Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Charming traditional double shotgun architecture

Charming Historic House Just a Few Blocks from French Quarter [#367338] | View Property

French Quarter
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)
$100/nt - $900/wk - $2900/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Good location/Great experience

    Good location/Great experience

    • Guest Amy W.
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/06/14
    Charming definately describes this house. The house was clean and very well maintained. Our group of 6 really enjoyed the experience of staying in a local neighborhood. It was a short walk to the Quarter and we felt safe even walking back late at night. The neighbors were so friendly and helpful. The owner was prompt with response and was very accomodating. We would certainly consider staying here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just a few blocks away

    Just a few blocks away

    • Guest Cindy N.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    We had a great time while at this home. It was clean and well stocked with the essentials, like linens and towels. The description was very accurate , as were the pictures. It was actually larger than expected, as it is a shotgun style that goes aways back on the lot. Duplex neighbor was very kind and helpful. It was a great location to the French Quarter, just a few blocks walk away. There was plenty of parking available. .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Vacation Rental

    Great Vacation Rental

    • Guest Suzie (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    The house was lovely, spacious and very clean. The owners made our arrival and departure an easy process and provided helpful information. The house is larger than the pictures make it seem and has a private yard in the back. Easy walk to the French Quarter and the people we met in Treme were so friendly! We would stay here again, for sure!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely house, perfect location!

    Lovely house, perfect location!

    • Guest Evelyn S.
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/16/13
    This is a historic house in a historic neighborhood, but the interior is all redone and clean and nice. The pictures don't do it justice. The beds are comfortable and the shower is hot, but the neighborhood is really the star. I and some friends stayed here for Carnival, and the location couldn't have been better for the perfect Treme Mardi Gras. It's on a nice, quiet dead-end street, but quick walking distance to the Quarter, not to mention right around the corner from fun Treme destinations like The Candlelight Lounge and the Backstreet Cultural Museum. We all loved it and would definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Walking Distance from French Quarter/Ample Parking

    Walking Distance from French Quarter/Ample Parking

    • Guest Linda H.
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    We had a fantastic vacation in New Orleans thanks to this fabulous find. First off, the location was perfect to be away from the loud noises and busy streets of the French Quarter, but within walking distance for easy accessibility. I was also amazed that there was always ample parking infront of the house. The place was equipped with a washer and dryer, towels and lots of kitchenware. In addition, the owners were very quick at responding when I had questions all throughout the trip. Again, fabulous find in which I will definitely rent again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comfortable Heritage house

    Comfortable Heritage house

    • Guest Raoul (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/14/12
    This property was as represented. Clean comfortable lots of room for the 4 of us. could easily sleep up to 8 with 2 in the livingroom . Owner was available for any questions. neighbors are very friendly. I would certainly stay at this property again and would recommend it to others looking for a good clean comfortable place to stay just a 10 minute walk from bourbon street in New Orleans

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Danielle (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/05/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    We rented this property for our stay during the Essence Music Festival. The house is located in the historical Treme area. The house is beautifully decorated and very roomy. There was 7 of us staying in the house and we were very comfortable. The neighbors were very friendly. We were within walking distance of Lil Dizzy's restaurant, Cafe Treme coffee shop, Superdome, French Quarter and Bourbon Street. We had to drive to the Convention Center and Riverwalk.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • very good deal

    very good deal

    • Guest Tapea B.
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/01/12
    We were 2 families with very young children and we stayed for a week. The house was big enough to accomodate everybody and we did not suffer from lack of space. The house is 15 minutes form Bourbon street by walk and not more than 25 minutes to the other attractions. We really enjoy our stay in New Orleans thanks to this great city along with this very charming house. Neighbourhood is safe and very gentle, very easy to talk with and even share a drink. We strongly recommand this very good deal and we will try to come back in this location next year. We also appreciate that dish liquid, salt, pepper, oil... was available, you do not have to buy everything the first day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Couldn't ask for more!

