Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Stylish Wonderland Beach 2 Bd. Home Ocean Views, Steps to Sand

You sent a message to this owner.

Exterior

Exterior Location! Location! Location! In the heart of San Diego! Living room with fireplace. French doors open to your ocean view deck with BBQ! Living room Kitchen. You can watch the SeaWorld fireworks from the round window every night! Upstairs bedroom with a view of the mission bay channel and the sailboats! Master bedroom Master bedroom has couch that clicks into a full size bed for extra sleeping. Full bathroom half bathroom Summer lovin' Bar-height dining for six allows for alfresco dining with an ocean view! Cruise our local farmer's market on Newport Ave. every Wednesday 4-8pm Downtown San Diego is only 5 miles from this rental Enjoy the Ocean Beach Pier and our gorgeous sunsets Local surfing across the street

Calendar

Last updated: 04/19/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3-7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Ocean Beach townhome description

This stylish property is steps from the beach, beach volleyball courts and the world famous leash-free Dog Beach! Several award winning restaurants are only a short walk away (within 1 block). There is a high-end organic grocery store just 4 blocks from this property. There are also wonderful wine bars, pubs and boutique shops within 3 blocks. The main street of Ocean Beach is Newport Avenue which is also a short walk from this property. Many famous restaurants featured on Food Network are along Newport Avenue as well as access to the famous Ocean Beach Fishing Pier. SeaWorld is less than one mile from your rental and you can watch the fireworks shot from SeaWorld from your deck every night during the summer season. Ocean Beach and your rental is ideally located and just a few minutes from all attractions!

This property is one side of a 3-story duplex. The entire building is available as well. Simply see our other listing. The yard is completely fenced and immaculately landscaped. There is off-street parking at the back of the property and a shed filled with recreational items for you to enjoy (ie. boogie boards, bikes, surfboards, etc.
This property has one large bedroom with attached full bathroom on the first floor. There is a separate laundry closet as well. Upstairs is an open floor plan living room/kitchen. Sit and enjoy dinner at the eat-in island while staring through the round picture window which perfectly frames the fireworks from SeaWorld. What could be better than ending dinner with a fireworks show every night? There is also a 42' flat screen TV and wood burning fireplace to keep you cozy and entertained. In addition there is also a half bathroom on this floor. From the living space you can walk out the french doors to your own ocean view balcony, complete with deep seated patio furniture and gas BBQ grill. The third floor provides a peek-a-boo view of the ocean and channel. You can lie in bed and watch the yachts sail in from the open ocean.

Keywords: Beachfront, Ocean Beach, San Diego, Beach, Sea World, Townhome, Ocean View, Sunset View, Surfing, Dog Beach, San Diego Zoo, Mission Bay, Mission Beach, Belmont Park, Downtown, Point Loma, Sunset Cliffs, Petco Park, 2 bedroom, two bedroom, granite kitchen

Property Type

      • Townhome

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Non Smoking Only
          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Considered

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9, Beds for 4-9

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Microwave
          • Dishwasher
          • Refrigerator

          Amenities

          • Clothes Dryer
          • Linens Provided
          • Washing Machine
          • Parking Off Street
          • Wood Fireplace

          Entertainment

          • DVD Player
          • Stereo
          • Satellite / Cable

          Communications

          • Telephone
          • Free Long Distance
          • Wireless Internet

          Outdoor Features

          • Balcony
          • Deck / Patio
          • Outdoor Grill

          Location & View

          • Water View
          • Ocean View
          • Beach View

          Activities

          • Kayaking
          • Golf
          • Hot Air Ballooning
          • Surfing
          • Swimming
          • Hiking
          • Tennis
          • Water Skiing
          • Fishing
          • Wind-Surfing
          • Basketball Court
          • Sailing
          • Snorkeling/Diving
          • Cycling
          • Jet Skiing
          • Zoo
          • Health/Beauty Spa
          • Cinemas
          • Museums
          • Live Theater
          • Theme Parks
          • Restaurants
          • Boating
          • Wildlife Viewing
          • Sight Seeing
          • Shelling
          • Horseback Riding
          • Shopping
          • Antiquing
           

          Reviews

          Write a review
          • Surprisingly Quiet!

