Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal

You sent a message to this owner.

House view from dock

House view from dock House from across canal House from street Upstairs Patio Area Canal from Balcony View down canal Living Room Living and Dining Area Dining and Kitchen Master Bedroom Guest Room 2 - Queen and Twin Beds Downstairs Guest Room - Converts to Queen Guest Bath Key Deer Across the Street

Calendar

Last updated: 04/10/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:28-30 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Ramrod Key house description

Relaxing in the beautiful Florida Keys, it does not get any better than this! Swimming and snorkeling in the crystal clear open water canal, docking your boat to go to world renowned Looe Key Marine Sanctuary, or heading down to Key West for all the night life and fine dining that it has to offer. This 3 bedroom has all the comforts of home in this tropical paradise island setting.

The master bedroom is furnished with a new king-size memory foam mattress, sleeping on this is a dream. This room has its own bath. One of the guest rooms is upstairs with a new queen-size bed and a twin bed, with a second bath in the hall area. The other guest room is separate, downstairs by itself, with two twin beds which can be converted to a queen. This room requires the use of an outside staircase to come up to the rest of the house. This room is perfect for sleeping in late, very private and peaceful.

There is free wi-fi and cable television in the living room and all bedrooms.

There is a beautiful balcony patio upstairs which overlooks the blue water canal. It is a great place for your morning coffee, lunch, or afternoon cocktails. There is also a downstairs patio area with a gas barbeque grill and sunbathing area.

The house is on an open canal which has access to the Atlantic and Gulf waters. The water is crystal clear and great for snorkeling and swimming. If you don't have a boat, there are great marinas and dive trips within blocks to get you out to some of the most beautiful diving and fishing in the world.

This home is a 3 block walk to 5 Brothers Two Grocery which has the best Cuban coffee and sandwiches in the Keys. It is only 1 more block to Boondocks Bar and Grill, a great place to eat and listen to live music most nights in the large tiki open air restaurant. You definitely get the island atmosphere, and they also have a great miniature golf course. There is also a large grocery store on Big Pine Key, just minutes away by car.

Of course, one of the best things about this home is its close proximity to Key West. This quaint, historical southernmost city is always entertaining and has some of the finest dining establishments anywhere. It is hard to choose, there are so many to pick from. There are also many activities to enjoy, from sunset cruises to snorkeling adventures, with everything in between.

This is a very welcoming home and it is the perfect place to explore all of the adventures that this paradise we call the Florida Keys has to offer.




Keywords: Keys Conch House, Keys Cottage, Tropical Home, Florida Keys Stilt Home

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Non Smoking Only
          • Pets Not Allowed
          • Children Welcome

          Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7, Beds for 7

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Dishwasher
          • Ice Maker
          • Refrigerator
          • Microwave

          Amenities

          • Washing Machine
          • Air Conditioning
          • Parking Off Street
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Covered Parking
          • Linens Provided

          Other Amenities

              • Boat Dock, crystal clear swimming/snorkeling canal.

              Entertainment

              • Satellite / Cable
              • CD Player
              • DVD Player

              Communications

              • Wireless Internet
              • Telephone

              Outdoor Features

              • Deck / Patio
              • Balcony
              • Outdoor Grill

              Location & View

                  • Waterfront

                  Activities

                  • Snorkeling/Diving
                  • Swimming
                  • Fishing
                  • Jet Skiing
                  • Sailing
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Restaurants
                  • Miniature Golf
                  • Boating
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Snowbirds Retreat

                    Snowbirds Retreat

                    • Guest JAMIE C.
                    • Date of stay 03/01/13
                    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
                    A great month (March 2013) spent out of the cold Canadian winter. The weather couldn't have been better. Loved your house at Ramrod Key. It was so nice to have our boat in the canal, handy for those unexpected runs to the open water. The house worked out very well, and our company that joined us were impressed too. All the comforts of home with comfy beds to boot. I would recommend your property without a problem. Thanks Nancy Kathy & Jamie, Orillia, Ontario

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, girls getaway.

