Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
view of deck area

'Ocean Breeze Studio' Near the Beach **Specials** [#354774] | View Property

The Mesa (Beach Area)
Chateau / Country House, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$125 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • wonderful place

    wonderful place

    • Guest christine p.
    • Date of stay 03/25/14
    • Review Submitted 04/01/14
    We had a wonderful time at this rental. Stuart greeted us upon arrival and walked us through all of the amenities, gave tips, and information on tides. Super helpful. Stuart also has a basket of maps and books in the rental of hikes, activities, restaraunts, etc. Take advantage of the beach access. The stairs are wonderful. Looking for a great breakfast? Head down to the boathouse. We ate there everyday. Fantastic. Walking distance along the beach as well. And we aren't the type to eat at the same place twice on vacation:) Thanks for a great place to say.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Getaway!

    Great Getaway!

    • Guest Linda K.
    • Date of stay 03/20/14
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    What a nice, CLEAN place to stay! It was close to the beach (approx. 240 steps down) for walking, running and searching for special little rocks. The Douglas Family Preserve was close too for a walk or short trail run in the mornings. We rented a car as we visited with our son who lives 10 min away, went downtown Santa Barbara which was 10 min and then enjoyed wine tasting which was about a 50 min drive. This place is ideal for a couple; however our daughter (23) stayed with us and slept on the pull out single chair. No complaints. Stuart greeted us and gave us a nice little packet of info including high and low tide times, things to do and places to eat. We even grilled one night which was very convenient. Having access to a kitchen for the 5 nights was great. We definitely will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful getaway

    Beautiful getaway

    • Guest Catherine (Wyckoff, NJ)
    • Date of stay 10/15/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    Perfect escape for my husband and I. It's a beautiful clean property. The beach is a very short walk away and the mesa steps, all 242 down to the beach was pretty easy. We went for long walks, enjoyed bike rides and long runs. The studio is central to everything in Santa Barbara...highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place and great host!

    Great place and great host!

    • Guest GronchLopper (Long Beach)
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    The studio is great, no doubt about that, it had everything my girlfriend and I needed and so much more: beach towels, a picnic basket packed with everything you could imagine, and a really cozy atmosphere but the best part was the host! Stuart was so patient when it came from arranging the trip and even let us check in at 9pm when traffic in LA slowed us down. He always responded promptly to my e-mails and returned my deposit while we were packing up to leave! My girlfriend and I had total privacy and only saw Stuart at check-in and check-out but he provided everything we could need. A great studio with a great location, it comes highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent all around

    Excellent all around

    • Guest Traveler from Northern CA (Northern CA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    We had a fantastic time in this great little place. It was fairly spacious, more so than it seemed to be from the pictures, and had a nice natural light inside. I felt like it looked much nicer than the pictures. My husband, young daughter, and I were perfectly comfortable there. Super clean, and the owner has thought of everything -- he provided lots of information on where to go, what to do, and how to get around, as well as supplies (beach towels, beach chairs, and of course the two beach cruisers). The neighborhood was quiet, and there was beach access a block away, as well as a nature preserve not too much further. We could easily ride our bikes downtown and back. We highly recommend this place! For families with children -- our daughter is in grade school and did fine with the fold-out futon. The kitchen is fully stocked, so you could do well with a very young child (in, perhaps, a pack-and-play) also - I always found that it was much nicer to have the option to cook vs. going out to eat when my child was very young.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic space in a great area

    Fantastic space in a great area

    • Guest Skw11 (Redwood City, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    This studio was perfect for me and my husband for our little get away to beautiful Santa Barbara. We were looking for a quiet, private, clean and reasonably priced place by the beach and this was perfect! Stuart was so helpful in telling us the best spots to see and the greatest part was that we did it all with the 2 bikes provided. We loved being able to walk to the beach every evening for sunset too! The studio had everything we needed and then some. We hope to return for another stay in the near future.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Phoenix Area Couple Loves Santa Barbara

    Phoenix Area Couple Loves Santa Barbara

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    Our stay at the Ocean Breeze Studio was, without reservation, completely satisfying. The property is immaculate and the owner, Stuart, is welcoming, gracious and informative. We love to cook, and the Studio's kitchen and deck grill afforded us ample means to prepare gourmet meals. The Studio's proximity to a fantastic market featuring locally grown vegetables and local fish was a real plus. The Studio is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and is a short walking distance to a wonderful beach. Access to downtown Santa Barbara and local points of interest, including Los Olivos, make the Studio's location highly desirable. We plan to return to the Studio and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Santa Barbara area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing! Amazing!! AMAZING!!!

