Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Another way Austin 'rocks'.  These rockers even have drink holders!

Modern, Urban Oasis. Walk & Bike to Restaurants & Shops [#3553422ha] | View Property

Bouldin
Casa SoCo is a gorgeous and comfortable 4 bed/2 bath home 1.5 mi from downtown
$400 - $1,200/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • Beautifully decorated house in Soco!

    Beautifully decorated house in Soco!

    • Guest Stefanie Z.
    • Date of stay 03/13/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    Ashley is an amazing host. She is incredibly detail oriented and has literally thought of everything. She greeted us as we arrived, showed us around and even gave us a ride into town. We couldn't have asked for a better host. The house is gorgeous and smells amazing! Everything was top notch and we had a great weekend at SXSW. I would definitely stay at Casa SoCo again, no doubt!

    Owner response: What a whirlwind SXSW! Thanks to Stefanie and her crew for taking excellent care of Casa SoCo and inviting me to a SX brunch event. Come back and see us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect house for a weekend of exploring Austin

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect house for a weekend of exploring Austin

    • Guest Andrew
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/10/14
    Ashley was a fantastic host. She was very quick to respond to questions and the house was in perfect condition and very comfortable for a group of 6/7. With such a great location just off South Congress, it was a perfect house for a weekend of exploring Austin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ashley is a great host!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Ashley is a great host!

    • Guest Jamie
    • Date of stay 02/05/14
    • Review Submitted 03/10/14
    Ashley is a great host! She was super helpful with recommendations for places to go in Austin. We had a wonderful stay at Casa SoCo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything we needed

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Everything we needed

    • Guest Noah
    • Date of stay 02/03/14
    • Review Submitted 03/10/14
    Casa SoCo was great and had everything we needed for our short trip. Ashley was wonderfully informative.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome place to stay in Austin!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Awesome place to stay in Austin!

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/10/14
    Awesome place to stay in Austin! Extremely diligent host with a well-appointed, exceptionally clean, spacious, and centrally-located to south congress and 1st st

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous owners, perfect house, ideal location!

    Fabulous owners, perfect house, ideal location!

    • Guest Lysle B. (Saint Louis, Missouri)
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    Casa Soco was better than we could had ever imagined for our stay in Austin over the holidays! Arranging the stay couldn't have been easier. Ashley, the owner, was very helpful with planning, provided prompt responses to all our questions and made arriving as simple as could be! The house itself was perfect for my family- we had 4 couples so each had our own room with plenty of living and kitchen space. Bedrooms were very comfortable and we loved the supply of bathrobes and all the other iittle thoughtful ammenities (fans, extra pillows/blankets, etc) in the rooms. The kitchen and living room had plenty of seating for all 8 of us with a great table big enough to play cards and games. The kitchen also had everything we needed- coffee maker, toaster, plenty of dishes---there wasn't a single thing we needed that wasn't there. One thing to note is that there is no cable/satellite. That wasn't a big issue for us since we watched network and AppleTV but there were some football games on we wished we could have accessed. The Apply Ipod radio/dock was also a great touch that we used the whole trip--though again to note that it was for the Iphone 4 and below, not the 5 plug adaptor. Outside front and back had tables and chairs and firepits in both locations. It was a bit chilly so that was perfect for us and having firewood and starters already on site made it even easier! In summary, the owners take pride in this gorgeous and well equipped and cared for house. We greatly enjoyed our stay and being on the dead end it was peaceful, but within walking distance to SoCo was an added bonus. I highly recommend staying here as we certainly will when we go back!

    Owner response: Happy new year! Thanks so much for pointing out we need the iPhone5 adapter - I will get one this week! I'll also add a few sport bars nearby to our Live Like a Local Guide when ESPN is needed. I'm so glad the family enjoyed their stay and we welcome you back home to Casa SoCo anytime. Cheers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Soco

    Casa Soco

    • Guest matt t.
    • Date of stay 12/04/13
    • Review Submitted 12/23/13
    My family and I live abroad, but are thinking about moving back to the states so we have been visiting various different cities. Although we decided that Austin won't be our future city, our 13 day stay at Casa Soco was extraordinary. The house is an original 1950s Austin renovation with an exceptional amount of soul...the pictures don't do it justice. The house and location are amazing, but what really sets Casa Soco apart is Ashley. Ashely really put in the effort to assure that everything was perfect. When I asked if the house had a pack and play and high chair, she said that it didn't but she could provide us with both plus a stroller. When I enquired about neighborhoods with good schools, she volunteered to show us around. The two hour tour was much appreciated. I'm fairly well traveled both in the US and internationally. I vouch that you won't find a nicer "landlord/manager" anywhere regardless of price.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic experience