                    Owner response: It was a pleasure to have you as guests. It is one of the joys of owning a house in the Keys, to get to talk with my visitors. I hope to have you stay again in the future.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Cute House, Nicely Decorated

                    Cute House, Nicely Decorated

                    • Guest mapletree (Newbury Park, CA)
                    • Date of stay 07/28/12
                    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
                    We stayed at this rental house for one week and love it. The rooms are nice and cozy and well decorated. The kitchen is fully equipped. We like this rental also because it is close to Key West (about 26 miles). Bahia Honda is a great state park for those who like to snorkel. It is about 7 miles to the house. There was good communication with Nancy. She was very informative and made our stay very comfortable. We highly recommend this rental to everyone.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • lisa

                    lisa

                    • Guest Lisa (Sebring, Fl)
                    • Date of stay 07/21/12
                    • Review Submitted 07/28/12
                    We had a great time in the Keys and caught many lobsters. We were all happy with the house and the neighborhood. The dock and canal worked great for our 24 ft boat. The house was comfortable and we had everything we needed. It was great to have the washer and dryer upstairs with us so that we didn't have to go up and down. Key West was close as well as Marathon. Nancy was so easy to work with and we really appreciated that. In all we had a great experience! thanks Nancy!!!!

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Owner response: Thanks for the positive feedback! I am glad the lobster population cooperated with you, the water is so beautiful and clear it is hard for them to hide. The close proximity to Key West is one of the things I love about the lower Keys. Hope to work with you and your group again in the future.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Perfect for us!

                    Perfect for us!

                    • Guest Mrs. P (St. Augustine , Fl)
                    • Date of stay 07/08/12
                    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
                    This home was perfect for our vacation. It comes fully equipt with linens, paper products, necessary appiances and a super location. The home was exactly as described and very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable ( 2 main bedrooms in home). The linens were fresh & clean as was the entire house. Great location. We hope to rent again. Thank you Nancy!

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Owner response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I would love to have you visit anytime. The Florida Keys are definitely one of the places most of use love to go back to again and again. Thank you so much for your kind words about the house, it is one of my favorite places to escape to.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Just like home, only warmer in December!

                    Just like home, only warmer in December!

                    • Guest Elizabeth F. (Peoria, IL)
                    • Date of stay 12/14/11
                    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
                    Three generations (six people) had a wonderful time in The Keys with Nancy's house as home base. With a toddler, we sure appreciated the in-house laundry facilities, and the little guy was able to sleep away from the parents' room. The only thing we needed to be careful of was the porch as the bars were just a little too far apart to let go of him. Nancy had great suggestions for us: Bahia Honda, No Name Pub, Deer Reserve, places to eat and get groceries, AND, she was available via phone when we had questions! A great, caring landlady. The photos were perfect - we recognized the house immediately and knew the rooms. Easy to find at mile marker 27. It was in great shape when we moved in, no problems. We snorkled from Bahia Honda, ate at Islamorada Fish restaurant (BEST key lime pie, great food), Turtle Hospital has good tour, Key West (Hemingway House, Truman Whitehouse, Ft. Zachary Taylor Beach and tour of Fort, Butterfly exhibit, Mallory Square at sunset, Croissants de France, Pepe Mason Cuban restaurant...) Comfortable house, fully equipped with dishes, utensils, cookware and several spices, linens, towels, etc. Room for family dinners and places upstairs and down, inside and out, to get away from the others for awhile. The neighbors were very quiet and not inquisitive. It was very helpful the first few days to have the driveway and under the house lighted at night so we could find our way "home". Tourist books, coupons, and WIFI were helpful and appreciated as well. Great place to stay that is easy to find, away from the action of Key West while being just a short drive away, close to a small grocery/sandwich shop (5 Brothers 2) and a terrific open-air restaurant (Boondocks), both within walking distance on Route 1.(You don't have to walk on route 1; use the side street) Mile marker 27 is a very nice place to spend vacation. We'd really recommend it.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Owner response: I am so happy you enjoyed your vacation, it is a beautiful time of the year to spend in the Keys. I hope you and your family can visit us again in the future.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Fell short of our expectations.......

                    Fell short of our expectations.......

