100' Lake Huron Frontage Fall Specials $150 Night 2 Night Min
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Harrisville cabin description
Take walks in the State Park- ride bikes- have a roaring campfire at night....
You'll love the 100' private sandy beach and 1 acre grassy yard. This A-frame 3 bedroom cabin is ideal for family vacations. Have your coffee watching the sunrise on the deck overlooking beautiful Lake Huron and fall asleep to the waves lapping the shore. The kids will love playing in the sand and waves and enjoy s'mores around the huge beach fire pit at night. Walk or bike to downtown Harrisville, shops, restaurant and State Park. Pricing based on number of occupants. Pets ok $50 fee.
Keywords: Lake Huron, beach, lake front , beach house, cottage, up north Michigan, Harrisville, sleeps up to 10, house,pets
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Considered
- Limited Accessibility
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 10
- Double Beds (5)
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Jet Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
Everything a Beach House Should Be!
Everything a Beach House Should Be!
If you have ever stayed at a lake house before, then this A-frame should meet or exceed your expectations. The house was clean (the first floor was freshly painted and had new flooring) and it was decorated with an "up north" theme that made it cute and homey. The beach is wonderful! We were luck enough to stay during a period of warm, sunny weather, and Lake Huron was perfect for swimming! The beach does have pebbles, but not even worth mentioning in my book had others not commented on it before. The fire pit is large and the owner had chairs and benches around it. We bought firewood from a nearby, self-serve vendor for $5 and had more than enough for the evening. We cooked hotdogs and roasted marshmallows over the fire and talked the evening away as the sun set and the stars filled the sky. For fun, we walked the beach to Harrisville State Park, shopped at local stores (Northern Accent is a great store and Moose Tales was really cute!), and we ate dinner at The Dugout and the food was really good! If it happens to rain during your stay, there are board games in the house and a TV & DVD player. There is also a binder filled with local activities, which we did use and do things from it. One thing I have not seen mentioned before is that there is a bowling alley, a pizza place (Harrisville Pizza), and a grocery store near by. There is also a food mart at the BP gas station, which could come in handy if needed. Overall, I would give this vacation 5 stars. The house was comfortable, the beach was awesome, and there is plenty to do in the area.
- Guest Sandy K.
- Date of stay 09/04/13
- Review Submitted 09/08/13
Relaxing Week at the Lake
Relaxing Week at the Lake
We truly enjoyed our visit to the A-frame cabin in Harrisville. The cabin really is beachfront and during the weekdays, there was none else near us, so it felt like we had even more beach to ourselves. The water is clear there with waves on a windy day. The beach is sandy with some pebbles that are typical of the Great lakes. The shoreline is shallow for a long ways out. My husband must have swam out a hundred yards and he could still touch bottom. The cabin itself is a rustic 70's A-frame. You aren't paying for a modern luxury cabin, but what you get is well kept and clean. It was clear that the owners have made some improvements. Overall it was a simple rustic place. There was plenty of room for the three adults and two dogs who were there that week, but I don't think I would want to go beyond six adults in this cabin. The kitchen was well supplied with utensils and pans, the bathroom was clean and tidy, and the beds were reasonably comfortable. We didn't use the TV all week, but we were glad it was there. We did have trouble with cell service and had to go up on the road if we had to make a call. If you go be sure to bring some warm clothes. There is a small heater, but this is not an all season cabin. The only improvements we would make are more lighting in the living room and having a rake available to clear the goose droppings on the beach. One surprise is that there is a ramp to the cabin and wide doorways so some wheelchair users would be able to stay there.
- Guest Karis (Maryland)
- Date of stay 07/28/13
- Review Submitted 08/06/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you for your great suggestions- we will add more lighting in the main living area and include a rake for the beach. It's always wonderful to know how to make our guests more comfortable. Before next season we will be replacing the flooring in the main level and painting the main level bedroom. We replaced the bathroom vanity and faucets and sink after your stay...and painted the main level this year too. FYI Geese only visit our beach about every 10 years. Glad you had a nice stay.