    Amazing! Amazing!! AMAZING!!!

    • Guest David R.
    • Date of stay 07/04/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    What an amazing home in a great location! Close to a romantic beach and a stunning nature preserve with sunsets that recharge and refresh. Less than a mile from all the grocery shopping and restaurants you will ever want. Refrigerator and all the included cooking materials allowed us to cook up breakfast in the morning and be on our way to the beach in no time. The two bicycles that Stuart (the owner) provided were such a wonderful addition... just imagine biking around a beautiful and safe beach neighborhood with the sun hitting your back and a cool breeze on your face. Do not miss out on a great and inexpensive rental. NOWHERE in Santa Barbara will give you this much bang for the buck, privacy, location, amenities, private parking, and much more. Quite a vacation to remember. Thank you Stuart!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Canadian couple on vacation

    Canadian couple on vacation

    • Guest Anne (Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    We loved this large, airy, quiet, and clean studio. The comfortable and contemporary-style furnishings were perfect, especially the bed. The residential neighborhood is very quiet and it's only a short walk to a beautiful beach and nice longer walk to downtown and the wharf. The owner creates an excellent up to date booklet for each visitor of what to see, resturants and great activity ideas which was very helpful! Definitely one of our favorite VRBO experiences!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • SB Getaway

    SB Getaway

    • Guest Sweet Pea (Las Vegas, NV)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    Our stay here was so enjoyable. The quaint unit was well maintained and there is a lot of thought in every detail; from the stocked full kitchen to extra fluffy towels; and oh, the wonderful coffee. The surrounding neighbor is great for a stroll to Mesa Beach, but be aware of all those steps. An excellent workout if you're so inclined. An awesome view, too! We definitely need to return when we have more time. We would highly recommend this property. Thank you Stuart for your hospitality.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing GetAway

    Relaxing GetAway

    • Guest Vonda N.
    • Date of stay 05/29/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    Great and quiet neighborhood, very clean space! Traveled over to visit our college son who lives in Santa Barbara, this would was perfect for us as we eat most of our meals in. The outdoor grill was great and the kitchen with full sized fridge was very accommodating. Once the owner adds a bit of his backyard to the guests, it will be heavenly! Within walking distance to the Douglas Family Preserve, which is absolutely stunning, and a good workout to walk to beach.. stairs, many, many stairs... which we enjoyed the challenge! We would stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Relaxing

    Very Relaxing

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    Only got to stay here for two nights, but it was just what I was looking for, a nice quiet weekend away. I would definitely come back and stay again!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great little retreat

    Great little retreat

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/12/13
    My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway, but I could easily see stretching a visit here longer. It has all the amenities of a deluxe hotel suite: kitchen, dining table, sofa and HDTV, queen bed, The place was immaculate and bright. There are beach cruisers if you like to ride bikes. The apartment is a quick walk to a quiet beach, and a quick jog/bike ride to Ledbetter Beach. State Street and the more touristy area of Santa Barbara (including McConnell's Ice Cream, a must visit) are a very short drive away. The owner is very friendly and has tons of tips for places to eat, things to do, etc. My husband and I scoured hotel rooms in the area and you couldn't get anything half as nice as this place for anything less than twice the price. I only gave one star off because the apartment has two skylights, which make it very bright and sunny during the day, but very difficult to sleep late.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Great Location

    Comfortable and Great Location

    • Guest Earl and Billie (Glendale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 05/07/13
    • Review Submitted 05/11/13
    This roomy little studio was just as describe. Stairs to a beautiful secluded beach less than a block away. It was very clean and comfortable. Nice little patio with gas grill overlooking well manicured yard. Centrally located in a quiet well maintained neighborhood. The owner was very helpful and did a great job orientating us to the rental and things to do. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for the Santa Barbara area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing, private bungalow