                    • Guest Rocky Mountain Girl (Denver, co)
                    • Date of stay 10/12/11
                    • Review Submitted 11/04/11
                    The booking process was flawless and very comfortable, so I had great expectations prior to arrival, but was disappointed for many reasons (as were the other guests that stayed). First, the 3rd bedroom was located outside under the home and only accessible by stairs located outside. The guest staying in this room happened to be my 65 yr old father who needs to use the bathroom several times per night. Needless to say, this was highly inconvenient for him and would have been important to know in advance. Additionally, there was not a mirror in that room. Second, we went to use the boat ramp a few houses down, that was described in the listing, only to find it was fenced off and no longer public but private......so we had to put our boat in at a location far from the home. The location of the boat ramp was a significant feature that caused us to book this property. The refrigerator seems a bit in need of replacement or repair. It took over 24 hrs to get it to a temperature that was safe for food storage. The dryer in the laundry room makes a terrible squeaking sound during each rotation. This was highly agitating......especially since the laundry area is so close to the living room where people watch tv. The bathrooms were supplied with partly used old hotel sized shampoo, conditioner and bar soaps. I am all for concerning, but as a guest, I would have expected a fresh bar soap since it is such a minimal expense and liter size refillable shampoo/conditioner is really inexpensive and much more sanitary. It was definitely far below expectations and I would not recommend unless changes were made to the description and emmnities. Unless the owners reconsidered the rental price.

                    Owner response: First, I am extremely sorry that your vacation was ruined by Mother Nature, with some of the worst rain experienced in the Keys in years. I know you were trapped inside the house for 4 to 5 days of non-stop rain. I wish that you had called and asked for a refund, rather than taking out your frustrations at a ruined vacation by complaining about my home. I am sorry that you did not understand that the third bedroom was downstairs and separate from the house. It is described as separate and private, I will clarify that further in my listing. The boat ramp was a huge problem for everyone in the neighborhood, since it has been available for 40 years plus. I apologize that you were not notified, it has been a very recent occurrence and a surprise for all of us. The refrigerator works perfectly, someone had turned the temperature down mistakenly. I was there a few days ago, and it was exactly the right temperature. I have had a dryer repairman out to the house and he will be called again. If the squeak cannot be fixed, it will be replaced. I am sorry you did not like the convenience soaps and shampoos, the last guests loved them and called to tell me how nice they were. My home is exactly as shown on my listing, and I have had guests that love it so much they have stayed every year, and book it in advance. Also, the price I charge is far below other homes in the area, and it is a great value compared to hotel rooms which would have been $300 to $450 per night for 5 people. Once again, I wish you had called me with your complaints, I could have called the dryer repairman again. I am always available for my guests, the last voicemail from you said you would call if you had any problems after changing the refrigerator temperature dial. I did not hear from you, and you did not call with any further complaints. Once again, I am sorry your vacation was ruined by the flooding rain which went on for days, but that was out of my control.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Affordable, Quiet & Comfortable

                    Affordable, Quiet & Comfortable

                    • Guest Roll Tide (New Smyrna Beach, Florida)
                    • Date of stay 09/14/11
                    • Review Submitted 10/14/11
                    My girlfriend and I stayed for 10 days, and it was a great house for the two of us. The neighbors are virtually non-existent and quiet. The house is clean and comfortable. I have been coming to the lower keys since 1985, and this area is one of the best in the keys if your looking for old keys style. The dock was perfect for our bay boat. Easy access to the back county and Looe Key Reef. We are planning to return within a few months if available. Very reasonably priced compared to similar rentals in the lower keys.

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • tumi (Apollo Beach, FL)

                    tumi (Apollo Beach, FL)

                    • Guest tumi (Apollo Beach, FL)
                    • Date of stay 08/06/11
                    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
                    This is an ideal place to stay in the Lower Keys, particularly if you bring a small boat with you like we did. People with bigger boats may need to pay attention to the tide schedule. You can relax around the house, enjoy boating, fishing, snorkeling and other boating activities as soon as you get out of the canal. The neighborhood feels safe and is nice and quiet. Very convenient boat ramp is located at the end of the canal. Key West is just a short ride away for a fun day or a night out. The house was presented accurately on the listing and was very clean and comfortable. A big plus is that the house is equipped with about everything you may need (all small appliances including espresso machine), stuff in the pantry (salt, sugar, oil, vinegar, honey, spices) .... on and on. Winn Dixie supermarket on Big Pine Key is very close. If you do not feel like cooking Boondocks is a short walk away. A very good restaurant. The corner deli (Five Brothers) is also conveniently located at the end of the street for a quick lunch. We had a good time and would recommend this house to anybody interested in spending vacation on the Lower Keys.

