Stunning Ocean Front Home with Panoramic Views, Shelter Cove,
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:N/A
- Pets allowed:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Located north of SF and the wine country, this lovely home is situated 500 feet from the ocean on top of a bluff over looking Black Sands Beach in Shelter Cove, CA. Views include an unobstructed view of the ocean and coastline, forested mountains, black sand beaches and surf crashing on rocks and the beach below. From the deck are frequently observed sea otters, pelicans, and even whales. Beach access is only a 5 minute walk from the house. The house is fully furnished and appointed with a complete kitchen, two comfortable queen beds in 2 separate bedrooms, twin bunk beds in the 3rd bedroom; a comfy couch in the living room sleeps a 7th person. Satellite TV (DirecTV Total Choice). Entertainment center includes DVD player, surround sound theatre system, iPod compatible. Gas fireplace. Washer/dryer. Free local calling. The ocean community of Shelter Cove offers fishing, whale watching, dining, beachcombing, hiking and a 9 hole golf course.
Mere words cannot describe the beauty and tranquility one sees and feels when they sit on the deck built off the top floor of 'The House' at Shelter Cove. 'Panoramic' is almost not descriptive enough. The ocean, the beach, the rocks, crashing waves, the mountains and stunning stretches all in one magical spot. Add music, your favorite beverage, the near perfect weather and then just relax, you are taking in 'The View'.
They are very tall, straight as an arrow, and as wide as a small house. These are the basic impressions one gets once they see these majestic trees. It does not stop there however, stretches you walk among these 1000 year old giants you never look at trees the same ever again. Only 30 minutes drive stretches 'The House,' the Dewitt grove offers some wonderful hiking and a good number of the massive trees to get your Redwood Tree exploration started. Head north on US 101 (from Redway) just 2 miles, then take the 'Avenue of the Giants' exit for the best Redwood Tree forest viewing anywhere.
'Big Black Sands Beach'
The waves crash with tremendous force, the sand is black as night, the beach stretches for miles, you are standing on 'Big Black Sands Beach'. Beautiful, but this beach is for walking only, as the rip tide is deadly, so use caution around the water. A 1/2 mile north from the trailhead (only 1/4 mile from 'THe House'), are the stunning Kaluna cliffs and 1/4 mile to the South, the best climbing rocks (during the mid to low tides) in all the cove. The plumes of water shot from the waves hitting the rocks here can be incredible.
- Vacation Rental
- Pets Not Allowed
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
- 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7, Beds for 6-7
- Bedroom 1
- Bedroom 2
- Bedroom 3
- Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1)
- 2.0 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
- Bathroom 2
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Gas Fireplace
- Parking Off Street
- Washing Machine
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Video Library
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
Location & View
- Sight Seeing
- Mountain Biking
ReviewsWrite a review
I spent four nights in this house in mid-April, 2010. It's very comfortable with all the important amenities (no wi-fi, but there is satellite TV). The real highlight is the deck which overlooks Black Sand Beach and affords a near 180 degree view of the ocean. Grey whales were very close to the shore. Beach access is close to the house (a short drive to the parking lot) and then there's the hiking in the Lost Coast Range. I took the trail up to King's Peak and loved the views. The owner was very responsive to all pre-rental inquiries, and the security deposit was returned in short time. You can't go wrong with this vacation rental.
- Guest Snaky
- Date of stay 04/15/10
- Review Submitted 05/04/10
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: It is always nice to hear how much one of our guests enjoys "The House" at Shelter Cove. We love it there and are so pleased others feel the same way!
We had a great stay. Very beautiful views. Spent a lot of time on the beaches in the tide pools. Looking forward to another visit.However I'm Still waiting on return of my deposit.
- Guest 740miller
- Date of stay 07/22/12
- Review Submitted 08/12/12
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.
Gem within a Gem!
Gem within a Gem!
My family and I spent a wonderful weekend in the hidden gem that is Shelter Cove. We were all extremely pleased to have stayed in this comfortable home. The kitchen was well stocked, the home was clean, and the view from the deck is magnificent. The owner is gracious and was very helpful in answering questions we had. Security deposit was returned with no delay. Overall a pleasant experience. My husband and I look forward to returning someday soon.
- Guest Selene C.
- Date of stay 06/03/11
- Review Submitted 12/05/11
Owner response: I almost can't show the beauty of the area with the photographs, find out for yourself what the beautiful Shelter Cove area offers, and please keep out humble property in mind when you choose your accomodations. Gary Johnson Owner
Beautiful Views, Clean, Spacious
Beautiful Views, Clean, Spacious
We loved the home, and the owner and property manager could not have been more accomodating. We were thrilled to find the home clean and well stocked for our needs. We would love to have had a King bed, as both men in our party are 6'4". Be aware that the main living area is upstairs, so the person sleeping on the lower level must be able to negotiate stairs. In order to use the washer and dryer, which I may add were GREAT, you must go through the downstairs bedrooms to reach the washer and dryer. Having said that, I would still highly recommend this home. Our only regret is that we did not have more days to stay and enjoy the home and the awesome views! We saw Whales, Deer, Dolphin, sea lions. We grilled on a wonderful charcoal grill. What's not to like???? Our deposit was returned promptly.
- Guest Viv
- Date of stay 05/15/11
- Review Submitted 06/09/11
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.