Lake Huron every year
Lake Huron every year
This property was very private and had a really large space outside. It was the perfect place for a family to take a pet. We brought our 2.5 year old yellow lab and we were able to take her out the door to the lake without any worry that she would bother anyone. She swam all she wanted without worry. The neighbors have dogs and were very nice too. However, our priority was that our kids could swim without having to dodge large rocks. I even asked if the water entrance was rocky (and specifically said that we would find another place if it was) and I was told that I would not be disappointed because it was all sandy. It was sandy on the SHORE, but the entrance was loaded with rocks. We had to go down about 3 houses to a public access site that was sandy once in the water, so we could swim without hurting our feet. That is a deal-breaker for me. Yes, this is an A Frame, so the upstairs is hard to get around in if you are an adult. Luckily we were outside most of the time on either of the two great decks. The property was clean but outdated. It's best features include the large space outside, the great view from the deck, all the privacy, and of course, the ability to bring mans best friend!
- Guest Huron every year (livonia, MI )
- Date of stay 08/04/12
- Review Submitted 01/14/13
Recommended for: Pet owners.
Owner response: I was sorry to hear that this visitor was troubled with what she considered a rocky bottom. Our grandchildren play in the water and have never complained about "rocks". My sister has a place on the lake further north and they have "Rocks"....our beach has pebbles (small smooth stones;). There is also a sandbar about 3 feet out that our kids, and grand kids have always played on, without water shoes etc. We have never had complaints regarding the swimming conditions and have enjoyed years of fun playing in the water; we take out ROCKS whenever they appear assuring a pleasant experience.
We recently stayed at the cabin with our children and two grandchildren. The best feature of this rental is definitely the beach. Very nice, sandy and lots of room to spread out and have a great campfire. The interior of the house left a lot to be desired. The downfalls of an A-frame were not as bad as there have obviously been no updates to this property in some time. There is no true dining area, just a long table with some folding chairs that you would have to pull out into the living room area to use. Luckily, we were able to eat all of our meals outside on the deck, but it would have been very inconvenient for us if the weather had not cooperated. The sleeping arrangements are very crowded and the beds old. Four double beds upstairs that are hard to sleep in because of the A-frame walls. We have stayed in a lot of rentals and this one really needs to have some updates.
- Guest smb (Michigan)
- Date of stay 07/28/12
- Review Submitted 08/19/12
Owner response: We opted to leave the table (long wooden seats 8 comfortably) against the wall to leave more living space. It's very convenient to pull it out if needed and we've never had any problems with this arrangement. We do have lots of additional outside seating as well so it's always worked out. The cabin is dated in decor but very clean and stocked to accommodate visitors. We've never had anyone complain about the beds and personally find them comfortable. The majority of the time visitors are outside enjoying the beach and beautiful Lake Huron.
The most important pro for this place was the ability to rent a partial week and at relatively the last minute. Also great pros were the owners who were very gracious when we mistakenly showed up at 10 a.m. when we weren't to show up until 1 p.m. Sleeping up to 12 met our requirements as did the wonderful large grill which we used lunch and dinner every day of the 4 days we were there. An abundance of fans saved us as the weather was pretty hot. There were 2 window fans and two floor fans in the dormitory style (curtin closed off the 4 double beds) 2 bedrooms upstairs. Also included were two floor fans downstairs. Guests who dropped by Sunday afternoon after a family Baptism were accomodated by the extra folding table and chairs which the owners showed us before they left. We were appreciative of the strong wooden and stuffed "kid proof" furniture and the ample refigerator which we kept well stocked. We did not know about the under porch storage of bikes and beach things but those would have been used if we had not brought most of that stuff in a large pickup truck. Loved the fact that the beach is so far from the house that the kids could make as much noise as they liked! Great for our last night of s'mores and fireworks show. (We did the required pick of stuff the next day.) Cons were few and we worked with them. First the trains did not bother us at all. Only heard them once. The short overhead space involved with an "A" frame was not good for the tall people in the group or for those who like to sit up reading. Getting up the stairs involved ducking and one can't sit up and read when the roof slants to a point. We noticed this in the picture and were not too bothered by it as we we so tired from the beach each day we fell into bed and were fast asleep most nights. Anyone who could not sleep went down stairs to read or get cooler. Sleeping 12 would be a stretch unless they were kids as the pull out had a very thin mattress. We don't usually rent homes so we were surprised at the whole house cleaning list on the fridge that we were responsible for on the last day. We dusted and shined, vacumed and cleaned the bathroom and used the windex on the mirrors and cleaned all surfaces of the kitchen. Sweeping up was the last item and the owners left ample rags and cleaning supplies. That was a real help. All in all, we ate well, laughed alot and loved the place. Thank you for the memories which were made.