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Everything we wanted!

                    Everything we wanted!

                    • Guest uppitygen (Jacksonville, Fl)
                    • Date of stay 07/01/11
                    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
                    If you are looking for a place to stay in the lower keys you could not get much better than this house. We had 8 people and it was very hard to find a place that was affordable but allowed us to stay together. The home had everything we could want. We usually have to go buy detergent, dish soap, etc in the houses we rent. The owner provided it all! Helps in the overall cost of a vaca. The only day we didn't swim in the canal was the day in rained but we just stayed in and played games. If you are coming during lobster season we saw about 50 towards the end of the canal. Having a room downstairs was great for the "youngins". Across the street was Looe Key Dive Resort (my favorite place to dive or snorkel)!!! Within 30 minutes of Key West, close but without the crazy crowds. Very quiet and relaxing. I do want to say there was a problem with the AC leaking but the owner got a repairman out in a timely manner. I was hesitant to say anything but problems do come up and I want you to know she responded very quickly and was always easy to get a hold of. That's something I look for in a rental property! Enjoy this fabulous house! We will return soon.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.

                    Owner response: So glad that you had a great vacation, you are welcome back anytime. Thanks, Nancy

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  July Mini-Lobster
                  Jul 1 - Jul 31, 2014
                  31 night min stay

                  $3,000
                  flat fee
                  August Lobster
                  Aug 1 - Aug 31, 2014
                  31 night min stay

                  $3,000
                  flat fee
                  Winter Season
                  Jan 1 - Apr 30, 2015
                  28 night min stay

                  $3,500
                  My Standard Rate
                  30 night min stay

                  $2,520
                  * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees:

                  • Cleaning Fee $150 + tax
                  • Tax Rate 12.5%

                  This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                  Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/10/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Owner info

                  Year Purchased: 1986

                  About the owner: We love to travel and the Keys have always been one of our favorite places.

                  Why the Owner Chose Ramrod Key:
                  We have been visiting the Florida Keys for many years and love the beauty of the Lower Keys. The diving and tropical waters of this area are unsurpassed. Key West ,with its architecture, history and wonderful eclectic mix of people, has always been one of our favorite places in the world to visit.

                  The Unique Benefits at this House:
                  Many people who have stayed in this home through the years have told me that there is a peace and serenity about it that draws them back. I know it is the beauty of the setting and the laid back feeling you get here that makes you want to stay. It is one of our favorite places to relax and unwind.


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • House view from dock

                    House view from dock

                  • House from street

                    House from street

                  • Canal from Balcony

                    Canal from Balcony

                  • Living Room

                    Living Room

                  • Dining and Kitchen

                    Dining and Kitchen

                  • Guest Room 2 - Queen and Twin Beds

                    Guest Room 2 - Queen and Twin Beds

                  • Guest Bath

                    Guest Bath

                  • House from across canal

                    House from across canal

                  • Upstairs Patio Area

                    Upstairs Patio Area

                  • View down canal

                    View down canal

                  • Living and Dining Area

                    Living and Dining Area

                  • Master Bedroom

                    Master Bedroom

                  • Downstairs Guest Room - Converts to Queen

                    Downstairs Guest Room - Converts to Queen

                  • Key Deer Across the Street

                    Key Deer Across the Street

                  VRBO #361719

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2011.

                  Date last modified - Tuesday, January 07, 2014

                  $2,520 - $3,500 per month (USD)
                  9

                  3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 7

                  View calendar: Updated 04/10/14
                  Minimum stay: 28-30 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Owner
                  Email owner

                  772-713-6657

                  Speaks: english
                  This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement