Rustic 'Shady Beach' Cabin on the South Shore of Hood Canal!!!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets allowed:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Come and stay at one of the remaining houses of the Old Shady Beach Resort. This rustic two level home sits on a full 55 feet of waterfront, Relax on the over-sized gated deck, sunbathe till your hearts content. We sit right on the water's edge, where you can enjoy the panoramic Hood Canal and Olympic Mountain view and all the plush wildlife (Bald Eagles can be seen nesting at nearby Twanoh State Park ). At low tide you can walk down to the private beach , discover new creatures of the sea, dig clams or gather oysters for your every meal (No special license required as this is a private beach). Plus there's nothing better or more refreshing then a swim in the salty waters of Hood Canal. Bring a Mask and Snorkel for the kids or pick one up in nearby Belfair, lots to see!
The deck is set up for entertaining! Why sit inside? When you can enjoy all Hood Canal has to offer! We have provided you with a charcoal Weber BBQ for outdoor cooking, lounge chairs, large outdoor dinning table, and plenty of extra seating.
Once its dark, let's not forget stargazing! Since our cabin is not located in a major city, we have less street lights, which means better viewing of the stars and the milky-way. Lay back on a chaise lounge, turn off the lights and watch satellites float by, or bring your Telescope! All in the peace and quiet Shady Beach has to offer.
All year enjoyment is available at Shady Beach Resort, whether you're in the sun, watching birds and marine wildlife, or just sitting by the cozy fireplace with your favorite book.
This cozy cabin style home has 2 bedrooms and 1.75 bath and sleeps 4 comfortably, with a Max occupancy of 6 .
The family/living room has a full wall of windows, you'll never miss a thing. Whether you enjoy indoor or outdoor dining, you won't miss a moment of our fabulous Hood Canal sunsets!
In the winter at different times of the year, our resident seals, herons, loons, bald eagles, spawning salmon and orca whales provide 'This is the perfect house to unplug, unwind, and relax. No hustle and bustle to worry about out here, no faxes, email, or calls to worry about, just pure relaxation'
Fully equipped, Shady Beach is your quaint rustic cottage on the water while you enjoy all that the greater Hood Canal area has to offer. Come be our guest at Shady Beach, and get the Peach and Quiet Rest you deserve!
Keywords: Shady Beach, Union, Hood Canal, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic Peninsula, Washington State, USA (1 1/2 hours from Seattle and Sea Tac Airport)
Our wonderful house is located just minutes from Twanoh State Park, Union WA
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome:
- 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 4-6
- Bedroom 1
- Bedroom 2
- Other (See Description)
- 1.75 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available:
- Cooking Utensils:
- Wood Fireplace:
- Linens Provided:
- Washing Machine:
- Clothes Dryer:
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Parking Off Street
This cozy rustic cabin style house features: 2 full bedrooms, plus steamer ship style built-in bunk beds, and two full size futons in the main floor, which convert to add additional sleeping space, for guests. There are no distractions enjoy 55 feet of full waterfront, at low tide you are welcome to eat as many clams and oysters that you can find, our beach is covered with them. (No license required to gather shellfish, as this is a private home location.) Your Guest can enjoy swimming, snorkeling, Scuba Diving, water-skiing, sun bathing, all from the comfort of our little cabin has to offer. Also features a boat buoy for up to a 25 foot boat, and a dingy (row boat) to retrieve it. The location of our home provides a nice pebble beach at high tide, with no barnacles!! The closer to Belfair the more barnacles on the beach; and the closer to Alderbrook, the muddier the beach. We truly have the nicest beach for boaters or swimmers on the Canal!...morecollapse
- Video Library:
- CD Player
Location & View
Our house sits right on the waters edge. At high tide, step right off the front step and walk into the water. At low tide, walk over the shell line, down the smooth pebble beach to the oyster and clams beds, beyond the oyster beds lies beach-combing adventures, Plenty of starfish, moon snails, popcorn crab, eels, and shells to discover here. ...morecollapse
- Massage Therapist
- Medical Services
- Jet Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Basketball Court
- Water Skiing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Fly Fishing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Hunting Big Game
- Hunting Small Game
- Roller Blading
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Fitness Center
- Winery Tours
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Recreation Center
- Bird Watching
- Gambling Casinos
- Paddle Boating
- Scenic Drives
- Sight Seeing
- Eco Tourism
- Whale Watching
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Water Tubing
Property is located to the right 'Sunshine Point' (separate Listing) on the South Shore of Hood Canal, Look for rental sign at top of driveway. We are the Yellow Cabin on the right, with the Blue Shed in the driveway. Renters are allowed to use Row Boats, as part of the rental (at their own risk), however we have huge tide movement, and we require renters to tie up the row boats to keep them from floating away!...morecollapse
ReviewsWrite a review
It is what it is.
It is what it is.
It's on the water, among many other waterfront, old and new, cottages and plexes. Two baths plus two BRs plus two large bunks plus two futons. Yes, the front of the DW is duct-taped on, and a bed head is supported by a cinder block, and there are some stains on carpets. But it's a funky, personal, family place, with lots (too much?) of informal beach decoration. Adequately clean for our visit. Owners' representative lives in Wenatchee and has confusing pricing and explanations which I could barely follow. In the end, for two nights, the price we paid was about right for waterfront and number of potential beds. I don't know why the owners didn't cave in and give some refund to the earlier, complaining reviewer.
