Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Cozy 1 Bedroom Garden Harlem Apt

You sent a message to this manager.

Large bedroom

Large bedroom Bedroom Bedroom Bathroom Kitchen and dining Kitchen and dining Sitting area

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/09/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:2-3 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Ask Manager
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Harlem (Central) townhome description

**WINTER RATES ARE IN EFFECT**
This fully furnished one-bedroom apartment is located in Harlem, a historic neighborhood in Uptown Manhattan, New York. The apartment is at the garden level of a 4-story walk-up brownstone building. Enjoy the backyard.

This apartment features classic touches such as exposed brick, a bay window and a decorative fireplace, complemented by modern amenities like stainless steel appliances. Hardwood floors and decorative accents furnish this home with a 'country urban' flair. There is a a washer/dryer available for you to use.

The kitchen window faces the back terrace and offers a southern exposure, while the bedroom windows face the street, allowing in natural light.

A guidebook with area maps and menus are provided, as well as parking tips for the neighborhood.

This apartment is on West 132nd Street in Harlem, New York City. Morningside Park is 1 block away, and the famed Central Park is 21 blocks south of this rental. There is a pharmacy and a food market less than a block away, and the nearby 7th Avenue offers a variety of restaurants and convenience stores. On Lenox Avenue, you will find the Red Rooster and Corner Social where you can enjoy jazz music, a staple of Harlem.

Public transportation is convenient with the 2/3 subway station a little over 4 blocks away, and the A/B/C line about 2 blocks away, offering both local and express train service.

Max of 6 guests in this apt
Check out time is 11AM and check in is 3PM
Late check out can be arranged if no other guests are checking in that day.

Keywords: kitchen, bedroom, bath, sofa bed, backyard, brownstone, townhouse, historic

Property Type

  • 750 sq. ft.
  • Townhome

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Limited Accessibility
          • Children Welcome

          Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6, Beds for 2-6

          • Bedroom 1

            ...moreless

          • Convertible bed(s)

            ...moreless

          • Queen size Beds (1) in bedroom, Double Beds (1) sofa bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) queen size airmatress availalbe with linens...moreless

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Dining Area Seats:

            6...moreless

          • Dishwasher
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Kitchen
          • Oven
          • Microwave
          • Refrigerator
          • Catering Available
          • Toaster
          • Coffee Maker
          • Dishes & Utensils
          • Pantry Items
          • Stove
          • Ice Maker

          Amenities

          • Parking Off Street:

            please read signs FREE PARKING...moreless

          • Washing Machine:

            cleaning detergent provided...moreless

          • Air Conditioning
          • Linens Provided
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Heating
          • Hair Dryer
          • Towels Provided
          • Living Room

          Entertainment

          • Books
          • DVD Player
          • Television
          • Games

          Communications

          • Wireless Internet
          • Internet

          Outdoor Features

          • Deck / Patio
          • Outdoor Grill
          • Lawn / Garden

          Activities

          • Antiquing
          • Sight Seeing
          • Shopping
          • Basketball Court
          • Swimming
          • Fitness Center
          • Live Theater
          • Museums
          • Cinemas
          • Walking
          • Restaurants
          • Health/Beauty Spa
           

          Reviews

          Write a review
          • Great NY location-will definitely go back!

            Great NY location-will definitely go back!

            • Guest Meghan P.
            • Date of stay 10/04/13
            • Review Submitted 11/22/13
            We were very happy with our stay with Laurence. The apartment was clean, and there was a great guide provided which gave advice for shopping, eating out, and generally getting around NYC. The location was fantastic! We were very close to several subway stations, great restaurants, and shopping, and it was only a 20 minute subway ride into central Manhattan. It was great to leave the bustle of the crowded tourist areas and head back to the calm of the Harlem neighbourhood. We felt entirely safe walking through the neighbourhood at all times of the day and night. Laurence was easy to contact throughout our stay to answer any questions we had. Though the laundry and garden were not available when we stayed, we were told about this well in advance and offered the option of cancelling our stay. We're SO glad that we didn't! We will definitely go back on our next trip to NYC.