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic experience

    • Guest Edward & family
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/18/13
    Fantastic experience. Ashley was a wonderful host who went the extra mile for me and my family. The house is in a nice neighborhood, convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. It was extremely comfortable and accommodated all five of us very well. I would strongly recommend staying at SoCo. We had a wonderful time enhanced by Ashley thoughtfulness.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • went above and beyond in making us feel welcome

    Guest comment entered by owner

    went above and beyond in making us feel welcome

    • Guest Brian & Cat
    • Date of stay 11/14/13
    • Review Submitted 12/18/13
    Ashley hosted my family and I at Casa Soco for my wedding in November, and we had such a positive experience! The house is spacious, comfortable, and conveniently located, with just the right touch of that quirky Austin feel. Very true to its description. Communication throughout the process was very smooth, and Ashley was extremely responsive and proactive in ensuring that everything was just right for us. She really went above and beyond in making us feel welcome, and I would highly highly recommend choosing Casa Soco for your stay in Austin - we're very glad that we did.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay while visiting Austin

    Great place to stay while visiting Austin

    • Guest Harin d.
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    Great location. Can drive to COTA on surface streets, and lots of restaurants in the neighborhood. Property is in very nice condition and owner(s) are very responsive to requests. Highly recommended.

    Owner response: Thank you to you and your family. It was exciting to host guests actually driving race cars! :) You are always welcome at Casa SoCo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Designed with Love and Good Karma!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Designed with Love and Good Karma!

    • Guest Marietta
    • Date of stay 11/07/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    We were family members from Boston, WI, VA and Singapore. What a beautiful home, obviously designed with love and good karma!! We were very happy about the wedding and our visit. Thank you very much for making that possible!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hip Hotel Alternative

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Hip Hotel Alternative

    • Guest Maura, Natalie, Caroline, Mandy, Magda & Ashley
    • Date of stay 10/31/13
    • Review Submitted 11/04/13
    Thank you Ash and Casa SoCo for providing the perfect setting for a reunion of six college gal pals from all over the country (LA/SF/NYC). We loved Casa SoCo - so cute, well stocked and amazing location. We will definitely be recommending Casa SoCo to anyone looking for a hip hotel alternative in Austin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing time at SoCo House!

    Amazing time at SoCo House!

    • Guest Krisiny B.
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    What an amazing trip! Five of my college girlfriends and I stayed at SoCo house last month for our annual girls weekend. The location is fantastic. We walked or biked pretty much everywhere. The house is lovely. At the end of a quiet street, open, airy, super clean, well stocked. I'm a stickler for a clean hotel, house, etc., and the house more than met my expectations. I can't say anything negative about it. The owner, Ashley, met us there about half an hour after we arrived to give us a tour of the house, show us where things were, how to use the Apple TV to listen to music, and to give us advice about fun places to walk, bike, eat and shop. She made sure we had her cell number in case we needed anything, and she was very responsive when we did call. Prior to our arrival, she even arranged for some extra bikes and bike helmets to be at the house so we could all have bikes for the weekend, which we used a ton. We were all without our kids, but I did notice that there were kids toys and books for families traveling there. We spent the weekend walking, biking through Austin, eating, drinking and shopping, and spent a lovely night outside at the fire pit. Perfect location, lovely house. I would highly recommend this house to anyone going to Austin, whether it be for a girls weekend, a family trip, or any other reason.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Home and Terrific Location!

    Lovely Home and Terrific Location!

    • Guest Krisiny B.
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/07/13
    Casa SoCo is a great base for a visit to Austin. The location is in the South Congress area, and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking area. Some as short as just 5 minutes on foot - can't beat that! The house itself is charming and nicely decorated too. Ashley is a thoughtful host and has done a great job anticipating the needs of her guests. In the house are several guide books she put together listing good shopping, restaurants, bars and other things to see in Austin. She also provides bikes and helmets which were great. I would absolutely recommend staying at Casa SoCo.

    Owner response: Thank you for being fantastic guests; so glad you had a wonderful weekend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home, Great location, Great Owner!

    Wonderful home, Great location, Great Owner!

    • Guest Krisiny B.
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/01/13
    The home was even nicer than described. We were so thrilled with the extras we received like fully set-up Apple TV, fire pit, fluffy towels, extra bicycles and helmets, and copious food and activity suggestions. The owner, Ashley, was a delight to rent from and incredibly accommodating. I would stay here again on future trips to Austin!

