Family Friendly Home. December We - Get a 3rd Night Free Until 12/20.
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Jim Thorpe house description
Fine restaurants, outdoor activities like swimming, biking, rafting, small unique shops, art galleries- Jim Thorpe has it all. This is a family friendly town with lots to do in the area. Only hours from Philadelphia and New York it is not difficult to get to.
Close to lots of fun things to do in town.
This house is located right in Jim Thorpe on the main street, but with off-street parking so you don't have to worry about finding a spot for your car. Minutes from the varied restaurants of Jim Thorpe, you have a choice to cook your self in our full equipped kitchen or go out for a delicious dinner cooked by someone else. It is a 15 minute walk to the downtown shops and museums of Jim Thorpe.
Or get into the great outdoors.
Just 3 miles by car is Mauch Chunk Lake with swimming and a lovely beach, boating and fishing on the lake, and hiking around the lake. This lake is enjoyable in all seasons. Or jump on your bicycle and join up with the Switchback Trail just minutes from the property. Rafting is available down on the Lehigh River which runs right through the heart of Jim Thorpe. Or take a hike to Glen Enoko, a short drive from town and the property where you will stay. In winter we are just a short drive from 3 ski areas- Blue Mountain, Jack Frost, or Big Boulder. And if you want to see the lovely leaves in the fall they are all around in whatever direction you might turn.
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
Babysitting may be available. Please check on possibilities. Cost is $10 for 1 child per hour plus $5 for each additional child. Babysitting will be done by us and our family. We live next door....moreless
- Pets Considered:
- Non Smoking Only
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 6-8
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker
- Pantry Items
- Dishes & Utensils
- Air Conditioning:
- Parking Off Street:
- Towels Provided
- Hair Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Ask about our Healthy Living Weekends. For an additional fee on selected weekends you can have all meals provided with healthy real food, several educational seminars, and a private health coaching session from Jennifer Dages, RN, BSN, health coach. http://www.purposefulnutrition.com/?page_id=123 for more info....moreless
- Video Library:
- CD Player
- DVD Player
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
- Deck / Patio
- Lawn / Garden
- Outdoor Grill
- Outdoor Grill Gas
- Porch / Veranda
- Fly Fishing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Freshwater Fishing
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Climbing
- Ice Skating
- Mountain Biking
- Roller Blading
- Coin Laundry
- Autumn Foliage
- Paddle Boating
- Scenic Drives
- Fitness Center
- Bird Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Jim Thorpe is a lovely town set in the Pocono Mountains. It has been known as 'Little Switzerland' because of its narrow streets and lovely mountain setting. There is something for everyone here- fine restaurants, cute shops, mountain biking, swimming, white water rafting, hiking, and more....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
My experience at
My experience at
We an altogether good experience. I loved the old fashion homey look. It was peacefull. I'm only 28 but I loved it. I loved getting up in the morning and making my usual tea in a kettle. I like the wall to wall carpet upstairs and the wooden floors downstairs. Also the master bedroom was a good size. I didn't care too much for the beds in the kids room. And we a slight technical problem. But Bob and Jennifer sent the proper person out to fix it right away. I recommend this place.
- Guest Toya (philadelphia,pa)
- Date of stay 11/27/13
- Review Submitted 12/16/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers.
From the listing at another site.Guest comment entered by owner
From the listing at another site.
Jennifer and Bob and their family were dream hosts--pleasant, helpful and generous. Their house is very comfortable and ideally located. Highly recommended.
- Guest Daisy
- Date of stay 07/27/13
- Review Submitted 09/02/13
Great family get away
Great family get away
We just got back from our trip with another family of friends and we all had a great time. The house is within easy walking distance to the cute town of Jim Thorpe. It is also close to all the biking, rafting, and hiking trips we did. Jen and Bob, the owners live right next door and were very helpful and friendly. Our kids asked us when we could go back as we were driving home in the car!
- Guest Stacey (Somers)
- Date of stay 06/29/13
- Review Submitted 07/06/13
Recommended for: Pet owners, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Owner response: You folks were great guests and we really enjoyed having you next door. You are welcome back anytime as individual families or together. Glad you enjoyed your vacation despite the off and on showers throughout the week.