    Amazing, private bungalow

    • Guest Ellie (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    If you want to experience Santa Barbara as a local, this is the perfect place to rent. It's half a block from the beach with easy beach access. Such a beautiful place to watch sunsets. The owner is SUPER nice and really accommodating. He gave us helpful suggestions on how to get around and where to eat. The place is also really, really clean and in great condition! I definitely would recommend this place and would stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place and great location

    Great place and great location

    • Guest Donna (Cypress, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    I enjoyed my stay - the studio is beautiful, spacious, and immaculate, the decor is very nice, the deck is a peaceful and private spot to read and relax. There's a great walk nearby, down the steps to the beach, walk north to a restaurant, up a tree-covered trail, and back on the Douglas Preserve overlooking the beach. I was in Santa Barbara for a conference near the waterfront, and it was an easy 10 min. drive back and forth. The owner is responsive and helpful, and the gift of fresh ground coffee was wonderful!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place.

    Great place.

    • Guest Toni (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 01/16/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    Stuart was very helpful and place was very nice and clean. Close to beach. Great city to visit. Would stay again. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Private Place on the Mesa

    Private Place on the Mesa

    • Guest Allen (Palm Springs)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    This was a wonderful location near the ocean that recquired only a short walk. The photos are accurate & the property was immaculate. The owner was more than helpful & really went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I would recommend this vacation rental without hesitation to friends or family. We completely enjoyed our time there. Without a doubt I would stay there again when visiting Santa Barbara.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, bright and comfortable

    Clean, bright and comfortable

    • Guest Merideth (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Great studio with plenty of amenities. This was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend - quiet neighborhood, private deck, just blocks to the beach and views. Plus, owner provided beach cruisers and freshly-ground coffee. Easily accessible from highways and close (short drive) to downtown goings-on. Would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Little Place

    Great Little Place

    • Guest Dean (Tustin, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    Great little place. Close to the beach, clean and quiet. I am definity going back. Dean

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ROOMY, QUIET AND WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO OCEAN!

    ROOMY, QUIET AND WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO OCEAN!

    • Guest Scotchie (Laguna Hills, Calif. USA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    What a nice gem. The owner is very cool and provided us a pound of fresh coffee for our stay (we ended up heading out for brunch and didn't end up using it ... we left for next guests ... but what a nice gesture, eh?). The owner is attentative to any of your questions, food recommendations, etc. But he keeps to himself and his family. He double checked the propane on gas grill on the deck to make sure there was plenty remaining. Since the weather was colder and a storm was looming, we didn't use it ... But, again, it was there for the use .... it's a separate grill -- for the studio guests only. In other word, you won't see the owner come over with a steak and use the grill ... The owner is next door ... but you will never see him ... the studio is truly a separate unit and very private ... very quiet. The owner's photographs of his place are very accurate with one exception: the studio is much roomier than one might think by looking at the photos. Here's what makes this a nice place for a couple: You can get away from the downtown, busy SB area and feel you're in a private home ... You can cook inside the unit, grill ... there is a large fridge to chill wine and store leftovers from restaurants .... you park in the driveway off the street and have your own little gate to walk down a quiet path toward the unit .... lots of privacy ... quiet ... come and go as you please .... THE GREATEST THING: you are literraly less than a five-minute walk to a pathway that leads to a sturdy set of stairs that take you straight to the beach ... We were walking on sand in about 10 minutes to catch the Friday sunset ... Since it was offseason, the weather was cooler and the beach was pretty much deserted, adding to a nice peaceful getaway ... The owner is so nice and cool and the place so spacious and relaxing, we will be back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Location and Landlord

    Excellent Location and Landlord

    • Guest Judith (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    I stayed a month at Sea Breeze and found the unit to be fantastic. It was larger than I had expected and very clean and quiet. The location was perfect, a block from the beach, close to the Douglas preserve. I would highly recommend Sea Breeze.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • very clean and nice

    very clean and nice

    • Guest bob (durango)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/31/11
    great little spot close to beach sounds like he might be getting bikes that would be great. very quite and comfortable bed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • This is a gem!

    This is a gem!

    • Guest Tammy (Phoenix)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/23/11
    This is a great place to stay in Santa Barbara...and at a great price. The listing is even better than the pictures display...very neat, clean and larger than it appears. Nice neighborhood, very close (short walk) to the beach, and a great owner who is friendly and available for your questions or needs. I plan to stay there again and would recommend this place to anyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]