            Surprisingly Quiet!

            • Guest Anonymous
            • Date of stay 10/25/13
            • Review Submitted 11/04/13
            My brother and I spent 3 nights at the condo. Loved that the bedrooms are on different floors--we didn't hear each other which was a plus. We were both amazed at how quiet it was--we slept well. We walked everywhere and were happy to have the parking spot (a rarity in OB!). The condo was clean and although we didn't do any cooking, the kitchen was supplied with everything you could want. The weather was grey and misty, but it was still great to be in OB. Pizza Port is fabulous for craft beers. Breakfast at Daybreak Island Grill, Old Townhouse Restaurant or Shades Oceanfront Bistro. Thanks to Genoa for being so accomodating!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Fine choice, especially for dog owners

            Fine choice, especially for dog owners

            • Guest John (Tucson)
            • Date of stay 09/11/13
            • Review Submitted 09/18/13
            We were very happy with this property for a mom & dad, their 1-year old, 3 grandparents, and 2 dogs. We'd stayed near Dog Beach before, but with a several-block walk. This location is a 2 to 3 minute walk and you're there. The area was friendly, not too noisy. Property was nice and well-appointed. The closet full of "beach goodies" gets an A+, full of bicycles, chairs, boogie and surfboards and more. I'd say the "back yard" is more like a parking area. The front yard is very nice. Only one shower in the place and more stairs than I anticipated, but that's good exercise. We thought we made an excellent choice. Highly recommended.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, age 55+.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • CANNOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE! BUG INFESTED BEDROOM - UNSUITABLE FOR RENT!

            CANNOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE! BUG INFESTED BEDROOM - UNSUITABLE FOR RENT!

            • Guest Anonymous
            • Date of stay 08/31/13
            • Review Submitted 09/12/13
            I recently rented this place for what was supposed to be one week. With three adults traveling, we needed a two bedroom place. When we arrived, we realized that while TECHNICALLY this structure has two bedrooms, the second bedroom was infested with bugs that were all over the floor, windowsill over the bed, and evidence of bugs having been on the bed itself (wings trapped behind the pillow). I called the owner immediately, no answer, left a message, no reply. Called her again a few hours later, and she finally returned my call approximately 4 hours after my original call. She seemed well aware of the issue, and claimed that because they were termites, there was nothing she could do about it. She trivialized my complaint and likened it to complaining about mosquitos in the summer in NYC. (If the inside of my hotel room was infested with mosquitos in the summer in NYC, I would still complain, btw!). When I told her that we had rented a 2 bedroom and that e second room was not acceptable, she basically told me that I was being unreasonable, that I must be looking for a refund to get a 'free vacation', and that her hands were tied. Our third traveler ended up sleeping on the very uncomfortable futon in the living room, what we had hoped to avoid by renting a 2bedroom, which was a major inconvenience. After 3 days of trying to reach her, in attempts to be released from our contract to move to an ACTUAL 2 bedroom, she finally returned my call. She let me out of the rental and we moved. She refunded me the value of our unused nights and the housekeeping fee, but at no point in time did she feel it necessary to offer any compensation for the inconvenience - or the rude behavior with which she responded to me, her renter. The vacation ended up costing us more $ in the end, because we had to move midway through the week to a last minute place we found which ended up being slightly more expensive, not to mention the added stress of waiting to see if she would bother to call back, having to find a new pet-friendly place to stay with no advance notice and immediate availability, pack up, and move - during what was designed to be a relaxing vacation. If you want to be treated rudely, not get what you pay for, and essentially "camp out" with bugs crawling all over your bed, then this might be the perfect place for you. Otherwise, I suggest you find another place. There are plenty of other, nicer, cleaner places in OB, and elsewhere in SD!

