Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset Dinner on our Deck

Amazing Views, Easy Access, Book Your Spring Dates Now! [#357459] | View Property

Spruce Pine
House, 3 Bedrooms + Map Room + Family Room, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-9)
$250 - $275/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (29)

Sort by:
  • Excellent Getaway

    Excellent Getaway

    • Guest BDT
    • Date of stay 12/31/13
    • Review Submitted 01/26/14
    We truly enjoyed this cabin so much!!! Very large and many places to relax and unwind with breathtaking views. The owners were very nice and assisted with so many great choices for places to dine. Please look no further if your want perfection.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you got to enjoy some winter fun at Parkway Peek and the surrounding area. The dining options ARE amazing, aren't they?!?!?! Come back and see us in the summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent view and owner!

    Excellent view and owner!

    • Guest Sandra78 (Blythewood, SC)
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/18/13
    The view is absolutely beautiful from the den and the master bedroom. The owner was very easy to work with and accommodating. We experienced our first "white Thanksgiving" here. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you got to experience snow over Thanksgiving! I'm sure it was quite beautiful to see. Please come back and visit us again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Parkway Peek

    Parkway Peek

    • Guest Frances A.
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/31/13
    The views are incredible. I have stayed in a home further up Humpback Mountain but this home has a much better view and it is much easier to access. The house is very cosy and comfortable. The house is very clean and well maintained. The furniture and fixtures are just lovely. The owner is easy to contact and willing to answer all questions. It provides a nice place to stay with easy access to Asheville, Black Mountain, Boone, Blowing Rock, and Banner Elk. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the Spruce Pine area,

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you enjoyed the views from Parkway Peek and all of the features of the house. We do like to boast that we have the best view on Humpback Mountain! Please come back to visit again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Milo

    Milo

    • Guest Milo (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/16/13
    • Review Submitted 10/27/13
    This cabin is perfectly wonderful; the location is very easy to get to and the description and pictures do not do it justice. The screened in porch is ideal for that first cup of coffee in the morning and the deck is the place to sit and enjoy the sunset and fall colors. Got to have lunch at Little Switzerland, go to the top of Mount Mitchell and visit the area towns looking for the favorite old piece of something or other. Can't wait to stay at the cabin again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the area. Shopping is always fun and interesting! Please do come see us again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Retreat with Old Friends

    Great Retreat with Old Friends

    • Guest Ron (Chapel Hill, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/15/13
    We had been trying to reconnect with some old friends for quite a while. Over time as the kids grew up, getting together became more problematic as our friends live several hours drive away. Now with "empty nests" we finally decided to reconnect. We selected the Spruce Pine area for our visit and searched VRBO for the perfect place. Parkway Peek was selected and it turned out to indeed be perfect for our retreat. Everything was as advertised, as other reviewers have reported. Also, as other reviewers have said, it is even nicer than the pictures reveal. I must admit we were at times conflicted as to where to gather: the expansive deck with fantastic views, the screened porch offering shade in the heat of the day, in front of one of the two big screen TVs, the comfortable living/dining/kitchen room or the downstairs family room. The guys actually got away with a little Saturday afternoon football on the downstairs TV (the wives didn't know what we were up to or maybe they were too relaxed to care!). We tried out some of the local restaurants although the kitchen was thoroughly equipped for being your own chef. The Knife and Fork and Tropical Grill in Spruce Pine were great and worthy of return visits. Breakfast at Louise's Rock House Restaurant and the Little Switzerland Inn were enjoyable. The Rock House Restaurant is actually situated astride the juncture of three counties. We dined in Burke County, although I am sure the other counties were highly adequate. Aside from laughing a lot and getting caught up with old friends, my favorite part was practicing my photography hobby during sunsets. Wow. Those sunsets were so beautiful! Also, as a geologist I also enjoyed watching the Black Mountains (the highest mountain mass in the eastern US) create their own weather. They maintained their own little cloud layer most of the time we were there. That was great for pictures! Would we return for a future visit? Yes, in a skinny minute, to use a term from my childhood. Gee, the visit to Parkway Peek has even made me feel younger!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: What a wonderful review Ron! So glad that the husbands and wives could each find their own space to "retreat" while at Parkway Peek. We like to keep everyone happy. Thank you so much, too, for the beautiful panoramic photos you sent to us. They will be up on our websites very soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Views and More

    Views and More

    • Guest aetravels (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    We had a short two night stay at Parway Peek in early August. We were attending the Penland School of Craft benefit auction and had limited time at the property...BUT it is a clean, well maintained property with fabulous views and all of the amenities necessary. The kitchen living area on the main floor are combined, which I like so you can visit while preparing food...the large porch areas are an extra benefit and we did use those! The views are wonderful and the property is easily accessed off of the Blue Ridge Parkway and is close to Spuce Pine. The property has a lower living area also and the house would be fabulous for a family with children. There is a bedroom and bath upstairs and two bedrooms and one bath downstairs...there are wonderful porches on both levels - including a screened porch. All in all this is a nice property and the owners were accommodating and easy to work with while planning our visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The Penland School is such a gem in our area! All of our guests should definitely take time to visit there. We hope that you can return to Parkway Peek again soon and stay longer next time. Thank you for all of your comments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rouf

    Rouf

    • Guest Rouf (Indian Lnd, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    Excellent location and view. The perfect mix of rustic and modern

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad that you and your friends enjoyed Parkway Peek and fishing in the nearby rivers. Please come back and see us again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Laura (Charlotte, NC)

    Laura (Charlotte, NC)

    • Guest Laura (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/05/13
    My husband and I decided to take a trip up to the mountains for a few days to relax and our expectations were exceeded. We arrived, after only a two hour drive, to see that this mountain house was even nicer than the pictures revealed. The outside large deck had a spectacular view, plenty of space inside yet extremely cozy and that was all without even using the first floor which is ideal if you have another couple or children along with you. The details in the house really showed the owners put alot of thought into everything. While we were minutes away from the Parkway with an abundance of things to do and see, we could not pull ourselves away from this cabin. We really enjoyed being able to still look out at the mountains even when inside and must have sat on the couch enjoying the view for the majority of our visit. We will return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Laura! We're so happy that you had such an enjoyable weekend. Come back any time!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful home in an ideal setting

    Beautiful home in an ideal setting

    • Guest Chad (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/30/12
    • Review Submitted 12/06/12
    We really couldn't be more pleased. The owner contacted us during our stay to see if we needed anything and we very quick to offer local recommendations for food/entertainment. Overall it was awesome!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you got to get out and enjoy the area. There is so much to do, no matter what season. Please come back to visit again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house and views

    Great house and views

    • Guest Eli (Cary, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/28/12
    Our family had a wonderful Thanksgiving stay and loved the house. The views are wonderful and fun sitting out on the big deck. Also, enjoyed using the woodburning stove which kept everyone toasty. Lots of great hiking nearby and Linville Caverns was great. Would definately come back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We appreciate your comments and are so happy that you and your family had a wonderful holiday at Parkway Peek. Linville Caverns is a great place to visit; the weather is always the same in there! Please come back and visit any time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic

    Fantastic

    • Guest TexasGranny (Texas)
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/08/12
    This was our first trip to the area and we had a marvelous time. Grandsons loved the "mountain cabin". There are so many things to do and enjoy in the area you really need at least a week. Great floor plan for a large or small family. View was great. This is a place you would love even if you just sat on the deck and read a book. Thanks for sharing your home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Marianne! We think the area is great, too, any time of year. We're so happy that the grandkids enjoyed it. Come back any time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • property 357459 - Excellent!

    property 357459 - Excellent!

