Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of the "Hey Say Cottage" The perfect beach house!

Quaint Coastal Cottage Walking Distance to Village/Ocean. [#368175] | View Property

Private Homes, Village
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$150 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Even better than expected!

    Even better than expected!

    • Guest Jean (Atlanta, ga)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/14/13
    Completely charming, wonderfully decorated and fully equipped with more than we could have hoped for. Location is convenient and quiet. Very nice outdoor spaces. This place does not feel like a rental property at all! Very clean and homey. Would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • a home away from home...perfect!

    a home away from home...perfect!

    • Guest Susan (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/19/13
    This cottage is perfect in every way. We stayed for two weeks and it never felt too small for the three of us and our little dog. It was clean, updated, and centrally located in the village for short walks to the beach, restaurants, pool and shopping. We didn't want to leave! The outdoor space is huge and the yard was an added bonus. The decor was beautiful and the smaller room with twin beds was perfect for our 6 year old daughter. And our little dog loved the beautiful tile floors after a walk in the GA summer heat. We would not hesitate to choose this cottage again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Beautifully decorated!

    Beautifully decorated!

    • Guest The R Family (Atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    What a charming house! Beautifully decorated to the last detail. My girls loved the sea turtle details on the kitchen floor and the pavers in front of the house. Great location! We hope to stay here again on future trips to St. Simons.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed the cottage. The sea turtle tiles are a favorite of mine too! Hope you all can come for another visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great house, great location

    Great house, great location

    • Guest Rob (Western North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    I hesitate to say to much about this house as only to keep it a secret. My family and I really enjoyed it and the location is great. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you all enjoyed your visit to the cottage. Please do come back! Thanks for your wonderful comments!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Summer vacation 2013

    Summer vacation 2013

    • Guest Carol B.
    • Date of stay 06/24/13
    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
    The cottage was great!! The photos do not do the cottage justice, it is actually far better, everything is top notch in our opinion of the property, and we have stayed in many VRBO properties. It felt like you had just walked into a home and garden magazine property. Could not fault it at all. It was in a quiet location yet only 2 blocks to the beach. You must be aware of low and high tides, at high tide there is no beach. However, when the tide goes out tha beach is fully accessible. There are 2 low and high tides per day.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words! Glad you all enjoyed the cottage. You are right about the tides. If it is high tide the beach at the King and Prince Hotel is accessible. It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach there. Hope you all will come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Adorable cottage - fully renovated

    Adorable cottage - fully renovated

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    This 2 Bedroom cottage fit our needs and was decorated with the cutest beach theme! Less than 1/2 mile from the beach. The backyard was a good size with grass for our 2 year old daughter to run around and we loved the backyard porch with chairs and grill. The property manager was a delight - very accomodating. Our family loved it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. Hope you can return soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Beach Bungalow Heaven

    Beach Bungalow Heaven

    • Guest Born to be at the beach (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 03/07/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    Awesome can not describe how nice , adorable and clean this home is. The absolute best St Simons home to rent. My Mom and I Stayed with our two dogs. We even got to bake 300 plus cookies for my Nieces Wedding. Had everything you would need for the best ever vacation. A must Rent and could not be any easier. We were the envy of all that came for the Wedding . Everyone just had to come and see how cute and comfy... Thank You to Melanie for a most enjoyable weekend stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you and your family will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • This Cottage has it ALL~The Best of St Simon's Island!!!!!

    This Cottage has it ALL~The Best of St Simon's Island!!!!!

    • Guest Beach*Bound (Atlanta Georgia )
    • Date of stay 01/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    The Hey Say Cottage is Amazing. This is a One of A Kind rental. It feels like a personal home and not at all like a rental. I am so Thankful the owners allow people to share this special place. From the super cozy Bed to the Fluffy towels that were unlimited to the adorable dishes this place HAS IT ALL. My Yorkies loved the perfect little fenced yard and the pet bed was a nice bonus for them too. The house is SO MUCH BETTER than the photos that look great. Love that Master bath Glass Shower and Claw Foot Tub. The house was so close to everything. We wanted to stay forever. Already planning another trip in a few months. Plus Melanie is so sweet and made this a breeze.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Come back when you can stay longer! Thanks for your wonderful comments!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • from St. Petersburg,Fl.

    from St. Petersburg,Fl.