    Owner response: You gals definitely lived like locals! I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and used the bikes. Thanks for taking such sweet care of Casa SoCo. You are always welcome!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa SoCo Exceeded our Expectations!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Casa SoCo Exceeded our Expectations!

    • Guest Krisy, Orit, Anita, Laura, Kim, Julie
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    We were here for our annual college girlfriends reunion (class of '96!). It was the perfect set up for a relaxing weekend away from kiddos and hubbies. We did lots of bike riding all over town, walked to all the shops along S. Congress, saw the bats at dusk, ate at Bouldin Creek Cafe every morning and even got some mechanical bull riding in! Also had some wonderful meals at 2nd Bar & Kitchen and La Condesa. Thanks for opening up your awesome home to us. Fire pit was so nice. We will be recommending it to those planning to make a trip to Austin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house, location, owner!

    Great house, location, owner!

    • Guest Katy R.
    • Date of stay 10/09/13
    • Review Submitted 10/17/13
    This was an excellent house for a long weekend with 7 friends for ACL. The house was perfect for our needs. Some things we really, especially liked: - The owner was so responsive to every issue and did everything she could to accommodate our needs, including obtaining extra bikes for us and routing the safest route from the house to Zilker Park - The house was exactly as described/shown in the pictures, no surprises at all. - Great convenient location (by foot to the South Congress restaurants; by car to downtown) - Nice places to gather on the front patio and living room. When you have a lot of people in a house it is so helpful to have comfortable common areas. - Cute, high quality decor and comfortable beds. Everything was clean and tidy. Plus board games, apple tv, toiletries, kitchen supplies provided. We had a wonderful trip, and so much of the credit for that goes to the owner and her kindness and attention to detail. Thanks and hope to be back soon!

    Owner response: Katy and her cohort are part of the ACL 2013 Weekend 2 flood -- meaning their ACL Sunday was literally canceled after a torrential down pour Saturday night. This was such a disappointing turn (for me too, as a loyal ACL fan) but I have a feeling that everyone made the best of it. I just really appreciate this kind review in light of a big bummer that was totally out of our control. I assure you we'll do what we can to make it up to you next time you visit Austin. You're always welcome at Casa SoCo! Thanks Katy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girl's weekend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Girl's weekend

    • Guest April
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    Thank you Casa SoCo. We loved every second!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa SoCo was fantastic

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Casa SoCo was fantastic

    • Guest Casey
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/12/13
    Casa SoCo was fantastic - super cute (better than the pics!), great location and Ashley the owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and make sure that we had restaurant and entertainment advice. Would highly recommend

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic house rental close to everything!

    Fantastic house rental close to everything!

    • Guest Katie W.
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    My family and I (7 of us in total) had a fantastic weekend at Casa SoCo. Ashley really went out of her way to make sure that everything was taken care of! The house is in a super quiet location, but very close to South Congress and downtown Austin. We would definitely stay here again!

    Owner response: I'm so glad your family weekend was a success. Hoping your expanding family is doing well. You are always welcome at Casa SoCo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • My new happy place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    My new happy place

    • Guest Amy
    • Date of stay 08/22/13
    • Review Submitted 09/07/13
    We had the greatest weekend! I cannot tell you how many times we walked around the house and said "I love this house and we are not going back to The W!" This is our new staycation location!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great South Congress Vacation home

    Great South Congress Vacation home

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    What a great house and fabulous location. The house has a wonderful eclectic décor while feeling very warm and homey. We were there with our adult daughters and there was a great open concept kitchen/dining/living room while still offering everyone a place for a little "alone time". We cooked dinner one night of our stay and the kitchen was well equipped and roomy enough for 3 cooks! All the bedrooms were beautiful and the beds/pillows/sheets were very comfortable. Very close to SoCo dining and shopping and easy access to downtown also. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again!

    Owner response: Very glad you enjoyed your stay! We added a few more items to the kitchen based on your feedback. We'll always welcome you back to Casa SoCo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet Oasis in the Heart of the City

    Quiet Oasis in the Heart of the City

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of South Austin, just minutes from downtown, look no further. Perfectly appointed for either a guys/gals weekend getaway or for a longer family vacation, Casa Soco has everything you'd want and more in a visit to Austin. As a native Austinite, and someone who used to live in South Austin, staying here reaffirmed so much of what I love about my hometown but often find myself too busy or far from to enjoy. The indelible Barton Springs, South Congress, awesome neighborhood shopping/eats, walkable streets, and proximity to nearly anything you'd want make this the perfect place. But it isn't just the location that makes Casa SoCo so incredible. You will be hard pressed to think of anything the owners haven't already. It immediately feels like a home away from home, providing a level of comfort and quality that hotels, even the chic Austin ones, will be hard pressed to match. The rooms are spacious, kitchen and living space are wide open and the patio… oh the patio, is a game changer. Days later you'll find yourself closing your eyes and dreaming that you're still under the shade of that magnificent Live Oak.

