Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The living room with flat screen TV and wood burning fire place.

Old Florida, Private, Quiet, All the Modern Conveniences. [#361750] | View Property

Private Homes, Longbeach Village
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3)
$800 - $850/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Felt Like Home

    Felt Like Home

    • Guest Kevin (Mount Carmel, Pa)
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    Rusty and Christine offered a charming cottage with all modern amenities. The house was immaculate. We had no problems. The few times we ran into them they were very friendly and gracious. You can see that they put a lot of TLC into their property. We were so pleased with our stay that we presented them with the check for next years visit. We were here a month and now wish it would have been two. This cottage is the epitome of the Village and old time Florida. Thank-you for providing a great home away from home. P.S. Our two dogs also loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Bugs, rusty nails, etc.

    Bugs, rusty nails, etc.

    • Guest Family of 3 (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    We were really looking forward to staying in this "charming" house in LBK village. The reviews made the house and its owners seem like wonderful folks. Upon arrival, the house appeared to be clean. The bottle of wine in the fridge was a nice touch. On day one, loads and loads of ants came marching out all around the kitchen sink and front window. The plastic ant bait in place was worthless. The cleaning products in the house were all organic, so out of respect, I bought some "natural" ant spray. I sprayed every day. It was disgusting to have a layer of dead ants and other crawlers all around the sink and counter. We had to keep all of our food in the fridge. There were ants in other parts of the house, too. As a former Floridian, I know how buggy it can get. But in the hospitality business, by-owner or commercial, ants are no-no. Pest control service is a necessity. My husband and I both stepped on rusty roofer nails right by the front porch as we cleaned beach sand off our bare feet. Fortunately, neither of us were hurt, and our son didn't step on any. I did a walkaround where I found more rusty nails on the patio and the walkway leading to it. The master bedroom is a decent size; however, there is a broken recliner shoved into the corner -- tacky, to say the least. The second bedroom is very small, but it was good enough for our son. An adult might feel cramped. We couldn't address any of this with the owner. We paid for week 1 several months in advance. We made the simple mistake of forgetting our check book to pay for week 2 upon arrival. We realized immediately, apologized profusely and made arrangements to pay within days. She treated us like criminals. In every conversation, she was sooooo nasty and rude. I suppose some previous guest may have bilked her, but that is no reason for her to treat us as rudely as she did. IMO, this woman seems to think that she is doing people a favor by renting out her "charming" cottage. She needs to realize that she is in the hospitality business and should provide stellar customer service to every guest. After chatting with her husband, we found him to be a very nice fellow. I would have liked to spend more time talking to him.

    Owner response: We are very sorry to hear these comments. We are very clear and lenient about our payment policy, but repeated attempts to collect the amount due were unsuccessful. It seemed unfortunate but necessary to pursue payment. The ants can be a problem especially in the rainy season in Florida, but we were never advised of the problem. Had we been, we would have addressed it immediately. This problem is being resolved as we are now contracting an outside pest control service to spray quarterly. We had the roof replaced recently and there may have been a few stray nails from that job, I walked the property several times picking up nails and may have missed a few. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3

  • We had a wonderful time

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had a wonderful time

    • Guest Brittany & Ryan
    • Date of stay 04/27/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Dear Rusty and Christine, We appreciate you letting us stay at the Cottage. Though our time was short, we had a wonderful time! It was exactly what we needed. We will hold this in our memories forever and hope to come back again! During our stay here we got engaged and found out we are expecting our second baby! We can't thank you enough. Brittany & Ryan + baby #2

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Joe & I Had a Wonderful Three Months

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Joe & I Had a Wonderful Three Months

    • Guest Joe & June
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Christine & Rusty Joe & I had a wonderful three months here in the "Cottage". You have been so helpful in so many ways. We thank you so much as we leave to go home to Boxford, MA. and we look forward to coming back in January 2014. Never have we met more special people than you. Thank You

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful Anniversary Week.

    Wonderful Anniversary Week.

    • Guest Bill & Glenna (Clermont,Fl.)
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at "The Cottage" on beautiful Longboat Key. It was GREAT...It is your home away from home with all the comforts. Located near the white sand beach with a great restaurant only two blocks away that has the best oysters on the half shell a person has ever tried...along with THE best mussels.St.Armands Circle is only a short distance ( about 15 minute drive with traffic) that has many many unique shops and great places to eat lunch or dinner. We are planning to return soon since we are only 2 1/2 hours away..Thanks Rusty and Christine for letting us share your Cottage..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Words Cannot Describe

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Words Cannot Describe

    • Guest Chuck & Sharon
    • Date of stay 09/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Rusty & Christine, Words cannot describe the fabulous time that we had on Longboat Key and the wonderful "Longbeach Cottage". Thank you so very much for everything. The house was everything we dreamed of for our much needed "11" Day minication. We will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Thank You For a Wonderful Cottage Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank You For a Wonderful Cottage Stay

    • Guest Nick, Bev & Karen
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Rusty & Christine, Thank you for such a wonderful Cottage stay. We had a great time. Thanks again for the fishing trip. It was a blast! Hope to be back again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A great holiday

    A great holiday

    • Guest joan (Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    The cottage was just right for the 2 of us. Had everything we needed for our holiday stay. very quiet neighborhood. Lovely private outdoor patio with shade for reading and relaxing. Close to beaches, restaurants and other amenities. Good to have owners nearby to call on if needed. We plan to return next year.Joan and David,