            Manager response: Thanks so much for the great review! I am glad you enjoyed it and found the area as charming as we do! I hope your trip back was safe and hope to have you stay with us again soon

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Excellent Harlem location

            Excellent Harlem location

            • Guest Robin T.
            • Date of stay 10/16/13
            • Review Submitted 10/26/13
            This apartment was a great find. It was spacious, immaculately clean and well-appointed. The best thing about it though was its location. The neighborhood is home to several outstanding restaurants, some of which are brand new. Within a couple of blocks are Lido's, The Cecil, and Settepani. The historic Minton's reopened while we were there. There is a nice coffee shop called Caffe Latte just around the corner. The proximity to several subway lines made it easy to get around. The neighborhood seemed very safe at all hours, with many families in the area. Children coming and going from school was a common sight. Communication with the owner was excellent. There was a slight change to the listing regarding access to a garden and laundry area, and he let us know promptly, offering us the opportunity to cancel with no penalty. All my correspondence was answered promptly, sometimes within minutes. We would stay here again, and would recommend it highly.

            Recommended for: Tourists without a car, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Nice Apartment

            Nice Apartment

            • Guest Sergio (Medellin)
            • Date of stay 09/25/13
            • Review Submitted 10/07/13
            Nice apartment, with one bedroom and two airbeds, the sofabed was broken but the airbeds where really confortable... Close to the subway, nearest station was only two bloks away. No laundry nor backyard available. Neighborhood is ok but to dark to walk late at night.

            Recommended for: Tourists without a car.

            Manager response: Hi Sergio, Thank you for your review. The sofabed is not listed as an option on the site and when travelers ask about the sleeping situation, we do tell them there is a regular queen sized mattress as well as 2 queen sized aerobeds. I am sorry if this was not what you expected. We also did let you know before you arrived that the laundry and outside areas would not be available for use. This is due to unforeseen circumstances and we did apologize for the inconvenience. Lastly, the street is a tree-lined block and that does make it dark, but there are many families that live on this block. In any major city, you always want to use caution when out late at night. Thanks again for your review.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Amazing apartment, close to subway!

            Amazing apartment, close to subway!

            • Guest justo89 (Vancouver,BC, Canada)
            • Date of stay 05/27/13
            • Review Submitted 08/06/13
            My boyfriend and I spent 3 night at this apartment last May as well my parents stayed at one of the owners other apartments in Harlem this spring. Both stays were amazing. It is the perfect location and price. The owners make sure you have all the information you need before coming, and even have options for entertainment, food etc when you arrive. The apartment is very clean and completely equipped. As we both loved our stays in NYC and at this apartment, we will be coming back as much as possible!

            Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

            Manager response: I am so glad you enjoyed your time in the apartment! Thanks for the great review!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Huge, comfortable, safe, close to metro...

            Huge, comfortable, safe, close to metro...

            • Guest CS (Fairfax, VA)
            • Date of stay 01/18/13
            • Review Submitted 01/24/13
            This property is definitely going on our short list of places to stay again in NYC. Our contact, Laurence, was fantastic. Here are the facts: - Parking is free (on street). Park on the South side of the street. You can park on the North side, but will have to move your car for the street sweepers. The signs will tell you what's up. - Harlem sometimes gets a bad rap from people who don't remember a thing called the Harlem Renaissance. We felt completely safe. - The neighborhood is very quiet. This is the 1st time I've slept soundly in NYC. However, it's an old row house, and the bedroom has a funny old radiator that makes weird sounds (not loud). If you're a very light sleeper, bring earplugs or get a white noise app. Same goes for having an eye mask if light bothers you. May be able to shut off the front light, but it didn't bother us enough to find out how. - Just a few blocks from a metro station, and a 5/10 minute walk from another station that was useful. - Nice touches & creature comforts in the kitchen: Brita filter in the fridge, icemaker, coffee maker, tea/hot water maker, toaster, reusable grocery bags for shopping, spices and sundries in the pantry, cutting boards, decent knives, utilities to make a meal (we made big breakfasts every morning...could have used another skillet and a normal-sized spatula) - Short walk from a few corner markets as well as CVS, H&M, and good coffee & chai at Il Caffe Latte. Great classic cocktails and awesome food under Red Rooster (Ginny's Supper Club) - The place is surprisingly huge. 5 grown adults stayed comfortably, didn't feel cramped, and all used the wi-fi without an issue, other than it being down briefly. There's an extra half bath attached to the laundry (just outside the rear door), which is crucial for a bigger group - Lovely apartment. Beautiful wood floors. New appliances. Lots of character, despite the renovators having covered some of it up. Was unfortunate they did things like: painted old shutters closed instead of repairing or replacing them, covered up the old brick hearth awkwardly with a new decorative mantle. Things like the bathroom cabinet pulling away from the wall & the caulk (could fix this with a pedestal sink) take away from the ambiance and are an easy fix if you're handy. But you can tell some care was certainly taken in the renovation and decoration. It was bright and open for a garden apt, and made us feel fancy :) Thank you for a great home base. We'll come back soon!

            Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

          • Great apartment, exactly as described in the ad an

            Guest comment entered by manager

            Great apartment, exactly as described in the ad an

            • Guest Frances
            • Date of stay 05/17/12
            • Review Submitted 09/09/12
            Great apartment, exactly as described in the ad and photos. Clean, well-equipped, well-situated (two subway stations 5-10 mins walk which go anywhere you'll want to go). Strongly recommended! PS also strongly recommend Amy Ruth's - just what we needed when we arrived!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

            During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

          • WIFI a cable TV was great

            Guest comment entered by manager

            WIFI a cable TV was great

            • Guest Javier
            • Date of stay 04/26/12
            • Review Submitted 09/09/12
            Me and my family (wife and 4 year old kid) had a great experience in Amal's Place. The house is just as it looks: spacious, clean and with a lot of light. WIFI a cable TV was great and we took a big advantange out of it. I suggest to use the air-bed rather than bedsofa. If fits perfect in bedroom with the other bed (very, very confortable). Amal was reachable quick even by email and solved us a couple of problems although we had some problems with heating hours. We also enjoyed the neighborhood a lot: so close to the subway (2 lines) that you are 20 minutes away from Times Square and with a lot of personality and flavour. Thanks, Amal.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

            During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

          • very nice time in this apartment

            Guest comment entered by manager

            very nice time in this apartment

            • Guest Ceren
            • Date of stay 04/18/12
            • Review Submitted 09/09/12
            We had a very nice time in this apartment. We were three academics visiting for a conference. The house was very clean and spacious, really spacious. The sofa in the living room was not comfortable, but there was an air mattress, so the sofa was not a problem. Amal was great about responding to queries and getting back quickly. The neighborhood was also great--we went to cafe latte every morning for coffee.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

            During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

          • Harlem apt, clean and comfy!

            Guest comment entered by manager

            Harlem apt, clean and comfy!

            • Guest Jana
            • Date of stay 04/06/12
            • Review Submitted 09/09/12
            We stayed 9 nights in the Apt and it was just great. It is even bigger then its seems on the pictures. The apt was really clean and we had enough towel for 4 people to change. The bed and the sofa bed was really comfortable. We arrived before the check-in time but we could put our luggage in the apt and came back later, same with the check-out. That was really obliging.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

            During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

          • Great time! Great Price!

            Guest comment entered by manager

            Great time! Great Price!

            • Guest Natacha
            • Date of stay 03/23/12
            • Review Submitted 09/09/12
            We (3 girls) had a great time at Amal's place. The appartment is as pictured on AirBnB and has everything that you might need. It was great to be able to relax in peace and quiet in a comfy place after a long day in the city. Not to mention the great price compared to Manhattan hotels! And the beds are great! Thanks Amal :-)

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

            During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

           
          Rental basis: Per property
          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
          Spring
          Mar 1 - May 23
          2 night min stay
          $125
          Summer
          May 24 - Sep 4
          3 night min stay
          $175
          Autumn
          Sep 5 - Dec 2
          2 night min stay
          $125
          Winter
          Dec 3 - Jan 1
          2 night min stay
          $140
          Winter
          Jan 18 - Feb 28
          2 night min stay
          $99
          My Standard Rate
          3 night min stay
          $99

          Additional information about rental rates

          Fees:

          • Taxes Not included

          Notes:

          Rates are for two guests, there is an additional charge of $25/guest per night

          A one time cleaning fee of $75 is required.


          Cancellation policy:

          Policy available by contacting manager when booking.


          This manager accepts HomeAway payments.
          Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
           

          Calendar

          Last updated: 04/09/2014
          Check availability
          23 Available
          21 Unavailable
          22 Today
          23 Selected dates
           

          Location

          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

           

          Manager info

          Year Purchased: 2009


          Contact us

          Speaks: english
           

          Photos

          • Large bedroom

            Large bedroom

          • Bedroom

            Bedroom

          • Kitchen and dining

            Kitchen and dining

          • Sitting area

            Sitting area

          • Bedroom

            Bedroom

          • Bathroom

            Bathroom

          • Kitchen and dining

            Kitchen and dining

          VRBO #365543

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2011.

          Date last modified - Monday, March 03, 2014

          $99 - $175 per night (USD)
          26

          1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
          Sleeps 6

          View calendar: Updated 04/09/14
          Minimum stay: 2-3 nights
          Dates are unavailable
          Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
          This listing requires that rentals start on a .
          Book It

          Detailed Price

          Manager
          Email manager
          Speaks: english
          This manager accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Get it now

          advertisement