- Guest John
- Date of stay 08/17/12
- Review Submitted 08/24/12
Cozy? No ... More like decrepit and dirty.
Cozy? No ... More like decrepit and dirty.
We could not imagine sleeping here and left after a 5-minute inspection. We were expecting rustic, but this cabin is unacceptably dilapidated and unclean. The weedy, messy grounds foreshadowed what we found within: furniture that must have come from a junkyard, including a bed held up by a cinder block, mold spots on the ceiling, gunk in the sink, missing refrigerator and sliding glass door handles, the dishwasher door covered by duct tape, remains of food spills in the oven, old food in the refrigerator, including a partial cube of butter on a saucer, dirty glasses in the cupboard, spider webs and dirt in all the corners, a deck and furniture in dire need of sweeping off. The upstairs deck has no railing, which in most locales would be a safety code violation. I phoned the owner/property manager on arrival to complain about the quality and uncleanliness, and he acted surprised and apologetic, but said he couldn't get anyone to come back to clean that day, so we told him we could therefore not stay, and he agreed to a refund of our payment. He has since reneged on reimbursement and is lying about the circumstances, trying to protect himself from a lawsuit perhaps. This is the only regrettable rental situation we have encountered with VRBO. We ended up sleeping on the floor of a relative's home, a much nicer alternative to this very poorly maintained cabin.
- Guest The Way It Is
- Date of stay 07/02/12
- Review Submitted 07/27/12
Owner response: We are sorry that you feel less than satisfied with the cabin rental. This cabin is rented as a rustic cabin not a hotel. However, we did reduce your rent for the period of the Holiday Weekend (4th of July), as well as the cleaning fee to fit your budget needs. A quote was given prior to your occupancy and was accepted by your party reducing the cleaning fee from the standard 2.5 hours at $125 to 1 hour at $50, as you agreed prior to every arriving at the house. In cutting down the cleaning fee; we question what you were thinking for that size cabin. We offered to fix the cleanliness problems; you did check in; then decided not to stay after staying over 3 hours in the house, as verified by neighbors. In light of the Holiday weekend, other tenants were turned away. Again the Manager told you he would see what he could do. Cleaning the Cabin again was not possible due to the late hour of the day, (5PM). As explained to you the soonest we could get a (3rd party) cleaning service would be first thing in the morning, (8am). Also when we contacted you to give you the address of the house and access information, 5 days prior to your rental. We did explain to you that the Upper Floor's sliding Glass door, was merely roof access, nothing more. We explained with a flat mid 1960's style roof, walking on it causes damage to this style of roof. There would be no reason for you or your children to be playing on a flat tar roof. Property Manager's are not authorized to post refunds, only our owner's would have that ability. You violated your rental agreement. Prior to your rental, the cabin was used by several different owners and their families. We did explain to you on the phone, prior to your reservation, that the cabin was a family owned time share and not a hotel.
We Loved It
We Loved It
My family and I rented the place for 5 days last summer. Very cozy little cottage by the sea. My son and I got to fish from the row boat right out in front of the house. We ate oysters all day long taken right from the beach. They neighbors, mostly retired are all very helpful and delightful people. Can't wait to take my vacation and return to Shady Beach! Cabin was very clean, owners were very helpful, though being a long distance away. Everything was just as the listing shows, no surprises, which was nice for a change!
- Guest Kay
- Date of stay 07/18/11
- Review Submitted 01/11/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, age 55+.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
This is a Family Home and a Rustic Cabin on the water, You must clean up after yourself, and haul away your own garbage when you leave. There is No Housekeeping on premises. This premises is under video surveillance 24 hours a day.
Payment due in full to Hold Reserved Time. Refundable if Cancelled in Writing 30 Days prior to check in.
Additional Fees and Taxes:
Taxes Included into Rental Cost. In lieu of Security Deposits each tenant group will pay a non-refundable fee for personal liability protection provided to owners from Vrbo, to cover your use of the house, and/or any damages or loss caused during your stay.
This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment.
HomeAway PaymentsSM is the most secure way to pay and automatically protects your payment up to $10,000 (learn more). Call the owner directly to confirm payment details.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner/manager for more information.
Year Purchased: 1965
Why the Owner Chose Union:
My family has owned this home since 1975. We purchased it because it was the perfect getaway, not too far out of town, but so quiet. The perfect place to unwind.
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Clam & Oyster Beds visible as Tide Goes out. Time to go Exploring!! Pebble Beach
Our Cozy Shady Beach Cabin, Right Next to &quot;Sunshine Point&quot;
Upstairs, Full Bed and Full Bath. TV/DVD. Wake up with the Sun, its Beach Time!
Nearby Twanoh State Park, Boat Launch, Camping, food. Just 1/4 mi. from house.
Old World Family/Dining room, Slate wood burning fireplace, TV& DVD, Cozy!!
Master Bedroom, Queen Size Bed, Dresser, Night stands, and Closet
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Friday, May 24, 2013