    • Guest Mary (St. Petersburg, Fl.)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/21/12
    The cottage had everything we needed. Myself and dog, Mabel we enjoyed long walks through the nice neighborhood and to the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • I never wanted to leave!!!!

    I never wanted to leave!!!!

    • Guest Donna M.
    • Date of stay 10/07/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    I cant even begin to say how perfect this cottage is!!!!!! It took me almost 7 hours to drive from south florida due to weather, road delays etc. Lets just say when I arrived exhausted, this cottage welcomed me into its warmth and comfort. It is spotlessly clean, bright and beautifully decorated. Melanie, the property manager is the sweetest, efficient and most accommodating person you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. All property owners should have a manager like Melanie. This cottage is perfect from the tea kettle to the beautiful wood floors to the shiny bathrooms, perfect bedrooms and beyond to the fab fenced in yard loaded with flowers and butterflies...... Every day I walked with my golden retrievers to the beach, wonderful restaurants and on the weekend to the craft shows in the lovely village. Hardly ever drove my car except for a little historical exploration and food shopping. Im going back as soon as i can!!!!!! Thank you for letting me stay in your perfect beach cottage!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: Thank you for all your kind comments and wonderful review. We do appreciate your taking such good of the cottage. We hope you will be back to visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Even more than 5 stars - perfect and absolutely lovely!!

    Even more than 5 stars - perfect and absolutely lovely!!

    • Guest Maya (Hannover, Germany)
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    Dear Owners, ... the cottage was the most beautiful vacation house I ever stayed in!! We are from Germany and were here for a 4 night stay on St. Simons during a three week US-vacation. The house is so cosy and homy and we felt very welcome. The kitchen is great, nice bathrooms, everything ist bright, light and beachy. I really loved it, would definitely recommand it! Thank you very much and Greetings from Germany, Maya :-)

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad that you all chose our cottage for your trip to St Simons. How incredible that you visited all the way from Germany! Please come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Hey Say Cottage - Just Beautiful

    Hey Say Cottage - Just Beautiful

    • Guest Ed &Caroline (Vero Beach, Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/26/12
    We absolutely loved the cottage. Can't beleive its possible, but the photos don't do it justice. Everything about the home was top notch. Fine bed linens, towels, fully stocked kitchen with almost everything except a bread maker! Beach chairs, umbrella, towels...The back porch was the perfect place to grill and dine. The side yard was a plus and the lovely deck area with shade trees was a perfect place to perch and enjoy a book, cocktails and talk with neighbors walking by. This cottage was lovingly restored. The furnishings, decor, everything about the home reflects the owners creativity and thoughfulness. The cottage is within a four minute walk to restaurants and the King and Prince Resort. An earlier review suggested the home be written up in Coastal Living Magazine, we couldn't agree more. We plan to reserve the home next year on our return from the mountains of N.C. It was wonderful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for all your wonderful comments. We are so glad you all enjoyed your time at the cottage and on St Simons. We look forward to having you stay with us next year!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Perfect Beach Rental!

    Perfect Beach Rental!

    • Guest Janelle (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/30/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    This house was perfect for our family of 5. We have 3 small children who were able to share a room easily. The house is light and bright with a perfect layout. In fact it needs to be submitted to Coastal Living. It was such a treat to finally stay in a CLEAN tastefully decorated beach cottage. We loved the outdoor shower & side yard again perfect for our children. Thank you for a fantastic rental.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you and your family had such a wonderful time. Hope to see yall next summer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Hurricane Debbi