    Couldn't ask for more!

    • Guest Joseph S.
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    Worth every penny and convenient, too! Memory foam mattresses in both bedrooms, 2 futons additional, slept our party of 6 COMFORTABLY! Kitchen is very nice with new appliances and a washer/dryer that was VERY convenient. Owner was available at all hours and very cordial. The walk was quite refreshing and nobody in my group minded the extra walk after a night in the French Quarter at all! There was a very private courtyard that was nice in the morning and the interior and exterior are completely updated, beautifully. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • what a great house!

    what a great house!

    • Guest Joseph S.
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/15/12
    stayed 4 nights for the APhA conference and couldn't be happier! the house is HUGE inside, probably 1800sqft, plenty big for 6 adults on the 2 futons and 2 queen MEMORY FOAM mattresses. it was just like staying in my own bed! the short walk from Bourbon to the house was enjoyable, in fact it gave us all a bit of much-needed fresh air and a chance to stretch our legs every night. the wi-fi was sketchy (had to reset the router every day) but that is really my group's only complaint. other than that, definitely 5 of 5 stars, especially considering the price! thanks so much, Melissa! (will definitely keep this house in mind next time)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • what a great house!

    what a great house!

    • Guest Joseph S.
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/15/12
    stayed 4 nights for the APhA conference and couldn't be happier! the house is HUGE inside, probably 1800sqft, plenty big for 6 adults on the 2 futons and 2 queen MEMORY FOAM mattresses. it was just like staying in my own bed! the short walk from Bourbon to the house was enjoyable, in fact it gave us all a bit of much-needed fresh air and a chance to stretch our legs every night. the wi-fi was sketchy (had to reset the router every day) but that is really my group's only complaint. other than that, definitely 5 of 5 stars, especially considering the price! thanks so much, Melissa! (will definitely keep this house in mind next time)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jackson

    Jackson

    • Guest Jackson (Northeast USA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/12
    • Review Submitted 02/22/12
    Pros: Clean and modern house Owner easy to work with Fairly safe area Con: A bit far from the action of Burbon and French Quarter

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • BCS Championship

    BCS Championship

    • Guest Jerrell L.
    • Date of stay 01/06/12
    • Review Submitted 01/14/12
    This was a great place to stay. Felt right at home. Only a 15 minute walk to the heart of the french quarter. Definitely recommend this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • NOLA

    NOLA

    • Guest Caroline (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 01/20/12
    A group of 6 of us stayed here for New Years festivities and also for the Sugar Bowl. The location was good, just like how the description states, its at least 15 minute walk towards Bourbon Street, but if you wanted to catch a cab, it was at least 3 blocks away. The bedrooms all are connected, so you are walking through each others bedrooms to get to the 1 bathroom or back patio. This wasn't a problem for us, since we were a group of friends. It's definitely a little tight for a group of 6, since having 1 bathroom for us to get ready, was a little issue, since there was only one mirror in the house which was in the bathroom. We thought it was a great deal, there are neighbors next door, since it's a duplex. Neighbors definitely are not a big fan if you are making alot of noise in the middle of the night. It's hard to not keep quiet with a group of 6, while you're on vacation. The property was very clean and well maintained, and the owner was very helpful in answering all questions and conerns while we were renting. We definitely recommend this place to rent since it was such a great deal.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • so and so

    so and so

    • Guest Doug B. (-)
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    The house is conveniently close to the French Quarter (about 3 blocks), the Treme neighborhood. This is a New Orleans "shot gun" house, a traditional style--which is charming. But for those who don't know what that means (as I did not know), that means that all the rooms are nested -- so if you need to get out of your room and, for example, go to the bathroom or the kitchen, you will be walking into other people's room. If you have more than just one couple staying there, this arrangement is not going to work very well. Another issue that we were disappointed about is that this house is two houses away from the freeway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]