"Pleasant Change"Guest comment entered by owner
From the Guest Book: "Pleasant change from staying in a hotel. Very homey. Jen and Bob you two are sweet people. And Jen is so helpful."
- Guest Karen
- Date of stay 06/01/13
- Review Submitted 06/05/13
Home sweet home
Home sweet home
We stayed in this big, comfortable house during the Ukrainian Festival in Lehighton-- about 8 minutes away once the owners showed us the shortcut. It was great-- so nice to have a place to live rather than just a hotel room: the kitchen has every appliance/utensil you could possibly need, big downstairs dining and livingroom and the 3 bedrooms are upstairs. We were a little concerned about one critical review we read-- but then we stay in rental homes/apartments a lot both in the US and Europe and we don't go to luxury homes ($!)-- just regular, modest, family homes/apartments like this one. And in Europe everything is old so this older house was nothing new for us. We were very pleased with this house and the wonderful owners: Bob and Jennifer, who live right next door and available for any advice/questions. The house is on the main street of the historic Jim Thorpe area: not even 10 minutes walk to the center of town. We went to Mass at Immaculate Conception RC Church a few doors down-- a beautiful church you could stop in just to visit and take a look at the stained glass windows. We found this place an excellent value, comfortable, convenient. Loved it. We hope to stay here next summer during Ukie Fest 2013.
- Guest Kathleen B.
- Date of stay 08/15/12
- Review Submitted 09/15/12
This place was amazing, more than we expected. It's full of adventure and activities. And our home was in perfect location near everything and convenient. Very hospitable owners, no complaints at all.
- Guest Prathana R.
- Date of stay 08/07/12
- Review Submitted 08/17/12
Great Weekend Getaway
Great Weekend Getaway
We came to Jim Thorpe as a group of working professionals in our 20s. The house is in decent condition and was able to fit 8 of us comfortably. Three of us slept downstairs on the sofa and fold-out couch, while the other 5 slept in the 3 bedrooms upstairs. There is a bathroom on each floor. The TV turns on but we couldn't locate any channels on it, although there are a few VHSs lying around as well as books. The owners are very friendly and family-oriented. The townspeople were also super nice and said hello to us every time we passed by. We went on the weekend of the county fair so were able to catch live bands playing in the gazebo near the train station. There were many tourists with cameras and small children, and we got the sense that it was a very welcoming and safe community. There is a trial parallel to the house that one can walk/bike/drive on to get to Mauch Chunk Lake, which has a beach. Although I wouldn't recommend walking to the lake as the town quickly disappears with increasing distance. There are also a number of cute boutiques, shops, and restaurants along West Broadway, where the house is located. It is approximately a 10-15 minute walk from the Jim Thorpe train station and the heart of town. It's a small town, but don't be fooled! There are many attractions in the town, including the mountain trails, scenic railroad, shops, restaurants, book stores, museums (including the Old County Jail tours), and bike/boat rentals. There's plenty to do in this small town of friendly folks! Jim Thorpe is a wonderful destination for families and groups of friends looking to get away from the city.
- Guest Julina G.
- Date of stay 08/10/12
- Review Submitted 08/12/12
Great Jim Thorpe location
Great Jim Thorpe location
This property was comfortable, quiet, and in a great location in Jim Thorpe--convenient to restaurants, shops, & opera house. Kitchen seemed well equipped, though we mostly ate out. The spacious off street parking was a plus since our party had multiple cars.
- Guest sharron l.
- Date of stay 08/04/12
- Review Submitted 08/06/12
We had a wonderful stay at your house in Jim Thorpe. What a great town with quaint shops and good restaurants, the blues festival only seven miles away and the comfort of your cozy home for a girls weekend with our dogs. You were so kind to us and have a beautiful family.
- Guest heidi h.
- Date of stay 07/27/12
- Review Submitted 07/30/12
Owner response: Thanks ladies. You folks were wonderful guests and went above and beyond what we expect out of guests as well. You are welcome back anytime.
What you don't see...
What you don't see...