    Hurricane Debbi

    • Guest Beach Bums (Marietta, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    This home is gorgeous! Hurricane Debbi stayed for 3 1/2 days of our vacation, so we spent a lot of time in doors. Had the home not been as clean & comfy as it was we probably would have cut our vacation short. It has everything you could possibly need. We truly enjoyed meeting Melanie & her family. She was such a joy to work with and made us feel so welcome. We will be back again, hopefully when there is not a hurricane in town. Thanks again for everything, it was wonderful!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I was so sorry that I could not order better weather for you all! You were such troopers to stay. But the cottage is a wonderful place if you have to stay in. Enjoyed meeting both of you. Please come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • WONDERFUL Experience

    WONDERFUL Experience

    • Guest Sandy (Alpharetta, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    We absolutely LOVED our stay at this wonderful cottage which was PERFECT in every way!! We could walk to the beach in just minutes or to town...You know you LOVE a place when you are perfectly content staying in and in no hurry to leave! I LOVED all the wonderful details...the cottage is clearly loved by the family ~ the guests clearly feel it! And PS Melanie is a gem to work with~ I wanted to be her neighbor!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: You all were the perfect guests! Thanks for staying. Would love to have you all for a neighbor too! Please come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • We loved this house!

    We loved this house!

    • Guest Traci (Beckley, WV)
    • Date of stay 05/28/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    This was our second trip to St Simons and first stay at this house. We could not have been happier! It's a great location, close to beach and village, and its a quiet neighborhood. The house is decorated so lovely and everything seemed to be high quality. Melanie was fantastic to deal with, as we extended our stay mid trip. Great plus that our furry baby was welcome! We will definitely recommend this house to our friends!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage! Thanks for taking such good care of it. Hope you and your family will come back. You are welcome any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Weekend at SSI

    Weekend at SSI

    • Guest Jim (Greenville, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/23/12
    Very nice cottage in tip-top shape with higher end kitchen. We had 8 for Sunday dinner and had plenty of room, everyone commented on what a nice place it is. The beach is just a few minutes away and the pier maybe a 10-15 minute walk. I also recommend a visit to Crabdaddy's just a few blocks away, try the shrimp and grits. The tap water on SSI has a sulpher taste so bring some bottled water.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So glad you all enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Delightfully Decorated

    Delightfully Decorated

    • Guest Meg (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/14/12
    The cottage is really well decorated, fresh and clean. It is very comfortable in a "homey" way. The only problem we had was with the internet connection and cable tv which was resolved. The location is fantastic on a quiet street, but close to village and beach. Will absolutely visit again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So glad you all enjoyed your stay. So sorry you had trouble with the tv and internet. Both are now working. Hope you will come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Best stay ever in St. Simons

    Best stay ever in St. Simons

    • Guest Christopher M. (Warner Robins, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    My family has vacationed at St. Simons for many years watching our children grow from babies to now sixteen and twelve. We have stayed at a variey of properties ranging from Beach Club to million dollar homes at East Beach. I must say this stay was the most relaxing and enjoyable thus far. The cottage is quaint, charming and freshly remodeled. Everything is brand new yet charminly old style. The decorating is perfect. With the sleeper sofa it is comfortable for six, maybe a family with two children with bring along friends. We stayed only four nights. I could have stayed a month!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hope you all will come again! We appreciate your kind words. Next time come for a month!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • TO

    TO

    • Guest None (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
    Wonderful time. Lovely cottage, well appointed, well equipped close to beach and close to village. Can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again real soon! Thanks for taking such good care of the cottage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • You will love this one!

    You will love this one!

    • Guest Christy (Loganville, Ga)
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/11
    We have been going to St. Simons for several years now and stayed in various rentals. This one is absolutely beautiful. It has been completely renovated, with great attention to detail. This will definitely be my favorite place to stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much Christy. Your review means alot to my wife and I. I bought the house almost two years ago with the intent of remodeling the house with my father. My father was a residential contractor at the time and lived in Key West. He loved to re-do beach bungalows. I wanted to do one last project with him before his cancer became terminal. He passed away last Feb. at age 56 and didn't have a chance to work on the house at all so I did it mostly with my brother and a wonderful contractor named Bert Herrin. So the house means alot to us. Your review was wonderful! I am so glad you enjoyed it! Mickey and Stacy Noe

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]