Owner response: Thanks Vivian, My wife feels the same way about getting a King sized bed in the master bedroom, maybe next year. Glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Gary
Worst Ever Experience OverAll
Worst Ever Experience OverAll
Hello, We are travelers and always rent out houses and have been doing it for the last 9 years. We never ever had the issue that we experienced in our stay on this property. I will be honest that House is in great location and patio is the one that you pay for but vacation comes as a whole package. The owner is really rude and has real attitude problems. First of all the house internally when we entered was not in good condition as it seemed like someone stayed there overnight. We had some issues in kitchen sink and garbage disposal and there was absolutely no one to contact and ask any question. Imagine being in remote place and unable to have access during business hours and then later ripped off for something you did not do. Next day, i asked about garbage disposal and was told.. don't worry and don't use it but later i found out new charge on my stay and was taken out of my security deposit. We were told about keeping trash etc at one place which we did and later on charged for not moving 5 feet away. We were really careful as we did pay security deposit and i always had my doubt that i will not get my full security deposit back and that is exactly what has happened. The owner has been rude since the first day we talked about renting house but then i thought i just need to stay for couple of night and THAT was a big mistake. When you rent a place, you want the whole package and some compromises are ok but these need to be know before hand and that did not happen here intentionally. I was told by property manager that owner has not much interest in upgrading or maintaining this property as he wants to sell this ASAP. That explains why we were charged extra as he has no intention of repeating customers. I hope this review does get posted but this has been a horrible experience and would never ever rent again this property. The owner and property manager are shame to the vacation businesses as this experience will make me think twice before renting again!!!!
- Guest bobby
- Date of stay 11/25/10
- Review Submitted 12/23/10
Owner response: First off I would like to say my wife and I have never had a bad review in the three years we have offered our property to the public to rent as a vacation rental. Now to the heart of the matter. This is a disgruntled guest who is upset that $100.00 of their security deposit was withheld because they left the house in a filthy state. My property manager contacted me after the 2 night stay and told me the house was the worst they have ever seen, including week plus stays. They told my wife and I that the additional cost to us for the necessary clean up should be $200.00, but since we have never had an incident like this in the past, would only charge us $150.00. I notified the guest of the condition of the house and then only withheld $100.00 absorbing the additional $50 myself. I should have known there might be a problem with this guest since they complained about the cost per night, the minimum stay requirement and having to pay any security deposit at all. All I can say about the things the guest has written is that they are not true and my wife and I hope this rebuttal and the other reviews will offset these unfair comments.
Our 4-day stay at the house was great. The ocean views are next to none; watching the sun set was always a daily highlight. The sounds of the crashing waves were very soothing. The house is isolated away from the ones near the shoreline which is nice if you want peace & quiet. The amenities make you feel right at home. I would definitely come back again.
- Guest Carole
- Date of stay 06/10/10
- Review Submitted 06/21/10
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Big bite of coastline
Big bite of coastline
If you yearn for a bite of rugged Pacific shoreline, this place will provide it. It sits at the top of a short canyon with unobstructed views west over the ocean and north to a series of folds in the King Range. Not far below the deck waves crash and foam on a black sand beach. The house is an anomaly in Shelter Cove, where developers have crowded the flat point and surrounding ridges with oversized second homes. We found this roomy but compact house comfortable and well fitted out with kitchen equipment and appliances. Shelter Cove is accessed by small plane or by car on an occasionally steep, but improved logging road off Hwy. 101. Weather can be unpredictable. Our stay during the first week in May brought rain showers and booming surf, sea fog and sunshine, each with dramatic effects. There are no daily newspapers in Shelter cove and no cell phone reception, but the house has wire line phones and satellite TV. No broadband, but with the ocean at your feet, who needs it? This is a great spot for urbanites to recharge their batteries.
- Guest Loralee
- Date of stay 05/03/09
- Review Submitted 05/24/09
Part of a Vacation to Remember
Part of a Vacation to Remember
We stayed here mid-July '08. The weather was good for the most part. Humboldt County California is an outdoor person's paradise with a ton of stuff to do and see - fishing, hiking in the Redwoods (Richardson Grove is close), kayaking, etc.. While we were here, we hiked on the black sand beaches, saw seals/sea lions on the rocks just offshore, checked out star fish, went fishing on the jetty, relaxed, spent quality family time together and just enjoyed the ocean on the back deck. The house is very well built, nicely decorated and quite functional. The ocean view is outstanding. The only slight negatives that I can say is that the stores in Shelter Cove are pricey (though I didn't buy much). Stop at Redway or Garberville (22-25 miles to the East) to stock up on groceries before heading in. Also, there are no fishing licenses available in town (wow!), so we were forced to fish on the jetty (which was OK). Get one in the other towns or well before hand. Neither my wife nor I had cell phone reception in Shelter Cove. But the house has a land line. Bring a telephone long distance card with you if you need to. Be sure to use low gears on the drive in. The steep slopes down can rapidly heat up your brakes if you are not careful. Stop and enjoy the scenery every 5-10 miles and check. We plan to stay here again if we come back to Humboldt County, which we would very much like to do.
- Guest PC - Check out up.edu
- Date of stay 07/19/08
- Review Submitted 04/22/09
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.
$240/night $720/weekend $1550/week $5000/month $80 Cleaning. 10% Tax. Discounts available for 5 night stays, please email or call for details.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Year Purchased: 1997
About the owner: I am a mechanical engineer and I love to fish.
Why the Owner Chose Shelter Cove:
The view of the ocean and mountains was incredible, I built the house and have been the only owner.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Unbelievable view of ocean, surf, and mountains.
- Primary: +1 2146976774
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Sunset from the deck. Bring your camera
Master bedroom with queen size bed. Yes, the telescope works.
Corner view of the house.
Living room and kitchen
Sunrise on the deck, late spring very nice time to be on the deck!
Clear as a bell.
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Friday, October 19, 2012