glad you had fun at the house and enjoyed your golf getaway. Can't wait to have all of you back. Please come stay with us again soon! Hannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Annual golf trip

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Annual golf trip

    • Guest Ted & the gang of golfers
    • Date of stay 04/15/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Had a great time. Loved the accommodations. Can't wait to come back - if you'll have us! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Goddess retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Goddess retreat

    • Guest Alyce, Claudia, Jammala, and Candy
    • Date of stay 04/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Thank you so much for an incredible place!! I really had a great time here and a lot of contact with nature. We left lots of love and light in this place. Love, love, LOVE your River House! I had an awesome time. I'm not a "nature" girl, however, I fully enjoyed myself! I will be back with my family! :) Cheers to new beginnings. Thank you for sharing your River House with us. It is a welcoming warm and open space with wonderful energy. :) What a lovely place! I hope to bring my family to visit Robert the Rooster soon...!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Goddess retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Goddess retreat

    • Guest Cara
    • Date of stay 04/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Spent the weekend at your lovely home for our goddess retreat. Relaxing... calm... serene... beautiful. Floated in the river... slept so well in your comfy bed! Enjoyed the small town... the antique shopping. Thank you for everything. Will be back with my family soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Goddess Goodness at the River House - Tranquility Attained!

    Goddess Goodness at the River House - Tranquility Attained!

    • Guest The Happy Goddess (Houston, Texas )
    • Date of stay 04/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    We LOVED our stay at the tranquil river house. LOVED it! Immediately upon arrival, all the cares of life back at home seemed to slip away. The birds were chirping. The river was sparkling. The wind was blowing gently through the trees. The atmosphere was set for the retreat I was hosting at this amazing property. Who knew we'd also get to see big woodpeckers, blue birds, purple marlins, and Robert the Rooster. We feel so blessed to have had the opportunity to be in and around such life. The house is comfortable and is everything it says it is and more! We loved the spacious open area, the decks, and utilized just about every space available. The beds are cozy! And, it is marvelous to be woken by a rooster's crow instead of an annoying alarm clock. Pure bliss! I'd highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to relax. The river was so refreshing and just steps away from the back patio. I could go on and on and on. We will be back. The property gave the Goddesses the perfect setting to fully embrace the experience and enjoy their special moments and memories made there. THANK YOU !!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much Sandra! I'm thrilled you all enjoyed the house and had a fun, relaxing retreat. It was such a pleasure having you, and I can't wait to see you all again! Hannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Morning sunshine

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Morning sunshine

    • Guest Mike & Bill
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Morning sunshine, crowing roosters...HGTV, antiques, Comfort Café breakfast, Murphy's Steakhouse dinner, flowing river, great sleep, flowing river... time to go, a little sad. WE'LL BE BACK!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Reunion

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Reunion

    • Guest Leeann, Nylah, DJ, Waynette, Ada and Debbie.
    • Date of stay 03/27/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Great location and layout for our reunion of long time women friends. We laughed, talked, ate, antiqued, talked, junked at Round Top/Warrenton, talked, toured Gonzales and Texas Tiny Houses, talked, looked at bluebonnets, talked some more, watched "Hope Floats" then drove around Smithville locations, talked, watched "Tuna Christmas", talked and had a wonderful time! Thank you for your house. Glad we found you on VRBO.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lots of fun

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lots of fun

    • Guest Mark and Janie L.
    • Date of stay 03/19/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Wonderful, relaxing time. Guys fishing and gals antiquing in town. Lots of fun, food and fellowship.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tree planting

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Tree planting

    • Guest Glenna L.
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Our ladies weekend was spent here. Our country home near Bastrop State Park burned down in the wildfires in 09/2012. We had a memorial tree planting there. We planted 30 trees in memory of our loved ones... The skies were so blue and beautiful. We enjoyed the River House and the river. Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Thanksgiving

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Family Thanksgiving

    • Guest Francie and Phil K.
    • Date of stay 11/22/12
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Happy Thanksgiving Hannah! Thanks for all!! It's all been perfect! We all had soooooo much fun down by the riverside! Had a BLAST! Can't wait to come back. Spent most of our daylight hours playing and exploring the river. Also found a new fishing hole. Great times. So much fun with our families remembering good times and making new ones. Had a great time. Fun with long time special friends. Francie, Phil, Mitchell, Frankie, Heather, Phil, Jr., Sophia, Laurie, and Dave