We arrived late Wed., and had spoken with the owners prior to arrival and were met at the driveway. There were fresh flowers and a few groceries picked up for us - how nice! we thought. After being asked if we would use the pull out couch that night, and been assured it would be 'made up', it wasn't - no problem we thought and began to remove the cushions. Popcorn and a crayon from previous renters greeted us, still no big deal -however the rodent droppings on the mattress were! Then after cleaning and sanitizing the mattress we had a hard time closing the window, so my son slept with us (spider-s in the bed of one room stopped him from continuing to find an alt. place to sleep) We got a sleeping bag from my brother for the remainder of our stay. The owners are friendly and tried to be accomodating, but candy wrappers from previous tenants under the chair in our room made the candy on our towels unappealing. The homemade soap, is an unusual touch as are the fine linen sheets on the two queen beds -but we needed other linens for family to sleep which would not have been possible without family nearby.The coffee bag had been chewed through (again by rodents), and again we had family that supplied clean linens, cleaning supplies, small food items, etc. to make our stay possible. We paid $100. over the listed price for the 6 days we were there, leaving on the 3rd of July. The sink in the 1st floor bath is the utility slop sink, no mirror and left dirty for us to clean. The area is nice, the house with a bit of cleaning and attention could be very nice, just for our stay it was not what the photos led us to enjoy. Also, anyone with children be careful of the third floor - the door doors not shut to the steps and there is quite a mess - previous tenant?and current due to constructon (we hope). With reassurance of a clean home and fair pricing, and renters refund insurance, we would consider the location again. The owners live next door and they and their dog are friend;y and usually available. We were asked before putting log cutting debris in the garbage can for renters, but no note was taken as to the dust being made on the cars and porch. The town is very inviting, great places to shop and eat, lots of historical places and stories, beautiful lakes nearby to picnic, swim or boat. Just down from the property you can see where the creek (previously a sewer that runs under the property) comes out between houses - there is even a plaque about it's history there
- Guest Nancy F.
- Date of stay 06/27/12
- Review Submitted 07/10/12
Owner response: This is a 150 year old house and picky people can always find something wrong. We believe the primary problem here is that we did not refund them the $100 for the 7th night that they did not use. They booked 7 nights and when they arrived informed us they MIGHT not need the 7th night. A few days later we were informed they would all be leaving after the 6th day. At this point we do not refund money paid. Our refund policy is quite clear. We do not refund money within 30 days of a guest stay. To respond to some specific complaints: 1. All linens are washed and cleaned before any guest stays. There were some tiny stains on the twin bed comforters and as a result of these complaints they have been replaced. 2. We have also replaced the utility sink in the 1st floor bathroom/laundry room even though utility sinks are not usually designed to be attractive. 3. The 3rd floor is not pretty as they commented but it is also not guest space. It is off limits to guests and we are not sure why they were up there looking around. 4. We have seen to sign of mice at all in the house in any of the cleaning. They did not inform us of these complaints until they were ready to leave so it was a bit late to do anything to help them out. We do work to keep mice out but in an old house in the mountains this can be hard to do in all seasons. We would not welcome these guests back to our house. We found them very picky and difficult to deal with. We work hard to make the house clean and comfortable and the pictures do not lie.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
Nov 1 - May 19
2 night min stay
May 20 - Oct 31
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Ask about rates for our Healthy Living Weekends.
Holiday weekends will be slightly higher prices for the weekend. Ask for quote.
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $200
- Cleaning Fee: $75 + tax
- Pet Fee: $25 + tax
- Tax Rate 3%
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Year Purchased: 2003
About the owner: We are a entrepreneurial family who are involved in real estate and have several other side businesses. We have 4 children and live next door to the property.
Why the Owner Chose Jim Thorpe:
Our house is comfortable and spacious and just right for your weekend get-away with friends or family. It is located just enough to town that you can easily walk to downtown attractions, but there is mountain behind and in front of the house so you don't have that in town crowded feeling.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
We offer a healthy living weekend which includes food prepared according to special dietary accomodations, nutritional seminars, hiking, massage, and a nutritional consult. Go to http://www.purposefulnutrition.com/?page_id=123 for more info.
- Primary: +1 5703258946
- Secondary: 215-275-7624
Back patio with table and grill (not in picture but off to the right side)
Back bedroom with twin beds.
Kitchen work area.
2nd floor bathroom
Master Bedroom with Queen Bed
Dining room/game room...
Side entrance with driveway and back hill
Eat-in Kitchen table.
Asa Packer Mansion Museum.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Tuesday, November 26, 2013
3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.