Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The poolside offers 30ft pool, hottub, cabana, dining seating and chaise lounges

Hawaiian Charm & Aloha in a Private Tranquil Setting [#361178] | View Property

Kealakekua Bay
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$250 - $445/nt plus taxes
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Amazing!!!

    Amazing!!!

    • Guest Jason M.
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/24/13
    We travel often and honestly I have never taken the time to write a review. But this home stood out from anywhere we have stayed. When we walked in the entire family said "wow" at the same time! The home was much larger than we had pictured. It was very open in the main living area/kitchen. Each bedroom was more space than we needed. There was plenty of storage and extra supplies. Every room was spotless and beautifully decorated. There was everything and more in the kitchen that we needed. We ate all our meals on the lanai with perfect views of the sunset over the ocean. The pool and hot tub area were perfect. The grounds were secluded and very tropical. The location worked out very well for the areas we visited. We spent a lot of time looking through rental listings and I am sure we found the best! Overall, this was an amazing home that we were all sad to leave.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place, really big, very clean, near the best snorkeling spots

    Great place, really big, very clean, near the best snorkeling spots

    • Guest Germar (Berlin)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/10/13
    We stayed at Diana's house for five nights and it was really a great time there. The house was almost better than described, with all very bright and big rooms. We couldn't really use all the space inside. Everything was clean, and regarding spices, dishes, facilities, cleaning utensils and so on, more than everything was available. The lanai was the best. We sat there every evening, ate some fresh tuna and had some beer while watching the sun set over the ocean. The pool and the hot tub were also great - though we just used those only one time. The house is near two very good snorkeling spots where you can start your day before breakfast - looking at the colorful underwater-world of Hawai'i. You can even see some spinner dolphins. Kailua Kona as well as some really nice and quiet beaches are within 30 min drive. Also good restaurants and a really good food store (where we got the tuna). Summary: Go there. One of the best places I have ever stayed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect in every way!

    Perfect in every way!

    • Guest Cynthia (Dallas Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    This lovely property offered everything we needed: a quiet home at the end of the day; a chance to meet some of the locals; lots of room to spread out and find some privacy; great views; a kitchen that we could really cook in; lots of excellent advice and tips from our gracious hostess Diana. The furniture and beds are comfortable and we went to sleep listening to the songbirds every night. A beautiful place, and we will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a blast!

    We had a blast!

    • Guest Sally (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/03/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    Our whole family loved this place - it was perfect. Kids loved the pool, the view from the back lanai was stunning. Diana was very cool and the place was set up great. We are a family of 5 but you could easily hold another family in this place. Amazing how private it felt and we really loved the location, off the beaten path and within short drives of so many things to do. Loved many restaurants along the main road... we would absolutely run back here again for more fun.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Hawaiian Getaway

    A Wonderful Hawaiian Getaway

    • Guest bella (East Bay, California)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 02/28/13
    What a spectacular rental! Peaceful, lush, beautiful and just removed enough without being in the middle of nowhere. The house is so spacious and airy, very comfortable and inviting. The pool area is so relaxing, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. A well stocked kitchen made eating in a breeze, and the grill was great for grilling up fresh local fish. The owner is also great - very personable and available if needed. We would definitely return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Island Getaway

    Perfect Island Getaway

    • Guest jcl105 (Saratoga, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    This place is HUGE and Diana was awesome to work with - very flexible and accommodating. The house itself was in great condition, very clean and roomy. We had 4 cooks in our group and the kitchen was able to accommodate all 4 cooks. It's nearby the water, Kona and just 2 hours drive from the entrance to the National Volcano Park. The highlights of our stay, seeing whales breach the water surface from the balcony, watching spinner dolphins play while hanging out at 2-step beach (check with Diana for directions from the house) AND up-close pictures with sea turtles also at 2-step beach. Thank you Diana for opening the home to us. My toddler was heartbroken when she was told to say bye bye to the house. We'll be in touch the next time we're in the Big Island. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Kealakekua Bay view

    Kealakekua Bay view

    • Guest jph2atty (United States)
    • Date of stay 11/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/03/13
    My spouse and I rented from Diana in November and enjoyed her home greatly. The house overlooks the ocean from the hillside above. She met us upon arrival and was quite gracious giving us a tour of the home which is very nicely furnished/equipped. Although just the two of us spent our visit there, the home is quite spacious. Local restaurants were excellent as were the farmers' markets. Bike riding to/from Kealakekua Bay and the Pu'uhonua O'Honaunau National Historical Park was a daily fitness test and a worthy ride. We'll return for sure. This is a nice home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice, Private and Relaxing