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lovely Home

    • Guest Shelley
    • Date of stay 11/14/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    A lovely home in a lovely setting! Plenty of room for everyone and plenty of land outside for running around. It was perfect for our three day getaway!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girls Weekend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Girls Weekend

    • Guest Kalen
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    Girls weekend to come do some shopping at Round Top. It's a great house... next time we want to take time to explore the beautiful grounds. Thanks for everything, we will be back in April!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Delightful

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Delightful

    • Guest Debra
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    It was so hard to leave!! :) It was the perfect mental health weekend that we so needed. Thanks for everything!! Delightful place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Anniversary Getaway Poem

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Anniversary Getaway Poem

    • Guest Francie
    • Date of stay 09/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    The beauty and calmness are something to note! We've been given this time when concerns can cease And God looks down and gives us peace It's the absolute, positive joy of living Be back with loved ones this Thanksgiving!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday celebration

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Birthday celebration

    • Guest Faith J. and the Austin crew!
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    We came to celebrate Mandy's 21st birthday! The house was perfect and having the water right behind the yard was amazing! We floated down to the park several times and greatly enjoyed how easy the walk back was. The river house was an extremely fun time and we hope to come back soon! Faith, Mandy, Casey, Laura, Christian and Erin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The River House

    The River House

    • Guest Glen (Houston Area)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    The house has lots of stairs as it is up on stilts, I assume for potential river rises. The river is a few hundred feet from the house. The few minor negatives (listed above) aside, the house is nice and the neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful. The river is wonderful. You get to it by going through a beautiful little pecan orchard. The owner (Hannah) is very sweet and will work with you to make sure you have a great time. Take a trip upstream 1/2 mile (we went by kayak) and find the best little island and slow lazy current to enjoy the river all day. We saw one other person on the river in our 6 day stay. Smithville is a quaint little town with a couple of places to eat and one of the best little ice cream souvenir shops ever. All in all a good trip, very relaxing. I'd do it again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback, Glen. You're right, the stairs and stilts are to keep us up as high as possible in case the river rises. And that's also the reason for the distance from the water. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and visit soon! Hannah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WOW Weekend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    WOW Weekend

    • Guest The WOW Women
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/06/12
    Your tranquil getaway was the perfect setting for our Women Only Weekend!” What happens at WOW stays at WOW, so if you listen carefully, the joyous laughter of 10 wonderful women reverberates among the walls of the River House. The town of Smithville is a hidden gem. We enjoyed the Comfort Café for brunch and Back Door Café -make reservations- for dinner. Thank you Hannah for sharing your piece of Texas! Georgia, Rhonda, Betty, Denise, Jill, Linda, Dede, Tammy, Kay and Katie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Getaway

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Getaway

    • Guest Leisa C.
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    I want to thank you so much for your hospitality and for providing such a peaceful and tranquil getaway - hideaway! It truly felt like "home." Beautiful setting, beautiful home! We are already planning our next visit! Again, thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amber H.
    • Date of stay 07/22/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    We had a blast and the house was amazing... definitely a place we would love to visit again. Thank you once again for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bernice P. and party of 13 nurses
    • Date of stay 07/22/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    So glad we found this place. Relaxing and fun. Thanks for the hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Doyle
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    "It was a wonderful feeling to be at your house and spending our vacation. We had a great time and enjoyed every moment... it felt good to connect to nature, and this place was unique in its own way. Thank you for sharing the beauty of Smithville with us. Hope to be here soon... :) Doyle and all of us"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Colleen
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/17/11
    We really had a great time. The house itself has a great layout. The yard was perfect for my dog who had sooooo much fun. The river access is wonderful and we all slept very comfortably!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Melissa
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/18/11
    A tranquil and relaxing stay. This home away from home far exceeded my expectations. It truly felt as though this secret hideaway was my very own river house. Complete with all the creature comforts of home, yet with the option to walk down to the Colorado River, stroll Smithville's picturesque Main Street and take in the Rosanky Car Museum. Thank you for being such a hospitable hostess....I am already planning my next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Joy June
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/18/11
    This house is awesome - very peaceful and relaxing. I will definitely come back to visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]