            Owner response: We are sorry you felt this way about your stay, and your perception of how we handled your complaint about the bugs. We did offer to have a maid clean up the bugs and if the deck doors and windows had been closed then no bugs would have flown into the unit. In fact, I contacted the local pest control company to inquire about this specific scenario and they informed me that the only solution is to close your windows and that there is no chemical solution for flying bugs. While we disagree there was a bug infestation, because you were so upset, we attempted to resolve the matter by offering reimbursements and alternative accommodations. We regret this negative review and feel that we did everything within our power to make your stay pleasant.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

          • Close to OB

            Close to OB

            • Guest Ang (Tucson, AZ)
            • Date of stay 07/11/13
            • Review Submitted 07/23/13
            I recently stayed with a group of friends here. Positives; close to the beach, bikes and beach equipment provided Negatives; we arrived at the home and it had not been cleaned. The owner was responsive and refunded the cleaning fee due to the inconvenience. The 2 bedrooms are VERY SMALL...and the futons provided were very uncomfortable leather pieces not suitable for sleeping.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

          • A wonderful vacation home.....

            A wonderful vacation home.....

            • Guest Kevin C.
            • Date of stay 06/21/13
            • Review Submitted 07/01/13
            The pictures paint a good picture as to what you should expect. Three floors, two bedroom and many futon beds. If you are staying with small children you could easily sleep 9-10 in total. The location is great being right across the street from dog beach and just two short blocks to the regular beach. I look forward to taking my family here again next year.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • An O.K. Stay

            An O.K. Stay

            • Guest Dave and Sue (Oakley, CA)
            • Date of stay 03/16/13
            • Review Submitted 03/25/13
            Photos for unit we stayed in nicer than actual unit. Unit in need of repair of cracked tiles, carpet on stairs in dire need of deep cleaning/repair as very dirty and pulling away from stairs. For most part, unit clean (oven dirty). Attempted to barbeque, however, BBQ full of debri with appearance it had not ever been cleaned or not cleaned for months. Unable to BBQ after spending about 30 minutes scraping and cleaning what we could- then could not light BBQ. Amenities accessible(and wonderfully supplied). Overall stay was good. Did not find area family friendly - more young adults, street people and alot of homeless in the area. Did not have animals with us, however, area very populated with pets. Beach across the street and easily accessible. Other attractions in San Diego easy to access. If you like shopping, Fashion Valley Mall, Westfield Malls, Gas Lamp District very close! Cheesecake factory in Fashion Valley. Ocean Beach, Shades Restaurant excellent!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

          • Not quite what was expected

            Not quite what was expected

            • Guest Traveling Mom (Saskatoon, SK, Canada)
            • Date of stay 02/06/13
            • Review Submitted 02/20/13
            This home took a nicer on-line photo than it really was. Space was quite small - an older home fixed up. Upstairs bedroom was more of an attic area. The property was clean and owner did appear to go out of way to provide a lot of amenities. The area services were NOT family-friendly, Newport Avenue was primarily run-down pubs and transient-type people, appeared to be alot of people who lived in their cars, etc. in the area. Not really suitable for children & I did not notice many other children in the area. Beach is visually spectacular but (as a surfing beach) but is too rough to be safe for swimming. Appropriate for an adventurous / free-spirited older couple/single with a dog wanting an off-the-beat and path experience. Very popular dog beach right across the street.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

          • Excellent Stay

            Excellent Stay

            • Guest bircluc (Riverside, CA)
            • Date of stay 11/17/12
            • Review Submitted 12/16/12
            We really enjoyed our stay in Oceanbeach. The beach house is located ideally from the dog beach and we loved to be able to easily walk there and enjoy the day with the pups. The accommodations were excellent: the bed was super comfortable and the tiled floors made sweeping up beach sand really easy. The only slight complaint would be that the wireless connection was a bit slow and we had difficulty working on-line. Other than that, we would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • Great place

            Great place

            • Guest Jo (Hastings, MN)
            • Date of stay 12/05/12
            • Review Submitted 12/15/12
            Great location, very nice yard, private parking and clean. Bedding was VERY comfortable. Kitchen was nicely stocked with dishes and cooking supplies. Nice walking distance to the beach. Would stay there again.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • Dog Beach