    Nice, Private and Relaxing

    • Guest Liz (Hampton, TN)
    • Date of stay 09/26/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    We had a wonderful 13 day stay in this lovely home! Diana was first class in helping in anything that we needed. Wonderful area with lots of fruit trees and a beautiful view. In a nice neighborhood, but with plenty of privacy. Just a very short drive to great snorkeling, swimming, and nice little coffee shops! There were seven people in our party(my grandparents, parents, myself and my two young children)and this home offers plenty of room to be extremely comfortable with plenty of people. The swimming pool was a big hit with the children and the hot tub a big hit with my grandparents! I can't say enough great things about this home! I am so glad we stayed there and we loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect and Private

    Perfect and Private

    • Guest Bernard (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    Lovely grounds, great house, stunning location with beautiful pool and hot tub. The kitchen is large and convenient for cooking even more elaborate meals. On top of it all, there is a Meyer lemon tree on the property for your consumption.....ah, bliss! We'll back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • jules72269

    jules72269

    • Guest Julie C.
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/16/12
    If you are looking for a vacation home that makes you feel comfortable like you are truly at home, look no further! This is a well kept, nice spacious home, big enough for a family or a couple of families. Diana is very accommodating and helpful, prior, during and after your stay. This home is clean, has every comfort of home, and they even have several things to take along to the beach. I can't say enough good things about this lovely vacation home in a very quiet neighborhood. If you stay here don't forget to drive down to the bay and check out the dolphin and sea turtles, a definite must!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Mahalo Julie for your kind words. I do try to make your Hawaii experience a memorable one. It makes me very happy to hear you all enjoyed yourselves. Mahalo and Aloha, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Friends (TX,Ohio, North Carolina,Arkansas, Hawaii

    Friends (TX,Ohio, North Carolina,Arkansas, Hawaii

    • Guest Clique Sisters (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/31/12
    This was a great house and a great location for my extended stay of almost three weeks. I shared this house with two different groups of friends and it was a perfect fit for both groups. Well-equipped kitchen and wonderful outside grill were especially enjoyed by the first group. The pool and hot tub were favorites with the second group. This is a well-designed house with great community spaces but lots of possibilities for solitude or small groups. Location of the house feels private but is convenient to Kona and Volcano. Attentive owners and a great value for families or groups of friends.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely the best we have ever stayed in

    Absolutely the best we have ever stayed in

    • Guest mailemaikai (Pensacola Fl. & Aiea, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 03/20/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    upon arriving Diana, Greeted us with open arms, The house was better then inviting we as a party of 6 adults and a 9 year old have more then enough space to feel comfortable the gardens around the property were wonderful we picked avocado's limes, mangos down the street there was everything in the home to make everyone feel comfortable , have more then enough privacy and to feel at home, the kitchen had everything to make all meals, the tv , cable and the rooms were great it was nice to have comfortable beds and everything was CLEAN, we had chickens baby turkeys and a few other residents that made us feel like we lived there all the time, as Hawaii occupant it felt as If it was our home, there is nothing you need once you rent this house dont look for anywhere else I dont think you would be as happy as this house. we will be back to this rental .the hosue was reasonable close to most everything we wanted shaved ice is 6 mins down the winding road , one tip get to the house before dark it will be a pain to find with no lights on the roads.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • hawaii50

    hawaii50

    • Guest hawaii50 (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    Thanks again for the wonderful stay . Diana was a great host and made sure we had internet. This house is very large and comfortable .We were a group of couples and individuales and had plenty of room to spread out . The kitchen was large and well stocked . The newer washer and dryer made laundry easy. The location was great because it was away from the crowds but close to restraunts and good food shopping . Could not beat the veiw out over the ocean and great sunsets . You are up the hill from the beach that made for great sleeping temps at night. Great snorkeling minutes away and lots of coffee growers. We would recommend this place to anyone . It was clean and very compfortable .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • hawaii50

    hawaii50

    • Guest hawaii50 (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    Thanks again for the wonderful stay . Diana was a great host and made sure we had internet. This house is very large and comfortable .We were a group of couples and individuales and had plenty of room to spread out . The kitchen was large and well stocked . The newer washer and dryer made laundry easy. The location was great because it was away from the crowds but close to restraunts and good food shopping . Could not beat the veiw out over the ocean and great sunsets . You are up the hill from the beach that made for great sleeping temps at night. Great snorkeling minutes away and lots of coffee growers. We would recommend this place to anyone . It was clean and very compfortable .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly a great destination...

    Truly a great destination...

    • Guest Visitors from NC (Charlote, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/22/08
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    We stayed here as a B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the setting. Very quite, fantastic view, well maintained home. Angela & Darren are outstanding managers who make you feel 'at home.' We're coming back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]