    Owner response: I feel like I need to assure travelers that this review was not paid for. We are so glad you had such a lovely weekend. You did actually mention at check out that we needed more pillows and I took care of that today. Thanks much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Casa SoCo is SoCool!

    Casa SoCo is SoCool!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    What a total gem of a place. I will NEVER stay at a hotel when visiting ATX again! Not only is the location of this house totally awesome (5 minute walk to SoCo), but the house itself is totally awesome. The inside of the house is spacious, super clean, and very comfortable. We had a house full of people, and never once did I feel like I was on top of anyone. I stayed in the queen bedroom, which was perfect. Great closet and dresser space for all of my things, and the bed and linens were to die for! The front patio has tons of space to hang out, and a beautiful 250 year old oak tree that shades the entire patio. The backyard has a table setting for 6, and is very private. The house comes with everything you need and more to have a good time. They even have bikes for you use while you stay there, which was perfect for going out for breakfast in the morning, or going out to Zilker in the afternoon (we did both!). Bathrooms were very clean, and came with nice plush towels, and a blow dryer. I will definitely be booking this place again, and if I were you I’d get on it before word gets out. Only a matter of time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa SoCo right on the money!!

    Casa SoCo right on the money!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    Absolutely perfect vacation home. We so enjoyed our stay! Can't say enough about how everything was spot on. Such a great house totally up to date and clean. All amenities on hand which made it such a comfortable home away from home. Perfect location to tons of great restaurants and shopping. We had a blast and totally recommend to anyone looking for a getaway in ATX. Loved Botticelli's Italian Restaurant. Had fun listening to some great music at The Continental Club. All within walking distance or a quick bikeride/drive away!! Could go on and on about all the great food and fun so close by. An absolute perfect location. (I know I keep saying that, but it's true) Had such fun hanging out on front patio with gorgeous old oak tree. Highly Highly recommend!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location Location Location

    Location Location Location

    • Guest Caleb K.
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We stayed at the Casa SoCo this past weekend and enjoyed every minute. The amenities are as stated on the website and the location is perfect. You can walk or ride a bike to South Congress and Zilker Park is just right around the corner. The large oak in the front is just beautiful and really helps cool off the patio in the hot weather. I would recommend Casa SoCo to anyone who wants to enjoy the Austin scene. The food establishments in this area are fantastic and the beer joints have that Austin vibe that you can't find anywhere else.

    Owner response: So glad you had a great time and stayed comfortable (even outside!) during a particularly HOT July weekend! We hope to see you again next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gem of a place

    Gem of a place

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    My husband and I met in South Austin many years ago. We wanted to return to the scene of the crime and this home has all the funky charm of South Austin that we love. We did not want to stay in a generic chain hotel. The house was very clean and well-organized, offering all the amenities that were stated on the web-site and then some. We enjoyed the proximity to many great restaurants and shops. The real piece de resistance is the 250 year old oak tree covering the front patio. It was also nice to have lots of parking available when friends came to visit. Another plus is the proximity to downtown Austin, the South Congress area, 2nd St and the Warehouse district .. We will definitely return!

    Owner response: Aw, so glad you had a nice stay! We love the tree too. I think she needs a name! For those new to Austin, "South Austin" often means south of Lady Bird Lake that borders 1st St/Cesar Chavez. We are just minutes from downtown. Walk 3 blocks to South Congress and you can literally see the Capitol.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • South Austin gem

    South Austin gem

    • Guest Abby S.
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    Casa Soco is a fabulous oasis right in the heart of all that is great about South Austin. We were looking for a place to have fun ladies weekend to have fun, relax awalleye rate. The house is so comfy and decorated with a great vibe. Each room had plenty of space and were well appointed. After cocktails on the front porch we took a short walk to a new food trailer park on South First to enjoy wine and some delish Cajun food. Then back for some more chats on the front porch. The next morning it was a quick trip to another food trailer park for breakfast tacos and donuts. Can't wait to come back for another weekend.

    Owner response: We were so happy to host y'all and thrilled our first round of guests had everything they needed! I'll get the Cajun food trailer place added to our "Best Places in Austin" blog. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]