            Dog Beach

            • Guest Sherri Y. (NORFOLK, VA.)
            • Date of stay 09/08/12
            • Review Submitted 09/24/12
            The property was at a perfect location for our needs, especially being so close to Dog Beach. The property did need some improvements such as screens for the windows and french doors. Because San Diego is usually mild, there is no need for AC, however, being at the beach and wanting to feel the cool breezes and the possibility of heat (especially since the sun sets in the west and the condo is facing the west), screens are a necessity. We battled flies throughout the week during our meals and at other times. We believe this would have helped with the cleanliness of our bare feet because the ceramic floor was easily dirtied. We recommend when the AC or Ice Maker does not work to make note of things like this in the Welcome Book. We reorganized the shed where the beach chairs and boogie boards were as previous guests had just thrown things in and it was difficult to get in to find chairs. The hair dryer in the downstairs bathroom did not work so we suggest replacing that. It is a perfect place for people that want to bring their dogs and enjoy the beach life. People who have a difficult time maneuvering steps should not rent this condo but otherwise it was a good place to stay. Parking was indeed a perk, especially if you are there for the high season. We love OB and plan on returning next year for our dog's vacation.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

           
          Rental basis: Per property
          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
          Peak Season
          May 24 - Sep 1, 2014
          7 night min stay

          $1,400 $5,800
          My Standard Rate
          3 night min stay
          $149
          $900 $3,855
          * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

          Additional information about rental rates

          Fees:

          • Damage Protection $49
          • Tax Rate 12.5%

          Notes:

          After all rent is paid, an entry instruction email will be sent with an access code for entry.


          Cancellation policy:

          100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.


          This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
          Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
           

          Calendar

          Last updated: 04/19/2014
          Check availability
          23 Available
          21 Unavailable
          22 Today
          23 Selected dates
           

          Location

           

          Owner info

          Year Purchased: 2001

          About the owner: We were born and raised in Ocean Beach and this was our first property that we purchased, renovated and are now offering to share. We love this property and plan on retiring here once our children have grown up. We know that you will make as many amazing memories here as we have over the years.

          Why the Owner Chose Ocean Beach:
          We chose this area because it is the VERY best location! Ocean Beach is 5 minutes from nearly everything San Diego has to offer, plus you are on the beach! In addition, Ocean Beach hasn't lost that small beach town feel. Add in the amazing restaurants, cool boutiques and funky bars and you have no reason to ever leave!


          Contact us

          Speaks: english

           

          Photos

          • Exterior

            Exterior

          • In the heart of San Diego!

            In the heart of San Diego!

          • Living room

            Living room

          • Upstairs bedroom with a view of the mission bay channel and the sailboats!

            Upstairs bedroom with a view of the mission bay channel and the sailboats!

          • Master bedroom has couch that clicks into a full size bed for extra sleeping.

            Master bedroom has couch that clicks into a full size bed for extra sleeping.

          • half bathroom

            half bathroom

          • Bar-height dining for six allows for alfresco dining with an ocean view!

            Bar-height dining for six allows for alfresco dining with an ocean view!

          • Downtown San Diego is only 5 miles from this rental

            Downtown San Diego is only 5 miles from this rental

          • Local surfing across the street

            Local surfing across the street

          • Location! Location! Location!

            Location! Location! Location!

          • Living room with fireplace. French doors open to your ocean view deck with BBQ!

            Living room with fireplace. French doors open to your ocean view deck with BBQ!

          • Kitchen. You can watch the SeaWorld fireworks from the round window every night!

            Kitchen. You can watch the SeaWorld fireworks from the round window every night!

          • Master bedroom

            Master bedroom

          • Full bathroom

            Full bathroom

          • Summer lovin'

            Summer lovin'

          • Cruise our local farmer's market on Newport Ave. every Wednesday 4-8pm

            Cruise our local farmer's market on Newport Ave. every Wednesday 4-8pm

          • Enjoy the Ocean Beach Pier and our gorgeous sunsets

            Enjoy the Ocean Beach Pier and our gorgeous sunsets

          VRBO #357314

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2011.

          Date last modified - Monday, January 06, 2014

          $149 - $200 per night (USD)
          14

          2 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
          Sleeps 9

          View calendar: Updated 04/19/14
          Minimum stay: 3-7 nights
          Dates are unavailable
          Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
          This listing requires that rentals start on a .
          Book It

          Detailed Price

          Owner
          Email owner

          6192545997
          I will return calls ASAP, but may take 48 hours.

          Speaks: english
          This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Get it now

          advertisement