    • Guest S (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/15/12
    It's a beautiful house! Well decorated and fully stocked. We had an excellent time. We had plenty of wood to keep ourselves warm and to enjoy the fire pits. The owner of this rental property is very cordial and helpful. I hope to come back here again withmy family! Our whole family enjoyed being here. The views are amazing. We spent mornings on the deck just to enjoy the view! Thanks

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed Parkway Peek. Please do come visit again and stay longer next time. I know it's difficult to tear yourself away from the deck with it's amazing views, but there is so much more to explore in the area!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Girls Art Weekend

    Girls Art Weekend

    • Guest Yaya (New Bern, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/30/12
    I travelled with two women friends to the area to attend the Glass in the Mountains weekend to see exhibits of local glass artists and pottery. We really enjoyed the weekend. The house had everything advertised, including the awesome view. The owner was very helpful with information and made us feel welcome in the house. We had no trouble locating what we needed in the house from labelled light switches to all necessary cooking and eating utensils. The location was convenient to Penland craft school and local artist studios. We decided we would like to go back with more friends, and I would recommend this house to others.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Owner response: So glad that you ladies enjoyed your weekend of culture at Parkway Peek. Please come back to visit anytime and thank you for referring your friends and family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a wonderful private mountain retreat

    What a wonderful private mountain retreat

    • Guest Grizz (Lincolnton)
    • Date of stay 09/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    My family and I have had the opportunity to stay at Parkway Peek on several occasions, and we look forward to each stay with great anticipation to see what the owners may have added to the experience. On this most recent visit, we were greeted by a new hammock chair, hung from the rafters of the raised deck, offering the same million dollar views available from the deck above, while being the perfect shady spot to gently swing and reflect on the events of the day, or just grab a good book and be lazy. We also very much enjoyed the new outdoor fireplace on the upper deck. What a nice place to be on a cool mountain evening, a nice glass of Pinot Nior in hand, snuggled with that special someone and watching the many hues of reds, blues and purples as the sun sets over the mountains directly in front of you. To the owners of this home I say a sincere thank you. You have a wonderful, rustic modern home and I am grateful that you have decided to share it with others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your feedback, Todd. We always like to add new touches to our home and are so happy that you enjoyed them!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Steps from Heaven

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Just Steps from Heaven

    • Guest Winter Park, FL
    • Date of stay 08/06/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Thanks for a wonderful 5 days at Parkway Peek. We enjoyed your decks and the views. I think we are just steps from heaven at your home. Would love to visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Parkway Peek = Parkway PARADISE!!!

    Parkway Peek = Parkway PARADISE!!!

    • Guest pacificdeb (Encinitas, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/04/12
    We just spent a week in this wonderful, quiet paradise. I can't even begin to express how beautiful and serene the home and surroundings are!! The pictures of this vacation home do NOT do it justice!! It is much larger than the pictures can portray....and the views are MUCH more exquisite than a camera can capture. And the home was immaculately clean!!!! Parkway Peek is very well stocked with practically every item you will need. The kitchen is completely well equipped. Every item you would probably have in your own kitchen. There is a large laundry room downstairs. Every where you look, you will notice decor touches which the owners have added to make this vacation rental a HOME. You will feel relaxed and happy from the minute you enter the premises. And THAT is just the inside! Wait until you step outside onto the deck. The views have to be some of the best in the area! We had a hard time pulling ourselves away from the deck. The outdoor furniture is beautiful and functional. And there's even an enclosed screen porch on the back end of the house if there's a rainy day! Which we did have.....and we did ENJOY that porch!! We stayed in the upstairs master bedroom. The bed was extremely comfy. With the thick mattress topper it was just the right amount of hardness. We slept like babes up there!! The owners were great communicators and wanted to make sure our experience was top notch. They are wonderful folks and want you to enjoy their mountain paradise. This was our first time staying at Parkway Peek but you can bet it won't be our last. It was NIRVANA!!!! I've already recommended it to my local friends and family for future family reunions! I was born 'n raised in this area, and I'm putting the word out....Parkway Peek is THE PLACE TO BE for a family reunion!!!!! Thank you L 'n D!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your detailed review! We are always thrilled to learn that our guests love Parkway Peek as much as we do. We are so happy that you had a wonderful family reunion in Spruce Pine. It was great chatting with you and learning more about the history of the area and your family. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • In Need of a Gnome

    Guest comment entered by owner

    In Need of a Gnome

    • Guest Social Circle, GA and beyond
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful home. The only thing it needs is a garden gnome! We loved the amazing mountain view. we enjoyed the deck while eating our stew. We hope to be back again one day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Weekend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Weekend

    • Guest Keith & Kellly
    • Date of stay 06/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    PERFECT 3-day retreat!! Can't wait to come back and RE-RETREAT!! Beautiful home!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • spring break

    spring break

    • Guest Family fun!! (Birmingham AL)
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 03/23/12
    The house and location were wonderful. Highly recommended. Everything your family will need. Close to hiking atLineville Falls.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so happy that you and your family had a wonderful Spring Break. Come back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great house for winter fun!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great house for winter fun!