- Guest Floridians (Estero, FL, Southeast, USA)
- Date of stay 07/13/12
- Review Submitted 07/24/12
Recommended for: Families with young children.
Our family of 4 (+ 2 Golden Retrievers) stayed at this cute little “A” frame cottage from 8/6-8/13 2011. The accommodations were perfectly acceptable; very retro for the era that it was built in. Everything in the cottage was very clean and neat; from the beds, to the bathroom, to the cupboards, refrigerator and stove. We enjoyed most of our meals out on the deck facing the lake. The cottage was located far enough away from US 23 and there was enough distance between the neighbors’ houses/cottages for privacy and to enjoy the peace and quiet. However, there was a train that came through twice a day; once early in the morning between 6:00 a.m. & 7:30 a.m. and then again at night between 9:30 p.m. & 10:30 p.m. Didn’t mind the night time one, as we were awake and could go up the street and actually see it. But the one in the early morning was a little annoying. The beach was one of the most incredible Michigan beaches we have ever been to. We could spend countless hours out on the beach and not be bothered by anyone. We were also able to walk the beach in either direction without any hindrance. The large fire pit located right on the beach was awesome for nightly bonfires, which we had every night. Conveniently at the end of the street (within walking distance either via street or beach) was the Harrisville State Park. The park has walking trails and biking trails. The only real disappointment for us was that a lot of the stores, shops and restaurants were closed up. We are assuming this is due to the economy. The choices were very limited if we wanted to shop or go out to eat. We really enjoyed our week at this cottage and have many great pictures and many fond memories!!
- Guest J (Rochester Hills)
- Date of stay 08/06/11
- Review Submitted 08/22/11
Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers.
Guest comment entered by owner
I have stayed here many times since it is my sisters summer cabin. My most recent stay was Memorial weekend and we were blessed with great warm weather. The beach is so nice and private, great for the kids and swimming- you can walk along the beach all the way to the State Park. The kids love finding special rocks, playing in the sand and swimming. We always have a campfire until late at night cook smores and RELAX- I always hate leaving.
- Guest Jane
- Date of stay 05/26/11
- Review Submitted 07/01/11
$1,000 weekly June & Sept./Pets OK @ $50 fee/Price based on number of occupants July & Aug 2 people $1100; 3-4 $1,200; 5-7 people $1,300; 8-10 people $1400 weekly $55 cleaning fee and 50% deposit to reserve-rental agreement required Linens are not provided but can be for an additional charge Cancellation Policy: Deposit will be returned only if cabin can be rented in your absence. Cable/DVD/Gas Grill provided. Email for rental agreement. Weekly rental*Discounts for multiple weeks** 3 night minimum $200 per night/$150 per night 2 night min Sept and October
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 2011
Why the Owner Chose Harrisville:
3 generations of our family have enjoyed vacations here for many years.
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
We love taking walks and bike rides and spending the days on the beach. Plenty of room for yard games. One of our favorite stores is Northern Accents and we love the ice cream store. IGA is close by so you can stock up on groceries- 2 gas stations in town.
- Primary: +1 8105139080 No calls after8pm eastern time
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
100' Private Sandy Beach and Fire Pit on Lake Huron
Private 100' sandy beach
Kitchen opens onto family room, deck, and view of Lake Huron
Deck overlooking beautiful Lake Huron and lush acre lot
Cabin on Lake Huron with one acre lot and 100' private sandy beach
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Wednesday, January 29, 2014
3 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.