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Three Time Winner

    Three Time Winner

    • Guest Bonnie (Cody, Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 01/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    Renting the cottage for three months each of the past three winters is testament to my enjoyment and satisfaction there. Best features are the quiet and privacy, the lovely landscaping, and the comfortable coziness for a winter's stay. Because the owners are a block away, there's quick and cheerful response to any minor issues that occur. The cottage is always clean and well maintained...an easy, happy place.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Staycation for Florida Locals

    Perfect Staycation for Florida Locals

    • Guest Fireleaf (Tarpon Springs, FL )
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    We live in Tarpon Springs, just an hour and a half away from the cottage, but once we arrived on the island and walked through the front door, relaxation took over. The cottage is well appointed with all the comforts of home and a touch of old Florida tradition. Restaurants, beaches and shops were minutes away and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to get away from it all. Sometimes the best vacations are only a short drive away. This couldn't be more true with this beautiful cottage. Looking forward to next time! Thanks for a great trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Staycation for Florida Locals

    Perfect Staycation for Florida Locals

    • Guest Fireleaf (Tarpon Springs, FL )
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    We live in Tarpon Springs, just an hour and a half away from the cottage, but once we arrived on the island and walked through the front door, relaxation took over. The cottage is well appointed with all the comforts of home and a touch of old Florida tradition. Restaurants, beaches and shops were minutes away and we couldn't have had asked for a nicer place to get away from it all. Sometimes the best vacations are only a short drive away. This couldn't be more true with this beautiful cottage. Looking forward to next time! Thanks for a great trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Longbeach Cottage

    Longbeach Cottage

    • Guest Phi and Deb (Lakeland)
    • Date of stay 07/24/11
    • Review Submitted 07/31/11
    Quaint, comfortable and functional cottage in an Old Florida setting. Surprising spacious and well cared for. Very quiet and peaceful, like you're almost alone there in the "Village". Perfect for a visiting angler's needs with four boat ramps within several miles. Great place for walks and biking among tropical scenery and miles of beaches. Other amenities and a variety of good eating places are all nearby. If you're into shopping for unique home decor and one-of-a-kind items, be sure and check out the Sea Hagg across the bridge at Cortez where you could easily spend hours and hours. Owners couldn't have been more accommodating or congenial. Will be back for more fishing and relaxation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's a pleasure having anglers who appreciate the wonderful opportunities that are available close to the Longbeach "Cottage". We are lucky to have guests like Phil and Debbie!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Feel at home in the Cottage like the manatees and box turtle do here.

    Feel at home in the Cottage like the manatees and box turtle do here.

    • Guest Herb ( DeLand, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/18/11
    • Review Submitted 06/12/11
    A stub of dock remains where until 1921 visitors arrived at the historic north end of Longboat Key by boat from Tampa. Three webbed chairs let you sit and fish, otherwise listen to the quiet. If you’re staying at Longboat Cottage, you can easily walk here and in another minute reach Mar Vista for a meal beneath gnarly buttonwoods alongside Sarasota Bay. It’s 10 minutes by bike across the inlet bridge to palm-lined Coquina Beach, while in 45 the other way you can ride all of Longboat. No billboards or garish signs; endless garden instead. You can do what you want including nothing at all at this cottage that leaves you feeling as human yourself as box turtles and manatees feel about themselves. I lately spent long days reading in an easy chair, sleeping on the screened porch, and in the kitchen preparing food in my bare feet and shorts.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay in a fishing paradise!

    Great place to stay in a fishing paradise!

    • Guest Nick (Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    The Cottage has all the comforts of home with that cozy beach house feel. Located minutes away from great dining and of course great fishing. A great retreat for traveling anglers. Fish the beaches on your own or take advantage of the many charter boats and guides located on the island. There are many activities and shops nearby for the whole family. With my wife along she enjoyed the most beautiful beaches around and I spent the days fly fishing for tarpon. Fantastic accommodations for a good price. Thanks!!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Nick and Beverly
    • Date of stay 11/10/10
    • Review Submitted 07/03/11
    Thank you Rusty & Christine for letting us use your charming cottage. We enjoyed every inch of it! A very cozy home in a beautiful setting. This week just flew by so quickly, we would love to come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cottage Stay

    Cottage Stay

    • Guest Ang (Long Island, New York)
    • Date of stay 07/14/09
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    Thanks for a most memorable stay at "The Cottage". After the all day marathon chasing tarpon with Captain Nick, returning "Home" to your well appointed abode was a welcome treat and relief from the summer heat. I must say the little extra touches, like the sliced, cold watermelon you left in the refrigerator were things I looked forward to after a day of casting. The comfort of your Cottage and your hospitality combined to make my tarpon trip a most delightful and memorable one. And thank you for hooking me up with Captain Nick. Not only did he submit some terrific flies for my new book, but he is one of the hardest working young guides I have ever fished with. Stay well and keep the lines tight. With Warmest Regards Angelo Peluso PS...keep the light on 'cause I'l be back!

    Owner response: Good to hear from you Angelo. The light is on!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Angelo Peluso
    • Date of stay 06/11/08
    • Review Submitted 06/19/11
    Thanks for a most memorable stay at "The Cottage". After the all day marathon chasing tarpon with Captain Nick, returning "Home" to your well appointed abode was a welcome treat and relief from the summer heat. I must say the little extra touches, like the sliced, cold watermelon you left in the refrigerator were things I looked forward to after a day of casting. The comfort of your Cottage and your hospitality combined to make my tarpon trip a most delightful and memorable one. And thank you for hooking me up with Captain Nick. Not only did he submit some terrific flies for my new book, but he is one of the hardest working young guides I have ever fished with. Stay well and keep the lines tight. With Warmest Regards Angelo Peluso

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]