    • Guest Atlanta Mountain-Bound Family
    • Date of stay 02/19/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    We stayed at Parkway Peek over President's Day weekend and were lucky enough to get significant snowfall. We made the short trek to Sugar Mountain one morning and had the entire place to ourselves (until noon, at least). We can't wait to come back when it's warm! The house was perfect for 6 people and had everything we needed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great for Families and Dogs

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great for Families and Dogs

    • Guest Hilton Head Family
    • Date of stay 01/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    We had an awesome time with our families and friends. Our dogs and family loved it and we can't wait to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • favorite cabin ever

    favorite cabin ever

    • Guest Jen (wilmington)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    We have been renting in the NC mountains since 2006 and this was our favorite place yet. Can't wait to come back. The deck is amazing. We loved spending time out there. There was actually a "yard" for my three year old to play in. My family likes to run and the road the cabin is on is a challenging but not impossible 3 miler. Short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Great hiking at Crabtree Falls and we cut our family Christmas tree in Little Switzerland. Can't wait to visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Jennifer, for choosing our home for your Thanksgiving holidays. It truly is a special place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Place!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing Place!

    • Guest Cincinnati Visitors
    • Date of stay 10/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/29/11
    Amazing Place! We had lots of fun and a peaceful time. Thank you for all of the arrangements.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place to Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Place to Stay

    • Guest John B., South Carolina
    • Date of stay 10/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/29/11
    Great place to stay, clean inside and out. We hope to be back soon. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great view and location + a wonderful mountain home

    Great view and location + a wonderful mountain home

    • Guest J mo (Charlotte)
    • Date of stay 10/15/11
    • Review Submitted 12/11/11
    This is a beautiful home, we visited in early fall where we enjoyed hiking Linville Falls, apple picking and live music at the local orchard, and the incredible views from the huge deck and the large family room. The home was very well equipped with everything you would want in a home. The quaint mountain town of Spruce Pine is just 10 minutes away, where we found an excellent spot to enjoy a meal and a glass of wine. We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love the area, too, Janet! There's so much to do. Glad you enjoyed your time at Parkway Peek.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Cabin!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Cabin!

    • Guest Andrew C.
    • Date of stay 09/13/11
    • Review Submitted 10/29/11
    My assistant and I stayed while working in Spruce Pine at the Unimin plant. I have stayed at numerous cabins, this one was awesome! One of the best views. Thanks so much!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanks for everything!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for everything!

    • Guest Raleigh Area Family
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 09/23/11
    Thank you for letting me and my family stay at your house this summer. We had so much fun going to Springmaid Mountain and the Apple Ochard. We loved swimming at Crabtree Falls, too. And thanks for letting us bring our dog!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Louisiana visitors

    Louisiana visitors

    • Guest The Laborde's (Alexandria, Louisiana)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/25/11
    Spent a wonderful 5 days here, escaping the heat down South. Enjoyed sitting on the large deck taking in the view. The house is lovely, furnished with everything we needed. Much larger than it appears. It was very convenient, just minutes off the Parkway. Enjoyed eating downtown Spruce Pine at the Knife & Fork, also drove to Blowing Rock for the day. The music and dancing at the Orchard was a blast! Visited Linville Falls and took several hikes in the area. Would highly recommend this property for people who enjoy the outdoors.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! We love the area and the views as well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing views; great location!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing views; great location!

    • Guest Charlotte Retirees
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    My husband I and had the pleasure of visiting Parkway Peek over the summer and absolutely loved the place. The owners did a great job of renovations and the house had everything we needed for a long weekend. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]